Military Review

Mortar Motor Carriage T94 self-propelled mortar project (USA)

1
In preparation for the landing in Europe, the US military and defense industries have created several types of new equipment, including a number of self-propelled artillery installations. The successful use of these machines on the European fronts showed the correctness of the decision made, and therefore a proposal was made to continue the development of the line of new SAUs with a wide use of existing ideas and technology. In the spring of 1945, this offer led to the launch of the T94 Mortar Motor Carriage project.


By the spring of the 45th at the Western European theater of operations, the American ground forces used self-propelled guns M12 GMC and M40 GMC with 155 mm guns, built on the basis of existing medium tanks. This technique has proven itself and has clearly demonstrated all the advantages of self-propelled artillery over towed. The result of this was the proposal to expand the list of self-propelled guns available in the troops with the help of a new combat vehicle. This time, the artillery department of the military department proposed the construction of a 10-inch self-propelled mortar. Such equipment could significantly increase the firepower of artillery formations, as well as dramatically increase their mobility.

A new project for the development of an ACS started 15 on March 1945, when the military approved the start of work on a promising topic. The terms of reference for the project was defined as follows. The basis for the self-propelled mortar was to be the self-propelled chassis T83 (M40 GMC), developed on the basis of the medium tank M4A3 Sherman. These chassis have already been built in series and have shown themselves well both in testing and in real combat conditions. The 250-mm muzzle-loading mortar mortar T5E2, which was planned to be developed as part of a separate project, should be installed on the chassis.


Model of self-propelled mortar T94 MMC, side view


The use of the finished chassis, as it was believed, would help simplify and accelerate the production of new technology. In this case, the combat vehicle had to carry a large-caliber mortar with which it was possible to achieve high firepower performance. Given the experience of the battles of the Second World War, this kind of equipment was of great interest to the troops.

Development of the project T94 MMC did not take much time. Quite quickly, a set of new equipment was created, which allowed the "transform" of the basic TACNXX / M83 GMC ACS into a self-propelled mortar. The main part of the equipment was to be installed in the aft fighting compartment of the hull. In addition, some other innovations were proposed, such as auxiliary weapons, etc. At the same time, the main components and assemblies of the hull, as well as its layout, should not have been changed to maintain the required degree of unification.

The basis for the T94 mortar was the M40 ACS chassis, created on the basis of the Sherman tank. It was noticeably different from the base machine, and also had some features directly related to the proposed role. Thus, in the framework of creating the ACS T83 / M40, the experience of the previous project was used regarding the layout of the hull units. The main difference from the tank M4A3 at the same time was the location of the engine. He was transferred from the aft compartment to the center of the hull, which allowed him to release a noticeable amount in the stern, in which the fighting compartment was located. The transmission, in turn, remained in front of the hull. As part of the T83 project, the hull shape was changed: a frontal part consisting of two inclined sheets and a horizontal roof appeared. The sides of the hull, in turn, had a lower height in the front and increased in the rear.

The protection of the T94 self-propelled mortar, as in the case with the base ACS, was to be provided with a set of armor parts borrowed from the Sherman tank and designed for self-propelled guns. Frontal projection protection was carried out by a large cast cover of the transmission compartment and several inclined sheets connected to it. The thickness of the frontal armor reached 2 inches (about 51 mm). Other hull units had a smaller thickness and were supposed to protect the crew and units from small arms weapons and shell fragments.

The central compartment of the hull housed a radial gasoline engine Continental R975-C4 with power 400 hp. With the help of the cardan shaft, shortened in comparison with the shaft of the "Sherman", the engine was connected to the front transmission compartment. The equipment placed in the latter was designed to rotate the front drive wheels. Self-propelled gun T94 had to be equipped with a suspension on the basis of trucks with a pair of road wheels on each. On each side there were three trolleys with shock absorbers of the type HVSS, equipped with horizontal springs.

Mortar Motor Carriage T94 self-propelled mortar project (USA)
Front view. Instead of a mortar mounted wooden layout


The stern coulter was used in the stern of the hull, which served as an emphasis when shooting. Due to the high recoil, the M40 baseline ACU had to lower the coulter before digging and sink it into the ground, thereby reducing the load on the undercarriage and maintaining a stable position. Once again, it was proposed to equip the coulter with a hoist based on a manual winch. For greater convenience of the gunners on the opener supports provided metal plate. When the coulter was raised, it served as the stern sheet of the fighting compartment, while when it was lowered it served as an additional platform.

In the stern of the T94 hull there was a fighting compartment open at the top and rear (with the coulter lowered with the platform). In its front of the installation was provided for mounting tools. The design of the installation made it possible to direct weapons within a fairly wide sector of a vertical plane, and also to rotate a small angle from the longitudinal axis of the machine. In the transport position, the mortar had to fall forward and down, almost lying on the roof of the engine compartment.

For use on the T94 MMC combat vehicle, a smooth-bore T5E2 mortar of the 10 inch caliber (250 mm) with loading from the barrel was proposed. This weapon was supposed to give artillery units high firepower, which made it possible to perform tasks that other modern self-propelled guns could not cope with 155 mm caliber guns. However, the finished sample of the T5E2 product at the time of the start of the T94 project was absent, which accordingly affected the construction of the first sample of the promising machine, and also affected the fate of the project.

A characteristic feature of the 250-mm mortar was a relatively long barrel, which could significantly complicate the work with the weapon. Due to the large weight of ammunition and the impossibility of manual loading from the barrel due to its location at high altitude, the project authors had to develop a number of new equipment intended for installation in the fighting compartment. It was proposed to mount a special device on one installation with an instrument, which would raise the mine to the desired height and then load it into the barrel. This system was a folding (for transportation) frame with a movable platform that performs the transportation of mines to the desired height. Drive type unknown.

In the stern of the right side plate, it was proposed to install an additional crane for reloading mines from the transport vehicle to the racks of the crew compartment or to the loading device. The crane consisted of a vertical stand and a horizontal boom with a mobile load trolley for lifting ammunition. Crane attachments made it possible to turn the boom in the right direction and to perform various operations for reloading ammunition or loading a weapon.

Due to a number of features of the mortar and its maintenance, the T94 MMC project provided for some other innovations related to the layout of the combat compartment. In particular, on the starboard side, near the crane, it was proposed to establish a folding platform, apparently, for the crane operator. Also, the design of racks for portable ammunition was changed.

According to the experience of fighting in Europe, it was proposed to equip a self-propelled mortar with a set of auxiliary weapons for self-defense. To do this, a smoke grenade launcher caliber 51 mm was installed on the front hull sheet, and mounts for a heavy machine gun appeared on the hatch of the driver's assistant on the roof of the hull.

Shortly after the completion of the design work, apparently by the middle of 1945, the construction of the first model of a promising self-propelled mortar began. Such a machine with incomplete equipment was assembled on the basis of the M40 GMC serial ACS. Due to the lack of a workable copy of the mortar, the assemblers of the first sample T94 Mortar Motor Carriage had to do with its wooden mockup. In addition, a part of other equipment of promising self-propelled guns was also made in the form of demonstration models. According to reports, the layout of the self-propelled mortar also did not receive a full-fledged machine gun. In this configuration, the layout could participate in running trials, as well as be used to practice the ergonomics of the combat compartment.


Rear view of the fighting compartment. The mine lifting mechanism and crane are clearly visible.


Work on the creation of 250-mm mortar T5E2 delayed, because of which for several months running layout remained without full-fledged weapons. By the time the T94 MMC appeared, the fighting in Europe was over, and the war in the Pacific was coming to an end. The future of the new self-propelled mortar proved to be the subject of controversy.

Various work on the T94 project continued for several months, until January 1946. Lack of ready-made mortar, as well as a change of views on the appearance of promising self-propelled artillery seriously hampered the continuation of development. At the very beginning of 46, a final decision was made, which put an end to the project. The troops no longer needed equipment with a maximum degree of unification with existing models. In addition, it was decided to build new self-propelled artillery installations on the basis of promising chassis. The self-propelled mortar T94 did not fully fit into the new concept, which is why they refused to further develop this project. The only layout was disassembled as unnecessary.

The Mortar Motor Carriage T94 self-propelled mortar project was a further development of the ideas embodied in the M12 ACS. In this case, a similar concept appeared even earlier, but the first working samples of self-propelled guns with large-caliber guns on tank chassis appeared only in the early forties. Several samples of such equipment could reach the battlefields in Europe. In addition, some of these machines took part in later conflicts, such as the Korean War. However, T94 self-propelled guns appeared too late, and problems with armaments had an additional negative impact on the project. As a result, she became the last representative of her family, based on the ideas and solutions of the M12 project and built on the basis of medium tanks. In the future, the development of self-propelled artillery was carried out with the use of new concepts and ideas.


Based on:
http://historyofwar.org/
http://forum.valka.cz/
http://militaryfactory.com/
Hunnicutt RT Sherman. A History of the American Medium Tank. Navato, CA. Presidio Press, 1994
Author:
Photos used:
Hunnicutt RT Sherman. A History of the American Medium Tank
1 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 25 December 2015 17: 04 New
    0
    muzzle loading for such a caliber ????? they overdid something ......... ours was Shavrina, and even that it was breech-loading - although it was towed ....... and the caliber was smaller.

Проект самоходного миномета T94 Mortar Motor Carriage (США)

В ходе подготовки к высадке в Европе американские военные и оборонная промышленность создали несколько типов новой техники, в том числе ряд самоходных артиллерийских установок. Успешное применение этих машин на европейских фронтах показало правильность принятого решения, в связи с чем появилось предложение о продолжении развития линейки новых САУ с широким использованием существующих идей и техники. Весной 1945 года это предложение привело к старту проекта T94 Mortar Motor Carriage.

К весне 45-го на Западноевропейском ТВД американскими сухопутными войсками использовались САУ M12 GMC и M40 GMC с орудиями калибра 155 мм, построенные на базе существующих средних танков. Подобная техника хорошо зарекомендовала себя и наглядно продемонстрировала все преимущества самоходной артиллерии перед буксируемой. Результатом этого стало предложение расширить список имеющихся в войсках самоходок при помощи новой боевой машины. На этот раз артиллерийское управление военного ведомства предложило построить 10-дюймовый самоходный миномет. Подобная техника могла значительно повысить огневую мощь артиллерийских соединений, а также кардинально повысить их мобильность.

Новый проект разработки САУ стартовал 15 марта 1945 года, когда военное ведомство одобрило начало работ по перспективной теме. Техническое задание к проекту было определено следующим образом. Основой для самоходного миномета должно было стать шасси самоходки T83 (M40 GMC), разработанное на базе среднего танка M4A3 Sherman. Эти шасси уже строились серийно и хорошо показали себя как на испытаниях, так и в условиях реальных боев. На шасси следовало установить 250-мм дульнозарядный миномет T5E2, который планировалось разработать в рамках отдельного проекта.


Проект самоходного миномета T94 Mortar Motor Carriage (США)
Макет самоходного миномета T94 MMC, вид сбоку


Использование готового шасси, как считалось, помогло бы упростить и ускорить выпуск новой техники. При этом боевая машина должна была нести новый миномет крупного калибра, при помощи которого можно было достичь высоких показателей огневой мощи. С учетом имеющегося опыта боев Второй мировой войны техника подобного облика представляла большой интерес для войск.

Разработка проекта T94 MMC не заняла много времени. Достаточно быстро был создан набор нового оборудования, позволявший «превратить» базовую САУ T83/M40 GMC в самоходный миномет. Основная часть нового оборудования должна была устанавливаться в кормовом боевом отделении корпуса. Кроме того, предлагались некоторые другие нововведения, такие как вспомогательное вооружение и т.д. При этом основные узлы и агрегаты корпуса, а также его компоновка не должны были изменяться для сохранения требуемой степени унификации.

Основой для миномета T94 стало шасси САУ M40, созданное на базе танка «Шерман». Оно заметно отличалось от базовой машины, а также имело некоторые особенности, прямо связанные с предлагаемой ролью. Так, в рамках создания САУ T83/M40 был использован опыт предыдущего проекта, касавшийся компоновки агрегатов корпуса. Главное отличие от танка M4A3 при этом заключалось в расположении двигателя. Его перенесли из кормового отсека в центр корпуса, что позволило освободить заметный объем в корме, в котором расположилось боевое отделение. Трансмиссия, в свою очередь, осталась в передней части корпуса. В рамках проекта T83 была изменена форма корпуса: появилась лобовая часть, состоящая из двух наклонных листов, и горизонтальная крыша. Борта корпуса, в свою очередь, имели меньшую высоту в передней части и увеличенную в задней.

Защита самоходного миномета T94, как и в случае с базовой САУ, должна была обеспечиваться набором броневых деталей, заимствованных у танка «Шерман» и разработанных для самоходки. Защита лобовой проекции выполнялась за счет крупной литой крышки трансмиссионного отсека и нескольких наклонных листов, соединенных с ней. Толщина лобовой брони достигала 2 дюймов (около 51 мм). Прочие агрегаты корпуса имели меньшую толщину и должны были защищать экипаж и агрегаты от пуль стрелкового оружия и осколков снарядов.

В центральном отсеке корпуса располагался радиальный бензиновый двигатель Continental R975-C4 мощностью 400 л.с. При помощи карданного вала, укороченного в сравнении с валом «Шермана», двигатель соединялся с передним трансмиссионным отсеком. Размещенное в последнем оборудование предназначалось для вращения передних ведущих колес. Самоходка T94 должна была оснащаться подвеской на основе тележек с парой опорных катков на каждой. На каждом борту предусматривалось по три тележки с амортизаторами типа HVSS, оснащенными горизонтально расположенными пружинами.

Проект самоходного миномета T94 Mortar Motor Carriage (США)
Вид спереди. Вместо миномета установлен деревянный макет


В корме корпуса предусматривался сошник, выполнявший функции упора при стрельбе. Ввиду большой отдачи базовая САУ M40 перед ведением огня должна была опускать сошник и заглублять его в землю, тем самым снижая нагрузку на ходовую часть и сохраняя стабильное положение. В очередной раз предлагалось оснащать сошник механизмом подъема на основе ручной лебедки. Для большего удобства работы артиллеристов на опорах сошника предусматривалась металлическая плита. При поднятом сошнике она служила кормовым листом боевого отделения, при опущенном – дополнительной площадкой.

В корме корпуса T94 находилось открытое сверху и сзади (при опущенном сошнике с площадкой) боевое отделение. В его передней части предусматривалась установка для монтажа орудия. Конструкция установки позволяла наводить оружие в пределах достаточно широкого сектора вертикальной плоскости, а также поворачивать на небольшой угол от продольной оси машины. При этом в транспортном положении миномет должен был опускаться вперед и вниз, почти ложась на крышу моторного отсека.

Для использования на боевой машине T94 MMC предлагался гладкоствольный миномет T5E2 калибра 10 дюймов (250 мм) с заряжанием с дула. Это оружие должно было давать артиллерийским подразделениям высокую огневую мощь, что позволяло выполнять задачи, с которыми не могли справиться другие новейшие САУ с орудиями калибра 155 мм. Тем не менее, готовый образец изделия T5E2 на момент старта проекта T94 отсутствовал, что соответствующим образом сказалось на ходе строительства первого образца перспективной машины, а также повлияло на судьбу проекта.

Характерной особенностью 250-мм миномета был сравнительно длинный ствол, который мог значительно усложнить работу с оружием. Из-за большого веса боеприпасов и невозможности ручного заряжания с дула ввиду его расположения на большой высоте авторам проекта пришлось разработать ряд нового оборудования, предназначенного для установки в боевом отделении. На одной установке с орудием предлагалось смонтировать специальное устройство, обеспечивающее подъем мины на нужную высоту и последующую ее загрузку в ствол. Эта система представляла собой складную (для транспортировки) раму с подвижной платформой, выполняющей транспортировку мины на нужную высоту. Тип приводов неизвестен.

В кормовой части правого бортового листа предлагалось установить дополнительный кран для перегрузки мин с транспортной машины на стеллажи боевого отделения или на устройство заряжания. Кран состоял из вертикальной стойки и горизонтальной стрелы с подвижной грузовой тележкой для подъема боеприпасов. Устройства крепления крана позволяли поворачивать стрелу в нужном направлении и выполнять различные операции по перегрузке боеприпасов или заряжанию оружия.

Ввиду ряда особенностей работы миномета и его обслуживания в проекте T94 MMC предусматривались некоторые другие нововведения, связанные с компоновкой боевого отделения. В частности, на правом борту, возле крана, предлагалось установить складную площадку, по-видимому, для оператора крана. Также была изменена конструкция стеллажей для возимого боекомплекта.

По опыту боев в Европе было предложено оснастить самоходный миномет набором вспомогательного вооружения для самообороны. Для этого на лобовом листе корпуса установили дымовой гранатомет калибра 51 мм, а на люке помощника водителя на крыше корпуса появились крепления для крупнокалиберного пулемета.

Вскоре после завершения проектных работ, по-видимому, к середине 1945 года, началось строительство первого макета перспективного самоходного миномета. Такая машина с неполным составом оборудования была собрана на базе серийной САУ M40 GMC. Ввиду отсутствия работоспособного экземпляра миномета сборщикам первого образца T94 Mortar Motor Carriage пришлось обойтись его деревянным макетом. Кроме того, часть иного оборудования перспективной самоходки так же была выполнена в виде демонстрационных макетов. По имеющимся данным, макет самоходного миномета так же не получил полноценный пулемет. В такой конфигурации макет мог участвовать в ходовых испытаниях, а также применяться для отработки эргономики боевого отделения.

Проект самоходного миномета T94 Mortar Motor Carriage (США)
Вид сзади на боевое отделение. Хорошо видны механизм подъема мин и кран


Работы по созданию 250-мм миномета T5E2 затягивались, из-за чего в течение нескольких месяцев ходовой макет оставался без полноценного вооружения. К моменту появления макета T94 MMC боевые действия в Европе завершились, а война на Тихом океане подходила к концу. Дальнейшее будущее нового самоходного миномета оказались предметом споров.

Различные работы в рамках проекта T94 продолжались в течение нескольких месяцев, до января 1946 года. Отсутствие готового миномета, а также изменение взглядов на облик перспективной самоходной артиллерии серьезно затрудняли продолжение разработки. В самом начале 46-го было принято окончательное решение, поставившее точку в проекте. Войскам более не требовалась техника с максимальной степенью унификации с существующими образцами. Кроме того, было решено строить новые самоходные артиллерийские установки на основе перспективных шасси. Самоходный миномет T94 не в полной мере вписывался в новые концепции, из-за чего от дальнейшего развития этого проекта отказались. Единственный макет был разобран за ненадобностью.

Проект самоходного миномета T94 Mortar Motor Carriage стал дальнейшим развитием идей, заложенных в САУ M12. При этом подобная концепция появилась еще раньше, но первые рабочие образцы самоходок с крупнокалиберными орудиями на танковых шасси появились лишь в начале сороковых годов. До полей сражений в Европе смогли добраться несколько образцов такой техники. Кроме того, часть подобных машин принимала участие в более поздних конфликтах, таких как Корейская война. Тем не менее, САУ T94 появилась слишком поздно, а проблемы с вооружением оказывали на проект дополнительное негативное влияние. В итоге она стала последним представителем своего семейства, основывавшегося на идеях и решениях проекта M12 и строившегося на базе средних танков. В дальнейшем развитие самоходной артиллерии велось с применением новых концепций и идей.


По материалам:
http://historyofwar.org/
http://forum.valka.cz/
http://militaryfactory.com/
Hunnicutt R.T. Sherman. A History of the American Medium Tank. Navato, CA. Presidio Press, 1994
Автор: Рябов Кирилл

Использованы фотографии: Hunnicutt R.T. Sherman. A History of the American Medium Tank

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 1
  1. казак волгский 25 декабря 2015 17:04
    дульное заряжание для такого калибра????? что - то перемудрили......... наш - Шаврина и то казнозарядный был - хотя и буксируемый.......да и калибр поменьше.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня