Military Review

Anti-aircraft self-propelled installation M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (USA)

5
At the final stage of World War II, American industry created several projects of military equipment based on light tank M24 Chaffee. This combat vehicle had a rather successful design, due to which it could be used as the basis for various equipment. One of the samples of the Chaffee-based armored vehicles was the M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage anti-aircraft self-propelled gun.


Creating a promising ZSU with small-caliber cannon armament based on the existing light tank was launched in 1942 year. The troops needed a combat vehicle based on the M5 Stuart light tank with two Bofors 40-mm caliber guns in a full-swing armored turret. Such a machine could move in the same columns or combat formations with the existing armored vehicles of various types, carrying out their anti-aircraft defense. Preliminary studies have shown that the selected chassis and guns are able to solve the tasks. The project of the new ZSU received the designation T65 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage.

The first draft of the T65 project was developed by the end of 1942 of the year. Within the framework of this project, it was decided to use the existing solutions for the layout of self-propelled artillery systems, modifying them in accordance with the existing requirements. So, it was planned to rework the layout of the base tank chassis M5 with the transfer of the engine from the stern to the central part, to the place of the former combat compartment. Tower with crew jobs and weapons, in turn, should have been located in the aft of the hull.


ZSU M19A1 in the museum Kubinka. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


According to some reports, the construction of the T1943 prototype self-propelled gun was launched in the spring of 65, but it was soon canceled. In April, the 43-th command decided to develop a new project, which received the code name Light Combat Team. As part of this program, it was planned to create a whole family of new armored vehicles for various purposes based on the tank of the existing model. At the same time, in order to achieve the highest possible performance, they offered to take the newest lightweight tank, the M42 Chaffee, as a basis for the family. In connection with such changes in plans, it was decided to rework several existing projects, including T65. A new version of this ZSU received the designation T65E1.

Despite the different purpose, the new technique based on the M24 tank had to use the chassis of a similar design. According to the experience of the development and operation of existing equipment based on medium and light tanks, it was decided to use a common layout for all such machines with the engine location in the central part of the hull and the aft fighting compartment. ZSU T65E1 MGMC is no exception to this rule.

During the development of the project Light Combat Team, a modified Chaffi tank chassis with the required layout was created. It retained some common features of the base machine, but received a number of noticeable differences. So, in front of the building there was a transmission compartment, behind which there was a two-seat control unit. For the driver and commander, the engine compartment was provided with engines, radiator, etc., and the feed was given under the fighting compartment with the necessary armament.

Anti-aircraft self-propelled installation M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (USA)
M19A1 on the front. Behind the self-propelled gun seen a trailer with ammunition. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


The case of such a chassis was a modified version of the M24 units, assembled from a large number of armor plates from 15 to 38 mm in thickness. In this case, the shape of the case has changed. Its frontal part consisted of three sheets located at different angles to the vertical. In place of the base tank turret there was a horizontal hull roof with ventilation grilles and service hatches. In the aft of the hull, in the case of the ZSU T65E1, a shoulder strap with a diameter of 2,16 m was provided for the installation of a tower of the original design.

In the middle compartment of the hull, two Cadillac 44T24 petrol engines with 110 horsepower each were located. With the help of a cardan shaft passing through the control compartment, the engine was connected to the transmission units. The latter set in motion the front drive wheels. The undercarriage of such a “universal chassis” was borrowed from the M24 tank without any changes. She had six double road wheels with a torsion bar on each side. Also provided for four supporting rollers on board.

On the aft hull of the ZSU hull T65E1, it was proposed to install a turret with crew positions and weapons. A U-shaped gun shield with vertical guidance mechanisms was mounted on the main cylindrical assembly of the tower. In addition, two niches were provided on the sides of the tower for the installation of various equipment, including a radio station. In the central part of the tower were mounted for two automatic guns. On the sides of them and in the stern of the tower places for the crew were established. On the outer surface of the tower was fixed a large number of boxes for the transport of ammunition. The tower was made of armor plates with a thickness from 6,3 to 13 mm.


The layout of the machine. Figure Afvdb.50megs.com


T65E1 armed with two 40-mm automatic guns M2 firm Bofors. The guns were equipped with hydraulic and manual guidance mechanisms. The rotation of the entire tower provided a circular guidance horizontally. Vertical guidance mechanisms allowed firing with elevation angles from -3 ° to + 85 °. The maximum speed of horizontal guidance reached 40 ° per second, vertical - 25 ° per second. For aiming weapons used sights types M13, M23 and M24, located to the right and left of the gun unit.

The guns were supplied with ammunition using cassettes that were loaded into gun receivers. The technical rate of fire of the used guns reached 120 rounds per minute. During the development of the ZSU T65E1, such parameters were considered sufficient to effectively combat aerial targets. The total ammunition load carried in the drawers of the turret consisted of 352xXNNUMX mm R shells. In addition, additional ammunition should be transported in a special trailer.

Used guns could use high-explosive or armor-piercing shells, the initial velocity of which reached 880 m / s. The maximum firing range exceeded 7,1 km. At the same time, for effective destruction of targets, depending on their characteristics, it was necessary to reduce the firing range. Due to the use of an appropriate projectile, it was possible to attack not only air targets, but also land vehicles of various classes, as well as enemy enemy manpower.


General view of the self-propelled gun. Photo Militaryfactory.com


The crew of the machine T65E1 was to consist of six people. The commander and the driver were located in front of the hull, in the control room. In the tower there were two gunners (on the sides of the guns) and two gunners who were responsible for loading the guns (at the stern wall).

For self-defense self-propelled gun could use machine gun M2HB, mounts for which were provided on the machine. The crew also had personal small arms, which could also be used to protect against enemy personnel.

Like the other equipment of its family, the T65E1 MGMC self-propelled self-propelled gun was almost the same size and weight as the Chaffee base tank. The length of the vehicle was 5,8 m, width 2,93 m, height (at the upper point of the gun shield) - 2,96 m. The combat weight was set at the level of 18 t. With the help of two petrol engines of 110 hp. the car could reach speeds of the order of 55 km / h and travel up to 160 km at a single fueling. The rise on the slope of the 60% or 100-cm wall, the intersection of a ditch with a width of 2,74 m and movement along a ford to a depth of 1,07 m were provided.

Together with the anti-aircraft self-propelled gun, it was proposed to use a special wheel trailer M28 for transporting additional ammunition. It was a standard uniaxial trailer, refined by mounting mounts for ammunition boxes. The trailer provided space for 20 boxes of the M14 type, each of which contained 16 shells for cannons - all 320 shots. If necessary, the trailer could be covered with an awning. The trailer was towed by means of a triangular frame with a loop connected to the towing device of the armored vehicle.


ZSU, view from above. Photo Militaryfactory.com


The first prototype ZSU T65E1 was built at the beginning of 1944, and soon went to the Aberdeen Proving Ground. In general, the car showed itself well, although it took some minor improvements. Checks and refinement experienced self-propelled continued until the summer. 14 June 1944, the new combat vehicle was put into service under the designation M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage. Soon the first contract for the serial construction of new equipment appeared.

In August, the United States Department of Defense 44 placed the first order for the construction of serial M19 in the number of 904 units. Cadillac and Massey-Harris should have built this technique. Their plants already had experience in the production of various armored vehicles, including M24 tanks, thanks to which they were able to quickly master the construction of self-propelled self-propelled guns. However, until the end of the war, only 285 (according to other data, 300) self-propelled guns were built, i.e. less than a third of the order. In view of the cessation of battles and the absence of the need for further mass production of such equipment, it was decided to abandon new supplies.

The first batches of the M19 MGMC were handed over to the customer until the end of 1944, thanks to which these machines were able to take part in the battles of World War II in Europe. Some sources mention that, due to the relatively late start of supply, the M19 cars could not fully begin to solve the initial problems. Battle aviation the anti-Hitler coalition inflicted serious damage on the Luftwaffe and won air superiority. Because of this, anti-aircraft self-propelled guns rarely had to defend their troops from attacks by enemy aircraft.


Tower with weapons of one of the museum cars. Photo Afvdb.50megs.com


However, M19 machines did participate in the battles, although not in the intended role. They were often used as an additional means of fire support for the ground forces. The characteristics of the Bofors guns made it possible with a certain efficiency to bombard buildings, fortifications, equipment and manpower of the enemy from long distances and thereby help the advancing units. As a result, until the end of the Second World War in Europe, the main task of anti-aircraft self-propelled guns was the attack of ground targets.

After the end of the war, the operation of the ZNU M19 continued. In addition, in the late forties, the available equipment of this type was upgraded by the project M19A1. The new project implied minor modifications to the gun installation, aimed at improving its performance and reliability, and also included the installation of an auxiliary power unit. In the upper part of the engine compartment, an additional low-power engine with a generator was mounted, with the help of which it was proposed to supply the existing equipment with the main engine turned off.

Already in the updated configuration M19A1 MGMC took part in the Korean War. According to reports, in this conflict, as during World War II, self-propelled guns often had to play the role of field artillery. By this time, the Chinese Air Forces already had a large number of modern jet aircraft, which were too difficult a target for cannon ZSUs. Low-speed North Korean aircraft, in turn, rarely appeared in the area of ​​responsibility of the American anti-aircraft gunners.


Trailer M28 with boxes M19. Photo Afvdb.50megs.com


At the same time, M19A1 again showed itself as a ground-based fire support. As such, they were used in the defense of the Pusan ​​perimeter, in positional battles and subsequent offensive operations. As during World War II, a pair of 40-mm automatic guns allowed self-propelled guns to fight with light equipment and manpower of the enemy.

Service military vehicles M19A1 continued until the second half of the fifties. After that, all vehicles based on the M24 Chaffee tank began to be decommissioned and decommissioned. Self-propelled self-propelled guns were also disabled, but only partially utilized. The towers of these machines underwent repairs and upgrades with the installation of new systems, after which they were mounted on the chassis of the M41 Walker Bulldog light tanks. The resulting machines received the designation M42 Duster. The operation of such technology lasted until the eighties.

In total, nearly three hundred M19 MGMC machines were built, which took an active part in two wars. Some of this equipment was damaged or destroyed in the battles, some became the enemy's trophy, and some machines managed to survive in the battles and not get into recycling. Nearly two dozen M19 ZSUs, which are now museum pieces, have survived to this day. Among all the museum samples, three of them are of the greatest interest, namely, cars stored in the Russian Armored Museum in the town of Kubinka, in the Military Museum of Beijing and in the Pyongyang Museum of Victory in the Patriotic War of Liberation. These vehicles participated in the Korean War, during which they became trophies of the North Korean and Chinese troops. After that, one of the self-propelled guns was sent to the USSR for study, and then all three cars became museum exhibits. The rest of the preserved M19 are mostly kept in US museums.


On the materials of the sites:
http://historyofwar.org/
http://militaryfactory.com/
http://the.shadock.free.fr/
http://afvdb.50megs.com/
http://vn-parabellum.com/

The list of preserved M19 MGMC with photos:
http://the.shadock.free.fr/Surviving_M19_GMC.pdf
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Olfred
    Olfred 28 December 2015 12: 38 New
    +2
    Thank you for the article! Pretty interesting hi
  2. Yak28
    Yak28 28 December 2015 17: 46 New
    +4
    When the dust in the museum in Kubinka begins to shake off the equipment, it was there in the fall, all the equipment is dusty, the roofs of most hangars leak. But there are not a few foreigners there, in disgrace
    1. KOMA
      KOMA 29 December 2015 21: 22 New
      0
      Have you been to Kubinka? It was summer, I have not seen dust! I do not know about the current hangars, it was dry!
  3. Victor Wolz
    Victor Wolz 1 January 2016 18: 02 New
    0
    There are new and old hangars in Kubinka, but repairs are in full swing. True, it was not possible to visit the hangar where the prototypes T-72, T-80, and T-90 and bmp prototypes with armored personnel carriers are stored, it would be interesting to see the prototype MBT with a 152mm gun.
  4. Zaurbek
    Zaurbek 2 January 2016 19: 19 New
    0
    Where did the sample in Kubinka come from?

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)

На заключительном этапе Второй мировой войны американская промышленность создала несколько проектов военной техники на базе легкого танка M24 Chaffee. Эта боевая машина имела достаточно удачную конструкцию, благодаря чему могла использоваться в качестве основы для различной техники. Одним из образцов бронетехники на базе «Чаффи» стала зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage.

Создание перспективной ЗСУ с малокалиберным пушечным вооружением на базе существующего легкого танка стартовало в 1942 году. Войскам требовалась боевая машина на базе легкого танка M5 Stuart с двумя пушками Bofors калибра 40 мм в полноповоротной бронированной башне. Такая машина могла бы двигаться в одних колоннах или боевых порядках с существующей бронетехникой различных типов, осуществляя их противовоздушную оборону. Предварительные исследования показывали, что выбранные шасси и пушки способны решать поставленные задачи. Проект новой ЗСУ получил обозначение T65 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage.

Первый вариант проекта T65 был разработан к концу 1942 года. В рамках этого проекта было решено использовать существующие решения компоновки самоходных артиллерийских установок, изменив их в соответствии с существующими требованиями. Так, планировалось переработать компоновку шасси базового танка M5 с переносом двигателя из кормы в центральную часть, на место бывшего боевого отделения. Башня с рабочими местами экипажа и оружием, в свою очередь, должна была располагаться в кормовой части корпуса.


Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
ЗСУ M19A1 в музее г. Кубинка. Фото Wikimedia Commons


По некоторым данным, весной 1943 года стартовало строительство опытной самоходки T65, однако вскоре его отменили. В апреле 43-го командование приняло решение развивать новый проект, получивший условное наименование Light Combat Team. В рамках этой программы планировалось создать целое семейство новой бронетехники различного назначения на базе танка существующей модели. При этом с целью достижения максимально возможных характеристик за основу для семейства предложили взять новейший легкий танк M42 Chaffee. В связи с подобными изменениями планов было решено переработать несколько существующих проектов, в том числе и T65. Новый вариант этой ЗСУ получил обозначение T65E1.

Несмотря на различное назначение, новая техника на базе танка M24 должна была использовать шасси схожей конструкции. По опыту разработки и эксплуатации существующей техники на базе средних и легких танков было решено использовать общую для всех подобных машин компоновку с расположением двигателя в центральной части корпуса и кормовым боевым отделением. ЗСУ T65E1 MGMC не стала исключением из этого правила.

В ходе разработки проекта Light Combat Team было создано измененное шасси танка «Чаффи» с требуемой компоновкой. Оно сохранило некоторые общие черты базовой машины, но получило ряд заметных отличий. Так, в передней части корпуса сохранился отсек трансмиссии, за которым располагалось двухместное отделение управления. За местами водителя и командира предусматривался моторный отсек с двигателями, радиатором и т.д., а корма отдавалась под боевое отделение с необходимым вооружением.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
M19A1 на фронте. Позади самоходки виден прицеп с боеприпасами. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Корпус такого шасси представлял собой доработанный вариант агрегатов M24, собиравшийся из большого числа бронелистов толщиной от 15 до 38 мм. При этом изменилась форма корпуса. Его лобовая часть состояла из трех листов, расположенных под разными углами к вертикали. На месте башни базового танка находилась горизонтальная крыша корпуса с решетками для вентиляции и люками для обслуживания. В корме корпуса в случае с ЗСУ T65E1 предусматривался погон диаметром 2,16 м для установки башни оригинальной конструкции.

В среднем отсеке корпуса расположили два бензиновых двигателя Cadillac 44T24 мощностью по 110 л.с. При помощи карданного вала, проходящего через отделение управления, двигатель был связан с агрегатами трансмиссии. Последние приводили в движение передние ведущие колеса. Ходовая часть подобного «универсального шасси» была заимствована у танка M24 без каких-либо изменений. Она имела по шесть двойных опорных катков с торсионной подвеской на каждом борту. Также предусматривалось по четыре поддерживающих ролика на борт.

На кормовом погоне корпуса ЗСУ T65E1 предлагалось устанавливать башню с рабочими местами экипажа и вооружением. На основном цилиндрическом агрегате башни монтировался U-образный орудийный щит с механизмами вертикальной наводки. Кроме того, в бортах башни предусматривались две ниши для установки различного оборудования, в том числе радиостанции. В центральной части башни находились крепления для двух автоматических пушек. По бокам от них и в корме башни устанавливались места для экипажа. На внешней поверхности башни закреплялось большое количество ящиков для перевозки боеприпасов. Башня изготавливалась из броневых листов толщиной от 6,3 до 13 мм.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
Компоновка машины. Рисунок Afvdb.50megs.com


T65E1 вооружили двумя 40-мм автоматическими пушками M2 фирмы Bofors. Пушки оснащались гидравлическими и ручными механизмами наведения. Вращение всей башни обеспечивало круговое наведение по горизонтали. Механизмы вертикальной наводки позволяли вести огонь с углами возвышения от -3° до +85°. Максимальная скорость горизонтального наведения достигала 40° в секунду, вертикального – 25° в сек. Для наведения оружия использовались прицелы типов M13, M23 и M24, расположенные справа и слева от блока пушек.

Боепитание орудий осуществлялось при помощи кассет, заряжаемых в приемные устройства пушек. Техническая скорострельность использованных орудий достигала 120 выстрелов в минуту у каждой. Во время разработки ЗСУ T65E1 подобные параметры считались достаточными для эффективной борьбы с воздушными целями. Общий возимый боекомплект, находящийся в ящиках башни, состоял из 352 снарядов 40x311 мм R. Кроме того, дополнительный боекомплект следовало перевозить в специальном прицепе.

Использованные пушки могли использовать осколочно-фугасные или бронебойные снаряды, начальная скорость которых достигала 880 м/с. Максимальная дальность стрельбы превышала 7,1 км. При этом для эффективного поражения целей, в зависимости от их характеристик, требовалось сокращать дальность стрельбы. За счет использования соответствующего снаряда можно было атаковать не только воздушные цели, но и сухопутную технику различных классов, а также живую силу противника.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
Общий вид самоходки. Фото Militaryfactory.com


Экипаж машины T65E1 должен был состоять из шести человек. Командир и механик-водитель располагались в передней части корпуса, в отделении управления. В башне находились два наводчика (по бокам от пушек) и два артиллериста, отвечавшие за заряжание орудий (у кормовой стенки).

Для самообороны самоходка могла использовать пулемет M2HB, крепления для которого предусматривались на машине. Также экипаж располагал личным стрелковым оружием, которое так же можно было использовать для защиты от живой силы противника.

Как и другая техника своего семейства, зенитная самоходка T65E1 MGMC по габаритам и весу почти не отличалась от базового танка «Чаффи». Длина машины составляла 5,8 м, ширина 2,93 м, высота (по верхней точке орудийного щита) – 2,96 м. Боевая масса задавалась на уровне 18 т. При помощи двух бензиновых двигателей мощностью по 110 л.с. машина могла развивать скорость порядка 55 км/ч и преодолевать до 160 км на одной заправке топливом. Обеспечивался подъем на уклон крутизной 60% или 100-см стенку, пересечение рва шириной 2,74 м, а также движение по броду глубиной до 1,07 м.

Вместе с зенитной самоходкой предлагалось использовать специальный колесный прицеп M28 для перевозки дополнительного боекомплекта. Он представлял собой стандартный одноосный прицеп, доработанный путем установки креплений для ящиков с боеприпасами. В прицепе предусматривались места для 20 ящиков типа M14, каждый из которых вмещал по 16 снарядов для пушек – всего 320 выстрелов. При необходимости прицеп мог накрываться тентом. Буксировка прицепа осуществлялась при помощи треугольной рамы с петлей, соединяемой с буксирным устройством бронемашины.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
ЗСУ, вид сверху. Фото Militaryfactory.com


Первый прототип ЗСУ T65E1 был построен в начале 1944 года и вскоре отправился на Абердинский полигон. В целом, машина хорошо проявила себя, хотя и понадобились некоторые незначительные доработки. Проверки и доводка опытной самоходки продолжались до лета. 14 июня 1944 года новая боевая машина была принята на вооружение под обозначением M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage. Вскоре появился первый контракт на серийное строительство новой техники.

В августе 44-го военное ведомство Соединенных Штатов разместило первый заказ на строительство серийных M19 в количестве 904 единиц. Строить эту технику должны были компании Cadillac и Massey-Harris. Их заводы уже имели опыт производства различной бронетехники, в том числе танков M24, благодаря чему смогли быстро освоить строительство зенитных самоходок. Тем не менее, до конца войны было построено только 285 (по другим данным, 300) самоходок, т.е. менее трети от заказа. Ввиду прекращения боев и отсутствия необходимости в дальнейшем массовом производстве подобной техники было решено отказаться от новых поставок.

Первые партии M19 MGMC были переданы заказчику до конца 1944 года, благодаря чему эти машины смогли принять участие в боях Второй мировой войны в Европе. В некоторых источниках упоминается, что из-за сравнительно позднего начала поставок машины M19 не смогли полноценно приступить к решению изначальных задач. Боевая авиация антигитлеровской коалиции нанесла Люфтваффе серьезный ущерб и завоевала превосходство в воздухе. Из-за этого зенитным самоходкам нечасто приходилось защищать свои войска от нападения вражеской авиации.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
Башня с вооружением одной из музейных машин. Фото Afvdb.50megs.com


Тем не менее, машины M19 все же участвовали в боях, хотя и не в предполагаемой роли. Они нередко использовались в качестве дополнительного средства огневой поддержки сухопутных войск. Характеристики пушек «Бофорс» позволяли с определенной эффективностью обстреливать постройки, укрепления, технику и живую силу противника с больших расстояний и тем самым помогать наступающим подразделениям. В итоге до конца Второй мировой в Европе основной задачей зенитных самоходок была атака наземных целей.

После окончания войны эксплуатация ЗСУ M19 продолжилась. Кроме того, в конце сороковых имеющаяся техника этого типа прошла модернизацию по проекту M19A1. Новый проект подразумевал небольшие доработки орудийной установки, направленные на повышение ее характеристик и надежности, а также предусматривал установку вспомогательной силовой установки. В верхней части моторного отсека монтировались дополнительный маломощный двигатель с генератором, при помощи которых предлагалось осуществлять энергоснабжение имеющейся аппаратуры при выключенном основном двигателе.

Уже в обновленной конфигурации M19A1 MGMC приняли участие в Корейской войне. По имеющимся данным, в этом конфликте, как и во время Второй мировой, зенитным самоходкам зачастую приходилось играть роль полевой артиллерии. Китайские ВВС к этому времени уже располагали большим количеством современных реактивных самолетов, которые были слишком сложной целью для пушечных ЗСУ. Низкоскоростные северокорейские самолеты, в свою очередь, нечасто появлялись в зоне ответственности американских зенитчиков.

Зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage (США)
Прицеп M28 с ящиками M19. Фото Afvdb.50megs.com


При этом M19A1 вновь хорошо показали себя как наземное средство огневой поддержки. В таком качестве их использовали при обороне Пусанского периметра, в позиционных сражениях и последующих наступательных операциях. Как и во время Второй мировой войны, пара 40-мм автоматических пушек позволяла самоходке бороться с легкой техникой и живой силой противника.

Служба боевых машин M19A1 продолжалась до второй половины пятидесятых годов. После этого всю технику на базе танка M24 Chaffee начали выводить из эксплуатации и списывать. Зенитные самоходки так же выводились из строя, однако утилизировались лишь частично. Башни этих машин проходили ремонт и модернизацию с установкой новых систем, после чего их монтировали на шасси легких танков M41 Walker Bulldog. Получившиеся машины получали обозначение M42 Duster. Эксплуатация такой техники продолжалась до восьмидесятых годов.

Всего было построено почти три сотни машин M19 MGMC, которые принимали активное участие в двух войнах. Часть этой техники была повреждена или уничтожена в боях, часть стала трофеем противника, а некоторым машинам удалось уцелеть в боях и не попасть на утилизацию. До наших дней дожило почти два десятка ЗСУ M19, которые теперь являются музейными экспонатами. Среди всех музейных образцов наибольший интерес представляют три, а именно машины, хранящиеся в российском бронетанковом музее в г. Кубинка, в Военном музее Пекина и в пхеньянском Музее победы в Отечественной освободительной войне. Эти машины участвовали в Корейской войне, в ходе которой стали трофеями северокорейских и китайских войск. После этого одна из самоходок была отправлена в СССР для изучения, а в дальнейшем все три машины стали музейными экспонатами. Остальные сохранившиеся M19 в большинстве своем хранятся в музеях США.


По материалам сайтов:
http://historyofwar.org/
http://militaryfactory.com/
http://the.shadock.free.fr/
http://afvdb.50megs.com/
http://vn-parabellum.com/

Список сохранившихся M19 MGMC с фотографиями:
http://the.shadock.free.fr/Surviving_M19_GMC.pdf
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. OlfRed 28 декабря 2015 12:38
    Благодарю за статью! Довольно таки интересно hi
  2. Yak28 28 декабря 2015 17:46
    Когда в музее в Кубинке начнут пыль с техники стряхивать,осенью там был,вся техника в пыли,крыши большинства ангаров протекают.А ведь там и иностранцев не мало,во позорища
    1. KOMA 29 декабря 2015 21:22
      Ты точно был на Кубинке? Был летом, пыли не видел! Про текущие ангары не знаю, сухо было!
  3. Виктор Wolz 1 января 2016 18:02
    В Кубинке есть новые и старые ангары, но ремонт идет полным ходом. Правда не удалось побывать в ангаре где хранят прототипы Т-72,Т-80, и Т-90 и прототипы бмп с бтр, интересно было бы посмотреть прототип ОБТ со 152мм орудием.
  4. Zaurbek 2 января 2016 19:19
    Откуда образец в Кубинке взяли?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня