Military Review

Republic of California. The Bear Revolution

7
On the one hand, the Republic of California remains one of the curiosities of the American-Mexican war, on the other, it is one of the most visible evidence of the historic collapse that the Mexican state suffered by 1846 year. Impoverished, exhausted by endless coups, insurrections and uprisings, Mexico had lost not only Texas by that time, which after several years of independent existence had joined the United States, but also Yucatan, which also declared itself a separate state and led a fierce armed struggle with the central government. Against this background, the emergence of another hotbed of separatism was inevitable.




By the time the United States under the leadership of President James Polk were ready for the invasion. Having provoked the enemy first to apply weapon (the Americans later used this technique several times), 13 May 1846, the United States declared war on Mexico.

According to a common version, American settlers in California did not know about the beginning of the war, when they were revolting. The version is, frankly, doubtful, because, despite the underdeveloped means of communication, a month is a long enough period for such an important newslike war. And if we recall that roughly the revolution in Texas also began, then here, most likely, an event took place that today would be called a hybrid war.

The prehistory of the conflict speaks in favor of this version. Shortly before the outbreak of the conflict, a US army expedition led by Captain John Fremont, son-in-law of Senator Thomas Hart Benton, famous for his expansionist views, proceeded to Oregon through Upper California. The action was marked by noise and provocations against the Mexican authorities. Later, Fremont contacted Thomas Larkin, a well-known businessman in Upper California, a lovelace, and in combination - the only US consul in this Mexican territory. Back at the beginning of 1846, Larkin received a letter from Secretary of State James Buchanan, which actually contained direct indications of actions to destabilize Upper California (Alta California) in order to facilitate its secession from Mexico. The war at that time had not yet begun, but the pre-storm mood literally was in the air. Both Larkin and Fremont knew perfectly well the plans of President Polk, for whom the Pacific coast had become the idea of ​​a lifetime.

8 Jun. William Eid, the future leader of the uprising, received an anonymous letter stating that Mexican government forces were burning crops and stealing cattle, and Captain Fremont invites American settlers to organize and fight back the enemy. The citizens who arrived to Fremont with great displeasure found that he could not help them not only with the supply, but he did not even have an adequate plan.

In a short time, the rebels seized 170 state horses (all of them were brought to the Fremont camp), as well as the barracks of the Sonoma garrison, which became their headquarters. In the same place for the first time the Californian "bear" flag was raised.

Republic of California. The Bear Revolution


At the same time, the most acute shortage faced by the militants turned out to be a shortage of gunpowder: there was almost none at all. It was decided to send messengers to the American ship Portsmouth, in which the rebels asked for gunpowder to defend against the Mexicans. The rebels themselves for the more convincing called "compatriots."

At some point, the uprising formed two of the most organized and active centers - in Sonoma and the Fremont camp, which was located near Fort Sutter. Fremont himself, however, was determined to help the Sonoma rebellion and moved towards her at the head of his squad of about 90 fighters.

At this very time, John Sloat, commander of the Pacific squadron, which was in the harbor of Monterey, was waiting for convincing evidence of the beginning of the war between Mexico and the United States, in order to begin active operations against the capital of Upper California. It was there that he received information about the uprising of the American settlers, as well as that the Mexican military authorities, led by General Castro, were preparing to suppress the insurrection.

But Sloat was in doubt. 4 a year ago, his predecessor, Thomas Jones, gave the order to capture Monterey, mistakenly deciding that the war had already begun. The result was embarrassment, a diplomatic scandal and the removal of an overly zealous naval commander.

The conversation with the consul Larkin apparently had a decisive effect on the squadron commander, who literally stated the following: “Later, they may accuse me of something that I didn’t do, but they might also say that I went too far. I prefer the second. 6 July was decided to act. July 7 frigate "Savannah" and sloops "Levant" and "Sayan" captured the capital of Upper California. On the same day it was announced in English and Spanish that from now on California is part of the United States.

The California Republic uprising ended two days later when an American officer from the Portsmouth ship arrived at the insurgents in Sonya with two US flags — one for Sonoma and the other for Fort Sutter. After that, an isolated uprising finally became part of a major continental war.



It is worth noting that along the way, American diplomacy had to urgently resolve the issue of the vast territory of Oregon in order not to get a second front with Britain during the war with Mexico. The territorial dispute was unleashed by compromise: the region was divided in two and the border became as we know it today. If London could have foreseen what consequences for him would be the loss of half of Oregon and, moreover, the complete military defeat of Mexico, he would undoubtedly have done everything to prevent such an outcome. An open war with both Britain and Mexico at the same time the United States at that time could not stand it. But the British were engaged exclusively in the struggle with Russia and overlooked the threat from the West.

The Republic of California existed for two weeks, there were only about two hundred citizens, and did not have any civil administration. It is difficult to call it even a rebel movement, not that the state, but modern California originates precisely from the insurgency. And today on the flag of the richest populous state of the USA there is an inscription "California Republic".

By joining Upper California, the United States received a much-desired outlet to the Pacific Ocean. In the future, this will mean big problems and a constant threat to Japan, Russia, China, as well as the Spanish and German overseas possessions. Great Britain will pay for its cowardice and short-sightedness by losing influence, first on the North American continent, and then around the world.
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. strelets
    strelets 25 December 2015 06: 41 New
    +3
    Amerikosy first trained on the nearest neighbors. But there are few of them. And now you have to rob and rob all over the world. How is it in the criminal code? Terrorism, massacres, robbery with violence.
    1. Kibalchish
      25 December 2015 06: 46 New
      +4
      At first there was an attack on Canada, but the British managed to pile them.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 25 December 2015 07: 49 New
    +2
    Aleksey Pavlovich Korobitsin (Aleksey Moiseevich Kantor, codename Turban, Leo, Narsiso) is a Soviet intelligence officer .. wrote at one time an exciting book, "Juan Markado the Avenger from Texas" .. The book tells about the heroic struggle of the Mexican people against the colonialist policy of the United States in the first half of the XIX century ... On the creation of the Texas Republic, a Republic in California ..
  3. shoemaker
    shoemaker 25 December 2015 10: 59 New
    0
    Before the Mexicans appeared in California, there was a Spanish empire. The Spaniards excluded the residence not of Catholics but of their territory. The Americans did not consider this Mexican territory, since the Mexican government did not consider the successor of the Spanish government. The Apache tribes fought against Mexicans and Americans at one time for their land (to be honest, one sand, although their own sand). That is, I want to say, according to the first comment: the Aztec territory did not extend to California, this territory belonged to Spain. when the Protestants began to inhabit the land, and there were more of them than Catholics, it is natural that the Protestants raked everything under themselves. They announced the creation of their republic, and even proclaimed independent for some time, but Washington broke them off, it hurt too much gold. Here is at least the story of Joaquin Murieta, this is just from this era. That is, the gringos didn’t really do anything, the land itself fell into their hands due to the systemic and political mistake of the Mexicans themselves. It was clear that the Mexicans are not Spaniards, there is no bureaucratic and political organization like the Spaniards (and also the military financial component ) The claim of Mexicans to gringo is meaningless, the Spaniards lost the territory, but not the Mexicans.
    1. Kibalchish
      25 December 2015 11: 07 New
      +1
      By and large, there were no clear boundaries anywhere. Everything by eye.
  4. a housewife
    a housewife 25 December 2015 13: 46 New
    +2
    And where did you divide Russian California? They raked under the guise, generally illegally. Where is it written that they conquered, bought, traded, rented from Russia? Predators - from the word to hit, that is, to steal!
  5. Max_Bauder
    Max_Bauder 25 December 2015 15: 37 New
    +3
    Ehhh, if it were possible to send a company of Russian paratroopers there in that era, then they would not just not lose Alaska, but would also border the states directly in California, smiling with iskanders right in front of their gates. smile
  6. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 25 December 2015 19: 12 New
    +1
    Nice article, thanks!
  7. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 2 January 2016 01: 10 New
    0
    I read it in the reverse order after the article about Louisiana. I missed it somehow. To the author --- Thanks for the article.

Республика Калифорния. Революция «Медведей»

С одной стороны, Калифорнийская Республика остаётся одним из курьёзов Американо-мексиканской войны, с другой — является одним из наиболее наглядных свидетельств того исторического краха, который потерпело мексиканское государство к 1846 году. Обнищавшая, измотанная бесконечными переворотами, мятежами и восстаниями Мексика потеряла к тому времени не только Техас, который после нескольких лет независимого существования присоединился к США, но и Юкатан, который также провозгласил себя отдельным государством и вёл с центральным правительством яростную вооружённую борьбу. На этом фоне появление ещё одного очага сепаратизма было неизбежно.

Республика Калифорния. Революция «Медведей»


К тому моменту США под руководством президента Джеймса Полка были готовы к вторжению. Спровоцировав противника первым применить оружие (позже американцы использовали этот приём неоднократно), 13 мая 1846 года Соединённые Штаты объявили Мексике войну.


По распространённой версии, американские поселенцы в Калифорнии не знали о начале войны, когда поднимали свой мятеж. Версия, прямо скажем, сомнительная, так как, несмотря на неразвитость средств связи, месяц — это достаточно большой срок для столь важной новости, как война. А если вспомнить что примерно также начиналась революция в Техасе, то и здесь, скорее всего, имело место событие, которое сегодня назвали бы гибридной войной.

В пользу этой версии говорит предыстория конфликта. Незадолго до начала конфликта через Верхнюю Калифорнию в Орегон проследовала армейская экспедиция США под командованием капитана Джона Фримонта, зятя сенатора Томаса Харта Бентона, известного своими экспансионистскими взглядами. Акция была отмечена шумом и провокациями по отношению к мексиканским властям. Позже Фримонт связался с Томасом Ларкином, известным в Верхней Калифорнии бизнесменом, ловеласом, а по совместительству — единственным консулом США на этой мексиканской территории. Ларкин ещё в начале 1846 года получил от госсекретаря Джеймса Бьюкенена письмо, в котором фактически содержались прямые указания на действия с целью дестабилизации Верхней Калифорнии (Alta California), дабы способствовать её выходу из состава Мексики. Война на тот момент ещё не началась, но предгрозовые настроения буквально витали в воздухе. И Ларкин, и Фримонт прекрасно знали о планах президента Полка, для которого тихоокеанский берег стал идеей всей жизни.

8 июня Вильям Ид, будущий лидер восстания, получил анонимное письмо о том, что мексиканские правительственные войска сжигают посевы и угоняют скот, а капитан Фримонт приглашает американских поселенцев организоваться и дать вооруженный отпор врагу. Прибывшие к Фримонту граждане с величайшим неудовольствием обнаружили, что тот не может им помочь не только со снабжением, но даже не имеет мало-мальски адекватного плана.

В короткий срок восставшие захватили 170 государственных лошадей (все они были доставлены в лагерь Фримонта), а также казармы гарнизона Сономы, которые стали их штаб-квартирой. Там же впервые был поднят калифорнийский «медвежий» флаг.

Республика Калифорния. Революция «Медведей»


При этом самый острый дефицит, с которым столкнулись боевики, оказался дефицит пороха: его почти совсем не было. Было решено послать к американскому кораблю «Портсмут» гонцов с письмом, в котором мятежники просили пороха для защиты от мексиканцев. Себя повстанцы для большей убедительности назвали «соотечественниками».

В какой-то момент у восстания сложилось два наиболее организованных и активных центра — в Сономе и лагерь Фримонта, что располагался недалеко от Форта Саттер. Сам Фримонт, впрочем, был настроен помочь мятежу в Сономе и выдвинулся к ней во главе своего отряда из примерно 90 бойцов.

В это самое время Джон Слоат, командующий Тихоокеанской эскадрой, что находилась в гавани Монтерея, ждал убедительных доказательств начала войны между Мексикой и США, чтобы приступить к активным действиям против столицы Верхней Калифорнии. Именно там до него дошли сведения о восстании американских поселенцев, а также о том, что мексиканские военные власти во главе с генералом Кастро готовят подавление мятежа.

Но Слоат пребывал в сомнениях. 4 года назад его предшественник Томас Джонс отдавал приказ захватить Монтерей, ошибочно решив, что война уже началась. Результатом стал конфуз, дипломатический скандал и отстранение черезмерно ретивого флотоводца.

Решающий эффект на командующего эскадрой, видимо оказала беседа с консулом Ларкином, который заявил буквально следующее: «Позже меня могут обвинить как в том, что я чего-то не сделал, а могут и в том, что я перегнул палку. Я предпочитаю второе». 6 июля было принято решение действовать. 7 июля фрегат «Саванна» и шлюпы «Левант» и «Саян» захватили столицу Верхней Калифорнии. В тот же день было объявлено на английском и испанском, что отныне Калифорния является частью Соединённых Штатов.

Восстание «Республики Калифорния» закончилось два дня спустя, когда американский офицер с корабля «Портсмут» прибыл к восставшим в Соному с двумя флагами США — одним для Сономы, другим для Форта Саттер. После этого изолированное восстание окончательно стало частью большой континентальной войны.

Республика Калифорния. Революция «Медведей»


Стоит отметить, что попутно американской дипломатии пришлось экстренно решать вопрос по поводу обширной территории Орегона, чтобы в период войны с Мексикой не получить второй фронт уже с Великобританией. Территориальный спор был развязан путём компромисса: область разделили надвое и граница стала такой, как мы её знаем сегодня. Если бы Лондон мог предвидеть, какими последствиями ему грозит потеря половины Орегона и, тем более, полное военное поражение Мексики, он вне всяких сомнений сделал бы всё, чтобы не допустить такого исхода. Открытой войны и с Британией и с Мексикой одновременно США на тот момент могли и не выдержать. Но англичане оказались заняты исключительно борьбой с Россией и проглядели угрозу с Запада.

Калифорнийская Республика существовала две недели, насчитывала всего около двухсот граждан, и не имела никаких органов гражданского управления. Это сложно назвать даже повстанческим движением, не то, что государством, но современная Калифорния берёт начало именно от того мятежа. И сегодня на флаге самого богатого густонаселённого штата США имеется надпись «Калифорнийская Республика».

Присоединив к себе Верхнюю Калифорнию, США получили столь желанный выход к Тихому океану. В перспективе это будет означать большие проблемы и постоянную угрозу для Японии, России, Китая, а также испанских и германских заморских владений. Великобритания же заплатит за свою трусость и недальновидность потерей влияния сперва на североамериканском континенте, а затем и по всему миру.
Автор: Игорь Кабардин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. strelets 25 декабря 2015 06:41
    Америкосы потренировались сначала на ближайших соседях. Но их мало. А теперь приходится обирать и грабить по всем миру. Как там в уголовном кодексе? Терроризм, массовые убийства, грабеж с применением насилия.
    1. Кибальчиш 25 декабря 2015 06:46
      Сперва было нападение на Канаду, но британцы сумели им навалять.
  2. parusnik 25 декабря 2015 07:49
    Алексей Павлович Коробицин( Алексей Моисеевич Кантор,кодовые имена Турбан, Лео, Нарсисо) советский разведчик..написал в свое время захватывающую книгу "Хуан Маркадо-мститель из Техаса"..В книге рассказывается о героической борьбе мексиканского народа против колонизаторской политики США в первой половине XIX века...О создании Техасской республике,республике в Калифорнии..
  3. zapatero 25 декабря 2015 10:59
    До того как в калифорнии появились мексиканцы,была испанская империя. Испанцы исключали проживание не католиков но своей територии. Американцы эту територию мексиканской не считали, поскольку мексиканское правительство не считали правоприемником испанского правительства. Племена Апаче воевали против мексиканцев и американцев в одно время за свою землю (честно сказать, один песок, хотя свой песок).То бишь, что хочу сказать, по первому комментарию: территория ацтеков не простиралась до калифорнии, это территория принандлежала испании.А дальше, когда землю стали заселять протестанты, и их стало больше чем католиков, естественно, что протестанты все под себя подгребли. Они объявили о создании своей республики, и даже какое то время просущетвовали независивыми,но вашингтон их обломал, больно уж много золота было. Вот хотя бы история Хоакина Мурьеты, это как раз из этой эпохи. То есть грингос особо ничего и не делали, земля сама упала им в руки из-за системной и политической ошибки самих мексиканцев.Было понятно, что мексиканцы это не испанцы, нет той бюрократической и политической организации как у испанцев (ай также военной ий финансовой составляющей). Претензии мексиканцев к гринго бессмысленны, территорию потеряли испанцы , но никак не мексиканцы.
    1. Кибальчиш 25 декабря 2015 11:07
      По большому счёту, там чётких границ-то нигде не было. Всё на глазок.
  4. домохозяйка 25 декабря 2015 13:46
    А куда дели русскую Калифорнию? Под шумок пригребли, вообще незаконно. Где написано, что они её завоевали, купили, выменяли, арендовали у России? Хищники - это от слова хитить, то есть воровать!
  5. Max_Bauder 25 декабря 2015 15:37
    Эхх, еслиб можно было заслать туда в ту эпоху роту российских десантников, то не просто не теряли бы аляску но и граничили бы со штатами прямо в калифорнии, улыбаясь искандерами прямо перед их воротами. smile
  6. Робертъ Невский 25 декабря 2015 19:12
    Хорошая статья, Спасибо!
  7. Reptiloid 2 января 2016 01:10
    Читаю в обратном порядке после статьи про Луизиану.Пропустил как-то.Автору---Спасибо за статью .

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня