Military Review

Project ZSU with 75-mm gun based on M19 MGMC (USA)

5
In the middle of 1944, the newest self-propelled self-propelled unit M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage, armed with two 40 mm automatic guns, was adopted by the US Army. By the spring of next year, the serial construction of this equipment began, which lasted until the end of the Second World War. The tests that took place in 44 showed that the new machine has sufficiently high characteristics and can solve the tasks with high efficiency. In addition, over time, there were proposals to develop some new machines based on M19.


Already in the winter of 1945, it was proposed to increase the firepower of an anti-aircraft installation by radically processing its weapon system. February 1, the military department ordered the development of a new weaponry version of the M19 ZSU to begin. It was proposed to increase the combat characteristics by a significant increase in caliber, as well as by using a promising high-explosive high-explosive fragmentation projectile. By the time such proposals appeared, American specialists were able to develop a relatively compact 75-mm projectile with a new fuse, in addition, work was underway to further reduce the size of new equipment and create smaller-sized ammunition. These features of current projects had a great influence on the creation of a modernized self-propelled gun.

The order to develop a modification of the ZSU M19 was signed on February 1 1945 of the year. In accordance with this document, the defense industry was to mount a T19 gun mount with an 18-mm T75 gun on the M22 machine chassis. In addition, it was required to create an automatic loader, providing the rate of fire necessary for hitting aircraft.

Project ZSU with 75-mm gun based on M19 MGMC (USA)
General view of the ZSU with a gun T22


The new project, as far as is known, did not receive its own designation. In the available sources, it is referred to as “T75 22-mm cannon carrier”, “T22 self-propelled gun”, etc. In addition, the name M19 Modified is found (“Modified M19”). Apparently, the project’s own designation was indeed absent for some reason, because of which various “substitutes” were used, reflecting the essence of the development.

As the basis for the promising ZSU, the self-propelled chassis of the M19 MGMC was selected, which by the beginning of 1945 was put into series. This chassis had a number of characteristic features that made it possible to use it as the basis for new armored vehicles. First, it was based on the design of the lung tank M24 Chaffee and was as much as possible unified with it that could provide comparative simplicity of production and operation. The second advantage of the chassis was the layout with the aft arrangement of the epaulet for the installation of the tower, which was planned to be used in the new project.

It should be noted that since the 1943 in the USA, the Light Combat Team program has been implemented, the purpose of which was to create several types of light armored vehicles for various purposes based on the M24 tank chassis. Thus, a promising anti-aircraft self-propelled gun with a T22 gun, in case of successful completion of the project, could replenish the list of samples of this family that reached the troops.


View of the stern


Recall, M19 was based on the design of the light tank "Chaffee" and had a layout characteristic of the American self-propelled guns of the time. In front of the case there was a transmission compartment, behind which there was a control compartment. The middle part of the hull stood out for the engine, feed - for the fighting compartment. In the case of the ZNU M19 in the stern, a free volume was provided with a shoulder strap for mounting the tower on the roof. The hull was welded from armor plates up to 12,7 mm thick, which made it possible to protect the crew and units from small-arms bullets. weapons. Most of the body armor consisted of rolled sheets, but there were several cast parts.

In the middle part of the case, there was a dual installation of Cadillac 22T24 gasoline engines with 110 horsepower. each. With the help of a cardan shaft, gearboxes, etc. the torque of the two engines was transmitted to the transmission located in the front compartment. Through a manual transmission and other units carried out the rotation of the front drive wheels. Tracked chassis ZSU M19 MGMC unchanged borrowed from the base tank M24. She had five pairs of road wheels with a torsion bar suspension and additional shock absorbers on four pairs.

On the aft hull of the hull it was proposed to mount a new open platform with a gun mount. As a basis for the platform, they took the base ZSU tower, which, in the course of the modifications, lost the front, side and aft protection, fixtures for automatic guns and other units used in the initial configuration. In fact, only the platform with attachments for mounting on the body remained from the base tower.


Starboard


A T18 type gun mount, designed for use with relatively large and heavy cannons, was placed on a rotary platform with the possibility of a circular pickup. In accordance with the requirements of the customer, the installation was additionally equipped with automatic recharge systems. Thus, in the center of the front of the T18 installation, the T22 gun was mounted, and in the back, next to the breech of the cannon, were the main mechanisms of the automatic loader.

The main armament of the ZSU M19 Modified has become a promising gun T22 caliber 75 mm. The gun was equipped with recoil devices, and the installation design of the T18 allowed the elevation angle to be set within sufficiently large limits. A characteristic feature of the proposed weapon was the use of a unitary ammunition with a projectile equipped with a radio fuse. The latter, as conceived by the developers, was to undermine the warhead of the projectile when approaching the target at a given distance. Due to this, it was planned to significantly improve the efficiency of the fire in comparison with existing fuses based on the so-called. remote tubes.

According to reports, the gun T22 equipped with automatic loader original design. Behind the cannon, above its breech and near it, there were special mechanisms designed to move the shells from the store (or mounted on top of the cassette) to the discharging line. Automatic loading for their work used the momentum recoil. When the barrel rolled back, the spent cartridge was extracted and part of the operations for the delivery of a new projectile. The calculated technical rate of fire of the system used reached 40-45 rounds per minute.


Left side


Exact information about the type of sighting devices is not available. Apparently, the new anti-aircraft self-propelled gun received units similar to those used on other machines of similar purpose.

The self-propelled crew consisted of four people. The two, the driver and his assistant, were to be located in the control room in front of the hull. Places of two more, the commander and the gunner, located on a turntable, on the sides of the gun. Their duties included searching for targets, pointing the gun, firing and reloading.

The use of the existing chassis borrowed from the M19 MGMC ЗСУ has greatly simplified the construction of a new type of experienced car. During the assembly of the first prototype, an existing type of serial machine lost the existing turret, instead of which they installed a new unit with a 75-mm gun. Design work and construction of a prototype lasted for about a year. Tests of the prototype began in February 46-th.


View from above


Like many other American armored vehicles of its time, the new anti-aircraft self-propelled unit was tested at the Aberdeen range. Already during the first inspections, certain problems were identified, which eventually led to a serious delay in testing and the project as a whole. Checks, improvements and new tests, after which the project had to be changed again, lasted more than two years - until June of the 1948 year.

The use of ready-made components, such as the existing gun and the serial chassis, greatly simplified the assembly of the prototype machine, but led to some problems. In addition, summed up and specially designed units. So, shortly after the start of the test, problems were discovered with the design of the automatic loader. This system worked well in the horizontal position of the gun and could provide the required rate of fire. However, when attempting to raise the barrel for firing at conventional air targets, the automation refused.

Because of such problems with automation, the promising ZSU, despite its purpose, could fire only at ground targets and only direct fire. Naturally, in this form the self-propelled gun did not meet the requirements, and its refinement was required. In the future, active work was carried out to correct errors in order to ensure the correct operation of automation at any angles of guidance. However, much success in this matter was not achieved.


Towed installation M51 Skysweeper


Later, during the commissioning of the automatic loader, another serious problem was revealed, this time related to the chassis design. It turned out that the natural frequency of oscillations of some suspension elements coincides with one of the variants of the rate of fire. Thus, while firing a burst, the gun could create vibrations that could lead to the destruction of individual suspension elements. For obvious reasons, without solving this problem, a new combat vehicle could not get into the troops.

After identifying the negative impact of automatic firing on the suspension, it was decided to abandon the further development of the project. In addition, problems with the automatic loader also affected this decision. After more than two years of testing and refinement, the promising ZSU retained two fatal shortcomings at once. The correction of these problems required time and additional efforts, which is why they were considered unnecessary and inexpedient.

In the middle of 1948, all work on the project of a new anti-aircraft self-propelled unit based on the M19 MGMC machine was terminated. The only prototype disassembled as superfluous. In the future, the used chassis could be used for the construction of new experimental machines. According to the test results, it was decided to abandon the creation of the ZSU with an 75 mm caliber gun on the existing chassis. Nevertheless, the developments on the project were not in vain. By the beginning of the fifties, it was possible to correct all the shortcomings of the proposed automatic loader, which opened the way for new projects. On the basis of the existing developments, the M51 Skysweeper towed anti-aircraft system with an 75 caliber mm was created. The M51 system was produced in series and for some time was in service.


Based on:
http://m24chaffee.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
Hunnicutt RT Stuart. A History of the American Light Tank, Volume 1. Navato, CA. Presidio Press, 1992
Zaloga SJ M24 Chaffee Light Tank 1943-85. Osprey Publishing, 2003
Author:
Photos used:
Hunnicutt RT Stuart. Volume 1, Wikimedia Commons
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. sabakina
    sabakina 5 January 2016 09: 22
    +1
    In mid-1944, the U.S. Army adopted the latest anti-aircraft self-propelled gun M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage, armed with two 40 mm automatic guns.

    As early as June 22, 1941, we realized that even with those Messer speeds, guns were useless. I could be wrong, but this is my subjective opinion.
    1. 31rus
      31rus 5 January 2016 12: 42
      +1
      Of course you are mistaken, the effectiveness of these systems is time-tested and is used now, in various versions, for different tasks
    2. Tarikxnumx
      Tarikxnumx 5 January 2016 15: 16
      +6
      Large-caliber anti-aircraft artillery initially did not involve firing at actively maneuvering targets. Their main purpose is to conduct obstructive fire on bombers at high altitudes. To do this, they used OFS with remote tubes, so that the projectile would burst at a certain height and inflict damage by fragments on flying bombers.
    3. Cap.Morgan
      Cap.Morgan 6 January 2016 01: 20
      0
      Guns and now work well.
  2. Biggi_2006
    Biggi_2006 6 January 2016 02: 18
    0
    Even during the Vietnam War, the share of anti-aircraft artillery and ZPU accounted for much more downed planes than the share of air defense systems. Large-caliber anti-aircraft guns are still in demand in their niche, especially considering the possibility of conducting effective fire at ground targets, as well as for such nishtyaks as proximity fuses and aiming with the help of POISO radar systems. At least the sea 76 mm easily knock down even ATGM systems.

    Although of course in anti-aircraft self-propelled guns the use of systems with a caliber of more than 40 mm is not very effective ..

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)

В середине 1944 года на вооружение армии США была принята новейшая зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage, вооруженная двумя автоматическими пушками калибра 40 мм. К весне следующего года было начато серийное строительство этой техники, продолжавшееся до конца Второй мировой войны. Испытания, прошедшие в 44-м, показали, что новая машина имеет достаточно высокие характеристики и может с высокой эффективностью решать поставленные задачи. Кроме того, со временем появились предложения разработать на базе M19 некоторые новые машины.

Уже зимой 1945 года было предложено повысить огневую мощь зенитной установки путем кардинальной переработки ее комплекса вооружения. 1 февраля военное ведомство приказало начать разработку модификации ЗСУ M19 с новым вооружением. Повысить боевые характеристики предлагалось путем значительного увеличения калибра, а также при помощи использования перспективного осколочно-фугасного снаряда с новейшим радиовзрывателем. К моменту появления подобных предложений американским специалистам удалось разработать сравнительно компактный 75-мм снаряд с новым взрывателем, кроме того, велись работы по дальнейшему уменьшению новой аппаратуры и созданию боеприпасов меньшего калибра. Эти особенности текущих проектов оказали большое влияние на создание модернизированной самоходки.

Приказ о разработке модификации ЗСУ M19 был подписан 1 февраля 1945 года. В соответствии с этим документом оборонная промышленность должна была смонтировать на шасси машины M19 орудийную установку T18 с 75-мм орудием T22. Кроме того, требовалось создать автоматику заряжания, обеспечивающую необходимый для поражения летательных аппаратов темп стрельбы.


Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Общий вид ЗСУ с пушкой T22


Новый проект, насколько известно, не получил собственного обозначения. В имеющихся источниках он упоминается под названиями «носитель 75-мм пушки T22», «самоходная установка для T22» и т.д. Кроме того, встречается название M19 Modified («Модифицированная M19»). По-видимому, собственное обозначение проекта действительно отсутствовало по неким причинам, из-за чего применялись различные «заменители», отражавшие суть разработки.

В качестве основы для перспективной ЗСУ было выбрано шасси самоходки M19 MGMC, к началу 1945 года поставленной в серию. Это шасси имело ряд характерных черт, позволявших применять его в качестве основы для новой бронетехники. Во-первых, оно основывалось на конструкции легкого танка M24 Chaffee и было максимально унифицировано с ним, что могло обеспечить сравнительную простоту производства и эксплуатации. Вторым плюсом шасси была компоновка с кормовым расположением погона для установки башни, что планировалось использовать в новом проекте.

Следует отметить, с 1943 года в США реализовывалась программа Light Combat Team, целью которой было создание нескольких типов легкой бронетехники различного назначения на базе шасси танка M24. Таким образом, перспективная зенитная самоходка с пушкой T22, в случае удачного завершения проекта, могла пополнить список образцов этого семейства, дошедших до войск.

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Вид на корму


Напомним, M19 основывалась на конструкции легкого танка «Чаффи» и имела компоновку, свойственную американским самоходкам того времени. В передней части корпуса располагался отсек трансмиссии, позади которого находилось отделение управления. Средняя часть корпуса выделялась под двигатель, корма – под боевое отделение. В случае с ЗСУ M19 в корме предусматривался свободный объем с погоном для установки башни на крыше. Корпус сваривался из броневых листов толщиной до 12,7 мм, что позволяло защитить экипаж и агрегаты от пуль стрелкового оружия. Большая часть бронезащиты состояла из катаных листов, однако имелись несколько литых деталей.

В средней части корпуса помещалась сдвоенная установка бензиновых двигателей Cadillac 22T24 мощностью по 110 л.с. каждый. При помощи карданного вала, редукторов и т.д. крутящий момент двух двигателей передавался на трансмиссию, расположенную в переднем отсеке. Через механическую коробку передач и другие агрегаты осуществлялось вращение передних ведущих колес. Гусеничная ходовая часть ЗСУ M19 MGMC без изменений заимствовалась у базового танка M24. Она имела пять пар опорных катков с торсионной подвеской и дополнительные амортизаторы на четырех парах.

На кормовом погоне корпуса предлагалось монтировать новую открытую платформу с орудийной установкой. За основу для платформы взяли башню базовой ЗСУ, которая в ходе доработок лишилась передней, бортовой и кормовой защиты, креплений для автоматических пушек и других агрегатов, использовавшихся в исходной конфигурации. Фактически от базовой башни осталась только платформа с креплениями для установки на корпусе.

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Правый борт


На поворотной платформе с возможностью круговой наводки разместили орудийную установку типа T18, рассчитанную для использования со сравнительно крупными и тяжелыми пушками. В соответствии с требованиями заказчика установку дополнительно оснастили системами автоматической перезарядки. Таким образом, в центре передней части установки T18 монтировалось орудие T22, а в задней, рядом с казенником пушки, располагались основные механизмы автомата заряжания.

Основным вооружением ЗСУ M19 Modified стала перспективная пушка T22 калибра 75 мм. Орудие оснащалось противооткатными устройствами, а конструкция установки T18 позволяла устанавливать угол возвышения в достаточно больших пределах. Характерной особенностью предложенного орудия было использование унитарного боеприпаса со снарядом, оснащенным радиовзрывателем. Последний, по задумке разработчиков, должен был подрывать боевую часть снаряда при приближении к цели на заданное расстояние. За счет этого планировалось значительно повысить эффективность огня в сравнении с существующими взрывателями на основе т.н. дистанционных трубок.

По имеющимся данным, пушку T22 оснастили автоматом заряжания оригинальной конструкции. Позади пушки, над ее казенной частью и рядом с ней, располагались специальные механизмы, предназначенные для перемещения снарядов из магазина (либо устанавливаемой сверху кассеты) на линию досылания. Автоматика заряжания для своей работы использовала импульс отдачи. При откате ствола назад производилась экстракция стреляной гильзы и часть операций по подаче нового снаряда. Расчетная техническая скорострельность использованной системы достигала 40-45 выстрелов в минуту.

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Левый борт


Точные сведения о типе прицельных устройств отсутствуют. По-видимому, новая зенитная самоходка получила агрегаты, схожие с применявшимися на других машинах аналогичного назначения.

Экипаж самоходки состоял из четырех человек. Двое, механик-водитель и его помощник, должны были находиться в отделении управления в передней части корпуса. Места еще двоих, командира и наводчика, располагались на поворотной платформе, по бокам от орудия. В их обязанности входил поиск целей, наведение орудия, ведение огня и перезарядка.

Использование существующего шасси, заимствованного у ЗСУ M19 MGMC, в значительной мере упростило строительство опытной машины нового типа. В ходе сборки первого прототипа серийная машина существующего типа лишилась имевшейся башни, вместо которой установили новый агрегат с 75-мм пушкой. Проектные работы и строительство опытного образца продолжались в течение примерно года. Испытания прототипа начались в феврале 46-го.

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Вид сверху


Как и многая другая американская бронетехника своего времени, новая зенитная самоходная установка испытывалась на Абердинском полигоне. Уже в ходе первых проверок были выявлены определенные проблемы, которые в итоге привели к серьезному затягиванию испытаний и проекта в целом. Проверки, доработки и новые испытания, после которых проект вновь приходилось изменять, продолжались более двух лет – до июня 1948 года.

Использование готовых компонентов, таких как существующая пушка и серийное шасси, значительно упростило сборку машины-прототипа, но привело к некоторым проблемам. Кроме того, подвели и специально разработанные агрегаты. Так, вскоре после начала испытаний были выявлены проблемы с конструкцией автомата заряжания. Эта система хорошо работала при горизонтальном положении орудия и могла обеспечивать требуемый темп стрельбы. Однако при попытке поднять ствол для ведения огня по условным воздушным целям автоматика отказывала.

Из-за таких проблем с автоматикой перспективная ЗСУ, несмотря на свое предназначение, могла вести огонь только по наземным целям и только прямой наводкой. Естественно, в таком виде самоходка никак не соответствовала требованиям, и требовалась ее доработка. В дальнейшем велись активные работы по исправлению ошибок с целью обеспечения правильной работы автоматики при любых углах наведения. Тем не менее, особого успеха в этом деле достичь не удалось.

Проект ЗСУ с 75-мм пушкой на базе M19 MGMC (США)
Буксируемая установка M51 Skysweeper


Позже, уже в ходе наладки автомата заряжания, была выявлена еще одна серьезная проблема, на этот раз связанная с конструкцией ходовой части. Оказалось, что собственная частота колебаний некоторых элементов подвески совпадает с одним из вариантов темпа стрельбы. Таким образом, во время стрельбы очередью пушка могла создавать вибрации, способные привести к разрушению отдельных элементов подвески. По понятным причинам, без решения этой проблемы новая боевая машина не могла попасть в войска.

После выявления негативного влияния автоматической стрельбы на подвеску было решено отказаться от дальнейшего развития проекта. Кроме того, на таком решении заказчика сказались и проблемы с автоматикой заряжания. После двух с лишним лет испытаний и доводки перспективная ЗСУ сохраняла сразу два фатальных недостатка. Исправление этих проблем требовало времени и дополнительных усилий, из-за чего их сочли ненужными и нецелесообразными.

В середине 1948 года все работы по проекту новой зенитной самоходной установки на базе машины M19 MGMC были прекращены. Единственный прототип разобрали за ненадобностью. В дальнейшем использованное шасси могло применяться для строительства новых опытных машин. По результатам испытаний было решено отказаться от создания ЗСУ с орудием калибра 75 мм на существующем шасси. Тем не менее, наработки по проекту не пропали даром. К началу пятидесятых годов удалось исправить все недостатки предложенного автомата заряжания, что открыло дорогу новым проектам. На базе существующих наработок была создана буксируемая зенитная система M51 Skysweeper с орудием калибра 75 мм. Система M51 производилась серийно и в течение некоторого времени состояла на вооружении.


По материалам:
http://m24chaffee.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
Hunnicutt R.T. Stuart. A History of the American Light Tank, Volume 1. Navato, CA. Presidio Press, 1992
Zaloga S.J. M24 Chaffee Light Tank 1943-85. Osprey Publishing, 2003
Автор: Рябов Кирилл

Использованы фотографии: Hunnicutt R.T. Stuart. A History of the American Light Tank, Volume 1, Wikimedia Commons

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. sabakina 5 января 2016 09:22
    В середине 1944 года на вооружение армии США была принята новейшая зенитная самоходная установка M19 Multiple Gun Motor Carriage, вооруженная двумя автоматическими пушками калибра 40 мм.

    Уже 22 июня 1941 года мы поняли, что даже с теми скоростями Мессеров пушки были бесполезны. Могу ошибаться, но это моё субъективное мнение.
    1. 31rus 5 января 2016 12:42
      Конечно ошибаетесь,эффективность данных систем проверено временем и используется и сейчас,в различных исполнениях,для разных задач
    2. TarIK2017 5 января 2016 15:16
      Крупнокалиберная зенитная артиллерия изначально не предполагала стрельбы по активно маневрирующим целям. Их основное назначение - ведение заградительного огня по бомбардировщикам на больших высотах. Для того и использовали ОФС с дистанционными трубками, чтобы снаряд разрывался на определенной высоте и наносил урон осколками по пролетающим бомбардировщикам.
    3. Cap.Morgan 6 января 2016 01:20
      Пушки и сейчас неплохо работают.
  2. Biggi_2006 6 января 2016 02:18
    Даже во времена Вьетнамской войны на долю зенитной артиллерии и ЗПУ пришлось куда больше сбитых самолетов, нежели на долю ЗРК. Зенитные орудия крупного калибра и сейчас востребованы в своей нише, тем более с учетом возможности вести эффективный огонь по наземным целям, а так же таких ништяков, как неконтактные взрыватели и наводка при помощи радиолокационных систем ПУАЗО. По крайней мере морские 76 мм легко сбивают даже ПТУРСы..

    Хотя конечно в зенитных САУ использование систем калибром более 40 мм не очень эффективно..

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня