Military Review

CA-1 "Schneider": the first French tank

9
The SA-1 Schneider is an assault French tank during the First World War. He became the first French a tank в stories and one of the first production tanks in the world. It was created as a kind of analogue to the first English tank of type Mark 1, well known for its diamond-shaped hull form. The CA-1 tank was mass-produced from 1916 to 1917, during which time the French managed to assemble around 400 such combat vehicles. From the point of view of the modern man, the Schneider SA-1 could have been attributed to assault guns, not tanks.


At the origins of tank building in France was Colonel (later General) J. B. Etienne. Like his contemporary, Englishman Swinton, he initially turned his attention to the high throughput of the American Holt tractors, and in this connection he had the idea to develop a combat tracked vehicle on the basis of this tractor. Already 1 December 1915, Etienne writes a letter addressed to the French commander J. Geoffrey, in which he proves the expediency of building "land battleships". 12 December of the same year, Colonel Etienne was taken to the General Staff of the French army personally by the commander in chief and was able to enlist his support.

Enlisting support in the top leadership of the French army, Etienne turns for technical assistance to the well-known designer and owner of the same-name automobile company Louis Renault. However, Renault refuses to participate in the project to develop a tank, citing the workload of current military orders and his lack of experience in creating such machines. After the failure of Renault, Etienne decides to apply for the construction of a tank to the firm Schneider. This company at that time was one of the largest manufacturers of weapons. Moreover, back in January 1915, under the direction of E. Briet, the engineers of this company were able to re-equip the American Holt tractor into an artillery tractor.



Here, Etienne is understanding, 20 December Etienne and Briet discussed the details on the development of the future tank, and two days later the overall design of the future car was ready. The final draft of the future tank was submitted to the French General Staff a few weeks later and 31 January 1916 was approved, the military decided to place an order for the 400 to build such combat vehicles, at the same time taking up a detailed study of their future combat use.

The Schneider tank received the CA-1 index, which meant Char d'Assault - a support tank or an assault tank of the first model. In order to try out all the innovations, Brije initially built a prototype armored vehicle on the Holt chassis. During the tests, this vehicle seemed to the French military insufficiently reliable, the members of the commission noted its insufficient maneuverability and mobility. In repeated tests, which were carried out on February 21, 1916, an elongated chassis was presented, but Briye himself had already decided to abandon the tractor chassis. It was a smart decision. At the same time, he used elements of a blocked spring suspension in the new chassis. So the CA-1 Schneider tank was not a "conversion of a tractor into a tank", as is sometimes presented in modern literature. But the "tractor" past nevertheless left its heavy imprint on the firstborn of the French tank building.

Its design was somewhat reminiscent of the British tank "№1 Lincoln" or "Little Willie", which was built on the chassis of the usual American Holt tractor. But the French engineers clearly bypassed their British allies. The hull of the SA-1 "Schneider" was assembled on a rectangular frame so that it was located above the chassis. The rigid frame was formed by two longitudinal beams with transverse mounts. Rolled armor plates with a thickness of 11 mm were assembled on the frame using riveting. The layout of the first French tank turned out to be so original that it was not repeated anywhere else.

CA-1 "Schneider": the first French tank


On the left, in front of the tank hull, a Schneider or Renault 4-cylinder carburetor engine was installed, its nominal power was 40 hp, and the maximum power was 65 hp, the maximum engine speed was 1200 per minute. The engine was equipped with a liquid cooling system, as well as automatic lubrication. In front of the engine was a radiator, and it was also equipped with a fan. Fuel tanks with a total capacity of 160 liters were located under the power plant and were covered with armor. The fuel could be supplied to the engine either by force (using a pulsator which supplied gases from the engine) or by using a hand pump.

In front of the hull on the right side, almost exactly along the longitudinal spine of the tank, there was a driver’s seat with controls, which was also the commander of the combat vehicle. For observation, he could use a viewing window with a flap armored valve, in which there were three viewing slots. Since there was practically no space left for mounting the 75-mm gun, it was decided to install it in a sponson located in the bevelled side plate in order to at least somehow provide the tank with acceptable angle of firing from the gun. At the same time, the horizontal angle of the gun pointing did not exceed 40 degrees. In order to improve the maneuverability of the combat vehicle, a bowsprit was made in the bow. The bow of the tank received sharp outlines with a characteristic beam to overcome the wire obstacles. This feature finally gave the new combat vehicle the similarity with the "land armadillos".

On the sides of the tank in the middle part of the hull in installations covered with hemispherical shields, there were two 8-mm Hotchkiss machine guns of the 1914 model of the year (one per board). The maximum rate of fire data machine guns was 600 shots / min. The fire from the right machine gun had to lead a special machine gunner, and from the left shot a mechanic who also followed the work of a tank engine. The crew got into the tank through a special double door, which was located in the hull rear stern. In this case, the driver could leave the tank and through the top hatch, which was available in the roof of the command cabin. The stern could also have a “tail” standard for tanks of that period, which allowed the vehicle to cross trenches whose width did not exceed the 1,8 meter.



The 75-mm gun mounted on the tank had a special design. It was a gun with a wedge gate and barrel length of all 13 calibers. Shooting from it was carried out by ordinary shots from a field gun of the same caliber, but with a reduced charge. The target range of fire from it was only 600 meters, and the effective and even less - 200 meters. At the same time, the initial speed of the 7,25-kilogram projectile in 200 m / s was quite enough to successfully fight the enemy’s light fortifications, such as wooden blinds, for a short distance. The 75-mm gun was fired by an assistant commander, behind whom was an ammunition consisting of 90 shells.

The undercarriage of the SA-1 tank consisted (on each side) of two carriages: the front carriage carried 3 dual support rollers, the rear carriage 4. An axle of the guide wheel with a screw mechanism for tensioning the tracks of the tank was fixed in the fork of the front carriage. The caterpillar directly consisted of 34 fairly large tracks, which consisted of one pillow and two rails, along which the track rollers with flanges rolled. The drive wheel was at the back, it had a teeth gearing for the track hinge. The total length of the track rim was 3 meters, and the length of the support surface of the entire 1,8 meter. The tank transmission consisted of a three-stage gearbox with reverse, which made it possible to vary the driving speed in the range from 2 km / h to 8 km / h and the differential turning mechanism. At the same time, the speed of the tank on the highway in 8 km / h seems to be too optimistic today and is unlikely to exceed 4 km / h in practice.

According to the developed plan for the production of CA-1 “Schneider” tanks, the entire batch of 400 combat vehicles had to be put into the army by November 25 1915. However, in such a short time it was impossible to execute such a large order for a completely new type of equipment. The first tank was handed over to the military only on September 8 1916 of the year, and the supply of the remaining combat vehicles was fully completed already in the 1917 year. At the same time, the French military began to form their tank units and prepare tank crews even earlier, without waiting for the construction of even the first instance. Already in the middle of August, 1916, the first cadet-tankers began to arrive at the initial training center, which was located in the area of ​​the fort of Marly-le-Roi. As a result, they spent less time on 6 months than the British, from the moment the factory issued an order to the first use of tanks.



For their tank units, the French military decided to take the artillery organization as a basis, dividing the combat vehicles into separate batteries. It was originally planned that each of them would have 8 tanks, but soon their number was reduced to 4's. From three batteries the tank group which was called a battalion was completed. Each group received an AS index (assault artillery) and a corresponding sequence number. At first, the French planned to use the Schneider SA-1 tanks in their divisions in conjunction with their second Saint-Chamon tank, but rather quickly abandoned this idea.

The first division, fully equipped with Schneider tanks, was completed from 1 to 25 in December 1916 of the year, and by April of 1917, the total number of such combat vehicles was brought to 208. This allowed them to fully equip 15 groups (AS1 - AS15). In each French division there were three 4 tank batteries, a mechanized repair and supply unit (SSR), as well as several reserve combat vehicles. In total, the division had 16 tanks, 18 officers and 73 non-commissioned officers and soldiers.

The battle debut of the French tanks came in April 16 1917. In April, the French developed a plan of attack in the area of ​​the En River by the forces of the 5 and 6 armies. This offensive was known as the “Nivelles offensive”. On the whole, the terrain where the French tanks were to make their debut was quite passable even for such imperfect first steel monsters. In addition, looking at the experience of their British allies, the French were going to use the tanks in a concentrated way, leaving a large number of combat vehicles at once into battle. With their help, they literally were going to break through the defenses of the Germans. However, when planning the operation, the French made a number of serious miscalculations that caused the complete failure of the offensive. They concentrated the technology almost in front of the Germans. German scouts very quickly revealed the locations of the French tank units. To top it all off, the artillery shelling that the French waged during the 15 day, finally determined the direction of the main attack for the enemy. This knowledge allowed the Germans to prepare anti-tank defenses in the direction of the strike, digging wider trenches and pulling up additional artillery.



The ensuing offensive resulted for the French in a real slaughter. Tanks were quickly spotted by the enemy and came under heavy artillery fire. In total, the French were able to throw into battle 132 tank CA-1 "Schneider", which were divided into two groups, commanded by majors Boss and Shobe. At the same time, the Bossu tank group managed to break through only the first line of German defense, from 82 its 44 tanks were destroyed by the Germans, and German aircraft shot the tankers jumping out of the tanks from the air. Bossu himself was killed in the explosion of a fire tank. The group of Major Shobe was not able to achieve any success at all, losing 32 tanks on the battlefield.

The greatest claims of the French tankers were associated with tank armament. Since most of the nose was occupied by the engine and the workplace of the driver, the short-barreled gun had a very limited firing sector. Large dead zones had and installed on the tank machine guns. The CA-1 reservation was also weak. The armor of the tank could break through with new German rifle bullets. The fuel tanks, which were located in the tank hull along its sides, turned out to be especially vulnerable in the dense fire of the enemy. The crew could quickly leave the burning tank through the double door in the stern, but the pleasure was doubtful. The tankers considered smoothness almost the only advantage of the car, which was very high, thanks to good damping in the suspension system. High smoothness reduced crew fatigue and increased shooting accuracy.

Despite the disastrous consequences of the first use of tanks, the French General Staff was not disappointed in the new technique, as the combat tracked vehicles would be able to cope with their task if the attack were planned carefully. Having drawn the appropriate conclusions, the next offensive with the use of tanks, which took place on 5 on May 1917, on the Laffo Plateau, the losses of combat vehicles were less. This attack involved 19 tanks Schneider from AS1 and AS10, as well as 12 tanks Saint-Shemon from AS31. With the support of the French infantry, the tanks managed to capture the Laffo mill and advance to the depth of 500 meters at the front of 3200 meters. Such a small progress of the offensive was due to the fact that in the German defense there was a wide ditch and trenches in this sector, which the tanks could not get through without assistance. During the attack on the close approaches to the German positions of the 2 tank was destroyed, another 4 machines were simply stuck in soft ground and then were destroyed by German artillery. After the return of the remaining French vehicles from the battlefield, it was found that as a result of the attack, only one CA-1 tank did not receive any damage.



After the end of the First World War, the Schneider CA-1 tanks were mainly used as repair and recovery vehicles and tank tractors. Six of them were sold to Spain in 1922 year. 1923 to 1926 These tanks were used by the Spaniards in Morocco. The four surviving machines were later able to take part in the Spanish Civil War 1936-1939 on the Republican side. The only surviving tank of this type is placed today in the French Museum of armored vehicles in Saumur. Prior to that, it was kept in the Aberdeen Museum of Artillery in the United States, but was donated to the French side for restoration.

Performance characteristics of the Schneider CA-1:

Overall dimensions: body length - 6320 mm, body width - 2050 mm, height - 2300 mm, clearance - 400 mm.
Combat weight - 14,6 t.
Reservations: forehead, sides and stern of the hull - 11,4 mm, bottom and roof of the hull - 5,4 mm.
The speed on the highway - 4 km / h, over rough terrain - 2 km / h.
Cruising on the highway - 45 km, over rough terrain - 30 km.
The power plant is a Schneider / Renault carburetor four-cylinder engine of liquid cooling hp power 65.
Armament - 75-mm short-barreled gun, 2x8-mm machine gun
Ammunition - 90 shells.
Crew - 6 man.





Information sources:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/france/schneider_ca1.htm
http://www.tankovedia.ru/catalog/franciya/tank__shneider_ca_1
http://www.wotanks.com/wikitanks/france-tanks/106-schneider-tank.html
Open source materials
Author:
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Amurets
    Amurets 30 December 2015 07: 53
    +6
    Article plus. History must be honored. Technical history especially. There were many attempts to alter or book tractors, but if my memory serves me, there were no successful ones. Although such alterations were sometimes produced in significant batches. Louis Renault, who refused to make tanks, became the founder of the classic tank scheme , creating the famous Renault FT. General Etienne is also worthy of memory as one of the founders of the Tank Forces.
    1. igordok
      igordok 30 December 2015 09: 54
      +3
      Looking from today, "armored cars" cause some bewilderment and irony. But they were the first, and TANKS appeared on their experience.
    2. bionik
      bionik 30 December 2015 13: 01
      +4
      Quote: Amurets
      Louis Renault became the founder of the classic tank design, creating the famous Renault FT.

      The first tank, which had a 360-degree circular rotation tower, as well as the first tank of the classic layout, the control compartment is in front, the battle tank in the center and the engine in the rear.
      1. Amurets
        Amurets 30 December 2015 13: 38
        +2
        Quote: bionik
        The first tank, which had a 360-degree circular rotation tower, as well as the first tank of the classic layout, the control compartment is in front, the battle tank in the center and the engine in the rear.

        This is what I had in mind, I simply did not expand the term classic tank layout.
  2. bionik
    bionik 30 December 2015 10: 02
    +7
    One of the first Spanish Schneiders CA1 arriving in Morocco before unloading from a car trailer in 1922 Spanish Morocco is a region in northern Morocco that was colonially dependent on Spain in 1912-1956. In 1921 in Morocco (the territory at that time was jointly controlled by France and Spain), a large-scale uprising of local tribes against European rule began. It was headed by Abd al-Kerim, a famous Arab scholar. In September 1921, the twenty-thousandth Spanish army was defeated and retreated to the port of Melilla, the main defense node of Spanish Morocco.
    It was to strengthen the defenses of Melilla that the sea was thrown into the sea, formed in early 1921, the first regular tank unit of the Spanish army - the 3rd battery of self-propelled artillery (Bateria de Carros de Asalto), equipped with six French SA1 Schneider tanks. These machines, remaining from the times of the First World War, were transferred to the Spaniards as part of military assistance by the French; they also trained tankmen and technical personnel.
  3. Dimon19661
    Dimon19661 30 December 2015 15: 22
    +5
    A good article, CA-1 is rarely mentioned at all, usually Renault FT. It's understandable, classic + mass production and use, clones again. I would also like to see an article about the first German A7V Shturpanzervagen tank.
  4. Alf
    Alf 30 December 2015 20: 22
    +4
    I got such a picture.
    1. Kars
      Kars 2 January 2016 18: 38
      +1
      Quote: Alf
      I got such a picture.

      On the anniversaries (1914-1918) of the 100 anniversary of World War I, the Chinese have spread out.

      And since I propose a boring test, I have one error

      http://warspot.ru/4695-tanki-v-snegu-test-warspot
  5. Cap.Morgan
    Cap.Morgan 30 December 2015 22: 23
    0
    The tank, by the way, is very small in size.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк

СА-1 «Шнейдер» — это штурмовой французский танк периода Первой мировой войны. Он стал первым французским танком в истории и одним из первых серийных танков в мире. Создавался как некий аналог первому английскому танку типа Mark 1, хорошо известному за свою ромбовидную форму корпуса. Танк СА-1 серийно производился с 1916 по 1917 гг., за это время французам удалось собрать около 400 таких боевых машин. С точки зрения современного человека СА-1 «Шнейдер» можно было бы отнести к штурмовым орудиям, а не танкам.

У истоков танкостроения во Франции находился полковник (позднее генерал) Ж. Б. Этьен. Как и его современник, англичанин Суинтон, первоначально он обратил свое внимание на высокую проходимость американских тракторов «Холт», в этой связи у него появилась идея разработать на базе данного трактора боевую гусеничную машину. Уже 1 декабря 1915 года Этьен пишет письмо на имя главнокомандующего французских войск Ж. Жоффра, в котором доказывает целесообразность постройки «сухопутных броненосцев». 12 декабря того же года полковник Этьен был принят в Генштабе французской армии лично главнокомандующим и смог заручиться его поддержкой.

Заручившись поддержкой в высшем руководстве французской армии, Этьен обращается за технической помощью к известному конструктору и владельцу одноименной автомобильной фирмы Луи Рено. Однако Рено отказывается от участия в проекте по разработке танка, сославшись на загруженность текущими военными заказами и отсутствие у него опыта создания подобных машин. После неудачи с Рено Этьен решает обратиться с предложением строительства танка к фирме Schneider. Данная фирма на тот момент времени являлась одним из крупнейших производителей вооружений. Более того, инженеры данной компании еще в январе 1915 года смогли под руководством Э. Брийе переоборудовать американский трактор «Холт» в артиллерийский тягач.


СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Здесь Этьен находит понимание, 20 декабря Этьен и Брийе обсудили детали по поводу разработки будущего танка, а через два дня уже был готов общий проект будущей машины. Окончательный проект будущего танка был представлен на рассмотрение французского Генштаба спустя несколько недель и 31 января 1916 года был одобрен, военные решили оформить заказ на постройку 400 таких боевых машин, одновременно с этим занявшись детальной проработкой их будущего боевого применения.

Танк фирмы Schneider получил индекс СА-1, что означало Char d`Assault — танк поддержки или штурмовой танк первой модели. Для того, чтобы опробовать все нововведения, Брийе первоначально построил опытный образец бронетрактора на шасси «Холт». Во время испытаний данная машина показалась французским военным недостаточно надежной, члены комиссии отметили ее недостаточную проходимость и подвижность. На повторных испытаниях, которые были проведены уже 21 февраля 1916 года, было представлено удлиненное шасси, однако сам Брийе уже принял решение отказаться от ходовой части трактора. Это было разумное решение. При этом он использовал в новом шасси элементы блокированной пружинной подвески. Так что танк СА-1 Schneider не был «переделкой трактора в танк», как это иногда представлено в современной литературе. Но «тракторное» прошлое все же наложило на первенца французского танкостроения свой тяжелый отпечаток.

Его конструкция чем-то напоминала британский танк «№1 Lincoln» или «Little Willie», который был построен на шасси обычного американского трактора Holt. Но французские инженеры явно обошли своих британских союзников. Корпус танка СА-1 «Шнейдер» собирался на прямоугольной раме так, что он оказывался расположенным над ходовой частью. Жесткая рама была образована двумя продольными балками, обладающими поперечными креплениями. Катаные бронелисты толщиной 11 мм собирались на каркасе при помощи клепки. Компоновка первого французского танка оказалось настолько оригинальной, что больше нигде и никем не была повторена.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Слева в передней части корпуса танка ставился 4-цилиндровый карбюраторный двигатель Schneider или Renault, его номинальная мощностью составляла 40 л.с., а максимальной мощность — 65 л.с, максимальное число оборотов двигателя — 1200 в минуту. Двигатель был оснащен жидкостной системой охлаждения, а также автоматической смазкой. В передней части двигателя располагался радиатор, также он был снабжен вентилятором. Топливные баки общей емкостью 160 литров были расположены под силовой установкой и прикрывались броней. Топливо могло подаваться к двигателю как принудительно (с помощью пульсатора подававшего отработанные двигателем газы), так и с помощью ручного насоса.

В передней части корпус с правой стороны практически ровно по продольной ости танка располагалось место механика-водителя с органами управления, который также был командиром боевой машины. Для наблюдения он мог использовать смотровое окно с откидной бронезаслонкой, в которой имелось три смотровых щели. Так как места под монтаж 75-мм орудия практически не оставалось, его решили установить в спонсоне, расположенном в скошенном бортовом листе для того, чтобы хоть как-то обеспечить танку приемлемые углы ведения огня из орудия. При этом угол наведения орудия по горизонтали все равно не превышал 40 градусов. С целю улучшения проходимости боевой машины в носовой части был сделан «бушприт». Носовая часть танка получила заостренные очертания с характерной балкой для преодоления проволочных заграждений. Данная особенность окончательно придавала новой боевой машине сходство с «сухопутными броненосцами».

По бортам танка в средней части корпуса в установках, прикрытых полусферическими щитами, располагались два 8-мм пулемета Hotchkiss модели 1914 года (по одному на борт). Максимальный темп стрельбы данных пулеметов составлял 600 выстр./мин. Огонь из правого пулемета должен был вести специальный пулеметчик, а из левого стрелял механик, который также следил за работой танкового двигателя. В танк экипаж попадал через специальную двустворчатую дверь, которая располагалась в кормовом листе корпуса. При этом механик-водитель мог покинуть танк и через верхний люк, который имелся в крыше командирской рубки. В корме также мог устанавливаться стандартный для танков того периода времени «хвост», который позволял машине преодолевать траншеи, ширина которых не превышала 1,8 метра.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Устанавливаемая на танке 75-мм пушка имела специальную конструкцию. Это было орудие с клиновым затвором и длиной ствола всего 13 калибров. Стрельба из него осуществлялась обыкновенными выстрелами от полевого орудия того же калибра, но с уменьшенным зарядом. Прицельная дальность стрельбы из него составляла всего 600 метров, а эффективная и того меньше — 200 метров. При этом начальной скорости 7,25-килограммового снаряда в 200 м/с было вполне достаточно, чтобы успешно бороться с легкими укреплениями противника, например деревянными блиндажами, на короткой дистанции. Стрельбу из 75-мм орудия вел помощник командира, позади которого находился боезапас, состоящий из 90 снарядов.

Ходовая часть танка СА-1 состояла (на каждый борт) из двух тележек: передняя тележка несла 3 сдвоенных опорных катка, задняя тележка — 4. В вилке передней тележки была закреплена ось направляющего колеса с винтовым механизмом натяжения гусениц танка. Гусеница непосредственно состояла из 34 достаточно крупных траков, которые состояли из одной подушки и двух рельсов, по которым катились опорные катки с ребордами. Ведущее колесо находилось сзади, оно обладало зубовым зацеплением за шарнир траков. Полная длина гусеничного обода составляла 3 метра, а длина опорной поверхности всего 1,8 метра. Танковая трансмиссия состояла из трехступенчатой коробки передач с реверсом, которая позволяла варьировать скорость движения в диапазоне от 2 км/ч до 8 км/ч и дифференциального механизма поворота. При этом скорость танка по шоссе в 8 км/ч представляется сегодня чересчур оптимистичной и вряд ли на практике превышала 4 км/ч.

Согласно разработанному плану серийного производства танков СА-1 «Шнейдер», всю партию из 400 боевых машин необходимо было поставить в армию уже к 25 ноября 1915 года. Однако в столь сжатие сроки исполнить столь крупный заказ на абсолютно новый тип техники оказалось просто невозможно. Первый танк был передан военным лишь 8 сентября 1916 года, а поставки остальных боевых машин были полностью завершены уже в 1917 году. При этом французские военные начали формировать свои танковые части и заниматься подготовкой танковых экипажей еще раньше, не дожидаясь постройки даже первого экземпляра. Уже в середине августа 1916 года в центр начальной подготовки, который находился в районе форта Марли-ле-Руа, начали приезжать первые курсанты-танкисты. В итоге они потратили на 6 месяцев меньше времени, чем британцы, от момента выдачи заводом заказа до первого применения танков.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Для своих танковых частей французские военные решили взять за основу артиллерийскую организацию, разделив боевые машины на отдельные батареи. Изначально планировалось, что в каждой из них будет по 8 танков, однако вскоре их количество сократили до 4-х. Из трех батарей комплектовалась танковая группа, которая именовалась дивизионом. Каждая из групп получала индекс AS (штурмовая артиллерия) и соответствующий порядковый номер. Первое время французы планировали использовать в своих дивизионах танки СА-1 «Шнейдер» совместно со вторым своим танком «Сен-Шамон», однако достаточно быстро отказались от этой идеи.

Первый дивизион, полностью оснащенный танками «Шнейдер», был скомплектован с 1 по 25 декабря 1916 года, а уже к апрелю 1917 года, общее число таких боевых машины удалось довести до 208. Это позволило полностью оснастить ими 15 групп (AS1 — AS15). В каждом французском дивизионе было три батареи по 4 танка, механизированное подразделение ремонта и снабжения (SSR), а также несколько резервных боевых машин. Всего в дивизионе имелось 16 танков, 18 офицеров и 73 унтер-офицера и солдата.

Боевой дебют французских танков пришелся на 16 апреля 1917 года. В апреле французы разработали план наступления в районе реки Эн силами 5-й и 6-й армий. Данное наступление получило известность, как «наступление Нивеля». В целом местность, где должны были дебютировать французские танки, была вполне себе проходимой даже для столь несовершенных первых стальных монстров. Помимо этого, оглядываясь на опыт своих английских союзников, французы собирались использовать танки концентрированно, бросив в бой сразу большое количество боевых машин. С их помощью они в буквальном смысле собирались проломить оборону немцев. Однако при планировании операции французы допустили ряд серьезных просчетов, которые стали причиной полного провала наступления. Сосредоточение техники они проводили почти на глазах у немцев. Немецкие разведчики очень быстро вскрыли места расположения французских танковых подразделений. В довершение всего артиллерийский обстрел, который французы вели на протяжении 15 суток, окончательно определил для противника направление главного удара. Эти знания позволили немцам подготовить на направлении удара противотанковую оборону, вырыв здесь более широкие траншеи и подтянув дополнительную артиллерию.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Последовавшее наступление вылилось для французов в настоящее побоище. Танки очень быстро были замечены противником и попали под массированный артиллерийский огонь. Всего французы смогли бросить в бой 132 танка СА-1 «Шнейдер», которые были разбиты на две группы, командовали ими майоры Боссю и Шобэ. При этом танковая группа Боссю сумела прорвать лишь первую линию немецкой обороны, из 82 ее танков 44 были уничтожены немцами, а выпрыгивающих из танков танкистов с воздуха расстреливали немецкие самолеты. Сам Боссю погиб при взрыве загоревшегося танка. Группа майора Шобэ вообще не смогла добиться никаких успехов, потеряв на поле боя 32 своих танка.

Наибольшие претензии французских танкистов были связаны с вооружением танка. Так как большую часть носовой части занимал двигатель и рабочее место механика-водителя, короткоствольная пушка обладала очень ограниченным сектором обстрела. Большие мертвые зоны имели и установленные на танке пулеметы. Слабым оказалось и бронирование СА-1. Броня танка могла пробиваться новыми немецкими винтовочными пулями. Особенно уязвимыми при плотном огне противника оказывались бензобаки, которые находились в корпусе танка вдоль его бортов. Быстро покинуть горящий танк экипаж мог через двухстворчатую дверь в корме, но удовольствие это было сомнительным. К практически единственному достоинству машины танкистами была отнесена плавность хода, которая была очень высокой, благодаря хорошей амортизации в системе подвески. Высокая плавность хода уменьшала утомляемость экипажа и повышала точность стрельбы.

Несмотря на катастрофические последствия первого применения танков, французский Генштаб не разочаровался в новой технике, так как боевые гусеничные машины сумели бы справиться с поставленной перед ними задачей, если бы атаку планировали тщательным образом. Сделав соответствующие выводы, при следующем наступлении с использованием танков, которое состоялось 5 мая 1917 года на плато Лаффо, потери боевых машин оказались меньше. В этой атаке принимали участие 19 танков «Шнейдер» из состава AS1 и AS10, а также 12 танков «Сен-Шемон» из состава AS31. При поддержке французской пехоты танки сумели захватить мельницу Лаффо и продвинуться на глубину 500 метров на фронте протяженностью 3200 метров. Столь малый прогресс наступления был обусловлен тем, что в немецкой обороне на этом участке имелись широкий ров и траншеи, перебраться через которые танки без посторонней помощи не могли. Во время атаки на ближних подступах к немецким позициям 2 танка было подбито, еще 4 машины просто застряли в мягком грунте и затем были уничтожены немецкой артиллерией. После возвращения оставшихся французских машин из боя было обнаружено, что в результате атаки никаких повреждений не получил всего один танк СА-1.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


После завершения Первой мировой войны танки СА-1 «Шнейдер» использовались главным образом как ремонтно-эвакуационные машины и танковые тягачи. Шесть из них были проданы Испании в 1922 году. С 1923 по 1926 гг. данные танки использовались испанцами в Марокко. Четыре уцелевших машины позднее смогли принять участие в гражданской войне в Испании 1936-1939 годов на стороне республиканцев. Единственный сохранившийся танк данного типа помещен сегодня во французский музей бронетанковой техники в Сомюре. До этого он хранился в Абердинском музее артиллерии в США, но был пожертвован французской стороне для восстановления.

Тактико-технические характеристики СА-1 «Шнайдер»:

Габаритные размеры: длина корпуса — 6320 мм, ширина корпуса — 2050 мм, высота — 2300 мм, клиренс — 400 мм.
Боевая масса — 14,6 т.
Бронирование: лоб, борта и корма корпуса — 11,4 мм, днище и крыша корпуса — 5,4 мм.
Скорость хода по шоссе — 4 км/ч, по пересеченной местности — 2 км/ч.
Запас хода по шоссе — 45 км, по пересеченной местности — 30 км.
Силовая установка — карбюраторный четырехцилиндровый двигатель Schneider/Renault жидкостного охлаждения мощностью 65 л.с.
Вооружение — 75-мм короткоствольная пушка, 2х8-мм пулемета
Боекомплект — 90 снарядов.
Экипаж — 6 человек.

СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


СА-1 «Шнейдер»: первый французский танк


Источники информации:
http://www.aviarmor.net/tww2/tanks/france/schneider_ca1.htm
http://www.tankovedia.ru/catalog/franciya/tank__shneider_ca_1
http://www.wotanks.com/wikitanks/france-tanks/106-schneider-tank.html
Материалы из открытых источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. амурец 30 декабря 2015 07:53
    Статье плюс.Историю надо чтить.Историю техники особенно.Попыток переделать или забронировать тракторы было много,но если мне не изменяет память удачных не было.Хоть и выпускались такие переделки иногда значительными партиями.А вот отказавшийся делать танки Луи Рено стал основоположником классической схемы танка, создав знаменитый "Рено ФТ".Памяти достоин и генерал Этьен,как один из основоположников Танковых Войск.
    1. igordok 30 декабря 2015 09:54
      Смотря с сегодняшнего времени, "броневагоны" вызывают некоторое недоумение и иронию. Но они были первыми, и на их опыте и появились ТАНКИ.
    2. bionik 30 декабря 2015 13:01
      Цитата: амурец
      Луи Рено стал основоположником классической схемы танка, создав знаменитый Рено ФТ.

      Первый танк, имевший башню кругового вращения 360 градусов, а также первый танк классической компоновки отделение управления — впереди, боевое — в центре и моторное — сзади.
      1. амурец 30 декабря 2015 13:38
        Цитата: bionik
        Первый танк, имевший башню кругового вращения 360 градусов, а также первый танк классической компоновки отделение управления — впереди, боевое — в центре и моторное — сзади.

        Это я и имел ввиду,просто не стал разворачивать термин классическая компоновка танка.
  2. bionik 30 декабря 2015 10:02
    Один из первых прибывших в Марокко испанских «Шнейдеров» СА1 перед выгрузкой с автомобильного прицепа 1922 г. Испанское Марокко — регион в северной части Марокко, находившийся в колониальной зависимости от Испании в 1912—1956 годах.В 1921 г. в Марокко (территория тот момент находилась под совместным контролем Франции и Испании) началось масштабное восстание местных племен против европейского владычества. Возглавлял его Абд аль- Керим, известный ученый-арабист. В сентябре 1921 г. двадцатитысячная испанская армия была разгромлена и отошла к порту Мелилья, главному узлу обороны Испанского Марокко.
    Именно для усиления обороны Мелильи туда перебросили морем сформированную в начале 1921 г. первую регулярную танковую часть испанской армии – 3-ю батарею штурмовой самоходной артиллерии (Bateria de Carros de Asalto), укомплектованную шестью французскими танками СА1 «Шнейдер». Эти машины, оставшиеся со времен Первой мировой войны, испанцам в рамках военной помощи передали французы; они же осуществляли подготовку танкистов и технического персонала.
  3. Dimon19661 30 декабря 2015 15:22
    Хорошая статья,СА-1 вообще редко упоминается ,обычно Рено ФТ .Оно и понятно-классика+массовый выпуск и применение,клоны опять же.Хотелось бы еще увидеть статью о первом германском танке штурмпанцерваген А7V.
  4. Альф 30 декабря 2015 20:22
    Попалась такая картинка.
    1. Kars 2 января 2016 18:38
      Цитата: Альф
      Попалась такая картинка.

      В годовщины(1914-1918) 100 летия Первой мировой фирмы китайский расстарались.

      И так как скучно тест предлагаю.У меня одна ошибка

      http://warspot.ru/4695-tanki-v-snegu-test-warspot
  5. Cap.Morgan 30 декабря 2015 22:23
    Танк кстати по размеру очень небольшой.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня