Military Review

USA in the Pacific. Nineteenth century

10
At the beginning of the nineteenth century, the United States already had access to the Pacific Ocean, albeit on dubious rights and through territories that did not belong to them at that time. The Oregon Treaty (1846) and the victory in the war with Mexico (1846-1848) turned the United States of America into the largest power, with a thousand-kilometer ice-free outlet to the open ocean. This allowed Washington not only to begin penetration into Asia, but also to take a closer look at the islands of Oceania, which could be turned into transshipment bases and a source of raw materials. The ideological foundations of new imperialism were laid in the Monroe Doctrine and the Concept of the predetermined fate of the first half of the century. And at about the same period, Washington moved from words to deeds, although American historiography itself connects the beginning of overseas expansion only with the Spanish-American war.




The first real step in the beginning of the sea expansion was the “Law on Guano” 1856 of the year, according to which any island on which deposits of such a valuable resource as guano were found, and not belonging to any other power, was declared American. In total, this way the Americans declared their rights to more than one hundred islands, mainly in the Caribbean and the Pacific Ocean. Of the Pacific Islands annexed under this law, one can name Baker Island (1857), Johnston Atoll (1858), Jarvis Island (1858), Howland Island (1858), Kingman Reef (1860), Palmyra Atoll (1859), Midway Atoll, (Midway) 1867) - this is only a part of the territories that today are under American jurisdiction. Most of the unceremoniously appropriated pieces of land, the United States had to return to the outraged owners. The last such returns took place already towards the end of the 20th century.

The first truly large Pacific archipelago became part of the United States due to ... Russia. This, of course, is the Aleutian Islands, which were ceded to the United States in 1867, along with Alaska. Their area is 37 800 (according to other data - 17 670) square. km, and the length is 1900 km, and they are rich in minerals. The islands have only one, but a major drawback - they are too cold for the constant life of people.

Since there were practically no large and free possessions in the Pacific Ocean by the second half of the XIX century, the only possibility was to take them away from someone. The most suitable candidate for the robbery seemed to Spain, which by that time was experiencing the rapid collapse of its colonial empire and the decline of naval power. In 1864-1866, the fierce First Pacific War took place off the coast of South America, in which Madrid tried to reclaim its former colonies - Peru, Chile, Ecuador and Bolivia - and was defeated. The United States did not intervene in that conflict, then there was also a civil war in America, but of course, they made their conclusions in Washington. By the end of the XIX century, Spain could no longer confront the young power of the New World.

In 1898, a short Spanish-American war broke out. In two naval battles off the coast of Cuba and Philippine Manila, the United States defeated the Spanish squadrons, and Madrid asked for peace. As a result of the war, the United States received most of the Spanish possessions in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans: the Philippines, Guam, Puerto Rico and the right to occupy Cuba. The Spanish concession was the largest acquisition by the United States since Alaska’s accession. In addition, for the first time the United States acquired overseas territories with a significant proportion of the native population.

The United States also claimed Samoa, to which its species had Great Britain, and especially Germany. For many years, the great powers directly or indirectly supported the civil war on the islands, providing weapons parties to the conflict (the Germans were the most aggressive), but in the end the situation almost led to a direct confrontation. To the disputed territories arrived warships of all competing powers. From the USA - the sloop USS Vandalia, the steamer USS Trenton and the gunboat USS Nipsic, from the UK came the corvette HMS Calliope, and the German Kaiser fleet sent three gunboats: SMS Adler, SMS Olga and SMS Eber. As a result, all six ships that the United States and Germany sent were destroyed. 62 killed American sailors and German 73. The British ship managed to escape. True, such terrible losses of the party suffered not as a result of the battle - on the night from 15 to 16 in March 1899, a powerful tropical storm hit Samoa, which “reconciled” the sailors. In the same year, Samoa was divided between the United States and the German Empire.

In the same year 1899, the annexation of the Hawaiian Islands took place, and the formally independent (actually under control of the United States) republic that existed there ceased to exist. Possession of Hawaii and Samoa gave America an exceptional advantage over the European powers, because from now on, only the US controlled the center of the Pacific Ocean, which gradually began to turn into an American lake.

Now the Americans had to solve several major problems. For example, the question of the channel between the Atlantic and the Pacific was acute in order to transfer military ships, if necessary, not to mention the commercial significance of such a structure. The ruling circles of the United States of America rightly believed that with the critical weakening of any European power, they could thus quickly seize its possessions. True, in the First World War these plans did not come true: the US entered the conflict too late, and by that time the German island possessions were taken away by three smaller imperialist predators — Japan, New Zealand and Australia.

So, two events can be considered a symbolic result of the Pacific expansion of the United States of America in the 19th century: the separation of Panama from Colombia (1903) to build a canal there, and the symbolic raid of the Great White fleet (1907-1909) of 16 battleships, which demonstratively demonstrated Washington's increased naval capabilities. By the way, the United States did not have a full-fledged fleet in the region for a long time, and the main naval forces focused on the Atlantic direction. In 1821, a small Pacific squadron was formed, which by 1903 consisted of only four ships, and 1868 was the birth year of the Asian squadron, which provided American interests in Japan, China and other countries. In early 1907, the Asian fleet was combined with the Pacific Squadron into the Pacific Fleet of the US Navy.

USA in the Pacific. Nineteenth century


It is worth noting that in American society itself and even among the elite, there was no unanimous opinion regarding such rapid progress in world politics. All speeches about “global leadership” and “global dominance” will appear in the lexicon of American leaders much later, and at the end of the 19th century, voices of those who did not want such a development of events for ethical reasons sounded clearly: own colonies - we must carry the light of the Enlightenment to the enslaved nations. However, a compromise was found when ideologues began to explain to the average man that American domination is the light of Enlightenment. But it will happen in the twentieth century.

If to compare with Russia, which reached the Pacific Ocean almost 200 years earlier, the USA had several obvious advantages: a shorter distance between the main “imperial” territory and the new coast, a booming economy (due to political backwardness, the Russian Empire entered the industrial century only by the end of the XIX century), an initiative and personally free population, the absence of strong neighbors. And of course, an unambiguous strategy that, without extremes and unnecessary rushing, made it possible to implement the originally conceived plan.
Author:
10 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 12 January 2016 07: 37 New
    +3
    The mericatos in the genes have an aggressive and aggressive direction of their interests.
    The whole world, not afraid of this comparison, was shamed. And when, then, to keep the answer, for your affairs, mericatos?
    1. Scraptor
      Scraptor 12 January 2016 07: 42 New
      +4

      The first real step in the beginning of maritime expansion was the "Law of Guano" of 1856

      The "discovery" by the freemason Oliver Perry of Japan, after which the next year in 1855 immediately climbed to the Kuril Islands, without at that time even almost all of Hokkaido, on which not all Ainu had been carved, was included.
      1. Kibalchish
        12 January 2016 07: 55 New
        +1
        Japan and China are separate topics. it is already an Asian expansion.
        1. Scraptor
          Scraptor 12 January 2016 15: 31 New
          0
          Sakhalin and the Kuril Islands - Pacific.

          Japan is not Asia as England is not Europe.
  2. Amurets
    Amurets 12 January 2016 08: 00 New
    +3
    Yes! The famously USA solved then the problems with fertilizers and explosives, as well as the problems of expanding territories. Why gunpowder and explosives? The main raw materials for obtaining nitrate were guano or the decomposition products of household and food waste. Experiments on the production of smokeless gunpowder and explosives using the nitration method were only carried out. : August Horst: "Gunpowder and explosives." A. Stetbacher "Gunpowder and explosives."
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 12 January 2016 08: 06 New
    +2
    US came into conflict too late... No, at the time .. We acted on the principle .. When the tigers fight, the monkey should sit on the tree .. and when the tigers are weakened, go down and take their skins off ... Which basically happened afterwards ... From the tree Kin Kong came down ... In addition, it should be noted that the United States during the period in question positioned itself as a supporter of national liberation movements .. Supported the rebels in Cuba, the Philippines, Panama .. But all this sadly ended. .for these peoples .. from one yoke to another ..
  4. Belousov
    Belousov 12 January 2016 09: 12 New
    +1
    Well, it’s time for these “beauties of democracy” to publicly dunk into this “guano” more often, otherwise the banks have beguiled something of their exclusivity.
  5. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 12 January 2016 12: 03 New
    +5
    In general, the US Navy went to distant waters at the beginning of the 19th century.
    Against Arab pirates in the 19th century Mediterranean Sea. The so-called "Barbary war".
    Pirates from Algeria, Tunisia, taking advantage of the fact that the entire English fleet
    was engaged in Napoleon, raged and began to rob, steal and sink all the ships in a row.
    The Americans sent a small squadron of only 9 warships, but the most modern,
    and smashed Algerians.
  6. aviator1913
    aviator1913 12 January 2016 12: 35 New
    +4
    Interesting article. The composition of the US fleet by the beginning of the 20 century is interesting. Tonnage, types and equipment of ships, for the article would not be amiss.

    In fact, they did everything right, it’s better to join the war that you will defeat 100% than to constantly butt with your rivals equal to you, the United States was lucky with its neighbors, so fate gave them a chance that they took advantage of correctly.
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 12 January 2016 17: 47 New
      +1
      You can see Koffman's old reference book "The US Navy and Latin American Countries 1914 - 1918." (MK No. 05, 1996), having thrown out those ships that entered service after 1905.
      http://wunderwafe.ru/Magazine/MK/1996_05/index.htm
  7. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 12 January 2016 16: 35 New
    0
    Thank you very much for continuing articles about the United States. After your article about Louisiana, I read an article about the “bears” revolution, about Guantanamo. I read an important article about the Kuril issue. Then I think to read your other articles written earlier.
    Sincerely.
  8. moskowit
    moskowit 12 January 2016 19: 26 New
    0
    Since then, the policy of “defenders of the most, the most democratic values” by this “guano” and in Russian “ga..om” very much smelled and accompanies all its activities with its miasms ...
  9. iouris
    iouris 12 January 2016 23: 18 New
    +1
    It is noteworthy that everything began with the division of the globe into two hemispheres and the declaration of the Western hemisphere as a zone free of continental (European) powers.

США на Тихом океане. Век девятнадцатый

В начале девятнадцатого столетия США уже имели доступ к Тихому океану, хоть и на сомнительных правах и через территории, которые им на тот момент не принадлежали. Договор об Орегоне (1846) и победа в войне с Мексикой (1846-1848) превратили Соединённые Штаты Америки в крупнейшую державу, имеющую тысячекилометровый незамерзающий выход в открытый океан. Это позволило Вашингтону не только начать проникновение в Азию, но и более внимательно присмотреться к островам Океании, которые можно было превратить в перевалочные базы и источник сырья. Идеологические основы нового витка империализма были заложены в Доктрине Монро и Концепции предопределённой судьбы первой половины столетия. И примерно в тот же период Вашингтон перешёл от слов к делу, хотя сама американская историография связывает начало заморской экспансии лишь с испано-американской войной.

США на Тихом океане. Век девятнадцатый


Первым реальным шагом в начале морской экспансии стал «Закон о Гуано» 1856 года, согласно которому любой остров, на котором были найдены залежи столь ценного ресурса, как гуано, и не принадлежащий никакой другой державе, объявлялся американским. Всего таким путём американцы объявили свои права на более чем сто островов, в основном в Карибском море и Тихом океане. Из тихоокеанских островов, аннексированных по этому закону, можно назвать Остров Бейкер (1857), атолл Джонстон (1858), остров Джарвис (1858), остров Хауленд (1858), риф Кингмен (1860), атолл Пальмира (1859), атолл Мидуэй (1867) — это лишь часть территорий, что и сегодня находятся под американской юрисдикцией. Большую же часть бесцеремонно присвоенных кусков суши Соединённым Штатам пришлось вернуть возмущённым владельцам. Последние такие возвращения состоялись уже ближе к концу XX века.


Первый же по-настоящему крупный тихоокеанский архипелаг вошёл в состав США благодаря… России. Это, конечно, же Алеутские острова, что отошли к США в 1867 году вместе с Аляской. Их площадь равна 37 800 (по другим данным — 17 670) кв. км, а протяженность составляет 1900 км, и они богаты полезными ископаемыми. У островов есть лишь один, но крупный недостаток — они слишком холодные для постоянной жизни людей.

Поскольку крупных и свободных владений на Тихом океане ко второй половине XIX века практически не осталось, единственной возможностью было отнять их у кого-нибудь. Наиболее подходящим кандидатом для ограбления казалась Испания, которая к тому времени переживала стремительный распад своей колониальной империи и закат военно-морской мощи. В 1864-1866 годах у берегов Южной Америки прошла ожесточённая Первая Тихоокеанская война, в которой Мадрид пытался вернуть свои бывшие колонии — Перу, Чили, Эквадор и Боливию — и потерпел поражение. США в тот конфликт не вмешивались, в Америке тогда также шла война — гражданская, но свои выводы в Вашингтоне, конечно, сделали. К концу XIX века Испания уже никак не могла противостоять молодой державе Нового Света.

В 1898 году разразилась короткая испано-американская война. В двух морских сражениях у берегов Кубы и филиппинской Манилы Соединённые Штаты разгромили испанские эскадры, и Мадрид запросил мира. По итогам войны Соединённые Штаты Америки получали большую часть испанских владений в Атлантическом и Тихом океанах: Филиппины, Гуам, Пуэрто-Рико и право на оккупацию Кубы. Испанская уступка стала крупнейшим приобретением Соединённых Штатов с момента присоединения Аляски. Кроме того, впервые США заполучили заморские территории со значительной долей туземного населения.

Соединённые Штаты также претендовали на Самоа, на которое имели свои виды Великобритания и, особенно, Германия. Много лет великие державы прямо или косвенно поддерживали гражданскую войну на островах, снабжая оружием стороны конфликта (наиболее агрессивно действовали именно немцы), но в конечном итоге ситуация едва не привела к прямому столкновению. К спорным территориям прибыли военные корабли всех конкурирующих держав. От США — шлюп USS Vandalia, пароход USS Trenton и канонерская лодка USS Nipsic, от Великобритании прибыл корвет HMS Calliope, а кайзеровский флот Германии прислал три канонерские лодки: SMS Adler, SMS Olga и SMS Eber. В итоге все шесть кораблей, что прислали и США и Германия, были уничтожены. Погибли 62 американских моряка и 73 немецких. Британский корабль успел сбежать. Правда, столь ужасающие потери стороны понесли не в результате боя — в ночь с 15 на 16 марта 1899 года на Самоа обрушился мощнейший тропический шторм, который и «примирил» моряков. В том же году Самоа было разделено между США и Германской империей.

В том же 1899 году состоялась аннексия Гавайских островов, и имевшаяся там формально независимая (в действительности уже давно находящаяся под контролем США) республика прекратила своё существование. Владение Гавайями и Самоа дали Америке исключительное преимущество над европейскими державами, ибо отныне только США контролировали центр Тихого океана, который постепенно стал превращаться в американское озеро.

Теперь американцам предстояло решить несколько главных проблем. Например, остро стоял вопрос о канале между Атлантическим и Тихим океаном, чтобы при необходимости перебросить по нему военные корабли, не говоря уже о коммерческом значении такого сооружения. Правящие круги Соединённых Штатов Америки справедливо полагали, что при критическом ослаблении любой европейской державы смогут, таким образом, быстро захватить её владения. Правда в Первую мировую войну этим планам не суждено было сбыться: США вступили в конфликт слишком поздно, и германские островные владения оказались к тому времени растащены тремя империалистическими хищниками поменьше — Японией, Новой Зеландией и Австралией.

Так что символическим итогом тихоокеанской экспансии Соединённых Штатов Америки в 19 веке можно считать два события: отрыв Панамы от Колумбии (1903) для строительства там канала, и символический рейд Великого Белого флота (1907-1909) из 16 линкоров, который показательно продемонстрировал возросшие морские возможности Вашингтона. К слову, полноценного флота в регионе у США долгое время не было, и основные военно-морские силы сосредотачивались на атлантическом направлении. В 1821 году была сформирована небольшая Тихоокеанская эскадра, которая к 1903 году состояла всего из четырёх кораблей, а 1868 год стал годом рождения Азиатской эскадры, которая обеспечивала американские интересы в Японии, Китае и других странах. В начале 1907 года Азиатский флот был объединён с Тихоокеанской эскадрой в Тихоокеанский флот ВМС США.

США на Тихом океане. Век девятнадцатый


Стоит отметить, что и в самом американском обществе и даже в элите не существовало единого мнения относительно столь стремительного продвижения в мировую политику. Все речи про «глобальное лидерство» и «глобальное доминирование» появятся в лексиконе американских лидеров гораздо позже, а ещё в конце XIX века отчётливо звучали голоса тех, кто не желал подобного развития событий по этическим причинам: мол, негоже нам, бывшей колонии, самой владеть колониями — мы должны нести свет Просвещения порабощённым нациям. Впрочем, компромисс был найден, когда идеологи стали объяснять обывателю, что американское доминирование и есть свет Просвещения. Но это случится уже в двадцатом веке.

Если сравнивать с Россией, которая вышла к Тихому океану почти на 200 лет раньше, то США обладали несколькими очевидными преимуществами: более короткое расстояние между основной «имперской» территорией и новым побережьем, бурно развивающаяся экономика (из-за политической отсталости Российская империя вступила в промышленный век лишь к концу XIX столетия), инициативное и лично свободное население, отсутствие сильных соседей. И конечно, однозначная стратегия, которая без крайностей и лишних метаний позволила воплотить изначально задуманное в жизнь.
Автор: Игорь Кабардин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 10
  1. a.s.zzz888 12 января 2016 07:37
    У мерикатосов в генах захватническое и агрессивное направление своих интересов.
    Всему миру, не боясь этого сравнения, нагадили. А когда-же ответ держать, за свои дела, мерикатосы?
    1. Scraptor 12 января 2016 07:42

      Первым реальным шагом в начале морской экспансии стал «Закон о Гуано» 1856 года

      "Открытие" масоном Оливером Перри японии, после чего та на следующий год в 1855 сразу полезла на Курильские острова, не имея на тот момент в своем составе даже почти весь Хоккайдо на котором тогда были вырезаны еще не все айны.
      1. Кибальчиш 12 января 2016 07:55
        Япония и Китай - отдельные темы. это уже Азиатская экспансия.
        1. Scraptor 12 января 2016 15:31
          Сахалин и Курилы - Тихоокеанская.

          Япония это не Азия как и Англия не Европа.
  2. амурец 12 января 2016 08:00
    Да! Лихо САСШ решили тогда проблемы с удобрениями и взрывчаткой,а также проблемы расширения территорий.Почему порох и взрывчатка?Основным сырьём для получения селитры служило гуано или продукты разложения бытовых и пищевых отходов.Опыты по производству бездымных порохов и взрывчатки по методу нитрации только велись.Ссылки:Август Горст:"Пороха и взрывчатые вещества."А.Штетбахер "Пороха и взрывчатые вещества."
  3. parusnik 12 января 2016 08:06
    США вступили в конфликт слишком поздно...Нет, во время..Поступили по принципу..Когда тигры дерутся,обезьяна должна сидеть на дереве.., а когда тигры ослабнут, спуститься и снять с них шкуры..Что в принципе затем и произошло...С дерева спустился Кин Конг...Кроме того,надо заметить, что США в период, о котором идет речь, позиционировали себя, как сторонник,национально-освободительных движений..Поддерживали повстанцев на Кубе,Филиппинах,Панаме..Но все это грустно закончилось..для данных народов..из одного ярма в другое..
  4. Belousov 12 января 2016 09:12
    Ну вот пора бы этих "светочей демократии" почаще прилюдно макать в это "гуано", а то что-то берега попутали в своей исключительности.
  5. voyaka uh 12 января 2016 12:03
    Вообще американский военный флот вышел в далекие воды уже в начале 19 века.
    Против арабских пиратов в Средиземном море 19 веке. Так называемая "Берберийская война".
    Пираты из Алжира, Туниса, воспользовавашись тем, что английский флот целиком
    занимался Наполеоном, разбушевались и начали грабить, угонять и топить все корабли подряд.
    Американцы послали небольшую эскадру из всего 9 военных кораблей, но самых современных,
    и разнесли алжирцев вхлам.
  6. aviator1913 12 января 2016 12:35
    Интересная статья. Интересен состав флота США к началу 20 века. Тоннаж, типы и оборудование судов, для статьи было бы не лишним.

    По сути все делали правильно, лучше вступать в войну которую ты 100% победишь, чем постоянно бодаться с равными тебе соперниками, США повезло с соседями, поэтому судьба предоставила им шанс которым они воспользовались правильно.
    1. Alexey RA 12 января 2016 17:47
      Можно посмотреть старенький справочник Кофмана "ВМС США и стран Латинской Америки 1914 — 1918 гг." (МК № 05, 1996 г.), выкинув те корабли, которые вступили в строй после 1905.
      http://wunderwafe.ru/Magazine/MK/1996_05/index.htm
  7. Reptiloid 12 января 2016 16:35
    Большое спасибо за продолжение статей о Сша.После Вашей статьи про Луизиану прочёл статью про революцию "медведей",про Гуантанамо.Прочёл важную статью о Курильском вопросе.Потом думаю читать другие Ваши статьи,написанные раньше.
    С уважением.
  8. moskowit 12 января 2016 19:26
    Вот с тех пор политика "защитников самых, самых найдемократических ценностей" этим самым "гуано" а по русски "га..ом" очень сильно провоняла и и сопровождает своими миазмами всю деятельность...
  9. iouris 12 января 2016 23:18
    Примечательно, что всё начиналось с раздела Земного шара на два полушария и объявления Западного полушария зоной, свободной от континентальных (европейских) держав.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня