Military Review

"Sovereign eye". Twelve Empire General Prosecutors

9
12 January 1722, Peter I issued a decree establishing a prosecutor's office in Russia. The prosecutor general became the head of the new public authority. During the period from 1722 to 1917, this position was held by 30 people. Let us tell briefly about the twelve most prominent prosecutors-generals of the Russian Empire.


1

"Sovereign eye". Twelve Empire General Prosecutors


The first general prosecutor of the empire was Count Pavel Yaguzhinsky. 18 January 1722, Peter I, introducing the Yaguzhinsky Senate, said: "This is my eye, with whom I will see everything." This short phrase sets forth the main task of the prosecution authorities: to supervise the work of the state apparatus and to report to the tsar in a timely manner about the violations found.

Count Yaguzhinsky coped with this task brilliantly. Having quickly understood what exactly the monarch demands from him, Pavel Ivanovich energetically engaged in the creation of prosecutorial oversight bodies, and in the short term he became the second person in the state to select personnel.

Peter I respected Yaguzhinsky, appreciated his outstanding intelligence and performance. According to contemporaries, Yaguzhinsky managed to disappear in the service for days on end and do as much in one day as others did not have time for a week.

The merits of the count in the construction of a new public service, Peter I, noted the rank of State Councilor and the Order of St. Andrew the First Called.

Generally Pavel Yaguzhinsky - a typical nominee of Peter the Great. The son of a poor Baltic musician, 18-year-old young man Paul accidentally came into the attention of the emperor. He drew attention to the folding speech and wide erudition of the young man and immediately enrolled him in the Transfiguration Regiment.
Eight years later, Yaguzhinsky was already a chamber junker and a captain of the guard, a few years later a major general.

Using the Tsar’s unlimited trust, Yaguzhinsky repeatedly performed all sorts of secret diplomatic missions for Peter, negotiated with European monarchs, often accompanied the sovereign on his trips abroad. Attorney General of the Russian Empire Pavel Yaguzhinsky became incomplete 39 years.

2



Prince Nikita Trubetskoy headed the Russian prosecutor's office from 1740 to 1760 a year. He began his career under Peter I, successively passed the way from sergeant of the Preobrazhensky regiment to major general. And in 1740, he was appointed attorney general.

He had, in fact, to rebuild the system of prosecutorial authorities. The fact is that after the death of Peter I, the prosecutor's office lost its former influence. The successors of Peter considered the prosecutor’s office to be a dangerous obstacle in the struggle for supreme power and did everything to reduce the functions of the prosecutor’s office to a minimum.

Elizaveta Petrovna, who came to the throne, tried to return to the prosecutor's office the significance that she had under Peter I. And in this case Nikita Yuryevich, the initiative, active, demanding person and others, greatly assisted the empress. With him, the prosecutor’s office again became the “state eye”.

3



Prince Alexander Vyazemsky was appointed Prosecutor General in 1764 and held this post for almost thirty years. Practically all the transformations of Catherine II in the field of public administration are in one way or another connected with the activities of Vyazemsky as prosecutor general.

In addition, Vyazemsky consistently, from the first steps in the prosecutorial field, expanded his powers and opportunities and by the end of his career became the most influential person in the empire. He almost single-handedly led the all-powerful Secret Expedition, which was engaged in political investigation.

All the most famous political affairs of the Catherine Epoch passed through his hands: Yemelyan Pugachev, Alexander Radishchev, Nikolay Novikov and many others.

For his tireless work, Prince Vyazemsky was honored with all the highest awards of the Russian Empire: the Orders of St. Andrew the First-Called, St. Alexander Nevsky, St. Anne, St. Vladimir of the I degree, White Eagle and others.

Alexander Alekseevich retired in September 1792, due to a serious illness, and soon died.

4



The famous Russian poet and statesman Gavriil Derzhavin served as Prosecutor General in 1802 – 1803.

Moreover, when appointing Derzhavin as procurator-general, Alexander I ordered him to head the newly created Ministry of Justice. Thus, Gabriel Romanovich became the first in stories Russian Minister of Justice. True, not for long.

Having undertaken eagerly to carry out the functions assigned to him, Derzhavin aroused the displeasure of the king. And a year later was followed by resignation. To Derzhavin’s direct question “For what?” Alexander I allegedly replied: “You serve too zealously!”.

Upon his retirement, Derzhavin took up literary work and never again held posts in the public service.

5



The prosecutor general managed to visit another famous poet of that time - Ivan Dmitriev.

A descendant of an old noble family, Dmitriev in 14 years entered the service of the Semenov Guards regiment. However, the military service did not bring him much joy. With much more pleasure, Dmitriev was writing.

His first poetic experiences were printed in 1777. And in 1790-ies, Dmitriev was already a famous poet who had been friends with Derzhavin, Karamzin, Fonvizin and other famous writers of the time.

In 1796, Ivan Dmitriev retired with the rank of colonel and intended to take up literary work. However, Paul I, who came to the throne, ordered Dmitriev to return to public service and appointed the poet as chief procurator of the 3 department of the Senate.

However, the service did not last long: in 1799, Ivan Ivanovich resigned again and, having bought a house near the Red Gates in Moscow, again took up literary work.

Alexander I called on the sovereign's service of the poet in 1808, suggesting him the position of senator. And in 1810, Dmitriev was appointed Minister of Justice and Prosecutor General of Russia.

In this position, Ivan Dmitriev lasted four and a half years, having managed to make a lot of enemies in the highest echelons of power. Many cabinet ministers openly expressed their displeasure with Dmitriev's activity as procurator-general and finally achieved his resignation.

30 August 1814, Dmitriev resigned from all posts and never returned to public service.

6



For ten years, from 1829 to 1839 a year, Dmitry Dashkov was the general prosecutor of the empire.

He began his public service under Prosecutor-General Dmitriev. He appreciated the abilities of the young man and patronized him in every way. Obviously, Dashkov's literary talent, his reputation as a brilliant polemicist, played a significant role in this.

Dashkov's career in the public arena quickly went uphill. In 1816, he switched to the diplomatic service and spent several years in Constantinople as the second counselor of the Russian embassy.

Back in Russia, Dmitry Vasilyevich consistently changed several positions in the Ministry of the Interior and Justice. And in 1829, Nikolai I appointed Dashkov as Prosecutor General of Russia and Minister of Justice. At the Prosecutor General’s post, Dashkov proved himself as a brilliant organizer and expert in law.

It was during his time when the work on the compilation of the complete collection of laws of the Russian Empire was completed. Dashkov initiated the opening in St. Petersburg of the first Russian law school, which was subsequently graduated from by many prominent Russian lawyers.

Dashkov was not afraid to argue with the emperor if the interests of the state demanded it. And Nikolay, by the way, appreciated this quality in Dashkov. Despite the friction between the tsar and the prosecutor general, Nicholas I always considered Dashkova his friend.

7



Count Victor Panin entered the history of the national prosecutor's office as an unsurpassed connoisseur of legislation. They say he knew by heart many articles of the Complete Collection of Laws of the Russian Empire, which, as is known, included 56 bulk volumes.

However, in his direct work as prosecutor general, Panin gained fame as a “perfect despot,” as contemporaries put it. Viktor Nikitich did not tolerate any objections and, if he made any decision, stubbornly followed him, even if after some time he himself was convinced of his absurdity.

Therefore, when Panin was dismissed from the post of Prosecutor General and Minister of Justice in the 1862 year, there was no limit to the joy of the officials of both departments. The post of Prosecutor General Count Panin served 23 of the year.

8



The judicial reform of the 1860-s is unthinkable without the reform work of Dmitry Zamyatnin.

Being at the post of Prosecutor General from 1862 to 1867, Zamyatnin directed all his outstanding organizational talent and energy to a deep reform of the judiciary in Russia.

He managed to bring to work the best lawyers of the time: Sergey Zarudny, Nikolay Stoyanovskiy, Konstantin Pobedonostsev, Dmitry Rovinsky and others.

For two years, work was under way on the drafting of Judicial statutes. Dmitry Nikolaevich personally delved into all the details, edited articles of the charters, prepared them for further presentation to the king.

This colossal work was completed in November 1864, when Alexander II approved the Judicial statutes.

Their introduction has radically changed the entire judicial system in the country: the judicial authorities were completely separated from administrative and legislative, jury trials were created, publicity and competitiveness were introduced in the process itself.

Since then, a new era began in the history of domestic legal proceedings, and the works of Zamyatnin as one of his reformers cannot be overestimated.

In addition, Prosecutor General Zamyatnin supervised the investigation of many of the most important political affairs of the time. For example, in the case of Karakozov, who shot at the tsar, Dmitry Nikolayevich personally supported the prosecution in court.

9



Politics Zamyatnin continued Dmitry Nabokov. 30 May 1878, he was appointed Minister of Justice and, by tradition, the Prosecutor General of Russia (in the XIX century, these two positions, as a rule, were combined).

An excellent connoisseur of law and an ardent supporter of judicial reform, Dmitry Nikolayevich vigorously set to work. When it opened two new judicial districts: Kiev and Vilna.

He personally supported the accusation in the case of the terrorist Alexander Solovyov, and after the murder of Alexander II he was actively engaged in the preparation of the process in the “case of the First Aarons.

In the period following the assassination of Alexander II of the counter-reforms, Nabokov, remaining at his post, managed to preserve all the main achievements in the field of legal proceedings, having sacrificed only minor details.

Liberal jurists like the notorious Anatoly Koni were forced to admit this.

Dmitry Nabokov resigned from the post of Prosecutor General in 1885, but for almost twenty years, until his death, he served as a member of the Council of State and a senator.

10



Nikolai Manassein gained fame as an “impeccably honest” person obsessed with “humane treatment of people.”

Even occupying the high post of Prosecutor General of Russia, Manassein remained completely simple in communication and an accessible person. The entrance to his prosecutor’s office was open to any applicant.

Prosecutor General Nikolai Avksentyevich served for more than eight years - from 1885 to 1894 a year. Over the years, the central office of the Prosecutor’s Office and the Ministry of Justice was reorganized, judicial reform was carried out in the Baltic States, and prosecutors and judicial authorities throughout the country were significantly strengthened.

11




Ivan Shcheglovitov, Prosecutor General and Minister of Justice of Russia, became in a difficult period for the country: in the spring of 1906. In Russia, the revolution was raging, the war with Japan recently ended.

Emergency measures were required to bring down the wave of social protest, restore order and calm. And Shcheglovitov, having received an appointment, quickly took up work.

Bring order to the new Attorney General began in his own department. In a short time, all those who compromised themselves with connections with the revolutionary and liberal movement were expelled from the prosecution and judicial authorities.

Ivan Grigorievich tried to take on leadership positions people with a pronounced monarchical, conservative orientation. It is not surprising that Shcheglovitov’s work as procurator-general provoked a mixed reaction in society: from sympathy to complete rejection.

Especially zealous in their criticism of Shcheglovitov Duma liberals and democrats of all stripes. However, this did not prevent Ivan Grigorievich from remaining at his post for nine years, despite the frequent change of government and ministers. And only in the summer of 1915, under the pressure of left-wing forces, did Nicholas II dismiss Shcheglovitov.

The first who was arrested by the new government in February 1917 of the year was Shcheglovitov, although by that time he did not hold any government posts. He was presented with ridiculous charges of abuse of his official position and was held for almost a year in the Peter and Paul Fortress.
Scheglovitov was already shot by the Bolsheviks of September 5 of 1918.

12



Nikolai Dobrovolsky was the last Prosecutor General of the Russian Empire. He held this post for only two months: from 20 December 1916 to 28 February 1917.

During the February Revolution, Dobrovolsky tried to hide in the Italian embassy, ​​but then voluntarily surrendered to the new government.

The Emergency Investigation Commission, created by the Provisional Government, presented Dobrovolsky with a whole bunch of charges, of which the most innocent was receiving a bribe from a merchant, Yakov Nakhimov.

However, when Nikolai Aleksandrovich himself offered the members of the Emergency Commission a large sum of money for the release, the proposal was accepted. Dobrovolsky was released from the Peter and Paul Fortress and even allowed to go to the North Caucasus.

There, the former prosecutor general was caught by the October Revolution. Dobrovolsky was imprisoned in a concentration camp near Pyatigorsk and in October 1918 was shot along with other former royal dignitaries.
Author:
Originator:
http://историк.рф/special_posts/государево-око-двенадцать-генерал/
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 23 January 2016 07: 54
    +4
    when Nikolai Alexandrovich himself offered the members of the Extraordinary Commission a large sum of money for the release, the proposal was accepted... As they say, who are the judges?
  2. bober1982
    bober1982 23 January 2016 08: 27
    +3
    set the author a plus, they remembered the honored people, the photos are good.
    But on some issues, in my opinion, erroneous conclusions. Quote: "The fact is that after the death of Peter I the prosecutor's office lost its former influence "
    No prosecutor's office at that time simply did not exist, and could not be. The king appointed the post of prosecutor general of the Senate, as a kind of mediator between the king and the Senate, nothing more.
    Quote: " Pavel Ivanovich (Yaguzhinsky) energetically set about creating prosecutorial supervision bodies ......., and in a short time became, in fact, the second person in the state "
    The count was not involved in any creation of prosecutorial oversight bodies, his capabilities were tiny, of course he was not the second person in the empire; therefore, after the death of Peter I, the role of the Senate (the beloved brainchild of the king) became insignificant, which further reduced the role of the prosecutor general.
    Well, in order to get distracted, Aviation Day is celebrated three times in August, who both counted and decided. The prosecutors decided to celebrate the holiday with the introduction of the position of Attorney General, which means it should be.
    1. neri73-r
      neri73-r 24 January 2016 23: 06
      0
      If you do not know the subject, do not write better! hi
  3. King, just king
    King, just king 23 January 2016 09: 48
    +3
    Especially touches Yaguzhinsky. I’m talking about that bike, when Peter, having gotten tired of it with his comrades-in-arms, wanted to command that he had stolen the rope on it and that ... And the Tsar Yaguzhinsky short-circuited that they say you’ll remain without subjects, Majesty, we’ll tyry.
    1. iouris
      iouris 23 January 2016 14: 55
      +2
      This is the essence: the prosecutor is a political position, because under a corrupt regime of government, the principle operates: "everything to friends, law to enemies." Yaguzhinsky was one of the first to understand, even before the principle itself was formulated.
  4. Pig
    Pig 23 January 2016 11: 44
    +2
    "" The Bolsheviks already shot Shcheglovitov on September 5, 1918 ""
    with the wording: "royal lackey"
  5. Pvi1206
    Pvi1206 23 January 2016 16: 44
    +2
    What is the political regime, such is the chief prosecutor. The main quality of a person in this position is personal devotion to the ruler. The righteous ruler - and the prosecutor too. Otherwise ...
  6. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 23 January 2016 20: 47
    +2
    Thank you for the article. informative . from the rest - I restrain myself ..... the topic is sensitive.
  7. yuriy55
    yuriy55 24 January 2016 04: 38
    0
    The article is very interesting features and details. It is true that in the old days even such high-ranking officials were much closer to the citizens of the empire than now ...

    Count Yaguzhinsky coped with this task brilliantly. Having quickly understood what exactly the monarch demands from him, Pavel Ivanovich energetically engaged in the creation of prosecutorial oversight bodies, and in the short term he became the second person in the state to select personnel.


    These qualities of Yaguzhinsky are now used by those who are least interested in parsing what is useful for the Fatherland ... The main thing is to understand ... to understand correctly what the "monarch" demands of you ... laughing
  8. Fitter65
    Fitter65 24 January 2016 06: 18
    0
    Quote: bober1982
    Well, in order to get distracted, Aviation Day is celebrated three times in August, who both counted and decided. The prosecutors decided to celebrate the holiday with the introduction of the position of Attorney General, which means it should be.

    TWICE. August 12-Yeltsin introduced the Air Fleet Day, and on the third Sunday of August, it was "before the era of historical materialism" introduced into the tradition, AVIATION DAY, as they call it in the Air Force. But the Air Forces three times. In April, the Air Defense Forces day. ( but since they have been structurally included in the Air Force and Air Defense since 1998, they are also forced to celebrate aviation holidays. drinks
    1. bober1982
      bober1982 24 January 2016 19: 58
      0
      1.August 18, 1933 - USSR Air Fleet Day (Aviation Day) - a real holiday
      2. since 1980 - began to be celebrated on the third Sunday of August, as a big holiday
      3. August 12, the official, Yeltsin, is also a holiday.
      So we will celebrate in August (three times) - it will be necessary to take care of ourselves (health) !!!

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи

12 января 1722 года Пётр I издал указ об учреждении в России прокуратуры. Во главе нового органа государственной власти стал генерал-прокурор. За период с 1722 по 1917 год эту должность занимали 30 человек. Расскажем вкратце о двенадцати самых выдающихся генерал-прокурорах Российской империи.

1

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи



Первым генерал-прокурором империи стал граф Павел Ягужинский. 18 января 1722 года Пётр I, представляя Ягужинского Сенату, заявил: «Вот око мое, коим я буду все видеть». В этой короткой фразе изложена главная задача органов прокуратуры: надзирать за работой государственного аппарата и своевременно докладывать царю о выявленных нарушениях.

Граф Ягужинский с этой задачей справлялся блестяще. Быстро поняв, что именно от него требует монарх, Павел Иванович энергично занялся созданием органов прокурорского надзора, подбором кадров и в короткие сроки стал, по сути, вторым человеком в государстве.

Пётр I уважал Ягужинского, ценил его незаурядный ум и работоспособность. По свидетельствам современников, Ягужинский умудрялся сутками напролёт пропадать на службе и делать за один день столько, сколько иные не успевали и за неделю.

Заслуги графа в деле строительства новой государственной службы Пётр I отметил чином действительного статского советника и орденом Святого Андрея Первозванного.

Вообще Павел Ягужинский — типичный выдвиженец Петровской эпохи. Сын бедного прибалтийского музыканта, 18-летним юношей Павел случайно попал в поле зрения государя. Тот обратил внимание на складную речь и широкую эрудицию молодого человека и тут же зачислил его в Преображенский полк.
Через восемь лет Ягужинский уже камер-юнкер и капитан гвардии, ещё через несколько лет — генерал-майор.

Пользуясь безграничным доверием царя, Ягужинский неоднократно выполнял всякого рода секретные дипломатические поручения Петра, вёл переговоры с европейскими монархами, частенько сопровождал государя в его поездках за границу. Генерал-прокурором Российской империи Павел Ягужинский стал в неполные 39 лет.

2

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Князь Никита Трубецкой возглавлял российскую прокуратуру с 1740 по 1760 год. Свою карьеру начал при Петре I, последовательно прошёл путь от сержанта Преображенского полка до генерал-майора. А в 1740 году был назначен генерал-прокурором.

Ему пришлось, по сути, заново выстраивать систему прокурорской власти. Дело в том, что после смерти Петра I прокуратура утратила своё былое влияние. Преемники Петра считали прокуратуру опасной помехой в борьбе за верховную власть и сделали всё, чтобы свести функции прокуратуры к минимуму.

Вошедшая на престол Елизавета Петровна попыталась вернуть прокуратуре то значение, которое она имела при Петре I. И в этом деле большую помощь государыне оказал Никита Юрьевич, человек инициативный, деятельный, требовательный к себе и другим. При нём прокуратура снова стала «оком государевым».

3

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Князь Александр Вяземский был назначен генерал-прокурором в 1764 году и занимал этот пост почти тридцать лет. Практически все преобразования Екатерины II в области государственного управления так или иначе связаны с деятельностью Вяземского на посту генерал-прокурора.

Кроме того, Вяземский последовательно, с первых шагов на прокурорском поприще расширял свои полномочия и возможности и к концу карьеры стал самым влиятельным человеком в империи. Он практически единолично руководил всесильной Тайной экспедицией, которая занималась политическим сыском.

Через его руки прошли все самые известные политические дела Екатерининской эпохи: Емельяна Пугачёва, Александра Радищева, Николая Новикова и многие другие.

За свою неутомимую деятельность князь Вяземский удостоился всех высших наград Российской империи: орденов Святого Андрея Первозванного, Святого Александра Невского, Святой Анны, Святого Владимира I степени, Белого Орла и других.

В отставку Александр Алексеевич вышел в сентябре 1792 года в связи с тяжёлой болезнью и вскоре скончался.

4

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Известный русский поэт и государственный деятель Гавриил Державин занимал пост генерал-прокурора в 1802–1803 годах.

Причём, назначая Державина генерал-прокурором, Александр I повелел ему возглавить и только что созданное Министерство юстиции. Таким образом, Гавриил Романович стал первым в истории России министром юстиции. Правда, ненадолго.

Взявшись рьяно выполнять возложенные на него функции, Державин вызвал неудовольствие царя. И уже через год последовала отставка. На прямой вопрос Державина «За что?» Александр I якобы ответил: «Ты слишком ревностно служишь!».

Выйдя в отставку, Державин занялся литературным трудом и больше никогда не занимал должностей на государственной службе.

5

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Генерал-прокурором успел побывать и другой известный поэт того времени — Иван Дмитриев.

Выходец из старинного дворянского рода, Дмитриев в 14 лет поступил на службу в гвардейский Семёновский полк. Впрочем, военная служба не приносила ему особой радости. С гораздо большим удовольствием Дмитриев занимался сочинительством.

Его первые поэтические опыты были напечатаны в 1777 году. А в 1790-е годы Дмитриев — уже известный поэт, водивший дружбу с Державиным, Карамзиным, Фонвизиным и другими знаменитыми литераторами того времени.

В 1796 году Иван Дмитриев вышел в отставку в чине полковника и намеревался заняться литературным трудом. Однако вошедший на престол Павел I повелел Дмитриеву вернуться на государственную службу и назначил поэта обер-прокурором 3-го департамента Сената.

Впрочем, служба продолжалась недолго: в 1799 году Иван Иванович опять подал в отставку и, прикупив домик недалеко от Красных Ворот в Москве, вновь занялся литературным творчеством.

На государеву службу поэта в 1808 году призвал Александр I, предложив ему должность сенатора. А в 1810 году Дмитриева назначили министром юстиции и генерал-прокурором России.

На этой должности Иван Дмитриев продержался четыре с половиной года, успев нажить себе немало врагов в высших эшелонах власти. Многие члены кабинета министров откровенно выражали своё неудовольствие деятельностью Дмитриева на посту генерал-прокурора и добились в конце концов его отставки.

30 августа 1814 года Дмитриев ушёл со всех постов и больше на государственную службу не возвращался.

6

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Десять лет, с 1829 по 1839 год, генерал-прокурором империи был Дмитрий Дашков.

Государственную службу он начинал при генерал-прокуроре Дмитриеве. Тот оценил способности молодого человека и всячески ему покровительствовал. Очевидно, немалую роль в этом сыграли и литературный талант Дашкова, его репутация блестящего полемиста.

Карьера Дашкова на государственном поприще быстро пошла в гору. В 1816 году он перешёл на дипломатическую службу и несколько лет провёл в Константинополе в должности второго советника русского посольства.

Вернувшись в Россию, Дмитрий Васильевич последовательно сменил несколько должностей в Министерстве внутренних дел и юстиции. А в 1829 году Николай I назначил Дашкова генерал-прокурором России и министром юстиции. На генерал-прокурорском посту Дашков проявил себя как блестящий организатор и знаток права.

Именно при нём была закончена работа по составлению Полного собрания законов Российской империи. Дашков стал инициатором открытия в Петербурге первого в России училища правоведения, которое впоследствии окончили многие выдающиеся отечественные юристы.

Не боялся Дашков и спорить с императором, если того требовали интересы государства. И Николай, кстати, ценил в Дашкове это качество. Несмотря на возникающие между царём и генерал-прокурором трения, Николай I всегда считал Дашкова своим другом.

7

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Граф Виктор Панин вошёл в историю отечественной прокуратуры как непревзойдённый знаток законодательства. Говорят, он наизусть знал многие статьи Полного собрания законов Российской империи, которое, как известно, включало в себя 56 объёмных томов.

Однако в непосредственной работе на посту генерал-прокурора Панин снискал себе славу «совершенного деспота», по выражению современников. Виктор Никитич не терпел никаких возражений и, если принимал какое-либо решение, упорно следовал ему, даже если через какое-то время сам убеждался в его абсурдности.

Поэтому когда в 1862 году Панина освободили от должности генерал-прокурора и министра юстиции, радости чиновников обоих ведомств не было предела. Пост генерал-прокурора граф Панин занимал 23 года.

8

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Судебная реформа 1860-х годов немыслима без реформаторской деятельности Дмитрия Замятнина.

Находясь на посту генерал-прокурора с 1862 по 1867 год, Замятнин весь свой незаурядный организаторский талант и энергию направлял на глубокое реформирование судопроизводства в России.

Ему удалось привлечь к работе лучших юристов того времени: Сергея Зарудного, Николая Стояновского, Константина Победоносцева, Дмитрия Ровинского и других.

В течение двух лет шла работа над составлением Судебных уставов. Дмитрий Николаевич лично вникал во все тонкости, редактировал статьи уставов, готовил их для дальнейшего представления царю.

Этот колоссальная работа была закончена в ноябре 1864 года, когда Александр II утвердил Судебные уставы.

Введение их в жизнь кардинально изменило всю систему судопроизводства в стране: судебные органы полностью отделялись от административных и законодательных, создавались суды присяжных, в самом процессе вводились гласность и состязательность.

С тех пор началась новая эпоха в истории отечественного судопроизводства, и труды Замятнина в качестве одного из его реформаторов невозможно переоценить.

Кроме того, генерал-прокурор Замятнин контролировал расследование многих важнейших политических дел того времени. Например, по делу Каракозова, стрелявшего в царя, Дмитрий Николаевич лично поддерживал обвинение в суде.

9

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Политику Замятнина продолжил Дмитрий Набоков. 30 мая 1878 года его назначили министром юстиции и, по сложившейся к тому времени традиции, генерал-прокурором России (в XIX веке эти две должности, как правило, совмещались).

Отличный знаток права и ярый приверженец судебной реформы, Дмитрий Николаевич энергично взялся за дело. При нём открылись два новых судебных округа: Киевский и Виленский.

Он лично поддерживал обвинение по делу террориста Александра Соловьёва, а после убийства Александра II активно занимался подготовкой процесса по «делу первомартовцев».

В период последовавших после убийства Александра II контрреформ Набоков, оставшись на своём посту, умудрился сохранить все основные достижения в области судопроизводства, поступившись лишь незначительными деталями.

Это были вынуждены признать и такие либеральные правоведы, как небезызвестный Анатолий Кони.

Дмитрий Набоков ушёл в отставку с поста генерал-прокурора в 1885 году, однако ещё почти двадцать лет, вплоть до самой кончины, выполнял обязанности члена Государственного совета и сенатора.

10

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Николай Манассеин снискал себе славу «безупречно честного» человека, одержимого «гуманным отношением к людям».

Даже занимая высокий пост генерал-прокурора России, Манассеин оставался совершенно простым в общении и доступным человеком. Вход в его прокурорский кабинет был открыт для любого просителя.

Генерал-прокурором Николай Авксентьевич служил более восьми лет — с 1885 по 1894 год. За эти годы был реорганизован центральный аппарат прокуратуры и Минюста, проведена судебная реформа в Прибалтике, существенно укрепились прокурорские и судебные органы по всей стране.

11


«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Генерал-прокурором и министром юстиции России Иван Щегловитов стал в непростой для страны период: весной 1906 года. В России бушевала революция, недавно закончилась война с Японией.

Требовались чрезвычайные меры, чтобы сбить волну социального протеста, восстановить порядок и спокойствие. И Щегловитов, получив назначение, резво взялся за работу.

Наводить порядок новый генерал-прокурор начал в своём собственном ведомстве. В короткие сроки из прокурорских и судебных органов были изгнаны все, кто скомпрометировал себя связями с революционным и либеральным движением.

На руководящие должности Иван Григорьевич старался подбирать людей с ярко выраженной монархической, консервативной ориентацией. Неудивительно, что деятельность Щегловитова на посту генерал-прокурора вызывала неоднозначную реакцию в обществе: от сочувствия до полного неприятия.

Особенно усердствовали в своей критике Щегловитова думские либералы и демократы всех мастей. Впрочем, это не помешало Ивану Григорьевичу оставаться на своём посту девять лет, невзирая на частую смену правительства и министров. И лишь летом 1915 года под давлением левых сил Николай II отправил Щегловитова в отставку.

Первым, кто был арестован новой властью в феврале 1917 года, стал именно Щегловитов, хотя он к тому времени и не занимал никаких государственных постов. Ему предъявили нелепые обвинения в злоупотреблении служебным положением и почти год продержали в Петропавловской крепости.
Расстреляли Щегловитова уже большевики 5 сентября 1918 года.

12

«Государево око». Двенадцать генерал-прокуроров империи


Николай Добровольский стал последним генерал-прокурором Российской империи. Он занимал этот пост всего два месяца: с 20 декабря 1916 по 28 февраля 1917 года.

Во время Февральской революции Добровольский пытался укрыться в посольстве Италии, но затем добровольно сдался новой власти.

Чрезвычайная следственная комиссия, созданная Временным правительством, предъявила Добровольскому целый букет обвинений, из которых самым безобидным явилось получение взятки от купца Якова Нахимова.

Однако, когда Николай Александрович сам предложил членам Чрезвычайной комиссии крупную сумму денег за освобождение, предложение было принято. Добровольского выпустили из Петропавловской крепости и даже разрешили уехать на Северный Кавказ.

Там бывшего генерал-прокурора застала Октябрьская революция. Добровольского заключили в концлагерь близ Пятигорска и в октябре 1918 года расстреляли в числе других бывших царских сановников.
Автор: Сергей ХОЛОДОВ
Первоисточник: http://историк.рф/special_posts/государево-око-двенадцать-генерал/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. parusnik 23 января 2016 07:54
    когда Николай Александрович сам предложил членам Чрезвычайной комиссии крупную сумму денег за освобождение, предложение было принято...Как говорится, а судьи кто?
  2. bober1982 23 января 2016 08:27
    автору поставил плюс,заслуженных людей вспомнили,фото хорошие.
    Но по некоторым вопросам,на мой взгляд,ошибочные выводы.Цитата :" Дело в том,что после смерти ПетраI прокуратура утратила своё былое влияние "
    Никакой прокуратуры на тот момент просто не существовало,и не могло быть.Царь назначил должность генерал-прокурора Сената,как своего рода посредника между царём и Сенатом,не более того.
    Цитата :" Павел Иванович (Ягужинский)энергично занялся созданием органов прокурорского надзора.......,и в короткие сроки стал,по сути,вторым человеком в государстве "
    Никаким созданием органов прокурорск.надзора граф не занимался,его возможности были крохотными,вторым человеком в империи он конечно не был.Поэтому после смерти ПетраI,роль Сената (любимое детище царя),стала незначительной,что ещё более уменьшило роль генерал-прокурора.
    Ну и чтобы отвлечься- День авиации празднуется три раза в августе,кто как посчитал и решил.Решили праздновать прокуроры праздник с введением должности генерал-прокурора- значит так и надо.
    1. neri73-r 24 января 2016 23:06
      Если не знаете предмета, лучше не пишите! hi
  3. Царь,простоЦарь 23 января 2016 09:48
    Особенно умиляет Ягужинский. Я про ту байку, когда Пётр задолбавшись с соратниками хотел повелеть, что укравшего на цену верёвки на ней и того... А Ягужинский царя окоротил, что мол без подданных останетесь, величество, все мол тырим.
    1. iouris 23 января 2016 14:55
      В этом суть: прокурор - должность политическая, ибо при коррумпированном режиме правления действует принцип: "друзьям - всё, врагам - закон". Ягужинский понял одним из первых ещё до того, как сам принцип был сформулирован.
  4. Свин 23 января 2016 11:44
    ""Расстреляли Щегловитова уже большевики 5 сентября 1918 года""
    с формулировкой: "царский холуй"
  5. Pvi1206 23 января 2016 16:44
    Каков политический режим, таков и главный прокурор.Главное качество человека на этой должности - личная преданность правителю. Правитель праведный - и прокурор тоже. Иначе...
  6. казак волгский 23 января 2016 20:47
    спасибо за статью. познавательно . от дальнейшего - сдержусь..... щекотлива тема.
  7. yuriy55 24 января 2016 04:38
    Статья очень интересна особенностями и подробностями. Верно то, что в былое время даже такие высокопоставленные чины были гораздо ближе к гражданам империи, чем сейчас...

    Граф Ягужинский с этой задачей справлялся блестяще. Быстро поняв, что именно от него требует монарх, Павел Иванович энергично занялся созданием органов прокурорского надзора, подбором кадров и в короткие сроки стал, по сути, вторым человеком в государстве.


    Эти качества Ягужинского сейчас используют те, кто меньше всего заинтересован в разборе, что полезно для Отечества...Главное, понять...понять правильно, что требует от вас "монарх"... laughing
  8. Fitter65 24 января 2016 06:18
    Цитата: bober1982
    Ну и чтобы отвлечься- День авиации празднуется три раза в августе,кто как посчитал и решил.Решили праздновать прокуроры праздник с введением должности генерал-прокурора- значит так и надо.

    ДВАЖДЫ.12 августа-Ельцин ввел День Воздушного флота,и в третье воскресенье августа,это было "до эпохи исторического материализма"введено в традицию, ДЕНЬ АВИАЦИИ-как называют его в ВВС.А вот ПВОшники трижды.В апреле день Войск ПВО.(но так как с 1998 года они входят структурно в ВВС и ПВО,то и авиационные праздники тоже вынужденны отмечать. drinks
    1. bober1982 24 января 2016 19:58
      1. 18 августа 1933г.- День Воздушного Флота СССР (День Авиации)- настоящий праздник
      2. с 1980г.- начали праздновать в третье воскресенье августа,как большой праздник
      3. 12 августа,официальный,ельцинский,тоже праздник.
      Так что будем праздновать в августе(трижды)- надо будет себя беречь (здоровье)!!!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня