Military Review

Polarnik Georgiy Sedov: The Choice Between Death and Shame

9
Polarnik Georgiy Sedov: The Choice Between Death and Shame



22 April 1902 was entrusted Georgy Sedov to the Hydrographic Administration of the Admiralty's lieutenant. Six months earlier, the 25-year-old son of an Azov fisherman, who began his maritime career as a sailor of the watch, brilliantly passed an external exam for the full course of the Marine Corps. And in the summer, his first expedition to the Arctic took place. How many will be then ...
But all his short life he dreamed of the main thing.

With the world in a thread


In March, 1912, Sedov addresses the Hydrographic Administration with a report: "Many travelers sailed here (to the Arctic Ocean) to find an open sea route to the east, many to open the North Pole ... The human mind was so absorbed in this difficult task, that its resolution, despite the harsh grave, which travelers for the most part have found, has become a sheer national contest. Here, besides human curiosity, the main guiding stimulus is certainly not odnaya pride and honor of the country.

Hot appeals from the Russian people for the discovery of the North Pole appeared during the time of Lomonosov and have not faded until now. We will go this year and show the whole world that the Russians are capable of this feat. "

The idea was supported by a large group of State Duma deputies, who proposed to allocate 50 thousand rubles for an expedition from the treasury. He who knew the polar explorer from the Russo-Japanese War (senior lieutenant Sedov was an active participant in it), the naval minister IK, did not stay aside. Grigorovich. The admiral criticized the estimate compiled by George Yakovlevich, declaring it too modest, and suggested that the costs of the expedition be tripled. However, the Council of Ministers rejected the request for funding. And if it were not for the brother of the publisher of the New Time MA Suvorin, who created the special "Sedovskiy Committee" ...

Scientists, artists, workers, students, and soldiers carried their modest contributions there. Despite the scarcity of the funds collected, 27 on August 1912 of the year in Arkhangelsk, with a huge crowd of people, saw off the old Saint-Martyr Fock vessel with 22 brave ones on board to the North Pole.

Wintering on New Earth

Already from the first days, due to the difficult ice conditions of the "Holy Martyr Fok", failures began to be haunted. Hope Sedov collapsed this year to get to Franz Josef Land, from where George Yakovlevich planned to begin a toboggan trip to the North Pole. The heavy ice of the Barents Sea forced 20 September to settle on the shores of Novaya Zemlya, near the Cape Observatory. Sedov was not discouraged. "Our expedition," he wrote in his travel diary, "in addition to reaching the North Pole, pursues even more scientific work, and since Novaya Zemlya, which belonged to our fatherland, needs research, first of all, we will send fresh forces to the detailed and comprehensive study of it. "

Novaya Zemlya held the expedition in ice embraces for almost a year, but it became a scientific testing ground for the hydrograph of Sedov, the geographer Wiese, the geologist Pavlov. The forced "laboratory complex" at Cape Observatory became the main astronomical and magnetic point of the expedition. Georgy Yakovlevich, together with the artist Pinegin, made an inventory of the South Cross Islands. Together with sailor Inyutin went dog sledding to Cape Zhelaniya, in order to carry out route survey of the shores of Novaya Zemlya. The last to do this was Willem Barents in 1594-1597. Based on the cartographic materials of George Yakovlevich, new nautical charts were compiled. Important, exclusive, as they would say today, work ...

But, fulfilling it, he dreamed of the North Pole.

Only on the "Nord"


Finally, the Holy Martyr Foka, which had emerged from captivity, after a few days of sailing, rested again on the perennial ice edge. But much more worried George Yakovlevich "rebellion on the ship." “Today,” Sedov wrote in his diary, “the officers gave me a good gift: they said through the watch officer to return. I was very surprised at first, and then I was upset about exactly what they had to refuse.”

Returning to Russia meant for him to turn from a brave and honest sailor into a mockery of the “white bone”. Therefore, Sedov did not see another way out, how to go to the pole, even if this is tantamount to suicide
He has already made a decision.

15 February 1914, Sedov and the two most devoted sailors to him, Grigory Linnik and Alexander Pustoshny, loaded the limited supply of food on dog sleds and took a course to the north.

“Sedov quite clearly realized that returning him to Russia without a serious attempt to reach the pole would be tantamount to moral death,” the geographer Wise subsequently wrote in his diary. “There is no return home — there are his enemies waiting for him, who will close all the doors for him and forever put an end to all the dreams of the great work of a researcher, a sailor, and Sedov devoted his whole life to this work.

Returning to Russia - for Sedov, this meant turning from a brave and honest sailor into a mockery of the “white bone”. Therefore, Sedov did not see another way out how to go to the pole, even if this is tantamount to suicide. It was impossible to break this will, which chose between death and disgrace first. "

A few days later, the path of George Yakovlevich was no longer able to fight scaling. Kicked off the disease and his two companions. Lying on the sleds, losing consciousness more and more often, he, waking up for a moment, glanced at the compass needle, stubbornly looking strictly at the "North" ...

5 March 1914 of the year, near the island of Rudolph, the great polar explorer and patriot George Yakovlevich Sedov died at the age of 36 years. Two faithful comrades buried him on the island. Two weeks later they returned to the board of the “Holy Martyr Phocas”.

“We were standing in silence,” Nikolai Pinegin recalled in the book “George Sedov,” only the dogs squealed and joyfully squealed. So this is how the expedition ends, this is where Sedov's faith in the star led ... How the stars cheat us. "

PS 17 August 1977, the nuclear vessel "Arctic" reached the North Pole. The shaft of the state flag of the USSR, installed on the ice, was sealed by polar explorers with a fragment of the shaft of the “Sedovsky” flag of Russia.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.rg.ru/2016/01/12/rodina-sedov.html
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Andrey Yuryevich
    Andrey Yuryevich 23 January 2016 07: 18
    +6
    I immediately recall the "two Captains" by Veniamin Kaverin ..
  2. bistrov.
    bistrov. 23 January 2016 07: 24
    11
    I remember the expedition of Georgy Sedov on the motor-sailing schooner "St. Fock" from the 4th grade, from 1962. They studied natural history. I wonder if modern Russian schoolchildren are studying this now, or not?
    1. Russian Patriot
      Russian Patriot 23 January 2016 21: 01
      +2
      As an 11th grader, I declare: no, my cousin is in 4th grade, but there they focus on mathematics, computer science, English and the world around him (this is not an object, but some rubbish; full of all useless information about nature, world and ecology, but there is nothing worthwhile). History, literature and the Russian language are now in secondary roles in schools, which is very sad.
  3. semirek
    semirek 23 January 2016 07: 46
    +5
    The article is very good, but not complete. Sedov became known as a polar explorer, after detailed measurements of the mouth of the Kolyma River, after such painstaking work, he was accepted by the sovereign, by the way Nikolai also contributed a certain amount to a nationwide project to conquer the pole. Actually, there was no empire discrimination on the grounds of class: if you were a head and a diligent student, you could calmly go up the career ladder. Was the expedition a failure --- a question? There was a lot of work done. Yes, there was haste in the preparation, the team also recruited quickly, Sedy had little in her like-minded people - hence the tragic end. but we must remember the Russian polar explorer, George Sedov.
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 23 January 2016 07: 47
    +5
    I had a filmstrip about Sedov .. "Fight, search, find, do not give up" .. was called .. True black and white .. photographs and drawings served as material for the creators ..
  5. vladimirvn
    vladimirvn 23 January 2016 09: 32
    +5
    A worthy son of his homeland. These brought glory to Russia!
  6. King, just king
    King, just king 23 January 2016 09: 43
    +4
    The main reason was bad luck, and the second, judging by the memoirs and books, was disgusting preparation. Everything was done extremely hastily and thoughtlessly. Forgot even the pots. Scott really, too, pierced a pony.

    The heroism of our sailors doesn’t detract from everything that I’ve overseen by me !!!
  7. Roy
    Roy 23 January 2016 10: 59
    +2
    A lot also depends on the name of the ship and the sailors know it. "The Holy Martyr Phocas" is a confirmation of this.
    And all the same, for all the torment and hardships of the expedition and the general failure, the feat of George Sedov and his comrades, forever in the memory of Russia and its people. Glory to the heroes!
  8. moskowit
    moskowit 23 January 2016 12: 59
    +4
    See what efforts Russia invested in the discovery and development of the North! How many famous and unknown pioneers laid down their lives at the same time! And only the granddaughter of a national writer with a gang of traitors to popular interests almost ruined the centuries-old aspirations of Russia to the North. That's who the true enemy of the People is, and some other forums are called by the name of the traitor ...
  9. Pvi1206
    Pvi1206 23 January 2016 16: 32
    +1
    Every business has its time. You’ll start late - you’ll be late. You’ll start early ... where the curve will lead. But the desire for geographical discoveries was a powerful incentive for purposeful and courageous people of that period of history.
  10. Maximars
    Maximars 24 January 2016 14: 48
    0
    Quote: moskowit
    See what efforts Russia invested in the discovery and development of the North! How many famous and unknown pioneers laid down their lives at the same time! And only the granddaughter of a national writer with a gang of traitors to popular interests almost ruined the centuries-old aspirations of Russia to the North. That's who the true enemy of the People is, and some other forums are called by the name of the traitor ...

    Who are you interested in?

Полярник Георгий Седов: Выбор между смертью и позором

Полярник Георгий Седов: Выбор между смертью и позором


22 апреля 1902 года в Главное гидрографическое управление поручиком по адмиралтейству был зачислен Георгий Яковлевич Седов. Шестью месяцами ранее 25-летний сын азовского рыбака, начинавший морскую карьеру вахтенным матросом, блестяще сдал экстерном экзамены за полный курс Морского корпуса. А уже летом состоялась его первая экспедиция в Арктику. Сколько их будет потом...
Но всю свою недолгую жизнь он мечтал о главной.

С миру по нитке



В марте 1912 года Седов обращается к руководству Гидрографического управления с рапортом: "Многие путешественники плавали сюда (в Северный Ледовитый океан) для отыскания свободного морского пути на восток, многие для открытия Северного полюса... Человеческий ум был до того поглощен этой нелегкой задачей, что разрешение ее, несмотря на суровую могилу, которую путешественники по большей части находили, сделалось сплошным национальным состязанием. Здесь, помимо человеческого любопытства, главным руководящим стимулом, безусловно, является народная гордость и честь страны.

Горячие призывы у русских людей к открытию Северного полюса появились еще во времена Ломоносова и не угасали до сих пор. Мы пойдем в этом году и покажем всему миру, что русские способны на этот подвиг".

Идею поддержала большая группа депутатов Государственной думы, предложившая выделить на экспедицию из казны 50 тысяч рублей. Не остался в стороне знавший полярника еще по Русско-японской войне (старший лейтенант Седов был ее активным участником) морской министр И.К. Григорович. Адмирал раскритиковал смету, составленную Георгием Яковлевичем, признав ее чересчур скромной, и предложил увеличить затраты на экспедицию втрое. Тем не менее Совет министров просьбу о финансировании отклонил. И если бы не брат издателя "Нового времени" М.А. Суворин, создавший специальный "Седовский комитет"...

Свои скромные взносы понесли туда ученые, артисты, рабочие, студенты, солдаты. Несмотря на скудность собранных средств, 27 августа 1912 года в Архангельске, при огромном стечении народа, состоялись проводы старого зверобойного судна "Святой мученик Фока" с 22 смельчаками на борту к Северному полюсу.

Зимовка на Новой Земле

Уже с первых дней из-за тяжелой ледовой обстановки "Святого мученика Фоку" стали преследовать неудачи. Рухнула надежда Седова добраться в этом году до Земли Франца-Иосифа, откуда Георгий Яковлевич планировал начать санный поход к Северному полюсу. Тяжелые льды Баренцева моря вынудили уже 20 сентября обосноваться у берегов Новой Земли, в районе мыса Обсерватория. Седов не унывал. "Наша экспедиция, - писал он в путевом дневнике, - помимо достижения Северного полюса преследует еще широкую научную работу, а так как Новая Земля, принадлежавшая нашему отечеству, нуждается в исследовании, прежде всего, то мы и направим пока еще свежие силы на подробное и всестороннее ее изучение".

Новая Земля почти год удерживала экспедицию в ледяных объятиях, зато стала научным полигоном для гидрографа Седова, географа Визе, геолога Павлова. Вынужденный "лабораторный комплекс" на мысе Обсерватория стал главным астрономическим и магнитным пунктом экспедиции. Георгий Яковлевич вместе с художником Пинегиным произвел опись Южно-Крестовых островов. Вместе с матросом Инютиным отправился на собачьих упряжках к мысу Желания, дабы осуществить маршрутную съемку берегов Новой Земли. Последним, кто делал это, был Виллем Баренц в 1594-1597 годах. На основании картографических материалов Георгия Яковлевича были составлены новые морские карты. Важная, эксклюзивная, как сказали бы сегодня, работа...

Но, выполняя ее, он мечтал о Северном полюсе.

Только на "норд"


Наконец-то выбравшийся из плена "Святой мученик Фока" через несколько дней плавания снова уперся в многолетнюю ледовую кромку. Но куда больше беспокоил Георгия Яковлевича "бунт на корабле". "Сегодня,- записал Седов в дневнике, - офицеры мне поднесли хороший подарок: заявили через вахтенного начальника, чтобы вернуться обратно. Меня сперва это очень удивило, а потом и огорчило, именно то, что пришлось им отказать в этом".

Возвращение в Россию значило для него превратиться из храброго и честного моряка в посмешище для "белой кости". Поэтому другого выхода, как идти к полюсу, даже если это равносильно самоубийству, Седов не видел
Он уже принял решение.

15 февраля 1914 года Седов и два самых преданных ему матроса Григорий Линник и Александр Пустошный, погрузив на собачьи упряжки ограниченный запас продовольствия, взяли курс строго на север.

"Седов совершенно отчетливо осознавал, что возвращение его в Россию без серьезной попытки достигнуть полюса будет для него равносильно нравственной смерти, - впоследствии записал в дневнике географ Визе. - Возврата на Родину нет - там ждут его враги, которые закроют перед ним все двери и навсегда положат конец всем мечтам о большой работе исследователя, моряка, а этой работе Седов посвятил всю свою жизнь.

Возвращение в Россию - это для Седова значило превратиться из храброго и честного моряка в посмешище для "белой кости". Поэтому другого выхода, как идти к полюсу, даже если это равносильно самоубийству, Седов не видел. Сломать эту волю, выбравшую между смертью и позором первую, было нельзя".

Через несколько дней пути Георгий Яковлевич уже не был в состоянии бороться с цингой. Подкосила болезнь и двух его спутников. Лежа на нартах, все чаще теряя сознание, он, очнувшись на мгновение, бросал взгляд на стрелку компаса, упрямо смотревшую строго на "норд"...

5 марта 1914 года, недалеко от острова Рудольфа, в возрасте 36 лет скончался великий полярник и патриот Георгий Яковлевич Седов. Похоронили его на острове двое верных товарищей. Через две недели они вернулись на борт "Святого мученика Фоки".

"Стояли в молчании, - вспоминал Николай Пинегин в книге "Георгий Седов", - только собаки, ласкаясь, радостно визжали. Так вот чем кончается экспедиция, вот куда привела Седова вера в звезду... Как обманывают нас звезды".

P.S. 17 августа 1977 года атомоход "Арктика" достиг Северного полюса. Древко государственного флага СССР, установленного на льду, полярники скрепили с фрагментом древка того, "седовского" флага России.
Автор: Борис Лившиц
Первоисточник: http://www.rg.ru/2016/01/12/rodina-sedov.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 9
  1. андрей юрьевич 23 января 2016 07:18
    сразу вспоминается "два Капитана" Вениамина Каверина..
  2. bistrov. 23 января 2016 07:24
    Про экспедицию Георгия Седова на парусно-моторной шхуне "Св. Фока" помню еще с 4 класса, с 1962 года. Изучали по природоведению. Интересно, современные российские школьники изучают сейчас это, или нет?
    1. РусскийПатриот 23 января 2016 21:01
      Как 11-классник заявляю: нет.Двоюродный брат учится в 4-ом классе, но там упор у них делается на математику, информатику, инглиш и окружающий мир (это не предмет, а дрянь какая-то; полно всякой бесполезной информации о природе, мире и экологии, но ничего путного нет). История, литература и Русский язык нынче в школах на вторых ролях, что весьма печально.
  3. semirek 23 января 2016 07:46
    Статья очень хорошая, но не полная.Седов стал известен как полярный исследователь,после детальных обмеров устья реки Колымы,после столь кропотливой работы-был принят государем,кстати Николай также внёс определённую сумму на общенациональный проект по покорению полюса.Собственно говоря в империи не было дискриминации по сословному признаку:если ты с головой и прилежный ученик-спокойно мог идти по карьерной лестнице.Был ли провал экспедиции---вопрос?Работы было сделано много.Да,была поспешность при подготовке,команда также набиралась быстро,у Седого было мало в ней единомышленников--отсюда и трагический конец.но мы должны помнить русского полярного исследователя-Георгия Седова.
  4. parusnik 23 января 2016 07:47
    Диафильм о Седове был у меня.."Бороться, искать,найти не сдаваться"..назывался..Правда черно-белый.. фотографии и рисунки послужили материалом для создателей..
  5. vladimirvn 23 января 2016 09:32
    Достойный сын своего Отечества. Такие принесли славу России!
  6. Царь,простоЦарь 23 января 2016 09:43
    Главной причиной была невезуха, а второй судя по воспоминаниям и книгам - была отвратительная подготовка. Всё было сделано крайне поспешно и непродуманно. Забыли даже кастрюли. Скотт правда, тоже на пони прокололся.

    Героизма наших моряков всё вышенакорябанное мною - не умаляет!!!
  7. Рой 23 января 2016 10:59
    От названия корабля тоже очень многое зависит и моряки это знают. "Святой мученик Фока" - тому подтверждение.
    И все равно на все мучения и невзгоды экспедиции и общую неудачу, подвиг Георгия Седова со товарищами, навеки в памяти России и ее народа. Слава героям!
  8. moskowit 23 января 2016 12:59
    Смотрите какие усилия вкладывала Россия в Открытие и освоение Севера! Сколько известных и неизвестных первопроходцев положили свои жизни при этом! И только внучек народного писателя с бандой предателей народных интересов чуть не загубили вековые стремления России к Северу. Вот кто есть истинный враг Народа, а ещё какие то форумы называют именем предателя...
  9. Pvi1206 23 января 2016 16:32
    Всякому делу своё время. Поздно начнёшь - опоздаешь. Рано начнёшь-...куда кривая выведет. Но желание географических открытий было мощным стимулом для целеустремлённых и мужественных людей того периода истории.
  10. Maximars 24 января 2016 14:48
    Цитата: moskowit
    Смотрите какие усилия вкладывала Россия в Открытие и освоение Севера! Сколько известных и неизвестных первопроходцев положили свои жизни при этом! И только внучек народного писателя с бандой предателей народных интересов чуть не загубили вековые стремления России к Северу. Вот кто есть истинный враг Народа, а ещё какие то форумы называют именем предателя...

    Это вы про кого интересно?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня