Military Review

Battle of Plovdiv

15
Battle of Plovdiv



January 15 The battle of Plovdiv began on January 1878, which became the victorious finale of the next Russian-Turkish war.
At the beginning of 1878, the Russo-Turkish war was approaching the final. Behind were the crossing with the battles across the Danube, the heroic defense of the Shipka Pass and the months-long siege of Pleven.

In the last days of December 1877, Russian troops crossed the snow-covered Balkan Mountains. General Joseph Gurko, one of the most decisive and successful commanders of that war, commanded the strike force — over 70, thousands of bayonets and sabers.

Turks sincerely believed that in the midst of winter, the snow trails on mountain passes would be impassable. For six days the soldiers of Gurko fought not with the enemy, but with nature and the landscape, breaking through the passed passes frozen and blown by the mountain winds. Guards Preobrazhensky and Semenovsky regiments along with the Caucasian Cossack brigade were in the forefront.

The frost was such that the soldiers' boots had to wear another shoe - hastily made “galoshes” of buffalo hides with fur inside. Often guns, other loads and even horses carried on their hands. We slept right in the snow, wrapped in felt. At one of these nights at the feet of Gurkoe asleep, without noticing him under the snow, one of the soldiers sat down. The tired general did not even wake up. When one of his orderly men said that the private soldier was sitting on the general, the soldier did not believe for a long time ...

4 January 1878, the Russians, finally descending from the Balkan slope, occupied Sofia, the capital of the future independent Bulgaria. The Turks, who did not expect the appearance of the Russians, fled, with almost no resistance. Geurk Pasha, as they called General Gurko, the Ottomans knew well - at the mercy of the Russians they threw not only a part of the cannons, but also hospitals with the wounded.

At the gates of Sofia, Russian liberators were met by crowds of people led by Orthodox clergy. General Gurko’s speech to the inhabitants was short: “God will help us to free the Russian by force weapons and the rest of Bulgaria! ”

The Turks, who did not expect a breakthrough, retreated from all the passes of the Balkan Mountains, so that, having gathered together at Adrianople (now the city of Edirne), reliably cover the capital, Istanbul. Gurko made a decision: do not let the enemy gather all the forces together, intercepting part of the retreating from the ancient city of Philippopol (now Bulgarian Plovdiv).

At the approaches to it, Gurko's soldiers overtook and attacked the 50-thousandth Turkish army. The battle began on 8 in the morning of January 3 (January 15 in a new style) 1878 of the year. The Turks, realizing that the fate of the war was being decided here, fought hard. The Russians had to attack the Turkish field fortifications, fording the Maritsa River, fording the pieces of ice under the enemy fire.

On the night of January 4 (16), in Plovdiv (Philippopol), invisible to the Turks, several squadrons of Russian lancers broke through, seizing the building of the city station, where a magnificent dinner was prepared for Commander-in-Chief Suleiman Pasha and his staff. By morning, the whole city was already in the hands of the Russians, but the stubborn fighting in the vicinity continued for another day.

Almost 30 of thousands of retreating Turks were cut off from the road to Istanbul and tried to fight their way to their own. The “Arabs” fought especially hard, as the Russian soldiers called the regiments of the Ottoman army formed in Egypt. The “Arabs” were well trained and armed with the most modern weapons — multiply-charged American rifles, whereas the Russians had single-shot rifles.

However, despite stubborn resistance and the latest weapons, Turkish troops were defeated. According to the results of three days of fighting near Plovdiv, which began on 15 in January of 1878, the enemy suffered heavy losses - 20 thousands of dead and wounded. All Turkish artillery, 114 guns, went to the Russian.

The idea of ​​the Turkish command to create a new strong line of defense on the approaches to Istanbul was destroyed, and the fate of the Russian-Turkish war was solved.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/bitva-u-plovdiva-20761.html
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. karevik
    karevik 19 January 2016 15: 29 New
    +3
    We beat and we will beat!
  2. Trapperxnumx
    Trapperxnumx 19 January 2016 15: 31 New
    +6
    And still a little sorry that they did not take Istanbul then ...
    That this city did not become a reliable Russian deadbolt for the Black Sea ...
  3. SMS
    SMS 19 January 2016 15: 34 New
    +6
    The country must know its true heroes! In Bulgaria, Russian Field Marshal Gurko erected monuments and called the streets, but what about us? It is good that at least recently the commander’s ashes were reburied with dignity, after the Bolsheviks defiled him in the revolutionary years and how did he interfere with them?
    1. dmi.pris
      dmi.pris 19 January 2016 17: 51 New
      +4
      There, Skobelev is revered as the White General .. In schools, his portraits hang in a ceremonial white uniform, on a white horse .. The Bulgarians gratefully remember that war, unfortunately further relations with Russia, alas ... unlike Serbia. They did not experience bitterness of civil war ..
      Quote: SMS
      The country must know its true heroes! In Bulgaria, Russian Field Marshal Gurko erected monuments and called the streets, but what about us? It is good that at least recently the commander’s ashes were reburied with dignity, after the Bolsheviks defiled him in the revolutionary years and how did he interfere with them?
      1. Aleksander
        Aleksander 20 January 2016 09: 16 New
        +2
        Quote: dmi.pris
        There and Skobelev revered-White General


        Skobelev incognito. alone, dressed in civilian clothes, walked along Constantinople, scouting fortifications in view of the alleged assault. Courage was extraordinary!
  4. izya top
    izya top 19 January 2016 15: 43 New
    +2
    and "bros" again lick the west request probably all the Slavs that are west of the Neman are not remembering kinship what
    1. Army soldier2
      Army soldier2 19 January 2016 16: 22 New
      +3
      Do you remember on the banks of the Dnieper?
      1. izya top
        izya top 19 January 2016 16: 32 New
        +2
        Quote: Army 2
        Do you remember on the banks of the Dnieper?

        The Dnieper not only flows through the ruin
        1. Scraptor
          Scraptor 20 January 2016 14: 15 New
          0
          How so? And who dug there?
    2. The comment was deleted.
  5. Const
    Const 19 January 2016 15: 58 New
    +2
    One of the battles in which the Russians did not take advantage of the victory. And what is gratitude.
  6. borys
    borys 19 January 2016 19: 02 New
    +4
    What kind of fashion went to water all the Bulgarians? If in Bulgaria the pro-Western right-
    government, this does not mean that most Bulgarians belong to
    Russia is bad. And didn’t Gorbachev surrender Eastern Europe?
  7. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 20 January 2016 10: 37 New
    0
    Why are our losses not indicated?
  8. Bagatur
    Bagatur 20 January 2016 10: 57 New
    +1
    For the entire war, according to the Russian genschab, irretrievable losses of about 22, injured about 000.
  9. Grishka cat
    Grishka cat 20 January 2016 21: 41 New
    +1
    Russia is too generous and the attitude of Russians is merciful to defeated enemies. Shamil in Kaluga, too, was kindly received. Former German and Japanese prisoners of war recalled a good Russian attitude. They forgot the bastards that were doing on our land!
  10. Vladislav 73
    Vladislav 73 21 January 2016 22: 52 New
    +2
    It should also be remembered that the conditions of the San Stefan world, abundantly watered with the blood of Russian soldiers, were greatly curtailed at the Berlin Congress, where, with the help of Bismarck, England and Austria-Hungary again opposed Russia, and even warmed their hands on this. Austria-Hungary, for example, occupied Bosnia and Herzegovina. England received Cyprus for supporting Turkey. And Russia? "Gratitude" of the "Slav brothers" .... request
  11. tiaman.76
    tiaman.76 10 February 2016 22: 42 New
    0
    such victories and the result is zilch

Битва у Пловдива

Битва у Пловдива


15 января 1878 года началась битва под Пловдивом, ставшая победным финалом очередной Русско-турецкой войны
В начале 1878 года Русско-турецкая война приближалась к финалу. Позади были переправа с боями через Дунай, героическая оборона Шипкинского перевала и многомесячная осада Плевны.

В последние дни декабря 1877 года русские войска перешли заснеженные Балканские горы. Ударным авангардом — свыше 70 тысяч штыков и сабель — командовал генерал Иосиф Гурко, один из самых решительных и успешных военачальников той войны.


Турки искренне считали, что в разгар зимы заметенные снегами тропки на горных перевалах будут непроходимы. Шесть суток солдаты Гурко сражались не с противником, а с природой и ландшафтом, прорываясь сквозь занесенные перевалы, замороженные и продуваемые горными ветрами. В авангарде шли гвардейские Преображенский и Семеновский полки вместе с Кавказской казачьей бригадой.

Мороз был такой, что на солдатские сапоги приходилось надевать еще одну обувь — наскоро сделанные «галоши» из буйволиных шкур мехом внутрь. Зачастую пушки, иные грузы и даже лошадей переносили на руках. Спали прямо в снегу, завернувшись в войлок. На одной из таких ночевок на ноги уснувшего Гурко, не заметив его под снегом, уселся кто-то из солдат. Утомленный генерал даже не проснулся. Когда один из его ординарцев сказал, что рядовой сидит на генерале, солдат долго не верил…

4 января 1878 года русские, наконец спустившись с балканских круч, заняли Софию, столицу будущей независимой Болгарии. Турки, никак не ожидавшие появления русских, бежали, почти не оказывая сопротивления. Геурк-пашу, как называли они генерала Гурко, османы хорошо знали — на милость русских бросили не только часть пушек, но и госпитали с ранеными.

У ворот Софии русских освободителей встречали толпы народа во главе с православным духовенством. Речь генерала Гурко перед жителями была короткой: «Бог поможет нам освободить силой русского оружия и остальную часть Болгарии!»

Не ожидавшие прорыва, турки отступали со всех перевалов Балканских гор, чтобы, собравшись вместе у Адрианополя (ныне город Эдирне), надежно прикрыть столицу — Стамбул. Гурко принял решение: не дать противнику собрать вместе все силы, перехватив часть отступающих у древнего города Филиппополя (ныне болгарский Пловдив).

На подступах к нему солдаты Гурко настигли и атаковали 50-тысячное турецкое войско. Сражение началось в 8 часов утра 3 января (15 января по новому стилю) 1878 года. Турки, понимая, что здесь решается судьба войны, дрались упорно. Русским пришлось атаковать турецкие полевые укрепления, переходя под неприятельским огнем вброд реку Марицу, по которой плыла каша из кусков льда.

В ночь на 4 (16) января в Пловдив (Филиппополь) незаметно для турок пробилось несколько эскадронов русских улан, захвативших здание городского вокзала, где был приготовлен пышный ужин для главнокомандующего Сулейман-паши и его штаба. К утру весь город уже был в руках русских, но упорные бои в окрестностях продолжались еще сутки.

Почти 30 тысяч отступающих турок были отрезаны от дороги на Стамбул и пытались с боями пробиться к своим. Особенно упорно дрались «арабы» — так русские солдаты называли полки османской армии, сформированные в Египте. «Арабы» были хорошо обучены и вооружены самым современным оружием — многозарядными американскими винтовками, тогда как у русских были однозарядные ружья-берданки.

Однако, несмотря на упорное сопротивление и новейшее вооружение, турецкие войска были разгромлены. По итогам трех суток боев под Пловдивом, начавшихся 15 января 1878 года, неприятель понес большие потери — 20 тысяч убитых и раненых. Вся турецкая артиллерия, 114 пушек, досталась русским.

Замысел турецкого командования создать новую прочную линию обороны на подступах к Стамбулу был разрушен, а судьба Русско-турецкой войны — решена.
Автор: Алексей Волынец
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/wins/bitva-u-plovdiva-20761.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 15
  1. karevik 19 января 2016 15:29
    Били и будем бить!
  2. Trapper7 19 января 2016 15:31
    И всё же немного жаль, что не взяли тогда Стамбул...
    Что не стал это город надежным русским засовом для Черного моря...
  3. СМС 19 января 2016 15:34
    Страна должна знать своих истинных героев! В Болгарии русскому фельдмаршалу Гурко памятники ставят и улицы называют, а что нас? Хорошо, что хоть недавно прах полководца перезахоронили достойно, после того как в революционные годы большевики осквернили его и чем он спрашивается им мешал?
    1. dmi.pris 19 января 2016 17:51
      Там и Скобелева почитают-Белого Генерала..В школах его портреты висят-в парадной белой форме,на белом коне..Болгары помнят с благодарностью ту войну,к сожалению дальнейшие отношения с Россией увы...в отличие от Сербии.Не испытали они горечь гражданской войны..
      Цитата: СМС
      Страна должна знать своих истинных героев! В Болгарии русскому фельдмаршалу Гурко памятники ставят и улицы называют, а что нас? Хорошо, что хоть недавно прах полководца перезахоронили достойно, после того как в революционные годы большевики осквернили его и чем он спрашивается им мешал?
      1. Aleksander 20 января 2016 09:16
        Цитата: dmi.pris
        Там и Скобелева почитают-Белого Генерала


        Скобелев инкогнито. в одиночку, переодевшись в гражданское, ходил по Константинополю-разведывал укрепления ввиду предполагаемого штурма. Смелости был необыкновенной!
  4. изя топ 19 января 2016 15:43
    а "братушки" опять западу подлизывают request наверное,все славяне,что западнее Немана,родства непомнящие what
    1. армеец2 19 января 2016 16:22
      А на берегах Днепра помнят?
      1. изя топ 19 января 2016 16:32
        Цитата: армеец2
        А на берегах Днепра помнят?

        Днепр не только через руину струится
        1. Scraptor 20 января 2016 14:15
          Как так? А там кто выкопал?
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  5. Const 19 января 2016 15:58
    Одна из битв, в которой русские не воспользовались победой. И какова благодарность.
  6. borys 19 января 2016 19:02
    Что за мода пошла всех болгар поливать? Если в Болгарии прозападное пра-
    вительство, это совсем не означает, что большинство болгар относится к
    России плохо. И разве не Горбачев сдал Восточную Европу?
  7. cth;fyn 20 января 2016 10:37
    А почему не указаны наши потери?
  8. багатур 20 января 2016 10:57
    За вся война по сведения руского генщаба безвозвратние потери ок 22 000, ранение получили ок.68 000.
  9. Кот Гришка 20 января 2016 21:41
    Россия слишком щедрая и к побеждённым врагам отношение русских милостиво. Шамиля в Калуге тоже п-доброму принимали. Бывшие немецкие и японские военнопленные вспоминали про хорошее русское отношение.Забыли гады, что творили на нашей земле!
  10. Vladislav 73 21 января 2016 22:52
    Следует помнить также что условия Сан-Стефанского мира,обильно политые кровью русских солдат,были сильно урезаны на Берлинском конгрессе,где при помощи Бисмарка Англия и Австро-Венгрия опять выступили против России,да ещё и погрели руки на этом.Австро-Венгрия например,оккупировала Боснию и Герцеговину.Англия за поддержку Турции получила Кипр.А Россия? "Благодарность" "братьев-славян".... request
  11. tiaman.76 10 февраля 2016 22:42
    такие победы а результат пшик

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня