Military Review

Sterling 7.62 automatic rifle project (UK)

21
During the Second World War, the industry of Great Britain and the countries of the Commonwealth of Nations, faced with a number of problems, was forced to develop weapons with a minimally complex structure and maximum characteristics. The end of the war allowed the British industry to breathe a sigh of relief, but soon the situation in the world forced gunsmiths to recall the old approaches to business. In the fifties of the last century, in connection with the beginning of the Cold War, a project was developed for the simplest shooting weaponssuitable for mass production in wartime. Two similar projects of automatic rifles are known under the general designation Sterling 7.62.


The logic of new projects was simple. At any moment, a war with the Soviet Union could begin, during which Great Britain had to face serious difficulties. The army, as well as the mobilized fighters and the people's militia required a large number of small arms that meet modern requirements. Outdated submachine guns of the last war, not to mention the weapons of the First World War, could not solve all the tasks, and the number of modern systems left much to be desired. Thus, it was required to create a kind of small arms with considerable power and minimal complexity of production. Sterling Armament, already known for its projects of simple and effective weapons, took up the solution of this task.


Rifle Sterling 7.62 first version, right view


When creating a new weapon, Sterling specialists decided not to resort to complex technical solutions and to use proven and tested practical ideas. It was proposed to build a new weapon on the basis of developments on Sterling submachine guns, created in the late forties. The problem of effective firing range and power of fire should have been solved with the help of a relatively powerful cartridge. A prospective weapon was supposed to use rifle cartridge 7,62x51 mm NATO. The caliber of new weapons and the name of the company-developer were combined in the name of the project - Sterling 7.62.

Approximately by the mid-fifties, the first version of the project was developed, according to which a certain number of prototypes were collected. In order to simplify their design, as well as to speed up the work, it was decided to abandon the sights, butt and some other details. In fact, the prototypes of "Sterling-7,62" were demonstrators of technology and could not be used in practice without a number of necessary improvements. All this, first of all, affected the appearance of the weapon.

The automatic rifle of the first version in its design largely resembled a submachine gun, taken as a basis. Its main part was a long receiver, made of a metal tube. Inside it were fastened all the main parts, and outside it was necessary to install the shop shaft, the firing mechanism in the casing, etc. The front part of this box was a protective casing of the barrel and had a perforation. In the middle there was a window for the store (below) and a window for the extraction of sleeves (top right). A slot under the fire control mechanisms was made behind the shop window, and small additional covers were installed. In the back of the tube, on its right surface, there was a long slot that opened up access to the reciprocating-fighting spring cavity. The left side of the box had no slots behind the front perforation.


Rifle Sterling 7.62 first version, left view


As follows from the available data, the 7,62 mm caliber barrel was placed in the front of the tubular receiver and held in place with a sleeve and pin. The pin connected the chamber with the box, while the sleeve in the muzzle did not allow the barrel to deviate from the correct position. At the rear end of the receiver, there were fasteners for a round lid holding the bolt and return spring into the weapon.

Perspective weapons should have been built on the basis of a semi-free shutter with a braking lever. Such automatics was borrowed from the “basic” submachine gun, but the use of a more powerful cartridge required the introduction of additional means of braking the bolt. The shutter consisted of two main parts, the frame and the larvae with a drummer, moving relative to each other and interacting through a special lever. With its rear part, the shutter rested against the reciprocating-combat spring.

It should be noted that the chosen principle of operation of the automatics caused the formation of an unusual appearance of the weapon. The length of the rear part of the receiver was due to the need to use a relatively long reciprocating spring, capable of suppressing the recoil impulse of a powerful rifle cartridge. It is easy to see how the proportions of the receiver in comparison with the Sterling submachine gun have changed.

Sterling 7.62 automatic rifle project (UK)
Gate group


The trigger Sterling 7.62 was a slightly modified system of the previous submachine gun. It was changed due to the different length of the weapon parts and some other features of the automatic rifle. Borrowing USM allowed to maintain the possibility of choosing the mode of fire. So, on the left surface of the pistol grip of the rifle was located a small three-position lever, with which the trigger was locked or transferred to the mode of single / automatic shooting. In addition, the borrowing of parts led to the preservation of the method of shooting: the promising rifle was supposed to shoot from the open bolt.

Sterling 7.62’s first model was equipped with detachable box magazines with a capacity of 20 cartridges borrowed from the L1A1 SLR automatic rifle (a British version of the Belgian FN FAL). It was also possible to use the shops from the Bren light machine gun on 30 cartridges. In both cases, the magazine was placed in a small shaft at the bottom of the receiver and fixed with a rear latch.

The first prototype, which was a technology demonstrator, was not equipped with sights and had the simplest accessories. The latter consisted only of a pistol grip, made in the form of two plastic halves, which should be mounted on a central metal part. Using stock, bipod, etc. was not supposed to.


Rifle Sterling 7.62 second version, right view


The Sterling 7.62 rifle of the first version had a fairly simple principle of operation. In order to fire, the shooter had to place a magazine on the 20 or 30 cartridges into the receiving shaft and move the bolt to the rearmost position, placing it on the sear. By unlocking the trigger and selecting a shooting mode, the shooter could fire. When the trigger was pressed, the bolt shifted to the front position with the help of a reciprocating spring-loaded spring, took the cartridge from the store and sent it to the chamber. In the extreme forward position of the bolt, the drummer hit the primer, making a shot. Under the effect of recoil, the bolt rolled back, while it was braked with a lever and frame, and the sleeve was ejected. In the rear position, the shutter was again blocked by the sear and was ready for a new shot.

Tests of the first experimental rifle showed the viability of the ideas used, but the use of these weapons in practice was not possible due to the absence of some important details. In addition, according to some data, despite the simplicity of the design, the Sterling-7,62 of the first version was too complicated and expensive for mass production and did not have significant advantages over other types of weapons of that time. For this reason, it was decided to modify it in accordance with the requirements of equipment and technology. Thus began the development of the second version of the automatic rifle.


Rifle Sterling 7.62 first version, left view


The concept of an automatic rifle on the basis of a semi-free shutter was recognized as successful, but a number of details needed to be improved in order to reduce the cost of production. One of the ways to save, apparently, was the use of lower quality and expensive springs. This, in turn, required to change the design of the receiver and bolt. It was also decided to shorten the front of the receiver, which served as the barrel housing. Such adjustments, as well as the introduction of some new details led to a noticeable change in the appearance of the weapon.

The second version of the Sterling 7.62 rifle was distinguished by a tubular receiver of a smaller length, characterized by a shortened perforated section. The design of the store's receiving shaft was changed, and a window for ejection of sleeves, made in the form of a separate stamped part, was installed on the right upper part of the tube. The rear slot now began at a short distance from the ejection window, in the front part (of a discharged weapon) a small handle of the bolt was pulled out.

The internal mechanisms of the rifle, apparently, were also slightly modified due to changes in the dimensions of the receiver and higher requirements for the manufacturability of the structure. First of all, the diameter of the return spring has increased. Also changed the size and shape of parts of the shutter. Nevertheless, the automation still used the deceleration of the semi-free shutter with the lever, the shooting was carried out from the open shutter, and the trigger provided two modes of firing and locking mechanisms.


The second version of the rifle, shop shaft and cartridge case window


Behind the perforated barrel casing, a fly appeared on the left of the barrel box mounted on the axle. The latter made it possible to raise the fly to the working position or lower it to the transport in order to avoid damage. At the level of the mine store on the left surface set the bracket with a mount for additional equipment, probably the sight. Another mount in the form of a vertical part with a hole was located directly above the pistol grip.

The Sterling-7,62 automatic rifle of the second version was not equipped with a butt or other fittings, but in its design mounts for additional equipment were provided. In the front part of the barrel casing, we provided for bipod fasteners, another pair of fasteners for additional tools was located at the bottom of the back of the tubular box.

According to some sources, the second version of the rifle could be equipped with a removable butt with a butt pad, which facilitates shooting with an appliance, as well as sights of various types. Considered the use of open or diopter sights, as well as night systems of various types. Thus, with all its simplicity, the perspective rifle could be used for solving problems in difficult conditions, and also had some elements of modularity.


Rifle second version. Shop, pistol grip and brackets for sighting devices


The second version of the simplified rifle was tested and, in general, arranged for its creators. The further fate of the project Sterling 7.62 depended on the opinion of a potential customer in the face of the military department of Great Britain. It is not known exactly how the fate of the new weapon was decided, but in the end the military refused it. The possibilities of industry really did not allow in the shortest possible time to release a large number of modern weapons, allowing to arm both the existing army and the mobilized fighters and the militia, but the military-political situation in the world still made it possible not to resort to such harsh decisions.

Shortly after testing, all prototypes of simplified two types of rifles were sent to the warehouse. The potential customer showed no interest in these weapons, and the development company no longer needed experimental products released. Therefore, a few rifles could only go to the storage or disposal. Fortunately, several Sterling-7,62 rifles were not melted down and have survived to our time. Now they are museum exhibits.

The Sterling 7.62 project is of great interest with technical and historical points of view. It was created to ensure the mass production of simple but effective small arms, which affected the main features of rifles. At the same time, the British designers managed to quite successfully solve the problem and offer the customer the simplest, but usable weapon, although it has some specific features. Nevertheless, the situation made it possible to dispense with such “ersatz” and produce only full-fledged weapons. As a result, Sterling 7,62 went not to the army, but to the warehouse, but still managed to remain in history.


On the materials of the sites:
http://forgottenweapons.com/
http://historicalfirearms.info/
http://securityarms.com/
http://world.guns.ru/
http://strangernn.livejournal.com/
Author:
Photos used:
Historicalfirearms.info, Securityarms.com
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Vladimirets
    Vladimirets 19 January 2016 06: 45 New
    +1
    And what is it, interestingly, in the photo under the trigger guard that is smeared? what
    1. Volga Cossack
      Volga Cossack 19 January 2016 06: 51 New
      +1
      Museum number - I think a label.
      1. Vladimirets
        Vladimirets 19 January 2016 06: 52 New
        +2
        Quote: Volga Cossack
        Museum number - I think a label.

        Why hide it? Museum of the FSB?
    2. The comment was deleted.
    3. PAM
      PAM 19 January 2016 13: 01 New
      0
      pictures (without detail and quality) spoil the article
      1. mirag2
        mirag2 19 January 2016 19: 38 New
        0
        Yuh you! Here is the unit! recourse
      2. mirag2
        mirag2 19 January 2016 19: 38 New
        0
        Yuh you! Here is the unit! recourse
  2. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 19 January 2016 06: 54 New
    +2
    eh frightened NAGLOKSAKS already to sten reincarnated at a new level)))))
    1. Aqela
      Aqela 22 January 2016 10: 20 New
      0
      carne - in Latin "meat, flesh", hence, by the way, the word "carnival" - 'carnevale' (with greetings, meat), because after the carnival, fasting begins. Hence reincarnatio = reincarnation, return to flesh, meat. Hence: it is worth writing either "reincarnation", or writing "reincarnation".
      Even at school I was taught that when composing, it’s better to write a familiar, convenient, well-known word instead of the unfamiliar word, of which you are not sure. It’s better than shaming stupid mistakes.
      hi Something like this!
  3. alex-cn
    alex-cn 19 January 2016 07: 40 New
    +1
    Such a rifle without a butt will blow the shoulder to shreds after several shots.
    1. geek2101
      geek2101 19 January 2016 08: 10 New
      0
      In all likelihood, she has such a mass that the return becomes not so terrible.
    2. Aqr009
      Aqr009 20 January 2016 13: 55 New
      0
      The stock is removable, attached separately.

    3. Aqela
      Aqela 22 January 2016 10: 22 New
      0
      A if you put a board repeat
  4. lexx2038
    lexx2038 19 January 2016 11: 05 New
    10
    They say that we had like one rifle for three, and the British ran through the whole war with water pipes, and nothing, do not curse their "democracy". We love to sprinkle ashes on our heads.
    1. Bolhevik
      Bolhevik 19 January 2016 19: 03 New
      +1
      Our gunsmith Korovin also knew a lot about water pipes.
      In general, a scheme of simplicity and mass will most likely not know oblivion as long as there is war, or there is an acute need and knowledge of the principle of operation of this machine.
      1. Aqela
        Aqela 22 January 2016 10: 23 New
        0
        And PPP was not even cheaper in production?
    2. wei
      wei 19 January 2016 21: 30 New
      +1
      monarchy they have "cow worship" laughing
  5. the47th
    the47th 19 January 2016 20: 13 New
    -1
    As follows from the available data, a 7,62 mm caliber barrel was placed in the front of the tubular receiver and held in place by a sleeve and a pin. A pin connected the chamber with the box, while the sleeve in the muzzle did not allow the barrel to deviate from the correct position.

    I wonder how many shots it takes for the barrel to ring out of the receiver, like a spear?
  6. Aqr009
    Aqr009 20 January 2016 15: 08 New
    0
    There are tons of forums on the Internet about how to assemble Sterling in your garage yourself. The design is so simple that it is even assembled from plastic and polypropylene pipes (well, probably except for the barrel) lol
  7. 2news
    2news 20 January 2016 23: 09 New
    0
    A potential customer showed no interest in these weapons, and the development company no longer needed experimental products.

    It is impossible to create an individual automatic weapon on a 7,62x51 mm NATO cartridge. The laws of physics and human physiology against.
    Therefore:
    1. Necessarily need bipod.
    2. Necessarily need a more developed casing.
    And what is called the Sterling-7,62 automatic rifle in the article is, in fact, a self-loading rifle with the ability to conduct automatic fire (selective-fire rifle). Something like a modern version of the ABC-36.
    1. Aqela
      Aqela 22 January 2016 10: 27 New
      +1
      Well yes. the NATO 7.62x51 cartridge can only be imagined as intermediate in the sore imagination of the Anglo-Saxon generals. A normal, slightly weakened, version of the rifle cartridge. There, the 6,5 mm cartridge from arisaki is closer in ballistics to intermediate than NATO.
      1. 2news
        2news 22 January 2016 10: 53 New
        +2
        Quote: Aqela
        There, the 6,5 mm cartridge from arisaki is closer in ballistics to intermediate than NATO.

        Arisaka's 6,5 mm cartridge (and a bunch of similar ones) has never been a "real rifle". He was a "weakened rifle". Later, cartridges of such power were called "intermediate". True, there are Internet smart people who determine intermediate patrons based on their size. But this is empty, nobody in the world does that.
        Currently, the 6,5 mm Arisaka cartridges, which were at one time rifle (albeit weakened), are intermediate. And it would be more correct for Internet smart people to call them "large intermediate". Or "big intermediate".
        By the way, the cartridges of 7,92x33 mm and 7,62x39 mm at first, at birth, were weakened rifle. And only then they were called intermediate and separated into a separate subclass.
  8. Andrey8Jazz
    Andrey8Jazz 26 May 2020 19: 52 New
    0
    Damn sorry I could take root)

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)

В годы Второй мировой войны промышленность Великобритании и стран Содружества наций, столкнувшись с рядом проблем, была вынуждена разрабатывать вооружения с минимально сложной конструкцией и максимальными характеристиками. Завершение войны позволило британской промышленности вздохнуть с облегчением, но вскоре ситуация в мире заставила оружейников вспомнить старые подходы к делу. В пятидесятых годах прошлого века, в связи с началом холодной войны, был разработан проект максимально простого стрелкового оружия, пригодного для массового производства в военное время. Два подобных проекта автоматических винтовок известны под общим обозначением Sterling 7.62.

Логика новых проектов была проста. В любой момент могла начаться война с Советским Союзом, в ходе которой Великобритания должна была столкнуться с серьезными трудностями. Армии, а также мобилизуемым бойцам и народному ополчению требовалось большое количество стрелкового оружия, соответствующего современным требованиям. Устаревшие пистолеты-пулеметы времен прошлой войны, не говоря уже об оружии Первой мировой, не могли решать все поставленные задачи, а количество современных систем оставляло желать лучшего. Таким образом, требовалось создать некое стрелковое оружие с значительной мощностью и минимальной сложностью производства. За решение этой задачи взялась компания Sterling Armament, уже известная своими проектами простого и эффективного оружия.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка Sterling 7.62 первой версии, вид справа



При создании нового оружия специалисты фирмы «Стерлинг» решили не прибегать к сложным техническим решениям и использовать отработанные и проверенные практической эксплуатации идеи. Было предложено строить новое оружие на основе наработок по пистолетам-пулеметам Sterling, созданным в конце сороковых годов. Проблема эффективной дальности стрельбы и мощности огня должна была решаться при помощи сравнительно мощного патрона. Перспективное оружие должно было использовать винтовочный патрон 7,62x51 мм НАТО. Калибр нового оружия и название фирмы-разработчика были объединены в названии проекта – Sterling 7.62.

Ориентировочно к середине пятидесятых годов был разработан первый вариант проекта, по которому собрали некоторое количество опытных образцов. С целью упрощения их конструкции, а также для ускорения работ было решено отказаться от прицельных приспособлений, приклада и некоторых других деталей. Фактически прототипы «Стерлинг-7,62» являлись демонстраторами технологий и не могли использоваться на практике без ряда необходимых доработок. Все это, в первую очередь, сказалось на внешнем виде оружия.

Автоматическая винтовка первой версии по своей конструкции в значительной мере напоминала пистолет-пулемет, взятый за основу. Главной ее деталью была длинная ствольная коробка, изготовленная из металлической трубки. Внутри нее крепились все основные детали, а снаружи следовало устанавливать шахту магазина, ударно-спусковой механизм в кожухе и т.д. Передняя часть такой коробки представляла собой защитный кожух ствола и имела перфорацию. В середине предусматривались окно для магазина (внизу) и окно для экстракции гильз (справа сверху). Позади окна магазина проделывалась прорезь под механизмы управления огнем, а также устанавливались небольшие дополнительные кожухи. В задней части трубки, на ее правой поверхности, имелась длинная прорезь, открывавшая доступ к полости возвратно-боевой пружины. Левая сторона коробки не имела прорезей позади передней перфорации.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка Sterling 7.62 первой версии, вид слева


Как следует из имеющихся данных, ствол калибра 7,62 мм помещался в переднюю часть трубчатой ствольной коробки и удерживался на своем месте при помощи втулки и штифта. Штифт соединял патронник с коробкой, тогда как втулка в дульной части не позволяла стволу отклоняться от правильного положения. На заднем торце ствольной коробки имелись крепления для круглой крышки, удерживающей затвор и возвратно-боевую пружину внутри оружия.

Перспективное оружие должно было строиться на основе полусвободного затвора с рычагом торможения. Такая автоматика была заимствована у «базового» пистолета-пулемета, однако использование более мощного патрона потребовало ввести в ее состав средства дополнительного торможения затвора. Затвор состоял из двух основных деталей, рамы и личинки с ударником, двигавшихся относительно друг друга и взаимодействовавших через специальный рычаг. Своей задней частью затвор упирался в возвратно-боевую пружину.

Следует отметить, что выбранный принцип действия автоматики стал причиной формирования необычного облика оружия. Длина задней части ствольной коробки была обусловлена необходимостью использования сравнительно длинной возвратно-боевой пружины, способной погасить импульс отдачи мощного винтовочного патрона. Нетрудно заметить, как изменились пропорции ствольной коробки в сравнении с пистолетом-пулеметом Sterling.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Затворная группа


Ударно-спусковой механизм Sterling 7.62 представлял собой незначительно доработанную систему предыдущего пистолета-пулемета. Его изменили в связи с иной длиной деталей оружия и некоторыми другими особенностями автоматической винтовки. Заимствование УСМ позволило сохранить возможность выбора режима огня. Так, на левой поверхности пистолетной рукоятки винтовки располагался небольшой трехпозиционный рычажок, при помощи которого УСМ блокировался или переводился в режим одиночной/автоматической стрельбы. Кроме того, заимствование деталей привело к сохранению способа стрельбы: перспективная винтовка должна была производить выстрелы с открытого затвора.

Боепитание Sterling 7.62 первой модели следовало осуществлять при помощи отъемных коробчатых магазинов емкостью 20 патронов, заимствованных у автоматической винтовки L1A1 SLR (британская доработанная версия бельгийской FN FAL). Также имелась возможность применения магазинов от ручного пулемета Bren на 30 патронов. В обоих случаях магазин помещался в небольшую шахту на нижней части ствольной коробки и фиксировался задней защелкой.

Первый прототип, являвшийся демонстратором технологий, не оснащался прицельными приспособлениями и имел максимально простую фурнитуру. Последняя состояла только из пистолетной рукоятки, выполненной в виде двух пластиковых половин, которые следовало монтировать на центральной металлической детали. Использование приклада, сошки и т.д. не предполагалось.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка Sterling 7.62 второй версии, вид справа


Автоматическая винтовка Sterling 7.62 первой версии имела достаточно простой принцип действия. Для ведения огня стрелок должен был поместить в приемную шахту магазин на 20 или 30 патронов и переместить затвор в крайнее заднее положение, поставив его на шептало. Разблокировав спусковой механизм и выбрав режим стрельбы, стрелок мог вести огонь. При нажатии на спусковой крючок затвор при помощи возвратно-боевой пружины затвор смещался в переднее положение, захватывал патрон из магазина и досылал его в патронник. В крайнем переднем положении затвора ударник бил по капсюлю, производя выстрел. Под действием отдачи затвор откатывался назад, при этом производилось его торможение при помощи рычага и рамы, а также выбрасывалась гильза. В заднем положении затвор вновь блокировался шепталом и был готов к новому выстрелу.

Испытания первой опытной винтовки показали жизнеспособность использованных идей, однако использование этого оружия на практике не представлялось возможным из-за отсутствия некоторых важных деталей. Кроме того, по некоторым данным, несмотря на всю простоту конструкции, «Стерлинг-7,62» первой версии была слишком сложной и дорогой для массового производства и не имела значительных преимуществ перед другими образцами оружия того времени. По этой причине было решено доработать ее в соответствии с требованиями техники и технологий. Так началась разработка второго варианта автоматической винтовки.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка Sterling 7.62 первой версии, вид слева


Сама концепция автоматической винтовки на основе полусвободного затвора была признана удачной, однако ряд деталей нуждался в доработке с целью дополнительного удешевления производства. Одним из способов экономии, по-видимому, стало использование менее качественных и дорогих пружин. Это, в свою очередь, потребовало изменить конструкцию ствольной коробки и затвора. Также было решено укоротить переднюю часть ствольной коробки, выполнявшей функции кожуха ствола. Подобные коррективы, а также внедрение некоторых новых деталей привели к заметному изменению внешнего вида оружия.

Второй вариант винтовки Sterling 7.62 отличался трубчатой ствольной коробкой меньшей длины, отличающейся укороченным перфорированным участком. Была изменена конструкция приемной шахты магазина, а на правой верхней части трубки установили окно для выброса гильз, выполненное в виде отдельной штампованной детали. Задняя прорезь теперь начиналась на небольшом расстоянии от окна выброса, в передней его части (у разряженного оружия) выводилась небольшая рукоятка затвора.

Внутренние механизмы винтовки, по-видимому, так же были немного доработаны в связи с изменением габаритов ствольной коробки и более высокими требованиями к технологичности конструкции. В первую очередь, увеличился диаметр возвратно-боевой пружины. Также изменились размеры и форма деталей затвора. Тем не менее, автоматика по-прежнему использовала торможение полусвободного затвора рычагом, стрельба велась с открытого затвора, а УСМ обеспечивал два режима стрельбы и блокировку механизмов.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка второй версии, шахта магазина и окно выброса гильз


Позади перфорированного кожуха ствола на ствольной коробке слева появилась мушка, установленная на оси. Последняя позволяла поднимать мушку в рабочее положение или опускать в транспортное во избежание повреждений. На уровне шахты магазина на левой поверхности установили кронштейн с креплением для дополнительного оборудования, вероятно, прицела. Еще одно крепление в виде вертикальной детали с отверстием находилось непосредственно над пистолетной рукояткой.

Автоматическая винтовка «Стерлинг-7,62» второй версии не оснащалась прикладом или иной фурнитурой, но в ее конструкции предусматривались крепления для дополнительного оборудования. В передней части кожуха ствола предусмотрели крепеж для сошки, еще пара креплений для дополнительных средств располагалась внизу задней части трубчатой коробки.

Согласно некоторым источникам, второй вариант винтовки мог оснащаться съемным прикладом с затыльником, облегчающим стрельбу с прикладкой, а также прицелами различных типов. Рассматривалось применение открытых или диоптрических прицелов, а также ночных систем различных типов. Таким образом, при всей своей простоте, перспективная винтовка могла использоваться для решения задач в сложных условиях, а также имела некоторые элементы модульности.

Проект автоматической винтовки Sterling 7.62 (Великобритания)
Винтовка второй версии. Магазин, пистолетная рукоятка и кронштейны для прицельных приспособлений


Вторая версия упрощенной винтовки прошла испытания и в целом устроила своих создателей. Дальнейшая судьба проекта Sterling 7.62 зависела от мнения потенциального заказчика в лице военного ведомства Великобритании. Как именно решалась судьба нового оружия – неизвестно, но в итоге военные от него отказались. Возможности промышленности действительно не позволяли в кратчайшие сроки выпустить большое количество современного оружия, позволяющее вооружить и существующую армию, и мобилизованных бойцов, и ополчение, однако военно-политическая ситуация в мире все же давала возможность не прибегать к подобным суровым решениям.

Вскоре после испытаний все опытные образцы упрощенных винтовок двух видов были отправлены на склад. Потенциальный заказчик не проявил интереса к этому оружию, а компания-разработчик более не нуждалась в выпущенных экспериментальных изделиях. Поэтому нескольким винтовкам оставалось только отправиться на хранение или на утилизацию. К счастью, несколько винтовок «Стерлинг-7,62» не были переплавлены и сохранились до нашего времени. Сейчас они являются музейными экспонатами.

Проект Sterling 7.62 представляет большой интерес с технической и исторической точки зрения. Он создавался с целью обеспечения массового производства простого, но эффективного стрелкового оружия, что сказалось на основных особенностях винтовок. При этом британским конструкторам удалось достаточно успешно решить поставленную задачу и предложить заказчику максимально простое, но пригодное к применению оружие, хотя и имеющее некоторые специфические особенности. Тем не менее, ситуация позволяла обойтись без подобных «эрзацев» и производить только полноценные виды вооружений. Как следствие, «Стерлинг-7,62» отправились не в армию, а на склад, но все же смогли остаться в истории.


По материалам сайтов:
http://forgottenweapons.com/
http://historicalfirearms.info/
http://securityarms.com/
http://world.guns.ru/
http://strangernn.livejournal.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл

Использованы фотографии: Historicalfirearms.info, Securityarms.com

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 20
  1. Владимирец 19 января 2016 06:45
    А чего это, интересно, на фото под спусковой скобой замазано? what
    1. казак волгский 19 января 2016 06:51
      номерок музейный- ярлычок думаю.
      1. Владимирец 19 января 2016 06:52
        Цитата: казак волгский
        номерок музейный- ярлычок думаю.

        А зачем его прятать? Музей ФСБ?
    2. Комментарий был удален.
    3. ПАМ 19 января 2016 13:01
      снимки (без детализации и качество) портят статью
      1. mirag2 19 января 2016 19:38
        Йюх ты!Вот это агрегат! recourse
      2. mirag2 19 января 2016 19:38
        Йюх ты!Вот это агрегат! recourse
  2. казак волгский 19 января 2016 06:54
    эх запугали НАГЛОСАКСОВ аж к СТЭН реенкарнировали на новом уровне)))))
    1. Aqela 22 января 2016 10:20
      carne - по-латински "мясо, плоть", отсюда, кстати, слово "карнавал" - 'carnevale' (с приветом, мясо), т.к. после карнавала начинается пост. Отсюда reincarnatio = перевоплощение, возвращение в плоть, мясо. Отсюда: писать стоит или "реинкарнация", или писать "перевоплощение".
      Ещё в школе меня учили, что при сочинении лучше вместо слова малознакомого, в написании которого ты не уверен, лучше писать слово знакомое, удобное, известное. Так лучше, нежели позориться глупыми ошибками.
      hi Как-то так!
  3. алекс-сп 19 января 2016 07:40
    Такая винтовка без приклада разнесет плечо в клочья после нескольких выстрелов.
    1. geek2101 19 января 2016 08:10
      У неё, по всей вероятности, такая масса, что отдача становится не такой уж и страшной.
    2. Aqr009 20 января 2016 13:55
      Приклад съёмный, крепился отдельно.

    3. Aqela 22 января 2016 10:22
      A если дощечку подложить feel
  4. lexx2038 19 января 2016 11:05
    Вот говорят что у нас было типа одна винтовка на троих, а англичане вон всю войну с водопроводными трубами пробегали, и ни чё, не проклинают свою "демократию". Любим мы свою голову пеплом посыпать.
    1. Bolhevik 19 января 2016 19:03
      Наш оружейник Коровин тоже знал толк в водопроводных трубах.
      Вообще схема по простоте и массовости скорее всего не будет знать забвения до тех пор пока есть войны, либо острая нужда и знание принципа работы сей машинки.
      1. Aqela 22 января 2016 10:23
        А ППС не был ещё дешевле в производстве?
    2. wei 19 января 2016 21:30
      монархия у них "коровевопоклонничество" laughing
      wei
  5. the47th 19 января 2016 20:13
    Как следует из имеющихся данных, ствол калибра 7,62 мм помещался в переднюю часть трубчатой ствольной коробки и удерживался на своем месте при помощи втулки и штифта. Штифт соединял патронник с коробкой, тогда как втулка в дульной части не позволяла стволу отклоняться от правильного положения.

    Интересно, сколько выстрелов потребуется, чтобы ствол со звоном вылетел из ствольной коробки, как копьё?
  6. Aqr009 20 января 2016 15:08
    В Интернете масса форумов посвящённых тому, как самостоятельно собрать Sterling в гараже. Конструкция настолько простая, что его даже из пластика и полипропиленовых труб собирают (ну, кроме ствола наверное) lol
  7. 2news 20 января 2016 23:09
    Потенциальный заказчик не проявил интереса к этому оружию, а компания-разработчик более не нуждалась в выпущенных экспериментальных изделиях.

    Индивидуальное автоматическое оружие на патроне 7,62x51 мм НАТО создать невозможно. Законы физики и физиологии человека против.
    Поэтому:
    1.Обязательно нужны сошки.
    2.Обязательно нужен более развитый кожух.
    А то, что в статье названо автоматической винтовкой «Стерлинг-7,62», на самом деле является самозарядной винтовкой с возможностью ведения автоматического огня (selective-fire rifle). Что-то типа современного варианта АВС-36.
    1. Aqela 22 января 2016 10:27
      Ну, да. патрон NATO 7.62x51 можно представить промежуточным только в воспалённом воображении англосаксонских генералов. Нормальная такая, слегка ослабленная, версия винтовочного патрона. Там патрон 6,5-мм от арисаки ближе по баллистике к промежуточному, чем натовский.
      1. 2news 22 января 2016 10:53
        Цитата: Aqela
        Там патрон 6,5-мм от арисаки ближе по баллистике к промежуточному, чем натовский.

        6,5-мм патрон Арисака (да и еще куча похожих) никогда не был "настоящим винтовочным". Он был "ослабленным винтовочным". Позже патроны такой мощности стали называть "промежуточными". Правда, находятся интернет-умники, которые промежуточные патроны определяют исходя из их размеров. Но это пустое, в мире никто так не делает.
        В настоящее время 6,5-мм патроны Арисака, бывшие в свое время винтовочными (пусть и ослабленными), являются промежуточными. А интернет-умникам правильнее их называть "крупными промежуточными". Или "большими промежуточными".
        Кстати, патроны 7,92х33 мм и 7,62х39 мм поначалу, при рождении, были ослабленными винтовочными. И только потом они были названы промежуточными и выделены в отдельный подкласс.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня