Military Review

KATUSA: servant of two masters

4
The unit with the complex name "Korean Amplification for the US Army" - the Korean Augmentation To the United States Army, KATUSA, is a special grouping within the Eighth US Army, consisting of active Korean military personnel under US command. It was created in July 1950 with the start of the Korean War, when President Lee Seung Man transferred control of all Korean troops to Douglas MacArthur, and there is no legal basis for the existence of such an exotic formation to this day - only verbal agreements and private letters. Nevertheless, the system, originally created as a temporary one, turned out to be surprisingly stable and will soon celebrate its 66-th birthday.




It must be said that the Americans began to have problems in managing the southern part of Korea from the first day of occupation in 1945. The difference between the two cultures was too obvious, and the few Anglo-Korean translators often played their own game for personal gain. And without that, the difficult situation became quite intolerable with the start of the Korean War. The first fighters of the new division were assigned to the Seventh Infantry Division of the US Army and their training camps were initially located in Japan. I must say that not all of the first KATUSA fighters were volunteers. There is evidence that the Americans forcibly recruited a refugee unit to later put them in the front row during the landing in Incheon in September 1950.



Officially, the goal of KATUSA’s existence has not changed since 1950 - to provide the US Army with a large number of military personnel who know the Korean language, customs of the population and the terrain, so that at a critical moment coordination between the armies is maximal. Unofficially, a pro-American military elite is being created in the Republic of Korea. The main training camp KATUSA today is Camp Jackson. There, Korean servicemen wear American uniforms, live and work together with US military personnel according to American standards. The oath is also different from the general oath of the army of South Korea. Service in the US Army is credited to the Korean recruits as a service in the armed forces of their own country.



In South Korea itself, KATUSA has been criticized for the reason that Americans receive the most talented graduates of Korean universities, although in theory they are randomly enrolled in the subunit from among the soldiers with minimal knowledge of English. Nevertheless, getting into KATUSA and joining the American service is considered a great success for ordinary Korean soldiers, where there is a persistent opinion that Americans have better living conditions, services, medical care, no bullying, and in general this fact is considered useful for the future careers. Therefore, the competition in KATUSA is traditionally very high, and the number of seats is only decreasing. If in the 2005 year there were 4800 troops in the unit, then in the 2012 year there were already 3400. This figure is included in the total number of US troops in Korea.



Another controversial point is that a considerable number of Koreans jar on the structure with such a strong colonial flavor. So much so that false alarms about closing the program even appeared several times in the press.

Under the current agreement with the United States, in the event of the outbreak of hostilities, control of the entire South Korean army passes to the United States. Initially, it was assumed that the right to command our own troops would be returned to Seoul in 2015, but was later moved to 2020. So, the layer between the two armies is still necessary. For this reason, the KATUSA program will continue further; it is not planned to close it even after 2020.
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. spech
    spech 18 January 2016 08: 41 New
    +3
    Under the current agreement with the United States, in the event of hostilities, control of the entire South Korean army passes to the United States.

    What kind of independence they are talking about, but it is interesting with Japan (Germany, the Balkans, etc.) that there is also such an agreement
    1. Kibalchish
      18 January 2016 09: 58 New
      +2
      Japan is different. I don’t know about Germany.
    2. Hon
      Hon 18 January 2016 12: 45 New
      +1
      Quote: spech
      What kind of independence they are talking about, but it is interesting with Japan (Germany, the Balkans, etc.) that there is also such an agreement

      Well, on the other hand, when the United States forced everyone to take sanctions against us, the Koreans did not care. There is probably independence.
  2. Besmaster
    Besmaster 19 January 2016 01: 24 New
    0
    Under the current agreement with the United States, in the event of hostilities, control of the entire South Korean army passes to the United States.

    You can go crazy. I thought they only had Japan there. It turns out also Korea. And the NATO Commander-in-Chief by agreement is always an American general. And many more know that Australia and Canada are still the dominions of Britain, the main plush ally of the United States. All this together raises a very ridiculous question - where is the decolonization of which Roosevelt wanted ?. Roosevelt was a truly wise ruler and he loved his country and all of humanity. But the successors all perverted him, turning the United States into a colonial empire and allowing Britain to remain the same (they just cut it a bit so that it would not bury itself). I look forward to the day when that Atilla, that Vandal and that Odoacer that will destroy the Roman Empire will already come. There were many Roman empires in history, and each had its own executioner. Do not escape this and the mattress harlot.
  3. Type 63
    Type 63 22 January 2016 01: 02 New
    0
    One book on the history of military uniforms depicted a fighter of certain "UN partisan forces" during the Korean War. Does he accidentally relate to the eagles described in this article?

KATUSA: слуга двух господ

Подразделение со сложным названием «Корейское усиление для армии США» — Korean Augmentation To the United States Army, KATUSA, — особая группировка в составе Восьмой армии США, состоящая из действующих корейских военнослужащих, находящихся под американским командованием. Она была создана в июле 1950 года с началом Корейской войны, когда президент Ли Сын Ман передал управление всеми корейскими войсками Дугласу Макартуру, причём правовой основы для существования столь экзотического формирования нет и по сей день — только устные договорённости и частные письма. Тем не менее, система, изначально создававшаяся как временная, оказалась удивительно устойчивой и скоро справит свой 66-ой день рождения.

KATUSA: слуга двух господ


Надо сказать, что проблемы в управлении южной частью Кореи у американцев начались с первого дня оккупации в 1945 году. Разница между двумя культурами была слишком очевидна, а немногочисленные англо-корейские переводчики часто вели собственную игру к личной выгоде. И без того сложная ситуация стала совсем нетерпимой с началом Корейской войны. Первые бойцы нового подразделения были приписаны к Седьмой пехотной дивизии армии США и лагеря их подготовки изначально располагались в Японии. Надо сказать, что далеко не все из первых бойцов KATUSA были добровольцами. Есть свидетельства, что американцы принудительно набирали подразделение из числа беженцев, чтобы позже пустить их в первых рядах во время высадки в Инчхоне в сентябре 1950 года.


KATUSA: слуга двух господ


Официально цель существования KATUSA с 1950 года не менялась — обеспечить армию США большим количеством военнослужащих, знающих корейский язык, обычаи населения и местность, чтобы в критический момент координация между армиями была максимальной. Неофициально так создаётся проамериканская военная элита в Республике Корея. Основным тренировочным лагерем KATUSA сегодня является Кэмп Джексон. Там корейские военнослужащие носят американскую форму, живут и работают вместе с военнослужащими США по американским стандартам. Присяга также отличается от общевойсковой присяги армии Южной Кореи. Служба в армии США зачисляется корейским призывникам как служба в вооружённых силах собственной страны.

KATUSA: слуга двух господ


В самой Южной Корее KATUSA подвергается критике по причине того, что американцы получают самых талантливых выпускников корейских вузов, хотя в теории зачисление в подразделение происходит случайным образом из числа солдат, минимально знающих английский язык. Тем не менее, попасть в KATUSA и приобщиться к американской службе считается большой удачей для простых корейских солдат, где бытует стойкое мнение, что у американцев лучше условия проживания, службы, медицинской помощи, отсутствуют издевательства, да и в целом подобный факт считается полезным для будущей карьеры. Поэтому конкурс в KATUSA традиционно очень высок, а количество мест лишь сокращается. Если в 2005 году в подразделении числилось 4800 военнослужащих, то в 2012 году — уже 3400. Эта цифра входит в общее число военнослужащих США в Корее.

KATUSA: слуга двух господ


Другой спорный момент заключается в том, что немалое число корейцев коробит от структуры с настолько сильным колониальным душком. Настолько, что в прессе даже несколько раз появлялись ложные сообщения о закрытии программы.

По действующему соглашению с США, в случае начала боевых действий управление всей южнокорейской армией переходит к Соединённым Штатам. Первоначально предполагалось, что право командовать собственными войсками будет возвращено Сеулу в 2015 году, но позже срок сдвинули к 2020. А значит, прослойка между двумя армиями по-прежнему необходима. По этой причине программа KATUSA будет продолжаться и далее, закрывать её не планируют и после 2020 года.
Автор: Игорь Кабардин


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. spech 18 января 2016 08:41
    По действующему соглашению с США, в случае начала боевых действий управление всей южнокорейской армией переходит к Соединённым Штатам.

    Про какую независимость они говорят, а интересно с японией (германией, приболтами, и т.д.)тоже такой договор есть
    1. Кибальчиш 18 января 2016 09:58
      С Японией по-другому. Про Германию не знаю.
    2. Hon 18 января 2016 12:45
      Цитата: spech
      Про какую независимость они говорят, а интересно с японией (германией, приболтами, и т.д.)тоже такой договор есть

      ну с другой стороны, когда США всех заставляли принимать санкции в отношении нас, корейцам было пофиг. Наверное есть независимость.
      Hon
  2. BesMaster 19 января 2016 01:24
    По действующему соглашению с США, в случае начала боевых действий управление всей южнокорейской армией переходит к Соединённым Штатам.

    Свихнуться можно. Я думал у них там только с Японией так. Оказывается еще и Корея. И Главнокомандующий НАТО по договору всегда американский генерал. А еще многим известно, что Австралия, и Канада по прежнему являются доминионами Британии, главного плюшевого союзника США. Все это вместе ставит очень смешной вопрос - а где деколонизация которой хотел Рузвельт?. Рузвельт был действительно мудрый правитель и он любил свою страну и все человечество. А вот преемнички его все извратили, превратив США в колониальную империю и позволив Британии остаться такой же (чуть урезали только, чтоб не зарывалась). С нетерпением жду того дня, когда уже придет тот Атилла, тот Вандал и тот Одоакр, что разрушат Римскую империю. В истории было много Римких империй, и у каждой был свой палач. Не избежать этого и матрасной блуднице.
  3. Type 63 22 января 2016 01:02
    В одной книге по истории военной униформы был изображен боец неких "партизанских войск ООН" времен корейской войны. Он случайно к орлам, описанным в данной статье, не относится?

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня