Military Review

The main varieties of the Nambu 94 pistol

18



Speaking of the varieties of any weapons it must be remembered that any classification is conditional and the number of different variations depending on changes in appearance, peculiarities of marking can reach several dozen.

We will try to consider and illustrate only the main varieties of the Nambu 94 pistol.

The early production period is characterized by some changes in the design of the Nambu Type 94 and the relatively high quality finish of the weapon. The period of mass production has minor differences, mainly related to the characteristics of the labeling. Pistols of the late production period are characterized by a sharp decline in quality and simplification of the manufacturing process.



The Nambu 94 prototype somewhat resembles the Nambu Web gun, but unlike other models, the trigger mechanism with an open trigger was used in the new weapon. The prototype has passed many tests and has changed quite a lot, both externally and in construction. As a result, the 94 model was adopted by the Japanese army in the 1934 year.



The early-release Nambu 94 pistols (let's call them the first version) is a weapon released from June 1935 of the year to January of 1939 (marked from 10.6 to 14.1). The photo shows one of the first pistols with a 8 serial number, released in June 1935.

The main varieties of the Nambu 94 pistol


The difference of this gun from other weapons is noticeable if you pay attention to the shape of the trigger lever installed on the left side of the frame. The protrusions are visible in the middle part (1 figure in the photo) of this lever and at its end (2 figure).



On the right side of the frame, it can be seen that the milled pad at the back of the frame, in the place where the date of release of the weapon is applied, has an unusual shape. The milled area is larger than that of subsequent copies of pistols, even than a number of pistols of the early stage of release.



The early-release Nambu 94 pistol stores are nickel plated and have a flat bottom magazine shape. The leash of the store feeder of rectangular shape with a parallel notch. Nickel-plated magazines were manufactured until about the end of December 1941 of the year (marking on 16.12 weapons).



From August 1937 of the year (with markings starting from 12.8) a slight change is made in the design of the store and a stiffener appears on its lower lid.



Prior to 1939, the monthly production level at the Nambu plant was very low - on average, 175 units. This means that no more than early release 7100 pistols were manufactured. As for the assembly, it should be noted that the early pistols were very well made and had a high quality finish.



The shape of the side surfaces of the casing of the bolt around the barrel, in the pistols of the early production period, is rounded. The photo shows that the casing of the bolt in this part is somewhat sideways in relation to the frame of the gun.



The serial number printed on the frame of the gun consists, as a rule, of 4 digits.



The marks of the arsenal of Nagoya (figure 3 in the photo) and the manufacturer’s factory Nambu (figure 4) are marked on the right side of the frame between the number and the year of the weapon.



The shape of the trigger lever of this gun is different from the earliest. It is just straight and in the middle part has no protrusion. The projection remained only in its shank at the safety lever. This is also a characteristic feature of Nambu 94 pistols from an early release period. The hieroglyphs on the left side of the frame of the early pistols are located above the cheek of the handle, almost symmetrically relative to its center.



The second version of the Nambu 94 pistols are weapons released between February 1939 and August 1941 (marked 14.2 to 16.8).



The main difference of this variety is the feature of marking. The hieroglyphs of the markings on the left side of the frame have shifted and are located above the left cheek angle of the handle. The distance between the hieroglyphs has decreased.



The arsenal hallmarks of Nagoya and the Nambu enterprises have been rescheduled. They are placed below the release date of the weapon. In addition, the Nambu stamp is now located in front of the markings of the Nagoya Arsenal.



The first pistols of the second version still have a four-digit serial number, a rounded protruding shutter casing and a protruding rear part of the trigger lever.



In April 1940 of the year (since the date of 15.4), the width of the frame has been increased. Now the casing shutter does not protrude above the frame and its rounded shape is changed - the shutter is now flat and is flush with the surface of the frame. The change also affected the trigger lever. Its back has become flat - without a ledge.



The manufacturing quality of the Nambu 94 pistols of the second type is quite acceptable.



The third version of the Nambu 94 pistols is a weapon released between August 1941 and December 1944 (marked in the interval between 16.8 and 19.12)



The Nambu 94 pistols of the third type clearly show the decline in Japanese industry during the Second World War.



After December 1941, the production of weapons with nickel-plated magazines stopped. The directories report that the highest known pistol number with nickel-plated magazine: 22401. Pistols with the release date of 17.1 were made already with simple blued shops.



After about the middle of the year 1942, there is a noticeable change in the intensity of the bluing of the surfaces of the weapon parts.



The bluish tint of the pistols varies from black and blue to bluish-rusty. Around this time, the first signs of deterioration in the quality of the assembly of pistols appear. Finishing details of weapons noticeably easier.



Around mid-May 1944, the plastic handle cheeks were replaced with smooth wooden cheeks without any notches.



In earlier pistols, the plastic cheeks of the arms had a figured shape and covered the tail of the frame. The wooden cheeks were straight.



Such cheeks did not limit the turning of the safety lever down to the position when the lever could be removed from its socket. For this reason, it is not uncommon for owners of wooden-handled pistols to lose their safety lever, which, if not very carefully handled, simply fell out of the weapon.



The quality of pistols by the end of the war falls sharply. The parts of the weapon show signs of rough machining with tools. Technological operations for grinding the frame, bolt and other parts of the weapon are almost abolished.



Nambu 94 pistols of the fourth variety, the so-called "Nambu off-date", this weapon with a marking in the interval between 18.6 - 18.8. These pistols are interesting because they were not manufactured at the Nambu facility.



In 1942, the Niikura plant, whose main activity was the manufacture aviation machine guns, idle without orders. In order to save employees and production, the plant management accepts blanks from the Nambu facility for approximately 2500 Nambu Type 94 pistols.



Pistols were fully assembled, but they were not stamped on them. After they were sent again to the enterprise Nambu, where they were examined and labeled. That is why there are about 2500 pistols with serial numbers in the range between 26000 - 28000. At this time, the Nambu Rifle Manufacturing Company released weapons with 38000 serial numbers.



The fifth type of Nambu pistols 94 should include weapons with wooden cheeks, released in 1945 year. An interesting feature was the change in the configuration of the store feeder's lead. The leash instead of a rectangular became round with a small square notch.



In January, 1945, the pistols were made with a bolt of the usual rounded shape. The highest serial number with a rounded back of the shutter, which lead researchers - 67459 (20.1).



Later, pistols are made with a square back part of the bolt. This is one of the characteristic signs of pistols of the fifth variety, in addition to the date of manufacture.



In the last months of the war, the quality of manufacturing and assembling Nambu 94 pistols became simply terrible, because at this time US aircraft were intensively destroying Japanese enterprises and the resources of the Land of the Rising Sun were severely depleted. The pistol was transformed not so much into a personal weapon of defense, but rather as a last resort not to surrender to the enemy and protect the honor of his uniform.
Originator:
http://historypistols.ru/blog/pistolety-pod-unitarnyj-patron-avtomaticheskie/osnovnye-raznovidnosti-pistoleta-nambu-94/
18 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 23 January 2016 08: 44 New
    +2
    Good article
  2. aszzz888
    aszzz888 23 January 2016 09: 09 New
    +8
    You can’t look at Japanese weapons, at least small arms, without surprise. Their freaks and gadgets. Only light machine guns are worth it! What kind of people is such a weapon. East!
    1. cth; fyn
      cth; fyn 23 January 2016 09: 52 New
      +3
      A machine gun with a bayonet with a dagger ... Mmmmm beauty!
  3. seveddi
    seveddi 23 January 2016 10: 05 New
    +7
    Awful gun!
  4. sherik
    sherik 23 January 2016 10: 28 New
    +3
    not only terrible, disgusting.
  5. Cap.Morgan
    Cap.Morgan 23 January 2016 10: 31 New
    +2
    The whole world used colts, in the sense of Browning.
    Such a sample was produced also with us - TT.
    What made the Japanese masters make copies go their own way is unclear.
    1. 2news
      2news 23 January 2016 21: 36 New
      0
      Quote: Cap.Morgan
      The whole world used colts

      Unless Colt Pocket Hammerless could copy. Or Walther PP.
      A normal army colt is not a classmate for him. Therefore, to remake it under the Japanese cartridge did not make any sense.
  6. carabiner sks
    carabiner sks 23 January 2016 11: 07 New
    +1
    The article is very interesting. It is only a pity that the author did not give the general performance characteristics of weapons.
    1. Vladimirets
      Vladimirets 23 January 2016 13: 17 New
      +1
      Quote: carabiner sks
      It is only a pity that the author did not give the general performance characteristics of weapons.

      In general, there was already an article about this gun, everything is there. http://topwar.ru/89043-pistolet-nambu-94-nambu-type-94-pistol.html
  7. Bersaglieri
    Bersaglieri 23 January 2016 11: 20 New
    +2
    Accuracy, taking into account the "shoulder" - near-zero. "Selling gaijin girl" ergonomics is forgotten :)
  8. martin-159
    martin-159 23 January 2016 14: 11 New
    -3
    Article to fill the void?
    1. Bersaglieri
      Bersaglieri 23 January 2016 17: 47 New
      +3
      Well, why? The sample is interesting. A good example of how not to make personal weapons.
      1. Volga Cossack
        Volga Cossack 23 January 2016 20: 42 New
        +1
        to the point ......... and not only personal ........ they have everything interesting ...... well, except for the fleet and aviation, perhaps only partially))))
      2. Volga Cossack
        Volga Cossack 23 January 2016 20: 42 New
        0
        to the point ......... and not only personal ........ they have everything interesting ...... well, except for the fleet and aviation, perhaps only partially))))
      3. martin-159
        martin-159 23 January 2016 21: 47 New
        -1
        Because this is not an article about weapons, but some kind of auction catalog.
  9. Ronino
    Ronino 23 January 2016 18: 30 New
    +1
    Freaks, ugly.
  10. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 23 January 2016 20: 39 New
    +1
    Quote: Bersaglieri
    Accuracy, taking into account the "shoulder" - near-zero. "Selling gaijin girl" ergonomics is forgotten :)

    ergonomics claim only in the tilt of the handle - no more ......
  11. Bersaglieri
    Bersaglieri 24 January 2016 09: 48 New
    0
    Apparently, the next model was supposed to be like this, but .... samurai preferred sepukka
  12. kav669
    kav669 24 January 2016 10: 42 New
    0
    An interesting article about Japanese weapons.

Основные разновидности пистолета Намбу 94



Говоря о разновидностях любого оружия нужно помнить, что всякая классификация условна и количество различных вариаций в зависимости от изменений внешнего вида, особенностей маркировки может достигать нескольких десятков.


Постараемся рассмотреть и проиллюстрировать лишь основные разновидности пистолета Намбу 94.

Ранний период производства характеризуется некоторыми изменениями в конструкции Nambu Type 94 и относительно высоким качеством отделки оружия. Период серийного производства имеет незначительные отличия, в основном связанные с особенностями маркировки. Пистолеты позднего периода производства характеризуются резким снижением качества и упрощением процесса изготовления.



Прототип Намбу 94 несколько напоминает пистолет Намбу Вэби, но в отличии от других моделей в новом оружии был применен ударно-спусковой механизм с открытым курком. Прототип прошел множество испытаний и довольно сильно изменился, как внешне, так и по конструкции. В результате модель 94 была принята японской армией на вооружение в 1934 году.



Пистолеты Намбу 94 раннего периода выпуска (условно назовем их первой разновидностью) — это оружие выпущенное в период с июня 1935 года по январь 1939 года (с маркировкой от 10.6 до 14.1). На фото представлен один из первых пистолетов с серийным номером 8, выпущенный в июне 1935 года.

Основные разновидности пистолета Намбу 94


Отличие этого пистолета от другого оружия заметно, если обратить внимание на форму спускового рычага, установленного с левой стороны рамки. Видны выступы в средней части (цифра 1 на фото) этого рычага и в его конце (цифра 2).



С правой стороны рамки видно, что фрезерованная площадка в задней части рамки, в том месте, где нанесена дата выпуска оружия, имеет необычную форму. Фрезерованная площадка большего размера, чем у последующих экземпляров пистолетов, даже чем у ряда пистолетов раннего этапа выпуска.



Магазины пистолетов Намбу 94 раннего периода выпуска никелированные и имеют плоскую форму нижней крышки магазина. Поводок подавателя магазина прямоугольной формы с параллельной насечкой. Никелированные магазины изготавливались примерно до конца декабря 1941 года (маркировка на оружии 16.12).




С августа 1937 года (с маркировкой начиная от 12.8) вносится небольшое изменение в конструкцию магазина и появляется ребро жесткости на нижней его крышке.



До 1939 года ежемесячный уровень производства на предприятии Намбу был очень низким — в среднем 175 штук. Это означает, что было изготовлено не более 7100 пистолетов раннего периода выпуска. Что касается сборки, то нужно отметить, что ранние пистолеты были очень хорошо сделаны и имели высокое качество отделки деталей.



Форма боковых поверхностей кожуха затвора вокруг ствола, у пистолетов раннего периода производства, округлая. На фото видно, что кожух затвора в этой части несколько выступает вбок по отношении к рамке пистолета.



Серийный номер нанесенный на рамке пистолета состоит, как правило, из 4 цифр.



Клейма арсенала Нагойя (цифра 3 на фото) и предприятия изготовителя Намбу (цифра 4) нанесены на правой части рамки между номером и годом выпуска оружия.



Форма спускового рычага данного пистолета отличается от самых ранних. Она просто прямая и в средней части не имеет выступа. Выступ остался лишь в его хвостовике у рычага предохранителя. Это так же характерный признак пистолетов Намбу 94 раннего периода выпуска. Иероглифы на левой стороне рамки у ранних пистолетов расположены над щечкой рукоятки, почти симметрично, относительно ее центра.



Пистолеты Намбу 94 второй разновидности — это оружие выпущенное в период с февраля 1939 года по август 1941 года (с маркировкой от 14.2 до 16.8).



Основным отличием данной разновидности являются особенность маркировки. Иероглифы маркировки на левой стороне рамки сместились и расположены над левым углом щечки рукоятки. Расстояние между иероглифами сократилось.



Клейма арсенала Нагойя и предприятия Намбу перенесены. Они размещены ниже даты выпуска оружия. Кроме того, теперь клеймо Намбу расположено перед маркировкой арсенала Нагойя.



Первые пистолеты второй разновидности по прежнему имеют четырехзначный серийный номер, округлый выступающий кожух затвора и выступающую заднюю часть спускового рычага.



В апреле 1940 года (начиная с даты 15.4), ширина рамки была увеличена. Теперь кожух затвор не выступает над рамкой и его округлая форма изменена — затвор теперь плоский и находится на одном уровне с поверхностью рамки. Изменение коснулось и спускового рычага. Его задняя часть стала плоской — без выступа.



Качество изготовления деталей пистолетов Намбу 94 второй разновидности вполне приемлемое.



Пистолеты Намбу 94 третьей разновидности — это оружие выпущенное в период с августа 1941 года по декабрь 1944 года (с маркировкой в интервале между 16.8 и 19.12)



Пистолеты Намбу 94 третьей разновидности наглядно показывают спад промышленности Японии в период Второй Мировой войны.



После декабря 1941 года прекратился выпуск оружия с никелированными магазинами. Справочники сообщают, что самый высокий известный номер пистолета с никелированным магазином: 22401. Пистолеты с датой выпуска 17.1 изготавливались уже с простыми воронеными магазинами.



Примерно после середины 1942 года заметно изменение интенсивности воронения поверхностей деталей оружия.



Оттенок воронения пистолетов меняется от черно-синего до голубовато-ржавого. Примерно в это же время появляются первые признаки ухудшения качества сборки пистолетов. Чистовая обработка деталей оружия заметно упрощается.



Примерно в середине мая 1944 года пластиковые щечки рукояток были заменены гладкими деревянными щечками без какой-либо насечки.



У более ранних пистолетов пластиковые щечки рукояток имели фигурную форму и закрывали хвостовую часть рамки. Деревянные щечки были прямыми.



Такие щечки не ограничивали поворот рычага предохранителя вниз до положения когда рычаг можно было извлечь из своего гнезда. По этой причине не редкость когда владельцы пистолетов с деревянными ручками утрачивали рычаг предохранителя, который при не очень аккуратном обращении просто выпадал из оружия.



Качество пистолетов к концу войны резко падает. На частях оружия видны следы грубой механической обработки инструментами. Технологические операции по шлифовке рамки, затвора и других частей оружия почти упраздняются.



Пистолеты Намбу 94 четвертой разновидности, так называемые «Nambu off-date», это оружие с маркировкой в интервале между 18.6 — 18.8. Эти пистолеты интересны тем, что они были изготовлены не на предприятии Намбу.



В 1942 году завод Ниикура (Niikura), основным направлением деятельности которого было изготовление авиационных пулеметов, простаивал без заказов. Чтобы сохранить сотрудников и производство, руководство завода принимает от предприятия Намбу заготовки примерно на 2500 пистолетов Nambu Type 94.



Пистолеты были полностью собраны, но на них не была проставлена дата. После они были отправлены вновь на предприятие Намбу, где их осмотрели и промаркировали. Именно поэтому, существует порядка 2500 пистолетов с серийными номерами в диапазоне между 26000 — 28000. В это время на Nambu Rifle Manufacturing Company выпускали оружие с серийными номерами 38000.



К пятой разновидности пистолетов Намбу 94 следует отнести оружие с деревянными щечками, выпущенное в 1945 году. Интересной особенностью стало изменения конфигурации поводка подавателя магазина. Поводок вместо прямоугольного стал круглым с мелкой квадратной насечкой.



В январе 1945 года пистолеты производились с затвором обычной закругленной формы. Самый высокий серийный номер с закругленной задней частью затвора, который приводят исследователи — 67459 (20.1).



Позже пистолеты изготавливают с квадратной задней частью затвора. Это один из характерных признаков пистолетов пятой разновидности, помимо даты изготовления.



В последние месяцы войны качество изготовления и сборки пистолетов Намбу 94 стало просто ужасным, так как в это время авиация США усиленно разрушала предприятия Японии и ресурсы Страны Восходящего Солнца были сильно истощены. Пистолет превратился не столько в личное оружие защиты, сколько в последнее средство не сдаться в плен врагу и защитить честь мундира.
Первоисточник:
http://historypistols.ru/blog/pistolety-pod-unitarnyj-patron-avtomaticheskie/osnovnye-raznovidnosti-pistoleta-nambu-94/
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

18 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти