Military Review

Bayonets rifles Winchester M1895 "Russian sample"

7
Main rifle weapons Russian army during the First World War was the so-called. Russian three-line rifle arr. 1891, she is a rifle S.I. Mosin. This weapon was completed with a needle tetrahedral bayonet, which was a further development of the Berdan rifle bayonet. However, the Mosin rifle was not the only representative of its class in our army. In addition to it, other systems were also used, including those of foreign manufacture. So, in 1915, the Russian military issued an order to the American company Winchester for the supply of Model 1895 rifles chambered for 7,62x54 mm R.


In accordance with the Russian order, the American plant was supposed to produce about 300 thousand of M1895 rifles in an updated configuration. At the request of the customer, the rifles were converted to the Russian three-line cartridge, were able to be loaded using Mosin-Nagant clips, and also received an elongated barrel and box of the appropriate size, modeled on rifles of that time. In addition, it was necessary to equip the weapon with a bayonet, since it was used to use not only for shooting, but also in hand-to-hand combat. To install the bayonet under the barrel there was an influx, reinforced by an additional collar. The latter covered the trunk and the box. The rifle's improvements were quite complex and took too much time, due to which the first batch of weapons was sent to Russia a little later than the deadline. Together with the rifles in the Russian army went and new bayonets.

The Model 1895 rifle was not originally packaged with a bayonet, due to which the company-developer had to develop this device almost from scratch. After consulting with the customer, it was decided to abandon the traditional needle bayonet for the Russian army and use a bayonet with a wide blade with one-sided sharpening. Moreover, for greater convenience, the company "Winchester" decided to use an existing structure, slightly modified it for use on the new weapon.


Rifle Winchester Model 1895 "Russian model" with a long bayonet version. Photo Forgottenweapons.com


The bayonet for the “Russian model” M1895 rifle was supposed to be an almost complete copy of the bayonet for the Lee Model 1895 rifle, previously produced by Winchester in the interests of the US Navy. This rifle was completed with a bayonet-knife with one-sided sharpening and the possibility of mounting on the front of the box and the barrel. When developing a new modification, all the basic details of the existing bayonet did not undergo any changes. Modifications undergone only the cross with the mount on the trunk.

The main element of the bayonet for the Winchester M1895 was the blade passing through the entire structure of the weapon. The blade had a symmetrical combat end, but it was only one-sided. On both side surfaces were provided with valleys. The bayonet handle consisted of two wooden parts mounted on the back of the blade with two rivets. Behind the wooden parts there was a metal head with a T-shaped groove for mounting on a rifle and a spring latch. In front of the wooden cheeks of the handle there was a cross with a slot for the blade in the lower part and a hole with a diameter of 16 mm in the top.

To install the bayonet on the rifle, the blade was placed parallel to the barrel, the blade forward. The cross ring was put on the muzzle of the barrel, while the head of the handle came into contact with the influx on the rifle barrel. When the bayonet moved backwards, a latch worked, which fixed the bayonet in the combat position. To remove it, one had to press a button in the head of the handle, which released the latch and allowed the detached bayonet to be moved forward, removing the crossbar from the barrel.

Bayonets rifles Winchester M1895 "Russian sample"
The bayonet of the first 8-inch version and the sheath for it. Photo Bayonet.lv


The total length of the first version of the bayonet was 325 mm, of which the blade accounted for 210 mm (8 inches). The maximum width of the blade does not exceed 26 mm.

Depending on the prescriptions, the bayoner for the Winchester M1895 rifle could be carried in a closed fighting position or in special sheaths. The latter had a metal case for the blade and a leather loop for fastening on a belt. If necessary, the bayonet could be used as a knife for cutting various objects and materials. Before the battle, respectively, it should be attached to the rifle for use in melee.

According to reports, only a small part of the Russian-style M18 rifles were equipped with 1895-inch bayonets. Such blades of relatively short length received only 15 thousand rifles of the first batch. It is noteworthy that in their number such bayonets could not compete even with relatively few blades for Lee M1895 rifles, which produced no more than 20 thousand units.


The handle of the bayonet and crosspiece with a hole for mounting on the trunk. Photo Gunscollecting.com


After making the first few batches with a total of about 15 thousands of rifles, the customer demanded to change the design of the bayonet. The short 8-inch knife did not fully suit the Russian military, which is why they wanted a longer blade. The result was the emergence of a new hatchet for M1895. All new rifles of this type for the Russian army until the very end of the release were supplied with updated long bayonets. The rifles themselves were not subjected to any modifications.

In terms of design, the new “long” blade differed from the old “short” only in size. All other features of this weapon, including the design of the handle and the mount on the rifle, remained the same. New rifles received a bayonet with a total length of 520 mm with an 400-mm blade with a width of 26 mm. The shape of the blade remains the same: it had a symmetrical pointed combat end and a rectangular middle part in contact with the crosspiece.

The design of the handle also has not changed: two wooden cheeks were fastened on a metal blade on rivets. The crosspiece was located in front of them, and in the rear part there was a head with a spring-loaded latch and a groove for mounting on a rifle. Like the “short” bayonet, the new one was supposed to be attached to the arms with the aid of a cross ring and a latch.


Later and the most massive "long" bayonet, as well as its scabbard. Photo Bayonet.lv


New bayonets also received sheath of metal and leather. The design of this product has remained the same, but the length of the metal part containing the blade has increased. Depending on the need, the blade could be transported in the sheath or on the weapon.

The extended bayonet knife for the Winchester Model 1895 “Russian model” had some advantages over the blade of the base model. Its length was comparable to the three-loader needle bayonet, which made it possible to dispense with the development of new methods of bayonet fighting. In addition, a large length of the bayonet gave some other advantages, both in hand-to-hand combat, and in some other situations, above all, you are domestic.

The first batch of American-made rifles, equipped with a "short" bayonet, was sent to the customer in 1915 year. Production and deliveries continued until 1917, after which the full implementation of the contract stopped due to a change in the political and economic situation in Russia. Before the Russian revolutions, Winchester managed to assemble and send thousands of M291 rifles in the “Russian” configuration to the customer about the 293-1895 order. The remaining rifles of the ordered 300 thousand were released after the refusal of the Russian side to accept and pay for new weapons. It should be noted that, despite all the difficulties and problems, the Russian order accounted for about 70% of the total number of rifles manufactured by the Model 1895 of all modifications.


M1895 rifle "Russian sample", the second version of the sheath in the sheath, cartridge pouches for cartridges and other accessories. Photo Guns.com


American-made rifles supplied in Russia with two types of bayonet knives were transferred to various units of the army, primarily stationed in the Baltic States and Finland. For example, a relatively large number of M1895 rifles were transferred to the famous Latvian riflemen. Those rifles that the manufacturer did not have time to pass on to the customer before the 1917 events of the year were sold on the American market. Thus, amateur shooters and various organizations became the new owners of “Russian-style” rifles.

M1895 rifles with two types of bayonets of different lengths were limitedly used during the First World War, and then used during the Civil War. Over time, these weapons became useless or were sent to warehouses as useless. It is known that in the mid-thirties, a number of American rifles were sent to Spain as an aid to Republicans. Probably, the Spanish fighters received not only rifles, but also bayonets to them.

Over the past few decades of the XIX century, Russian military leaders actively argued about the prospects for various designs of bayonets. The opinion was expressed about the need to switch to bayonet knives with the rejection of needle blades. This opinion even resulted in the production of a certain number of Berdan rifles, equipped with bayonet-bayonets, but the rest of the weapons were manufactured with needle-bayonets. The first Russian rifle, which initially received a bayonet and was equipped only with such blades, was the “Russian model” Model 1895, produced by the American company Winchester. Due to the relatively small amount of this rifle did not receive great fame, but still became a curious page in stories Russian small arms.


On the materials of the sites:
http://bayonet.lv/
http://world.guns.ru/
http://forgottenweapons.com/
http://opoccuu.com/
http://gunscollecting.com/
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AlNikolaich
    AlNikolaich 29 January 2016 07: 22
    0
    We, in the museum of local lore, present several pieces of these rifles seized from the kulaks at one time ... I wondered where the American weapons could come from in the wilderness of ours?
  2. hohol95
    hohol95 29 January 2016 18: 53
    0
    Will there be articles about the converted bayonets ??? The Austrians welded bayonets from "BERDANOK" or "Mosinok" to the handles of bayonets for their "MANNLICHER" and used it! The Germans also altered the French bayonets for their MAUSERS.
    1. Your friend
      Your friend 29 January 2016 20: 51
      0
      Quote: hohol95
      Will there be articles about the converted bayonets ??? The Austrians welded bayonets from "BERDANOK" or "Mosinok" to the handles of bayonets for their "MANNLICHER" and used it! The Germans also altered the French bayonets for their MAUSERS.

      What for? Your own?
      1. hohol95
        hohol95 29 January 2016 22: 51
        0
        Why is the topic bad? Or their bottomless well?
  3. Grishka cat
    Grishka cat 29 January 2016 20: 55
    +1
    Friends! I advise you to read the book A.B. Zhuk "Handbook of Small Arms" Military Publishing House 1993. It describes various weapons from revolvers to auto
    omatov and pieces rifles and ishtykov to them. True, the most modern samples are not described in it, but the book is damn interesting. Honor if you find!
  4. 505506
    505506 30 January 2016 10: 08
    0
    Once, in childhood, I saw a photo, most likely, of such a bayonet, and was bewitched. So I wanted such a knife ... It seems to me concisely and functionally.

Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»

Основным стрелковым оружием российской армии во время Первой мировой войны была т.н. русская трехлинейная винтовка обр. 1891 г., она же винтовка С.И. Мосина. Это оружие комплектовалось игольчатым четырехгранным штыком, являвшимся дальнейшим развитием штыка винтовки Бердана. Тем не менее, винтовка Мосина не была единственным представителем своего класса в нашей армии. Кроме нее применялись и иные системы, в том числе зарубежного производства. Так, в 1915 году российское военное ведомство выдало американской компании Winchester заказ на поставку винтовок Model 1895 под патрон 7,62х54 мм R.

В соответствии с российским заказом, американский завод должен был выпустить порядка 300 тыс. винтовок M1895 в обновленной конфигурации. По желанию заказчика, винтовки были переделаны под российский трехлинейный патрон, получили возможность заряжания при помощи обойм Мосина-Нагана, а также получили удлиненные ствол и ложу соответствующих размеров, по образцу винтовок того времени. Кроме того, требовалось оснастить оружие штыком, поскольку его применялось использовать не только для стрельбы, но и в рукопашных схватках. Для установки штыка под стволом появился наплыв, усиленный дополнительным хомутом. Последний охватывал ствол и ложу. .Доработки винтовки оказались достаточно сложными и потребовали слишком много времени, из-за чего первая партия оружия была отправлена в Россию немного позже установленного срока. Вместе с винтовками в русскую армию отправились и новые штыки.

Винтовка Model 1895 изначально не комплектовалась штыком, из-за чего компании-разработчику пришлось разрабатывать это устройство почти с нуля. После консультаций с заказчиком было решено отказаться от традиционного для русской армии игольчатого штыка и использовать штык-нож, имеющий широкий клинок с односторонней заточкой. Более того, для большего удобства на фирме «Винчестер» решили применить уже существующую конструкцию, незначительно доработав ее для использования на новом оружии.


Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»
Винтовка Winchester Model 1895 "русского образца" со штыком "длинной" версии. Фото Forgottenweapons.com


Штык для винтовки M1895 «русского образца» должен был стать почти полной копией штыка для винтовки Lee Model 1895, ранее выпускавшейся фирмой Winchester в интересах военно-морских сил США. Эта винтовка комплектовалась штык-ножом с односторонней заточкой и возможностью крепления на передней части ложи и ствола. При разработке новой модификации все основные детали существующего штыка не претерпели никаких изменений. Доработкам подверглась только крестовина с креплением на ствол.

Основным элементом штыка для «Винчестера» M1895 стал клинок, проходящий через всю конструкцию оружия. Клинок имел симметричный боевой конец, но при этом был только односторонним. На обеих боковых поверхностях предусматривались долы. Рукоятка штыка состояла из двух деревянных деталей, закрепленных на задней части клинка при помощи двух заклепок. Позади деревянных деталей имелась металлическая головка с Т-образным пазом для крепления на винтовке и пружинной защелкой. Перед деревянными щечками рукояти предусматривалась крестовина с прорезью для клинка в нижней части и отверстием диаметром 16 мм в верхней.

Для установки штыка на винтовку клинок помещался параллельно стволу, клинком вперед. Кольцо крестовины надевалось на дульную часть ствола, одновременно головка рукояти входила в контакт с наплывом на стволе винтовки. При смещении штыка назад срабатывала защелка, фиксировавшая штык в боевом положении. Для его снятия следовало нажать на кнопку в головке рукоятки, что освобождало защелку и позволяло сдвинуть отсоединенный штык вперед, сняв крестовину со ствола.

Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»
Штык первой 8-дюймовой версии и ножны для него. Фото Bayonet.lv


Общая длина первого варианта штыка составляла 325 мм, из которых на клинок приходилось 210 мм (8 дюймов). Максимальная ширина клинка не превышала 26 мм.

В зависимости от имеющихся предписаний, штык-нож для винтовки Winchester M1895 мог переноситься в примкнутом боевом положении или в специальных ножнах. Последние имели металлический чехол для клинка и кожаную петлю для крепления на ремне. При необходимости штык можно было использовать в качестве ножа для резки различных объектов и материалов. Перед боем, соответственно, его следовало крепить к винтовке для использования в рукопашных схватках.

По имеющимся данным, 18-дюймовыми штыками комплектовалась лишь малая часть винтовок M1895 «русского образца». Такие клинки сравнительно малой длины получили лишь 15 тыс. винтовок первых партий. Примечательно, что по своему количеству такие штыки не смогли конкурировать даже со сравнительно немногочисленными клинками для винтовок Lee M1895, которых выпустили не более 20 тыс. единиц.

Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»
Рукоятка штыка и крестовина с отверстием для крепления на стволе. Фото Gunscollecting.com


После изготовления нескольких первых партий общей численностью порядка 15 тысяч винтовок заказчик потребовал изменить конструкцию штыка. Короткий 8-дюймовый нож не в полной мере устроил российских военных, из-за чего они пожелали получить более длинный клинок. Результатом этого стало появление нового штыка-тесака для M1895. Все новые винтовки этого типа для русской армии до самого конца выпуска поставлялись с обновленными длинными штыками. Сами винтовки при этом никаким доработкам не подвергались.

С точки зрения конструкции новый «длинный» клинок отличался от старого «короткого» только размерами. Все прочие особенности этого оружия, включая конструкцию рукоятки и креплений на винтовке, остались прежними. Новые винтовки получали штык общей длиной 520 мм с 400-мм клинком шириной 26 мм. Форма клинка осталась прежней: он имел симметричный заостренный боевой конец и прямоугольную среднюю часть, контактировавшую с крестовиной.

Конструкция рукояти так же не изменилась: на металлическом клинке на заклепках крепились две деревянные щечки. Перед ними располагалась крестовина, а в задней части – головка с подпружиненной защелкой и пазом для установки на винтовку. Как и «короткий» штык, новый должен был крепиться к оружию при помощи кольца крестовины и защелки.

Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»
Более поздний и самый массовый "длинный" штык, а также его ножны. Фото Bayonet.lv


Новые штыки тоже получали ножны из металла и кожи. Конструкция этого изделия осталась прежней, но увеличилась длина металлической части, вмещающей клинок. В зависимости от необходимости клинок можно было транспортировать в ножнах или на оружии.

Удлиненный штык-нож для винтовки Winchester Model 1895 «русского образца» имел некоторые преимущества перед клинком базовой модели. Его длина была сопоставима с игольчатым штыком «Трехлинейки», что позволяло обойтись без разработки новых методик штыкового боя. Кроме того, большая длина штыка давала некоторые другие преимущества, как в рукопашном бою, так и в некоторых иных ситуациях, прежде всего вы бытовых.

Первая партия винтовок американского производства, оснащенных «коротким» штыком, была отправлена заказчику в 1915 году. Производство и поставки продолжались до 1917 года, после чего полноценное выполнение контракта остановилось в связи с изменением политической и экономической ситуации в России. До российских революций компания Winchester успела собрать и отправить заказчику порядка 291-293 тысячи винтовок M1895 в «русской» конфигурации. Оставшиеся винтовки из заказанных 300 тысяч были выпущены уже после отказа российской стороны принимать и оплачивать новое оружие. Следует отметить, что, несмотря на все трудности и проблемы, на российский заказ пришлось около 70% от общего числа выпущенных винтовок Model 1895 всех модификаций.

Штыки винтовок Winchester M1895 «русского образца»
Винтовка M1895 "русского образца", штык второй версии в ножнах, подсумки для патронов и другие принадлежности. Фото Guns.com


Поставлявшиеся в Россию винтовки американского производства со штык-ножами двух типов передавались различным подразделениям армии, прежде всего расквартированным в Прибалтике и Финляндии. К примеру, сравнительно большое количество винтовок M1895 было передано знаменитым латышским стрелкам. Те винтовки, которые производитель не успел передать заказчику до событий 1917 года, были распроданы на американском рынке. Таким образом, новыми обладателями винтовок «русского образца» стали стрелки-любители и различные организации.

Винтовки M1895 со штыками двух типов разной длины ограниченно использовались в ходе Первой мировой войны, а затем применялись во время Гражданской. Со временем это оружие пришло в негодность или было отправлено на склады за ненадобностью. Известно, что в середине тридцатых годов некоторое количество американских винтовок было отправлено в Испанию в качестве помощи республиканцам. Вероятно, испанские бойцы получали не только винтовки, но и штыки к ним.

На протяжении нескольких последних десятилетий XIX века российские военачальники активно спорили о перспективах различных конструкций штыков. Высказывалось мнение о необходимости перехода на штык-ножи с отказом от игольчатых клинков. Это мнение даже вылилось в производстве некоторого количества винтовок Бердана, укомплектованных штыками-тесаками, однако остальное оружие выпускалось с игольчатыми штыками. Первой российской винтовкой, которая изначально получила штык-нож и комплектовалась только такими клинками, стала Model 1895 «русского образца», выпускавшаяся американской компанией Winchester. Ввиду сравнительно малого количества эта винтовка не получила большой известности, но все же стала любопытной страницей в истории российского стрелкового оружия.


По материалам сайтов:
http://bayonet.lv/
http://world.guns.ru/
http://forgottenweapons.com/
http://opoccuu.com/
http://gunscollecting.com/
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. АлНиколаич 29 января 2016 07:22
    У нас, в музее краеведения, представлены несколько обрезов данных винтовок, изъятые в своё время у кулаков...Гадал, откуда могло взяться американское оружие в глуши нашей?
  2. hohol95 29 января 2016 18:53
    А будут ли статьи о переделанных штыках??? Австрийцы приваривали штыки от "БЕРДАНОК" или "МОСИНОК" к рукояткам штыков для своих "МАНЛИХЕРОВ" и использовали! Германцы так-же переделывали французские штыки для своих "МАУЗЕРОВ".
    1. Твой друг 29 января 2016 20:51
      Цитата: hohol95
      А будут ли статьи о переделанных штыках??? Австрийцы приваривали штыки от "БЕРДАНОК" или "МОСИНОК" к рукояткам штыков для своих "МАНЛИХЕРОВ" и использовали! Германцы так-же переделывали французские штыки для своих "МАУЗЕРОВ".

      А зачем? Своих не было?
      1. hohol95 29 января 2016 22:51
        А чем тема плохая? Или своих бездонный колодец?
  3. Кот Гришка 29 января 2016 20:55
    Друзья! Советую почитать книгу А.Б.Жук"Справочник по стрелковому оружию" Воениздат 1993г. В ней описано различное оружие от револьверов до авт
    оматов и шт.винтовок иштыков к ним. Правда наиболее современные образцов в ней не описано , но книга чертовски интересная. Почитание,если найдёте!
  4. 505506 30 января 2016 10:08
    Однажды,в детстве,увидел фото,скорей всего,такого штыка,и заворожился. Так хотел такой нож... Мне кажется,лаконично,и функционально.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня