Military Review

How Russian sailors discovered Antarctica

3
How Russian sailors discovered Antarctica



28 January 1820 from the sides of the sloops "Vostok" and "Peace" people first saw the Antarctic coast

After circumnavigation of the famous English explorer James Cook, the question of the existence of an “unknown Southern mainland” - Terra Australia incognita - was considered not just closed, but indecent. Cook, who embarked on his journey as an ardent supporter of the existence of the continent south of the 50 parallel, returned from him an equally ardent opponent of this idea. And on the basis of his research and conclusions, both British and French scientists decided that there are no continents in the South Pole region and there can not be.

However, many phenomena quite clearly indicated the opposite. Moreover, no matter how high Cook's authority was, at the beginning of the XNUMXth century he was already subjected to serious criticism. And there is nothing surprising in the fact that Russian sailors, for whom this period became a time of access to the expanses of the oceans, also swung to explore the southern polar seas. Russian asset fleet already were the first in his stories the round-the-world expedition of Ivan Kruzenshtern and Yuri Lisyansky, undertaken in 1803-1806, and the round-the-world journey of Vasily Golovnin on the sloop Diana in 1807-1809, and the round-the-world Otto Kotzebue in the Rurik brigade, stretched out with XUMNUM, XUMNUMX-1815. And all the results of these trips suggested that the southern polar continent should exist.

To prove this assumption, a separate expedition was required, the task of which would be extremely narrow and reduced to the search for the southern continent. This is precisely how the idea was expressed by the commander of the first Russian round-the-world expedition, Ivan Kruzenshtern, who sent 31 March 1819 to the Russian maritime minister Marquis Ivan de Traversay for the need to study polar waters. Krusenstern offered to organize two expeditions at once - to the North Pole and the South Pole, and in each include two vessels. Accordingly, these pairs were named "Southern Division" and "Northern Division." The commander of the “Southern Division”, at the suggestion of Kruzenshtern, was Captain Second Rank Faddey Bellingshausen, whom the mastermind of the expedition knew well as a subordinate on his first round-the-world trip. Under the direct command of Bellingshausen, the Vostok sloop of British construction was handed over, and the commander of the second ship, the Mirny sloop, designed by Russian engineers Kolodkin and Kurepanov, was Lieutenant Mikhail Lazarev. It is noteworthy that his younger brother, Aleksey Lazarev, also soon went on a polar campaign: a lieutenant on the sloop "The Well-intentioned" as part of the "Northern Division".

The sloops of the “Southern Division”, whose crews were fully staffed with volunteers - and it should be noted that there was no shortage of volunteers, quite the contrary! - went into their historic voyage from Kronstadt 16 July 1819 of the year. In the documents of the expedition, its purpose was formulated briefly and rather vaguely: the discoveries “in the possible proximity of the Antarctic Pole”. There was a meaning in this vagueness: no scientist of that time would undertake to predict the results of the research, and under the “possible proximity” hid all the southern waters of both the Pacific and Atlantic and Indian oceans — waters that interested the Russian fleet as an area of ​​possible expansion.

The first stop on the long journey of the “Southern Division” was English Portsmouth, where the ships were delayed for a month, getting the necessary equipment and equipment. From the coast of Britain, "Vostok" and "Mirny" moved towards Brazil, making a short stop on the island of Tenerife, and then reaching Rio de Janeiro. This way was already familiar to the Russian sailors from their previous round-the-world voyages. But after Brazil, as the sloops went farther south, areas of completely new areas began.

January 27 (new style) Russian sloops 1820, for the first time in the history of the Russian fleet, crossed the Southern Arctic Circle. And the next day, "Vostok" and "Peace" approached close to the ice barrier of the Antarctic continent. In his expedition diary, the Commander of the Southern Division described the event as follows: “Continuing south, at noon at latitude 9 ° 21'28" and longitude 2 ° 14'50 "we encountered ice, which seemed to us through the snowing as white clouds. And the commander of the sloop “Mirny”, Lieutenant Mikhail Lazarev, later in a letter to his friend and classmate on the Marine Corps, Alexey Shestakov, found more emotional words: “On January 16 we reached the latitude of 69 ° 23 'S, where we met experienced ice of extreme height, and on that beautiful evening looking at the saling, it stretched as far as it could only reach sight ... From here we continued our way to the island, trying at every opportunity to the south, but always met the icy continent, not reaching 70 ° ... Finally, that mother in the south land to oruyu've been looking for and the existence of means Filozof sitting in the offices of his thought necessary for the balance of the world. "

But Russian sailors were not limited to just one first acquaintance with the new continent. Continuing to move to the east and not leaving attempts again and again to move further south, they each time came across “hard ice”, making sure that they were dealing with the mainland coast, and not the islands. In the end, in early February, the ships turned north and soon arrived in Sydney, Australia. Having replenished stocks and having corrected the spars and rigging, the sloops set out for three months in the tropical waters of the Pacific Ocean, and then, returning briefly to Sydney, 31 of October again moved towards the newly discovered land. Without leaving any attempts to move as far south as possible, Vostok and Mirny eventually went around Antarctica, finally proving not only the existence of a new continent, but also the fact that, contrary to the ideas of some geographers, it does not connect with South America. During the second phase of Antarctic navigation, the island of Peter I (22 January 1821 of the year) and the Land of Alexander I (29 January 1821 of the year), the largest island of Antarctica, were discovered.

Home to the Baltic, the discoverers of Antarctica returned 5 August 1821 of the year. On that day, the sloops Vostok and Mirny entered the Kronstadt raid and soon anchored in the same places that 751 took off from a day ago. Astern, they had 49 720 nautical miles — two and a quarter of the equator, or nearly 100 000 kilometers! In addition to Antarctica, during the expedition of the "Southern Division" 29 islands and one coral reef were discovered, many of which received the names of Russian sailors - participants in a unique voyage. But still, in the history of both the Russian fleet and world science, everyone who was aboard the sloops Vostok and Mirny will forever remain as people who made the largest geographical discovery after the beginning of the 19th century — the opening of the sixth continent, “the unknown Southern Land , The discovery of Antarctica.
Author:
Originator:
http://rusplt.ru/wins/kak-russkie-moryaki-otkryili-antarktidu-20965.html
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. triglav
    triglav 4 February 2016 13: 21
    +4
    Eternal glory to the heroes! It was necessary to declare this land the property of the Russian crown, as the British did, either the Spaniards or the French.
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 4 February 2016 16: 40
      +2
      To do this, it was necessary to land on the beach and stick the flag of the country.
      But neither Bellingshausen nor the Englishman Bransfeld, who came across
      to Antarctica 2 days later the Russians (in another place) could not (physically) do this.
  2. jaguar
    jaguar 4 February 2016 13: 25
    +7
    I don’t know how it is now, but during my studies about the world around Kruzenshtern and Bellingshausen any schoolboy knew

Как русские моряки открыли Антарктиду

Как русские моряки открыли Антарктиду


28 января 1820 года с бортов шлюпов «Восток» и «Мирный» люди впервые увидели антарктические берега

После кругосветного плавания знаменитого английского исследователя Джеймса Кука вопрос о существовании «неизвестного Южного материка» — Terra Australia incognita — считался не просто закрытым, а неприличным. Кук, отправившийся в свое путешествие горячим сторонником существования материка южнее 50 параллели, вернулся из него столь же горячим противником этой идеи. И на основании его исследований и выводов и английские, и французские ученые постановили, что никаких материков в районе Южного полюса нет и быть не может.


Однако множество явлений довольно ясно свидетельствовали об обратном. К тому же, как ни высок был авторитет Кука, но в начале XIX столетия он уже подвергался серьезной критике. И нет ничего удивительного в том, что русские моряки, для которых этот период стал временем выхода на просторы Мирового океана, замахнулись и на исследование южных полярных морей. В активе русского флота уже были первая в его истории кругосветная экспедиция Ивана Крузенштерна и Юрия Лисянского, предпринятая в 1803-1806 годах, и кругосветное путешествие Василия Головнина на шлюпе «Диана» в 1807-1809 годах, и кругосветка Отто Коцебу на бриге «Рюрик», растянувшаяся с 1815 по 1818 год. И все результаты этих путешествий говорили о том, что южный полярный материк должен существовать.

Чтобы доказать это предположение, требовалась отдельная экспедиция, задача которой была бы исключительно узкой и сводилась бы к поиску южного материка. Именно так и сформулировал свою идею командир первой русской кругосветной экспедиции Иван Крузенштерн, направивший 31 марта 1819 года морскому министру России маркизу Ивану де Траверсе письмо о необходимости исследования полярных вод. Крузенштерн предлагал организовать сразу две экспедиции — к Северному и к Южному полюсу, и в каждую включить по два судна. Соответственно, эти пары получили названия «Южная дивизия» и «Северная дивизия». Командиром «Южной дивизии» по предложению Крузенштерна стал капитан второго ранга Фаддей Беллинсгаузен, которого вдохновитель экспедиции хорошо знал как подчиненного в своем первом кругосветном путешествии. Под непосредственное командование Беллинсгаузену передали шлюп «Восток» британской постройки, а командиром второго корабля — шлюпа «Мирный», построенного по проекту русских инженеров Колодкина и Курепанова, был лейтенант Михаил Лазарев. Примечательно, что его младший брат Алексей Лазарев вскоре тоже ушел в полярный поход: лейтенантом на шлюпе «Благонамеренный» в составе «Северной дивизии».

Шлюпы «Южной дивизии», экипажи которых были полностью укомплектованы добровольцами — и надо заметить, что недостатка в желающих не было, скорее наоборот! — вышли в свое историческое плавание из Кронштадта 16 июля 1819 года. В документах экспедиции ее цель была сформулирована кратко и довольно расплывчато: открытия «в возможной близости Антарктического полюса». В этой расплывчатости крылся свой смысл: предугадать результаты исследований не взялся бы ни один ученый того времени, а под «возможной близостью» скрывались все южные воды как Тихого и Атлантического, так и Индийского океанов — воды, которые интересовали русский флот как область возможной экспансии.

Первой остановкой на далеком пути «Южной дивизии» стал английский Портсмут, где корабли задержались на месяц, дозакупаясь необходимым оборудованием и снаряжением. От берегов Британии «Восток» и «Мирный» двинулись в сторону Бразилии, сделав короткую остановку на острове Тенерифе, а потом добравшись до Рио-де-Жанейро. Этот путь русским морякам уже был знаком по прежним кругосветным плаваниям. А вот после Бразилии, по мере того, как шлюпы спускались все дальше на юг, начинались области совершенно новые.

27 января (по новому стилю) 1820 года русские шлюпы впервые в истории отечественного флота пересекли Южный полярный круг. А на следующий день «Восток» и «Мирный» подошли вплотную к ледяному барьеру Антарктического материка. В своем экспедиционном дневнике командующий «Южной дивизии» описал это событие так: «Продолжая путь на юг, в полдень на широте 9°21'28" и долготе 2°14'50" мы встретили льды, которые представлялись нам сквозь шедший снег в виде белых облаков». А командир шлюпа «Мирный» лейтенант Михаил Лазарев позднее в письме своему другу и однокашнику по Морскому корпусу Алексею Шестакову нашел более эмоциональные слова: «16 января достигли мы широты 69°23' S, где встретили матерый лед чрезвычайной высоты, и в прекрасный тогда вечер, смотря на салингу, простирался оный так далеко, как могло только достигать зрение… Отсюда продолжали мы свой путь к осту, покушаясь при всякой возможности к зюйду, но всегда встречали льдяной материк, не доходя 70°… Открылась, наконец, та матерая на юге земля, которую так долго искали и существование коей сидевшие филозофы в кабинетах своих полагали необходимым для равновесия земного шара».

Но русские моряки не ограничились одним лишь первым знакомством с новым материком. Продолжая двигаться на восток и не оставляя попыток вновь и вновь продвинуться дальше на юг, они каждый раз натыкались на «матерый лед», убеждаясь, что имеют дело с материковым берегом, а не островами. В конце концов в начале февраля корабли развернулись на север и вскоре пришли в австралийский Сидней. Пополнив запасы и подправив рангоут и такелаж, шлюпы в мае на три месяца вышли в тропические воды Тихого океана, а затем, вновь вернувшись ненадолго в Сидней, 31 октября опять двинулись в сторону новооткрытой земли. Не оставляя попыток продвинуться как можно южнее, «Восток» и «Мирный» в конце концов обошли Антарктиду вокруг, окончательно доказав не только существование нового материка, но и то, что он, вопреки идеям некоторых географов, никак не соединяется с Южной Америкой. Во время второй фазы антарктического плавания были открыты остров Петра I (22 января 1821 года) и Земля Александра I (29 января 1821 года) — крупнейший остров Антарктики.

Домой, на Балтику первооткрыватели Антарктиды вернулись 5 августа 1821 года. В этот день шлюпы «Восток» и «Мирный» вошли на рейд Кронштадта и вскоре встали на якоря на тех же местах, с которых снялись 751 день назад. За кормой у них были 49 720 морских миль — два с четвертью экватора, или почти 100 000 километров! Помимо Антарктиды, в ходе экспедиции «Южной дивизии» были открыты 29 островов и один коралловый риф, многие из которых получили имена русских моряков — участников уникального плавания. Но все-таки в истории и русского флота, и мировой науки все, кто был на борту шлюпов «Восток» и «Мирный», навсегда останутся как люди, совершившие крупнейшее географическое открытие после начала XIX века — открытие шестого материка, «неизвестной Южной земли», открытие Антарктиды.
Автор: Сергей Антонов
Первоисточник: http://rusplt.ru/wins/kak-russkie-moryaki-otkryili-antarktidu-20965.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. triglav 4 февраля 2016 13:21
    Вечная слава героям! Надо было эту землю объявить собственностью Российской короны, как англичане делали или испанцы, да и французы.
    1. voyaka uh 4 февраля 2016 16:40
      Для этого надо было высадиться на берег и воткнуть флаг страны.
      Но ни Беллинсгаузен, ни англичанин Брансфельд, который наткнулся
      на Антарктиду на 2 дня позже русских (в другом месте) не смогли (физически) сделать этого.
  2. ягуар 4 февраля 2016 13:25
    Не знаю как сейчас но во время моей учебы про кругосветку Крузенштерна и Беллинсгаузена знал любой школьник

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня