Military Review

Wooden fish of Monturiol

14
Wooden fish of Monturiol



155 years ago, 7 February 1861, Barcelona hosted the first public demonstration with the immersion of the first Spanish submarine "Iktino", developed by the inventor Narcis Monturiol. A small triple underwater vehicle with a displacement of 10 tons and a length of seven meters resembled a fish and was made of oak and olive wood. He was set in motion by the muscular power of two sailors who rotated the screw. The stock of compressed air and the carbon dioxide absorption system were absent, so the time to stay safely under water was short.

The boat was not intended for practical use and was a purely experimental product, as well as a technology demonstrator. At first glance, it did not contain anything avant-garde, such hand-operated submarines had been built before. However, the new art of Monturiol was that he made his unit two-body. Between the lightweight outer casing and durable inner tank located ballast water. This scheme was used for the first time, and after a few decades it became classical. The solid hull was an oak cylinder with 15 centimeters thick walls and only one meter in diameter, so the crew probably didn’t feel very comfortable in it.

"Iktino" was made with high quality and withstand immersion to a depth of 20 meters, which for those times was a record. The inventor believed that he could fall to 50 meters, but did not dare to check it in practice. However, the speed of the device, like the majority of "manual" submarines, was very low: only two nodes on the surface and even less - under water. In the 1862 year, after about fifty successful test dives, the Iktino, which stood at the pier, was crushed by a steamer that flew over it. But Monturiol was not very sorry about this, since he already had a project for a much larger and more complete engine submarine.
On the screen saver - an artist depicting Monturiol in a mock "Iktino" at a parade in honor of the culture of Catalonia.





Full-size mock "Iktino", exhibited in Barcelona. Attention is drawn to the original "twin" screw. Obviously, Monturiol believed that this design is more efficient.



The second submarine of Narsis Monturiol was built by crowdfunding. The inventor announced a nationwide subscription, and he managed to so much interest his compatriots with the idea of ​​underwater fleetthat they collected a very decent amount of 300 thousand pesetas. For comparison, with this money it was possible to build five sailing frigates or two steam frigates. And Monturiol built on them the world's first submarine with a heat engine, called "Iktineo-II." At the same time, the engine he invented was absolutely unique.

It was a combined steam power plant with six cylinders and two boilers. When driving on the surface, it acted like a regular steam engine with a coal furnace that heated one boiler that worked for three cylinders. Before immersion, the firebox was extinguished, and under water, the second boiler was turned on, also working on three cylinders, but heated by the exothermic reaction of the interaction of zinc powder with manganese dioxide and potassium chlorate. During this reaction, oxygen was released, refreshing the atmosphere inside the enclosure.

The Iktinio II had a displacement of 46 tons, a length of 17 meters, and its robust body could accommodate up to 20 people. The power of the coal steam engine was 6 hp, and the "chemical" - just 2 hp Of course, for the 46-ton vessel this was clearly not enough. Initially, Monturiol intended to build a metal submarine, but the amount collected was not enough. Therefore, the Iktinio II, like its predecessor, turned out to be wooden, with only metal parts and assemblies. And he was also purely experimental, without any adaptations for military or commercial use.

The submarine was launched in Barcelona in the spring of 1865 of the year, and on May 22 she successfully dived to 30 meters, thus breaking the Iktinio-I record. However, the engine did not turn on. Then in the tests for some reason there was a long break. Perhaps the inventor was engaged in fine-tuning the power plant and making some changes in the design. In the 1867 year, the Iktino II already walked on the surface on a steam drive, reaching the maximum speed of the 22 node on October 4,5. In the same autumn, attempts were made to use a chemical steam generator for an underwater course, but nothing is known about their results. We can only assume that they were not very successful.

In the meantime, the money from Monturiol was over, and the search for new sponsors and attempts to dislodge government funding were unsuccessful. Moreover, he, as a shipowner, was demanded to pay the corresponding tax for three years. And the inventor already had debts almost in 100 thousand pesetas. He had no choice but to declare himself bankrupt. The submarine was confiscated in repayment of debt, and the creditors, not knowing what to do with it, sent the Yktinine II for scrap in 1868. So ended the first in Spain experiments on the creation of submarines.





Drawings "Iktino II", where you can see its structure. The two-hull boat layout is clearly visible.





Full-size mock "Iktino II", exhibited in the seaport of Barcelona.



Details of the design.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/438107.html
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. EvgNik
    EvgNik 14 February 2016 07: 02
    +8
    But just beautiful little ships. And if you look closely, little has changed since then. Well, yes, sizes, engines, weapons, and more. But the concept is the same.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 14 February 2016 07: 30
    +9
    Thank you, but fine work, however .. and beautiful .. Narsis Monturiol also invented a method of copying letters, a continuous printing method, a high-speed gun, a special method of preserving meat, a mechanism for making cigarettes, and more. He was a prolific inventor ..
  3. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 14 February 2016 07: 59
    +6
    He was a talented inventor. And thorough, which is not at all characteristic of inventors. Such a completely new technology, and testing by diving thirty meters, swimming in the water position at a decent speed! And no casualties! Only the absolute lack of technology for creating underwater engines did not allow further advancement of this very nice development.
  4. Riv
    Riv 14 February 2016 09: 07
    +9
    The submarine of the southerners "Hunley" will go on a military campaign (successful!) Just three years later. But how many disasters did the Americans have before this became possible? The same "Hunley" sank THREE TIMES. The last two times - together with the crew. The third is with the inventor himself. And the Spaniard succeeded in diving with a world record on the first try.

    Unique in fact.
    1. Nicola Bari
      Nicola Bari 15 February 2016 10: 49
      0
      What is interesting - if the Americans make a movie about how they, heroically overcoming, sculpted their boat, then the bulk of people will “know” who is the best swimmer under water. Nobody will remember the Spaniards.
  5. igordok
    igordok 14 February 2016 10: 01
    +5
    Author, have a conscience. Wooden submarines were invented by ancient Ukrainians or ancient Turks. They have not figured out who is the first, but they will demand money from the Spaniards. This is in their blood.
    Sorry that in a technical article I remembered about Ukraine, but she got it. repeat
    1. avt
      avt 14 February 2016 10: 52
      +4
      Quote: igordok
      Wooden submarines were invented by ancient Ukrainians or ancient Turks.

      You will not believe ! But just recently it turned out that they weren’t, but ..... TURKS! request laughing
      1. lelikas
        lelikas 14 February 2016 11: 21
        +6
        Quote: avt
        You will not believe ! But just recently it turned out that they weren’t, but ..... TURKS!

        Yes, I read the title of the article, like the fishes of Mariupol ,,,,,
        1. Nicola Bari
          Nicola Bari 15 February 2016 10: 53
          0
          Following the ancient Ukrainian logic - Monturiol was a native Mariupol. And he came up with a submarine so that lard could be more convenient to eat and not share.
  6. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 14 February 2016 10: 49
    +2
    Thanks to the author for the article!
    I think that with an iron structure, it would have turned out better.
  7. guzik007
    guzik007 14 February 2016 19: 40
    +2
    You can see right away, cho-cho, and the Spaniards knew how to make good barrels of wine.
    1. mirag2
      mirag2 14 February 2016 21: 12
      0
      You can see right away, cho-cho, and the Spaniards knew how to make good barrels of wine
      subtle remark. hi
    2. mirag2
      mirag2 14 February 2016 21: 12
      0
      You can see right away, cho-cho, and the Spaniards knew how to make good barrels of wine
      subtle remark. hi
  8. Alex
    Alex 19 February 2016 16: 27
    +2
    Here's what interested me:
    a second boiler was turned on under water, also working on three cylinders, but heated due to the exothermic reaction of the interaction of zinc powder with manganese dioxide and potassium chlorate. In this reaction, oxygen was released, refreshing the atmosphere inside the enclosure.
    Potassium chlorate - Bertoletova salt. Judging by the size and the required performance, the stock of reagents on board should have been solid. Praise to the Almighty that this boat was not used for long, otherwise the Spanish submariners would have every chance to become the first astronauts, repeating the feat of Wang Gu.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


155 лет назад, 7 февраля 1861 года, в Барселоне состоялся первый публичный показ с погружением первой испанской подводной лодки "Иктинео", разработанной изобретателем Нарсисом Монтуриолем. Небольшой трехместный подводный аппарат водоизмещением 10 тонн и длиной семь метров по форме напоминал рыбу и был сделан из дуба и оливкового дерева. Он приводился в движение мускульной силой двух матросов, вращавших винт. Запас сжатого воздуха и система поглощения углекислого газа - отсутствовали, поэтому время безопасного пребывания под водой было недолгим.

Лодка не предназначалась для практического применения и была чисто экспериментальным изделием, а также - демонстратором технологий. На первый взгляд, она не содержала ничего авангардного, подобные субмарины с ручным приводом строились и ранее. Однако новторство Монтуриоля заключалось в том, что он сделал свой аппарат двухкорпусным. Между легким наружным корпусом и прочным внутренним располагались цистерны водяного балласта. Такая схема была применена впервые, а через несколько десятилетий она стала классической. Прочный корпус представлял собой дубовый цилиндр с толщиной стенок 15 сантиметров и диаметром всего в один метр, так что, экипаж в нем наверняка чувствовал себя не очень комфортно.


"Иктинео" был сделан качественно и выдерживал погружения на глубину до 20 метров, что для тех времен являлось рекордом. Изобретатель считал, что он может опускаться и на 50 метров, но проверить это на практике не рискнул. Правда, скорость аппарата, как и у большинства "ручных" субмарин была очень низкой: всего два узла на поверхности и еще меньше - под водой. В 1862 году, после примерно полусотни успешных испытательных погружений, "Иктинео", стоявший у причала, был раздавлен налетевшим на него пароходом. Но Монтуриоль не очень жалел об этом, так как у него уже родился проект гораздо более крупной и совершенной субмарины с двигателем.
На заставке - артист, изображающий Монтуриоля в макете "Иктинео" на параде в честь для культуры Каталонии.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Полноразмерный макет "Иктинео", выставленный в Барселоне. Обращает на себя внимание оригинальный "сдвоеннный" винт. Очевидно, Монтуриоль считал, что такая конструкция более эффективна.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Вторая субмарина Нарсиса Монтуриоля строилась методом краудфандинга. Изобретатель объявил общенародную подписку, и ему удалось настолько сильно заинтересовать соотечественников идеей подводного флота, что они собрали весьма приличную сумму в 300 тысяч песет. Для сравнения, на эти деньги можно было соорудить пять парусных фрегатов или два паровых. А Монтуриоль построил на них первую в мире подводную лодку с тепловым двигателем, получившую название "Иктинео-II". При этом изобретенный им двигатель был абсолютно уникальным.

Он представлял собой комбинированную паросиловую установку с шестью цилиндрами и двумя котлами. При движении на поверхности она действовала как обычная паровая машина с угольной топкой, которая разогревала один котел, работваший на три цилиндра. Перед погружением топку гасили, а под водой включался второй котел, тоже работавший на три цилиндра, но нагревавшийся за счет экзотермической реакции взаимодействия цинкового порошка с диоксидом марганца и хлоратом калия. При этой реакции выделялся кислород, освежавший атмосферу внутри корпуса.

"Иктинео-II" имел водоизмещение 46 тонн, длину 17 метров, а его прочный корпус вмещал до 20 человек. Мощность угольной паровой машины составляла 6 л.с., а "химической" - всего 2 л.с. Конечно, для 46-тонного судна этого было явно маловато. Поначалу Монтуриоль намеревался строить субмарину из металла, но набранной суммы на это не хватило. Поэтому "Иктинео-II", как и его предшественник, получился деревянным, лишь с отдельными металлическими деталями и узлами. И он так же был чисто экспериментальным, без каких-либо приспособлений для военного или коммерческого применения.

Субмарину спустили на воду в Барселоне весной 1865 года, а 22 мая она успешно совершила погружение на 30 метров, побив тем самым рекорд "Иктинео-I". Однако двигатель при этом не включался. Потом в испытаниях почему-то наступил длительный перерыв. Возможно, изобретатель занимался доводкой силовой установки и внесением каких-то изменений в конструкцию. В 1867 году "Иктинео-II" уже ходил по поверхности на паровой тяге, достигнув 22 октября максимальной скорости 4,5 узла. Той же осенью предпринимались попытки задействовать химический парогенератор для подводного хода, но об их результатах ничего не известно. Можно лишь предположить, что они оказались не очень успешными.

Тем временем, деньги у Монтуриоля закончились, а поиски новых спонсоров и попытки выбить государственное финансирование успехом не увенчались. Мало того, от него, как от судовладельца, потребовали выплатить соответствующий налог за три года. А на изобретателе уже висели долги почти в 100 тысяч песет. Ему не оставалось ничего иного, кроме как объявить себя банкротом. Субмарину конфисковали в погашение задолженнности, а кредиторы, не зная, что с ней делать, в 1868 году отправили "Иктинео-II" на слом. Так закончились первые в Испании опыты по созданию подводных лодок.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Чертежи "Иктинео-II", на которых можно рассмотреть ее устройство. Хорошо видна двухкорпусная схема лодки.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Полноразмерный макет "Иктинео-II", выставленный в морском порту Барселоны.

Деревянные рыбки Монтуриоля


Детали конструкции.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/438107.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 14
  1. EvgNik 14 февраля 2016 07:02
    А ведь просто красивые судёнышки. И если приглядеться, то мало что изменилось с тех пор. Ну да, размеры, двигатели, вооружение и прочее. Но концепция то та же.
  2. parusnik 14 февраля 2016 07:30
    Спасибо, а тонкая однако, работа..и красивая..Нарсис Монтуриоль также изобрел метод копирования писем, метод непрерывной печати, скоростную пушку, особый метод сохранения мяса, механизм для изготовления сигарет и другое.Плодовитым был изобретателем..
  3. Горный стрелок 14 февраля 2016 07:59
    Талантливый был изобретатель. И тщательный, что изобретателям совсем не свойственно. Такая абсолютно новая технология, и проверка погружением на тридцать метров, плавание в надводном положении с приличной скоростью! И никаких потерь личного состава! Только абсолютное отсутствие технологий для создания двигателей подводного хода не позволило далее продвинуть эту очень симпатичную разработку.
  4. Riv 14 февраля 2016 09:07
    Подлодка южан "Ханли" выйдет в боевой поход (успешный!) всего три года спустя. Но сколько катастроф у американцев было, прежде чем это стало возможным? Та же "Ханли" тонула ТРИЖДЫ. Последние два раза - вместе с экипажем. Третий - с самим изобретателем. А у испанца погружение с мировым рекордом получилось с первого раза.

    Уникально на самом деле.
    Riv
    1. Никола Бари 15 февраля 2016 10:49
      Что интересно - если американцы снимут кино о том, как они, героически превозмогая, ваяли свою лодку, то основная масса людей так и будет "знать", кто лучше всех поплыл под водой. Про испанцев то никто и не вспомнит.
  5. igordok 14 февраля 2016 10:01
    Автор, имей совесть. Деревянные подлодки были изобретены древнеукрами или древнетурками. Они еще не разобрались кто первые, но с испанцев деньги затребуют. Это у их в крови.
    Извините, что в технической статье вспомнил про украину, но она достала. feel
    1. avt 14 февраля 2016 10:52
      Цитата: igordok
      Деревянные подлодки были изобретены древнеукрами или древнетурками.

      Вы не поверите ! Но вот буквально недавно выяснилось что не они , а .....ТУРКИ ! request laughing
      avt
      1. леликас 14 февраля 2016 11:21
        Цитата: avt
        Вы не поверите ! Но вот буквально недавно выяснилось что не они , а .....ТУРКИ !

        Да я и название статьи прочитал , как рыбки Мариуполя ,,,,,
        1. Никола Бари 15 февраля 2016 10:53
          Следуя древнеукрской логике - Монтуриоль был коренным Мариупольцем. А подводную лодку придумал, что бы сало можно было сподручнее есть и не делиться.
  6. Робертъ Невский 14 февраля 2016 10:49
    Спасибо автору за статью!
    Считаю, что с железной конструкцей, получилось бы лучше.
  7. guzik007 14 февраля 2016 19:40
    Сразу видно-чо-чо ,а бочки под вино испанцы хорошие делать умели.
    1. mirag2 14 февраля 2016 21:12
      Сразу видно-чо-чо ,а бочки под вино испанцы хорошие делать умели
      тонкое замечание. hi
    2. mirag2 14 февраля 2016 21:12
      Сразу видно-чо-чо ,а бочки под вино испанцы хорошие делать умели
      тонкое замечание. hi
  8. Алекс 19 февраля 2016 16:27
    Меня вот что заинтересовало:
    под водой включался второй котел, тоже работавший на три цилиндра, но нагревавшийся за счет экзотермической реакции взаимодействия цинкового порошка с диоксидом марганца и хлоратом калия. При этой реакции выделялся кислород, освежавший атмосферу внутри корпуса.
    Хлорат калия - бертолетова соль. Судя по размерам и необходимой производительности, запас реактивов на борту должен был быть солидным. Хвала всевышнему, что эту лодку эксплуатировали недолго, иначе у испанских подводников появились бы все шансы стать ещё и первыми космонавтами, повторив подвиг Ван Гу.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня