Military Review

Gun waltz

17
Gun waltz



82 a year ago, 13 February 1934 of the year, came the climax of the four-day civil war that erupted on the eve of Austria. The artillery of the government troops opened fire with high-explosive and chemical shells at the proletarian quarters of Vienna, in which detachments of the workers' militia and Shutsbund, the militant wing of the Social Democratic Party, defended themselves.

The Social Democrats and the Communists who supported them revolted in an attempt to resist the onslaught in the country of the clerical-fascist dictatorship led by the local "Fuhrer" Engelbert Dolfus. In 1933, Dolphus, relying on the far-right Christian Social Party (CSU), the fasteist organization of the Fatherland Front and church circles, carried out a coup d'état. He broke up the parliament, banned all parties except the CSU and the Vaterlandish Front, introduced censorship and launched reprisals against political opponents. Mass arrests and construction of concentration camps began in the country.

Due to the fact that on the side of Half-hearted, the regular army came out, the uprising was quickly suppressed. By February 16, the military and Heimwere troops of the Vaterlandish Front armed militia eliminated the last centers of resistance of the Schutzbundis. In street battles, according to various sources, people died from 1300 to 1600, of which the rebels were about 1000, the rest were soldiers and heymverovtsy. Dozens of captured rebels were shot or hanged, thousands fled abroad.

As a result of the defeat of the uprising in Austria, a regime was established, which four years later led to its absorption by Nazi Germany. True, Dolphus himself did not live to see it. Fearing competitors both “left” and “right”, he banned not only the communist, socialist and social democratic parties, but also the Nazi NSDAP. In retaliation in July 1934, he was shot by SS man Otto Planet. However, this is different история.

And on the screensaver "Star of Shutsbund", carved on a rock in Kislovodsk by Austrian immigrants - participants in the uprising, who decided after the flight from the country to move to the USSR. At first they were greeted enthusiastically and settled in the North Caucasus, but in 1937-38, most of them were declared “fascist agents” and repressed.



Left: Engelbert Dolfus speaking at the Ф Vaterlandish Front rally. Right: caricature photo collage "The Führer is big and the Führer is small." Dolphus was really almost a dwarf, his height was only 148 centimeters.



A group of Heimvera fighters with the Schwarzlose machine gun.





Demonstrations shutsbundtsev held in Austria before the ban of this organization. In order to differ from the ultra-right militants, the Social Democratic militias wore not horned stalhelmy, but rounded helmets of the French and Italian type.



The building of the working commune of Karl Marx, which in February 1934-th one of the main strongholds of the Vienna insurgents.



The Austrian army arrives in Vienna.





Police armored cars "Skoda" Czechoslovak production, who took an active part in street fighting. The rebels did not have artillery and any other armor-piercing weaponsable to withstand these machines.



Soldiers with light field howitzer near the Schiff hotel.







Artillery from the embankment of the Danube firing on the rebels, entrenched on the opposite bank.



Map of Vienna with marked street fighting spots. Right: killed Heimvers.



Death machine gunner.



Traces of the work of artillery. On the left is the commune of Karl Marx, on the right is the commune of Schlingerhof.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/440921.html
17 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. AlexW
    AlexW 22 February 2016 06: 13 New
    22
    I am ashamed, but I must admit that there was a complete gap in knowledge about the history of Austria in the pre-war period. Besides the Anschluss, I could not remember anything. I saw a star in Kislovodsk, but did not attach any importance to it. Article plus. Special thanks for the photo. Cognitive and encourages the search for additional information.
    1. Riv
      Riv 23 February 2016 07: 53 New
      +3
      In the USSR, this page of history was not advertised. The fact is that about the support of the uprising by the Communists - this is an exaggeration. For the Austrian Communists, the uprising was a surprise. He was raised by the Social Democrats, and the Bolsheviks ruled out the possibility for the Social Democrats, as Compromisers, of organizing an armed uprising based on the proletariat.

      Therefore, the uprising turned out so short. If the rebels had normal support from the USSR ... But no one asked Stalin for help.
  2. kugelblitz
    kugelblitz 22 February 2016 07: 05 New
    +8
    The symbol of the Austrian nationalists directly with the symbol of una-unso echoes. Raguli cannot come up with anything of their own, they even stole the symbolism of their old curators! wassat
    And since there, as I remember, it was not so simple, Dolphuss was more a fascist than a National Socialist. He was patronized by the Italians and when Otto Strasser, the head of the left-wing nationalist organization "Black Front", fled from Hitler to Austria, like our National Bolsheviks, he was received with caution. As before the death of Dolphuss himself, the NSDAP was not accepted.
    In general, looking from the outside bell tower, these performances were more like a minus. Firstly, then fascism and National Socialism, to put it mildly, did not combine in views and competed among themselves. Secondly, formally independent fascist Austria would later become Hitler’s same burden as Italy, Hungary, and Romania. And thirdly, after the uprising and the assassination of Dolphus, the rapprochement between the Italian fascist party and the NSDAP began ... all this later poured into Spain and so on and so forth ...
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 22 February 2016 18: 20 New
      +1
      "First, then, fascism and National Socialism did not combine in views and
      competed with each other "////

      It's right. Mussolini did not recognize the very concept of nation, and Hitler ridiculed Hitler’s Aryan theory
      (... Italians - the heirs of the Roman Caesars - are the most cultured and cool, not the northern primitives ...) smile .
      Mussolini exaggerated the topic: "Latin world" (meaning - the world of Latin, the Latin language, the foundations of European culture, etc.)

      The article is excellent.
  3. parusnik
    parusnik 22 February 2016 07: 44 New
    13
    Dolphus was killed by militants of the Austrian SS on July 25, 1934, after his death on July 29, 1934, Chancellor of Austria became Kurt Schuschnigg. He announced a plebiscite on the preservation of Austria's independence, Hitler demanded that the plebiscite be canceled and Schuschnigg resigned. Austrian President Wilhelm Miklas accepted Hitler’s terms. On March 12, the next day, German troops crossed the border of Austria to include it in the Third Reich. Anschluss of Austria took place ... So when they say that the Anschluss of Austria and the return of Crimea to Russia are the same thing .. this is far from it .. Thank you to the author for interesting photos .. and comments on them ..
  4. X Y Z
    X Y Z 22 February 2016 08: 13 New
    +6
    After reading the article, the statement of historians becomes more understandable that in Europe, in the 30s, there were about 15 dictatorial regimes.
  5. moskowit
    moskowit 22 February 2016 10: 06 New
    +6
    Read about this page in the history of Austria at Remarque. He has a cycle of stories about Jewish emigration from European countries, where Nazi influence was intensified, to Austria and through it to France and the USA ...
  6. kunstkammer
    kunstkammer 22 February 2016 15: 07 New
    +6
    Glory to all the heroes who fell in the fight against Nazism!
    1. gladcu2
      gladcu2 23 February 2016 17: 29 New
      0
      kunstkammer

      Maybe use the word "glory" on the word "memory" ...

      And it somehow sounds Ragulian. Rather, the word "glory" will be beaten in fashion, regardless of the continuation.
  7. AlexW
    AlexW 22 February 2016 16: 41 New
    +5
    "The Austrian Chancellor died defending his principles. And this is not so common in our cynical time." (FROM)
  8. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 22 February 2016 17: 02 New
    +6
    The officers and generals of the collapsing empire were looking for at least some embodiment of their ideals (well, not ideals, then - goals for which they had served for 10-20-30 years before and shed blood. Austria after 1918 was a little separate and even - independent, and here - again the Anschluss.
    A little bit is in historical temporal terms. And for many people, this temporary piece has become a tragedy.
    Some "states" since 1991, having declared independence, are still waiting for someone to conquer them again. No worries, no hassle, in everything in 50 years the occupier will be to blame, who finally built the road from the town hall to the bell tower. It's not customary to remember people ...
  9. Pre-cat
    Pre-cat 22 February 2016 21: 54 New
    +2
    Quote: Sergey-8848
    Some "states" since 1991, having declared independence, are still waiting for someone to conquer them again. No worries, no hassle, in everything in 50 years the occupier will be to blame, who finally built the road from the town hall to the bell tower. It's not customary to remember people ...

    Moreover, after another 50 occupiers will be to blame for the fact that they did not build something. laughing
  10. Pomeranian
    Pomeranian 22 February 2016 22: 48 New
    0
    The article is the biggest plus. I did not even hear about the uprising in Austria, thanks to the author, the gap is closed. Of course, history does not tolerate subjunctive moods, but what would happen if the left defeated ??
    1. AlexW
      AlexW 22 February 2016 23: 13 New
      0
      Quote: Pomoryanin
      The article is the biggest plus. I did not even hear about the uprising in Austria, thanks to the author, the gap is closed. Of course, history does not tolerate subjunctive moods, but what would happen if the left defeated ??

      I suppose there would have been a civil war and intervention by Nazi Germany and Nazi Italy. Austria would have been bled with blood, as earlier in 19. Tips in Hungary.
  11. Grishka cat
    Grishka cat 22 February 2016 23: 59 New
    +1
    Most likely Mussolini would have retreated and Austria would still have been under Germany. In1934, and not in 1938.
  12. Partisan Kramaha
    Partisan Kramaha 23 February 2016 18: 59 New
    0
    Something very reminiscent of modernity. Very similar to 404
    1. Conrad
      Conrad 24 February 2016 20: 28 New
      0
      Quote: Partizan Kramaha
      Something very reminiscent of modernity. Very similar to 404

      What does it look like ?! Complete identity. That's just the main thing has not yet been shot!

Пушечный вальс

Пушечный вальс


82 года назад, 13 февраля 1934 года, наступил кульминационный момент вспыхнувшей накануне в Австрии четырехдневной гражданской войны. Артиллерия правительственных войск открыла огонь бризантными и химическими снарядами по пролетарским кварталам Вены, в которых оборонялись отряды рабочей милиции и Шуцбунда - боевого крыла социал-демократической партии.

Социал-демократы и поддержавшие их коммунисты подняли восстание, пытаясь противостоять наступлению в стране клерикально-фашистской диктатуры во главе с местным "фюрером" Энгельбертом Дольфусом. В 1933 году Дольфус, опираясь на крайне правую Христианско-социальную партию (ХСС), фашистскую организацию "Фатерляндиш фронт" и церковные круги, совершил государственный переворот. Он разогнал парламент, запретил все партии, кроме ХСС и "Фатерляндиш фронта", ввел цензуру и развернул репрессии против политических противников. В стране начались массовые аресты и строительство концлагерей.


Благодаря тому что на стороне Дольфуса выступила регулярная армия, восстание было быстро подавлено. К 16 февраля военные и отряды Хеймвера - вооруженного ополчения "Фатерляндиш фронта" ликвидировали последние очаги сопротивления шуцбундовцев. В уличных боях, по разным данным, погибло от 1300 до 1600 человек, из них порядка 1000 восставших, остальные - солдаты и хеймверовцы. Десятки захваченных в плен повстанцев были расстреляны или повешены, тысячи - бежали за границу.

В результате поражения восстания в Австрии установился режим, который через четыре года привел ее к поглощению нацистской Германией. Правда, сам Дольфус до этого не дожил. Опасаясь конкурентов как "слева", так и "справа", он запретил не только коммунистическую, социалистическую и социал-демократическую партии, но и нацистскую НСДАП. В отместку его в июле 1934 года застрелил эсэсовец Отто Планетта. Однако это уже другая история.

А на заставке "Звезда Шуцбунда", высеченная на скале в Кисловодске австрийскими эмигрантами - участниками восстания, решившими после бегства из страны перебраться в СССР. Сперва их встретили восторженно и поселили на Северном Кавказе, но в 1937-38 годах большинство из них объявили "фашистскими агентами" и репрессировали.

Пушечный вальс


Слева: Энгельберт Дольфус выступает на митинге "Фатерляндиш фронта". Справа: карикатурный фотоколлаж "Фюрер большой и фюрер маленький". Дольфус действительно был почти карликом, его рост составлял всего 148 сантиметров.

Пушечный вальс


Группа бойцов Хеймвера с пулеметом "Шварцлозе".

Пушечный вальс


Пушечный вальс


Демонстрации шуцбундовцев, проходившие в Австрии до запрета этой организации. Чтобы отличаться от ультраправых боевиков, социал-демократические боевые дружины носили не рогатые штальхельмы, а округлые каски французского и итальянского образца.

Пушечный вальс


Здание рабочей коммуны имени Карла Маркса, ставшее в феврале 1934-го одним из главных опорных пунктов венских повстанцев.

Пушечный вальс


Австрийская армия прибывает в Вену.

Пушечный вальс


Пушечный вальс


Полицейские броневики "Шкода" чехословацкого производства, принимавшие активное участие в уличных боях. У повстанцев не было артиллерии и какого-либо иного бронебойного оружия, способного противостоять этим машинам.

Пушечный вальс


Солдаты с легкой полевой гаубицей возле отеля Шиффа.

Пушечный вальс


Пушечный вальс


Пушечный вальс


Артиллерия с набережной Дуная ведет огонь по восставшим, закрепившимся на противоположном берегу.

Пушечный вальс


Карта Вены с отмеченными местами уличных боев. Справа: убитые хеймверовцы.

Пушечный вальс


Смерть пулеметчика.

Пушечный вальс


Следы работы артиллерии. Слева - коммуна имени Карла Маркса, справа - коммуна Шлингерхоф.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/440921.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 17
  1. AlexW 22 февраля 2016 06:13
    Стыдно, но должен признать, что полнейший пробел в знаниях об истории Австрии в предвоенный период.Кроме аншлюса ни чего и не мог вспомнить.Видел в Кисловодске звезду, но совершенно не придал ей значения. Статье плюс.Особая благодарность за фото. Познавательно и побуждает к поискам дополнительной информации.
    1. Riv 23 февраля 2016 07:53
      В СССР эту страничку истории не афишировали. Дело в том, что насчет поддержки восстания коммунистами - это преувеличение. Для австрийских коммунистов восстание было неожиданностью. Его подняли социал-демократы, а большевики исключали возможность для социал-демократов, как для соглашателей, организации вооруженного восстания с опорой на пролетариат.

      Поэтому и восстание получилось таким коротким. Будь у восставших нормальная поддержка со стороны СССР... Но Сталина о помощи никто не попросил.
      Riv
  2. kugelblitz 22 февраля 2016 07:05
    Символ то австрийских националистов прямо с символом уна-унсо перекликается. Рагули ничего своего придумать не могут, даже символику у своих давних кураторов сперли! wassat
    А так там как помню было не все так однозначно, Дольфус был скорее фашистом, чем национал-социалистом. Ему покровительствовали итальянцы и когда от Гитлера в Австрию, бежал Отто Штрассер, руководитель националистической организации левого толка "Черный Фронт", наподобии наших нацболов, его приняли насторожено. Как до смерти самого Дольфуса не принимали и НСДАП.
    В целом глядя с нонешней колокольни, данные выступления были скорее как минус. Во первых тогда фашизм и национал-социализм мягко сказать не сочетались по взглядам и конкурировали между собой. Во вторых формально независимая фашисткая Австрия стала бы позже такой же обузой Гитлеру, как Италия, Венгрия и Румыния. Да и в третьих после восстания и убийства Дольфуса, началось сближение итальянской фашисткой партии и НСДАП....все это вылилось потом в Испанию и прочее-прочее ...
    1. voyaka uh 22 февраля 2016 18:20
      "Во первых тогда фашизм и национал-социализм мягко сказать не сочетались по взглядам и
      конкурировали между собой"////

      Это верно. Муссолини не признавал само понятие - нации, а арийские теории Гитлера высмеивал
      ( ... итальянцы - наследники Римский Цезарей - самые культурные и крутые, а не северные примитивы...) smile .
      Муссолини муссировал тему: "латинский мир" (имелось в виду - мир латыни, латинского языка, основы культуры европы и т.п...)

      Статья - отличная.
  3. parusnik 22 февраля 2016 07:44
    Дольфус был убит боевиками австрийских СС 25 июля 1934 года, после его смерти 29 июля 1934 года канцлером Австрии стал Курт Шушниг.Он объявил плебисцит о сохранении Австрией независимости , Гитлер потребовал отменить плебисцит, отправить Шушнига в отставку. Президент Австрии Вильгельм Миклас принял условия Гитлера. 12 марта, на следующий день, немецкие войска пересекли границу Австрии, чтобы включить её в состав Третьего рейха. Аншлюс Австрии состоялся...Так что,когда говорят, что аншлюс Австрии и возвращение Крыма в состав России,это одно и тоже..это далеко не так..Спасибо автору, за интересные фото..и комментарии к ним..
  4. XYZ 22 февраля 2016 08:13
    Прочитав статью становится более понятным утверждение историков, что в Европе, в 30-е годы было порядка 15 диктаторских режимов.
    XYZ
  5. moskowit 22 февраля 2016 10:06
    О этой странице истории Австрии читал у Ремарка. Есть у него цикл повестей о еврейской эмиграции из стран Европы, где усиливалось нацистское влияние, в Австрию и через неё во Францию и США...
  6. kunstkammer 22 февраля 2016 15:07
    Слава всем героям павшим в борьбе с нацизмом!
    1. gladcu2 23 февраля 2016 17:29
      kunstkammer

      Может слово "слава" применяйте на слово "память"...

      А то как-то по рагульски звучит. Скорее за слово " слава" будут в моду бить не обращая внимания на продолжение.
  7. AlexW 22 февраля 2016 16:41
    "Австрийский канцлер погиб, отстаивая свои принципы. А это в наше циничное время встречается не так уж часто." (С)
  8. Сергей-8848 22 февраля 2016 17:02
    Офицеры и генералы развалившейся империи искали хоть какого-то воплощения своих идеалов (ну не идеалов, то - целей, за которые они до этого по 10-20-30 лет служили и кровь проливали. Австрия после 1918 г. чуточку побыла отдельной и даже - независимой, и тут - опять аншлюс.
    Чуточку - это в исторических временных понятиях. А для множества людей этот временной кусок стал трагедией.
    Некоторые "государства" с 1991 года, объявив независимость, так и ждут, чтобы их кто-нибудь снова завоевал. Ни забот, ни хлопот, во всём через 50 лет будет виноват оккупант, построивший наконец дорогу от ратуши до колокольни. О людях вспоминать как-то не принято...
  9. Кот недоученый 22 февраля 2016 21:54
    Цитата: Сергей-8848
    Некоторые "государства" с 1991 года, объявив независимость, так и ждут, чтобы их кто-нибудь снова завоевал. Ни забот, ни хлопот, во всём через 50 лет будет виноват оккупант, построивший наконец дорогу от ратуши до колокольни. О людях вспоминать как-то не принято...

    Более того, ещё через 50 оккупанты будут виноваты в том, что что то не построили. laughing
  10. Поморянин 22 февраля 2016 22:48
    Статье самый большой плюс. Даже не слышал о восстании в Австрии, благодаря автору пробел закрыт. Разумеется, история не терпит сослагательных наклонений, но что было б если левые победили??
    1. AlexW 22 февраля 2016 23:13
      Цитата: Поморянин
      Статье самый большой плюс. Даже не слышал о восстании в Австрии, благодаря автору пробел закрыт. Разумеется, история не терпит сослагательных наклонений, но что было б если левые победили??

      Полагаю была-бы война гражданская и интервенция нацисткой Германии и фашисткой Италии.Залили-бы кровью Австрию, как ранее в 19г. Советы в Венгрии.
  11. Кот Гришка 22 февраля 2016 23:59
    Скорее всего Муссолини бы отступил и Австрия все-равно оказалась бы под Германией. В1934 году,а не в 1938-м.
  12. Партизан Крамаха 23 февраля 2016 18:59
    Что-то сильно из современности напоминает.Очень на 404 похоже
    1. Конрад 24 февраля 2016 20:28
      Цитата: Партизан Крамаха
      Что-то сильно из современности напоминает.Очень на 404 похоже

      Да чё там напоминает?! Полная идентичность. Вот только главного пока не застрелили!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня