Military Review

English double-barreled flint pistols with boxlock lock

14



The website HistoryPistols.ru has already published articles on flint pistols with a boxlock lock. We talked about Road flintlock pistols with a boxlock lock, as well as about the Duck Foot flint pistol or as it is sometimes called the Hand of Death.

Today we want to present you double-barreled flint pistols with a boxlock lock.

The article will consider two types of pistols: with horizontal and vertical barrels.



The first pistol is an English double-barreled flint pistol with a horizontal arrangement of barrels and a dagger fixed on the right barrel. The gun consists of a brass frame, steel trigger guard, wooden handle and a pair of steel trunks. In the frame of the pistol is installed a conventional flintlock boxlock, trigger and safety mechanisms. The total length of the gun 197 mm.



63,5 mm pistol barrels are made of steel. Channels trunks rifled. The rifling bore at the muzzle is formed in the cross section of an asterisk with eight rays. Visually, it seems that the cuts are so deep that they almost cut through the trunk. 0.50 barrel bore caliber.



At the top of the frame, behind the trigger is located the safety lever. When moving the lever forward, it blocks the trigger and does not allow it to leave the combat or safety platoon.

A short dagger or triangular stylet is soldered to the lateral surface of the right trunk. Barrels are twisted from the pistol frame for loading weapons. The presence of the blade on the right barrel forces the arrow to load the weapon first to unscrew the left barrel, then the right one, and after charging, to twist them into the frame in reverse order.

English double-barreled flint pistols with boxlock lock


The blade is hinged on the weapon and is held in the combat and field position with a special lock. The lock button is located at the top of the base of the blade. In the stowed position, the leaf spring, installed at the base of the blade, compresses and, when the lock button is pressed, turns the blade into a combat position.



At first glance it may seem that this is just a salvo double-barreled pistol. In fact, a special crane mechanism is built into the frame of the pistol, thanks to which the shooter can alternately fire from one and then from the second barrel. The lever of the crane mechanism is located on the left side of the frame and is a bracket. When the crane turns, one of the two chambers with the gunpowder opens alternately. Each chamber is connected with only one seed hole with a left or right barrel.



On the frame of the gun marked with a digital marking. On the right side is the “4” digit, on the left side - the “3” digit. Similar figures are applied respectively on the right and left barrel. The presence of marking numbers allows the shooter not to confuse the barrels when loading and assembling weapons. A lever is placed on the right side of the frame, which probably acts as a fuse for the crane mechanism.



On the left side of the frame engraved, depicting banners and military paraphernalia, as well as the text marking. The marking indicates the name of the manufacturer and the city of release of the weapon: Patrick Liverpool.



On the underside of the frame there are British foster stamps: the lower stamp of the external examination and the upper stamp of the shooting test.



This English double-barreled flint pistol was sold at an American auction for 2850 dollars.



The second pistol is an English double-barreled flint pistol with a boxlock lock and a vertical arrangement of barrels. This gun is quite large compared to conventional pistols made with a boxlock lock. The total length of the gun 229 mm, the length of the barrels 102 mm, caliber 0.44.



The pistol differs from the previous one only in the frame design, due to the vertical placement of the barrels, the lack of a blade and the peculiarities of the outer finish of the weapon.



The safety mechanism of this gun when moving to the extreme forward position not only blocks the trigger, but also the powder shelf lid. The front part of the safety lever enters the hole in the lid of the powder shelf and prevents the weapon from firing.



The crane mechanism has a similar design. The lever of turn of the crane mechanism is placed on the left side of the frame.



This gun was sold in 2014 year at one of the gun auctions for 1250 dollars.



Double-barreled pistols were made by masters both in the form of single samples and in sets. Here is an example where a pair of double-barreled road pistols are placed in a weapons box trimmed inside with green cloth. In addition to the pistols in the compartments of the drawer, a screwdriver, a vise for combat springs, a ramrod and a powder flask are laid. In a closed compartment are bullets and spare flints. The original twin pistol kits represent a huge historical and collectible value.
Originator:
http://historypistols.ru/blog/kremnevye-pistolety/anglijskie-dvustvolnye-kremnevye-pistolety-s-zamkom-boxlock/
14 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. tchoni
    tchoni 22 February 2016 07: 17
    +5
    Great article about a very entertaining weapon. I would also like to see material on flintlock revolvers.
    1. mirag2
      mirag2 22 February 2016 11: 46
      +2
      The article is excellent and the sample is interesting.
      ps laughing sorry for the user of the pistol, because the loading process is by no means easy laughing
    2. mirag2
      mirag2 22 February 2016 11: 46
      +1
      The article is excellent and the sample is interesting.
      ps laughing sorry for the user of the pistol, because the loading process is by no means easy laughing
      1. tchoni
        tchoni 22 February 2016 11: 50
        +2
        Well, how did you want? -) "If you like to shoot - love and with a ramrod, dr." :-)
  2. alex-cn
    alex-cn 22 February 2016 07: 23
    +2
    Interesting article. and weapons are interesting.
    Apparently the first described pistol existed in pairs. Obviously, there should have been a 1 and 2 barrel.
  3. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 22 February 2016 07: 38
    0
    As for me, the vertical is more compact. And for the road more suitable.
    The idea itself is very good, especially considering the speed of reloading weapons of those years, and the sequential reloading of two barrel pistols is much faster than reloading two single-barrel pistols.
    1. Mordvin 3
      Mordvin 3 22 February 2016 12: 54
      +2
      Quote: cth; fyn
      in addition, the sequential reloading of two barrel pistols is much faster than reloading two single-barrel pistols.

      I doubt it. Here it is necessary to unscrew the trunks in order to charge this thing.
      1. cth; fyn
        cth; fyn 22 February 2016 13: 43
        0
        What for? It’s muzzle-loading. He poured gunpowder into the barrel, put in bullets, rammed it, poured gunpowder into the ignition hole, cocked it and shoot it.
        1. Mordvin 3
          Mordvin 3 22 February 2016 16: 29
          +5
          So the article says. Read carefully. And why - I myself do not understand. what
          1. cth; fyn
            cth; fyn 23 February 2016 03: 13
            +1
            I re-read it, and there really is such, but for some reason at first I thought it only applied to the first.
            Apparently this is all due to the presence of rifling. In fact, this is a one-time weapon, but it's a pity that such a theory has disappeared.
  4. bootlegger
    bootlegger 22 February 2016 12: 32
    +2
    The meaning of slicing in the trunks is not very clear. Weapons of clearly melee and beyond 10 meters from it make no sense to shoot, even with rifled barrels. A 50-caliber bullet will surely be quite stable in flight at this distance and in a smooth-bore version. Approximately like a 20-caliber rifle. But the loading speed will greatly, in the threaded version, decrease.
  5. napalm
    napalm 22 February 2016 14: 19
    +2
    Finally, in the article about weapons !!!
  6. cap
    cap 22 February 2016 19: 00
    0
    Very informative. I would also have to look for myself to know what to look for. To the author +.
  7. voyaka uh
    voyaka uh 23 February 2016 14: 38
    +2
    It would be nice in addition to the story to publish
    images (or pictures) of bullets, bags of gunpowder, wads.
    It’s not easy for us now to understand how charging and firing took place then.
    Draw a diagram or something.

Английские двуствольные кремневые пистолеты с замком boxlock



Сайт HistoryPistols.ru уже публиковал статьи о кремневых пистолетах с замком boxlock. Мы рассказывали про Дорожные кремневые пистолеты с замком boxlock, а так же о кремневом залповом пистолете Duck Foot или как его иногда называют Рука смерти.


Сегодня мы хотим представить Вам двуствольные кремневые пистолеты с замком boxlock.

В статье будут рассмотрены два типа пистолетов: с горизонтальным и вертикальным расположением стволов.



Первый пистолет — это английский двуствольный кремневый пистолет с горизонтальным расположением стволов и кинжалом, закрепленным на правом стволе. Пистолет состоит из латунной рамки, стальной спусковой скобы, деревянной рукоятки и пары стальных стволов. В рамке пистолета установлен обычный кремневый замок boxlock, спусковой и предохранительный механизмы. Общая длина пистолета 197 мм.



Стволы пистолета длиной 63,5 мм изготовлены из стали. Каналы стволов нарезные. Нарезы канала ствола у дульного среза образуют в сечении звездочку с восемью лучами. Визуально складывается впечатление, что нарезы настолько глубокие, что почти насквозь прорезают ствол. Калибр канала ствола 0.50.



В верхней части рамки, позади курка размещен рычаг предохранителя. При перемещении рычага вперед он блокирует курок и не дает ему сорваться с боевого или предохранительного взвода.

К боковой поверхности правого ствола припаян короткий кинжал или трехгранный стилет. Стволы выкручиваются из рамки пистолета для заряжания оружия. Наличие клинка на правом стволе вынуждает стрелка для снаряжения оружия вначале откручивать левый ствол, затем правый, а после заряжения вкручивать их в рамку в обратной последовательности.

Английские двуствольные кремневые пистолеты с замком boxlock


Клинок шарнирно закреплен на оружии и удерживается в боевом и походном положении специальным фиксатором. Кнопка фиксатора размещена в верхней части основания клинка. В походном положении пластинчатая пружина, установленная в основании клинка, сжимается и при нажатии на кнопку фиксатора разворачивает клинок в боевое положение.



На первый взгляд может показаться, что это просто залповый двуствольный пистолет. На самом же деле в рамку пистолета встроен специальный крановый механизм, благодаря которому стрелок может поочередно вести огонь сначала из одного, а затем из второго ствола. Рычаг кранового механизма расположен с левой стороны рамки и представляет собой скобу. При повороте крана поочередно открывается одна из двух камер с затравочным порохом. Каждая камера соединена лишь одним затравочным отверстием с левым или правым стволом.



На рамке пистолета нанесена цифровая маркировка. С правой стороны цифра «4», с левой — цифра «3». Аналогичные цифры нанесены соответственно на правом и левом стволе. Наличие цифр маркировки позволяет стрелку не перепутать стволы при заряжании и сборке оружия. С правой стороны рамки размещен рычаг, который вероятно выполняет функцию предохранителя для кранового механизма.



На левой стороне рамки нанесена гравировка, изображающая знамена и военную атрибутику, а так же текст маркировки. Маркировка указывает наименование производителя и город выпуска оружия: Патрик из Ливерпуля (Patrick Liverpool).



На нижней стороне рамки нанесены британские приемные клейма: нижнее клеймо внешнего осмотра и верхнее клеймо испытания стрельбой.



Данный английский двуствольный кремневый пистолет был продан на одном из американских аукционов за 2850 долларов.



Второй пистолет — это английский двуствольный кремневый пистолет с замком boxlock и вертикальным расположением стволов. Данный пистолет достаточно крупный по сравнению с обычными пистолетами, изготовленными с замком boxlock. Общая длина пистолета 229 мм, длина стволов 102 мм, калибр 0.44.



Пистолет отличается от предыдущего лишь конструкцией рамки, обусловленной вертикальным размещением стволов, отсутствием клинка и особенностями внешней отделки оружия.



Предохранительный механизм данного пистолета при перемещение в крайнее переднее положение не только блокирует курок, но и крышку пороховой полки. Передняя часть рычага предохранителя входит в отверстие крышки пороховой полки и препятствует выстрелу из оружия.



Крановый механизм имеет аналогичную конструкцию. Рычаг поворота кранового механизма размещен с левой стороны рамки.



Данный пистолет был продан в 2014 году на одном из оружейных аукционов за 1250 долларов.



Двуствольные пистолеты изготавливались мастерами как в виде единичных образцов, так наборами. Вот пример, где пара дорожных двуствольных пистолетов уложена в оружейный ящик, отделанный внутри зеленым сукном. Помимо пистолетов в отсеках ящика уложены отвертка, тисочки для боевых пружин, шомпол и пороховница. В закрытом отсеке располагаются пули и запасные кремни. Оригинальные комплекты парных пистолетов представляют огромную историческую и коллекционную ценность.
Первоисточник:
http://historypistols.ru/blog/kremnevye-pistolety/anglijskie-dvustvolnye-kremnevye-pistolety-s-zamkom-boxlock/
Ctrl Enter

Заметив ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

14 комментариев
Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти