Military Review

The story of one spinning wheel

6
Another one история o heirloom. And this story also has pages “written” during the war ...


***

In the Kobylkin family there were four men: the father - Fedor Artemyevich, and three sons: Pavel, Fedor and Peter. Feodor Artemyevich's wife died when her youngest son was four years old. The boys and father learned how to farm themselves. Pavel knitted socks and vests - no wonder they say that knitting is better in men's hands. Pavel sold his products on the market, and with great success. Fedor baking cottage cheese pancakes. Peter wove from wicker baskets. And Fyodor Artemyevich was a notable fisherman. He made fishing rods himself, knew fish places, caught not only for his family, but also his neighbors. So they lived.

... boys grew up. The eldest, Paul, was about to get married. But the fire and burned the land and the people of civil war. The brothers now no longer lived at home, and when they came, they tried to keep quiet about their affairs. More questioned about how the collective economy is now being established. Father met them with joy. Years bent back, whitened hair, made it almost deaf. Even in his youth, he lost a leg, now a home-made wooden prosthesis was tied to his knee. And in previous years, this leg is often sick, and now and did not give rest.

Once, when it became impossible to sleep from pain, Fedor Artemyevich left the house. I went to the outskirts of the native village of Ilino (today it is the territory of the Lipetsk region, very close to the regional center), where collective farm hay was stored. He expected to see the watchman near the stacks. And I saw three neighbors, three brothers. Silently, they quickly pulled a pile of hay from a stack, carried them to the road where the cart stood. They stole collective farm good ...

Fyodor Artemyevich heard badly and walked poorly. But the vision is kept sharp, the mind is firm. He shouted that he was strong:
- People! For help! Hay steal!

But the villagers were far away, and the thieves were close. The eldest of the brothers (they did not give me the names and surnames) first jumped to the old man, pierced with a pitchfork. Two others followed suit ...

When, awakened by a cry, people arrived, the bandits were gone. At the stack lay only Fedor Artemyevich. He was still alive. On his body, villagers counted 21 wound.

The next morning, Paul, who learned about the misfortune, came to his dying father. That's what he managed to bequeath to his son:
- When I die, take off the prosthesis. Marry - you make your spindle spinning wheel. This will be your memory. And the house is yours. Rebuild it - forget about me.

***

Pavel fulfilled his father’s order. Made a spindle and saved it for the time being. True, it did not come soon - the Great Patriotic War was ahead.

All three went to the front in the first days. Fedor defended Leningrad, it happened that he drove food along the Life Road to a blockade city - he drove his car famously. For the defense of Leningrad received a medal. There was also the Order of the Patriotic War of the third degree - for the capture of a German officer. Killed near Warsaw.
Peter was missing. But then Fedor managed to find out that he died while crossing the Dnieper.

And the elder brother went through the whole war in the infantry. He fought at Stalingrad, liberated Belarus, reached Berlin and signed on the wall of the Reichstag. And the cherished wand was with him all the time. He took it for his fellow countryman, Tanya, but did not make the spindle yet ...

Returning from the front, Pavel Fyodorovich married, his son Ilya was born. The boy grew up very restless and inquisitive. At four years old (!) He learned to weave baskets and knit socks. And in five years he decided to learn how to spin wool. There were sheep in the Kobylkin farm, but there was no spinning wheel. Pavel's wife, Tatyana Ivanovna, knew how to spin, but she gave her spinning wheel to her younger sister when she got married.

Pavel recalled his father's order. He took out a piece of wood that once replaced his father's leg, wanted to make a spindle out of it. But for him birch is needed, and his father's memo was from solid maple. But it turned out a column - the vertical part of the spinning wheel. Then Paul made the wheel, but could not find the right wood for the spindle. Needed a young birch.

Help the father decided son. Outside the village was a collective farm apiary, and birch trees grew nearby. Ilyusha slowly stole a knife from his father and went to the treasured trees. I chose a young whitelist, climbed on it and cut down a small but strong branch.

The bees did not tolerate an uninvited guest. In a matter of minutes, a large black cloud gathered, flew at the boy. Ilya grabbed the branch and, brushing it off the bees, rushed to the house at full speed ... Already the boy got from his parents and the beekeeper! And in the fever lay for a long time. But the spinning wheel was completely ready.

***

Ilya Pavlovich Kobylkin, the grandson of Fyodor’s grandfather, presented the very spinning wheel to his niece, Svetochka, nine years old, Popova. But the girl did not want to learn to spin. She adapted the family heirloom to another occupation — polished fragments of shells with a spinning wheel, and then made beautiful beads from them. One day, Sveta inadvertently pressed a fragment of shells to the wheel and cut them into the thumb pad. A small, almost imperceptible shell fragment stuck in a deep wound. The hand was swollen, rotting. I had to go to the doctor.

- Strange cut! - he was surprised. - How did it happen?
The girl told.
“You'd better learn how to spin,” the doctor advised.
“You should see what a spinning wheel we have!” Old, ugly. Her museum must pass, and not to keep the house!
- Ugly ?! - the doctor was even more surprised. And suddenly he smiled: - Where do you live? I'll come to visit you. Your spinning wheel will be as good as new!

No one in the village of Lipovka of the Dobrovsky District knew that Dr. Arkady Mikhailovich Zatonishchev had golden hands. Sveta found out about it first. Arkady Mikhailovich temporarily took the spinning wheel to his home. Re-polished, painted a special, made according to his own "recipe", golden paint. Beauty turned out - and only. And Sveta learned to spin! But not because now the spinning wheel has become different, but because I understood the most important thing: the main beauty is hidden in human labor.

***

Svetlana Sergeevna Popova and now lives in the village Lipovka. The doctor, Arkady Mikhailovich, has long died. His wonderful paint was erased. I had to replace the wheel - the old one was broken into two halves from time to time. Svetlana Sergeyevna herself re-painted the spinning wheel - now it looks like a new one.

Yes, but not in beauty matter, but in memory. Svetlana Sergeevna remembers that the lower part of the spinning wheel once helped Fyodor Artemyevich Kobylkin to walk. That the spindle was cut from a birch by her uncle, being a boy. He remembers the lesson of a rural doctor. And now she almost doesn’t spin - bad vision affects.

Beautiful spinning wheel. Not a new paint, but a careful attitude to the memory of people.


The photo shows Pavel Kobylkin on the left.
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 25 February 2016 07: 35
    +4
    But it’s not a matter of beauty, but of memory.... Yes .. it is so ... To the depths of my soul .. Thank you, Sophia ..
  2. Terner38
    Terner38 25 February 2016 07: 48
    +2
    I rarely read such stories to the end, but here I was "hooked". Thank you!
  3. Xpyct89
    Xpyct89 25 February 2016 08: 10
    +1
    All three went to the front in the first days. Fedor defended Leningrad, it happened that he drove food along the Life Road to a blockade city - he drove his car famously. For the defense of Leningrad received a medal. There was also the Order of the Patriotic War of the third degree - for the capture of a German officer. Killed near Warsaw.
    Peter was missing. But then Fedor managed to find out that he died while crossing the Dnieper.


    "There was also the Order of the Patriotic War of the third degree" belay something i missed in this life sad
    1. Sofia
      25 February 2016 18: 54
      +1
      Oh, it was sealed up, sorry, please. That blundered something.
  4. Larysa54
    Larysa54 25 February 2016 17: 59
    +1
    An interesting family story. Unfortunately, not every one of us can boast that he knows his ancestors well, especially those who are not already alive. In childhood, people are more willing to communicate with peers, and when we grow up, often there is no one to ask.
  5. engineer
    engineer 25 February 2016 18: 46
    +2
    the story is good. although the Order of the Patriotic War was only two degrees. but it is not so important.

История одной прялки

Ещё одна история о семейной реликвии. И в этой истории тоже есть страницы, «написанные» во времена войны...

***

В семье Кобылкиных было четверо мужчин: отец - Фёдор Артемьевич, и три сына: Павел, Фёдор и Пётр. Жена Фёдора Артемьевича умерла, когда младшему сыну исполнилось четыре года. Мальчики и отец научились вести хозяйство сами. Павел вязал носки и жилеты — недаром говорят, что вязание лучше получается в мужских руках. Свои изделия Павел продавал на рынке, и большим успехом. Фёдор пёк творожные лепёшки. Петя плёл из ивовых прутьев корзины. А Фёдор Артемьевич был знатным рыболовом. Удочки делал сам, знал рыбные места, ловил не только для своей семьи, но и соседям. Так и жили.


…Выросли мальчики. Старший, Павел, собрался жениться. Но огнём обожгла землю и людей гражданская война. Братья теперь подолгу не жили дома, а когда приезжали, о своих делах старались молчать. Больше расспрашивали о том, как теперь налаживается коллективное хозяйство. Отец встречал их с радостью. Годы согнули спину, побелили волосы, сделали практически глухим. Ещё в молодости он потерял ногу, теперь к его колену был привязан самодельный деревянный протез. И в прежние годы эта нога часто болела, а сейчас и вовсе не давала покоя.

Однажды, когда спать от боли стало невозможно, Фёдор Артемьевич вышел из дома. Отправился на окраину родного села Ильино (сегодня – территория Липецкого района, совсем рядом с областным центром), где хранилось колхозное сено. Около стогов он ожидал увидеть сторожа. А увидел трёх соседей, трёх братьев. Молча, быстро они дёргали со стога охапки сена, относили их к дороге, где стояла телега. Воровали колхозное добро...

Фёдор Артемьевич плохо слышал и плохо ходил. Но зрение сохранил острое, ум твёрдый. Он закричал, что было сил:
– Люди! На помощь! Сено воруют!

Но селяне были далеко, а воры близко. Старший из братьев (имён и фамилии мне не назвали) первым подскочил к старику, проткнул вилами. Двое других последовали его примеру…

Когда, разбуженные криком, подоспели люди, бандитов уже не было. У стога лежал лишь Фёдор Артемьевич. Он был ещё жив. На его теле селяне насчитали 21 рану.

Утром следующего дня Павел, узнавший о несчастье, приехал к умирающему отцу. Вот что тот успел завещать сыну:
– Когда умру, сними протез. Женишься – сделаешь жене веретено для прялки. Это завещаю тебе как память. А дом и так ваш. Перестроите его — про меня забудете.

***

Павел выполнил наказ отца. Сделал веретено и приберёг его до поры до времени. Правда, она настала ещё не скоро — впереди была Великая Отечественная война.

Все трое ушли на фронт в первые же дни. Фёдор защищал Ленинград, случалось, возил по Дороге жизни продукты в блокадный город — машину он водил лихо. За оборону Ленинграда получил медаль. Был ещё Орден Отечественной войны третьей степени — за взятие немецкого офицера. Погиб под Варшавой.
Пётр пропал без вести. Но потом Фёдору удалось выяснить, что он погиб при форсировании Днепра.

А старший брат прошёл всю войну в пехоте. Воевал под Сталинградом, освобождал Белоруссию, дошёл до Берлина и расписался на стене Рейхстага. А заветная палочка-то всё время была при нём. Берёг он её для своей односельчанки Тани, но веретена пока не сделал...

Вернувшись с фронта, Павел Фёдорович женился, у него родился сын Илья. Мальчик рос очень непоседливым и любознательным. В четыре года (!) сам выучился плести корзины и вязать носки. А в пять лет решил научиться прясть шерсть. Овцы в хозяйстве Кобылкиных были, но не было прялки. Жена Павла, Татьяна Ивановна, прясть умела, да свою прялку отдала младшей сестре, когда та выходила замуж.

Вспомнил Павел отцовский наказ. Достал деревяшку, что заменяла когда-то отцу ногу, хотел сделать из неё веретено. Но для него нужна берёза, а отцовская памятка была из твёрдого клёна. Зато получился столбик – вертикальная часть прялки. Затем Павел сделал колесо, но никак не мог подобрать подходящую древесину для веретена. Нужна была молодая берёза.

Помочь отцу решил сынишка. За селом была колхозная пасека, а неподалёку росли берёзы. Илюша потихоньку стащил у отца нож и отправился к заветным деревьям. Выбрал молоденькую белоствольную, забрался на неё и срубил небольшую, но крепкую ветку.

Пчёлы не потерпели незваного гостя. В считанные минуты собралась большая чёрная туча, налетела на мальчишку. Илья схватил ветку и, отмахиваясь ею от пчёл, со всех ног бросился к дому… Уж и досталось мальчишке от родителей и пасечного сторожа! И в горячке долго лежал. Зато прялка была полностью готова.

***

Илья Павлович Кобылкин, внук деда Фёдора, подарил ту самую прялку своей племяннице, девятилетней Светочке Поповой. Но учиться прясть девочка не хотела. Она приспособила семейную реликвию к другому занятию – полировала при помощи прядильного колеса осколки ракушек, а затем мастерила из них красивые бусы. Однажды Света неосторожно прижала осколок ракушки к колесу и разрезала им подушечку большого пальца. Маленький, почти незаметный осколок ракушки застрял в глубокой ране. Рука распухла, загноилась. Пришлось идти к врачу.

– Странный порез! – удивился тот. – Как это случилось?
Девочка рассказала.
– Ты лучше прясть выучись, – посоветовал доктор.
– Вы бы видели, какая у нас прялка! Старая, некрасивая. Её в музей надо сдать, а не дома держать!
– Некрасивая?! – ещё больше удивился врач. И вдруг улыбнулся: – Вы где живёте? Я к вам в гости загляну. Будет твоя прялка как новенькая!

Никто в селе Липовка Добровского района не знал, что у доктора Аркадия Михайловича Затонищева золотые руки. Света узнала об этом первой. Аркадий Михайлович на время забрал прялку к себе домой. Заново отполировал, выкрасил особой, сделанной по собственному «рецепту», золотистой краской. Красота получилась — да и только. И Света научилась прясть! Но не потому, что теперь прялка стала другой, а оттого, что поняла самое главное: главная красота скрыта в труде человеческом.

***

Светлана Сергеевна Попова и сейчас живёт в селе Липовка. Доктор, Аркадий Михайлович, давно умер. Стёрлась его чудесная краска. Пришлось заменить и колесо – старое разломилось от времени на две половинки. Светлана Сергеевна сама заново покрасила прялку – теперь она будто новая.

Да только не в красоте дело, а в памяти. Помнит Светлана Сергеевна, что нижняя часть столбика прялки когда-то помогала ходить Фёдору Артемьевичу Кобылкину. Что веретено срезал у берёзы её дядя, будучи мальчиком. Помнит и урок сельского врача. А сама теперь почти не прядёт – сказывается плохое зрение.

Красива прялка. Не новой краской, а бережным отношением к памяти о людях.

История одной прялки
На фотографии Павел Кобылкин слева
Автор: Софья Милютинская


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 6
  1. parusnik 25 февраля 2016 07:35
    Да только не в красоте дело, а в памяти....Да ..это так..До глубины души..Спасибо, Софья..
  2. Terner38 25 февраля 2016 07:48
    Редко дочитываю подобные рассказы до конца , но тут прям "зацепило" .Спасибо!
  3. Xpyct89 25 февраля 2016 08:10
    Все трое ушли на фронт в первые же дни. Фёдор защищал Ленинград, случалось, возил по Дороге жизни продукты в блокадный город — машину он водил лихо. За оборону Ленинграда получил медаль. Был ещё Орден Отечественной войны третьей степени — за взятие немецкого офицера. Погиб под Варшавой.
    Пётр пропал без вести. Но потом Фёдору удалось выяснить, что он погиб при форсировании Днепра.


    "Был ещё Орден Отечественной войны третьей степени" belay что то я пропустил в этой жизни sad
    1. Софья 25 февраля 2016 18:54
      Ой, опечаталась, извините, пожалуйста. Вот оплошала-то.
  4. Larysa54 25 февраля 2016 17:59
    Интересная история семьи. К сожалению не каждый из нас может похвастаться тем, что хорошо знает своих предков, особенно тех, кого уже в живых не застали. В детстве люди охотнее общаются со сверстниками, а когда вырастаем, часто и спросить уже некого.
  5. инженер 25 февраля 2016 18:46
    история хорошая. хотя орден отечественной войны был только двух степеней. но это не так важно.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня