Military Review

Rocketman

8
Rocketman



90 years ago, 16 March 1926, the American inventor Robert Goddard launched the world's first liquid-fuel rocket. And although it was just a small and clumsy experimental model that took off only 12 meters, in fact it was the prototype of all current space rockets.

The model had the original "frame" scheme. To ensure stability in flight, Goddard placed the engine at the top, and the tanks with fuel and oxidant at the bottom. The fuel was gasoline, the oxidizer was liquid oxygen, the supply of these substances to the combustion chamber was carried out with compressed nitrogen, that is, an engine power supply circuit was used, which is still used in many liquid-propellant rockets. On the screen saver on the left - Goddard with his first product shortly before launch. On the right - the second, enlarged model, launched in a month.

The American leadership did not appreciate the promise of Goddard’s “toys”. Despite repeated requests, he did not receive support from the state and was forced to do his research on teaching earnings and money from sponsors, which were constantly lacking. However, in 1926 - 1942, he built and tested 35 of various missiles with several assistants who worked "for the idea". Despite the fact that these missiles were made, as they say, "on the knee", in a poorly equipped workshop and for a penny, many technical solutions were used in them for the first time, which later became classics of the world rocket production industry.

To stabilize the flight, gas rudders used from the gyroscopic autopilot were used, the combustion chamber and the engine nozzle were cooled with fuel components, and in 1936, Goddard first built and tested a multi-chamber rocket engine. In 1938, he decided to replace the pressure system with turbopumps, which made the missile much lighter, but could not find a company that would agree to make the appropriate unit with the necessary parameters for a little money.

The highest result of all Goddard rockets was reached by the LB product, which 27 February 1937 of the year soared to an altitude of about 3000 meters. Meanwhile, since the beginning of the 1930-s in Germany, similar surveys have also been conducted, and there they had generous state funding. The rocket program employed hundreds of engineers and technicians who had everything they needed, right down to entire factories. It is not surprising that by the end of the decade the Germans were far ahead of the American "lone handicraftsman". As early as December 1937, the A-3 rocket reached an altitude of 12 km, while in 1942 the next model A-4 went up 83 kilometers and fell 193 kilometers from the launch point. Goddard did not even dream of such results.

Later, on the basis of A-4, they made a combat ballistic missile V-2, which became one of the technical sensations of the Second World War, but this is another история.



One of the early Goddard rockets without a shell. The engine is clearly visible (still shirtless cooling), as well as welded tanks for fuel, oxidizer and compressed nitrogen.



Build a larger rocket on the stocks.



Goddard (second from right) and his volunteers pose with a rocket "type 4", which has risen to 610 meters.



Missile delivery to the launch position. Everything is very modest, in a rustic way.



The power plant of the rocket with four combustion chambers, launched in November 1936 year. Unfortunately, this rocket took off just 60 meters and exploded.



The tail of one of the most advanced Goddard rockets with gas and aerodynamic rudders.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/451718.html
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Signaller
    Signaller 26 March 2016 06: 05 New
    +4
    Honestly, I envy people who are stubborn. Especially in this path. He personally did the excursions in childhood. (written correctly excrement). Therefore, it’s an energetic, not a missile.
    1. Byshido_dis
      Byshido_dis 26 March 2016 12: 42 New
      -2
      American propaganda in action, with a choke, is essentially telling about unsuccessful experiments of farmers ... apparently they decided to keep silent about the FAA ...

      About FIRST American Astronauts и Astronaut everyone heard? Here from the same series))
      1. Kenneth
        Kenneth 26 March 2016 19: 23 New
        +1
        Calm your patriotism - it is out of place. The first LRE was made by the American Goddard. And nothing can be done about it. Our, and German developments were made later.
        1. warriordima
          warriordima 30 March 2016 00: 30 New
          0
          Unfortunately, our reality often does not allow justice)), and it turns out that the name does not come from the one who invented, but from the one who filed the patent and promoted the invention in the media. This is usually due to the lack of money from talented people. when the whole world was put on a money needle, everything is for sale and everything is bought, and the Russian people are not traders by nature, and the defenders are here we are outsiders at the capitalist developed West., well, this is not our battlefield, here we play by the rules of others and marked cards.
          1. Foofighter
            Foofighter April 4 2016 21: 19 New
            0
            The main thing is not about the "outsiders" Koroleva (and even a little founder) Tsiolkovskaya :-)
  2. Amurets
    Amurets 26 March 2016 09: 00 New
    +7
    Unfortunately, very little is known about the works of Robert Goddard, although I learned about him in childhood from books about Tsiolkovsky, Zander. Very little has been written about him. And only from this article I found out who was the first to apply technical solutions that became classics. For some reason, much is attributed to the Germans. Article plus.
  3. drags33
    drags33 26 March 2016 09: 03 New
    +5
    Everything new is created by selfless labor of ascetics, who love their job ... The first engine of Rudolph Diesel worked for only 3 (!) Minutes, after which the head collapsed and R. Diesel himself was almost killed by fragments. The ascetics (and there are less than 1% of the total mass of people) see much further than all of humanity. And it is with their hard work that they advance humanity along the path of progress in all spheres of human life.
  4. engineer
    engineer 26 March 2016 14: 30 New
    +1
    And there are a lot of these ascetics. Any invention is not born in one ge
    nialnoy head, and many. Then the struggle for priority. And the difference is 3-5 years maximum. Knowledge is not achieved alone. Newton himself said: I could see further, because I stood on the shoulders of giants.
  5. The comment was deleted.
  6. dakty
    dakty 27 March 2016 14: 39 New
    0
    In my opinion there was a film about him. I don’t remember the name.
    Bow to such people! It is these people who move mankind forward. Without them, mammoths would still be driven ...
  7. Disorder
    Disorder 31 March 2016 05: 26 New
    0
    Meanwhile, since the beginning of the 1930s, similar studies were also conducted in Germany

    In 1923, Professor G. Obert published the work "Rocket into Outer Space", which, among other things, contains projects of two-component liquid-propellant engines.
    Patent No. 484 064 dated 24.1926 "Liquid fuel gas rocket", issued to G. Schneider.
    In June 1927, the Society for Interplanetary Communications was organized in Breslau with the monthly magazine Raketa.
    Mismatch is obtained. It is possible that from the beginning of the 30s Goddard began to be interested in German developments, because it was at this time that the first German liquid rockets appeared.

Рокетмэн

Рокетмэн


90 лет назад, 16 марта 1926 года, американский изобретатель Роберт Годдард запустил первую в мире ракету на жидком топливе. И хотя это была всего лишь маленькая и неуклюжая экспериментальная модель, которая взлетела только на 12 метров, фактически она являлась прообразом всех нынешних космических ракет.

Модель имела оригинальную "рамную" схему. Для обеспечения устойчивости в полете Годдард разместил двигатель вверху, а баки с топливом и окислителем - внизу. Топливом служил бензин, окислителем - жидкий кислород, подача этих веществ в камеру сгорания осуществлялась сжатым азотом, то есть, была применена вытеснительная схема питания двигателя, которая и сейчас используется во многих жидкостных ракетах. На заставке слева - Годдард со своим первым изделием незадолго до пуска. Справа - вторая, увеличенная модель, запущенная через месяц.


В американском руководстве не оценили перспективности "игрушек" Годдарда. Несмотря на многократные просьбы, он так и не получил поддержки от государства и был вынужден заниматься своими исследованиями на преподавательские заработки и на деньги спонсоров, которых постоянно не хватало. Тем не менее, в 1926 - 1942 годах он с несколькими помощниками, работавшими "за идею", построил и испытал 35 различных ракет. Несмотря на то, что эти ракеты делались, как говорится, "на коленке", в слабооборудованной мастерской и за копейки, в них были впервые применены многие технические решения, впоследствии ставшие классикой мирового ракетостроения.

Для стабилизации полета использовались газовые рули, работавшие от гироскопического автопилота, камера сгорания и сопло двигателя охлаждались компонентами топлива, а в 1936 году Годдард впервые построил и испытал многокамерный ЖРД. В 1938 году он решил заменить вытеснительную систему подачи турбонасосами, что позволяло значительно облегчить ракету, однако не смог найти фирму, которая согласилась бы за небольшие деньги сделать соответствующий агрегат с необходимыми параметрами.

Наивысшего результата из всех годдардовских ракет достигло изделие L-B, которое 27 февраля 1937 года взлетело на высоту примерно 3000 метров. Между тем, с начала 1930-х годов в Германии тоже велись аналогичные изыскания, причем там они имели щедрое государственное финансирование. На ракетную программу работали сотни инженеров и техников, обладавшие всем необходимым, вплоть до целых заводов. Неудивительно, что к концу десятилетия немцы намного опередили американского "кустаря-одиночку". Уже в декабре 1937 года ракета А-3 достигла высоты 12 км, а в 1942-м следующая модель А-4 поднялась на 83 километра и упала в 193 километрах от точки запуска. Годдард о таких результатах даже не мечтал.

Позже на базе А-4 сделали боевую баллистическую ракету V-2, ставшиую одной из технических сенсаций Второй мировой войны, однако это уже другая история.

Рокетмэн


Одна из ранних годдардовских ракет без оболочки. Хорошо виден двигатель (еще без рубашки охлаждения), а также сварные баки для топлива, окислителя и сжатого азота.

Рокетмэн


Сборка более крупной ракеты на стапеле.

Рокетмэн


Годдард (второй справа) и его добровольные помощники позируют с ракетой "тип 4", которая поднялась на 610 метров.

Рокетмэн


Доставка ракеты на пусковую позицию. Всё очень скромно, по-деревенски.

Рокетмэн


Силовая установка ракеты с четырьмя камерами сгорания, запущенной в ноябре 1936 года. К сожалению, эта ракета взлетела всего на 60 метров и взорвалась.

Рокетмэн


Хвостовая часть одной из наиболее совершенных годдардовских ракет с газовыми и аэродинамическими рулями.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/451718.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 8
  1. Связист 26 марта 2016 06:05
    Честно- завидую людям упертым. Особенно в этой стезе. Сам лично экскрименты делал в детстве. ( написано верно экскрименты) . Поэтому счас энергетик- а не ракетчик.
    1. Byshido_dis 26 марта 2016 12:42
      Американская пропаганда в действии, с захлебом рассказывают по сути о не удачных экспериментах фермеров... про ФАУ видимо решили умолчать...

      Про ПЕРВЫХ американских Астронавтов и Астронавток все слышали? Вот из той же серии))
      1. Kenneth 26 марта 2016 19:23
        Успокойте ваш патриотизм - он не к месту. Первый ЖРД сделал американец Годдард. И ничего с этим не поделаешь. Наши, да и немецкие разработки были сделаны позже.
        1. warriordima 30 марта 2016 00:30
          К сожалению наша реальность допускает зачастую не справедливость)),и выходит на деле так ,что имя получает не тот кто изобрёл,а тот кто оформил патент и раскрутил изобретение в сми.Это происходит как правило из за отсутствия денежных средств у талантливых людей.Плохо когда весь мир посадили на денежную иглу,всё продаётся и всё покупается,а Русские люди по природе не торгаши,а воины-защитники вот мы и в аутсайдерах у капиталистически развитого Запада.,ну не наше это поле битвы,тут мы играем по чужим правилам и краплёными картами.
          1. FooFighter 4 апреля 2016 21:19
            Главное чтобы не про "аутсайдеров" Королеве (и даже немного основоположнике) Циолковской :-)
  2. амурец 26 марта 2016 09:00
    К сожалению очень мало известно о работах Роберта Годдарда,хоть и узнал я о нём в детстве,из книг о Циолковском,Цандере.Было о нём написано очень мало.И только из этой статьи я узнал,кто первым применил технические решения,ставшие классикой.Многое почему-то приписывается немцам.Статье плюс.
  3. drags33 26 марта 2016 09:03
    Все новое создается беззаветным трудом подвижников, любящим свое Дело... Первый двигатель Рудольфа Дизеля проработал всего 3 (!) минуты, после чего разрушилась головка и самого Р.Дизеля едва не убило осколками. Подвижники (а их меньше 1% в общей массе людей) видят гораздо дальше, чем все человечество. И они-то своим упорным трудом и продвигают человечество по пути прогресса во всех сферах жизни людей.
  4. инженер 26 марта 2016 14:30
    И этих подвижников много. Любое изобретение рождается не в одной ге
    ниальной голове , а у многих. Затем борьба за приоритет . А разница 3-5 лет максимум. Знания достигаются не одиночками. Сам Ньютон сказал : я смог увидеть дальше , потому что стоял на плечах гигантов.
  5. Комментарий был удален.
  6. dakty 27 марта 2016 14:39
    По-моему был фильм про него. Название не вспомню.
    Поклон таким людям! Именно такие люди двигают челочество вперед. Без них до сих пор мамонтов гоняли бы...
  7. Trouble 31 марта 2016 05:26
    Между тем, с начала 1930-х годов в Германии тоже велись аналогичные изыскания

    В 1923 г. профессор Г. Оберт опубликовывает работу "Ракета в космическое пространство", где помимо прочего приведены проекты двухкомпонентных жидкостных двигателей.
    Патент № 484 064 от 24.1926 г. "Жидкотопливная газовая ракета", выдан Г.Шнайдеру.
    Виюне 1927 г. в Бреслау организовывается "Общество межпланетных сообщений" с ежемесячным журналом "Ракета".
    Нестыковочка получается. Вполне возможно, что с начала 30-х годов Годдард начал интересоваться немецкими разработками, ведь именно на это время приходится появление первых немецких жидкостных ракет.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня