Military Review

Secrets of the Battle of Grekov

7
Secrets of the Battle of Grekov



The eminent Soviet battle painter, the Greeks, became a symbol of military art. But in his family there were many secrets that he was forced to hide. Fate led the artist on the military path. He was born on the Don, where the Cossack traditions of service have long since introduced boys to military culture.

The official biography of the artist said that the huge panorama “Defense of Sevastopol” was for Grekov the first great work that he performed with many talented students of Rubo.

He again tries to embark on the “peaceful” artistic rails, having written several landscapes, but the one-year conscription brings changes in his life. While serving the service, Grekov made many sketches that personify the uniqueness and originality of the Cuirassier, Pavlovsky, and Grenadier regiments.



In 1911, he changed his surname and patronymic. Now, instead of Mitrofan Pavlovich Martyshchenko, he became Mitrofan Borisovich Grekov.

This happened after the exhibition of his first work, which received universal praise and brought him the official title of the artist.



First World War, the German front. Few people realize that a simple orderly in a Cossack hundred not only fights with the Germans, but also writes pictures in his mind, so that later, in outline, to put them into practice. He is able to understand and accurately convey the character and life of a simple soldier. These are amazing drawings! If you look at his pencil sketches made around the year of 1914, then the maximum naturalism of the drawings is most striking. The artist manages to convey the thoughtfully-inspired face of a soldier who writes, perhaps the last piece of news home, but the Russian soldier is not thinking about the imminent death and pain. His face glows with happiness of touching his people through writing.

Severe wound. Homecoming. Revolution. All of these events are whirling like an avalanche in Grekov’s life and leave their red mark. And this trace is a civil war, when a brother goes to his brother, when blood ties are broken alive.

In the 1920 year, when the Red Army enters Novocherkassk, Grekov paints a painting entitled “Introduction of the Volodarsky Regiment to Novocherkassk” using canvas and oil. It is this picture that will become a dividing line that Greeks can no longer, and will not want to go, for ideological reasons.



He voluntarily puts on budenovka himself and goes to teach the first courses of military artists, organized on his own initiative. The new government needed talented people who could correctly build a military ideology in paintings and posters. Grekov succeeded in this task.

For which he was awarded high praise from the commander of the North Caucasus Military District, Klim Voroshilov. In his autobiographical essay, Grekov writes about this meeting in the following way: “In 1920, I meet the leaders of the First Cavalry Army, KE Voroshilov and SM Budyonny. I submit a note with a proposal to assist me in my intention to write on the topic of civil war. I attend a meeting about my proposal. I remember this conversation literally: one of the commanders says that we have an army without pants, and we will write pictures, Klimenty Efimovich replied to the commander: “You think wrong, we must have both the army and art,” and he promises to lead me paints from Moscow ".



Judging by the pictures, the artist’s paintings are also highly praised by Budyonny. “To the detachment to Budyonny” (1923), “Tachanka” (1925), “On a halt” “On a hike. First Horse (1927). In all the paintings, the main characters, in fact, are not people, but surprising, swift, lively horse fighting ("Red Army tachanka. Departure for the positions", 1933).

For several years, he creates several grand paintings. Practically in each of them, with rare exceptions, horses are present. He loved horses. With love I wrote out the character of a horse that had fallen into terrible war. He always interfered with the center of the composition of one or more horses. The paintings became alive, they moved, lived, breathed, rescued, attacked, defended, died, remaining forever imprinted on the canvas. This amazing technique of the artist's work became the basis for his subsequent creations.



But in 1926, he wrote a report on demobilization from the army for health reasons. He leaves the army to be closer to her: the current work takes him a lot of time, and he wanted to write as many pictures as possible. And he writes. Every year his new paintings are born: “The flight of the whites from Novocherkassk in 1920”, “Kombrig leads to the attack”.

"Fight for Rostov near the village of Generalsky Bridge", "Fight for Rostov under the Big Salami" (1926). Big Saly is a farm a few kilometers from Rostov, in the direction of Taganrog.



And finally, in the year 1929, on the anniversary of the First Cavalry Army, he created the first Soviet diorama “Taking Rostov”. Unfortunately, during the Second World War, this artist's creation was irretrievably lost. The circumstances of this loss are unknown.



About five years later, Grekov moved to Moscow to become one of the members of the Union of Soviet Artists. The Stalinist order - the painting "Perekop" consisting of four dioramas - was to become a monumental work of Soviet artistic art. And it was the Greeks who should have headed this grand business. That was the idea. But the Providence was destined to make it so that during the preliminary sketches in the Crimea the artist unexpectedly suffered a heart attack. 27 November 1934, he was gone. He was 52 of the year.



Relatives and friends of the artist were shocked by what happened. In memory of his friend, Voroshilov ordered to organize in the Stalin Special Separate Cavalry Brigade an art workshop of the amateur M. Red Greater. She marked the beginning of the creation of the same name studio of military artists.



Two schools are named after him: the Rostov Art School and the Odessa School. In Novocherkassk, in a spacious Cossack house on a floor and a half, the M. B. Grekov. In this house he created his best paintings.




Since 1996, the best works on the military-patriotic theme annually to the Victory Day are awarded the gold and three silver medals named after Grekov. In many museums of the country are stored pictures of the famous artist.

A lot of secrets left behind the Greeks and in his artistic legacy. Preserved 53 of his work. Basically it is landscapes. (To be honest, I personally don’t like landscapes by themselves. They are dull. It seems that the artist selected the appropriate background for his future paintings.)

He wrote in memory of his native lands the painting “Sharpievka Khutor. 1912 ”, when he was still at the Academy of Arts. But he tried not to exhibit it.

We visited the place where the house stood, in which, according to the assumptions of fellow villagers, Mitrofan Borisovich was born. He was a native of a small Cossack village Sharpayevka (now the Kostino-Bystryansky village) of the Yanovsky volost (now the Morozovsky district) of the Don Cossack Region. It must be admitted that countrymen respect the heritage of the great artist. In his honor, named one of the streets of the farm.

But the rural childhood did not become decisive in its development as an artist. Mitrofan Borisovich will write in his autobiography about how difficult it was for him to realize his infamy, from where did the gift for drawing come from: “He spent his childhood in a working family of farmers. Rural life, steppe, horses, oxen. Until 17 years, I did not see a single picture, except for reproductions in the magazine "Niva", but I drew from my childhood, of course, from myself, because I had no idea about drawing from life. In my family, besides me, no one was fond of it. My only leader, who may have determined my genre, is my uncle, a peasant. He often cut out horses and bulls for me from an extremely primitive tree, even without legs. I remember, I realized that they are a little like horses and bulls. I remember that I was somewhat embarrassed by their frozen form. Over the years, I have developed a great passion for drawing, which has become my holiday. ”

But local historians found documents confirming that, together with the other five brothers and sisters, the definition of the Noble Deputies ’Assembly of the Don Cossacks from February 27 1915 of the year Mitrofan was numbered among the noble family.

Other literary discoveries of Nikolai Ivanovich Prikhodko, a local historian from the Milutinsky district, are also significant for posterity. His research on the fate of the battle has allowed for the first time to make the Grekov family tree.

In his monograph “The Ancient Family of the Greeks” (a copy is kept today in the Milyutinsky Museum of Local Lore), he proved that Mitrofan Borisovich was born not in Tarasovsky, but in the Morozovsky district of the Rostov region. After seven years, the boy lived in the Milyutinsky District, in the village of Ivanovka, founded by his grandfather, trooper Ivan Borisovich Grekov.

The local ethnographer writes about this in the “Annals of the Milyutinsky Territory”: “The Grekov family comes from its deep roots in the time when the Cossacks of the second half of the 16th century were actively formed. The artist's father, Boris Ivanovich, in 1890, by coincidence of family circumstances, was forced to leave the Sharpayevka farm near the village of Morozovskaya and settle on the Berezovaya River. But he did not come to an empty place, but to a settled landowner farmstead with a house, a garden and outbuildings. The first four classes of the future artist studied at the Mankovo-Berezovsky parochial school, where in the fall and spring he was taken to the roadsteads, drawn by a horse named Rusak.

Subsequently, the artist depicted his four-way friend on a canvas called "Horse Rusak."

While studying at the Kamensky District School, at the Odessa Art School and the St. Petersburg Academy, Mitrofan Borisovich spent his entire summer holidays in his native Ivanovo estate. He worked together with the rest of the family in the field, fishing, hunting.

All Greeks were passionate hunters.

Mitrofan did not part with the easel. In Ivanovka, he wrote or made sketches of such pictures about nature and life, like “Luga”, “Kopichki”, “Fox Hunt”, “Vyselki Sloboda Mankovo-Berezovskaya”, “Manor of a Prosperous Peasant” and others.

After the civil war, there was an elementary school in the Grekovs' house. Then, during the construction of the school, the house was dismantled simultaneously with the church.

Mitrofan Borisovich all Novocherkassk period of life, until the departure to Moscow in 1927 year, annually visited his native farm, visiting his friends - the peasants Shumsky.

With the active participation of local historian Nikolai Prikhodko, a memorial plaque was installed on the building of the Mankovo-Berezovsky school, where the famous artist studied, tombstones of the noble family Grekov were collected, and the tombstone of great-grandfather Mitrofan Borisovich was found.

Similarly, the detective was looking for Nikolai Ivanovich traces of the Greek family. He managed to find out that the descendants of the artist live in Canada. At the invitation of a local historian in 2002, guests from Canada (the painter’s nephew Alexander Alexandrovich and his wife Elena Vsevolodovna) came on a private visit to the Milutinsky district. Thanks to the participation of Prikhodko, the guests saw places dear to the heart, associated with the name of the legendary ancestor: moving along the Greek highway, the general's beam, the former estate of the Grekovs, the graves of grandfathers. Unfortunately, local historian Prikhodko is no longer alive. However, I am sure that many more interesting pages about children’s and youth’s years will have to be opened up. After all, from here comes the main light of his canvases - the inner light of kindness, despite their military orientation.

Few of the artists managed to bring drops of good in the hard military paintings. This was another distinctive feature of the great Soviet battle. His work became the basis for other artists to create magnificent works on military subjects.
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 10 May 2016 07: 44
    +1
    Thank you, Polina .. I really like the work of Grekov ...
  2. aba
    aba 10 May 2016 08: 07
    +1
    Yes, I remember Grekov’s paintings from illustrations in a history textbook: very dynamic and vibrant!
  3. Monster_Fat
    Monster_Fat 10 May 2016 08: 41
    +4
    And where are the "secrets"? Or are the "secrets" mentioned in the title, just to interest and attract more ordinary people to read the article?
    1. Rash
      Rash 10 May 2016 10: 35
      +1
      You can understand and forgive Pauline for the intriguing headline. I always read her articles with pleasure.
  4. Kombrig
    Kombrig 10 May 2016 16: 58
    +1
    The fact that the paintings are "alive" is not surprising, in battle there is no other way ... Thanks for the article, I always liked the work of battle painters.
  5. Robert Nevsky
    Robert Nevsky 10 May 2016 19: 37
    +1
    God, what a beauty, what a swing! There were people these days ...
  6. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 11 May 2016 05: 37
    +1
    Quote: Monster_Fat
    And where are the "secrets"?

    Isn't painting itself a secret?
    "Stop for a moment!"
    Thanks so much for the story.

Тайны баталиста Грекова

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Выдающийся советский баталист Греков стал символом воинского изобразительного искусства. Но в его роду было немало тайн, которые он был вынужден скрывать. Судьба вела художника по воинской стезе. Он родился на Дону, где казачьи традиции служения издавна приобщали мальчиков к воинской культуре.

В официальной биографии художника сказано, что огромная панорама «Оборона Севастополя» стала для Грекова первой большой работой, которую он выполнял со многими талантливыми учениками Рубо.


Он снова пытается встать на «мирные» художественные рельсы, написав несколько пейзажей, но годичная воинская повинность вносит в его жизнь коррективы. Отбывая службу, Греков сделал множество зарисовок, олицетворяющих уникальность и самобытность кирасирского, Павловского и гренадерского полков.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


В 1911 году он сменил свою фамилию и отчество. Теперь вместо Митрофана Павловича Мартыщенко он стал Митрофаном Борисовичем Грековым.

Это произошло после выставки своей первой работы, получившей всеобщую похвалу и принёсшей ему официальное звание художника.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Первая мировая война, германский фронт. Мало кто догадывается, что простой ординарец в казачьей сотне не только воюет с немцами, но и в уме пишет картины, чтобы потом, в набросках, претворить их в жизнь. Ему подвластно понять и с точностью передать характер и быт простого солдата. Это удивительные рисунки! Если посмотреть на его карандашные зарисовки, сделанные примерно в 1914 году, то поражает прежде всего максимальный натурализм рисунков. Художнику удаётся передать вдумчиво-одухотворённое лицо солдата, который пишет, возможно, последнюю весточку домой, но не о скорой смерти и болях думает русский солдат. Его лицо светится счастьем прикосновения к родным людям посредством письма.

Тяжёлое ранение. Возвращение на родину. Революция. Все эти события стремительным вихрем проносятся лавиной в жизни Грекова и оставляют свой красный след. И след этот — гражданской войны, когда брат идёт на брата, когда рвутся заживо кровные узы.

В 1920 году, когда Красная Армия входит в Новочеркасск, Греков пишет картину «Вступление в Новочеркасск полка имени Володарского», используя холст и масло. Именно эта картина станет разделительной чертой, которую Греков уже не сможет, да и не захочет перейти по идеологическим причинам.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Он в добровольном порядке надевает на себя будёновку и идёт преподавать на первые курсы военных художников, организованные по своей собственной инициативе. Новой власти были нужны талантливые люди, которые смогли бы правильно выстроить военную идеологию в картинах и плакатах. Эту задачу Грекову выполнить удалось.

За что был удостоен высокой похвалы от командующего Северо-Кавказским военным округом Клима Ворошилова. Об этой встрече в своём автобиографическом очерке Греков пишет так: «В 1920 году я встречаю вождей Первой конной армии, К. Е. Ворошилова и С. М. Будённого. Подаю записку с предложением оказать мне содействие в моем намерении писать на темы гражданской войны. Я присутствую на совещании о моем предложении. Помню дословно такой разговор: один из командиров говорит, что у нас армия без штанов, а мы будем картины писать, на это Климентий Ефимович ответил командиру: «Ты рассуждаешь неправильно, у нас должны быть и армия и искусство», и сам обещает привести мне краски из Москвы».

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Судя по картинам, высокой похвалы картины художника удостаиваются и от Будённого. «В отряд к Буденному» (1923), «Тачанка» (1925), «На привале» «На походе. Первая конная» (1927). Во всех картинах главными героями, по сути, становятся не люди, а удивительные, стремительные, живые в своём порыве боевые лошади («Красноармейская тачанка. Выезд на позиции», 1933).

За несколько лет он создаёт несколько грандиозных картин. Практически в каждой из них, за редким исключением, присутствуют лошади. Он любил лошадей. С любовью выписывал характер лошади, попавшей в страшные военные передряги. Он всегда помешал в центр композиции одну или несколько лошадей. Картины становились живыми, они двигались, жили, дышали, спасали, наступали, оборонялись, погибали, оставаясь навечно запечатлёнными на холсте. Это удивительная методика работы художника стала основой для последующих его творений.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Но в 1926 году он написал рапорт о демобилизации из армии по состоянию здоровья. Он уходит из армии, чтобы быть ближе к ней: текущая работа отнимает у него много времени, а ему хотелось писать как можно больше картин. И он пишет. Каждый год рождаются его новые картины: «Бегство белых из Новочеркасска в 1920 году», «Комбриг ведет в атаку».

«Бой за Ростов у села Генеральский Мост», «Бой за Ростов под Большими Салами» (1926). Большие Салы — это хутор в нескольких километрах от Ростова, в сторону Таганрога.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


И, наконец, в 1929 году к годовщине Первой конной армии он создаёт первую советскую диораму «Взятие Ростова». К сожалению, в годы Второй мировой войны это творение художника было безвозвратно утеряно. Обстоятельства этой потери неизвестны.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Примерно через пять лет Греков переезжает в Москву, чтобы стать одним из членов Союза советских художников. Сталинский заказ — картина «Перекоп», состоящая из четырёх диорам, — должна была стать монументальным произведением советского художественного искусства. И это грандиозное дело должен был возглавить именно Греков. Таков был замысел. Но провидению было суждено сделать так, что во время предварительных зарисовок в Крыму художника нежданно постиг сердечный приступ. 27 ноября 1934 года его не стало. Ему было 52 года.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Родные и близкие художника были потрясены случившимся. В память о своём друге Ворошилов приказал организовать в Особой отдельной кавалерийской бригаде имени Сталина изобразительную мастерскую самодеятельного красноармейского искусства имени М. Б. Грекова. Она положила начало созданию одноимённой студии военных художников.

Тайны баталиста Грекова


Его именем названы два училища: Ростовское художественное училище и одесское. В Новочеркасске, в просторном казачьем доме на полтора этажа, давно и успешно работает дом-музей М.Б. Грекова. В этом доме он создал лучшие свои картины.

Тайны баталиста Грекова
Тайны баталиста Грекова


С 1996 года за лучшие произведения на военно-патриотическую тему ежегодно ко Дню Победы присуждаются золотая и три серебряных медали имени Грекова. Во многих музеях страны хранятся картины прославленного художника.

Немало тайн оставил после себя Греков и в своём творческом наследии. Сохранилось 53 его работы. В основном это пейзажи. (Если честно, то лично мне пейзажи сами по себе не нравятся. Тусклые они. Кажется, что художник подбирал соответствующий фон для своих будущих картин.)

Он написал в память о своих родных краях картину «Хутор Шарпаевка. 1912 г.», когда ещё учился в Академии художеств. Но её он старался не выставлять.

Мы побывали на том месте, где стоял дом, в котором, по предположениям односельчан, родился Митрофан Борисович. Он был уроженцем небольшого казачьего хутора Шарпаевка (ныне хутор Костино-Быстрянский) Яновской волости (ныне Морозовский район) Области Войска Донского. Надо признать, что земляки с почтение относятся к наследию великого художника. В его честь названа одна из улиц хутора.

Но деревенское детство не стало решающим в его становлении как художника. О том, насколько ему было сложно реализовать свой невесть откуда взявшийся дар к рисованию, Митрофан Борисович напишет в своей автобиографии: «Детство провел в трудовой семье земледельцев. Сельский быт, степи, лошади, волы. До 17 лет я не видел ни одной картины, кроме репродукций в журнале «Нива», но рисовал с детского возраста, конечно, от себя, потому что о рисовании с натуры не имел представления. В семье у нас кроме меня никто этим не увлекался. Единственный мой руководитель, который, может быть, определил мой жанр, — дядя, крестьянин. Он часто вырезал мне из дерева коней и быков чрезвычайно примитивно, даже без ног. Я, помню, сознавал, что они мало походят на коней и быков. Вспоминаю, что меня несколько смущала застывшая их форма. С годами у меня развилась большая страсть к рисованию, что стало моим отдыхом».

Но краеведы нашли документы, подтверждающие, что вместе с остальными пятью братьями и сёстрами определением Дворянского Депутатского собрания области Войска Донского от 27 февраля 1915 года Митрофан был сопричислен к дворянскому роду.

Значимы для потомков и другие литературные открытия краеведа Милютинского района Николая Ивановича Приходько. Его исследования о судьбе баталиста позволили впервые составить генеалогическое древо Грековых.

В своей монографии «Древний род Грековых» (экземпляр хранится сегодня в Милютинском краеведческом музее) он доказал, что Митрофан Борисович родился не в Тарасовском, а в Морозовском районе Ростовской области. После семи лет мальчик проживал в Милютинском районе, в хуторе Ивановке, основанном его дедом, войсковым старшиной Иваном Борисовичем Грековым.

Об этом местный краевед пишет в «Летописи Милютинского края»: «Род Грековых уходит своими глубокими корнями ко времени активного образования казачества второй половины XVI века. Отец художника Борис Иванович в 1890 году по стечению семейных обстоятельств вынужден был покинуть хутор Шарпаевку близ станицы Морозовской и поселиться на реке Березовой. Но не на пустое место он приехал, а на обжитое помещичье подворье с домом, садом и хозяйственными постройками. Первые четыре класса будущий художник обучался в Маньково-Берёзовской церковно-приходской школе, куда осенью и весной его возили в дрожках, запряженных конем по кличке Русак.

Впоследствии художник изобразил своего четвероного друга на полотне под названием «Конь Русак».

Обучаясь в Каменском окружном училище, в Одесском художественном училище и Петербургской академии, Митрофан Борисович все летние каникулы проводил в родной Ивановской усадьбе. Работал вместе с остальными членами семьи в поле, рыбачил, охотился.

Все Грековы были страстными охотниками.

Митрофан не расставался с мольбертом. В Ивановке им написаны либо сделаны наброски таких картин о природе и быте, как «Луга», «Копички», «Охота на лис», «Выселки слободы Маньково-Берёзовской», «Усадьба зажиточного крестьянина» и другие.

После гражданской войны в доме Грековых находилась начальная школа. Потом при строительстве школы дом разобрали одновременно с церковью.

Митрофан Борисович весь новочеркасский период жизни, вплоть до отъезда в Москву в 1927 году, ежегодно навещал родной хуторок, бывая в гостях у своих друзей — крестьян Шумских.

При активном участии краеведа Николая Приходько установлена мемориальная доска на здании Маньково-Берёзовской школы, где учился знаменитый художник, собраны надгробия дворянского рода Грековых, найдена надгробная плита прадеда Митрофана Борисовича.

Точно детектив разыскивал Николай Иванович следы грековского семейства. Ему удалось выяснить, что потомки художника живут в Канаде. По приглашению краеведа в 2002 году гости из Канады (племянник живописца Александр Александрович и его супруга Елена Всеволодовна) приехали с частным визитом в Милютинский район. Благодаря участию Приходько гости увидели дорогие сердцу места, связанные с именем легендарного предка: переезд по грековскому тракту, генеральскую балку, бывшее имение Грековых, могилы дедов. К сожалению, краеведа Приходько уже нет в живых. Однако я уверена, что еще много интересных страниц о детских и юношеских годах художника предстоит открыть. Ведь отсюда идёт главный свет его полотен — внутренний свет доброты, несмотря на их военную направленность.

Мало кому из художников удалось пронести капли добра на жёстких воинских картинах. Это стало ещё одной отличительной чертой великого советского баталиста. Его творчество стало основой для создания другими художниками великолепных работ по военной тематике.
Автор: Полина Ефимова


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. parusnik 10 мая 2016 07:44
    Спасибо, Полина..Очень нравятся работы Грекова...
  2. aba 10 мая 2016 08:07
    Да, помню картины Грекова по иллюстрациям в учебнике истории: очень динамичные и живые!
    aba
  3. Monster_Fat 10 мая 2016 08:41
    А где же "тайны"? Или "тайны" упомянуты в названии, просто для того чтобы заинтересовать и привлечь побольше обывателей к прочтению статьи?
    1. Rash 10 мая 2016 10:35
      Можно понять и простить Полину за интригующий заголовок. Всегда с удовольствием читаю ее статьи.
  4. Комбриг 10 мая 2016 16:58
    То что картины "живые" не удивительно, в бою по другому не бывает... Спасибо за статью, всегда нравились работы баталистов.
  5. Робертъ Невский 10 мая 2016 19:37
    Боже, какая красота, какой размах! Были люди в наше время ...
  6. Reptiloid 11 мая 2016 05:37
    Цитата: Monster_Fat
    А где же "тайны"?

    А разве сама живопись не тайна?
    "Остановись мгновенье!"
    Большое спасибо за рассказ.
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня