Military Review

Symbol from Paul I

2
215 years ago opened the first monument to Suvorov


Today, few people remember one of the very first military posters - it appeared in June 1941-th - “Suvorovtsy - Chapayevtsy”:

We fight great
Colem desperately -
Grandchildren of Suvorov,
Children Chapaeva.

The verse is simple and intelligible. The new combination of the names of Suvorov and Chapaev then connected the traditions of military glory. Samuil Marshak managed to put in a lot of energetic lines the big patriotic content that we lack so much today.

Symbol from Paul IMonuments, as well as literature, bring up patriotic feelings. The reason to talk about this is a monument to Alexander Vasilyevich Suvorov, 215 has been standing in St. Petersburg for years as a symbol of the inviolability of our Fatherland.

In Russia and other countries there are many monuments and museums dedicated to the great commander. The settlements, space objects, ships are named in his honor. In 2014, the newest submarine “Generalissimo Suvorov” was laid. But the monument to Suvorov on the square of the same name opposite the Trinity Bridge in St. Petersburg was the first. True, he opened in another place.

Pavel I made a decision to erect a monument in 1799, after the commander returned from a Swiss-Italian campaign, in which the royal son Konstantin and 15-year-old Arkady Suvorov took part in the rank of adjutant general. By the way, during that campaign the tsar granted the title of Crown Prince to Constantine, who was not a direct heir.

Pavel I understood the significance of Suvorov’s victories and, although he kept him in disgrace, ordered “to place in Gatchina, in the square against the palace, the statue of Prince Italian, Count Suvorov-Rymniksky”. In Russian stories it did not happen that the monument was erected during his lifetime, and not even the royal person. Before this happened only in ancient Rome.

The work was entrusted to the famous Russian architect - sculptor M. I. Kozlovsky and architect A. N. Voronikhin. But no matter how rushed Paul, the monument in his lifetime did not. A year before its opening, Suvorov passed away. And the rare high rank of the Russian army, the generalissimo, who had been granted to the commander 28 of October 1799, could not add anything to his world-wide fame. In March, 1801 didn’t become Paul I, but the work continued.

At the opening of the monument 5 (17) in May attended by the new emperor Alexander I and the generals. Suvorov's figure was presented allegorically, and not everyone understood this even in the highest circles of St. Petersburg light. The statue has nothing to do with the appearance of the commander, but the inscription explains: “Prince of Italy, Count Suvorov-Rymniki. 1801.

Originally, the monument was erected at the Mikhailovsky Castle on the Field of Mars. But in 1818, at the suggestion of K. I. Rossi, he was transferred to the place where he stands today. In 1834, a cherry marble pedestal broke from frost and was replaced with pink granite.

Today it is difficult to imagine a monument to Suvorov standing against the Mikhailovsky Castle. But then the Field of Mars also looked completely different. In 1818, the redevelopment around the Mikhailovsky Castle was completed. This led to the transfer of the monument to the newly created square, which faces the Neva River at the Trinity Bridge. And it turned out: it is ideally commensurate with the wonderful creation of M. I. Kozlovsky.

During the Great Patriotic War the monument was not injured. He did not have time to cover, but only sheathed boards. Fascist bombs and shells fell near the pedestal, but Suvorov was unharmed. How then do not believe in mysticism?
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/30577
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 19 May 2016 14: 52
    +4
    Thanks so much for the story.
    Regarding the fact that the monument was not damaged during the Blockade, I read such a legend. When Alexander Vasilyevich was taken on a high funeral chariot to the Alexander Nevsky Lavra in St. Petersburg, there was doubt whether the chariot would pass, the Suvorov soldier said: --- Our Suvorov passed everywhere !
    In St. Petersburg there is also a Suvorov Museum.
    The name of the Generalissimo is Suvorovsky Prospekt in St. Petersburg, 2,2 km long. The avenue was laid in the middle of the XNUMXth century, from Nevsky Prospekt to the Proletarskaya Dictatorship Square. It should be added that here is the Smolny ensemble, the Administration of St. Petersburg.
  2. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 21 May 2016 17: 08
    0
    Good note. And Vadim is already published here. That's right, it’s not all the same that Mukhin’s circulation will be increased, all the more so, for free.

Символ от Павла I

215 лет назад открыт первый памятник Суворову

Сегодня мало кто помнит один из самых первых военных плакатов – он появился в июне 1941-го – «Суворовцы – чапаевцы»:

Бьемся мы здорово,
Колем отчаянно –

Внуки Суворова,
Дети Чапаева.

Стих прост и доходчив. Новое тогда сочетание имен Суворова и Чапаева связало традиции воинской славы. В скупые энергичные строки Самуил Маршак сумел вложить большое патриотическое содержание, которого нам так не хватает сегодня.

Символ от Павла IПамятники, как и литература, воспитывают патриотические чувства. Повод поговорить об этом – памятник Александру Васильевичу Суворову, уже 215 лет стоящий в Санкт-Петербурге как символ незыблемости нашего Отечества.

В России и других странах есть много памятников и музеев, посвященных великому полководцу. В его честь названы населенные пункты, космические объекты, корабли. В 2014 году заложен новейший подводный крейсер «Генералиссимус Суворов». Но памятник Суворову на одноименной площади напротив Троицкого моста в Санкт-Петербурге был первым. Правда, открывался он в другом месте.

Павел I принял решение поставить памятник в 1799-м, после возвращения полководца из швейцарско-итальянского похода, в котором принимали участие монарший сын Константин и 15-летний Аркадий Суворов в чине генерал-адъютанта. Кстати, за тот поход царь даровал Константину, не являвшемуся прямым наследником, титул цесаревича.

Павел I понимал значение побед Суворова и, хотя держал того в опале, повелел «поставить в Гатчине, на площади против дворца статую князя Итальянского, графа Суворова-Рымникского». В русской истории не бывало, чтобы памятник воздвигали при жизни, да еще и не царской особе. Прежде такое случалось только в Древнем Риме.

Работа была поручена известным русским зодчим – скульптору М. И. Козловскому и архитектору А. Н. Воронихину. Но как ни торопил Павел, памятник прижизненным не стал. За год до его открытия Суворов скончался. И редкий высший чин русской армии – генералиссимус, пожалованный полководцу 28 октября 1799 года, уже ничего не мог прибавить к его всемирной славе. В марте 1801-го не стало и Павла I, но работы продолжались.

При открытии памятника 5 (17) мая присутствовали новый император Александр I и генералитет. Фигура Суворова была представлена аллегорически, и это поняли не все даже в высших кругах петербургского света. Статуя не имеет ничего общего с внешним видом полководца, но надпись поясняет: «Князь Итальянский, граф Суворов-Рымникский. 1801 г.».

Первоначально памятник установлен у Михайловского замка на Марсовом поле. Но в 1818-м по предложению К. И. Росси был перенесен на место, где стоит по сей день. В 1834-м постамент из вишневого мрамора попортился от морозов и его заменили на розовый гранит.

Сегодня трудно представить памятник Суворову стоящим против Михайловского замка. Но тогда совершенно иначе выглядело и Марсово поле. В 1818-м завершилась перепланировка вокруг Михайловского замка. Это и повлекло за собой перенос памятника на вновь созданную площадь, выходящую к Неве у Троицкого моста. И оказалось: она идеально соразмерна замечательному творению М. И. Козловского.

Во время Великой Отечественной памятник не пострадал. Его не успели укрыть, а только обшили досками. Фашистские бомбы и снаряды падали рядом с постаментом, но Суворов стоял невредим. Как после этого не поверить в мистику?!
Автор: Вадим Кулинченко
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/30577


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. Reptiloid 19 мая 2016 14:52
    Большое спасибо за рассказ.
    По поводу того что памятник не пострадал во время Блокады.Читал такую легенду.Когда Александра Васильевича везли везли на высокой погребальной колеснице в Александро-Невскую Лавру в Петербурге ,было сомнение,пройдёт ли колесница ,суворовский солдат сказал :---Наш Суворов везде проходил!
    В Петербурге есть также есть Музей Суворова.
    Именем Генералиссимуса названа Суворовский проспект в Санкт-Петербурге длиной 2,2 км.Проспект был проложен в середине XVIII века,от Невского проспекта до площади Пролетарской Диктатуры.Следует добавить, что здесь и находится ансамбль Смольного,Администрация Санкт-Петербурга.
  2. Авиатор_ 21 мая 2016 17:08
    Хорошая заметка. А Вадим уже и здесь печатается. Правильно, не всё же Мухину тиражи увеличивать, тем более, бесплатно.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня