Military Review

Flamethrower tank Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Germany

2
The first German flamethrower Tanks Flammpanzer II Flamingo first took part in battles in the summer of 1941. Despite all expectations, this technique could not show itself as a reliable and effective means of warfare. For this reason, work on new flamethrower tank projects slowed down. However, subsequent events again showed the need to create and use such a technique. The response to new challenges was the flamethrower tank Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl).


In the summer of 1942, the battle of Stalingrad began, during which the troops had to fight in the conditions of urban development. Until a certain time, the German army tried to use the existing weapons, but in the future there was a proposal to create new systems. In November, 42, based on the results of the first months of urban battles, it was decided to return to the subject of flamethrower tanks. The main drawback of this technique, which limited its effectiveness on the battlefields, was the low range of throwing fire mixture. In an urban setting, however, the firing range of no more than 40-50 m could be sufficient.

Several companies were involved in the development of the new project and the subsequent construction of flamethrowing tanks. At the same time, Wegmann was appointed as the main contractor, which was to not only ensure the development of new equipment, but also set up production of mass-produced machines. The project also involved several other enterprises whose task was the production of individual components.

Flamethrower tank Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Germany
The only surviving Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl). Photo of Wikimedia Commons


The Pz.Kpfw.III serial medium tank was chosen as the base for a promising combat vehicle with flame-throwing weapons, which led to the appearance of the corresponding designation Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) or Flammpanzer III. The selected tank was actively used by German troops and had acceptable characteristics. In addition, there was already extensive experience in the construction of various special equipment on the basis of such a tank, which, to a certain extent, facilitated the development of a new project, putting the car into a series and subsequent operation. Serial flamethrower tanks planned to build on the basis of machines Pz.Kpfw.III modification "M".

The new design of the flamethrower tank proposed to expose the base machine some alterations with the withdrawal of some units and the installation of others. In particular, the flamethrower of the new model was to be installed in the place of regular artillery weapons. The internal volumes of the fighting compartment, respectively, were released to accommodate the fire tanks and other units of the new weapons. Such proposals required processing of some parts of the base tank, at the same time allowing the use of part of the units in their original form.

The chosen method of modernization of the serial tank allowed to keep the existing hull, making minimal changes to its design. The Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) was supposed to maintain a welded armored body with protection from 50 mm (forehead) to 10 mm (roof). In addition, in the new project it was proposed to use additional reservations. Additional sheets 30 mm thick should have been fixed on the frontal details of the car body. Taking into account the main features of the combat work of flamethrowing tanks, such modernization allowed significantly increasing the survivability of the machine.


General view of the car. Photo Aviarmor.net


The layout of the body, in general, remained the same. Under the protection of frontal sheets there was a compartment with transmission units, behind which the control compartment was located. The upgraded fighting compartment with the new equipment was placed in the center of the hull. Feed was given under the engine. In the course of modernization, only the central compartment of the corps, in which the combat compartment was located, was actually subjected to modifications.

The project of modernization of serial tanks meant the preservation of the existing power plant and transmission. For this reason, a flamethrower was supposed to keep the Maybach HL 120TRM engine with 300 horsepower. Used six-speed gearbox. The transmission transmitted torque to the drive wheels located in front of the hull.

In order to simplify production, the new flamethrower tank retained the chassis of the base machine on the basis of six road wheels with an individual torsion bar suspension on each side. The tank received front drive and rear guide wheels. Also provided for three supporting rollers on each side.

It was proposed to place all the units of the flamethrower inside the modified fighting compartment. The tank of the basic design lost 50-mm guns and styling for its shells. In addition, crew seats were removed from the turret, with the exception of the commander’s. The construction of the tower itself was not finalized. The turret protection was provided by a frontal sheet 57 mm thick and 30 mm wide. In addition, an armored mask was maintained for additional protection.


The differences of the towers of the base tank and flamethrowing machine. Figure Tehnikapobedy.ru


Instead of a gun on the modified mounts, it was proposed to install a flamethrower hoses. This device had a caliber 14,5 mm, sufficient to properly emit the right amount of fire mixture. In this case, it was proposed to cover the hoses with a metal casing of a larger "caliber" that imitated a gun. Thus, the tubular flamethrower unit was placed inside a one and a half meter protective casing. The turret rotation mechanism allowed shooting in any direction, the elevation angles varied from -8 ° to + 20 °.

At the place of laying for artillery shells inside the fighting compartment they placed two tanks for the storage of fire mixture with a total volume of 1000 l. The tanks were equipped with double walls, between which water was supposed to circulate from the engine cooling system. Combining the cooling system with tanks allowed to warm up the mixture before use to optimum temperatures. In addition, there was a pipeline connecting the cooling of the engine with the fire hose. Before firing, the barrel of the latter should also be heated to avoid the formation of plugs from thickened fire mixture. According to the calculations of the authors of the project, a flamethrower tank Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) could shoot at ambient temperatures up to -22 ° C. It took about five minutes to preheat the tanks and the fire engine before firing.

Ejection of the mixture from the flamethrower was to be carried out using compressed air, for which a special compressor was introduced into the weapon system. As its basis was used motorcycle engine company DKW power 3 hp During the shot, a pressure supply of the order of 15 MPa, sufficient for the correct discharge of the liquid in the direction of the target, should have appeared in the fire supply system. For ignition, an electrical system mounted on the hoses was used.


Flamethrower tank with extra protection. Photo Aviarmor.net


According to reports, the flamethrower of the new tank could operate in two modes. The first implied a volley of length 1 s, in which 8 l firefire was thrown. In this case, the 1000-liter "ammunition" was enough for 125 shots. It also provided for the maintenance of two-second volleys using the 12,5 liter mix in each. At the same time, an increased consumption of the mixture led to a reduction in the possible number of shots to 80. The pressure in the flamethrower made it possible to throw the fire mixture at a distance of up to 50-55 m. With a fair wind or difference in height between the tank and the target, the maximum firing range could reach 55-60 m.

During the rework, the base tank was supposed to lose the main gun, but the machine guns remained in place. One MG 34 machine gun was supposed to remain in a twin installation with a flamethrower, and the second, as before, was attached to the embrasure of the frontal hull plate. The total ammunition of two machine guns was 3750 cartridges. Also, the flamethrower tank Flammpanzer III received two built smoke grenade launchers on the cheekbones of the tower. Given the intended approach to the enemy for a minimum distance, the machine needed additional means of masking.

The crew of the base tank consisted of five people, while the flamethrower version had to be controlled by only three. In front of the hull, in the department of management, were placed the driver-mechanic (left) and the gunner-radio operator (right). They had their own hatches in the roof of the hull and had the opportunity to monitor the situation with the help of viewing devices. At the same time, the radio operator had to keep in touch with other crews with the help of the FuG 5 radio station (on the commander’s tanks — FuG 5 and FuG 2), as well as control the front machine gun.

Watch the situation on the battlefield, search for targets and use a flamethrower should have been the commander-gunner, located on a single workplace in the fighting compartment. With the help of existing optical devices, the commander had to find targets, his duties also included shooting from a flamethrower and machine gun, as well as performing various operations to service the main weapon.


Shooting from a flamethrower. Photo Mg-tank.ru


Due to the dismantling of one equipment and the installation of another, the flamethrower tank of the new model did not differ much in size and weight from the base machine. The length, taking into account the hose and its casing, was 6,4 m, the width did not exceed 3 m, the height - 2,5 m. The modernization led to some increase in the combat weight. So, Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.M weighed 22,7 t, while its flamethrower modification - 23 t.

Saving the main weight parameters and the lack of modifications of the power plant did not lead to a change in the mobility of the machine. The maximum speed of the flamethrower tank was 40 km / h, power reserve - up to 150 km. The possibility of climbing on slopes and walls, as well as overcoming shallow water barriers ford was preserved.

The first experienced flamethrower tank of the new model was assembled and released for testing in January 1943. It is noteworthy that by this time the German group in Stalingrad had already been taken around, and before its surrender there were only a few days left. Nevertheless, the development of the project created by the results of the first stages of the Battle of Stalingrad, continued. Failures on the Eastern Front did not lead to a halt in work.

During the ground tests at the beginning of 1943, it was found that the new flamethrower tank Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) fully complies with the requirements and can be adopted. In early February, the car was officially put into service, and then started mass production. The first order for flamethrowing tanks meant the assembly and supply of hundreds of machines.


Use flamethrower. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


As early as February 1943, the Wegmann company received from the MIAG plant the required 100 medium tanks Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.M, which were soon equipped with new equipment. The order was fully completed in April of the same year. According to some reports, further assembly of flamethrowing tanks could continue, but this did not happen. The troops received only a hundred of these machines.

In the troops, flamethrower tanks were reduced to platoons of seven vehicles each. Such flamethrower platoons were transferred to the maintenance of tank regiments, which required support in certain operations. According to reports, by the end of 1943, the Flammpanzer III flamethrower units were part of the 1, 6, 11, 14, and 24 tank divisions that fought on the territory of the Soviet Union. In addition, a number of such machines received the division Großdeutschland. Also flamethrower tanks were delivered 16-th and 26-th tank divisions stationed in Italy.

During the battles, new flamethrower tanks showed mixed results. Within the settlements, which are characterized by small distances of the battle, this technique showed a high efficiency of combat work. In addition, flamethrowing and machine-gun weapons made it possible to deal with manpower and unprotected equipment. A characteristic feature of Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), like other flame-throwing tanks, was the psychological impact on the enemy soldiers. The streams of fire produced by armored vehicles looked extremely frightening and had a negative effect on the fighting spirit.

However, flamethrower tanks had such an effect only on infantry not reinforced by artillery or tanks. The characteristics of the Soviet tank and field guns made it possible to hit tanks Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) long before they reached the distance of the response fire from a flamethrower. A successful hit, in turn, led to the ignition of the fire mixture, which left the car and its crew no chance of survival. In addition, the death of tankers led to a drop in the morale of their colleagues. Thus, the combat work of flamethrower tanks, despite some positive features, was associated with the highest risks.


The serial Flammpanzer III is shooting. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


According to the results of the first months of use in the troops, Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) flamethrower tanks were considered ineffective. The existing increase in characteristics in comparison with the previous technique of a similar purpose could not compensate for the shortcomings inherent in the concept of the flamethrower tank itself. Further mass operation of the Flammpanzer III tanks was considered inexpedient.

At the beginning of 1944, an order appeared to restructure the remaining Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) vehicles into standard tanks with cannon armament. It is known that such a "reverse" upgrades were 35 tanks. At the same time, a number of flamethrowing machines were proposed to be repaired and left in service. By November 44-th ten tanks were repaired and were reduced to the 351-th flamethrower tank company. The remaining equipment of this model, apparently, was destroyed in battles or became a trophy of the enemy.

It is known that the 351-I flamethrower tank company continued to fight almost until the very end of the fighting in Europe. At the time of the surrender of Germany, this unit was part of the Sudetenland army group. In connection with the end of the war, the company’s equipment was handed over to the winners as trophies.

After the end of World War II in Europe, the need for flamethrowing tanks of existing types disappeared. Because of this, all remaining Pz.Kpfw.III cars (Fl) were disposed of as unnecessary. Until our time, lived only one sample of such technology. At one time, this car fought on the territory of Italy and was captured by American troops. Soon the trophy was taken to the Aberdeen testing ground. Later, the car was transferred to one of the German museums, where it still remains.


Based on:
http://armor.kiev.ua/
http://mg-tank.ru/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
Chamberlain P., Doyle H. Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War. - M .: AST: Astrel, 2008.
Author:
2 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 24 May 2016 07: 09
    +2
    Thanks for the cycle! Not new but interesting and informative.
  2. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 24 May 2016 19: 49
    0
    The selected method of supplying the fire mixture was flawed while looking from the trenches of the First World War. Those who decided to hang it on tanks after the 20s are projectors (or idealists, or conjuncturers). The inventor (yes all of them at once) - into the tank and against the firing point to suppress it, to a distance of 15 m. But - first try to get to this very distance.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия

Первые немецкие огнеметные танки Flammpanzer II Flamingo впервые приняли участие в боях летом 1941 года. Несмотря на все ожидания, эта техника не смогла показать себя в качестве надежного и эффективного средства ведения войны. По этой причине работы по новым проектам огнеметных танков замедлились. Тем не менее, последующие события вновь показали необходимость создания и использования подобной техники. Ответом на новые вызовы стал огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl).

Летом 1942 года началась Сталинградская битва, в ходе которой войскам приходилось воевать в условиях городской застройки. До определенного времени немецкая армия пыталась использовать имеющиеся вооружения, но в дальнейшем появилось предложение о создании новых систем. В ноябре 42-го, по результатам первых месяцев городских боев, было решено вернуться к тематике огнеметных танков. Главным недостатком такой техники, ограничивавшим ее эффективность на полях сражения, была невысокая дальность метания огнесмеси. В городских условиях, однако, дальность стрельбы не более 40-50 м могла быть достаточной.

К разработке нового проекта и последующему строительству огнеметных танков были привлечены несколько фирм. Главным подрядчиком при этом назначалась Wegmann, которой предстояло не только обеспечить разработку новой техники, но и наладить выпуск серийных машин. Также в проекте участвовали несколько других предприятий, задачей которых было производство отдельных комплектующих.


Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Единственный сохранившийся Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl). Фото Wikimedia Commons


В качестве базы для перспективной боевой машины с огнеметным вооружением был выбран серийный средний танк Pz.Kpfw.III, что привело к появлению соответствующего обозначения Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) или Flammpanzer III. Выбранный танк активно использовался немецкими войсками и имел приемлемые характеристики. Кроме того, уже имелся большой опыт строительства различной специальной техники на базе такого танка, что в определенной мере облегчало разработку нового проекта, постановку машины в серию и последующую эксплуатацию. Серийные огнеметные танки планировалось строить на базе машин Pz.Kpfw.III модификации «M».

Новым проектом огнеметного танка предлагалось подвергать базовые машины некоторым переделкам с изъятием одних агрегатов и установкой других. В частности, огнемет новой модели должен был устанавливаться на месте штатного артиллерийского вооружения. Внутренние объемы боевого отделения, соответственно, высвобождались для размещения баков с огнесмесью и других агрегатов нового оружия. Подобные предложения требовали переработки некоторых частей базового танка, одновременно с этим позволяя использовать часть агрегатов в исходном виде.

Избранный способ модернизации серийного танка позволил сохранить существующий корпус, внеся в его конструкцию минимальные изменения. Машина Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) должна была сохранять сварной броневой корпус с защитой от 50 мм (лоб) до 10 мм (крыша). Кроме того, в новом проекте было предложено использовать дополнительное бронирование. На лобовых деталях корпуса машины должны были закрепляться дополнительные листы толщиной по 30 мм. С учетом основных особенностей боевой работы огнеметных танков такая модернизация позволяла значительно повысить живучесть машины.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Общий вид машины. Фото Aviarmor.net


Компоновка корпуса, в целом, оставалась прежней. Под защитой лобовых листов находился отсек с агрегатами трансмиссии, за которым располагалось отделение управления. Модернизированное боевое отделение с новым составом оборудования помещалось в центре корпуса. Корма отдавалась под двигатель. В ходе модернизации доработкам фактически подвергся только центральный отсек корпуса, в котором помещалось боевое отделение.

Проект модернизации серийных танков подразумевал сохранение существующих силовой установки и трансмиссии. По этой причине огнеметный так должен был сохранять двигатель Maybach HL 120TRM мощностью 300 л.с. Использовалась шестискоростная коробка передач. Трансмиссия передавала крутящий момент на ведущие колеса, расположенные в передней части корпуса.

В целях упрощения производства новый огнеметный танк сохранил ходовую часть базовой машины на основе шести опорных катков с индивидуальной торсионной подвеской на каждом борту. Танк получал передние ведущие и задние направляющие колеса. Также предусматривалось по три поддерживающих ролика на каждом борту.

Все агрегаты огнемета предлагалось размещать внутри доработанного боевого отделения. Танк базовой конструкции лишился 50-мм пушки и укладок для ее снарядов. Кроме того, из башни удалили места экипажа, за исключением командирского. Сама конструкция башни при этом не дорабатывалась. Защита башни обеспечивалась лобовым листом толщиной 57 мм и 30-мм бортами. Кроме того, сохранялась броневая маска для дополнительной защиты.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Отличия башен базового танка и огнеметной машины. Рисунок Tehnikapobedy.ru


Вместо пушки на доработанных креплениях предлагалось устанавливать брандспойт огнемета. Это устройство имело калибр 14,5 мм, достаточный для правильного выброса нужного количества огнесмеси. При этом было предложено прикрыть брандспойт металлическим кожухом большего «калибра», имитировавшим пушку. Таким образом, трубчатый агрегат огнемета помещался внутри полутораметрового защитного кожуха. Механизм поворота башни позволял стрелять в любом направлении, углы возвышения менялись в пределах от -8° до +20°.

На месте укладок для артиллерийских снарядов внутри боевого отделения поместили два бака для хранения огнесмеси общим объемом 1000 л. Баки оснащались двойными стенками, между которыми должна была циркулировать вода из системы охлаждения двигателя. Объединение системы охлаждения с баками позволяло прогревать смесь перед применением до оптимальных температур. Кроме того, имелся трубопровод, соединявший охлаждение двигателя с брандспойтом. Перед стрельбой ствол последнего также следовало прогревать во избежание образования пробок из загустевшей огнесмеси. По расчетам авторов проекта, огнемет танка Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) мог стрелять при температурах окружающего воздуха до -22°C. На предварительный прогрев баков и брандспойта перед стрельбой требовалось около пяти минут.

Выброс смеси из огнемета должен был производиться при помощи сжатого воздуха, для чего в комплекс вооружения ввели специальный компрессор. В качестве его основы был использован мотоциклетный двигатель фирмы DKW мощностью 3 л.с. В ходе выстрела в системе подачи огнесмеси должно было возникать давление порядка 15 МПа, достаточное для правильного выброса жидкости в направлении цели. Для зажигания использовалась электрическая система, смонтированная на брандспойте.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Огнеметный танк с дополнительной защитой. Фото Aviarmor.net


По имеющимся данным, огнемет нового танка мог работать в двух режимах. Первый подразумевал залп длиной 1 с, при котором выбрасывалось 8 л огнесмеси. В таком случае 1000-литрового «боекомплекта» хватало на 125 выстрелов. Также предусматривалось ведение двухсекундных залпов с использованием 12,5 л смеси в каждом. При этом повышенный расход смеси приводил к сокращению возможного количества выстрелов до 80. Давление в огнемете позволяло выбрасывать огнесмесь на дальность до 50-55 м. При наличии попутного ветра или разницы в высоте между танком и целью максимальная дальность стрельбы могла достигать 55-60 м.

В ходе переделки базовый танк должен был лишаться основного орудия, однако пулеметы оставались на своих местах. Один пулемет MG 34 должен был оставаться в спаренной установке с огнеметом, а второй, как и ранее, крепился в амбразуре лобового листа корпуса. Общий боекомплект двух пулеметов составлял 3750 патронов. Также огнеметный танк Flammpanzer III получил два строенных дымовых гранатомета на скулах башни. С учетом предполагаемого приближения к противнику на минимальное расстояние машина нуждалась в дополнительных средствах маскировки.

Экипаж базового танка состоял из пяти человек, тогда как огнеметной версией должны были управлять лишь трое. В передней части корпуса, в отделении управления, помещались механик-водитель (слева) и стрелок-радист (справа). Они располагали собственными люками в крыше корпуса и имели возможность наблюдать за обстановкой при помощи смотровых приборов. При этом стрелок-радист должен был поддерживать связь с другими экипажами при помощи радиостанции FuG 5 (на командирских танках – FuG 5 и FuG 2), а также управлять передним пулеметом.

Следить за обстановкой на поле боя, искать цели и применять огнемет должен был командир-наводчик, располагавшийся на единственном рабочем месте в боевом отделении. При помощи имеющихся оптических приборов командир должен был находить цели, также в его обязанности входили стрельба из огнемета и пулемета, а также выполнение различных операций по обслуживанию основного оружия.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Стрельба из огнемета. Фото Mg-tank.ru


За счет демонтажа одного оборудования и установки другого огнеметный танк новой модели почти не отличался по габаритам и весу от базовой машины. Длина с учетом брандспойта и его кожуха составляла 6,4 м, ширина не превышала 3 м, высота – 2,5 м. Модернизация привела к некоторому росту боевой массы. Так, Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.M весил 22,7 т, тогда как его огнеметная модификация – 23 т.

Сохранение основных весовых параметров и отсутствие доработок силовой установки не привели к изменению подвижности машины. Максимальная скорость огнеметного танка составляла 40 км/ч, запас хода – до 150 км. Сохранилась возможность подъема на склоны и стенки, а также преодоления неглубоких водных преград вброд.

Первый опытный огнеметный танк новой модели был собран и выпущен на испытания в январе 1943 года. Примечательно, что к этому времени немецкая группировка в Сталинграде уже была взята в окружение, а до ее капитуляции оставались считанные дни. Тем не менее, развитие проекта, созданного по итогам первых этапов Сталинградской битвы, продолжалось. Неудачи на Восточном фронте не привели к остановке работ.

В ходе полигонных проверок в начале 1943 года было установлено, что новый огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) полностью соответствует предъявленным требованиям и может быть принят на вооружение. В начале февраля машину официально приняли на вооружение, после чего стартовало серийное производство. Первый заказ на огнеметные танки подразумевал сборку и поставку сотни машин.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Использование огнемета. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Уже в феврале 1943 года фирма Wegmann получила от завода MIAG требуемые 100 средних танков Pz.Kpfw.III Ausf.M, которые вскоре были оснащены новым оборудованием. Заказ был полностью выполнен в апреле того же года. По некоторым данным, в дальнейшем сборка огнеметных танков могла продолжиться, однако этого не произошло. Войска получили лишь сотню таких машин.

В войсках огнеметные танки сводились во взводы численностью по семь машин. Подобные огнеметные взводы передавались в ведение танковых полков, которым требовалась поддержка в тех или иных операциях. По имеющимся данным, к концу 1943 года огнеметные Flammpanzer III имелись в составе 1-й, 6-й, 11-й, 14-й и 24-й танковых дивизий, воевавших на территории Советского Союза. Кроме того, некоторое количество таких машин получила дивизия Großdeutschland. Также огнеметные танки были поставлены 16-й и 26-й танковым дивизиям, расквартированным в Италии.

В ходе боев новые огнеметные танки показали неоднозначные результаты. В пределах населенных пунктов, для которых характерны малые дистанции боя, подобная техника показывала высокую эффективность боевой работы. Кроме того, огнеметное и пулеметное вооружение позволяло бороться с живой силой и незащищенной техникой. Характерной чертой Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), как и других огнеметных танков, было психологическое воздействие на солдат противника. Струи огня, выпускаемые бронемашинами, выглядели крайне пугающе и негативно сказывались на боевом духе.

Тем не менее, такой эффект огнеметные танки оказывали лишь на пехоту, не усиленную артиллерией или танками. Характеристики советских танковых и полевых орудий позволяли поражать танки Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) задолго до их выхода на дистанцию ответной стрельбы из огнемета. Удачное попадание, в свою очередь, приводило к возгоранию огнесмеси, что не оставляло машине и ее экипажу шансов на выживание. Кроме того, гибель танкистов приводила к падению боевого духа их коллег. Таким образом, боевая работа огнеметных танков, несмотря на некоторые положительные особенности, была связана с высочайшими рисками.

Огнеметный танк Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl), Германия
Серийный Flammpanzer III ведет стрельбу. Фото Wikimedia Commons


По результатам первых месяцев использования в войсках огнеметные танки Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) сочли неэффективными. Имевшийся рост характеристик в сравнении с предыдущей техникой аналогичного назначения не мог компенсировать недостатки, присущие самой концепции огнеметного танка. Дальнейшую массовую эксплуатацию танков Flammpanzer III сочли нецелесообразной.

В начале 1944 года появился приказ о перестройке сохранившихся машин Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) в стандартные танки с пушечным вооружением. Известно, что такую «обратную» модернизацию прошли 35 танков. Одновременно с этим некоторое количество огнеметных машин предлагалось отремонтировать и оставить в строю. К ноябрю 44-го десять танков прошли ремонт и были сведены в 351-ю огнеметную танковую роту. Остальная техника этой модели, по-видимому, была уничтожена в боях или стала трофеем противника.

Известно, что 351-я огнеметная танковая рота продолжала воевать почти до самого конца боев в Европе. В момент капитуляции Германии это подразделение состояло в составе Судетской армейской группы. В связи с окончанием войны техника роты была передана победителям в качестве трофеев.

После завершения Второй мировой войны в Европе необходимость в огнеметных танках существующих типов отпала. Из-за этого все остававшиеся в наличии машины Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) были утилизированы за ненадобностью. До нашего времени дожил только один образец такой техники. В свое время эта машина воевала на территории Италии и была захвачена американскими войсками. Вскоре трофей доставили на Абердинский полигон для проверок. Позже машину передали одному из немецких музеев, где она и находится до сих пор.


По материалам:
http://armor.kiev.ua/
http://mg-tank.ru/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны. – М.: АСТ: Астрель, 2008.
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 2
  1. казак волгский 24 мая 2016 07:09
    Спасибо за Цикл! Не ново но интересно и познавательно.
  2. Сергей-8848 24 мая 2016 19:49
    Выбранный метод подачи огнесмеси был ущербен ещё глядя из окопов Первой Мировой войны. Те, кто решил его навесить на танки после 20-х годов, - прожектёры (или идеалисты, или конъюнктурщики). Изобретателя (да их всех сразу) - в танк и против огневой точки на её подавление, на расстояние 15 м. Но - сначала попытаться добраться до этой самой дистанции.
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня