Military Review

Flame gun self-propelled gun Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Germany

6
In the fall of 1942, the German command decided to develop a new flamethrower tank based on the production Pz.Kpfw.III. The appearance of such a decision was connected with the experience of fighting in Stalingrad, where the troops had to work at short distances in urban areas. Soon there was a proposal to create another modification of the existing armored vehicles using flamethrower weapons. This time the basis for the flamethrower tank was supposed to become a self-propelled gun Sturmgeschütz III.


The order to develop a new flamethrower tank was issued at the beginning of December 1942. In addition to the medium tank technology, it was proposed to develop a similar vehicle based on the existing self-propelled artillery. The reasons for the emergence of such a proposal is difficult to understand. The general characteristics of the existing ACS, as well as the proposed appearance of the flame-thrower in combination with the intended method of use could be the reason for serious doubts about the feasibility of building a new technology. Nevertheless, the German command approved the development of a new flamethrower self-propelled gun. The car was named Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) or StuG (Fl).

The Sturmgeschütz III F modification was chosen as the base for the new flamethrowing machine. Such self-propelled guns entered mass production a few months earlier and could become a suitable basis for a new technology. In addition, there is information about the use in the new project of several Ausf.F / 8 chassis, characterized by the presence of enhanced booking. On the frontal details of the hull additional overhead armor plates were installed, which improved the protection performance. With the exception of using additional armor plates, both versions of the base chassis were identical, and in addition, when upgrading them using the new design, the same units were used.

Flame gun self-propelled gun Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Germany
The only surviving photograph of the StuG (Fl) flamethrowing machine. Photo Aviarmor.net


The ACS StuG III was based on aggregates of the medium tank Pz.Kpfw.III, but had a number of serious differences from this machine. First of all, when creating a self-propelled gun, the base building underwent major modifications, which received a large wheelhouse to accommodate the crew and weapons. The overall layout and composition of the main units at the same time remained without significant changes. In front of the hull were transmission units, behind which was placed the fighting compartment of large sizes. The feed contained the engine with the necessary additional equipment.

The frontal part of the self-propelled gun had a complex multifaceted shape, formed by several armor plates of different sizes and shapes. The forehead of the case was protected by three rectangular sheets 50 mm thick (in the F / 8 version an additional 30-mm sheet was also used), the beads and the sterns were made of 30-mm parts. The logging protection parameters were similar to the characteristics of the hull; it was also assembled from sheets of 50 and 30 mm thickness. From above, the crew covered the 10-mm roof.

Self-propelled guns StuG III Ausf.F were equipped with Maybach HL 120TRM carburetor engines with 300 horsepower. With the help of a cardan shaft and transmission units, the engine torque was transmitted to the front drive wheels. The design of the power plant and transmission corresponded to the systems of the base medium tank, which made it possible to ensure a high degree of standardization of serial combat vehicles. In addition, it was possible to move in some combat formations with other equipment.

According to available data, in order to simplify the development and construction of new equipment, it was decided to equip the Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) with a flamethrower designed for the Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) medium flamethrower tank. Some units of this system had to be refined, in addition, there was a need for some re-assembly and other placement of systems in the combat compartment of the new carrier. At the same time, the main characteristics and principles of work remained unchanged.

In place of the standard 75-mm artillery in the wheelhouse, it was proposed to install a fire engine for throwing flammable liquid. The hose was a construction of the main barrel caliber 14,5 mm and a protective casing-pipe. The task of the latter was to protect the barrel from external influences, as well as, to some extent, camouflage weapons. The installation system of the trunk allowed to direct weapon on 10 ° to the right and to the left from the neutral position, and also to change the angles of vertical pickup from -6 ° to + 20 °.


SAU Sturmgeschütz III Ausf.F / 8 with additional protection. Wikimedia Commons Photos


Inside the fighting compartment were placed tanks for the storage of fire mixture and its subsequent supply to the fire engine. The tanks were equipped with double walls, between which the water from the engine cooling system was supposed to circulate. Using hot water, it was proposed to heat the fire mixture before use, which, according to the idea of ​​the flamethrower developers, was to eliminate liquid thickening at low atmospheric air temperatures and ensure firing in a wide range of weather conditions at any time of the year. It also provided for the supply of hot water to the barrel of a fire engine to warm it up and flush out possible plugs from the cooled and thickened mixture remaining in the channel. In the case of the Pz.Kpfw.III flamethrower tank (Fl), a similar heating system made it possible to shoot at air temperatures down to -22 °.

It was suggested to throw away the fire mixture with compressed air. To this end, a separate balloon was introduced into the flamethrower, connected to a compressor. The work of the latter was provided by a DKW two-stroke engine with an 3 hp power. Before the shot, the compressor had to create air pressure up to 15 MPa, after which, using a special valve, it was possible to throw the combustible mixture through the barrel. The ignition was made using the electrical system on the hoses. The energy of compressed air was enough to emit fire mixture to a distance of up to 50-55 m.

Since the new combat vehicle was created on the basis of self-propelled guns Sturmgeschütz III Ausf.F, the use of additional combat weapons was not provided. If necessary, the crew had to use one MG 34 machine gun of the 7,92 mm caliber, which was stored in the stowage. Unlike the later modifications, the SAU of the “F” model was not equipped with a machine gun mounting system, which allowed it to be used at any time. The crew also had the theoretical possibility to use personal weapons.

The crew of the flame-throwing ACS StuG (Fl), according to various sources, was supposed to consist of four people, but we can assume some of its reduction in comparison with the base machine. In particular, the new combat vehicle did not need a loader, and the functions of the commander and gunner could be transferred to one crew member, as was done in the previous draft of an average flamethrower tank. In this case, the armored vehicle could two or three people.

According to known data, the dismantling of artillery guns and the installation of a flamethrower did not lead to a change in the dimensions of the vehicle in comparison with the basic design. The length of the vehicle remained at the level of 6,77 m, width to 3 m, height - 2,15 m. The combat weight still did not exceed 23,5 t. Saving the weight and the original power plant did not, as expected, change the mobility of the vehicle. The maximum speed was 40 km / h, power reserve - 165 km. The ability to travel over rough terrain with overcoming some obstacles has been preserved.


Scheme flamethrower SAU. Figure Aviarmor.net


When deciding on the development of new self-propelled guns with flamethrowing weapons, it was proposed to build a hundred of these machines. Flame-retardant self-propelled guns should be redone from suitable modifications to the serially produced StuG III. Later plans were revised upwards. By the summer of 1943, the command wanted to get already 220 flamethrower machines based on self-propelled guns. However, all these plans were never fulfilled. The limited capabilities of the industry have had a great impact on the actual pace of assembly.

Modernization of serial self-propelled guns on the new project began in May 1943 year. To install a flamethrower system identified nine cars modifications Ausf.F. In June, another Sturmgeschütz III was sent to rework. Removing unnecessary equipment with the installation of new equipment did not take much time. By mid-June 10 flamethrower self-propelled guns were ready for testing and subsequent transfer to the customer. 23 June, all ten cars were loaded onto railway platforms and sent to the troops.

As far as we know, all ten StuG (Fl) vehicles were consolidated into one company and transferred to the jurisdiction of one of the divisions operating on the Eastern Front. Any information about the combat work of self-propelled guns and the effectiveness of their use are missing. However, it is known that in July 43-nd one of the cars for some reason caught fire, but the fire was extinguished. The survey showed that the self-propelled gun is subject to recovery. Soon she was sent to the rear for repairs, which ended in September. Then, the repaired car was returned to the troops, which continued its operation.

Apparently, the combat effectiveness of ten new flamethrower self-propelled guns left much to be desired. As a result, in January 1944, all Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) were sent to the factory. Further operation of this technology in its original form, due to its low characteristics, was considered inexpedient. Since the used chassis has not yet developed its resource, it was decided to rebuild the flamethrower self-propelled guns on the original projects. Flamethrowers and all their units were removed from them, instead of which they mounted standard guns, styling for projectiles, etc. On this история project StuG (Fl) is over. Until our time did not survive a single instance of such technology.

The reasons for the fairly quick refusal of self-propelled installations StuG III with flamethrower armament are simple and understandable. This combat vehicle was distinguished by extremely low combat qualities and dubious survivability when confronted with an enemy. A characteristic feature of all flamethrower tanks of that time, including the Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), was a short range of firefighting, not exceeding a few tens of meters. This made the combat vehicle, when carrying out the attack, approach the target for a minimum distance, which made special demands on protection and additional armament.


Reconstruction of the appearance of the StuG (Fl) machine. Figure Rtvmodelismo.com


The available 50-mm frontal armor of the base self-propelled gun (even when reinforced with an additional sheet 30 mm thick) at distances of several tens of meters could break through with various Soviet-made tools, which could seriously impede its progress towards the goal. In this case, only one successful hit of an artillery shell could lead to the ignition of the fire mixture and the destruction of the vehicle with the death of the crew.

In addition, there was no weapons to protect the enemy from infantry: the only machine gun should be stored in the installation, and any mechanisms to install it with constant combat readiness were not used. It should also be noted insufficient angles aiming flamethrower, which could make it difficult to hit targets. The horizontal guidance sector, which is only 20 ° wide, in turn, seriously hampered possible self-defense from infantry using a flamethrower.

As a result, the flamethrowers on the battlefield needed additional cover with armored vehicles and infantry, which could protect them from possible threats arising when advancing to enemy positions. It should be noted, given the firepower and combat effectiveness of such a cover, the need to use a flamethrower machine could be questionable. In other words, tanks and infantry could themselves fight without resorting to the help of flamethrower StuG (Fl).

According to the results of short and not very successful operation, which also led to the temporary disabling of one of the machines, all ten flamethrower-powered self-propelled guns Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) were sent to the rear for rework on the basic project. Soon they returned to the front as self-propelled guns with artillery pieces, which could actually be useful for the troops. The next project of the self-propelled machine with a flamethrower weapon ended in nothing. Nevertheless, the German specialists did not abandon this direction and later tried to create several more combat vehicles armed with flamethrowers.


Based on:
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://army.armor.kiev.ua/
Chamberlain P., Doyle H. Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War. - M .: AST: Astrel, 2008.
Author:
6 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 25 May 2016 07: 20
    +5
    completely unknown development. Thank . He just knew in series - well, more - less than the flamethrowers on Hetzer set .... for the operation in the Ardennes. In the photo with the cloaked casing dressed and removed.
  2. igordok
    igordok 25 May 2016 07: 33
    +2
    Help me deal with the driver’s and radio operator’s hatches on the Pz-3.
    Very often came across information that they did not have their own hatches and had to use the hatches in the tower. The hatches in the front of the case are hatches for servicing the transmission, but they were used by the driver and the radio operator, and very often they believe that this is their hatches.

    In the photo, the crew leaves the tank, but the hatches in the hull are not open. Either the driver died, or the driver was evacuated through a tower or side. On some Pz-3 models, the evacuation hatch was located on the side of the hull, between the support rollers.
    1. igordok
      igordok 25 May 2016 07: 47
      +2
      In the "Memo on the use of German combat and auxiliary vehicles", these hatches are not indicated at all.

      PS. I wanted to ask this question yesterday in an article about the flamethrower Pz-3, but I did not have time.
    2. Aleksandr72
      Aleksandr72 25 May 2016 08: 26
      +4
      Initially, on tanks Pz.III Ausf.A - Ausf.D, the commander had a commander’s turret with a double-wing sunroof. For the embarkation / disembarkation of other crew members, two double-wing hatches on the sides of the tower were intended. The driver and the gunner-radio operator dispensed with their own hatches. Theoretically, it was possible to use access hatches for transmission units located in the upper bow sheet of the hull for evacuation. But in practice they were rarely used for this purpose.
      With the modification of the Pz.III Ausf.E (the first truly serial), which received a new chassis, two evacuation hatches were introduced for the driver and radio operator along the sides of the body in front between the upper track branch and the track rollers, but their shape and size are not impressive - it was probably difficult to use. After the installation of anti-cumulative side screens in 1943, these hatches lost all practical value.
      On the photo of Pz.III Ausf.J, the side hatches are clearly visible:
      1. igordok
        igordok 25 May 2016 12: 46
        0
        Thanks. You once again confirmed the information that I had.
  3. Free wind
    Free wind 25 May 2016 15: 21
    +2
    It is interesting that the Germans completely abandoned the main armament changing the gun to a flamethrower. We had a flamethrower, on the t-34 or on the KV, instead of a machine gun, the destruction range was about the same, a little fire salvo was less, but the gun remained native. The aiming angles are also almost the same, and in the flamethrower, the aiming angle does not particularly affect the range, and they do not use more than 15 degrees. The effect of the flamethrower is certainly terrible, it is terrible to die in the fire. The mixture was used by the Nazis and we used coal tar, (one might say kuzbaslak) mixed with gasoline and often with diesel fuel and legroin. Well, such a la napalm.

Огнеметная самоходка Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Германия

Осенью 1942 года немецкое командование приняло решение разработать новый огнеметный танк на базе серийного Pz.Kpfw.III. Появление такого решения было связано с опытом боев в Сталинграде, где войскам приходилось работать на малых дистанциях в условиях городской застройки. Вскоре появилось предложение создать еще одну модификацию существующей бронемашины с применением огнеметного вооружения. На этот раз основой для огнеметного танка должна была стать самоходка Sturmgeschütz III.

Приказ о разработке нового огнеметного танка вышел в начале декабря 1942 года. В дополнение к технике на базе среднего танка предлагалось разработать аналогичную машину на основе существующей самоходной артиллерийской установки. Причины появления такого предложения понять трудно. Общие характеристики имевшейся САУ, а также предложенный облик огнеметной машины в сочетании с предполагаемым способом применения могли быть поводом для серьезных сомнений в целесообразности строительства новой техники. Тем не менее, немецкое командование утвердило разработку новой огнеметной самоходки. Машина получила название Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) или StuG (Fl).

В качестве базы для новой огнеметной машины выбрали САУ Sturmgeschütz III модификации «F». Подобные самоходки поступили в серийное производство несколькими месяцами ранее и могли стать подходящей основой для новой техники. Кроме того, имеются сведения о применении в новом проекте нескольких шасси типа Ausf.F/8, отличавшихся наличием усиленного бронирования. На лобовых деталях корпуса дополнительно устанавливались накладные броневые листы, улучшавшие показатели защиты. За исключением использования дополнительных бронелистов оба варианта базового шасси были идентичны, а кроме того, при их модернизации по новому проекту использовались одни и те же агрегаты.


Огнеметная самоходка Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Германия
Единственная сохранившаяся фотография огнеметной машины StuG (Fl). Фото Aviarmor.net


САУ StuG III основывалась на агрегатах среднего танка Pz.Kpfw.III, но имела ряд серьезных отличий от этой машины. Прежде всего, при создании самоходки доработкам подвергся базовый корпус, получивший крупную рубку для размещения экипажа и вооружения. Общая компоновка и состав основных агрегатов при этом оставались без значительных изменений. В передней части корпуса находились агрегаты трансмиссии, позади которых помещалось боевое отделение больших размеров. Корма вмещала двигатель с необходимым дополнительным оборудованием.

Лобовая часть самоходки имела сложную многогранную форму, образованную несколькими броневыми листами разных размеров и форм. Лоб корпуса защищался тремя прямоугольными листами толщиной 50 мм (в модификации «F/8» также использовался дополнительный 30-мм лист), борта и корма изготавливались из 30-мм деталей. Параметры защиты рубки были аналогичны характеристикам корпуса, она так же собиралась из листов толщиной 50 и 30 мм. Сверху экипаж прикрывался 10-мм крышей.

Самоходки StuG III Ausf.F оснащались карбюраторными двигателями Maybach HL 120TRM мощностью 300 л.с. При помощи карданного вала и агрегатов трансмиссии крутящий момент двигателя передавался на передние ведущие колеса. Конструкция силовой установки и трансмиссии соответствовала системам базового среднего танка, что позволяло обеспечить высокую степень унификации серийных боевых машин. Кроме того, обеспечивалась возможность движения в одних боевых порядках с другой техникой.

По имеющимся данным, с целью упрощения разработки и строительства новой техники было решено оснастить Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) огнеметом, созданным для среднего огнеметного танка Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl). Некоторые агрегаты этой системы пришлось доработать, кроме того, существовала необходимость в некоторой перекомпоновке и ином размещении систем в боевом отделении нового носителя. При этом основные характеристики и принципы работы остались без изменений.

На месте стандартного 75-мм артиллерийского орудия в рубке предлагалось устанавливать брандспойт для метания горючей жидкости. Брандспойт представлял собой конструкцию из основного ствола калибром 14,5 мм и защитного кожуха-трубы. Задачей последнего была защита ствола от внешних воздействий, а также, в некоторой мере, маскировка вооружения. Системы установки ствола позволяли наводить оружие на 10° вправо и влево от нейтрального положения, а также менять углы вертикальной наводки от -6° до +20°.

Огнеметная самоходка Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Германия
САУ Sturmgeschütz III Ausf.F/8 с дополнительной защитой. Фото Wikimedia Commons


Внутри боевого отделения помещались баки для хранения огнесмеси и ее последующей подачи в брандспойт. Емкости оснащались двойными стенками, между которыми должна была циркулировать вода из системы охлаждения двигателя. При помощи горячей воды предлагалось подогревать огнесмесь перед использованием, что, по задумке разработчиков огнемета, должно было исключать загустение жидкости при низких температурах атмосферного воздуха и обеспечивать стрельбу в широком диапазоне погодных условий, в любое время года. Также предусматривалась подача горячей воды в ствол брандспойта для его прогрева и вымывания возможных пробок из оставшейся в канале остывшей и загустевшей смеси. В случае с огнеметным танком Pz.Kpfw.III (Fl) подобная система подогрева позволяла стрелять при температурах воздуха до -22°.

Выбрасывать огнесмесь предлагалось при помощи сжатого воздуха. Для этого в состав огнемета был введен отдельный баллон, соединенный с компрессором. Работа последнего обеспечивалась двухтактным двигателем DKW мощностью 3 л.с. Перед выстрелом компрессор должен был создавать давление воздуха до 15 МПа, после чего с использованием специального клапана можно было выбрасывать горючую смесь через ствол. Зажигание производилось при помощи электрической системы на брандспойте. Энергии сжатого воздуха хватало для выброса огнесмеси на дальность до 50-55 м.

Поскольку новая боевая машина создавалась на базе самоходки Sturmgeschütz III Ausf.F, применение боеготового дополнительного вооружения не предусматривалось. В случае необходимости экипаж должен был применять один пулемет MG 34 калибра 7,92 мм, который хранился в укладке. В отличие от более поздних модификаций, САУ модели «F» не оснащалась системами монтажа пулемета, позволявшими использовать его в любой момент. Также экипаж имел теоретическую возможность применять личное оружие.

Экипаж огнеметной САУ StuG (Fl), по разным данным, должен был состоять из четырех человек, однако можно предполагать некоторое его сокращение в сравнении с базовой машиной. В частности, новая боевая машина не нуждалась в заряжающем, а функции командира и наводчика могли быть переданы одному члену экипажа, как это было сделано в предыдущем проекте среднего огнеметного танка. В таком случае управлять бронемашиной могли двое или трое человек.

Согласно известным данным, демонтаж артиллерийского орудия и установка огнемета не привели к изменению габаритов машины в сравнении с базовой конструкцией. Длина машины осталась на уровне 6,77 м, ширина до 3 м, высота – 2,15 м. Боевая масса по-прежнему не превышала 23,5 т. Сохранение веса и исходной силовой установки ожидаемо не привело к изменению подвижности машины. Максимальная скорость составляла 40 км/ч, запас хода – 165 км. Сохранилась возможность передвижения по пересеченной местности с преодолением некоторых препятствий.

Огнеметная самоходка Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Германия
Схема огнеметной САУ. Рисунок Aviarmor.net


При принятии решения о разработке новой самоходки с огнеметным вооружением было предложено построить сотню подобных машин. Огнеметные САУ следовало переделывать из поступающих на ремонт серийных StuG III подходящей модификации. В дальнейшем планы были пересмотрены в сторону увеличения. К лету 1943 года командование желало получить уже 220 огнеметных машин на базе серийной самоходки. Тем не менее, все эти планы так и не были выполнены. Ограниченные возможности промышленности оказали большое влияние на реальных темпах сборки.

Модернизация серийных самоходок по новому проекту началась в мае 1943 года. Для установки огнеметной системы выделили девять машин модификации Ausf.F. В июне на переделку отправили еще одну Sturmgeschütz III. Демонтаж ненужного оборудования с установкой новой аппаратуры не занял много времени. К середине июня 10 огнеметных самоходок были готовы к испытаниям и последующей передаче заказчику. 23 июня все десять машин погрузили на железнодорожные платформы и отправили в войска.

Насколько известно, все десять машин StuG (Fl) были сведены в одну роту и переданы в ведение одной из дивизий, действовавших на Восточном фронте. Какие-либо сведения о боевой работе самоходок и эффективности их применения отсутствуют. Тем не менее, известно, что в июле 43-го одна из машин по неким причинам загорелась, но пожар был потушен. Обследование показало, что самоходка подлежит восстановлению. Вскоре ее отправили в тыл на ремонт, завершившийся в сентябре. Далее отремонтированную машину вернули войскам, которые продолжили ее эксплуатацию.

По-видимому, боевая эффективность десяти новых огнеметных самоходок оставляла желать лучшего. Как следствие, в январе 1944 года все Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) были отправлены на завод-изготовитель. Дальнейшую эксплуатацию этой техники в исходном виде, по причине невысоких характеристик, посчитали нецелесообразной. Поскольку использованные шасси еще не выработали свой ресурс, было решено перестроить огнеметные самоходки по исходным проектам. С них сняли огнеметы и все их агрегаты, вместо которых смонтировали стандартные орудия, укладки для снарядов и т.д. На этом история проекта StuG (Fl) завершилась. До нашего времени не дожило ни одного экземпляра такой техники.

Причины довольно быстрого отказа от самоходных установок StuG III с огнеметным вооружением просты и понятны. Эта боевая машина отличалась крайне низкими боевыми качествами и сомнительной живучестью при столкновении с противником. Характерной чертой всех огнеметных танков того времени, в том числе и Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), была малая дальность стрельбы огнесмесью, не превышавшая нескольких десятков метров. Это заставляло боевую машину при выполнении атаки приближаться к цели на минимальную дистанцию, что предъявляло особые требования к защите и дополнительному вооружению.

Огнеметная самоходка Sturmgeschütz (Flamm), Германия
Реконструкция облика машины StuG (Fl). Рисунок Rtvmodelismo.com


Имевшаяся 50-мм лобовая броня базовой самоходки (даже при усилении дополнительным листом толщиной 30 мм) на дистанциях в несколько десятков метров могла пробиваться различными орудиями советского производства, что могло серьезно затруднять ее продвижение к цели. При этом всего одно успешное попадание артиллерийского снаряда могло привести к возгоранию огнесмеси и уничтожению машины с гибелью экипажа.

Кроме того, отсутствовало вооружение для защиты от пехоты противника: единственный пулемет следовало хранить в укладке, а какие-либо механизмы для его установки с постоянной боеготовностью не использовались. Также следует отметить недостаточные углы наводки огнемета, которые могли затруднять поражение целей. Сектор горизонтального наведения шириной всего 20°, в свою очередь, серьезно затруднял возможную самооборону от пехоты с применением огнемета.

В итоге огнеметные машины на поле боя нуждались в дополнительном прикрытии бронетехникой и пехотой, которые могли бы защитить их от возможных угроз, возникающих при выдвижении к позициям противника. Следует отметить, с учетом огневой мощи и боевой эффективности такого прикрытия необходимость применения огнеметной машины могла вызывать сомнения. Иными словами, танки и пехота могли бы и сами вести бой, не прибегая к помощи огнеметных StuG (Fl).

По результатам недолгой и не слишком успешной эксплуатации, которая к тому же привела к временному выведению из строя одной из машин, все десять огнеметных САУ Sturmgeschütz (Flamm) были отправлены в тыл для переделки по базовому проекту. Вскоре они вернулись на фронт в качестве самоходок с артиллерийскими орудиями, которые действительно могли быть полезны для войск. Очередной проект самоходной машины с огнеметным оружием завершился ничем. Тем не менее, немецкие специалисты не бросили это направление и в дальнейшем попробовали создать еще несколько боевых машин, вооруженных огнеметами.


По материалам:
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://army.armor.kiev.ua/
Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны. – М.: АСТ: Астрель, 2008.
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 6
  1. казак волгский 25 мая 2016 07:20
    совершенно неизвестная разработка . Спасибо . Знал только что серийно - ну более - менее огнеметы на Хетцер ставили....для операции в Арденнах.на фото со одетым и снятым маскировочным кожухом.
  2. igordok 25 мая 2016 07:33
    Помогите разобраться с люками мехвода и радиста на Pz-3.
    Очень часто попадалась информация, что у них не было своих люков и приходилось пользоваться люками в башне. Люки в передней части корпуса, это люки для обслуживания трансмиссии, но ими как раз и пользовались мехвод и радист, и очень часто считают что это и есть их люки.

    На фото экипаж покидает танк, но люки в корпусе не открыты. Или мехвод погиб, или мехвод эвакуировался через башню или борт. На некоторых моделях Pz-3 эвакуационный люк был в борту корпуса, между поддерживающими катками.
    1. igordok 25 мая 2016 07:47
      В "Памятке по использованию немецких боевых и вспомогательных машин", эти люки вообще не указываются.

      ПС.Этот вопрос хотел задать вчера в статье о огнеметном Pz-3, но не успел.
    2. Александр72 25 мая 2016 08:26
      Изначально на танках Pz.III Ausf.A - Ausf.D в распоряжении командира имелась командирская башенка с двухстворчатым люком в крыше. Для посадки/высадки других членов экипажа предназначались два двухстворчатых люка по бокам башни. Механик-водитель и стрелок-радист обходились без собственных люков. Теоретически для эвакуации можно было использовать люки доступа к агрегатам трансмиссии, расположенные в верхнем носовом листе корпуса. Но на практике они применялись для этой цели редко.
      С модификации Pz.III Ausf.E (первой по настоящему серийной), получившей новую ходовую часть, для механика-водителя и стрелка-радиста ввели два эвакуационных люка по бортам корпуса впереди между верхней ветвью гусениц и опорными катками, однако их форма и размер не впечатляют - наверняка пользоваться ими было сложно. После установки в 1943 году противокумулятивных бортовых экранов эти люки потеряли всякую практическую ценность.
      На фото Pz.III Ausf.J хорошо видны бортовые люки:
      1. igordok 25 мая 2016 12:46
        Спасибо. Вы еще раз подтвердили информацию, которой обладал я.
  3. Вольный ветер 25 мая 2016 15:21
    Интересно что немцы полностью отказывались от основного вооружения меняя орудие на огнемет. У нас огнемет, на т-34 или на КВ, ставился вместо пулемета, дальность поражения примерно такая же, немного огненного залпа меньше, но пушка оставалась родная. Углы наводки так же почти такие же, да и у огнемета угол наводки на дальность и не влияет особо, и больше 15 градусов не используют. Эффект у огнемета конечно страшный, подыхать в огне ужасно. В смеси у фашистов и у нас использовалась каменноугольная смола,( можно сказать кузбаслак) в смеси с бензином и нередко с соляркой, легроином. ну такой а-ля напалм.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня