Military Review

Light reconnaissance tanks VK 903 and VK 1301 (Germany)

4
The light reconnaissance tank VK 901 was built in a small series and even reached limited operation in the army. However, the German army did not order full-fledged serial production of such equipment due to the lack of noticeable advantages over existing armored vehicles. Despite this, work on promising development projects tank Pz.Kpfw.II did not stop. It was proposed to upgrade the tank VK 901 with an increase in some basic characteristics. The result of this work was the light reconnaissance tank VK 903.


In the 1941 year, after carrying out all the necessary tests, the light tank VK 901 was no longer regarded as a promising mass vehicle for the troops. The prototype checks showed that such a tank has no significant advantages over the existing equipment of a similar class. As a result, the mass production and mass operation of such a machine was impractical. Nevertheless, MAN did not refuse to further develop the project. By the end of 1941, a modernization project was prepared for an existing tank with the new designation VK 903.

One of the main claims to the tank VK 901 concerned his body armor. Its frontal parts had a thickness of 30 mm, sides and feed - 15 mm. Such sheets of armor could not provide a noticeable increase in the characteristics of the protection in comparison with serial equipment. Thus, if the authors of the project still wanted to bring it to mass production, the tank needed more serious reservations. It was decided to remake the armored case of the existing machine with the reinforcement of some armor plates. To speed up the development of a new project, it was decided to abandon major changes in other components and assemblies.

Light reconnaissance tanks VK 903 and VK 1301 (Germany)
The only prototype of the tank ML 903. Photo Aviarmor.net


The former should have remained the general design of the hull, as well as its layout. As before, it was proposed to use the layout, traditional for German tanks, with a front-mounted powertrain and control compartment, a central fighting compartment and an engine compartment in the stern. The hull shape was also preserved with three front plates placed at different angles to the vertical. The sides of the hull formed the extended upper part of the hull, which served as a turret box.

The previous tank needed to increase protection, but in the new project this task was only partially solved. The armored hull of the VK 903 tank retained the frontal part of 30-mm sheets, and the sides and stern were now offered to be made from 20 mm-thick parts. This made it possible to a certain extent to improve the protection against shelling from the side or from behind, but it gave only a limited increase in the level of protection. The bottom and the roof of the hull should have been made of 20 and 10 mm thick sheets, respectively.

Tank VK 903 "inherited" from the previous project power plant and transmission. In the rear of the hull it was proposed to mount a Maybach HL 66P carburetor engine with an 150 hp power. A mechanical transmission based on the ZF Aphon SSG48 gearbox was connected to the engine using a long driveshaft. The transmission units were located in front of the control compartment and transmitted torque to the front drive wheels.


Scheme of the tank VK 901. The newer VK 903 had minimal external differences. Figure Nemectanki.ru


During the modernization of the tank VK 903 retained the design of the chassis. On each board it was proposed to install five large-diameter road wheels with an individual torsion bar suspension. In this case, the rollers partially overlapped each other. Two rollers were placed with a displacement outward, three - in the inner row. The front drive wheels were installed with a noticeable excess over the support rollers. The aft guide wheels were mounted slightly above the rollers.

New tank retained the existing tower design. On the chase of the hull it was proposed to install an armor structure, previously developed by Daimler-Benz. She had a 30-mm frontal sheet and a mask of the same thickness, and on the side and rear of the tower was protected by a curved 20-mm detail. Above, there was a two-part roof. The tower kept a set of periscope viewing devices in a small commander's cupola. Additional inspection hatches in the sides were not provided for the purpose of some strengthening of the structure.

The light tank complex VK 903 was supposed to be borrowed from the first version of VK 901. The 20-mm automatic gun KwK 38 L / 55 and the 7,92-mm MG 34 machine gun were to be mounted on the common mounts in the turret. It was proposed to search for targets and direct armaments using a TZF 4 / 38 type sight. Using hand drives, the gunner could turn weapon in any direction in the horizontal plane and direct it within a relatively wide vertical sector.


VK 903 and other equipment under test. Photo Ww2history.ru


The crew of the new armored vehicle was supposed to consist of three people: the driver, the radio operator and the commander-gunner. The first two were located inside the case, in front of it. To monitor the environment, the tankers in the hull had to use a set of inspection hatches. Two such devices were in the vertical front sheet, two more - in front of the sides. The driver had at his disposal the entire set of necessary controls, the FuG 2 radio station was installed at the radio operator’s workplace.

The new light tank VK 903 was slightly different from the previous VK 901 in terms of design, which, among other things, led to the preservation of size and weight. The armored vehicle, like its predecessor, had a length of 4,24 m, a width of 2,4 m and a height of 2,05 m. The combat weight was determined at the level of 10,5 t. By maintaining the same engine, the mobility of two tanks should not noticeably differ. VK 903 could reach speeds of up to 50-55 km / h and travel at a single fuel up to 200 km.

The first prototype of a promising tank with slightly reinforced armor was built at the beginning of 1942. During the first tests, the car showed good performance, but at this stage it was decided to change the project. In March, 42-th was offered to use a different transmission. The existing units were proposed to be replaced with a transmission borrowed from one of the latest modifications of the tank Pz.Kpfw.38 (t). This allowed to a certain extent to improve the basic characteristics of the machine, although it could lead to a significant shift in the completion dates of the project.


The first prototype of the tank VK 1301 with a deckhouse instead of a tower. Photo Aviarmor.net


At the same time, the military approved a new project and decided to order a number of serial machines. In accordance with the new order, MAN was to supply the Wehrmacht 200 light reconnaissance tanks VK 903. The first 120 machines were required to be built and handed over to the customer by the end of the current year. In connection with the plans for full operation in the troops, the tank received the official designation Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H. Despite numerous differences, officially VK 903 should have been considered a further development of the existing Panzerkampfwagen II.

Before the start of mass production, the designers of MAN had to recycle the transmission of the machine to meet the new requirements of the customer. These works took several months, and as a result had a great influence on the fate of the project. The process of changing the project and preparing for serial production was seriously delayed. By September, the 1942 of the year, MAN specialists had failed to complete the assigned tasks. After that, the customer familiarized himself with the current state of affairs and made the final decision on the future fate of VK project 903 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H.

Work on updating the existing project was seriously delayed. Because of this, there were reasonable doubts about the possibility of building the 120 required tanks by the end of the year. Moreover, it was possible to doubt the very possibility of starting the mass production of new equipment before the start of 1943. Due to the impossibility of implementing all existing plans in September 1942, it was decided to cancel the order for the construction of Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf H tanks. Difficulties with updating the transmission led to the fact that by the time the works were completed, only one experienced tank was available. The prototype with the updated composition of the units was not built.


One of the latest VK 1303 prototypes that got the tower. Photo Aviarmor.net


At the same time, until the end of the summer of the 1942, the MAN company managed to build and test three prototypes of the promising VK 1301 tank, which was a modified VK 903 version. In this project, armor protection was further enhanced. While preserving all the basic design features, the VK 1301 tank should have differed by a slightly greater thickness of the main parts of the hull and turret, which, among other things, led to a certain increase in the combat mass. The design of the tower was also finalized, which lost a small forage niche.

Power plant, transmission, chassis, crew, etc. Components of the new project corresponded to the early version of VK 903. The characteristics of the existing units made it possible to withstand the increased loads associated with the appearance of the new armored corps.

VK project 1301 also proposed to strengthen the armored vehicles. The main weapon of the tank was to be the newest 55-mm gun KwK 3901. On some mounts with a gun it was planned to install a rifle-caliber machine gun. Ideas about a significant increase in firepower were later rejected. Calculations showed that the existing hull and turret are unlikely to withstand the recoil of a 55 caliber gun. For this reason, over time, a gun mount similar to that used on VK 1301 and VK 901 tanks was introduced into the VK 903 project. Now the new tank was to be equipped with an 20-mm KwK 38 L / 55 cannon and a MG 34 machine gun.


Serial light tank VK 1303 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.L Luhs. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


For several months, the developer has built and tested four prototypes of the VK 1301 tank. In view of the delays in assembling the new turret, the first prototype came to the test with a fixed wheelhouse, imitating the weight of the turret with weapons. The following three prototypes received full combat compartments with the necessary weapons. With the logging and towers, all four new-type machines passed short-lived tests, which ended by the end of the summer of 1942.

Until a certain time, the light tank VK 1301 was also considered as a possible successor to the Pz.Kpfw.II cars of early modifications. In this regard, it is often called Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.M. However, the army did not receive such vehicles and could not replace the existing armored vehicles with them.

Failures of the basic project VK 903 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H, which did not have time to complete by the deadlines, had a negative impact on the version of its development. As a result, in September 1942, it was decided to abandon both VK 903 and VK modification 1301. By the time of the final refusal to continue the work and cancel production, one VK 903 prototype and four VK 1301 machines were assembled. Constructed machines, as follows from the available data, remained with the developer and later, probably, were dismantled. Unlike previous tanks VK 901, they did not manage to get on military trials.

Two options for upgrading the light reconnaissance tank VK 901 could not get out of the test and refinement stage. Nevertheless, in the course of these projects, some new ideas were developed, which later found application in the creation of the following models of armored vehicles. Thus, the further development of the VK 901 - VK 903 - VK 1301 line was the VK 1303 light tank, better known as Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.L Luchs. Unlike its predecessors, this machine was built in series and was in service.


Based on:
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://ww2history.ru/
Chamberlain P., Doyle H. Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War. - M .: AST: Astrel, 2008.
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Morglenn
    Morglenn 31 May 2016 11: 48
    +1
    Nice article, informative. I would like to read about aufklärungspanzer 38 (t)
  2. Greenhorn
    Greenhorn 31 May 2016 12: 24
    0
    I’m curious about this. Why didn’t the Germans favor a rational tilt of armor? After all, not stupid guys. All of their tanks are square.
    1. acrshooter
      acrshooter 1 June 2016 03: 02
      0
      At the beginning of the war, the Germans tried to provide the same level of protection in a circle, with a larger armored volume (as much as possible in principle).

      Those. very roughly speaking, if we have 2 tank hulls with the same booking perimeter of 12 m with conditionally the same quality and thickness of the armor, then in a square hull of 3x3 m there will be a base of the reserved volume of 9 square meters, while a 2x4 m hull will have 8 sq.m

      The crown of this idea (in mass production) became
      PzKpfw VI "Tiger" with its wide fenders, which were installed due to the new turret with a cannon
      8,8cm KwK 36 L / 56, and wide same tracks
      (to preserve the contact area of ​​the tracks with the surface = maintain patency) which gave it this appearance.

      But the emergence of the forces of the anti-Hitler coalition of new tank guns like this:


      - Soviet Zis-S-53 and D-5S caliber 85 mm,
      and Zis-2 caliber 57 mm (newly adopted);

      - British 17 pound caliber 76,2 mm;

      - American M1 and its modifications of 76,2 mm caliber

      put a bullet in the further development of the concept of equal-strength booking.
      (Those who didn't get the hint continued to try "Maus".)

      Because on heavy tanks starting from
      PanzerKampfwagen VI Ausführung B "Tiger II"
      has already been built according to the concept of diversity booking with rational angles of inclination.

      And on medium ones (according to the German classification - according to the caliber of the gun), they returned to it even during the design of the PzKpfw V "Pantera" (this was how the T-34-76 impressed them).

      Generally speaking, German tanks are a product made on the basis of the doctrine and strategy of German generals, their tactical and technical tasks and the capabilities of the military-industrial complex of that time. Actually, like everywhere else ...

      Sincerely, Arthur.
      1. Greenhorn
        Greenhorn 1 June 2016 11: 12
        0
        Thank you for your reply. hi

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)

Легкий разведывательный танк VK 901 был построен небольшой серией и даже дошел до ограниченной эксплуатации в войсках. Тем не менее, немецкая армия не стала заказывать полноценное серийное производство такой техники ввиду отсутствия заметных преимуществ перед существующими бронемашинами. Несмотря на это, работы по перспективным проектам развития танка Pz.Kpfw.II не прекратились. Было предложено обновить танк VK 901 с повышением некоторых основных характеристик. Результатом этих работ стал легкий разведывательный танк VK 903.

В 1941 году, после проведения всех необходимых испытаний, легкий танк VK 901 перестали рассматривать в качестве перспективной массовой машины для войск. Проверки прототипа показали, что такой танк не имеет никаких серьезных преимуществ перед существующей техникой аналогичного класса. Как следствие, серийное производство и массовая эксплуатация такой машины была нецелесообразна. Тем не менее, фирма MAN не стала отказываться от дальнейшего развития проекта. К концу 1941 года был подготовлен проект модернизации существующего танка с новым обозначением VK 903.

Одна из главных претензий к танку VK 901 касалась его бронезащиты. Его лобовые детали имели толщину 30 мм, борта и корма – 15 мм. Такие листы брони не могли обеспечить заметного роста характеристик защиты в сравнении с серийной техникой. Таким образом, если авторы проекта все же хотели довести его до серийного производства, танк нуждался в более серьезном бронировании. Было принято решение переделать бронекорпус существующей машины с усилением некоторых бронелистов. Для ускорения разработки нового проекта было решено отказаться от серьезных изменений других узлов и агрегатов.


Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
Единственный прототип танка МЛ 903. Фото Aviarmor.net


Прежними должны были остаться общая конструкция корпуса, а также его компоновка. Как и ранее, предлагалось применять традиционную для немецких танков компоновку с передним размещением трансмиссии и отделения управления, центральным боевым отделением и двигательным отсеком в корме. Также была сохранена форма корпуса с тремя лобовыми листами, размещенными под разными углами к вертикали. Борта корпуса образовывали расширенную верхнюю часть корпуса, выполнявшую функции подбашенной коробки.

Предыдущий танк нуждался в усилении защиты, однако в новом проекте эта задача была решена лишь частично. Бронекорпус танка VK 903 сохранил лобовую часть из 30-мм листов, а борта и корму теперь предлагалось делать из деталей толщиной 20 мм. Это позволяло в определенной мере улучшить защиту от обстрела сбоку или сзади, но давало лишь ограниченный прирост уровня защиты. Днище и крыша корпуса должны были изготавливаться из листов толщиной 20 и 10 мм соответственно.

Танк VK 903 «унаследовал» от предыдущего проекта силовую установку и трансмиссию. В корме корпуса предлагалось монтировать карбюраторный двигатель Maybach HL 66P мощностью 150 л.с. С двигателем при помощи длинного карданного вала соединялась механическая трансмиссия на основе коробки передач ZF Aphon SSG48. Агрегаты трансмиссии помещались перед отделением управления и передавали крутящий момент на передние ведущие колеса.

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
Схема танка VK 901. Более новый VK 903 имел минимальные внешние отличия. Рисунок Nemectanki.ru


В ходе модернизации танк VK 903 сохранил конструкцию ходовой части. На каждом борту предлагалось устанавливать по пять опорных катков большого диаметра с индивидуальной торсионной подвеской. При этом катки частично перекрывали друг друга. Два катка помещались со смещением наружу, три – во внутреннем ряду. Передние ведущие колеса устанавливались с заметным превышением над опорными катками. Кормовые направляющие колеса монтировались незначительно выше катков.

Новый танк сохранил башню существующей конструкции. На погоне корпуса предлагалось устанавливать броневую конструкцию, ранее разработанную фирмой Daimler-Benz. Она имела 30-мм лобовой лист и маску такой же толщины, а сбоку и сзади башня защищалась изогнутой 20-мм деталью. Сверху предусматривалась крыша, состоящая из двух частей. Башня сохранила набор перископических смотровых приборов в небольшой командирской башенке. Дополнительные смотровые лючки в бортах не предусматривались с целью некоторого усиления конструкции.

Комплекс вооружения легкого танка VK 903 должен был заимствоваться у первой версии VK 901. На общих креплениях в башне должны были монтироваться 20-мм автоматическая пушка KwK 38 L/55 и 7,92-мм пулемет MG 34. Искать цели и наводить вооружение предлагалось при помощи прицела типа TZF 4/38. Используя ручные приводы, наводчик мог поворачивать оружие в любом направлении в горизонтальной плоскости и наводить его в пределах сравнительно широкого вертикального сектора.

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
VK 903 и другая техника на испытаниях. Фото Ww2history.ru


Экипаж новой бронемашины должен был состоять из трех человек: механика-водителя, радиста и командира-наводчика. Первые двое размещались внутри корпуса, в передней его части. Для наблюдения за окружающей обстановкой танкисты, находящиеся в корпусе, должны были использовать набор смотровых лючков. Два таких устройства имелись в вертикальном лобовом листе, еще два – в передней части бортов. В распоряжении водителя имелся весь набор необходимых органов управления, на рабочем месте радиста устанавливалась радиостанция FuG 2.

Новый легкий танк VK 903 незначительно отличался от предыдущего VK 901 с точки зрения конструкции, что, среди прочего, привело к сохранению габаритов и веса. Бронемашина нового типа, как и ее предшественник, имела длину 4,24 м, ширину 2,4 м и высоту 2,05 м. Боевая масса определялась на уровне 10,5 т. За счет сохранения аналогичного двигателя подвижность двух танков не должна была заметно отличаться. VK 903 мог развивать скорость до 50-55 км/ч и преодолевать на одной заправке топливом до 200 км.

Первый прототип перспективного танка с незначительно усиленным бронированием был построен в начале 1942 года. В ходе первых испытаний машина показала неплохие характеристики, однако на этом этапе было решено изменить проект. В марте 42-го появилось предложение использовать иную трансмиссию. Имевшиеся агрегаты предлагалось заменить трансмиссией, заимствованной у одной из последних модификаций танка Pz.Kpfw.38(t). Это позволяло в определенной мере повысить основные характеристики машины, хотя и могло привести к значительному смещению сроков завершения проекта.

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
Первый прототип танка VK 1301 с рубкой вместо башни. Фото Aviarmor.net


В это же время военные одобрили новый проект и решили заказать некоторое количество серийных машин. В соответствии с новым заказом, фирма MAN должна была поставить Вермахту 200 легких разведывательных танков VK 903. Первые 120 машин требовалось построить и сдать заказчику до конца текущего года. В связи с планами на полноценную эксплуатацию в войсках танк получил официальное обозначение Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H. Несмотря на многочисленные различия, официально VK 903 должен был считаться дальнейшим развитием существующего Panzerkampfwagen II.

Перед началом серийного производства конструкторам фирмы MAN пришлось перерабатывать трансмиссию машины с учетом новых требований заказчика. Эти работы заняли несколько месяцев, и в итоге оказали большое влияние на судьбу проекта. Процесс изменения проекта и подготовки к серийному производству серьезно затягивался. К сентябрю 1942 года специалистам MAN так и не удалось выполнить поставленные задачи. После этого заказчик ознакомился с текущим положением дел и принял окончательное решение о дальнейшей судьбе проекта VK 903 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H.

Работы по обновлению существующего проекта серьезно затянулись. Из-за этого появились обоснованные сомнения в возможности строительства 120 требуемых танков к концу года. Более того, можно было сомневаться и в самой возможности начала серийного производства новой техники до начала 1943 года. Ввиду невозможности реализации всех существующих планов в сентябре 1942 года было решено аннулировать заказ на строительство танков Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf H. Затруднения с обновлением трансмиссии привели к тому, что к моменту завершения работ в наличии имелся лишь один опытный танк. Прототип с обновленным составом агрегатов не строился.

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
Один из последних прототипов VK 1303, получивших башню. Фото Aviarmor.net


При этом до конца лета 1942-го фирма MAN успела построить и испытать три прототипа перспективного танка VK 1301, являвшегося доработанной версией VK 903. В этом проекте была дополнительно усилена бронезащита. При сохранении всех основных особенностей конструкции танк VK 1301 должен был отличаться немного большей толщиной основных деталей корпуса и башни, что, среди прочего, приводило к определенному росту боевой массы. Также была доработана конструкция башни, которая лишилась небольшой кормовой ниши.

Силовая установка, трансмиссия, ходовая часть, состав экипажа и т.п. составляющие нового проекта соответствовали ранней версии VK 903. Характеристики существующих агрегатов позволяли выдержать возросшие нагрузки, связанные с появлением нового броневого корпуса.

Проектом VK 1301 также предлагалось усилить вооружение бронемашины. Основным оружием танка должна была стать новейшая 55-мм пушка KwK 3901. На одних креплениях с пушкой планировалось устанавливать пулемет винтовочного калибра. Идеи о значительном повышении огневой мощи в дальнейшем были отвергнуты. Расчеты показывали, что существующие корпус и башня вряд ли смогут выдержать отдачу пушки калибра 55 мм. По этой причине со временем в проект VK 1301 внедрили орудийную установку, аналогичную использованным на танках VK 901 и VK 903. Теперь новый танк должен был оснащаться 20-мм пушкой KwK 38 L/55 и пулеметом MG 34.

Легкие разведывательные танки VK 903 и VK 1301 (Германия)
Серийный легкий танк VK 1303 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.L Luhs. Фото Wikimedia Commons


За несколько месяцев фирма-разработчик построила и испытала четыре прототипа танка VK 1301. Ввиду задержек со сборкой новой башни первый опытный образец вышел на испытания с неподвижной рубкой, имитировавшей вес башни с оружием. Следующие три прототипа получили полноценные боевые отделения с необходимым вооружением. С рубками и башнями все четыре машины нового типа прошли недолгие испытания, завершившиеся к концу лета 1942 года.

До определенного времени легкий танк VK 1301 тоже рассматривался в качестве возможного преемника машин Pz.Kpfw.II ранних модификаций. В связи с этим его нередко называют Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.M. Тем не менее, армия не получила подобные машины и не смогла заменить ими имеющуюся бронетехнику.

Неудачи базового проекта VK 903 / Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.H, который не успевали завершить к установленным срокам, негативно сказались и на варианте его развития. В итоге в сентябре 1942 года было решено отказаться как от VK 903, так и от его модификации VK 1301. К моменту окончательного отказа от дальнейшего продолжения работ и отмены серийного производства был собран один прототип VK 903 и четыре машины типа VK 1301. Построенные машины, как следует из имеющихся данных, остались у фирмы-разработчика и позже, вероятно, были разобраны. В отличие от предыдущих танков VK 901, им не удалось попасть на войсковые испытания.

Два варианта модернизации легкого разведывательного танка VK 901 не смогли выйти из стадии испытаний и доработок. Тем не менее, в ходе этих проектов были отработаны некоторые новые идеи, которые в дальнейшем нашли применение при создании следующих моделей бронетехники. Так, дальнейшим развитием линейки VK 901 – VK 903 – VK 1301 стал легкий танк VK 1303, более известный под названием Pz.Kpfw.II Ausf.L Luchs. В отличие от своих предшественников, эта машина строилась серийно и состояла на вооружении.


По материалам:
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://ww2history.ru/
Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны. – М.: АСТ: Астрель, 2008.
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. Morglenn 31 мая 2016 11:48
    Неплохая статья, познавательная.Хотелось бы почитать про aufklärungspanzer 38(t)
  2. Greenhorn 31 мая 2016 12:24
    Мне вот что любопытно. Почему немцы не жаловали рациональный наклон брони? Ведь неглупые ребята. Все танки у них квадратные.
    1. acrshooter 1 июня 2016 03:02
      В начале войны немцы пытались обеспечить одинаковый уровень защиты по кругу, при большем заброневом объеме(насколько это в принципе было возможно).

      Т.е. очень грубо говоря, если у нас есть 2 корпуса танка с одинаковым периметром бронирования 12 м при условно одинаковом качестве и толщине брони, то в квадратный корпус 3х3 м будет иметь основание заброневого объёма 9 кв.м, в то время как корпус 2х4 м - 8 кв.м.

      Венцом этой идеи (в серийном производстве) стал
      PzKpfw VI "Tiger" с его широкими надгусеничными полками которые установили из-за новой башни с пушкой
      8,8cm KwK 36 L/56, и широких же гусениц
      (для сохранения площади контакта гусениц с поверхностью = сохранению проходимости) что и придало ему такой вид.

      Но появление у сил антигитлеровской коалиции новых танковых пушек как то:


      - советские Зис-С-53 и Д-5С калибра 85 мм,
      и Зис-2 калибра 57 мм (вновь принятая на вооружение);

      - британская 17-ти фунтовка калибра 76,2 мм;

      - американская М1 и её модификации калибра 76,2 мм

      поставили на дальнейшем развитии концепции равнопрочного бронирования жирную точку.
      (Те кто намёка не поняли продолжали испытывать "Maus".)

      Потому на тяжелых танках начиная с
      PanzerKampfwagen VI Ausführung B "Tiger II"
      уже был построен согласно концепции разнесённого бронирования с рациональными углами наклона.

      А на средних (по немецкой классификации - согласно калибру орудия) к ней вернулись ещё при проэктировании PzKpfw V "Pantera" (это их так Т-34-76 впечатлила).

      В общем говоря, немецкие танки являются продуктом произведенным исходя из доктрины и стратегии немецких генералов, основанных на них тактико-технических заданий и возможностей оборонно-промышленного комплекса того времени. Собственно как и везде...

      С Уважением, Артур.
      1. Greenhorn 1 июня 2016 11:12
        Благодарю за ответ. hi
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня