Military Review

Battle of Abyssinia

5
Offensive on Axum. Battle of Tembiene


The Abyssinian command did not allow the enemy to complete the training and move to a new offensive. The Abyssinians correctly took into account that the forces of the Italian army were stretched out and not ready for an offensive, since the divisions to strengthen the Northern Front are still on the way and the rear is not rebuilt. The northern Italian front at that time numbered about 250 thousand people - 12 divisions (regular 5, fascist 5 and colonial 2). If the Abyssinian troops managed to strike the Italian army, detached from the main bases in Eritrea and had not yet had time to prepare the roads and rear in the occupied territory, in the direction of the least secured right flank, pinning the enemy on other directions and activating the partisans on enemy communications, the Italians would have very hard. If the Italian army had been confronted by an army of equal potential, the case could have ended in complete defeat.

Thus, the beginning of the war revealed many shortcomings in the Italian army: there was a lack of equipment, despite the extensive work on organizing the rear, the troops were poorly supplied; marauding and black market flourished; army units and fascist militia vied with each other, which adversely affected the overall combat capability.

Abyssinian troops were concentrated in three groups totaling 150-200 thousand soldiers. The first group of the Ras Mouluget (Ethiopian War Minister) was located opposite McAlle; against the center of the Italian army - the troops of the races Kas and Seiyoum; against the right-wing stewards of the Italians, the races of Imru and Aiel. Behind the right wing, the Abyssinian reserve was concentrated — the guard, designed to reinforce this wing or center. The offensive of the Abyssinian army was due to the fact that further retreat could lead to the loss of large spaces and the demoralization of troops.

However, a powerful simultaneous strike could not be organized. First, in December, the troops of the princes Imru and Aielu went against the right wing of the Italian army in the direction of Aksum. Abyssinians forced the river Takkaze and created a serious threat to the Italian flank. At one of the sites, the colonial battalion was destroyed, which simultaneously attacked from the front and rear, the Abyssinian warriors took many trophies as trophies. weapons. During these battles, the Abyssinians were able to damage and disable several tanks the enemy. The Italians, to restrain the onslaught of the enemy, transferred reserves to this flank. After this there was a relative lull, small clashes in this direction continued until mid-January 1936. During these battles, the Italians first used chemical weapons (mustard bombs). Italy violated the 1925 Geneva Convention. Emperor Haile Selassie subsequently wrote: “We attacked the enemy’s machine gun nests, his artillery, grabbed his tanks with our bare hands, we carried out aerial bombardments, but we could not do anything against the poisonous gases that quietly dropped on our faces and hands.”

Battle of Abyssinia


Map Source: Korsun N. The Italo-Abyssinian War 1935-1936

Almost a month after the first attack of the left wing of the Abyssinian army, the forces of the races Kas and Seiyoum went to the offensive in the center of the Abyssinian military formations. Ras Seyouma vowed to "win or die." The Italians, knowledgeable about the plans of the enemy, were ready. The Eritrean (colonial) corps received orders to retreat, dragging the enemy along. Then he had to stop and go to the counteroffensive, while simultaneously attacking the flanks of the Abyssinian army the 2 corps — on the left flank and the 3 corps — on the right. At the same time, the 1 Army Corps was supposed to forge the army of the Muluheta race in the area of ​​Makalla.

Ethiopian troops launched an offensive and broke through the enemy defenses. They almost went to the road Adua - Makalle. 18-19 January 1936 The position of the Italian troops in this sector of the front was critical. But on January 20-21, having received reinforcements in manpower and equipment, the Italian troops launched a counteroffensive. They delivered a powerful blow to the Ethiopian troops, and again used poisonous substances. The Italians tried to surround the enemy in the area of ​​the river Takkase in the area of ​​Tembien. Abyssinians, showing great persistence, suffered great losses, but for two days they fought with the enemy. The 3 Italian Corps could not complete the maneuver north of r. Geva, which allowed the Abyssinian troops to escape from the outlined ring environment. The troops of the races Kas and Seyum retreated. Their withdrawal forced the retreat to begin with the troops of the army group of the races Imru and Aiel. The troops of the Ras Mulugetta during this battle were practically inactive, which made it easier for the Italian army to act against the armies of Kas and Seyum.

Thus, due to mismanagement, poor interaction, lack of normal communication and weak weapons, the Ethiopian army’s counterstrike did not reach its goals. The Ethiopian troops were divided into three army groups, which facilitated the further advance of the Italians. Now the Ethiopian army could be smashed in pieces.




Italian armored vehicles

Decisive battles and a turning point in the war in favor of Italy

By the beginning of February, 1936 was concentrated on the main line, in the Amba-Aradam area, with 80-thousand. the army of the Ras Molugetta, which had several guns and about 50 machine guns. 1 and 3 army corps stood against her - 100 thousand soldiers, 250 guns, of sv. 1800 machine guns, 200 aircraft and 230 tankettes. To the west, in the center, the forces of the races Kas and Seiyum were entrenched in the mountain positions. They numbered about 60 thousand people, with a small number of guns and machine guns. Against them was 25-thousand. The Eritrean corps, which had 55 guns, around 300 machine guns. Even to the west, on the left flank, were the forces of the princes Imru and Aiel - 30-40 thousand people with little technical equipment. Italians had 2 and 4 corps on their right flank - 90 thousand soldiers, 148 guns, about 1700 machine guns.

Thus, the Italian command created strong groups on the flanks. Badoglio planned to consistently crush all three isolated Abyssinian army groups. The Italian marshal was about to deliver the first crushing blow to the troops south of McCallet against the troops of Prince Mulugeta. Here the Italians were just completing the construction of a highway from Adigrat. The Italian commander-in-chief broke the offensive into three stages: 1) eliminating the most powerful army of the race Mulagheta by the troops of the 1 and 3 of the army corps, which were to outflank the Amba-Aradam positions of the enemy; 2) followed by the exit of the 3 Corps to the flank and rear of the Kas and Seyum groups, while simultaneously striking from the northwest of the Eritrean Corps, which led to the defeat of the second group of the enemy. At the same time, the 1 Corps was to pursue the defeated troops of the Muleghet in the direction of Quoram; 3) the defeat of the troops of Imru and Ayela in the Shire area by the forces of the 2 and 4 buildings; The 3 Corps was to pursue the broken parts of the princes Kas and Seyum.






By setting up barriers against the troops of Kas, Seyoum, Imr and Aiel, on February 10 the Italian army attacked the Muluheta forces. Abyssinian troops stood in the Endert region on the Amba-Aradam massif near the Gabat River. The army of Muluheta covered the road to Addis Ababa. The mountain range was pretty well prepared for defense, trenches and shelters were built, so a frontal attack could lead to heavy losses. Abyssinians located on the flanks of the mountain range also prepared for defense.

As a result, a stubborn battle broke out in which the Abyssinians again showed steadfastness and courage in front of the superior forces of the enemy. However, the military-technical superiority of the Italians played a role. Italian troops actively used artillery (up to 108 guns in the central section) and Aviation, widely used smoke screens and chemical weapons. During the 5-day fierce battle, the army of Mulaget was defeated. Ras Mulaget himself died in battle. By February 17, the remnants of the Abyssinian troops were driven back to Amba-Alagi. When retreating, the remnants of the Ethiopian army came under attack from Italian aviation, which finally demoralized the soldiers, many fled.

Thus, as a result of the Amba-Aradam battle, the best army of Ethiopia — the Ras Muluheta — was defeated, the Italians were given freedom in the main line. The Italian army had the opportunity to proceed to the next phase of the operation - the defeat of the army group Kas and Seyouma. The courage and resilience of the Abyssinian warriors was broken by a more advanced army.

The troops of Kasa and Seiyoum, which occupied positions in the mountain range of Andino, due to lack of communication remained unaware that their flank and rear were open to the enemy. In addition, they were sure that they were protected from the rear by impassable mountains. During the defeat of the army of Muluheth, they were inactive. Therefore, Badoglio decided to continue the operation to defeat the enemy. The 1 Corps continued the pursuit of the remnants of the defeated Muluget troops. The Eritrean corps was to attack the enemy from the front, and the 3 corps, after the Amba-Aradam battle, turned to the west, in the direction of Gael. The Italian troops advanced in the inaccessible mountainous terrain and for three days were supplied with the help of aviation. For 11 days, the 3 Corps moved along mountain paths and concentrated in the Gaela area. At the same time, the offensive was launched by the right wing of the Italian army, which was to be taken to the army by Imru and Aiel. The 2 Army Corps attacked the enemy from the front, and the 4 Corps covered the Abyssinians from the north and northwest.

As a result, when the troops of the races Kas and Seiyoum attacked the Italians in Tembiene at the Uaryu pass, they were attacked on February 27-29 by the Eritrean and 3 corps. The Abyssinians tried to break through to the south, and after the failure, they began to retreat to the higher mountainous Semyen region. They were pursued by Italian aircraft, widely sprayed mustard gas. As a result, the troops of Kasa and Seiyoum were demoralized and scattered.

The troops of the races Imru and Aielu, located on the north bank of the river Takkaze, in the Shire region, were aware of the plight of their neighbors and at that time tried to break through to Axum. Their attacks were held back by the 2 Italian Corps. February 29 Italian troops began the third phase of the operation, which included the coverage and destruction of the forces of the princes Imre and Aiel. However, the 4 body was late with the coverage of the left wing of the Abyssinians, which led to serious losses for the 2 body, which at that time attacked from the front. During its march, the 4 corps (as well as the 3 corps) moved through the mountainous terrain and was mainly supplied by aviation. Ras Imru, taking into account the unfavorable situation that has developed for the Ethiopian army, skillfully maneuvering, began to withdraw troops across the river Takkaze. However, here too, the Abyssinians underwent strong attacks by Italian aviation, including chemical weapons, during the crossing. This led to the breakdown of the Abyssinian army. The remaining forces of the race Imru attempted to retreat to Lake Ashangi, where the emperor collected all available troops for the final decisive battle.

Thus, the Italian army under the command of Badollie in three battles defeated and dispersed the main forces of the Abyssinian army. The troops of the races of Muluheta, Kasa and Seiyoum, Imru and Aielu attempted to organize a counter-offensive in the area of ​​Macalla, Tembien, but were defeated and rejected by the Italian army that had begun the offensive, which was reinforced by two corps. The most powerful army of the Ras Muluheta was defeated, and the central direction remained uncovered. The remnants of the Abyssinian armies and reserves were hastily concentrated by the Negus in the area of ​​Lake Ashangi to cover the capital.



Abyssinian soldiers

Battle of Lake Ashangi

After decisive success, the Italian command decided not to stop, pulling back and improving communications, as it had done before, but to continue the offensive with the main forces on Dessie and Addis Ababa in order to consolidate the result. In the meantime, the Ethiopian emperor hastily knocked together an army from the operational reserves and remnants of the army, hoping to organize a counterattack and reject the enemy. At this time, the Italian agents were able to organize in the rear of the Abyssinian army - the Gojam region, an uprising of the supporters of the race Hailu. As a result, the Negus had to divert part of the forces to its suppression, which weakened the troops, who concentrated in the area of ​​Lake Ashangi and the city of Cuoram.

To ensure his offensive from the right wing, Marshal Badoglio sent troops of the 2 and 4 army corps and General Koutura's detachment to Gondar through Semyen. They were to secure the flank of the troops in the main line and prevent the remnants of Imru’s army from connecting with the retreating units of the Seiyoum race. The actions of Kuture and the 4 corps were associated with the newly formed 8-thousand. General Starache’s mechanized column, which moved through Om-Adjer to Gondar through semi-desert terrain. These troops were greatly assisted by aviation, which carried out reconnaissance and ensured the flanks of the troops from the ambushes of the Abyssinian soldiers. 1 April 1936. Italian troops reached Gondar. The troops of the 2 and 4 of the Italian corps crossed at the beginning of March to the river Taccase at Hyde and with their forward detachments reached Gondar and 2 in April united with the column Starace. On April 12, General Kouture’s right-flank column captured Gallabat border with Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and cut the shortest link between Abyssinia and the outside world.

Thus, to the right of the wing of the Italian expeditionary army, without fear of large enemy forces (previously defeated) and advancing on a broad front, occupied a vast territory and forced the Abyssinians to leave the Semyen and Gondar regions. Italians intercepted an important communication leading to Sudan.



Meanwhile, the main forces of the Italian army were advancing in three directions: the 3 Corps - Gaela-Fenaroa-Sakota-Dessier; 1 and Eritrean Corps - Amba-Alagi-Quoram-Dessier; along the Central Front from Assab, the troops marched through the desert of Danakil to Sardo Dessier. Three attacking Italian corps numbered about 125 thousand people, 210 guns, more than 2400 machine guns, 270 tanks. While the 1 and Eritrean corps were advancing along the main road, the 3 corps was to go to the flank and rear of the Negus army.

Negus concentrated around 40 thousand soldiers from the reserve, various formations and units. On March 21, the emperor, who personally led the troops, decided to launch a counterattack in the Mai-Chio region, north of Lake Ashangi. This decision was caused by the pressure of foreign advisers and some military leaders, as well as the deterioration of the situation in the rear (uprisings, the growth of banditry). The Italians learned about this and managed to prepare: the troops occupied defensive orders in the Mai-Chio region at the front in 10 km, having the 1 corps on the right flank and the Eritrean on the left. Also, the Italians pulled heavy artillery.



31 March Abyssinian troops went on the attack. The Italians have not yet completed the preparation of defensive lines, so in the beginning a desperate rush of Abyssinians was a success. They pushed the left flank of the enemy. For three days there were stubborn battles, both sides suffered heavy losses. But the Italians, with the help of artillery and aviation, repelled the blow and on April 2 launched a counter-offensive. Broken Abyssinian troops began to retreat. It took place under the continuous strikes of Italian aviation, which widely used chemical weapons. The Eritrean Corps, made a deep bypass of the east and began to threaten the environment. In the rear became active gangs, which were supported by Italian agents. As a result, the army of the emperor ceased to exist as a single force.

In the course of these fierce battles, the Imperial Guard was almost completely killed — the selective core of the Ethiopian army. Negus himself, with a small detachment, hiding from enemy aircraft, was moving toward Addis Ababa at night. After this battle, the Ethiopian army on the Northern Front was practically destroyed as an organized force. Only a few isolated detachments remained, which went over to the partisan struggle. The path to the Abyssinian capital was opened. 20 April Italian troops captured Dessier.



Dessie after aerial bombardment

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Second Italian-Ethiopian War

How Italy conquered Ethiopia
Italian armed forces to the beginning of the invasion of Ethiopia
Ethiopian army to the start of hostilities
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Aleksander
    Aleksander 31 May 2016 07: 52
    +1
    Still, the actions of the Italians are incomprehensible: well, they defeated the army of Abyssinia, and then what? How to keep such a vast territory inhabited by a large hostile population?
    What is the strategic goal, after all, there were no strategic materials in Abyssinia. What is the practical purpose of the war — only the satisfaction of imperial ambitions? Weird people...
    1. baudolino
      baudolino 31 May 2016 08: 56
      +4
      And there was nothing more to capture. The rest of Africa has already been divided. And you want to create an empire.
  2. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 31 May 2016 09: 25
    0
    Thank you very much for getting to know a topic that I have not thought about before. Although the customs and culture of Ethiopia and Eritrea was interested.
    Shocked to use mustard gas.
    I regret that the African peoples could not unite for the sake of a common goal --- the fight against Western aggression.
    1. Lankaster
      Lankaster 31 May 2016 09: 58
      +5
      Quote: Reptiloid
      I regret that the African peoples could not unite for the sake of a common goal --- the fight against Western aggression.

      In Africa, they probably looked at life easier and did not set such global goals. Locals willingly marched into Italian colonial detachments - both Somalis and Eritreans.

      Pictured are Eritrean soldiers in the Dessa area, April 1936.
  3. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 31 May 2016 12: 04
    0
    Italy’s imperial ambitions even led to the use of chemical weapons .. with all the technical superiority, they felt powerful resistance in their own skin. Undoubtedly, the Abyssinian people arouse respect in me.
  4. Lord blacwood
    Lord blacwood 31 May 2016 18: 08
    0
    In place of the emperor Haile Selassie, I would have kept the army and organized partisan detachments.

Битва за Абиссинию

Наступление на Аксум. Битва при Тембиене

Абиссинское командование не дало противнику завершить подготовку и перейти в новое наступление. Абиссинцы верно учли, что силы итальянской армии растянулись и не готовы к наступлению, так как дивизии для усиления Северного фронта ещё в пути и тыл не перестроен. Северный итальянский фронт в это время насчитывал около 250 тыс. человек — 12 дивизий (5 регулярных, 5 фашистских и 2 колониальные). Если бы абиссинским войскам удалось нанести удар итальянской армии, оторвавшейся от основных баз в Эритрее и ещё не успевшей подготовить дороги и тыл на захваченной территории, в направлении наименее обеспеченного правого фланга, сковывая противника на других направлениях и активизировав партизан на коммуникациях врага, то итальянцам пришлось весьма тяжело. Если бы итальянской армии противостояла равная по потенциалу армия, дело могло завершиться полным разгромом.

Так, начало войны выявило много недостатков в итальянской армии: не хватало снаряжения, несмотря на большую работу по организации тыла, войска плохо снабжались; процветало мародерство и «черный рынок»; армейские части и фашистская милиция соперничали друг с другом, что неблагоприятно влияло на общую боеспособность.


Абиссинские войска сосредоточились тремя группами общей численностью 150-200 тыс. воинов. Первая группа раса Мулугета (эфиопского военного министра) располагалась напротив Макалле; против центра итальянской армии — войска расов Каса и Сейюма; против правого крала итальянцев — расы Имру и Айелу. За правым крыло был сосредоточен абиссинский резерв — гвардия, предназначенный для усиления этого крыла или центра. Наступление абиссинской армии было связано тем, что дальнейшее отступление могло привести к потере больших пространств и деморализации войск.

Однако, мощный одновременный удар организовать не удалось. Сначала в декабре пошли в атаку войска князей Имру и Айелу против правого крыла итальянской армии в направлении на Аксум. Абиссинцы форсировали реку Такказе и создали серьёзную угрозу итальянскому флангу. На одном из участков был уничтожен колониальный батальон, который одновременно атаковали с фронта и тыла, абиссинские воины взяли в качестве трофеев много оружия. В ходе этих боев, абиссинцы смогли повредить и вывести из строя несколько танков противника. Итальянцы, чтобы сдержать натиск противника, перебросили на этот фланг резервы. После этого наступило относительное затишье, небольшие боестолкновения на этом направлении продолжались до середины января 1936 года. В ходе этих боев итальянцы впервые применили химическое оружие (ипритовые авиабомбы). Италия нарушила Женевскую конвенцию 1925 года. Император Хайле Селассие впоследствии писал: «Мы атаковали пулеметные гнезда противника, его артиллерию, голыми руками захватывали его танки, мы переносили воздушные бомбардировки, но против отравляющих газов, которые незаметно опускались на лицо и руки, мы ничего не могли сделать».

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Источник карт: Корсун Н. Итало-абиссинская война 1935-1936 гг.

Почти через месяц после первой атаки левого крыла абиссинской армии, в наступление пошли войска расов Каса и Сейюма в центре боевых порядков абиссинцев. Рас Сейюма поклялся «победить или умереть». Итальянцы, осведомленные разведкой о планах противника, были готовы. Эритрейский (колониальный) корпус получил приказ отходить, увлекая за собой противника. Затем он должен был остановиться и перейти в контрнаступление, одновременно по флангам абиссинской армии наносила удары 2-й корпус — по левому флангу и 3-й корпус — по правому. В то же время 1-й армейский корпус должен был сковать боем армию раса Мулугета в районе Макалле.

Эфиопские войска, перешли в наступление и прорвали оборону противника. Они почти вышли к дороге Адуа — Макалле. 18-19 января 1936 г. положение итальянских войск на этом участке фронта было критическим. Но 20-21 января, получив подкрепления в живой силе и технике, итальянские войска перешли в контрнаступление. Они нанесли по эфиопским войскам мощный удар, снова применили отравляющие вещества. Итальянцы пытались окружить противника в зоне реки Такказе в области Тембиен. Абиссинцы, проявляя большое упорство, несли большие потери, но два дня дрались с врагом. 3-й итальянский корпус не смог довершить маневр севернее р. Гева, что позволило абиссинским войскам вырваться из намечавшегося кольца окружения. Войска расов Каса и Сейюма отступили. Их отход вынудил начать отступление и войска группы армий расов Имру и Айелу. Войска раса Мулугета во время этой битвы практически бездействовали, чем облегчили итальянской армии действия против армий Каса и Сейюма.

Таким образом, из-за ошибок управления, плохого взаимодействия, отсутствия нормальной связи и слабости вооружения, контрудар эфиопской армии не достиг поставленных целей. Эфиопские войска были разделены на три группы армий, что облегчило итальянцам дальнейшее наступление. Теперь эфиопскую армию можно было громить по частям.

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Итальянская бронетехника

Решительные сражения и перелом в войне в пользу Италии

К началу февраля 1936 года на главном направлении, в районе Амба-Арадам, была сосредоточена 80-тыс. армия раса Мулугета, которая имела несколько орудий и около 50 пулеметов. Против неё стояли 1-й и 3-й армейские корпуса — 100 тыс. солдат, 250 орудий, св. 1800 пулеметов, 200 самолетов и 230 танкеток. Западнее, в центре, закрепились на горных позициях войска расов Каса и Сейюма. Они насчитывали около 60 тыс. человек, с незначительным числом орудий и пулеметов. Против них располагался 25-тыс. Эритрейский корпус, имевший 55 орудий, около 300 пулеметов. Ещё западнее, на левом фланге, стояли силы князей Имру и Айела — 30-40 тыс. человек с незначительным техническим оснащением. Итальянцы имели на своем правом фланге 2-й и 4-й корпус — 90 тыс. солдат, 148 орудий, около 1700 пулеметов.

Таким образом, итальянское командование создало сильные группировки на флангах. Бадольо планировал последовательно разгромить все три изолированные абиссинские армейские группировки. Первый сокрушительный удар итальянский маршал собирался нанести южнее Макалле по войскам князя Мулугета. Здесь итальянцы как раз завершали сооружение автомобильной дороги из Адиграт. Итальянский главнокомандующий разбил наступательную операцию на три этапа: 1) ликвидация наиболее сильной армии раса Мулугета войсками 1-го и 3-го армейских корпусов, которые должны были с флангов обойти Амба-Арадамские позиции противника; 2) затем выход 3-го корпуса во фланг и тыл группировки Каса и Сейюма, при одновременном ударе с северо-запада Эритрейского корпуса, что вело к разгрому второй группы врага. В это же время 1-й корпус должен был преследовать разбитые войска Мулугета в направлении на Куорам; 3) разгром войск Имру и Айела в области Шире силами 2-го и 4-го корпусов; 3-й корпус должен был преследовать разбитые части князей Каса и Сейюма.

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию


Выставив заслоны против войск Каса, Сейюма, Имру и Айелу, 11 февраля итальянская армия нанесла удар по силам Мулугета. Абиссинские войска стояли в области Эндерта на горном массиве Амба-Арадам в районе реки Габат. Армия Мулугета прикрывала дорогу на Аддис-Абебу. Горный массив довольно хорошо подготовили к обороне, соорудили траншеи и убежища, поэтому лобовая атака могла привести к большим потерям. Расположенные на флангах горного массива высоты абиссинцы также подготовили к обороне.

В результате разгорелось упорное сражение, в котором абиссинцы снова проявили стойкость и храбрость перед превосходящими силами врага. Однако военно-техническое превосходство итальянцев сыграло свою роль. Итальянские войска активно использовали артиллерию (до 108 орудий на центральном участке) и авиацию, широко применяли дымовые завесы и химическое оружие. В ходе 5-дневного ожесточенного сражения армия Мулагета была разгромлена. Сам рас Мулагет погиб в бою. К 17 февраля остатки абиссинских войск были отброшены к Амба-Алаги. При отходе остатки эфиопской армии попали под удар итальянской авиации, что окончательно деморализовало солдат, многие разбежались.

Таким образом, в результате Амба-Арадамского сражения лучшая армия Эфиопии — раса Мулугета, была разгромлена, итальянцы получили свободу на главном направлении. Итальянская армия получила возможность приступить к следующему этапу операции — разгрому армейской группировки Каса и Сейюма. Храбрость и стойкость абиссинских воинов была сломлена более передовой армией.

Войска Каса и Сейюма, которые занимали позиции в горном массиве Андино, из-за отсутствия связи оставались в неведении, что их фланг и тыл открыты для противника. Кроме того, они были уверены, что защищены с тыла непроходимыми горами. Во время разгрома армии Мулугета они бездействовали. Поэтому Бадольо решил продолжить операцию по разгрому противника. 1-й корпус продолжал преследование остатков разбитых войск Мулугета. Эритрейский корпус должен был атаковать противника с фронта, а 3-й корпус, после Амба-Арадамского сражения, завернул на запад, в направлении на Гаэла. Итальянские войска продвигались в труднодоступной горной местности и трое суток получали снабжение при помощи авиации. В течение 11 дней 3-й корпус двигался по горным тропам и сосредотачивался в районе Гаэла. Одновременно начало наступление правое крыло итальянской армии, которое должно было взять в «клещи» войска Имру и Айелу. 2-й армейский корпус атаковал противника с фронта, а 4-й корпус охватывал абиссинцев с севера и северо-запада.

В результате, когда войска расов Каса и Сейюма атаковали итальянцев в Тембиене у перевала Уарьеу, они 27-29 февраля подверглись атакам со стороны Эритрейского и 3-го корпусов. Абиссинцы попытались прорваться на юг, а после неудачи, стали отступать в более высокогорную область Семиен. Их преследовала итальянская авиация, широко распылявшая иприт. В результате войска Каса и Сейюма были деморализованы и рассеяны.

Войска расов Имру и Айелу, располагавшиеся на северном берегу реки Такказе, в области Шире, были осведомлены о тяжёлом положении соседей и в это время пытались пробиться на Аксум. Их атаки сдерживал 2-й итальянский корпус. 29 февраля итальянские войска приступили к третьему этапу операции, который предусматривал охват и уничтожение сил князей Имру и Айелу. Однако 4-й корпус опоздал с охватом левого крыла абиссинцев, что привело к серьёзным потерям 2-го корпуса, который в это время атаковал с фронта. При своём марше 4-й корпус (как и 3-й) двигался по горной местности и в основном снабжался с помощью авиации. Рас Имру, учтя неблагоприятную ситуацию, которая сложилась для эфиопской армии, искусно маневрируя, начал отвод войск за реку Такказе. Однако и здесь абиссинцы во время переправы подверглись сильным атакам итальянской авиации, включая химическое оружие. Это привело к расстройству абиссинской армии. Оставшиеся силы раса Имру попытались отступить к озеру Ашанги, где император собирал все имеющиеся войска на последний решительный бой.

Таким образом, итальянская армия под началом Бадолье в трех сражения разгромила и рассеяла основные силы абиссинской армии. Войска расов Мулугета, Каса и Сейюма, Имру и Айелу попытались организовать контрнаступление в районе Макалле, Тембиен, но были разбиты и отброшены начавшей наступление итальянской армией, которая была усилена двумя корпусами. Наиболее сильная армия раса Мулугета была разгромлена, и центральное направление осталось без прикрытия. Остатки абиссинских армий и резервы спешно сосредотачивались негусом в районе озера Ашанги, чтобы прикрыть столицу.

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Абиссинские солдаты

Сражение у озера Ашанги

После решительного успеха, итальянское командование решило не останавливаться, подтягивая тыл и улучшая коммуникации, как делало раньше, а продолжить наступление главными силами на Дессье и Аддис-Абебу, чтобы закрепить полученный результат. Тем временем эфиопский император спешно сколачивал из оперативных резервов и остатков войск раса Мулагета и других князей армию, надеясь организовать контрудар и отбросить противника. В это время итальянская агентура смогла организовать в тылу абиссинской армии — области Годжам, восстание сторонников раса Хайлю. В результате негусу пришлось отвлечь часть сил на его подавление, что ослабило войска, которые сосредотачивали в районе озера Ашанги и города Куорам.

Для обеспечения своего наступления с правого крыла маршал Бадольо направил на Гондар через Семиен войска 2-го и 4-го армейских корпусов и отряда генерала Кутуре. Они должны были обеспечить фланг войск на главном направлении и не дать остаткам армии Имру соединиться с отступающими частями раса Сейюма. Действия отряда Кутуре и 4-го корпуса связывались с вновь сформированной 8-тыс. механизированной колонной генерала Стараче, которая двигалась через Ом-Аджер на Гондар по полупустынной местности. Этим войскам большую помощь оказала авиация, которая проводила разведку и обеспечивала фланги войск от засад абиссинских воинов. 1 апреля 1936 г. итальянские войска вышли к Гондару. Войска 2-го и 4-го итальянских корпусов переправились в начале марта реку Такказе у Хайда и своими передовыми отрядами вышли к Гондару и 2 апреля соединились с колонной Стараче. 12 апреля правофланговая колонна генерала Кутуре захватила пограничный с англо-египетским Суданом г. Галлабат и перерезала кратчайшую линию связи Абиссинии с внешним миром.

Таким образом, правее крыло итальянской экспедиционной армии, не опасаясь крупных сил противника (ранее разбитых) и наступая широким фронтом, заняло обширную территорию и заставило абиссинцев оставить районы Семиен и Гондар. Итальянцы перехватили важную коммуникацию, ведущую в Судан.

Битва за Абиссинию


Тем временем основные силы итальянской армии наступали по трем направлениям: 3-й корпус — Гаэла-Фенароа-Сакота-Дессье; 1-й и Эритрейский корпус — Амба-Алаги-Куорам-Дессье; по Центральному фронту от Ассаба войска шли через пустыню Данакиль на Сардо-Дессье. Три наступавших итальянских корпуса насчитывали около 125 тыс. человек, 210 орудий, более 2400 пулеметов, 270 танков. Пока 1-й и Эритрейский корпус наступали по главной дороге, 3-й корпус должен был выйти во фланг и тыл армии негуса.

Негус сосредоточил около 40 тыс. воинов из резерва, различных соединений и отрядов. 21 марта император, который лично руководил войсками, решил перейти в контрнаступление в районе Май-Чио, севернее озера Ашанги. Это решение было вызвано давлением иностранных советников и некоторых военачальников, также ухудшение ситуации в тылу (восстания, рост бандитизма). Итальянцы об этом узнали и успели подготовиться: войска заняли оборонительные порядки в районе Май-Чио на фронте в 10 км, имея 1-й корпус на правом фланге и Эритрейский — на левом. Также итальянцы подтянули тяжелую артиллерию.

Битва за Абиссинию


31 марта абиссинские войска пошли в атаку. Итальянцы ещё не завершили подготовку оборонительных рубежей, поэтому в начала отчаянный порыв абиссинцев имел успех. Они потеснили левый фланг противника. В течение трех дней шли упорные бои, обе стороны понесли большие потери. Но итальянцы с помощью артиллерии и авиации отразили удар и 2 апреля перешли в контрнаступление. Разбитые абиссинские войска начали отступление. Оно проходило под непрерывными ударами итальянской авиации, которая широко использовала химическое оружие. Эритрейский корпус, совершил глубокий обход востока и стал угрожать окружением. В тылу активизировались бандформирования, которые поддерживались итальянскими агентами. В итоге армия императора перестала существовать, как единая сила.

В ходе этих жестоких боев почти полностью полегла императорская гвардия — отборное ядро эфиопской армии. Сам негус с небольшим отрядом, прячась от вражеской авиации, по ночам двигался к Аддис-Абебе. После этого сражения эфиопская армия на Северном фронте была практически уничтожена как организованная сила. Остались только отдельные разрозненные отряды, которые перешли к партизанской борьбе. Путь на абиссинскую столицу был открыт. 20 апреля итальянские войска захватили Дессье.

Битва за Абиссинию

Битва за Абиссинию

Дессье после воздушной бомбардировки

Продолжение следует…

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. Aleksander 31 мая 2016 07:52
    Все-таки действия итальянцев непонятны: ну разбили они армию Абиссиниии, а дальше-то что? Как удержать такую огромную территорию, населенную многочисленным враждебным населением?
    Какова стратегическая цель-ведь никаких стратегических материалов в Абиссинии не было. Какова практически цель войны-только удовлетворение имперских амбиций? Странные люди...
    1. baudolino 31 мая 2016 08:56
      А больше нечего было захватывать. Вся остальная Африка уже была поделена. А империю создать хочется.
  2. Reptiloid 31 мая 2016 09:25
    Большое спасибо за знакомство с темой, о которой раньше не задумывался. Хотя обычаями и культурой Эфиопии и Эритреи интересовался.
    Потрясен,что использовали иприт.
    Жалею, что Африканские народы не смогли объединиться ради общей цели---борьбы с западной агрессией.
    1. Lankaster 31 мая 2016 09:58
      Цитата: Reptiloid
      Жалею, что Африканские народы не смогли объединиться ради общей цели---борьбы с западной агрессией.

      В Африке, наверное, проще смотрели на жизнь и не ставили таких глобальных целей. Местные охотно шли в итальянские колониальные отряды - и сомалийцы и эритрейцы.

      На снимке - эритрейские солдаты в районе Дэссе, апрель 1936г.
  3. казак волгский 31 мая 2016 12:04
    Имперские амбиции Италии привели даже к применению химического оружия..при всем техническом превосходстве они почувствовали на своей шкуре мощное сопротивление .Несомненно Абиссинский народ вызывает во мне уважение.
  4. Lord Blacwood 31 мая 2016 18:08
    На месте императора Хайле Селассие я бы сохранил армию и организовал партизанские отряды.
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня