Military Review

Self-propelled gun mount 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille (Germany)

4
In the spring of 1943, the German army received 90 self-propelled guns 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.H Grille, equipped with 150 caliber mm. This technique had quite high characteristics, however, even before the start of its serial assembly, it was decided to further improve the project. As a result, self-propelled guns of the first type were soon withdrawn from production, and instead of them, 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M type machines arrived in a series, which became their further development.


Recall that the project 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw. 38 (t) Ausf.H or Grille Aufs.H was one of several attempts to use the available light Tanks Pz.Kpfw. 38 (t) in new quality. Such armored vehicles were already considered obsolete and could not be fully used for their intended purpose, although they still had certain prospects as the basis for new technology. In 1942, the company Böhmisch-Mährische Maschinenfabrik AG (now ČKD, Czech Republic) developed a project for a minor alteration of a light tank with the installation of a 150-mm gun. In early February of next year, the German army initiated mass production of such equipment.


Museum specimen 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


In parallel with the creation of a new self-propelled gun based on an existing light tank, BMM specialists worked on another version of the Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) update. The new project proposed to rework the design of the tank and change some of its features, which made it possible to use the machine as a more convenient basis for new self-propelled guns. By the end of 1942, the first project of a self-propelled artillery gun was created, in which a new chassis was used. On the basis of such a chassis, the Marder III ACS was to be built using one of the later modifications.

In February 1943, it was decided to start mass production of already created ACS 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.H. In addition, it was necessary to develop a new version of self-propelled guns using a similar weaponsbuilt on the basis of a different chassis. This project received the symbol 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M. In addition, the name Grille (“Cricket”) has been preserved, which can also be used as Grille Ausf.M.

The chassis of the new type, designed specifically for advanced self-propelled guns, was based on the design of the existing light tank, but had some noticeable differences. First of all, the purpose of this project was to change the layout of the internal volumes, which made it possible to obtain the optimal architecture for the ACS with the aft arrangement of the fighting compartment. Such a change required to transfer the engine compartment, modify the transmission and change some other chassis units.


General view of the self-propelled gun. Photo of Chamberlain P., Doyle H. "Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War"


The base armored vehicle for the new self-propelled guns was to receive a new layout with the front placement of the transmission and control station, the central engine compartment and the aft fighting compartment. It was also proposed to change the design of the case in order to simplify the assembly and some improvement in the basic characteristics. So, instead of several sheets placed at different angles to the vertical, the frontal part of the body should have been formed with two parts of 20 mm thickness: the vertical bottom and the top filled up back. On the upper frontal part, on the starboard side, a small cabin was placed to protect the driver, which had a wall thickness of 15 mm. In the front and right side sheets cutting provided viewing devices.

The 20-mm boards should have been docked with 15-mm front plates. The stern guard was provided with 10-mm parts. On the roof of the hull, above its stern part, it was proposed to mount the armored wheelhouse. The frontal part of the cabin should have been made in the form of two parts mounted inclined inward at an angle to the axis of the machine. There were also piled inside the side with a sloping rear and feed a small height. All the details of the cabin was proposed to perform from 10-mm armor. Between the two frontal sheets was placed a swinging sheet, which served as the mask of the gun. When the trunk was raised, it had to rise upwards, and when it was lowered, it would return to the horizontal position.

In the central part of the body should be installed carburetor Praga AC engine power 145 hp Due to a slight increase in power, it was supposed to compensate for the possible increase in the combat mass of the finished equipment and maintain the required mobility indicators. In connection with the movement of the engine from the stern to the center of the hull, the project authors had to seriously rework the layout of the engine compartment. In particular, the possibility of using intake grilles of the cooling system has disappeared. installed in the roof. The new project involved the use of air intakes and exhaust pipes placed in fenders.


Scheme SAU. Figure Aviarmor.net


The upgraded chassis retained manual transmissions based on a six-speed gearbox. The only noticeable difference in the new transmission from the basic design was the use of a shorter shaft. Due to the transfer of the engine, the need to transfer torque with the help of a long shaft going over the floor of the crew compartment was gone.

The chassis of the updated chassis has undergone minimal changes. It was based on four large diameter skating rinks on each side, interlocked in pairs and equipped with leaf springs. In front of the hull were placed the driving wheels, in the stern - guides. It was decided to reduce the number of support rollers. A single pair of such parts had to be placed between the second and third track rollers, due to which the upper branch of the caterpillar could sag and contact with the latter.

The main feature of the new chassis was the transfer of the fighting compartment to the stern, which gave some advantages over the existing models. Thus, it was possible to provide acceptable centering of the machine with the installation of the most heavy units near the geometric center of the structure. In addition, there was a significant gain in size: the floor of the fighting compartment turned out to be the bottom of the hull, which made it possible to reduce the overall dimensions of the vehicle. This led to a reduction in the weight of the structure, as well as a decrease in visibility on the battlefield and a decrease in the probability of defeat.


One of the serial machines. Photo Worldwarphotos.info


The 15 ACS cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M was supposed to be an upgraded version of the previous model and, as a result, receive similar weapons. The “main caliber” of the self-propelled gun was to be the 15 cm sIG 33 gun. Heavy infantry weapons caliber 150 mm equipped with a barrel length 11 calibers and was designed to destroy various targets and enemy targets. Initially, the sIG 33 system was produced in a towed version, but later several self-propelled gun projects with similar weapons appeared. The installation of the gun on the chassis made it possible to maintain high firepower and to ensure acceptable mobility on the battlefield.

The gun received a rifled barrel, a horizontal sliding bolt and hydropneumatic anti-recoil devices. The ammunition consisted of several types of separate loading ammunition designed for solving different tasks. The initial velocity of the shells depended on their types and reached 240 m / s, the maximum firing range was 4,7 km. An expert calculation could make up to three shots per minute.

The 15 ACU cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M, like its predecessors, was supposed to receive an installation for mounting the gun based on some units of the basic towing carriage. Manual guidance mechanisms and a Rblf36 sight remained. The installation of the gun in the armored wheelhouse made it possible to direct it within the horizontal sector 10 ° wide (5 ° right and left from the neutral position). The permissible vertical guidance angles were to some extent limited by the design of the movable mask and could vary from 0 ° to + 73 °.

Self-propelled gun mount 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille (Germany)
The combat branch of the museum self-propelled. Photo Svsm.org


Inside the fighting compartment, several 18 shells and shells were placed on them. This was enough to fire for some time, after which the self-propelled gun needed to replenish the ammunition.

Additional equipment SAU Grille Ausf.M consisted of one 7,92-mm MG 34 machine gun. The machine gun was proposed to be transported in laying and removed from it, if necessary, self-defense. Any regular attachments that allow to keep the machine gun at all times were not envisaged by the project.

The composition of the self-propelled crew during the modernization has not changed. Like the previous machine, the 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M ACS were to be controlled by four people: a driver, a gunner, a charging, and a radio operator. The driver was placed in the front of the case and defended by a frontal sheet, as well as a small superstructure. To monitor the road, the driver had two sight gauges in his wheelhouse.

Three other crew members housed in the fighting compartment. To the left of the gun was the workplace of the commander who controlled the gun. To the right of the gun and behind the commander were supposed to be two loaders, one of whom was also responsible for operating the FuG 16 radio station.


Self-propelled gun with its own name Feuerteufel ("Fiery hell") in firing position. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


Due to a slight elongation of the aft hull, the dimensions of the self-propelled guns slightly increased in comparison with the previous technique based on the Pz.Kpfw.38 (t). The length reached 4,95 m, width - 2,15 m, height - 2,45 m. The combat weight was 12 t. The use of a more powerful engine made it possible to compensate for some increase in weight and maintain mobility approximately at the level of the previous machine. Like Grille Ausf.H, the new Grille Ausf.M could reach speeds of up to 35 km / h and travel at a single fuel station to 180-190 km.

Soon after the project was completed, a prototype ACS prototype was built, followed by an order for the production of serial equipment. The first 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M machines were assembled in April 1943. Having mastered the construction of this technology, the BMM plant stopped the further assembly of the machines of the previous model. The task of the enterprise, according to the first order, was the construction of 200 self-propelled guns based on new chassis.

The last batch of new SAU was completed in June of the same year. According to some reports, after the production of 90 machines, it was decided to use the chassis, which had undergone additional modernization, as a result of which the technique of the first lots had some insignificant differences from the subsequent machines. Due to the situation at the front, new self-propelled guns were quickly transferred to the customer and distributed to various units of the army without any serious delays.


SAU 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M in Italy, 1944 g. Photo Worldwarphotos.info


In October, 1943, the German command decided to make a new order for the supply of ACS Grille Ausf.M. It was planned to build a significant number of new equipment, but the situation at the front and the numerous problems of the industry did not allow to fully implement all the plans. The assembly of self-propelled guns continued until September 1944, after which it was decided to roll it. One of the main reasons for stopping the construction of such machines was a sharp reduction in the production of the required chassis. Because of this, in particular, the latest 10 "Crickets" were collected on the chassis base of the Flakpanzer 38 (t) anti-aircraft self-propelled gun.

From October 1943 to September 1944, BMM was able to produce only 82 self-propelled guns. Thus, for the entire time of production of the German army, 282 machines of the 15 type cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M, including several units of equipment on non-standard chassis, were supplied.

By the beginning of 1944, a draft of a special vehicle was designed for transporting ammunition in order to ensure the combat operation of the Grille self-propelled guns of both versions. The Munitionspanzer 38 (t) machine was as unified as possible with a self-propelled artillery mount and could carry up to 40 X-mmX caliber shells of various types. The construction of ammunition carriers began in January of 150 and continued until May. No more than 44 such machines were built.


SAU Grille Ausf.M in Aberdeen Museum, tentatively 70-80 years. Photo Warandtactics.com


The launch of the production of an ACS 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M had no effect on the structure of military units armed with heavy infantry guns on self-propelled chassis. With the help of new deliveries, existing heavy infantry cannons were reinforced, which were armed with several previous types of vehicles. The subunit structure also remained unchanged, although new platoons could appear in their composition. From the beginning of 1944, the artillery units began to receive ammunition carriers, unified with the latest self-propelled guns.

According to reports, self-propelled Grille Ausf.M were transferred to several dozen companies in the composition of more than 30 divisions. A large number and widespread allowed such technology to take part in battles on different parts of the fronts in Europe. For the first time, vehicles of the new type took part in the battles on the Eastern Front, and after the Allies landed in Normandy, part of the units armed with Crickets were engaged in battles in Western Europe.

Despite the difficult situation on all fronts, the German army managed to maintain a significant number of 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M self-propelled guns almost to the very end of the hostilities. According to reports, in February 1945, the 173 self-propelled guns remained in service. In addition, some sources mention that one of the enterprises in Germany in the spring of 45 had to repair several combat vehicles and return them to the troops.


The current state of the museum sample. Photo of Wikimedia Commons


After the end of the war in Europe, the active operation of the 15 ACS cm SIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M stopped. Part of this technology was seized by the victor countries to study at their test sites. Others were eventually disposed of as unnecessary. Until our time, lived only one instance of "Cricket" modification "M". This car after the war was exported to the United States and studied at the Aberdeen Proving Ground. In the future, self-propelled guns made an exhibit of the museum at the test site.

The 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille project was the last German attempt to install a powerful 150-mm gun on a self-propelled chassis. As the production volumes of such equipment show, this attempt turned out to be the most successful. After several upgrades of the existing technology, German specialists managed to develop a machine that most fully met the customer's requirements. At the same time, however, some drawbacks characteristic of the previous similar techniques, such as low mobility and insufficient protection, were retained. However, this did not prevent the self-propelled guns from being actively used until the end of the war and incur minor losses. However, the Grille Ausf.M machines appeared relatively late, when the situation on the fronts began to change significantly. More than four hundred self-propelled guns "Cricket" of the two models could no longer have a serious impact on the course of the war.


Based on:
http://militaryfactory.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://historyofwar.org/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
Chamberlain P., Doyle H. Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War. - M .: AST: Astrel, 2008.
Author:
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. kalibr
    kalibr 9 June 2016 06: 47
    +2
    Dear Cyril! Very nice and interesting stuff. But it would be a little better if you changed this signature: Museum pattern 15 cm sIG 33 (SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille. Photo by Wikimedia Commons, simply indicating that it is an Aberdeen Proving Ground, modern look. Not all experts are enough to distinguish between photos from the place of 70-80's and modern. By the way, it’s just great that you indicate the source of the photo. This is not done by everyone and not always, but you do! And so everything is OK!
  2. kugelblitz
    kugelblitz 9 June 2016 07: 41
    +3
    In fact, the crown of development of this artillery system, just like a virtually light self-propelled mortar, firing from behind cover. It is a pity we did not have a similar machine based on the SU-76M chassis, with at least 122 mm howitzer. It would be very useful.

    For example, the troops repeatedly asked to resume production of the SU-122, despite the low anti-tank capabilities, since the accuracy of the shot with a cumulative projectile was not very good. But the excellent power of the high-explosive fragmentation carried the enemy positions to shreds.
    1. overb
      overb 9 June 2016 13: 55
      +2
      Quote: kugelblitz
      light self-propelled mortar

      Then the mortar.
    2. The comment was deleted.
  3. Nagaibak
    Nagaibak 9 June 2016 18: 26
    0
    Grill is a cool thing!))) In WoT)))
    1. Alexey RA
      Alexey RA 9 June 2016 18: 50
      0
      Quote: Nagaibak
      Grill is a cool thing!))) In WoT)))

      "pound" and "left-handed" are better. More fun.
      As you start knocking down the TT harp time after time, the whole chat is in asterisks. smile
  4. fsb_buzuk
    fsb_buzuk 17 June 2016 08: 57
    0
    Funtik and Lefty - who is this?
    And I liked the Grill at HER - a good art.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)

Весной 1943 года немецкая армия получила 90 самоходных артиллерийских установок 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.H Grille, оснащенных орудиями калибра 150 мм. Эта техника имела достаточно высокие характеристики, однако еще до начала ее серийной сборки было принято решение о дальнейшем совершенствовании проекта. В итоге самоходки первого типа вскоре были сняты с производства, а вместо них в серию поступили машины типа 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M, ставшие их дальнейшим развитием.

Напомним, проект 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.H или Grille Aufs.H был одной из нескольких попыток использовать имеющиеся в наличии легкие танки Pz.Kpfw.38(t) в новом качестве. Подобные бронемашины уже считались устаревшими и не могли полноценно применяться по своему прямому назначению, хотя все еще имели определенные перспективы в качестве основы для новой техники. В 1942 году фирмой Böhmisch-Mährische Maschinenfabrik AG (ныне ČKD, Чехия) был разработан проект незначительной переделки легкого танка с установкой 150-мм орудия. В начале февраля следующего года немецкая армия инициировала серийное производство такой техники.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Музейный образец 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille. Фото Wikimedia Commons



Параллельно с созданием новой самоходки на базе существующего легкого танка специалисты BMM работали над другим вариантом обновления Pz.Kpfw.38(t). Новым проектом предлагалось переработать конструкцию танка и изменить некоторые ее особенности, что позволяло использовать машину в качестве более удобной основы для новых самоходок. Уже к концу 1942 года был создан первый проект самоходной артиллерийской установки, в котором применялось новое шасси. На базе такого шасси должна была строиться САУ Marder III одной из поздних модификаций.

В феврале 1943 года было принято решение о начале серийного производства уже созданных САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.H. Кроме того, требовалось разработать новый вариант самоходки с использованием аналогичного оружия, строящийся на базе иного шасси. Этот проект получил условное обозначение 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M. Кроме того, сохранилось название Grille («Сверчок»), которое также может использоваться в виде Grille Ausf.M.

Шасси нового типа, разработанное специально для перспективных самоходок, основывалось на конструкции существующего легкого танка, но имело некоторые заметные отличия. Прежде всего, целью этого проекта было изменение компоновки внутренних объемов, которое позволяло получить оптимальную для САУ архитектуру с кормовым расположением боевого отделения. Такое изменение потребовало перенести моторный отсек, доработать трансмиссию и изменить некоторые другие агрегаты шасси.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Общий вид самоходки. Фото Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. "Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны"


Базовая бронемашина для новых самоходок должна была получать новую компоновку с передним размещением трансмиссии и поста управления, центральным моторным отсеком и кормовым боевым отделением. Также было предложено изменить конструкцию корпуса с целью упрощения сборки и некоторого улучшения основных характеристик. Так, вместо нескольких листов, размещенных под разными углами к вертикали, лобовая часть корпуса должна была образовываться двумя деталями толщиной 20 мм: вертикальной нижней и заваленной назад верхней. На верхней лобовой детали, у правого борта, помещалась небольшая рубка для защиты механика-водителя, имевшая толщину стенок 15 мм. В лобовом и правом бортовом листах рубки предусматривались смотровые приборы.

С 20-мм лобовыми листами должны были стыковаться борта толщиной 15 мм. Защита кормы обеспечивалась 10-мм деталями. На крыше корпуса, над его кормовой частью, предлагалось монтировать броневую рубку. Лобовая часть рубки должна была выполняться в виде двух деталей, монтируемых с наклоном внутрь под углом к оси машины. Также имелись заваленные внутрь борта со скошенной задней частью и корма небольшой высоты. Все детали рубки предлагалось выполнять из 10-мм брони. Между двумя лобовыми листами помещался качающийся лист, выполнявший функции маски орудия. При подъеме ствола он должен был подниматься вверх, при опускании – возвращаться в горизонтальное положение.

В центральной части корпуса должен был устанавливаться карбюраторный двигатель Praga AC мощностью 145 л.с. За счет некоторого повышения мощности предполагалось компенсировать возможный рост боевой массы готовой техники и сохранять требуемые показатели подвижности. В связи с перемещением двигателя из кормы в центр корпуса авторам проекта пришлось серьезно переработать компоновку моторного отсека. В частности, исчезла возможность использования заборных решеток системы охлаждения. установленных в крыше. Новый проект подразумевал использование воздухозаборников и выпускных патрубков, помещенных в надгусеничных полках.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Схема САУ. Рисунок Aviarmor.net


Модернизированное шасси сохранило механическую трансмиссию на основе шестискоростной коробки передач. Единственным заметным отличием новой трансмиссии от базовой конструкции было использование карданного вала меньшей длины. Благодаря переносу двигателя пропала необходимость в передаче крутящего момента при помощи длинного вала, идущего над полом боевого отделения.

Ходовая часть обновленного шасси претерпела минимальные изменения. Ее основой остались четыре опорных катка большого диаметра на каждом борту, сблокированные попарно и оснащенные листовыми рессорами. В передней части корпуса помещались ведущие колеса, в корме – направляющие. Было принято решение сократить количество поддерживающих роликов. Единственная пара таких деталей должна была помещаться между вторыми и третьими опорными катками, из-за чего верхняя ветвь гусеницы могла провисать и контактировать с последними.

Основной особенностью нового шасси было перенесение боевого отделения в корму, что давало некоторые преимущества перед существующими образцами. Так, появлялась возможность обеспечить приемлемую центровку машины с установкой наиболее тяжелых агрегатов вблизи геометрического центра конструкции. Кроме того, присутствовал значительный выигрыш в габаритах: полом боевого отделения оказывалось днище корпуса, что позволяло уменьшить общие размеры машины. Это приводило к сокращению веса конструкции, а также к снижению заметности на поле боя и уменьшению вероятности поражения.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Одна из серийных машин. Фото Worldwarphotos.info


САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M должна была стать модернизированной версией предыдущего образца и, как следствие, получать аналогичное вооружение. «Главным калибром» самоходки должно было стать орудие 15 cm sIG 33. Тяжелое пехотное оружие калибра 150 мм оснащалось стволом длиной 11 калибров и предназначалось для уничтожения разнообразных целей и объектов противника. Изначально система sIG 33 выпускалась в буксируемом варианте, но в дальнейшем появились несколько проектов самоходок с подобным вооружением. Установка орудия на шасси позволяла сохранить высокую огневую мощь, а также обеспечить приемлемую мобильность на поле боя.

Орудие получало нарезной ствол, горизонтальный скользящий затвор и гидропневматические противооткатные устройства. В боекомплект входили боеприпасы раздельного заряжания нескольких типов, предназначенные для решения разных задач. Начальная скорость снарядов зависела от их типов и достигала 240 м/с, максимальная дальность стрельбы – 4,7 км. Опытный расчет мог делать до трех выстрелов в минуту.

САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M, как и ее предшественники, должна была получать установку для монтажа орудия, основанную на некоторых агрегатах базового буксируемого лафета. Сохранялись ручные механизмы наведения и прицел типа Rblf36. Установка орудия в броневой рубке позволяла наводить его в пределах горизонтального сектора шириной 10° (по 5° вправо и влево от нейтрального положения). Допустимые углы вертикального наведения в некоторой мере ограничивались конструкцией подвижной маски и могли изменяться от 0° до +73°.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Боевое отделение музейной самоходки. Фото Svsm.org


Внутри боевого отделения помещались несколько укладок на 18 снарядов и гильз для них. Этого было достаточно для стрельбы в течение некоторого времени, после чего самоходка нуждалась в пополнении боекомплекта.

Дополнительное вооружение САУ Grille Ausf.M состояло из одного 7,92-мм пулемета MG 34. Пулемет предлагалось перевозить в укладке и извлекать из нее при необходимости осуществления самообороны. Какие-либо штатные крепления, позволяющие постоянно держать пулемет наготове, проектом не предусматривались.

Состав экипажа самоходки в ходе модернизации не изменился. Как и предыдущей машиной, САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M должны были управлять четыре человека: механик-водитель, командир-наводчик, заряжающий и заряжающий-радист. Водитель помещался в передней части корпуса и защищался лобовым листом, а также небольшой надстройкой. Для наблюдения за дорогой водитель имел два смотровых прибора в своей рубке.

Трое других членов экипажа размещались в боевом отделении. Слева от орудия находилось рабочее место командира, управлявшего орудием. Справа от орудия и позади командира должны были находиться двое заряжающих, один из которых также отвечал за эксплуатацию радиостанции FuG 16.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Самоходка с собственным именем Feuerteufel ("Огненный черт") на огневой позиции. Фото Wikimedia Commons


За счет некоторого удлинения кормовой части корпуса габариты самоходки немного увеличились в сравнении с предыдущей техникой на базе Pz.Kpfw.38(t). Длина достигла 4,95 м, ширина – 2,15 м, высота – 2,45 м. Боевая масса составляла 12 т. Применение более мощного двигателя позволило компенсировать некоторый рост веса и сохранить подвижность примерно на уровне предыдущей машины. Как и Grille Ausf.H, новая Grille Ausf.M могла развивать скорость до 35 км/ч и преодолевать на одной заправке топливом до 180-190 км.

Вскоре после завершения разработки проекта был построен прототип перспективной САУ, после чего последовал заказ на производство серийной техники. Первые машины 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M были собраны в апреле 1943 года. Освоив строительство этой техники, завод BMM прекратил дальнейшую сборку машин предыдущей модели. Задачей предприятия, согласно первому заказу, была постройка 200 самоходок на базе новых шасси.

Последняя партия новых САУ была достроена в июне того же года. По некоторым данным, после производства 90 машин было решено использовать шасси, прошедшее дополнительную модернизации, в результате чего техника первых партий имела некоторые незначительные отличия от последующих машин. Ввиду ситуации на фронте новые самоходки максимально быстро передавались заказчику и без каких-либо серьезных задержек распределялись между различными подразделениями армии.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M в Италии, 1944 г. Фото Worldwarphotos.info


В октябре 1943 года немецкое командование решило сделать новый заказ на поставку САУ Grille Ausf.M. Планировалось построить значительное число новой техники, однако обстановка на фронте и многочисленные проблемы промышленности не позволили полностью выполнить все планы. Сборка самоходок продолжалась до сентября 1944 года, после чего ее решили свернуть. Одной из главных причин остановки строительства таких машин стало резкое сокращение выпуска требуемых шасси. Из-за этого, в частности, последние 10 «Сверчков» были собраны на базе шасси от зенитной самоходки Flakpanzer 38(t).

С октября 1943 года по сентябрь 1944-го фирме BMM удалось выпустить лишь 82 самоходки нового типа. Таким образом, за все время производства германской армии было поставлено 282 машин типа 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M, в том числе несколько единиц техники на нестандартных шасси.

К началу 1944 года был разработан проект специальной машины, предназначенной для перевозки боеприпасов с целью обеспечения боевой работы самоходок Grille обеих модификаций. Машина Munitionspanzer 38(t) была максимально унифицирована с самоходной артиллерийской установкой и могла перевозить до 40 снарядов калибра 150 мм различных типов. Строительство подвозчиков боеприпасов началось в январе 44-го и продолжалось до мая. Было построено не более 120 таких машины.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
САУ Grille Ausf.M в Абердинском музее, ориентировочно 70-80 годы. Фото Warandtactics.com


Начало производства САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M никак не сказалось на структуре войсковых подразделений, вооруженных тяжелыми пехотными орудиями на самоходных шасси. При помощи новых поставок производилось усиление существующих рот тяжелых пехотных орудий, на вооружении которых уже состояли машины нескольких предыдущих типов. Структура подразделений также оставалась без изменений, хотя в их составе могли появляться новые взводы. С начала 1944 года артиллерийские подразделения стали получать подвозчики боеприпасов, унифицированные с новейшими самоходками.

По имеющимся данным, самоходки Grille Ausf.M были переданы нескольким десяткам рот в составе более 30 дивизий. Большое число и широкое распространение позволили такой технике принять участие в боях на разных участках фронтов в Европе. Машины нового типа впервые приняли участие в боях на Восточном фронте, а после высадки союзников в Нормандии часть подразделений, вооруженных «Сверчками», была занята в боях на территории Западной Европы.

Несмотря на тяжелое положение на всех фронтах, германская армия сумела сохранить значительное число самоходок 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M почти до самого конца боевых действий. По имеющимся данным, в феврале 1945 года в строю оставалось 173 самоходки. Кроме того, в некоторых источниках упоминается, что одно из предприятий на территории Германии весной 45-го должно было отремонтировать несколько боевых машин и вернуть их войскам.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille (Германия)
Современное состояние музейного образца. Фото Wikimedia Commons


После окончания войны в Европе активная эксплуатация САУ 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M прекратилась. Часть этой техники была изъята странами-победителями для изучения на своих полигонах. Прочие со временем были утилизированы за ненадобностью. До нашего времени дожил лишь один экземпляр «Сверчка» модификации «M». Эта машина после войны была вывезена в США и изучалась на Абердинском полигоне. В дальнейшем самоходку сделали экспонатом музея при испытательной площадке.

Проект 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille стал последней немецкой попыткой установить мощное 150-мм орудие на самоходное шасси. Как показывают объемы производства такой техники, эта попытка оказалась самой удачной. После нескольких модернизаций существующей техники немецким специалистам удалось разработать машину, наиболее полно соответствовавшую требованиям заказчика. В то же время, однако, были сохранены некоторые недостатки, характерные для предыдущей аналогичной техники, такие как низкая подвижность и недостаточная защита. Тем не менее, это не помешало самоходкам активно использоваться до конца войны и нести незначительные потери. Однако машины Grille Ausf.M появились сравнительно поздно, когда ситуация на фронтах стала серьезно меняться. Более четырех сотен самоходок «Сверчок» двух моделей уже не могли оказать серьезного влияния на ход войны.


По материалам:
http://militaryfactory.com/
http://aviarmor.net/
http://achtungpanzer.com/
http://historyofwar.org/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны. – М.: АСТ: Астрель, 2008.
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 4
  1. kalibr 9 июня 2016 06:47
    Уважаемый Кирилл! Очень хороший и интересный материал. Но он стал бы чуточку лучше, если бы Вы изменили вот эту подпись: Музейный образец 15 cm sIG 33(SF) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille. Фото Wikimedia Commons, просто указав, что это Абердинский полигон, современный вид. Не все знатоки настолько, чтобы различить фото с места 70-80-ых годов и современное. Кстати, просто отлично, что Вы указываете источник фотографии. Это делают не все и не всегда, а Вы делаете! А так все ОК!
  2. kugelblitz 9 июня 2016 07:41
    По сути венец развития данной артсистемы, именно как фактически легкий самоходный миномет, стреляющий из-за укрытий. Жаль у нас не было подобной машины на базе шасси СУ-76М, хотя бы с 122 мм гаубицей. Очень пригодилась бы.

    Например войска неоднократно просили возобновить производство СУ-122, несмотря на невысокие противотанковые возможности, так как точность выстрела кумулятивным снарядом была не очень. Зато отличная мощь осколочно-фугасных разносила вражеские позиции в клочья.
    1. overb 9 июня 2016 13:55
      Цитата: kugelblitz
      легкий самоходный миномет

      Тогда уж мортира.
    2. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Нагайбак 9 июня 2016 18:26
    Гриль это классная вещь!))) В WoT)))
    1. Alexey RA 9 июня 2016 18:50
      Цитата: Нагайбак
      Гриль это классная вещь!))) В WoT)))

      "фунтик" и "левша" лучше. Фана больше.
      Как начнёшь раз за разом сбивать гусли ТТ - так весь чат в звёздочках. smile
  4. fsb_buzuk 17 июня 2016 08:57
    Фунтик и Левша - это кто?
    А Гриль в ВОТ мне понравился - хорошая арта.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня