Military Review

Dniester Rubicons

5
"Our troops held each of the positions for several days, sometimes for weeks."

Against the backdrop of grand battles in Poland, the battle for the Dniester looks like an episode. But the actions of the 11 Army of the South-Western Front gave the most valuable resource - time, which in the situation after the Gorlitsky breakthrough was the main factor.

The battle of Zhuravlen is a defensive offensive operation of the 11 Army of the Southwestern Front. The 6, 22 and 18 th army corps, by their actions 24 of May - 2 of June 1915, bound the enemy to considerable strength. As a result, the South German army suffered a major defeat.

The balance of power


The southern German army of A. von Linsingen, acting synchronously with the group of A. von Mackensen, in the middle of May pressed the 11 Russian army. Despite the successful counterattacks of the Russian troops 15 – 17 in May, the 18 th army corps moved to Zhuravno and Kalush, and the 22 th went to Mykolaev. Continuing to advance, the enemy on the night of May 24 crossed the Dniester.

The central place in these battles belonged to the operational grouping of Lieutenant-General V. I. Gurko (6 Army Corps and attached formations) - she played a decisive role in the battle of Zhuravleni. Komkor recalled: “In the middle of the night I was lifted out of bed. The chief of one of the assigned divisions from the 22 corps called with a question if I would allow him to withdraw his division beyond the Dniester, he had already prepared and partially strengthened a very advantageous position on the opposite bank of the river. Having forbidden to undertake anything like that, on the contrary, I strictly ordered him to immediately go on the offensive himself. If necessary, I told him, he could transfer his reserves from the left bank of the Dniester, while I would support his offensive with the actions of neighboring divisions. Soon a report arrived that our offensive was developing successfully, the Finnish division went forward. These circumstances and the arrival of fresh parts of my army corps became a turning point of our operations in this sector of the front along the Dniester River. ”

By May 26, the Austro-German units were concentrated on the left bank of the bridgehead at Zhuravno. In this situation, the flank attack of the 6 Army Corps and the units attached to it was of decisive importance. The success of the actions of the Gurko group was largely due to the fact that, in turn, its right flank was covered by the swampy floodplain of the Dniester. To the left of the grouping of 6 and 22-th army corps were 18-th army corps and 3-I Guards Division with one brigade from the corps of Gurko.

Zhuravlensky offensive

27 May began the offensive of Russian troops. The official summary assessed the success of Russian weapons in two-day battles: “On the left bank of the Dniester, in the area of ​​Zhuravno, the enemy, after a stubborn battle, was thrown by us behind the railway line. Several villages have passed into our hands, and when we took the village of Bukachovtsy, we took 800 prisoners with 20 officers. During the 28 of May, by the heroic efforts of our troops, significant enemy forces that crossed the Zhistravno to the left bank of the Dniester and spread to the entire front of Zhuravno - Sivka were driven back with great losses for the enemy to the right bank. In a stubborn battle, we took 17 guns, 49 machine guns, 188 officers and up to 6500 Germans and Austrians. Among the prisoners there is a fully surrendered company of the Prussian Guards fusilier regiment. "

Part of the German 3 Guards Division suffered a heavy defeat at the village of Vyshnyyiv, suffering significant losses.

From 26 to 28 in May, the trophies of the Russian troops were 348 officers, 15 431 lower rank, 17 guns and 78 machine guns. Taking into account the 24 – 26 battles of May, when the enemy’s attack was reflected, 18 thousands of Austro-German soldiers and officers were captured in total, 23 guns were captured.

To assist the Austro-German troops retreating to the right bank of the Dniester, the enemy launched an offensive on both banks of the Tysmenitsy river, capturing 28 in May, the village of Grushov. But then it was thrown back by the Russian troops, and in the following days the battles, which had the character of counter troops, again turned into an offensive of our divisions. May 31 captured 1200 prisoners with 29 officers and seven machine guns in the battles of Tysmenitsy and Stryi, and 1 officer 2 of the lower ranks, six guns and the 202 machine gun in the battles of June 8544 – 21 June. 3 June Gurko's troops went over to the defensive - the offensive operation ended.

As a result of the operation, the South German army suffered a serious defeat. The enemy was thrown to the right bank of the Dniester, Russian troops approached the city of Stryi, a major railway junction - 12 kilometers remained before it. Zhuravlenskaya victory forced the enemy to curtail the attack on the Galich direction and to engage in the regrouping of forces.

The current situation (the withdrawal of neighboring armies as a result of the Gorlitsky breakthrough) forced the Russian command to curtail a victorious offensive and go on the defensive. The South-Western Front began a strategic retreat, with the rearguard battles the troops of the 11 Army retreated, because the rollback of the Russian troops from Lvov and Peremyshl threatened its rear.

Gurko recalled: “The retreat of the entire South-Western Front was carried out, one can say, stepwise - we consistently switched to a number of new positions prepared in advance on the left banks of the local rubicons — the tributaries of the Dniester. Our troops held each of these positions for several days, sometimes for weeks. ” The systematic withdrawal was achieved by the success achieved in the operation of Zuravneni.

Victory that saved the front

Dniester RubiconsOperation Zhuravno - operational and tactical victory of the Russian army, even with elements of strategic success. Trophies of Russian troops from 24 May to 2 June inclusive - about 28 thousands of prisoners, 29 guns, 106 machine guns. It is worth remembering that the victory was won against the bleak background of the second half of the 1915 campaign of the year.

The main adversary of the 6, 22 and 18 of the 11 Army's corps were the German Hoffmann corps (130, 131 and 132-I infantry brigades) and Marshall (48-I reserve and 19-infantry divisions, of which the head of the 3, 5 and 64-34-Infantry Brigade), Marshall, and the head of the 27 and 3-40 14 Army and 28 50 XNUMX Army XNUMX and XNUMX Army Corps XNUMX and XNUMX Army Corps XNUMX and XNUMX Infantry Brigade divisions), the Austrian XNUMX th Army Corps (XNUMX-I infantry brigade and XNUMX-I infantry division). The official Austrian description of the fighting at Zhuravno notes the serious losses of the Austro-German troops (including the guard). Thus, in the XNUMX battle in May, the enemy acknowledges the loss of two thousand people from the XNUMX Guards Infantry and XNUMX Throwed Infantry Divisions, and the XNUMX Infantry Brigade lost to XNUMX percent of its composition by XNUMX.

The operation at Zhuravno not only showed high activity of the Russian army during the defensive period, it contributed to a change in the operational planning of the enemy. The fact that the divisions of the 11 Army not only withstood the strongest onslaught of the Austro-Germans, but also had a great success, smashing them and dropping over the Dniester, led to the collapse of the enemy's strategic plan - to go to the rear of Lviv and the main grouping of the Southwestern Front. Only with the help of additional forces did the enemy manage to cope with the threat to his flank. But it was eliminated just due to the grouping on the main operational direction. The measures of the Russian command were absolutely literate, because only energetic actions lead to the disruption of the enemy’s plan: he is forced to react to them, to change goals and objectives. And the actions in the flank of the advancing enemy are doubly effective.
More:
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/30965
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Free wind
    Free wind 11 June 2016 07: 56
    0
    What a blunder? Photos of our marshals who destroyed the Nazis in an article about the First World War.
  2. V.ic
    V.ic 11 June 2016 08: 01
    +7
    Like an airplane landing on a runway, retreat is the most difficult type of combat. Tsarist generals, along with officers and lower ranks, worthily endured the brunt of the battles of 1915 on their shoulders.
    1. Ham
      Ham 14 December 2016 11: 29
      0
      this retreat took place thanks to the royal generals ...
  3. Aleksander
    Aleksander 11 June 2016 08: 38
    +6
    Great-grandfathers had a wonderful fight with the German invaders. It is not their fault that the blow came from behind. Traitors were brought to the rear in a sealed carriage by these same occupiers ...
    1. AK64
      AK64 11 June 2016 11: 34
      0
      Great-grandfathers had a wonderful fight with the German invaders. It is not their fault that the blow came from behind. Traitors were brought to the rear in a sealed carriage by these same occupiers ...


      As for the betrayal, you are undoubtedly right.
      Here are just a sealed car was a little later than betrayal.
  4. overb
    overb 11 June 2016 12: 02
    +1
    The secret of the relative success of the Southwestern Front is simple; they did not fight the Germans. All these Austro-Germans, this is a myth. Austrians with Hungarians, Czechs and Slovaks were. Romanians were. There were no Germans.
    About the same result and against the same opponents (there were no Austrians and Czechs, but there were Germans instead), the former OdVO also fought in the initial phase of the Second World War, they retreated mainly only by order.
    1. V.ic
      V.ic 11 June 2016 15: 15
      +1
      Quote: overb
      The secret of the relative success of the Southwestern Front is simple; they did not fight the Germans. All these Austro-Germans, this is a myth. Austrians with Hungarians, Czechs and Slovaks were. Romanians were.

      Let's start with the last phrase:
      Quote: overb
      Romanians were.

      The article touches on a specific time interval = summer 1915. Dear, in what year Romania joined the WWI and on which side?
      Quote: overb
      All these Austro-Germans, this is a myth. Austrians with Hungarians, Czechs and Slovaks were.

      Against whom, then, did the Russian troops fight on the southern front of the front? Against the "myth" that snapped fiercely? The siege of Przemysl by the Russians is also in your opinion a war against the "myth"?
      Get personally from me a well-deserved minus, child EG.
      1. The comment was deleted.
      2. overb
        overb 11 June 2016 16: 15
        -1
        Quote: V.ic
        The article addresses

        Are you discussing with anyone, with me or with an article? If with an article, then why are you referring to me?
        Quote: V.ic
        The siege of Przemysl by the Russians is also in your opinion a war against the "myth"?

        PPC. You are very poorly educated. Do not even know the elementary. There were never any Germans in Przemysl. Both times, the defense of Przemysl was held by the Austro-Hungarians.
        Quote: V.ic
        Get personally from me a well-deserved minus, child EG.

        And you too. And my advice to you, with your "literacy level", write less and read more. Then no one will understand the level of your "knowledge".

Днестровские рубиконы

«Наши войска удерживали каждую из позиций по несколько дней, иногда – неделями»

На фоне грандиозных битв в Польше сражение за Днестр выглядит эпизодом. А ведь действия 11-й армии Юго-Западного фронта дали самый ценный ресурс – время, что в ситуации, сложившейся после Горлицкого прорыва, было главным фактором.

Журавненское сражение – оборонительно-наступательная операция 11-й армии Юго-Западного фронта. 6, 22 и 18-й армейские корпуса своими действиями 24 мая – 2 июня 1915 года сковали значительные силы врага. В итоге Южной германской армии было нанесено крупное поражение.


Расклад сил


Южная германская армия А. фон Линзингена, действуя синхронно с группировкой А. фон Макензена, в середине мая потеснила 11-ю русскую армию. Несмотря на успешные контратаки русских войск 15–17 мая, 18-й армейский корпус отошел на Журавно и Калущ, а 22-й – на Миколаев. Продолжая наступать, противник в ночь на 24 мая переправился через Днестр.

Центральное место в этих боях принадлежало оперативной группировке генерал-лейтенанта В. И. Гурко (6-й армейский корпус и приданные соединения) – она сыграла решающую роль в Журавненском сражении. Комкор вспоминал: «В середине ночи меня подняли с постели. Звонил начальник одной из приданных дивизий из 22-го корпуса с вопросом, не разрешу ли я ему отвести его дивизию за Днестр, он уже подготовил и частично укрепил очень выгодную позицию на противоположном берегу реки. Запретив предпринимать что-либо подобное, я, напротив, строжайше приказал ему немедленно самому перейти в наступление. В случае необходимости, сказал я ему, он может перебросить свои резервы с левого берега Днестра, тогда как я поддержу его наступление действиями соседних дивизий. Вскоре поступило донесение о том, что наше наступление развивается успешно, вперед пошла Финляндская дивизия. Эти обстоятельства и прибытие свежих частей моего армейского корпуса стали поворотным пунктом наших операций на этом участке фронта по реке Днестр».

К 26 мая австро-германские части сосредоточивались на левом берегу на плацдарме у Журавно. В этой ситуации решающее значение имел фланговый удар 6-го армейского корпуса и приданных ему частей. Успеху действий группы Гурко во многом способствовало то обстоятельство, что в свою очередь ее правый фланг был прикрыт болотистой поймой Днестра. Левее группировки из 6 и 22-го армейских корпусов находились 18-й армейский корпус и 3-я гвардейская дивизия с одной бригадой из корпуса Гурко.

Журавненское наступление

27 мая началось наступление русских войск. Официальная сводка так оценивала успехи русского оружия в двухдневных боях: «На левом берегу Днестра, в районе Журавно, неприятель после упорного боя был нами отброшен за линию железной дороги. В наши руки перешло несколько деревень, причем при взятии селения Букачовцы нами взяты 800 пленных с 20 офицерами. В течение 28 мая геройскими усилиями наших войск значительные силы неприятеля, переправившиеся у Журавно на левый берег Днестра и распространившиеся на весь фронт Журавно – Сивки, отброшены с большими для неприятеля потерями на правый берег. В упорном бою нами взяты 17 орудий, 49 пулеметов, 188 офицеров и до 6500 германцев и австрийцев. В числе пленных имеется сдавшаяся полностью рота прусского гвардейского фузилерного полка».

Части германской 3-й гвардейской дивизии потерпели тяжелое поражение у селения Вышниюв, понеся значительные потери.

С 26 по 28 мая включительно трофеи русских войск составили 348 офицеров, 15 431 нижний чин, 17 орудий и 78 пулеметов. С учетом боев 24–26 мая, когда отражалось наступление противника, в общей сложности были пленены 18 тысяч австро-германских солдат и офицеров, захвачены 23 орудия.

Для содействия отступающим на правый берег Днестра австро-германским войскам противник предпринял наступление по обоим берегам реки Тисменицы, захватив 28 мая село Грушов. Но затем был отброшен русскими войсками, и в последующие дни бои, имевшие характер встречных, вновь вылились в наступление наших дивизий. 31 мая в боях у Тисменицы и Стрыя захвачены 1200 пленных с 29 офицерами и семью пулеметами, а в боях у Журавно 1–2 июня – 202 офицера, 8544 нижних чина, шесть орудий и 21 пулемет. 3 июня войска Гурко перешли к обороне – наступательная операция завершилась.

В итоге проведенной операции Южная германская армия потерпела серьезное поражение. Противник был отброшен на правый берег Днестра, русские войска подошли к городу Стрый, крупному железнодорожному узлу – до него оставалось 12 километров. Журавненская победа вынудила противника свернуть наступление на галичском направлении и заняться перегруппировкой сил.

Сложившаяся обстановка (отход соседних армий как результат Горлицкого прорыва) вынудила русское командование свернуть победоносное наступление и перейти к обороне. Юго-Западный фронт начал стратегический отход, с арьергардными боями отступали и войска 11-й армии, ведь откат русских войск от Львова и Перемышля ставил под угрозу ее тылы.

Гурко вспоминал: «Отступление всего Юго-Западного фронта проводилось, можно сказать, ступенчато – мы последовательно переходили на ряд новых позиций, заранее подготовленных на левых берегах местных рубиконов – притоков Днестра. Наши войска удерживали каждую из этих позиций по несколько дней, иногда – неделями». Планомерный отход был обеспечен достигнутым в Журавненской операции успехом.

Победа, спасшая фронт

Днестровские рубиконыОперация у Журавно – оперативная и тактическая победа русской армии, причем даже с элементами стратегического успеха. Трофеи русских войск с 24 мая по 2 июня включительно – около 28 тысяч пленных, 29 орудий, 106 пулеметов. Стоит помнить, что победа была одержана на безрадостном фоне второй половины кампании 1915 года.

Главным противником 6, 22 и 18-го армейских корпусов 11-й армии являлись германские корпуса Гоффмана (130, 131 и 132-я пехотные бригады) и Маршаля (48-я резервная и 19-я пехотная дивизии, главные силы 3-й гвардейской дивизии), австрийский 5-й армейский корпус (64-я пехотная бригада и 34-я пехотная дивизия). Официальное австрийское описание боев у Журавно отмечает серьезные потери австро-германских войск (включая гвардию). Так, в бою 27 мая противник признает потерю двух тысяч человек из состава 3-й гвардейской пехотной и 40-й гонведной пехотной дивизий, а 14-я пехотная бригада к 28 мая потеряла до 50 процентов своего состава.

Операция у Журавно не только показала высокую активность русской армии в оборонительный период, она способствовала изменению оперативного планирования противника. То, что дивизии 11-й армии не только выдержали сильнейший натиск австро-германцев, но и имели крупный успех, разбив их и отбросив за Днестр, привело к краху вражеского стратегического замысла – выйти в тыл Львову и главной группировке войск Юго-Западного фронта. Лишь с помощью дополнительных сил неприятелю удалось справиться с угрозой своему флангу. Но она была устранена как раз за счет группировки на главном операционном направлении. Меры русского командования были абсолютно грамотными, ведь только энергичные действия приводят к срыву замысла неприятеля: он вынужден реагировать на них, менять цели и задачи. А действия во фланг наступающему противнику эффективны вдвойне.
Подробнее:
Автор: Алексей Олейников
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/30965


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. Вольный ветер 11 июня 2016 07:56
    Что за ляп? Фотографии наших маршалов, уничтоживших фашистов, в статье о первой мировой.
  2. V.ic 11 июня 2016 08:01
    Как и посадка самолёта на ВПП, отступление является самым сложным видом боевых действий. Царские генералы, вместе с офицерами и нижними чинами, достойно вынесли на своих плечах всю тяжесть боёв 1915 года.
  3. Aleksander 11 июня 2016 08:38
    Прадеды замечательно дрались с немецкими оккупантами. Не их вина, что удар пришел сзади. Предателей завезли в тыл в пломбированном вагоне эти самые оккупанты...
    1. AK64 11 июня 2016 11:34
      Прадеды замечательно дрались с немецкими оккупантами. Не их вина, что удар пришел сзади. Предателей завезли в тыл в пломбированном вагоне эти самые оккупанты...


      Насчёт предательства Вы, несомненно, правы.
      Вот только пломбироанный вагон был несколько позже предательства.
  4. overb 11 июня 2016 12:02
    Секрет относительной успешности Юго-Западного фронта прост, они не воевали с немцами. Все эти австро-германцы, это миф. Австрияки с венграми, чехами и словаками были. Румыны были. Немцев не было.
    Примерно с тем же результатом и против тех же противников (не было австрияков и чехов, но были немцы вместо них) в начальной фазе ВОВ воевал и бывший ОдВО, отступали в основном только по приказу.
    1. V.ic 11 июня 2016 15:15
      Цитата: overb
      Секрет относительной успешности Юго-Западного фронта прост, они не воевали с немцами. Все эти австро-германцы, это миф. Австрияки с венграми, чехами и словаками были. Румыны были.

      Начнём с крайней фразы:
      Цитата: overb
      Румыны были.

      В статье затрагивается конкретный временной интервал = лето 1915 года. Уважаемый, в каком году Румыния вступила в ПМВ и на чьей стороне?
      Цитата: overb
      Все эти австро-германцы, это миф. Австрияки с венграми, чехами и словаками были.

      Против кого же тогда воевали русские войска на южном фасе фронта? Против "мифа", который ожесточённо огрызался? Осада русскими Перемышля это тоже по-вашему война с "мифом"?
      Получите лично от меня заслуженный минус, дитя ЕГ.
      1. Комментарий был удален.
      2. overb 11 июня 2016 16:15
        Цитата: V.ic
        В статье затрагивается

        Вы с кем дискутируете, со мной или со статьей? Если со статьей, почему тогда ссылаетесь на меня?
        Цитата: V.ic
        Осада русскими Перемышля это тоже по-вашему война с "мифом"?

        ППЦ. Вы совсем слабо образованы. Не знаете даже элементарного. Немцев в Пшемышле никогда не было. Оба раза оборону Пшемышля держали австро-венгры.
        Цитата: V.ic
        Получите лично от меня заслуженный минус, дитя ЕГ.

        И вы тоже. И мой вам совет, с вашим "уровнем грамотности", меньше пишите, а больше читайте. Тогда никто не разберется в уровне ваших "знаний".
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня