Military Review

Self-propelled artillery 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Germany)

6
In September 1944, the German industry released the latest self-propelled guns such as 15cm sIG 33 (Sf) auf Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) Ausf.M Grille. Termination of their production was due to the decision to complete the assembly of the necessary chassis. However, self-propelled guns with 150-mm guns were of great interest to the troops, which led to the emergence of a new car of this class with the required weapons. This development remained in stories called 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38.

In mid-1944, the company Böhmisch-Mährische Maschinenfabrik AG (Czechoslovak ČKD) was engaged in the construction of two tracked chassis, used as the basis for various equipment and representing the further development of the light tank Pz.Kpfw. 38 (t). The Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer self-propelled guns were built on the basis of one chassis, while others were used in the construction of the Grille self-propelled guns and ammunition carriers for them. The chassis of self-propelled guns of the second type did not differ in high characteristics of protection, which is why over time it ceased to suit the military. For this reason, by the fall of the 44th command decided to stop the production of such machines.

Completing the assembly of the chassis led to the cessation of the release of ACS Grille Ausf.M, but the troops still needed new systems of a similar class. For this reason, in September 1944, the German command requested the development of another version of the carrier 150-mm heavy infantry weapons. The base for this machine was to be the ACS Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer. This solution allowed us to ensure the delivery of the required equipment, as well as to do without a serious restructuring of the production of armored vehicles.

Self-propelled artillery 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Germany)
General view of the 15 ACS cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38. Photo Mg-tank.ru


However, not wanting to reduce the production of serial self-propelled guns with 75-mm guns, the military demanded to build a new self-propelled gun based on a different chassis. The rebuilding of heavy guns required the construction and repair of armored Bergepanzer 38 armored repair and recovery vehicles. These BREM was a modified version of the "Hetzer" with no weapons and other design of the upper part of the body. The remaining units of the two machines were as unified as possible. Anyway, regardless of the specific type of base machine, the prospective ACS should have been based on one of the chassis of the Jagdpanzer 38 family.

The types of the selected weapon and the base chassis were reflected in the official designation of the prospective armored vehicle - 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38. In addition, in some sources behind this self-propelled gun is saved the name of its predecessor - Hetzer.

For the restructuring of the ACS or BREM in the carrier of heavy infantry guns, some refinement of the armor case and other structural elements was required. The corps was supposed to partially preserve the existing lines formed by several inclined armor plates. The frontal part was made of 60-mm armor, the protection of the sides and the stern was imposed on sheets of thickness 20 mm. To the existing inclined upper front sheet, the shape of which was slightly modified, an additional detail was added. In addition, there was an additional box to install the gun. It consisted of vertical sides and a swinging frontal sheet, which could be lowered and raised, acting as a tool mask. Sheets 10-15 mm thick were used as part of the gun protection.

The 60-mm frontal sheet with a window for the gun, as well as the 20-mm bead and 8-mm feed formed a superstructure, the design of which resembled the hull. All sheets were installed with a slope inward and increased the size of the habitable compartment. The roof of the cabin was not provided. Get into the car could be right through the side of the cabin.


Scheme of the car. Figure Tehnikapobedy.ru


The existing layout of the hull with the front of the transmission and the integration of the control compartment with the combat compartment into a total habitable volume was preserved. Behind the partition in the stern was located the engine with part of the units. Thus, despite the processing of the hull and the use of other weapons, the overall architecture of the self-propelled gun remained the same.

SAU 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 was supposed to keep the Praga AC / 2 carburetor engine with 150 horsepower. The main element of the transmission was a six-speed gearbox with five forward gears and one reverse. The front-end drivetrain was coupled to driving wheels.

Chassis completely borrowed from self-propelled Jagdpanzer 38 and almost did not differ from the units of the previous technology based on Pz.Kpfw.38 (t). On each side, four support rollers were mounted, interlocked in pairs and equipped with leaf springs. Used front drive wheels and stern guides.

In front of the cabin, the installation of new weapons was envisaged. On a machine with manual pointing drives, an 15 cm sIG 33 gun was to be mounted. The attachment of the gun made it possible to direct it within the horizontal sector with a width of 10 ° with elevation angles from 0 ° to + 73 °. This allowed to fire both direct fire and from closed positions. In all cases, for guidance should use the sight Rblf36, borrowed from the base towed gun carriage guns.


The left side, visible viewing devices driver. Photo Aviarmor.net


The 150-mm gun had a barrel of 11 caliber length and could accelerate shells up to speeds of the order of 240 m / s and send them to a distance of 4,7 km. The design of the gun included a sliding horizontal slide and hydropneumatic recoil devices. The ammunition could include separate loading shells of several types: high-explosive fragmentation, smoke and cumulative. A trained calculation could do up to three shots per minute.

In a relatively small combat compartment of the 15 ACS cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38, we were able to place several racks for ammunition in 15 shots. For a long shooting self-propelled gun needed the help of ammunition transporters.

For self-defense against enemy infantry, the crew of the armored vehicle had to use one MG 34 or MG 42 machine gun of the 7,92 caliber mm. This weapon and ammunition for him was proposed to be transported in one of the structures of the fighting compartment. There were no assembly systems on the wheelhouse, which allowed to keep the machine gun in combat status all the time.

The crew of the new combat vehicle consisted of four people. The driver was placed in front of the hull, to the left of the gun. There were viewing instruments for observing the road in the frontal logging room. The workplace of the commander-gunner was placed to the left of the gun, behind the driver. Also in the fighting compartment had to work two loaders. The crew’s additional responsibility was to use the FuG 16 radio station.


The barrel is raised, the mask automatically closed the opening. Photo Aviarmor.net


Despite the design change, the new ACS did not differ from the previous car in its size. Moreover, due to the use of tools with a shorter barrel length, it was possible to significantly reduce the overall dimensions. SAU 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 had a total length of 4,87 m with a width of 2,63 m and a height of 2,2 m. The combat weight was 16,5 t. Due to some dew of construction weight, the mobility had to be slightly reduced: the maximum speed on the highway fell to 32 km / h, power reserve - 130 km.

The order for the development of promising self-propelled guns with the 15 cm sIG 33 tool appeared in the early autumn of 1944. Design work was completed as soon as possible, so that by the beginning of winter, BMM had presented a prototype of a new combat vehicle. Soon the prototype was tested and confirmed the design characteristics. The machine had acceptable mobility and maintained the required high firepower.

According to the test results, it was decided to take 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 into service and start the mass production of such equipment. At the same time, however, the order for serial construction was received not by the developer, but by another organization. The company BMM at that time was loaded with other work, because of which the assembly of new machines was entrusted to another enterprise. According to various sources, it was Alkett or Krupp - the exact manufacturer has not yet been established, although it is known that they were not Czechoslovakia’s factories.

In December 1944 of the year, the manufacturer built the first self-propelled guns of the new type, the base for which, apparently, was the repair and recovery vehicles Bergepanzer 38. Over the next few weeks, the 24 BRAM was converted into ACS. After that, six more self-propelled guns based on other equipment were released. This batch was built by repairing and re-equipping the “Hetzer’s,” who returned from the front. Thus, at the end of 1944-o and the beginning of 1945, a total of 30 self-propelled 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 X-guns were built.


Roof and fighting compartment SAU. Photo Mg-tank.ru


By the end of 1944, several dozen mouths of heavy infantry guns were present in the German armed forces, which were equipped with various self-propelled sIG 33 carriers and auxiliary equipment. Three dozen new self-propelled guns were handed over to the troops and distributed among several units. The staff of the mouth of heavy guns made it possible to transfer five such units to the new equipment - six cars for each.

Details of the combat use of the 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 are unknown. Probably, this technique was used by the troops in parallel with their predecessors and was used for the same purposes. Similar parameters of mobility and firepower allowed us to rely on similar combat effectiveness.

A number of 150-mm guns based on the Jagdpanzer 38 were used until the very end of the fighting in Europe. Later this technique was decommissioned. The fate of self-propelled guns was as sad as that of many other samples. In the postwar years, the equipment that was no longer needed was sent for cutting. As a result, all three dozen built cars ceased to exist. Samples 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 not preserved, there are only some photos of this technology.

SAU 15 cm sIG 33 / 2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 remained in history as one of the last attempts to adapt the chassis of the tank Pz.Kpfw.38 (t) to solve specialized problems, as well as to make the Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer self-propelled weapon a carrier of the new weapon. Due to the late start of work, a generally successful project did not lead to the construction of a large amount of equipment. As a result, solving combat missions on certain sectors of the front, such self-propelled guns could not affect the situation as a whole.


Based on:
http://wehrmacht-history.com/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
http://aviarmor.net/
Chamberlain P., Doyle H. Complete reference book of German tanks and self-propelled guns of the Second World War. - M .: AST: Astrel, 2008.
Author:
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. kugelblitz
    kugelblitz 14 June 2016 11: 15
    +4
    Thanks Cyril! Unlike some people who love excessive pathos, you have a brief, capacious and without throwing fan. drinks
    1. Rurikovich
      Rurikovich 14 June 2016 21: 40
      +1
      Right! I agree good hi Plus article
  2. Beefeater
    Beefeater 14 June 2016 12: 50
    -1
    The cannon is frankly outdated, it was not worth it to fence the garden.
    1. Rurikovich
      Rurikovich 14 June 2016 21: 39
      +2
      On the contrary, the cannon is wonderful just to support the infantry. The practically mortar trajectory of the projectile thanks to the short barrel made it possible to successfully deal with fortifications at the front edge, and the power of the 150-mm projectile only confirms this. A typical regimental cannon, only on a tank chassis. of course, this weapon is not intended to fight tanks, but it’s an infantry support weapon, it’s excellent. Suppression of bunkers, enemy batteries in their defense, located in closed positions, infantry accumulations in the trenches The main thing is that it can be used skillfully and as intended request
  3. Warrior2015
    Warrior2015 14 June 2016 22: 59
    +1
    Quote: Rurikovich
    the gun is wonderful just to support the infantry.

    I completely agree ! Precisely as an instrument for directly accompanying infantry, it is indispensable. We only have the Su-122 of this type.
  4. Molot1979
    Molot1979 25 October 2016 11: 20
    +2
    Yes, the Czechs worked well for the first European Union.
  5. perm23
    perm23 24 November 2016 10: 12
    0
    The Czechs worked diligently for the Nazis.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)

В сентябре 1944 года немецкая промышленность выпустила последние самоходные артиллерийские установки типа 15cm sIG 33(Sf) auf Pz.Kpfw.38(t) Ausf.M Grille. Прекращение их производства было связано с решением об окончании сборки необходимых шасси. Тем не менее, самоходки с 150-мм орудиями представляли большой интерес для войск, что привело к появлению новой машины этого класса с требуемым вооружением. Эта разработка осталась в истории под названием 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38.

В середине 1944 года фирма Böhmisch-Mährische Maschinenfabrik AG (чехословацкая ČKD) занималась строительством двух гусеничных шасси, использовавшихся в качестве основы для различной техники и представлявших собой дальнейшее развитие легкого танка Pz.Kpfw.38(t). На базе одного шасси строились самоходки Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer, а другие использовались при строительстве САУ Grille и подвозчиков боеприпасов для них. Шасси самоходок второго типа не отличалось высокими характеристиками защиты, из-за чего со временем перестало устраивать военных. По этой причине к осени 44-го командование решило прекратить выпуск таких машин.

Завершение сборки шасси приводило к остановке выпуска САУ Grille Ausf.M, однако войска все равно нуждались в новых системах аналогичного класса. По этой причине в сентябре 1944 года немецкое командование затребовало разработать очередной вариант носителя 150-мм тяжелого пехотного оружия. Базой для этой машины должна была стать САУ Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer. Такое решение позволяло обеспечить поставки требуемой техники, а также обойтись без серьезной перестройки производства бронемашин.


Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)
Общий вид САУ 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38. Фото Mg-tank.ru


Тем не менее, не желая сокращать выпуск серийных самоходок с 75-мм орудиями, военные потребовали строить новую самоходку на основе другого шасси. Перестраивать в носители тяжелых орудий требовалось строящиеся и ремонтируемые бронированные ремонтно-эвакуационные машины Bergepanzer 38. Эти БРЭМ представляли собой доработанный вариант «Хетцера» с отсутствующим вооружением и иной конструкцией верхней части корпуса. Остальные агрегаты двух машин были максимально унифицированы. Так или иначе, вне зависимости от конкретного типа базовой машины, перспективная САУ должна была основываться на одном из шасси семейства Jagdpanzer 38.

Типы выбранного орудия и базового шасси были отражены в официальном обозначении перспективной бронемашины – 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38. Кроме того, в некоторых источниках за этой самоходкой сохраняется имя предшественника – Hetzer.

Для перестройки САУ или БРЭМ в носитель тяжелого пехотного орудия требовались некоторые доработки броневого корпуса и других элементов конструкции. Корпус должен был частично сохранять имеющиеся обводы, образованные несколькими наклонными бронелистами. Лобовая часть изготавливалась из 60-мм брони, защита бортов и кормы возлагалась на листы толщиной 20 мм. К имевшемуся наклонному верхнему лобовому листу, форма которого была немного изменена, добавилась дополнительная деталь. Кроме того, появился дополнительный короб для установки орудия. Он состоял из вертикальных бортов и качающегося лобового листа, который мог опускаться и подниматься, выполняя функции маски орудия. В составе защиты орудия использовались листы толщиной 10-15 мм.

60-мм лобовой лист с окном для орудия, а также 20-мм борта и 8-мм корма образовывали надстройку, конструкция которой напоминала корпус. Все листы устанавливались с наклоном внутрь и увеличивали размеры обитаемого отсека. Крыша рубки не предусматривалась. Попадать в машину можно было прямо через борта рубки.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)
Схема машины. Рисунок Tehnikapobedy.ru


Была сохранена имевшаяся компоновка корпуса с передним расположением трансмиссии и объединением отделения управления с боевым отделением в общий обитаемый объем. За перегородкой в корме располагался двигатель с частью агрегатов. Таким образом, несмотря на переработку корпуса и использование иного вооружения, общая архитектура самоходки оставалась прежней.

САУ 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 должна была сохранять карбюраторный двигатель Praga AC/2 мощностью 150 л.с. Основным элементом трансмиссии была шестискоростная коробка передач с пятью передачами переднего хода и одной заднего. Трансмиссия переднего расположения соединялась с ведущими колесами.

Ходовая часть полностью заимствовалась у самоходки Jagdpanzer 38 и почти не отличалась от агрегатов предыдущей техники на базе Pz.Kpfw.38(t). На каждом борту монтировались четыре опорных катка, сблокированных попарно и оснащенных листовыми рессорами. Использовались передние ведущие колеса и кормовые направляющие.

В передней части рубки предусматривался монтаж нового вооружения. На установке с ручными приводами наведения должно было монтироваться орудие 15 cm sIG 33. Крепления орудия позволяли наводить его в пределах горизонтального сектора шириной 10° с углами возвышения от 0° до +73°. Это позволяло вести огонь как прямой наводкой, так и с закрытых позиций. Во всех случаях для наведения следовало использовать прицел Rblf36, заимствованный у базового буксируемого лафета орудия.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)
Левый борт, видны смотровые приборы водителя. Фото Aviarmor.net


150-мм орудие имело ствол длиной 11 калибров и могло разгонять снаряды до скорости порядка 240 м/с и отправлять их на расстояние до 4,7 км. В конструкции орудия присутствовали скользящий горизонтальный затвор и гидропневматические противооткатные устройства. В боекомплект могли входить снаряды раздельного заряжания нескольких типов: осколочно-фугасные, дымовые и кумулятивные. Натренированный расчет мог делать до трех выстрелов в минуту.

В сравнительно небольшом боевом отделении САУ 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 удалось разместить несколько стеллажей для боекомплекта в 15 выстрелов. Для длительной стрельбы самоходка нуждалась в помощи транспортеров боеприпасов.

Для самообороны от пехоты противника экипаж бронемашины должен был использовать один пулемет MG 34 или MG 42 калибра 7,92 мм. Это оружие и боекомплект для него предлагалось перевозить в одной из укладок боевого отделения. Системы монтажа на рубке, позволявшие все время держать пулемет в боеготовом состоянии, отсутствовали.

В экипаж новой боевой машины входили четыре человека. Механик-водитель помещался в передней части корпуса, слева от орудия. Для наблюдения за дорогой в лобовом листе рубки имелись смотровые приборы. Рабочее место командира-наводчика помещалось слева от орудия, позади водителя. Также в боевом отделении должны были работать двое заряжающих. Дополнительной обязанностью экипажа было использование радиостанции FuG 16.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)
Ствол поднят, маска автоматически закрыла проем. Фото Aviarmor.net


Несмотря на изменение конструкции, новая САУ не отличалась от предыдущей машины своими размерами. Более того, за счет использования орудия с меньшей длиной ствола удалось заметно сократить общие габариты. САУ 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 имела общую длину 4,87 м при ширине 2,63 м и высоте 2,2 м. Боевая масса составляла 16,5 т. За счет некоторого роса веса конструкции должна была немного сократиться подвижность: максимальная скорость на шоссе упала до 32 км/ч, запас хода – 130 км.

Заказ на разработку перспективной самоходки с орудием 15 cm sIG 33 появился в начале осени 1944 года. Проектные работы были выполнены в кратчайшие сроки, благодаря чему к началу зимы фирма BMM представила опытный образец новой боевой машины. Вскоре прототип прошел испытания и подтвердил расчетные характеристики. Машина имела приемлемую подвижность и сохраняла требуемую высокую огневую мощь.

По результатам испытаний было принято решение о принятии 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 на вооружение и старте серийного производства такой техники. При этом, однако, заказ на серийное строительство получил не разработчик, а другая организация. Фирма BMM в это время была загружена другой работой, из-за чего сборку новых машин поручили иному предприятию. По разным данным, это была фирма Alkett или Krupp – точный производитель до сих пор не установлен, хотя известно, что это были не чехословацкие заводы.

В декабре 1944 года фирма-изготовитель построила первые самоходки нового типа, базой для которых, по-видимому, стали ремонтно-эвакуационные машины Bergepanzer 38. За несколько следующих недель в САУ переделали 24 БРЭМ. После этого были выпущены еще шесть самоходок на базе иной техники. Эту партию построили путем ремонта и переоснащения «Хетцеров», вернувшихся с фронта. Таким образом, в конце 1944-о и начале 1945 года в общей сложности было построено 30 самоходок 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38.

Самоходная артиллерийская установка 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 (Германия)
Крыша и боевое отделение САУ. Фото Mg-tank.ru


К концу 1944 года в составе вооруженных сил Германии присутствовало несколько десятков рот тяжелых пехотных орудий, которые оснащались различными самоходными носителями sIG 33 и вспомогательной техникой. Три десятка новых самоходок передали войскам и распределили между несколькими подразделениями. Штатный состав рот тяжелых орудий позволял перевести на новую технику пять таких подразделений – по шесть машин для каждой.

Подробности боевого применения 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 неизвестны. Вероятно, эта техника применялась войсками параллельно со своими предшественниками и использовалась в тех же целях. Схожие параметры подвижности и огневой мощи позволяли рассчитывать на аналогичную боевую эффективность.

Некоторое количество 150-мм орудий на базе Jagdpanzer 38 использовалось до самого конца боев в Европе. Позже эту технику вывели из эксплуатации. Дальнейшая судьба самоходок была такой же печальной, как и у множества других образцов. В послевоенные годы более не нужную технику отправили на разделку. Вследствие этого все три десятка построенных машин прекратили свое существование. Образцы 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 не сохранились, имеются лишь некоторые фотографии этой техники.

САУ 15 cm sIG 33/2 (Sf) auf Jagdpanzer 38 осталась в истории в качестве одной из последних попыток приспособить шасси танка Pz.Kpfw.38(t) к решению специализированных задач, а также сделать самоходку Jagdpanzer 38 Hetzer носителем нового оружия. Ввиду позднего начала работ в целом успешный проект не привел к строительству большого количества техники. Как следствие, решая боевые задачи на отдельных участках фронта, такие самоходки не могли повлиять на ситуацию в целом.


По материалам:
http://wehrmacht-history.com/
http://tehnikapobedy.ru/
http://aviarmor.net/
Чемберлен П., Дойл Х. Полный справочник немецких танков и самоходных орудий Второй мировой войны. – М.: АСТ: Астрель, 2008.
Автор: Рябов Кирилл


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. kugelblitz 14 июня 2016 11:15
    Спасибо Кирилл! В отличии от некоторых любящих чрезмерный пафос аффтаров, у вас кратко, ёмко и без набрасывания на вентилятор. drinks
    1. рюрикович 14 июня 2016 21:40
      Точно! Согласен good hi Плюс статье
  2. Бифитер 14 июня 2016 12:50
    Пушка откровенно устаревшая, не стоило огород городить.
    1. рюрикович 14 июня 2016 21:39
      Наоборот, пушка замечательная именно для поддержки пехоты.Практически миномётная траектория снаряда благодаря короткому стволу позволяла успешно бороться с укреплениями именно на переднем крае, а мощность 150-мм снаряда это лишь подтверждает.Типичная полковая пушка,только на танковом шасси. конечно,это орудие не предназначено для борьбы с танками, но именно орудие поддержки пехоты ,оно отличное.Подавление ДЗОТов, батарей противник на своём участке обороны,находящихся на закрытых позициях, скоплений пехоты в окопах Главное, умело и по назначению его применять request
  3. Ратник2015 14 июня 2016 22:59
    Цитата: рюрикович
    пушка замечательная именно для поддержки пехоты.

    Полностью согласен ! Именно как орудие непосредственного сопровождения пехоты - незаменима. У нас разве что Су-122 была такого типа.
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня