Military Review

9 most interesting stories of dead ships

20
9 most interesting stories of dead ships



History Mexico's sunken ships start from the era of the Caribbean gold rush of conquistadors and pirates. From the bay in the north of Yucatan to Banco Chinchorro, you can find the cemeteries of Spanish galleons. Few people know that the remains of one of these galleons are even in a popular tourist place - the Gulf of Akumal.

Most of the wrecks (diving term, wreck translated from English - “wreck”, “wreckage”), preserved in good condition and popular with divers, are flooded fishing schooners, industrial barges and naval ships fleet USA. Some of these ships were bought by the fleet of Mexico and flooded to create artificial reefs. The other part sank during the Second World War, since the US military base was located on Cozumel Island.

Matancero



The original name of the vessel is Nuestra Señora de los Milagros (“The Miracle Virgin”). Galleon passed along the Mexican coast 22 February 1741, when he suddenly ran into reefs and sank. The ship was about 22 m long with a keel in 18 m.

Like all Spanish galleons, Matancero was heavily armed — on board were 16 small cast guns and four large cannon, some of which still rest on the bottom among the corals. Several guns are mounted on the shore and aimed at the Gulf of Akumal, in the direction where the remains of the ship lie. On board the ship was about 100 tons of iron, 50 tons of household utensils: plates, forks, knives, paper, utensils, oils, tools. 75 chests with religious items and 21 200 bottles of brandy and wine were found in the holds.

The remains of Matancero lie at a depth of 3 − 7. Divers still find various artifacts in this place. This is a large number of necklaces with crosses of various sizes and shapes, silver salaries for icons, earrings.

Ultrafreeze



Ultrafreeze was an 110-meter barge specializing in the delivery of deep-frozen food loads. The barge had a fire in 1979, when it was in the port of the Island of Women. The fire could not be put out, and the barge had to be towed to the open sea, where it was flooded. Now the barge, lying at a depth of 28 − 35 m, is one of the largest vrekakh region. Two large holds allow divers to navigate inside without danger of getting stuck.

In addition to the impressive view, the barge is interesting for living in it. The metal of the hull of the barge attracts many small fish, which, in turn, attract large predators. The barge is on the migration route of the Gulf of Mexico and Yucatan, and here you can often see dolphins, turtles, moray eels, spotted rays, ocean mantas (they are also called devils of the sea - these are the largest skates that are 7 meters wide) and even whales. From February to August you can also find orcas.

The barge is suitable for intermediate divers, but you need to keep in mind that several people disappeared without a trace in this place.

Harlequin



This US Navy ship was built in 1944 year in American Portland. He served during the Second World War as a special vessel. His task was to search, detect, destroy sea mines and escort ships through minefields.

Redeemed by the Mexican fleet in 1976, and according to 1978, the year was used as an ocean research ship under the name Oceanográfico. Flooded in 1980 year to create an artificial reef. In 1993, renamed to General Pedro María Anaya. It lies at a depth of 20 − 25 m.

The ship is located in 2,2 km from the coast - on the territory frequented by manti, barracuda and giant sea turtles. Hurricane "Wilma" in 2005, broke the ship into two parts, and now all the internal cavities of the vessel are accessible to divers. Great place for photo lovers.

Ransom



The Admiralty class ship served as a mine sweeper — a mine-finder during World War II in the US Navy. Ransom was awarded three combat stars for his services in battles in the Pacific. In 1951, the ship resumed service during the Korean War. In 1962, it was sold to the Mexican Navy and renamed to DM-12, and in 1994, to Teniente Juan de la Barrera.

In 2000, it was flooded to create an artificial reef near Cancun. Ransom now lies at a depth of 18 − 25 and is home to tens of thousands of sea creatures.
Author:
Originator:
http://www.popmech.ru/history/239472-9-samykh-interesnykh-istoriy-pogibshikh-korabley/
20 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. brom
    brom 19 June 2016 06: 26
    +13
    Where are nine?
    1. igordok
      igordok 19 June 2016 07: 20
      +5
      Quote: brom
      Where are nine?

      Even the link is not working - Source //www.popmech.ru/history/239472-9-samykh-interesnykh-istoriy-pogibshikh-korabley
      /
      1. AUL
        AUL 19 June 2016 22: 46
        +3
        An article from the middle-aged travel agency brochure.
  2. Greenwood
    Greenwood 19 June 2016 07: 10
    +4
    And what kind of ship is shown in the first photo? What kind of rope is pulled on top?
    1. Riv
      Riv 19 June 2016 07: 43
      +12
      The author is attached. Therefore, the article is incomplete. :)
  3. Senior manager
    Senior manager 19 June 2016 07: 13
    +9
    And where are the interesting stories, and the most? Dummy however.
    1. Serg koma
      Serg koma 19 June 2016 07: 35
      +15
      Quote: St. Propulsion
      And where are the interesting stories, and the most?
      1. Bashibuzuk
        Bashibuzuk 26 December 2016 11: 49
        0
        Interesting stories will begin when mid-level divers .... flounder at a depth of 35 meters - and then in a hurry they begin to pop up to the surface.
        And after that the stories will begin. Interesting.
        With stabbing and swelling. Embolism and hallucinations.
        .
        I liked the barracudas.
        And about killer whales.
        Divers seem to be familiar with deep drunkenness by now.
  4. The comment was deleted.
  5. parusnik
    parusnik 19 June 2016 07: 39
    +4
    Story about reefs, which became the basis of the ships .. For the drivers it is interesting ..
  6. kravch67k
    kravch67k 19 June 2016 08: 46
    +5
    Mexicans have an interesting hobby to buy and flood. belay recourse
  7. gamer
    gamer 19 June 2016 09: 09
    +7
    On the Internet, hundreds of photos of sunken ships with a description of their death in a more interesting perspective! Minus!
  8. Tsoy
    Tsoy 19 June 2016 09: 09
    +6
    and where are the stories? I thought it would be something like the cruiser "General Belgrano", which survived in Pearl Harbor, and then was sunk by the British, in a completely different war. Or "Mary Celesta". Disappointment everywhere.
  9. Stas57
    Stas57 19 June 2016 09: 35
    +8
    But what is it about TOPVAR, then cropped articles, then frank nonsense, editors on vacation?
  10. altman
    altman 19 June 2016 11: 29
    +4
    I didn’t understand .. what's interesting here? The ordinary life of ordinary ships
  11. DrVintorez
    DrVintorez 19 June 2016 18: 56
    +4
    to get the full version of the article, send SMS to 03xxxxx7879 =)
  12. Dr.Serg
    Dr.Serg 20 June 2016 10: 40
    0
    The article had to be called differently .. for example "interesting wrecks for divers" and so, a rare Russian will now fly to the middle of Mexico, and closer - Thistlegorm - an interesting wreck, British dry cargo ship, died as a result of an air bomb hit in October 1941, lies on an accessible deep in the Sinai Peninsula - on the deck and in the holds: cars, motorcycles, boxes of weapons, wedges. Dunraven is a sailing steamer, sank in 1876 in the Red Sea, comfortable depth, the wooden part collapsed, the car, the iron part of the casing, the screws ... and many more interesting wrecks to find ..
  13. Dazdranagon
    Dazdranagon 20 June 2016 11: 06
    +2
    9 most interesting stories ???
    Flooded in 1980 to create an artificial reef
    - authors, what class are you in? My essay in the 5th was an order of magnitude higher quality! laughing
  14. kig
    kig 11 November 2016 02: 49
    0
    one of the biggest wrecks of the region - author, do you even know what wreck is? I'm bastard with you.
    1. Cat man null
      Cat man null 11 November 2016 02: 55
      0
      Quote: kig
      author, do you even know what wreck is?

      - I asked ash Lingua:

      wreck noun
      crash, accident, death, catastrophe straight. and shifted.
      wreck; remnants of a shipwreck; wreckage (of an airplane, car, etc.)
      ruin (about man)


      Quote: kig
      I'm bastard with you

      - and why is it? belay
      1. kig
        kig 11 November 2016 13: 54
        +1
        Yes, because this word is pronounced not "vrek", but quite differently, ask at least Abby Lingvo. If the article is for divers, then it should have been said, but we are not them. And bastard - because so many "writers" now use foreign words adapted to Russian.

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей


История затонувших кораблей Мексики начинается от эпохи карибской золотой лихорадки конкистадоров и пиратов. От залива на севере Юкатана и до Банко-Чинчорро можно найти кладбища испанских галеонов. Мало кому известно, что остатки одного из таких галеонов находятся даже в популярном туристическом месте — заливе Акумаля.

Большую часть вреков (дайверский термин, wreck в переводе с английского — «крушение», «обломки»), сохранившихся в хорошем состоянии и популярных у дайверов, составляют затопленные рыбацкие шхуны, промышленные баржи и военно-морские корабли флота США. Часть этих судов была выкуплена флотом Мексики и затоплена для создания искусственных рифов. Другая часть затонула еще во времена Второй мировой войны, так как на острове Косумель находилась военная морская база США.


Matancero

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей


Оригинальное название судна — Nuestra Señora de los Milagros («Чудотворная Дева Мария»). Галеон проходил вдоль мексиканского побережья 22 февраля 1741 года, когда вдруг напоролся на рифы и затонул. Корабль был длиною около 22 м с килем в 18 м.

Как и все испанские галеоны, Matancero был хорошо вооружен — на борту находилось 16 небольших литых орудий и четыре большие поворотные пушки, некоторые из которых до сих пор покоятся на дне среди кораллов. Несколько орудий установлены на берегу и направлены на залив Акумаля — в ту сторону, где лежат остатки судна. На борту корабля было около 100 т железа, 50 т домашней утвари: тарелок, вилок, ножей, бумаги, посуды, масел, инструментов. В трюмах было найдено 75 сундуков с религиозными предметами и 21 200 бутылок бренди и вина.

Остатки Matancero лежат на глубине 3−7 м. Дайверы до сих пор находят различные артефакты в этом месте. Это большое количество ожерелий с крестами различных размеров и форм, серебряные оклады для икон, серьги.

Ultrafreeze

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей


Ultrafreeze был 110-метровой баржей, специализирующейся на доставке продовольственных грузов глубокой заморозки. На барже случился пожар в 1979 году, когда она находилась в порту острова Женщин. Пожар не удалось потушить, и баржу пришлось отбуксировать в открытое море, где ее и затопили. Теперь баржа, лежащая на глубине 28−35 м, представляет собой один из самых больших вреков региона. Два больших трюма дают возможность дайверам перемещаться внутри без опасности застрять.

Помимо внушительного вида баржа интересна обитающей в ней живностью. Металл корпуса баржи притягивает множество маленьких рыб, которые, в свою очередь, привлекают больших хищников. Баржа находится на миграционном пути Мексиканского залива и Юкатана, и здесь часто можно увидеть дельфинов, черепах, мурен, пятнистых скатов, океанских мант (их еще называют морскими дьяволами — это самые крупные скаты, ширина которых достигает 7 м) и даже китов. С февраля по август здесь можно встретить и косаток.

Баржа подходит для дайверов среднего уровня, но нужно иметь в виду, что в этом месте бесследно исчезли несколько человек.

Harlequin

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей


Этот корабль военно-морского флота США был построен в 1944 году в американском Портленде. Служил во время Второй мировой войны как судно специального назначения. Его задачей был поиск, обнаружение, уничтожение морских мин и сопровождение судов через минные заграждения.

Выкуплен мексиканским флотом в 1976 году и по 1978 год использовался как океанский исследовательской корабль под именем Oceanográfico. Затоплен в 1980 году для создания искусственного рифа. В 1993-м переименован в General Pedro María Anaya. Лежит на глубине 20−25 м.

Корабль находится в 2,2 км от берега — на территории, часто посещаемой мантами, барракудами и гигантскими морскими черепахами. Ураган «Вильма» в 2005 году разломал корабль на две части, и теперь все внутренние полости судна доступны для дайверов. Отличное место для любителей фотографии.

Ransom

9 самых интересных историй погибших кораблей


Корабль адмиралтейского класса служил тральщиком — искателем мин во время Второй мировой войны в ВМФ США. Ransom был награжден тремя боевыми звездами за заслуги в боях в Тихом океане. В 1951-м корабль возобновил службу в ходе войны в Корее. В 1962 году был продан мексиканскому ВМФ и переименован в DM-12, а в 1994-м — в Teniente Juan de la Barrera.

В 2000 году его затопили, чтобы создать искусственный риф около Канкуна. Теперь Ransom лежит на глубине 18−25 м и является домом для десятков тысяч морских созданий.
Автор: Тимофей Юрьев, Дарья Прокопьева
Первоисточник: http://www.popmech.ru/history/239472-9-samykh-interesnykh-istoriy-pogibshikh-korabley/


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 19
  1. brom 19 июня 2016 06:26
    А где девять-то?
    1. igordok 19 июня 2016 07:20
      Цитата: brom
      А где девять-то?

      Даже ссылка нерабочая - Первоисточник //www.popmech.ru/history/239472-9-samykh-interesnykh-istoriy-pogibshikh-korabley
      /
      1. AUL 19 июня 2016 22:46
        Статья из рекламного буклета турагенства средней руки.
        AUL
  2. Greenwood 19 июня 2016 07:10
    А что за судно изображено на первой фотографии? Что за канат натянут сверху?
    1. Riv 19 июня 2016 07:43
      Автор привязан. Потому и статья незакончена. :)
      Riv
  3. Ст.пропорщик 19 июня 2016 07:13
    А где интересные истории, причем самые? Пустышка однако.
    1. Serg Koma 19 июня 2016 07:35
      Цитата: Ст.пропорщик
      А где интересные истории, причем самые?
  4. Комментарий был удален.
  5. parusnik 19 июня 2016 07:39
    Истории о рифах,основой которой стали корабли..Для драйверов интересно..
  6. kravch67k 19 июня 2016 08:46
    У мексиканцев интересное хобби,купить и затопить. belay recourse
  7. игорек 19 июня 2016 09:09
    В интернете сотни фото затонувших кораблей с описанием их гибели в более интересном ракурсе!Минус !
  8. Цой 19 июня 2016 09:09
    а где истории то? Я думал будет что то вроде крейсера "генрал бельграно", который выжил в перл харборе, а после был потоплен британцами, в совершенно в другую войну. Или "мария целеста". Везде разочарование.
  9. стас57 19 июня 2016 09:35
    да что же это такое на ТОПВАр, то обрезанные статьи, то откровенная галиматья, редакторы в отпусках?
  10. altman 19 июня 2016 11:29
    Так и не понял..что тут интересного? Обычная жизнь обычных кораблей
  11. DrVintorez 19 июня 2016 18:56
    для получения полной версии статьи отправьте смс на номер 03хххх7879 =)
  12. Dr.Serg 20 июня 2016 10:40
    Статью надо было назвать по другому..например "интересные для дайверов вреки" а так, редкий россиянин сейчас долетит до средины Мексики, а поближе- Тистлегорм- интересный врек, Британский сухогруз, погиб в результате попадания авиабомбы в Октябре 1941 года, лежит на доступной глубине у Синайского полуострова- на палубе и в трюмах: автомобили, мотоциклы, ящики с оружием, танкетки. Дунравен- парусный пароход, затонул в 1876 году в Красном море, комфортная глубина, деревянная часть разрушилась, сохранились - машина, железная часть обшивки, винты...и ещё много интересных вреков найти..
  13. Dazdranagon 20 июня 2016 11:06
    9 самых интересных историй???
    Затоплен в 1980 году для создания искусственного рифа
    - авторы, вы в каком классе? У меня сочинение в 5-том было на порядок качественнее! laughing
  14. kig 11 ноября 2016 02:49
    один из самых больших вреков региона - автор, ты хоть знаешь что такое wreck? Я с вас балдю.
    kig
    1. Cat Man Null 11 ноября 2016 02:55
      Цитата: kig
      автор, ты хоть знаешь что такое wreck?

      - я вот спросил у ясеня Лингвы:

      wreck сущ.
      крушение, авария, гибель, катастрофа прям. и перен.
      остов разбитого судна; остатки кораблекрушенияобломки (самолёта, автомобиля и т. п.)развалины
      развалина (о человеке)


      Цитата: kig
      Я с вас балдю

      - и почему же это? belay
      1. kig 11 ноября 2016 13:54
        да потому что произносится это слово не "врек", а совсем по другому, спросите хотя бы у Абби Лингво. Если статья для дайверов, то так и надо было сказать, но мы-то не они. А балдю - потому что уж очень многие "писатели" сейчас используют иностранные слова, адаптированные под русский язык.
        kig

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня