Military Review

Experimental aircraft Northrop M2-F2 (3): "flying bath"

5
The Northrop M2-F3 is a heavy, reusable heavy-lift aircraft based on the Northrop M2-F2 model that crashed in the 1967 year. The aircraft was modified by the installation of a third vertical fin, designed to improve handling. It should be noted that the entire line of experimental aircraft with a carrying body, which included the Northrop HL-10, the Northrop M2-F1, the M2-F2 and the M2-F3, were called wingless airplanes and even “flying baths” for their appearance and shape.


At the end of 60, the beginning of 70 of the 20th century, NASA experimented with airplanes with a carrying body (i.e. aircraft, the lifting force of which was created by the fuselage, not the wings). Based on these developments, the US space agency intended to create an orbital plane, the pilot of which could independently choose the landing site. As part of the program, the NASA Flight Research Center in Edwards (California) tested 5 aircraft. The main purpose of vehicles with low aerodynamic qualities was to study the possibility of safe maneuvering and landing after returning from space. Tests using aircraft data were carried out from 1966 to 1975 year.

The contract between Northrop and NASA, the US aerospace agency, was concluded in the middle of 1964. He envisioned the construction of two reusable wingless all-metal apparatus with a carrying case. New aircraft were assigned the designations HL-10 and M2-F2, the devices differed from each other by the profile of their main body.



In appearance, the M2-F2 aircraft mainly repeated the previously created M2-F1: a half-cone with an upper flat surface was equipped with a pair of vertical keels that did not have external elevons, while the rudders of the apparatus could also be used as brake plates. In order to expand the review to the pilot, they decided to move the cockpit forward, and the sock of the device had glazing. To improve the flow conditions and reduce the level of resistance, the body of the apparatus was decided to lengthen slightly. In the tail section of the M2-F2, there was a ventral flap designed for pitch control, the upper surface of the aircraft body was completed by a pair of elevator flaps, which provided in-phase roll control.

Since the rocket planes were developed and created under rather harsh conditions, primarily in the area of ​​project financing, in order to save money, all the devices were completed with ready-made elements and assemblies: it was decided to take the main chassis from the F-5 fighter, the front support from the T-plane 39, ejection seat pilot from the F-106 fighter. Instrument equipment installed on experimental aircraft was also distinguished by its simplicity and even asceticism - during the first test flights they did not even have any spatial position sensors. The main measuring instruments were represented by an altimeter, speed, slip and angle of attack sensors, and an accelerometer. The power plant of the aircraft was represented by the engine XLR-11, which was previously used for a short time on the X-15. In order to increase the range in the event of an emergency landing on the HL-10 and M2-F2, auxiliary liquid-propellant rocket engines were installed that worked on hydrogen peroxide. When performing throwing tests, the fuel tanks were filled with water up to 1,81 tons.

The first flight planer for the M2-F2 unit was 12 July 1966. The model of 2,67 ton mass was separated from the carrier aircraft, which was played by the B-52 strategic bomber, at an altitude of 13 500 meters at a speed of M = 0,6 (near 697 km / h). The duration of the autonomous flight of the device was only 3 minutes 37 seconds. Almost a year later - 10 May 1967, one of the test flights ended with an emergency landing. The reason for the loss of the management apparatus was the so-called “Dutch step”, during which the roll angle of the apparatus was 140 degrees. As a result of an emergency landing, the M2-F2 rocket glider was seriously damaged.



At the same time, it was decided to restore the dilapidated aircraft as a result of the accident, slightly modifying and modifying its design. So in order to provide the new model, which received the designation M2-F3, lateral stability on it appeared the central keel and blocks of jet engines of the control system. Throwing tests of the aircraft model rebuilt after the accident began in June 1970.

After 6 months, the first flight of the rocket plane was carried out with the inclusion of a cruising missile engine of liquid cooling. At the final stage of testing, which ended in 1972, the aircraft M2-F3 was used to solve various auxiliary tasks, including the development of a remote control system as part of the Space Shuttle manned spacecraft program. In addition, the flight characteristics of the presented model were also evaluated with limiting flight modes with different altitude-velocity characteristics.

100-th anniversary flight of the rocket plane with the main body took place on October 5 1972. As part of this flight, he flew at an altitude of 20 200 meters at a speed of Mach 1,37. At the same time, the M2-F3 version itself performed 27 different test flights, during which the pilots managed to achieve maximum speed in Mach 1,6. And the maximum height at which this aircraft was tested was 20 790 meters, it was achieved during a test flight, which took place on 20 December 1972 of the year. In December 1973, the rocket glider was transferred to the museum. Today everyone can see it, it is on display at the National Aerospace Museum in Washington.



Performance specifications of the M2-F3:

Overall dimensions: length - 6,75 m, height - 2,89 m, wingspan - 2,94 m, wing area - 14,9 m 2.
Empty weight - 2300 kg.
Maximum take-off weight - 3600 kg.
The power plant - RD Reaction Motors XLR-11, thrust 36 kN.
The maximum flight speed is 1712 km / h.
Practical range - 72 km.
Practical ceiling - 21 793 m.
Crew - 1 man.

Northrop M2-F3 blog photo ru-aviation.livejournal.com















Information sources:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/xplane/m2f2.html
http://masterok.livejournal.com/1429519.html
http://ru-aviation.livejournal.com/3537305.html (фото)
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Tatar 174
    Tatar 174 21 June 2016 07: 43
    +3
    Our "Spiral" was better in performance. Multimedia devices will apparently continue to be designed, and eventually we will see them sooner or later.
  2. avt
    avt 21 June 2016 09: 29
    +5
    Quote: Tatar 174
    Our "Spiral" was better in performance

    Well, in fairness - at the Yankes then a whole series of similar X-s rocket flights were flown by Eager, Everest with comrades on Edwards
    1. Bongo
      Bongo 21 June 2016 12: 19
      +3
      Quote: avt
      Well, in fairness - at the Yankes then a whole series of similar X-s rocket flights were flown by Eager, Everest with comrades on Edwards

      Some of these devices are still there in the "eternal stop".
      Northrop HL-10 rocket launcher on the perpetual parking area of ​​the Edwards airbase
  3. Verdun
    Verdun 21 June 2016 13: 50
    +2
    Thanks to the author for an interesting article. However, in my opinion, she remained somewhat unfinished. It would be nice to indicate the reasons why quite successful trials were terminated.
  4. psiho117
    psiho117 21 June 2016 20: 15
    0
    Wow, I haven’t heard of such cars before! True, having seen the photo, I decided that it was a jet boat, some kind. Imagine my surprise when I realized that it was a plane!

Экспериментальный летательный аппарат Northrop M2-F2(3): «летающая ванна»

Northrop M2-F3 — это тяжелый многоразовый летательный аппарат с несущим корпусом, который был построен на основе модели Northrop M2-F2, потерпевшей аварию в 1967 году. Самолет был модифицирован установкой третьего вертикального плавника, предназначенного для улучшения управляемости. Стоит отметить, что всю линейку экспериментальных самолетов с несущим корпусом, в которую входили Northrop HL-10, Northrop M2-F1, M2-F2 и M2-F3, называли самолетами без крыльев и даже «летающими ваннами» за свой внешний вид и форму.

В конце 60-х, начале 70-х годов XX века агентство NASA экспериментировало с самолетами с несущим корпусом (то есть летательными аппаратами, подъемную силу которым создавал фюзеляж, а не крылья). На основе данных разработок американское космическое агентство намеревалось создать орбитальный самолет, пилот которого мог бы самостоятельно выбирать место посадки. В рамках программы летно-исследовательским центром NASA в Эдвардсе (Калифорния) было испытано 5 летательных аппаратов. Основным предназначением аппаратов с низкими аэродинамическими качествами было изучение возможности безопасного маневрирования и посадки после возвращения из космоса. Испытания с использованием данных летательных аппаратов проводились с 1966 по 1975 год.


Договор между компанией Northrop и американским аэрокосмическим агентством NASA был заключен в середине 1964 года. Он предусматривал постройку двух многоразовых бескрылых цельнометаллических аппаратов с несущим корпусом. Новым летательным аппаратам были присвоены обозначения HL-10 и M2-F2, друг от друга аппараты отличались профилем их несущего корпуса.



По своему внешнему виду летательный аппарат M2-F2 главным образом повторял ранее созданный M2-F1: полуконус с верхней плоской поверхностью был оснащен парой вертикальных килей, не имевших внешних элевонов, при этом рули направления аппарата могли использоваться также в качестве тормозных щитков. Для того чтобы расширить обзор пилоту его кабину решили сместить вперед, а носок аппарата имел остекление. Для улучшения условий обтекания и уменьшения уровня сопротивления корпус аппарата решили немного удлинить. В хвостовой части M2-F2 был расположен подфюзеляжный щиток, предназначенный для управления по тангажу, верхнюю поверхность корпуса летательного аппарата завершала пара щитков-элевонов, которые обеспечивали в противофазе управление по крену.

Так как ракетопланы разрабатывались и создавались в довольно жестких условиях, в первую очередь в области финансирования проекта, то для экономии денежных средств все аппараты комплектовались готовыми элементами и узлами: так основное шасси решено было взять с истребителя F-5, переднюю опору от самолета Т-39, катапультируемое кресло пилот от истребителя F-106. Приборное оборудование, установленное на экспериментальных летательных аппаратах, также отличалось своей простотой и даже аскетичностью — во время совершения первых испытательных полетов на них даже отсутствовали датчики пространственного положения. Основные измерительные приборы были представлены высотомером, датчиками скорости, скольжения и угла атаки, а также акселерометром. Силовая установка летательного аппарата была представлена двигателем XLR-11, который ранее непродолжительное время использовался на самолете Х-15. Для того чтобы увеличить дальность полета в случае аварийной посадки на HL-10 и M2-F2 были установлены вспомогательные жидкостные ракетные двигатели, которые работали на перекиси водорода. При выполнении бросковых испытаний топливные баки заполнялись водой массой до 1,81 тонны.

Первый планирующий полет аппарата M2-F2 состоялся 12 июля 1966 года. Модель массой 2,67 тонны была отделена от самолета-носителя, в роли которого выступал стратегический бомбардировщик В-52, на высоте 13 500 метров при скорости М=0,6 (около 697 км/ч). Длительность автономного полета аппарата составила всего 3 минуты 37 секунд. Практически через год — 10 мая 1967 года один из испытательных полетов завершился совершением аварийной посадки. Причиной потери аппаратом управления стал так называемый «голландский шаг», во время которого угол крена аппарата составил 140 градусов. В результате аварийной посадки ракетоплан M2-F2 получил серьезные повреждения.



При этом полуразрушенный в результате аварии летательный аппарат было решено восстановить, слегка доработав и изменив его конструкцию. Так для того чтобы обеспечить новой модели, получившей обозначение M2-F3, поперечную устойчивость на ней появился центральный киль и блоки реактивных двигателей системы управления. Бросковые испытания перестроенной после аварии модели летательного аппарата начались в июне 1970 года.

Спустя 6 месяцев был осуществлен первый полет ракетоплана с включением маршевого ракетного двигателя жидкостного охлаждения. На заключительном этапе испытаний, которые завершились в 1972 году, летательный аппарат M2-F3 использовался для решения разного рода вспомогательных задач, в их числе была и отработка системы дистанционного управления в рамках программы создания пилотируемых космических кораблей «Спейс Шаттл». Помимо этого оценивались и летные характеристики представленной модели при предельных режимах полета с разными высотно-скоростными характеристиками.

100-й юбилейный полет ракетоплана с несущим корпусом состоялся 5 октября 1972 года. В рамках данного полета он пролетел на высоте 20 200 метров со скоростью 1,37 Маха. При этом непосредственно версия M2-F3 совершила 27 различных испытательных полетов, в ходе которых пилотам удалось достичь максимальной скорости в 1,6 Маха. А максимальная высота, на которой испытывался данный летательный аппарат, составила 20 790 метров, ее удалось достичь во время испытательного полета, который состоялся 20 декабря 1972 года. В декабре 1973 года ракетоплан был передан в музей. Сегодня его могут увидеть все желающие, он входит в экспозицию Национального аэрокосмического музея в Вашингтоне.



Летно-технические характеристики M2-F3:

Габаритные размеры: длина — 6,75 м, высота — 2,89 м, размах крыльев — 2,94 м, площадь крыла — 14,9 м2.
Масса пустого самолета — 2300 кг.

Максимальная взлетная масса — 3600 кг.
Силовая установка — РД Reaction Motors XLR-11, тяга 36 кН.
Максимальная скорость полета — 1712 км/ч.
Практическая дальность полета — 72 км.
Практический потолок — 21 793 м.
Экипаж — 1 человек.

Northrop M2-F3 фото из блога ru-aviation.livejournal.com















Источники информации:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/xplane/m2f2.html
http://masterok.livejournal.com/1429519.html
http://ru-aviation.livejournal.com/3537305.html (фото)
Автор:
Юферев Сергей
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

5 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти