Guns for snipers

24


As is known, the US civil war has become a "testing ground" for many types of weapons and military equipment, among which can be called tower battleships, submarines, multiply-charged rifles, armored trains and mitraliezs. It is less known that rifled breech-loading guns were used for the first time in the same war situation.

True, these guns were designed and made not in the US, but in the UK, in the company of Joseph Whitworth. In 1855, Whitworth patented a gun with a hexagonal (hexagonal) barrel and a projectile for it. The edges had a spiral twist and played the role of rifling, but at the same time the projectile went along them freely, without braking, therefore the initial speed of such a projectile was higher, and the range of flight was greater than that of conventional ammunition with leading belts.

An additional advantage was that the "faceted" barrel wore less during firing than rifled. But there was a drawback: the manufacture of such a barrel was four times more expensive than a barrel with spiral grooves. Accordingly, the price of the gun was much higher. Therefore, the British army refused to buy Whitworth guns, although, in the British navy - a much richer structure - they have found application.

The first samples of hexagons were muzzle-loading, but in 1859, Wheatworth presented a line of breech-loading tools consisting of three-pound, six-pound and 12-pound field guns. In England, they again did not arouse interest, but in 1860, seven breech-loading 12-pounds were purchased by the US Department of Defense for familiarization, intending to get a larger batch in case of positive reviews. However, this was not the case.

Guns and ammunition arrived in the country literally on the eve of the civil war, and for some reason they all ended up in the territory of the separated southern states. Of course, the Southerners actively used this "gift of fate", but it was too small to have at least some influence on the course of the war as a whole and even on the results of individual battles.

It is known that the Confederates divided the rifled guns between several batteries that fought on different fronts, with no more than two such guns falling into each battery. In particular, two guns that were part of the 3-th corps battery under the command of Captain Hart, took part in the famous Gettysburg battle, but the northerners noticed them only by the specific piercing howl of flying projectiles. Veterans of the battle said that the one who had ever heard the sound would not forget it to death. Two more guns were used in the Anthite massacre with the same result.

Having quickly consumed the stock of shells from England, the Southerners began to make them on their own. At the same time, it turned out that such ammunition, due to their original form, flies into a solid kopeck. Someone came up with the idea of ​​shooting hexagonals with ordinary cores turned on a hexagon. They were much cheaper, but the range and accuracy of shooting sank very well.

On the range and accuracy of “Whitworth” is worth a special mention. In those days, they were just fantastic. The 12-lb (2,75-inch) field gun threw 5,75 kg shells per 10 kilometers! True, with the then primitive sights and means of observation firing at such distances did not make sense, since the gunners simply did not see its results. A firing of "hexagonalok" on the squares was too expensive pleasure.

But on the ranges of the direct shot, the exceptional accuracy and accuracy of the firing of these guns was manifested. The American magazine Engineering wrote in 1864 that at a distance of 1600 yards the lateral deviation of 12-pound Whitworth shells from the aiming point was only 5 inches! Such accuracy made "Whitworth" an ideal tool for counter-battery struggle and "jewelry" work on point targets. Undoubtedly, if the southerners were not seven of these guns, and once more in 20, and even with the corresponding number of "native" ammunition, the outcome of a number of battles could be much more advantageous for them.

During the fighting, four Whitworth guns were captured by northerners. Two of them are now part of a memorial erected on the Gettysburg Battlefield. Their photo is placed on the screen saver.



The initial muzzle-loading model of Whitworth's cannon and its projectiles.



Modern replica of breech-loading "Whitworth" and its ammunition, including the turned core.



"Whitworth" equipped with flaps, screwing on the breech.



Position "hexagonalok" battery Hart at the edge of the forest near the Gettysburg field. Shells are visible near the carriages of the carriages.





Whitworth's gun, captured by northerners in Richmond at the end of the civil war. Perhaps one of those that stand now as monuments at Gettysburg.
Our news channels

Subscribe and stay up to date with the latest news and the most important events of the day.

24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. -13
    25 2016 June
    I hate SySHYa. Their politics and Russophobia, which they promote the whole world.
    (sorry, off topic)
  2. +9
    25 2016 June
    Quote: dr.Bo
    I hate SySHYa. Their politics and Russophobia, which they promote the whole world.
    (sorry, off topic)



    but nothing to say in the case?
  3. +5
    25 2016 June
    And they didn’t say that Whitworth also developed the production of hot pressed steel, which improves the strength and microstructure of the products, in this case the trunks!
  4. +11
    25 2016 June
    if I'm not confusing anything, Whitworth was not only a gunsmith, but also related to one of the first computers — the Charles Babbage analytical machine. He set up parts of the mechanism. The mechanical device was never fully created, and only in the new century was it completed according to the drawings.

    By the way, Whitworth rifles appeared in front of the cannon. Also with 6 coal bore. The weapon was twice as expensive as the Anfield rifle, but it was accurate and even equipped with primitive sniper sights. During the war years, a special unit "Whitworth Snipers" operated, they were engaged in shooting artillery servants. It was from the Whitworth rifle that Major General Sedgwick, commander of the 9th Corps of the Army of the Potomac at the Battle of Spotsylvenia, was killed on May 1864, 6, and thus became the highest-ranking US general killed in the war.

    And yes, as noted above, he had excellent locksmithing skills, improved the accuracy of many precision machine tools, and also modified iron casting foundations for machine tools.
    1. +2
      25 2016 June
      Quote: Choi
      Schemes of iron casting of the base of machine tools.

      From what kind of "iron" were the "foundations" of the machine tools poured? The English "iron" means not only "iron", but also cast iron. I remember the iron foundries and the iron beds of machine tools. When, of course, there was machine tool building and metalworking in our country. Should we translate Iron Duke as Iron Duke? The case of the translator. But "chugunok" - dishes for the Russian stove - let it remain a cast iron. Or will we rename it to the "iron pot" according to the new fashion? It sounds different in Chinese anyway ...
  5. +4
    25 2016 June
    What does the modern USA have to do with it? At that time, we supported the USA and fought along with the hegemony of the British Empire. Of course, today it is clear that if the Southern states defended their independence it would delay the development of America, but then it was not so obvious, and in military terms the USA helped the Russian Empire modernize the army and navy (Colt, Berdan, Smith and Wesson, frigate General admiral, tower monitors.)
  6. +4
    25 2016 June
    I have always been for the Confederates, even as a child reading historical articles I was mentally worried about them, for some reason. And no stories about poor blacks touched me! wassat
  7. The comment was deleted.
  8. +2
    26 2016 June
    A curious sample of artillery guns. Very informative.
  9. PKK
    +1
    26 2016 June
    It wasn’t calm in Russia at that time. New historians called some movements Peasant unrest. Great doubts about this. GW in North America took place over the possession of river canals from New York to Chicago. The Severians completely took control of all rivers and canals, river mouths .Economy passed to them. Soon the Chicago slaughter began, grinding tens of millions of cattle, horses from the prairies. Bisons, carcasses also sailed along canals, rivers and lakes to the coast and further to Europe. Europe also received thoroughbred cows and horses, compare Mongolian horses and English-Indian horses. About the guns. The guns had outstanding characteristics, they shot well. The guns would now be useful in defense with modern sights, screaming the adversary with their howl. Author plus.
  10. +2
    26 2016 June
    Deviation of the projectile at a distance of 1600 yards, just 5 inches from the aiming point, this is a blatant blunder. This is how big-eyed it is necessary to be through the front and rear sights so precisely determine the aiming point itself.
    1. +3
      26 2016 June
      Quote: Denimax
      1600 yards just 5 inches from the aiming point, this is a blatant blunder.

      Plus you for your observation! There is such a story that Galileo showed his mother the planet Venus through a telescope, and she asked him why her "horns" are directed from a month in the other direction? The most excellent human vision is the ability to distinguish the shape of objects up to 30 arc seconds. Converting your yards and inches to centimeters, respectively 146300 and 12,7 centimeters. Since the sines and tangents of small angles are approximately equal to the angles themselves (in radian measure), we get the figure 0,000086808. Even translating it into the radian measure of the angle by multiplying / roughly, of course roughly, gentlemen-comrades! / By 57 we get only 0,004948052, which is clearly not up to half a minute (30 arc seconds).
      1. 0
        26 2016 June
        You, too, + for your knowledge of geometry and the section of trigonometry.)
        As soon as I rested on what I saw, I know from the programs that a tin can (about 13 centimeters)) through a 10x sniper scope at a distance of more than a kilometer looks like a point. I don’t even believe in such accuracy of this gun. It could be more believable: In tests, at 600 yards, a cannon on a rigid machine, from a series of shots, gave an accuracy of 5 inches.
    2. 0
      October 10 2016
      Perhaps the aiming point was in the center of the scattering ellipse. Can you imagine this? By the way, the big-eyed gunner should be put, as indeed any shooter.
  11. +1
    26 2016 June
    Dear author! Thank you for the article and for your comments ...... in LiveJournal (Aviamaster) and please evaluate the levels of discussion in the comments here and here))))
  12. 0
    26 2016 June
    I would like to look at the equipment of the company where these tools were made. Surprisingly, in the courtyard were 1860.
  13. 0
    August 14 2020
    There's a Whitfort thread - I suppose he invented it too? The book "metalworker's guide" prof. Znamensky (32 years old) in my St. Petersburg Tool Museum, in particular, because of her, they were xerilized.

"Right Sector" (banned in Russia), "Ukrainian Insurgent Army" (UPA) (banned in Russia), ISIS (banned in Russia), "Jabhat Fatah al-Sham" formerly "Jabhat al-Nusra" (banned in Russia) , Taliban (banned in Russia), Al-Qaeda (banned in Russia), Anti-Corruption Foundation (banned in Russia), Navalny Headquarters (banned in Russia), Facebook (banned in Russia), Instagram (banned in Russia), Meta (banned in Russia), Misanthropic Division (banned in Russia), Azov (banned in Russia), Muslim Brotherhood (banned in Russia), Aum Shinrikyo (banned in Russia), AUE (banned in Russia), UNA-UNSO (banned in Russia), Mejlis of the Crimean Tatar People (banned in Russia), Legion “Freedom of Russia” (armed formation, recognized as terrorist in the Russian Federation and banned)

“Non-profit organizations, unregistered public associations or individuals performing the functions of a foreign agent,” as well as media outlets performing the functions of a foreign agent: “Medusa”; "Voice of America"; "Realities"; "Present time"; "Radio Freedom"; Ponomarev; Savitskaya; Markelov; Kamalyagin; Apakhonchich; Makarevich; Dud; Gordon; Zhdanov; Medvedev; Fedorov; "Owl"; "Alliance of Doctors"; "RKK" "Levada Center"; "Memorial"; "Voice"; "Person and law"; "Rain"; "Mediazone"; "Deutsche Welle"; QMS "Caucasian Knot"; "Insider"; "New Newspaper"

Пушки для снайперов

Пушки для снайперов


Как известно, гражданская война в США стала "испытательным полигоном" для многих видов вооружений и военной техники, среди которых можно назвать башенные броненосцы, подводные лодки, многозарядные винтовки, бронепоезда и митральезы. Менее известно, что на этой же войне были впервые применены в боевой обстановке нарезные казнозарядные орудия.

Правда, эти орудия были разработаны и сделаны не в США, а в Великобритании, на фирме Джозефа Уитворта. В 1855 году Уитворт запатентовал пушку с гексагональным (шестигранным) каналом ствола и снаряд для нее. Грани имели спиральную крутку и играли роль нарезов, но при этом снаряд шел по ним свободно, без торможения, поэтому начальная скорость такого снаряда была выше, а дальность полета - больше, чем у обычных боеприпасов с ведущими поясками.


Дополнительным преимуществом было то, что "граненый" ствол меньше изнашивался при стрельбе, нежели нарезной. Но был и недостаток: изготовление такого ствола обходилось в четыре раза дороже, чем ствола со спиральными канавками. Соответственно, и цена орудия получалась намного выше. Поэтому английская армия отказалась закупать уитвортовские пушки, хотя, в британском флоте - гораздо более богатой структуре - они нашли применение.

Первые образца "гексагоналок" были дульнозарядными, но в 1859 году Уитворт представил линейку казнозарядных орудий, состоявшую из трехфунтовой, шестифунтовой и 12-фунтовой полевых пушек. В Англии они, опять таки, интереса не вызвали, зато в 1860 году семь казнозарядных 12-фунтовок закупило для ознакомления военное ведомство США, намереваясь в случае положительных отзывов приобрести более крупную партию. Однако до этого дело не дошло.

Пушки и боеприпасы к ним прибыли в страну буквально накануне гражданской войны, причем все они почему-то оказались на территории отделившихся южных штатов. Разумеется, южане активно использовали этот "подарок судьбы", однако он был слишком мал, чтобы оказать хоть какое-то влияние на ход войны в целом и даже на результаты отдельных битв.

Известно, что конфедераты разделили нарезные пушки между несколькими батареями, воевавшими на разных фронтах, при этом в каждую батарею попало не более двух таких орудий. В частности, две пушки, входившие в состав 3-й корпусной батареи под командованием капитана Харта, принимали участие в знаменитом Геттисбергском сражении, но северяне заметили их только по специфическому пронзительному вою летящих снарядов. Ветераны сражения говорили, что тот, кто хоть раз услыхал этот звук, не забудет его до смерти. Еще две пушки применялись в Энтитэмском побоище с тем же самым результатом.

Быстро израсходовав поступивший из Англии запас снарядов, южане начали делать их самостоятельно. При этом оказалось, что такие боеприпасы из-за их оригинальной формы влетают в солидную копеечку. Кто-то придумал стрелять из "гексагоналок" обычными ядрами, обточенными на шестигранник. Они обходились намного дешевле, но дальнобойность и точность стрельбы здорово проседали.

На дальнобойности и точности "Уитвортов" стоит остановиться особо. По тем временам они были просто фантастическими. 12-фунтовая (2,75-дюймовая) полевая пушка забрасывала снаряды весом 5,75 кг на 10 километров! Правда, при тогдашних примитивных прицелах и средствах наблюдения стрельба на такие дистанции не имела смысла, так как артиллеристы просто не видели ее результатов. А пальба из "гексагоналок" по площадям была слишком дорогим удовольствием.

Зато на дальностях прямого выстрела проявлялась исключительная точность и кучность стрельбы этих орудий. Американский журнал "Инжиниринг" написал в 1864 году, что на дистанции 1600 ярдов боковое отклонение снарядов 12-фунтового "Уитворта" от точки прицеливания составляло всего 5 дюймов! Такая меткость делала "Уитворты" идеальным средством для контрбатарейной борьбы и "ювелирной" работы по точечным целям. Несомненно, будь у южан не семь таких орудий, а раз в 20 побольше, да еще и с соответствующим количеством "родных" боеприпасов, исход целого ряда сражений мог быть для них куда более выигрышным.

В ходе боевых действий четыре пушки Уитворта были захвачены северянами. Две из них сейчас являются частью мемориала, сооруженного на поле Геттисбергской битвы. Их фото помещено на заставке.

Пушки для снайперов


Первоначальный, дульнозарядный образец пушки Уитворта и ее снаряды.

Пушки для снайперов


Современная реплика казнозарядного "Уитворта" и его боеприпасы, в том числе обточенное ядро.

Пушки для снайперов


"Уитворты" оснащались откидными затворами, навинчивающимися на казенную часть ствола.

Пушки для снайперов


Позиция "гексагоналок" батареи Харта на опушке леса у Геттисбергского поля. Возле станин лафетов видны снарядные укладки.

Пушки для снайперов


Пушки для снайперов


Пушка Уитворта, захваченная северянами в Ричмонде в конце гражданской войны. Возможно, одна из тех, что стоят сейчас в качестве памятников у Геттисберга.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/496286.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 23
  1. dr.Bo 25 июня 2016 07:31
    Ненавижу сЫшЫа.Их политику и русофобию ,которую они продвигают всему миру.
    (извините ,что не по теме)
  2. romex1 25 июня 2016 07:52
    Цитата: dr.Bo
    Ненавижу сЫшЫа.Их политику и русофобию ,которую они продвигают всему миру.
    (извините ,что не по теме)



    а по делу сказать нечего?
  3. АлНиколаич 25 июня 2016 08:49
    А что то не сказали, что Уитворт ещё и разработал производство стали, прессованной в горячем состоянии, что улучшает прочность и микроструктуру изделий- в данном случае стволов!
  4. Цой 25 июня 2016 09:52
    если я ничего не путаю Уитворт был не только оружейником, но и имел отношение к одному из первых компьютеров - аналитической машине Чарльза Беббиджа. Он настраивал части механизма. Механическое устройство так до конца и не было создано, и только в новом веке по чертежам его достроили.

    Кстати перед пушкой появились винтовки Уитворта. Тоже с 6 угольнным стволом. Оружие было дороже винтовки Энфилда в два раза, но было точным и даже комплектовалось примитивными снайперскими прицелами. В годы войны действовало специальное подразделение " Уитвортские снайперы", они занимались отстрелом артиллерийской прислуги. Именно из винтовки Уитворта 9 мая 1864 года был убит генерал-майор Седжвик, командующий 6-м корпусом армии Потомака в битве у Спотсильвении, ставший таким образом самым высокопоставленным генералом США, убитым во время войны.

    И да как заметили выше он имел отличные слесарные навыки, улучшил точность многих прецизионных станков, а также модифицировал схемы железного литья основания станков.
    1. 97110 25 июня 2016 13:10
      Цитата: Цой
      схемы железного литья основания станков.

      Из какого такого "железа" лили "основания" станков? Английский "айрон" означает не только "железо", но и чугун. Вспоминаются чугунолитейные заводы и чугунные станины станков. Когда, само собой, было в стране нашей станкостроение и металлообработка. Стоит ли переводить "айрон дюк" как железный герцог? Дело переводчика. Но "чугунок" - посуда для русской печи - пусть так и остаётся чугунком. Или переименуем по новой моде в "железный горшочек"? Всё равно по-китайски это звучит иначе...
  5. Виктор Wolz 25 июня 2016 11:06
    При чём здесь современное США? В тот период мы как раз поддерживали САСШ и боролись вместе с гегемонией Британской империи. Конечно сегодня понятно что если бы Южные штаты отстояли свою независимость это задержало бы развитие Америки, но тогда это было не так очевидно, да и в военном плане САСШ помогла Российской империи модернизировать армию и флот (Кольт, Бердан, Смит и Вессон,фрегат Генерал-адмирал, башенные мониторы.)
  6. kugelblitz 25 июня 2016 13:57
    Я всегда был за конфедератов, даже в детстве читая исторические статьи мысленно переживал за них, почему то. И никакие рассказы про бедных негров меня не трогали! wassat
  7. Комментарий был удален.
  8. bbss 26 июня 2016 02:19
    Любопытный образец артиллерийского орудия. Очень познавательно.
  9. РПК 26 июня 2016 06:16
    В те времена и в России было не спокойно.Какие то движения новые историки назвали Крестьянскими волнениями.Большие сомнения по этому поводу.ГВ в Северной Америке происходила за владения реками каналами от Нью Йорка до Чикаго.Северяне полностью овладели всеми реками и каналами,устьями рек.Экономика перешла к ним.Вскоре заработали Чикагские бойни,перемоловшие десятки миллионов скота,лошадей из прерий.Бизоны,туши так же поплыли по каналам,рекам и озёрам к побережью и дальше в Европу.Европа,так же получила породистых коров и лошадей,сравните монгольские лошадки и английско-индейских коней.По поводу пушек.Пушки имели выдающиеся характеристики,стреляли хорошо.Пушки и сейчас бы пригодились в обороне с современными прицелами,своим воем пугая супостата.Автору плюс.
  10. Денимакс 26 июня 2016 12:47
    Отклонение снаряда на расстоянии 1600 ярдов всего в 5 дюймов от точки прицеливания, это уже откровенный ляп. Это каким глазастым надо быть чтобы через мушку и целик так точно определить саму точку прицеливания.
    1. V.ic 26 июня 2016 14:46
      Цитата: Денимакс
      1600 ярдов всего в 5 дюймов от точки прицеливания, это уже откровенный ляп.

      Плюсую Вам за наблюдательность! Есть такая байка, что Галилей показал своей матушке планету Венера в телескоп, и та его спросила, почему мол у неё "рога" от месяца в другую сторону направлены? Самое отличное зрение у человека это способность различать форму объектов до 30 угловых секунд. Обращаем ваши ярды и дюймы в сантиметры, соответственно 146300 и 12,7 сантиметров. Поскольку синусы и тангенсы малых углов примерно равны самим углам (в радианной мере), то получим цифру 0,000086808. Даже переведя её в радианную меру угла умножением /грубо, конечно грубо, господа-товарищи!/ на 57 получим всего 0,004948052, что никак до половины минуты (30 угловых секунд) явно не дотягивает.
      1. Денимакс 26 июня 2016 21:17
        Вам тоже + за знание геометрии и раздел тригонометрии.)
        Только я упирался в увиденное, по передачам знаю, что консервная банка(примерно 13ти сантиметров)) через снайперский 10х прицел на расстоянии более километра выглядит как точка. Даже в такую кучность этой пушки не верю. Более правдоподобно могло звучать так: На испытаниях, на 600 ярдов, орудие на жестком станке, из серии выстрелов, дало кучность в 5 дюймов.
    2. AID.S 10 октября 2016 23:18
      Возможно точка прицеливания находилась в центре эллипса рассеивания. Такое представить можете? Кстати, глазастым наводчику быть положено , как впрочем и любому стрелку.
  11. Самуил Маршак 26 июня 2016 16:15
    Уважаемый автор! Спасибо за статью и за ваши комменты......в ЖЖ (Авиамастер)и прошу оценить уровни дискуссий в комментах там и здесь))))
  12. ибирус 26 июня 2016 23:40
    Хотелось бы посмотреть на оборудование фирмы, где сделали эти орудия. Удивительно, ведь на дворе были 1860 гг.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня