Military Review

"Man without a shadow": how the Soviet intelligence became a TASS translator

5
History of the famous illegal scout Jan Chernyak - in the material on the 75 anniversary of the beginning of World War II

"Man without a shadow": how the Soviet intelligence became a TASS translator

Plan "Barbarossa"

18 December 1940 of the year, six months before the war, Hitler signed the directive №21 of the Supreme Command of the Wehrmacht, which received the provisional name "Barbarossa Option" and became the main governing document in the war against the USSR. According to the directive, the German Armed Forces were assigned the task of "crushing Soviet Russia in one short-term campaign." The first person to report the details of this German plan to Moscow in 1941 was Jan Chernyak.
In Soviet times, for many, he was a simple translator at TASS, living in a one-room apartment and getting to work on the subway. And only a few knew that Jan Chernyak was a legendary scout, whose history helped in creating the image of Stirlitz. In addition to transmitting information about the beginning of the war, he also contributed to the victory at Kursk in 1943, and after the war he managed to obtain American nuclear weapons.

From the TASS dossier
The personal file No. XXUMX of Jan Petrovich Chernyak is kept in the personnel department of the TASS information agency. In the autobiography there is no word about the illegal past. Although he reported that during the war he carried out special tasks of the Soviet command in the rear of the enemy.
In recent years, quite a few publications have appeared on Chernyak's intelligence activities. How reliable they are is difficult to judge. Scouts, especially illegal immigrants, both during life and after death are always accompanied by legends.
Ian Cherniak was born in Chernovitsy, in Austria-Hungary (now Chernivtsi, Ukraine) in the family of a small Jewish merchant married to Magyarks. Parents went missing during the First World War. At the age of six, an orphan was assigned to an orphanage in Kosice.

In the native places of Chernyak, in Northern Bukovina, which was then part of Austria-Hungary, there lived representatives of very different nationalities. A small and talented boy absorbed this jumble of tongues like a sponge.
In 16 years he already spoke in six languages: Yiddish, German, Czech, Magyar, Romanian and Ukrainian. In the Prague Technical High School he began to study hard, as he later wrote in his autobiography, English. Many years later, when Chernyak came to Moscow for the first time in 1945, he would learn Russian. His autobiography for personal files in TASS was written without a single mistake.
After graduating from college with 1931 to 1933, he worked as an engineer-economist for a small plant, Prager Electromotiveneverke. And then, when the plant closed, I was unemployed for two years and earned my living by private English lessons.
Various sources claim that since the beginning of the 30 of the last century, he studied at the Polytechnic Institute in Berlin, where he joined the Communist Party of Germany and after meeting with a representative of the Soviet military intelligence signed an agreement to work for it. In addition, in 1931-1933, he allegedly served in the Romanian army, in the headquarters of a cavalry regiment in the rank of sergeant, had access to secret documents and transferred their contents to the Soviet Union.

According to the same sources, after retiring from the army, Chernyak lived in Germany, where he established his first reconnaissance group, and in 1935-1936 he studied at the intelligence school in the USSR under the leadership of Artur Artuzov, the former head of the OGPU-NKVD Foreign Department, and at that time Deputy Chief of the Fourth (Intelligence) Directorate of the General Staff of the Red Army, met with the Chief of Intelligence of the Red Army Army Commissar of 2 rank Yan Berzin.
Then he went to Switzerland under the guise of a TASS correspondent with the operational pseudonym "Jen." And since 1938 of the year after the signing of the agreement that went down in history as the "Munich Agreement", he lived in Paris, and from 1940 of the year - in London.

FROM BLUEBER'S AUTOBIOGRAPHY
From February 1935 of the year to November, 1938 worked as a translator in the library of higher technical institutions in Prague, and then went to Paris, where before his occupation by German troops he also worked as a translator. After he moved to Zurich, where he again gave English lessons in private. With the start of World War II and the "attack of German troops on the USSR, he began active work in the enemy's rear, where he performed special tasks of the Soviet command (July 1941-th - December 1945-th). In December 1945 came to Moscow and in May 1946 received Soviet citizenship. From May 1946 to February 1950, he worked as an Assistant of the Department of the General Directorate of the General Staff of the Armed Forces of the USSR ".

Reliable "Krona"
As early as before the war, from 1936 to 1939 a year, according to data from open sources, Chernyak created a powerful intelligence network in Germany, which had the code name “Krona”. All this he did during the short raids in this country.

Chernyak was able to recruit over 20 agents, whose work he managed from abroad through messengers. At the same time, none of his agents have ever been exposed by German intelligence, even today nothing is specifically known about most of them.
Among the informers Chernyak were: a major banker, secretary of the minister, head of the research department of the aviation design bureau, daughter of the head of the tank design bureau and high-ranking military.
Renowned Soviet rocket designer Sergo Gegechkori (son of Lavrentiy Beria) claimed that Olga Chekhova and Marika Ryokk, Hitler's favorite German actresses, were agents of Chernyak.

It was Chernyak’s agents who managed to extract a copy of the Barbarossa plan in 1941, and the operational plan of the German offensive near Kursk in 1943. And if in the first case Moscow did not attach due importance to the unique documents sent by the illegal, in 43 its multi-page reports made an important contribution to the defeat of the Germans near Belgorod and Kursk.
In addition, Chernyak transmitted to the USSR valuable technical information about tanks, including the "Tigers" and "Panthers", artillery guns, rocket weapons, missiles "V-1/2", the development of chemical weapons, electronic systems.
Only in 1944, this illegal sent to the country more than 12 500 technical documentation sheets and 60 samples of radio equipment. Veterans of the Main Intelligence Directorate claim that the intelligence network created by Chernyak was one of the best in the history of intelligence: there was not a single failure in the fifteen years of his work abroad.

Hitler’s counterintelligence was unable to reach the Krona informants. Nor was she able to identify its leader, Jan Chernyak, who was called "a man without a shadow." He never left a trace behind him.
Chernyak's work did not end after the war. He made a great contribution to the creation of Soviet atomic weapons. Information about the creation of new weapons by the Americans he initially obtained in the UK, and then, having moved on instructions from his leadership to Canada and the United States, he sent thousands of sheets of technical materials and even a few milligrams of uranium-235 to the Union to manufacture an atomic bomb.
After returning to the USSR, he continued from time to time to travel abroad. This was already during his work as a translator in TASS. The purpose of his visits is still unknown.
What got Stirlitz

Chernyak is not a prototype of Stirlitz. He did not serve a single day in the German army. Because of his non-Aryan origin, he could not even dream of making a career there and joining the leadership team of Hitler's Wehrmacht. Nevertheless, he had his informants there. This knowledge, as well as Chernyak's general intelligence experience, was useful to the writer Yulian Semenov while working on the book Seventeen Moments of Spring.
At the same time, neither the family nor the colleagues of Chernyak in the translation department of the main editorial board of foreign information of TASS had any idea of ​​his unusual biography.
Hero of Russia
Many Soviet illegal intelligence officers who returned to Moscow after the end of the Great Patriotic War ended up behind bars. They were charged with treason, and in fact they blamed someone else for the failures of the initial period of the Patriotic War. Jan Chernyak happily escaped both the charges and the "cellars of Lubyanka".

Chernyak worked at TASS for almost 19 years and went on a well-deserved rest when he turned 60. He was awarded the medal "For the Victory over Germany" and the Order of the Red Banner of Labor (in 1958 year). He did not receive any awards for materials delivered from the United States on the atomic project, as well as other military achievements.
The feat, accomplished by an illegal scout, was truly appreciated only at the end of his life, already in new Russia.
14 December 1994, when Jan Chernyak was in serious condition in a hospital, was awarded the title of Hero of the Russian Federation by the decree of President Boris Yeltsin.
It is said that in February 1995, remaining in the hospital ward after being awarded one-on-one with his wife, he woke up and, clutching the Golden Star, whispered: "Well, that is not posthumous ..."
19 February, Jan Chernyak passed away.
Author:
Originator:
http://tass.ru/armiya-i-opk/3387908
5 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 2 July 2016 07: 59
    +2
    As Sergo Gegechkori claims in his book "My Father - Lavrenty Beria", Chernyak's agent was the movie star of the Third Reich Marika Rökk.
    1. carp
      carp 2 July 2016 12: 51
      +1
      During the existence of the USSR Chernyak never received the title of Hero. His nationality was wrong ...
  2. In100gram
    In100gram 2 July 2016 09: 05
    +4
    Very interesting story. Thanks to the authors. How many more unknown pages of our history.

    "It's good that not posthumously ..."

    Just a tear kicks out. And how many unrecognized feats remain ...
  3. Bashibuzuk
    Bashibuzuk 2 July 2016 17: 33
    -3
    Well, the story is sentimental.
    No memoirs ... or is there anyone who knows? From Jan Chernyak.
    I’m just wondering which of the authors was Jan’s wife, that one-on-one conveyed his words.
    Mr. Karpag ... 109 Jews were Heroes of the Soviet Union during World War II.
    At the same time, I note that spy scouts, as a rule, have never been awarded this title.
    Regardless of nationality.
    So it’s not worth it here ... to aggravate, okay?
    .
    I envy one thing - a man was fluent in the whole spectrum of European languages. How fast his brains were, how flexible his psyche was.
    All other achievements, like 12,5 thousand sheets of waste paper and stuff, including not a single failure of the entire SCAN, do not impress me.
    Even from the text of the article it is not clear what were the achievements? A man without a shadow? Without a face, without a profession, without achievements?
    Milligrams of uranium-235, as well as rhodium, polonium, thallium and California, everyone can scrape off their shoes without straining. After walking in the industrial zones ... of Moscow, say.
    What else was there? Nothing?
    It turns out like this.
    Maybe Jan is really a genius of illegitimacy.
    Then there is no need to write about him.
    Otherwise, misunderstandings.
    A man without a shadow, a shadow without achievements, authors in a fog, readers in perplexity.
    Intelligence, damn it.
    The war in the Crimea, everything is in smoke and a fig is not visible.
    Wrong article.
    1. Bashibuzuk
      Bashibuzuk 2 July 2016 18: 13
      +2
      It seems to someone that I am too harsh, impudent, scoffing ....
      I just read Bystroletov's book "The Feast of the Immortals."
      Also a kind of genius.
      The genius of recruitment.
      The illegitimate son of Tolstoy, the youngest branch, but a nobleman, spoke fluently in 16 languages. At the end of his life, he worked again at TASS. He became an academician. His guests were shown.
      At the same time, he spent three years in the bar.
      At the same time, he served a term from and to from 1938 to 1953.
      At the same time, a film was made about him.
      But they do not write or talk about him.
      And, to the information of Mr. Karpag, he did not become a Hero of the Soviet Union. Neither posthumously nor posthumously. I didn’t.
      And all his life - he was not offended by fate.
      Which is correct.
  4. antivirus
    antivirus 2 July 2016 21: 48
    -2
    They served not for stars and orders, but for food (remembering how 100 million peasants lived).
    The position "everything ready" is already a status (when were the pensions introduced to collective farmers? Or mutual aid funds?) And guarantees for the rest of their lives.
    IT IS NECESSARY TO UNDERSTAND THE PSYCHOLOGY OF PEOPLE 1/3 OF THE 20th CENTURY

"Человек без тени": как советский разведчик стал переводчиком ТАСС

История знаменитого разведчика-нелегала Яна Черняка - в материале, посвященном 75-летию начала Великой Отечественной войны

"Человек без тени": как советский разведчик стал переводчиком ТАСС

План "Барбаросса"

18 декабря 1940 года, за полгода до войны, Гитлер подписал директиву №21 верховного главнокомандования вермахта, получившую условное наименование "Вариант Барбаросса" и ставшую основным руководящим документом в войне против СССР. Согласно директиве, Вооруженным силам Германии ставилась задача "разгромить Советскую Россию в ходе одной кратковременной кампании". Первым, кто в 1941 году сообщил детали этого немецкого плана в Москву, был Ян Черняк.

В советское время для многих он был простым переводчиком в ТАСС, живущим в однокомнатной квартире и добирающимся до работы на метро. И лишь единицы знали, что Ян Черняк – легендарный разведчик, чья история помогла при создании образа Штирлица. Помимо передачи сведений о начале войны, он также внес вклад в победу на Курской дуге в 1943 году, а после войны ему удалось получить американские разработки атомного оружия.

Из досье ТАСС
Личное дело №8174 Яна Петровича Черняка хранится в отделе кадров информационного агентства ТАСС. В автобиографии нет ни слова о нелегальном прошлом. Хотя он и сообщил, что в годы войны выполнял особые задания советского командования в тылу врага.
В последние годы появилось довольно много публикаций о разведывательной деятельности Черняка. Насколько они достоверны – трудно судить. Разведчиков, тем более нелегалов, как при жизни, так и после смерти всегда сопровождают легенды.
Родился Ян Черняк в Черновицах, в Австро-Венгрии (ныне Черновцы, Украина) в семье мелкого еврейского торговца, женатого на мадьярке. Родители пропали без вести в годы Первой мировой войны. В шестилетнем возрасте сироту определили в детский дом в Кошице.

В родных местах Черняка, в Северной Буковине, входившей тогда в Австро-Венгрию, проживали представители самых разных национальностей. Эту мешанину языков маленький и талантливый мальчик впитывал в себя, как губка.
В 16 лет он уже говорил на шести языках: идише, немецком, чешском, мадьярском, румынском и украинском. В Пражском высшем техническом училище стал усиленно изучать, как он потом напишет в своей автобиографии, английский. Через много лет, когда в 1945 году Черняк впервые приедет в Москву, он выучит и русский. Его автобиография для личного дела в ТАСС написана без единой ошибки.
После окончания училища с 1931 по 1933 год работал инженером-экономистом на небольшом заводе "Прагер Электромоторенверке". А потом, когда завод закрылся, был два года безработным и зарабатывал себе на жизнь частными уроками английского языка.
Различные источники утверждают, что с начала 30-х годов прошлого века он учился в Политехническом институте в Берлине, где вступил в Коммунистическую партию Германии и после встречи с представителем советской военной разведки подписал согласие работать на нее. Кроме того, в 1931-1933 годах он якобы служил в румынской армии, в штабе кавалерийского полка в звании сержанта, имел доступ к секретным документам и передавал их содержание в Советский Союз.

По словам тех же источников, уволившись из армии, Черняк жил в Германии, где создал свою первую разведгруппу, а в 1935-1936 годах учился в разведшколе в СССР под руководством Артура Артузова, бывшего руководителя Иностранного отдела ОГПУ-НКВД, а в то время заместителя начальника Четвертого (разведывательного) управления Генерального штаба Красной армии, встречался с начальником разведки РККА армейским комиссаром 2-го ранга Яном Берзиным.
Затем выехал в Швейцарию под видом корреспондента ТАСС с оперативным псевдонимом "Джен". И с 1938 года после подписания соглашения, вошедшего в историю под названием "Мюнхенский сговор", проживал в Париже, а с 1940 года – в Лондоне.

ИЗ АВТОБИОГРАФИИ ЧЕРНЯКА
С февраля 1935 года по ноябрь 1938-го работал референтом-переводчиком в библиотеке высших технических заведений Праги, а потом уехал в Париж, где до его оккупации немецкими войсками тоже трудился референтом-переводчиком. После перебрался в Цюрих, где опять давал уроки английского языка частным порядком. С началом Великой Отечественной войны и "нападения германских войск на СССР начал активную работу в тылу врага, где выполнял особые задания советского командования (июль 1941-го – декабрь 1945-го). В декабре 1945 года приехал в Москву и в мае 1946 года получил советское гражданство. С мая 1946 года по февраль 1950 года работал референтом отдела Главного управления Генштаба Вооруженных сил СССР".


Надежная "Крона"
Еще в предвоенное время, с 1936 по 1939 год, по данным из открытых источников, Черняк создал в Германии мощную разведывательную сеть, носившую кодовое наименование "Крона". Все это он делал во время коротких наездов в эту страну.

Черняк сумел завербовать свыше 20 агентов, работой которых руководил из-за рубежа через связных. При этом ни один его агент никогда не был разоблачен немецкой разведкой, даже сегодня о большинстве из них ничего конкретно не известно.
В числе информаторов Черняка были: крупный банкир, секретарь министра, глава исследовательского отдела авиационного конструкторского бюро, дочь начальника танкового конструкторского бюро и высокопоставленные военные.
Известный советский конструктор-ракетчик Серго Гегечкори (сын Лаврентия Берии) утверждал, что агентами Черняка были Ольга Чехова и Марика Рёкк – любимые немецкие актрисы Гитлера.

Именно агентам Черняка удалось в 1941 году добыть копию плана "Барбаросса", а в 1943 году – оперативный план немецкого наступления под Курском. И если в первом случае в Москве не придали должного значения уникальным документам, присланным нелегалом, то в 43-м его многостраничные донесения внесли важный вклад в разгром немцев под Белгородом и Курском.
Кроме этого, Черняк передавал в СССР ценную техническую информацию о танках, в том числе о "Тиграх" и "Пантерах", артиллерийских орудиях, реактивном вооружении, ракетах "Фау-1/2", разработках химического оружия, радиоэлектронных системах.
Только в 1944 году этот нелегал переслал в страну свыше 12 500 листов технической документации и 60 образцов радиоаппаратуры. Ветераны Главного разведывательного управления утверждают, что разведсеть, созданная Черняком, была одной из лучших в истории разведки: в ней не было ни одного провала за полтора десятка лет его работы за рубежом.

На информаторов "Кроны" гитлеровская контрразведка выйти не смогла. Не смогла и идентифицировать ее руководителя Яна Черняка, которого называли "человеком без тени". Он нигде никогда не оставлял за собой следов.
Работа Черняка не закончилась и после войны. Он внес большой вклад в создание советского атомного оружия. Информацию о создании американцами нового типа оружия он изначально добыл в Великобритании, а потом, переехав по заданию своего руководства в Канаду и США, переслал в Союз тысячи листов технических материалов и даже несколько миллиграммов урана-235, который идет на изготовление атомной бомбы.
После возвращения в СССР он продолжил время от времени выезжать за рубеж. Это было уже во время его работы переводчиком в ТАСС. О целях его визитов до сих пор ничего неизвестно.
Что досталось Штирлицу

Черняка нельзя назвать прототипом Штирлица. Он ни одного дня не служил в немецкой армии. Из-за неарийского происхождения он не мог даже мечтать о том, чтобы сделать там карьеру и войти в руководящий состав гитлеровского вермахта. Но тем не менее у него были там свои информаторы. Эти знания, а также в целом разведывательный опыт Черняка пригодились писателю Юлиану Семенову во время работы над книгой "Семнадцать мгновений весны".
В то же время ни семья, ни сослуживцы Черняка по отделу переводов главной редакции иностранной информации ТАСС не догадывались о его необычной биографии.
Герой России
Многие советские разведчики-нелегалы, вернувшиеся после окончания Великой Отечественной войны в Москву, оказались за решеткой. Им предъявили обвинение в измене Родине, а на самом деле возложили на них чужую вину за неудачи начального периода Отечественной войны. Ян Черняк счастливо избежал и обвинений, и "подвалов Лубянки".

Черняк проработал в ТАСС почти 19 лет и ушел на заслуженный отдых, когда ему исполнилось 60. Он был награжден медалью "За победу над Германией" и орденом Трудового Красного Знамени (в 1958 году). За доставленные из США материалы по атомному проекту, а также другие боевые заслуги он наград не получил.
Подвиг, совершенный разведчиком-нелегалом, был оценен по-настоящему только в конце его жизни, уже в новой России.
14 декабря 1994 года, когда Ян Черняк находился в больнице в тяжелом состоянии, указом президента РФ Бориса Ельцина ему было присвоено звание Героя Российской Федерации.
Говорят, что в феврале 1995 года, оставшись в больничной палате после вручения награды один на один с женой, он очнулся и, сжимая в руке Золотую Звезду, прошептал: "Хорошо, что не посмертно…"
19 февраля Ян Черняк скончался.
Автор: Виктор Литовкин, Роман Азанов
Первоисточник: http://tass.ru/armiya-i-opk/3387908


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 5
  1. parusnik 2 июля 2016 07:59
    Как утверждает в своей книге "Мой отец — Лаврентий Берия" Серго Гегечкори, агентом Черняка была кинозвезда Третьего рейха Марика Рёкк.Фильм с ее участием многократно смотрел поджидавший своего связника Штирлиц,если кто помнит..
    1. карпаг 2 июля 2016 12:51
      За время существования СССР Черняк так и не получил звание Героя. Национальность у него была неправильная...
  2. Ин100грамм 2 июля 2016 09:05
    Очень интересная история. Спасибо авторам. Сколько ещё неизвестных страниц нашей истории.

    "Хорошо, что не посмертно…"

    Просто слезу вышибает. А сколько ещё не признанных подвигов осталось...
  3. Башибузук 2 июля 2016 17:33
    Ну, история душещипательная.
    Мемуаров нет...или есть, кто знает? От Яна Черняка.
    Мне вот только интересно, кто из авторов был женой Яна, что один-в-один передали слова его.
    Господин Карпаг...109 евреев были Героями Советского Союза во время Великой Отечественной.
    В то же время, замечу, что разведчиков-шпионов, как правило, никогда не награждали этим званием.
    Независимо от национальности.
    Так что не стоит тут...обострять, ладно?
    ....
    Завидую одному - человек свободно владел всем спектром языков Европы. Насколько же быстрым были его мозги, насколько гибкой психика.
    Все остальные достижения, как 12,5 тыщ листов макулатуры и прочее, включая ни единого провала всей РАЗВЕДСЕТИ, меня не впечатляют.
    Даже из текста статьи непонятно, какие же были достижения? Человек без тени? Без лица, без профессии, без достижений?
    Миллиграммы урана-235, а также родия, полония, таллия и калифорния каждый может не напрягаясь, соскрести со своих ботинок. Походив в промзонах...Москвы, скажем.
    А что еще было? Ничего?
    Получается так.
    Может быть, Ян действительно гений нелегальщины.
    Тогда и незачем о нем писать.
    А иначе - непонятки.
    Человек без тени, тени без достижений, авторы в тумане, читатели в недоумении.
    Разведка, блин.
    Война в Крыму, все в дыму и ни фига не видно.
    Неправильная статья.
    1. Башибузук 2 июля 2016 18:13
      Кому-нибудь покажется, что я излишне резок, дерзок, издеваюсь....
      Просто я прочитал книгу Быстролетова "Пир бессмертных".
      Тоже своего рода гений.
      Гений вербовки.
      Внебрачный сын Толстого, младшей ветви, но дворянин, говорил свободно на 16-ти языках. В конце жизни работал опять же в ТАСС. Академиком стал. Его гостям демонстрировали.
      При этом три года провел в крытке.
      При этом отсидел срок от и до с 1938 по 1953.
      При этом про него снят фильм.
      Но про него не пишут и не говорят.
      И, к сведения господина карпага, так и не стал Героем Советского Союза. Ни до посмертно, ни посмертно. Никак не стал.
      И всю свою жизнь - на судьбу не обижался.
      Что и правильно.
  4. антивирус 2 июля 2016 21:48
    Служили не за звезды и ордена , а за еду (помня как жили 100 млн крестьян).
    Должность "на всем готовом"-это уже статус ( пенсии когда ввели колхозникам? или кассы взаимопомощи?)и гарантии на всю оставшуюся жизнь.
    НАДО ПОНЯТЬ ПСИХОЛОГИЮ ЛЮДЕЙ 1/3 20-ГО ВЕКА

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня