Military Review

Badly lubricated axle

9
On the eve of the attack by the fascist aggressors on the USSR, they planned to seize large oil fields in the Middle East — in Iraq, Saudi Arabia and British Kuwait. The "gas station" of the Third Reich and its puppets was Romania. Synthetic (coal) oil was produced in Germany. But for a large-scale war, these resources were clearly not enough.
The future allies of the USSR were able to protect the Middle East oil "bins". And thus they detained the fascist invasion of the Soviet Union for a month and a half. Although, we recall, it was precisely from the Middle East that aggression against the USSR was planned with the participation of Turkey (the “Fuel” plan) in March-April of 1940. But the military-political conjuncture often changes quickly ...


Badly lubricated axleThe main target of the German strategists at that time was Iraq. In fact, it has been a protectorate of London since 1918, although it was formally independent from 1932. But there remained large British military bases. London-controlled Iraqi oil production, starting in 1922, increased rapidly. Up to 70 percent of its volume went to the UK.

German agents were able to secure the coming to power in Iraq of 31 in March of 1941, the government of General Rashid Gailani, who advocated the complete withdrawal of the British from the country. In April, consultations began on the transfer in concession to German (and partly Italian) companies of large deposits in central and southern Iraq. The subsequent export of the extracted raw materials through Turkey and Syria (then the French protectorate) to Germany and Italy was supposed. The British condemned the actions of Gailani and refused to transfer the ownership of Iraq (according to a general decree) of their oil and financial assets in this country. Meanwhile, supplies of Baghdad with German and Italian weapons began to grow rapidly in April, mainly through Turkey and Syria. The military "advisers" arrived from the Third Reich.

In the same period, we recall, the British troops suffered defeats in Yugoslavia and Greece, but many experts believe that London deliberately "left" from the Balkans due to the inevitability of the military operation in Iraq. The situation was exacerbated by the support of Gailani and the Germanic Middle Eastern plans by the authorities of neighboring Syria and Lebanon, the French protectorates, who until the fall of 1941 were subject to the collaborationist regime of Petain. Although the troops of DeGoll "Fighting France" have already attacked with British support on Damascus, Aleppo and Beirut.

The Axis’s plans regarding Middle Eastern oil were substantiated by the repeated bombardment by the German-Italian air forces of Saudi Dahran, the main port oil storage facility in the region with the distillery, and nearby fields. This reduced petroleum and petroleum product exports from 1940-m to the beginning of 1941-from there by about a quarter. It would seem that Riyadh should have entered the war against the Axis, but this happened only on March 1 ... 1945. Saudi oil already controlled American business in those years, and in Riyadh they seemed to want to change the situation.

The British Air Force, located in neighboring Kuwait, after 1940 did not allow Hitler’s aviation get closer to saudi sites. Meanwhile, on May 2, British troops (units of the “Fighting France” joined them a little later) began military operations against the Iraqi army. By May 15, they had taken Baghdad, but the Gailani regime was overthrown by the British only on May 30. And before that, just in the middle of May 1941, a German-Italian landing was planned near Dahran. At the same time, Gailani’s troops were to occupy neighboring Kuwait to join this landing. It didn’t work out.

German Field Marshal Rommel noted in 1943: “Instead of active operations in the Libyan desert, it was more expedient for the troops of Germany and Italy, using the position of the Vichy authorities in the Levant (Syria and Lebanon. - A. Ch.), To penetrate into Iraq in the spring of 1941 and gain a foothold there, starting after that, perhaps, actions in the British "oil" Kuwait. This would strengthen the Axis economy on the eve of an offensive on the USSR. ” Italian Foreign Minister Count Ciano also lamented the impossibility of a prolonged Axis war without Middle Eastern or Baku oil. General Wavewell, commander of the British and DeGoll forces in the Middle East in 1941, believed that “the German-Italian seizure of Iraq’s oil and especially Kuwait would speed up the Axis military alliance with Turkey and could well lead to a strong blow to the USSR from the south already in 1941 m And the position of the allied forces in the region would have become more complicated. ”

That is, the threat of German seizure of Iraqi, and Saudi, Kuwaiti oil was virtually eliminated on the eve of the Great Patriotic War. And the war itself mentioned events in the Middle East somewhat delayed. It is useful in this regard to recall that by 1941, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Kuwait provided up to a quarter of world oil production.

Metamorphosis: pro-British Iraq, as already mentioned, was the main springboard of the plan of joint aggression by Britain, France and Turkey against the USSR in the spring of 1940. But the Soviet-Finnish truce 12 March 1940-th buried this plan.
Author:
Originator:
http://vpk-news.ru/articles/31226
9 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Sergey333
    Sergey333 9 July 2016 06: 51
    0
    From a finger sucked facts. If Germany wanted to take Iraq at that time, she would have done it. Just the Middle East for her was in the background, as a prize to the winner in the 2nd World War.
    1. Olezhek
      Olezhek 9 July 2016 08: 19
      +5
      . If Germany wanted to take Iraq at that time, she would have done it.

      Is not a fact. Just look at the map ... Where is Libya (which the Wehrmacht reached for) and where is Iraq ...
      Hitler did not have Anteev.
  2. igordok
    igordok 9 July 2016 09: 48
    +1
    I understand that history does not tolerate the subjunctive mood, but how history would develop if France and Britain would declare war on the USSR in 1940 to defend Finland.
    Hitler would not refuse plans to capture the USSR. In Finland, the British. One can only guess.
    1. Megatron
      Megatron 9 July 2016 13: 42
      +1
      Hitler’s alliance with Stalin would most likely have taken place.
    2. Simpsonian
      Simpsonian 9 July 2016 14: 25
      +2
      in Finland, the British from the USSR rake, that's all
    3. The comment was deleted.
  3. Verdun
    Verdun 9 July 2016 11: 32
    +4
    But for a large-scale war, these resources were clearly not enough.
    For long-term large-scale wars, resources are never abundant. All major wars begin only when one of the parties becomes convinced that it can win the war in a short time. Very often, such assumptions turn out to be unfounded and then they begin to talk about a lack of resources and poor preparation for war.
    1. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 10 July 2016 00: 14
      +1
      Sometimes resources are enough if a country is a member of a broad coalition.
      For example, the British Commonwealth.
      Canada, Australia, India, South Africa and others provided Britain with resources.
      If there are no allies, then resources are usually not enough.
  4. Mountain shooter
    Mountain shooter 9 July 2016 18: 14
    +1
    The Germans did not count on Kuwait oil. They tried to intercept the Suez Canal. It was strategically important to intercept the shortcut to India from Britain. Gibraltar remained British and the ships were sailing in the Mediterranean. Hitler had a fad about Britain. Already on the Eastern Front, a catastrophe was outlined, and he dreamed of "bombing" Britain.
  5. fa2998
    fa2998 9 July 2016 21: 14
    +3
    Quote: Olezhek
    Just look at the map ... Where is Libya (which the Wehrmacht reached for) and where is Iraq ...

    But the geologists and oilmen of Germany and Italy were disgraced. At the moment, Algeria and Libya (before the coup) are the largest suppliers of oil and gas to the same Europe. It was necessary to gain a foothold in Africa and drill. Why Iraq, Saudi Arabia and our Baku with Maykop. request hi

Плохо смазанная ось

В канун нападения фашистских агрессоров на СССР они планировали захватить крупные нефтяные месторождения Ближнего Востока – в Ираке, Саудовской Аравии и британском Кувейте. «Бензоколонкой» Третьего рейха и его марионеток была Румыния. Синтетическая (угольная) нефть производилась в Германии. Но для масштабной войны этих ресурсов явно не хватало.
Будущие союзники СССР смогли защитить ближневосточные нефтяные «закрома». И тем самым задержали месяца на полтора фашистское вторжение в Советский Союз. Хотя, напомним, именно с Ближнего Востока намечалась с участием Турции агрессия против СССР (план «Топливо») в марте-апреле 1940-го. Но военно-политическая конъюнктура зачастую меняется быстро...

Плохо смазанная осьОсновной мишенью германских стратегов в тот период был Ирак. Фактически он с 1918 года являлся протекторатом Лондона, хотя с 1932-го считался формально независимым. Но здесь оставались крупные британские военные базы. Контролируемая Лондоном добыча иракской нефти, начавшись в 1922-м, быстро увеличивалась. До 70 процентов ее объема уходило в Великобританию.

Германская агентура смогла обеспечить приход к власти в Ираке 31 марта 1941 года правительства генерала Рашида Гайлани, выступавшего за полный уход британцев из страны. В апреле начались консультации о передаче в концессию германским (и частично итальянским) компаниям крупных месторождений в центральном и южном Ираке. Предполагался последующий экспорт добытого сырья через Турцию и Сирию (тогда – французский протекторат) в Германию и Италию. Британцы осудили действия Гайлани и отказались от передачи в собственность Ирака (согласно генеральскому указу) своих нефтяных и финансовых активов в этой стране. Тем временем уже в апреле начались и стали быстро расти поставки Багдаду германского и итальянского вооружения, в основном через Турцию и Сирию. Прибыли военные «советники» из Третьего рейха.


В тот же период, напомним, британские войска терпели поражения в Югославии и Греции, но многие эксперты считают, что Лондон намеренно «уходил» с Балкан ввиду неизбежности военной операции в Ираке. Ситуация усугублялась поддержкой Гайлани и германских ближневосточных планов властями соседних Сирии и Ливана, французских протекторатов, которые до осени 1941-го подчинялись коллаборационистскому режиму Петена. Хотя войска деголлевской «Сражающейся Франции» уже наступали при британской поддержке на Дамаск, Алеппо и Бейрут.

О планах Оси в отношении ближневосточной нефти предметно свидетельствовали неоднократные бомбардировки германо-итальянскими ВВС саудовского Дахрана, главного в регионе припортового нефтехранилища с перегонным заводом, и близлежащих месторождений. Это примерно на четверть сократило объемы экспорта оттуда нефти и нефтепродуктов в 1940-м – начале 1941-го. Казалось бы, Эр-Рияд должен был вступить в войну против Оси, но это случилось только 1 марта… 1945-го. Саудовскую нефть уже в те годы контролировал американский бизнес, и в Эр-Рияде, похоже, хотели изменить положение.

Британские ВВС, расположенные в соседнем Кувейте, после 1940-го не позволяли гитлеровской авиации приближаться к саудовским объектам. Тем временем 2 мая британские войска (немного позже к ним присоединились части «Сражающейся Франции») начали военные действия против иракской армии. К 15 мая они взяли Багдад, но режим Гайлани был свергнут британцами только 30 мая. А до этого как раз на середину мая 1941 года планировалась германо-итальянская высадка вблизи Дахрана. Одновременно войска Гайлани должны были оккупировать соседний Кувейт для соединения с этим десантом. Не вышло.

Германский фельдмаршал Роммель отмечал в 1943-м: «Вместо активных действий в Ливийской пустыне войскам Германии и Италии целесообразнее было, пользуясь позицией властей Виши в Леванте (Сирии и Ливане. – А. Ч.), проникнуть в Ирак весной 1941-го и закрепиться там, начав после этого, возможно, действия в британском «нефтяном» Кувейте. Это укрепило бы экономику Оси в канун наступления на СССР». Министр иностранных дел Италии граф Чиано тоже сетовал на невозможность длительной войны Оси без ближневосточной или бакинской нефти. Генерал Уэйвэлл, командующий британскими и деголлевскими войсками на Ближнем Востоке в 1941 году, полагал, что «германско-итальянский захват нефти Ирака и тем более Кувейта ускорил бы военный союз Оси с Турцией и вполне мог привести к сильному удару по СССР с юга уже в 1941-м. А положение союзных войск в регионе резко бы усложнилось».

То есть угроза германского захвата иракской, да и саудовской, кувейтской нефти была устранена фактически в канун Великой Отечественной. И саму войну упомянутые события на Ближнем Востоке несколько отсрочили. Нелишне в этой связи напомнить, что к 1941 году Саудовская Аравия, Ирак, Кувейт обеспечивали до четверти мировой добычи нефти.

Метаморфоза: пробританский Ирак, как уже говорилось, был основным плацдармом плана совместной агрессии Англии, Франции и Турции против СССР весной 1940 года. Но советско-финляндское перемирие 12 марта 1940-го похоронило этот план.
Автор: Алексей Чичкин Подробнее: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/31226
Первоисточник: http://vpk-news.ru/articles/31226


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 9
  1. Сергей333 9 июля 2016 06:51
    Из пальца высосанные факты. Если бы Германия в то время захотела бы захватить Ирак, она бы это сделала. Просто ближний восток для неё был на втором плане, как приз победителю во 2-й мировой войне.
    1. Олежек 9 июля 2016 08:19
      . Если бы Германия в то время захотела бы захватить Ирак, она бы это сделала.

      Не факт. Просто посмотрите на карту...Где Ливия (до которой Вермахт дотянулся) и где Ирак...
      Антеев у Гитлера не было.
  2. igordok 9 июля 2016 09:48
    Понимаю, что история не терпит сослагательного наклонения, но как бы развивалась история, если бы Франция и Британия объявила-бы войну СССР в 1940 г. для защиты Финляндии.
    Гитлер от планов захвата СССР не отказался-бы. В Финляндии - британцы. Остается только гадать.
    1. Megatron 9 июля 2016 13:42
      Скорее всего бы состоялся альянс Гитлера со Сталиным.
    2. Simpsonian 9 июля 2016 14:25
      в финляндии британцы от СССР огребают, только и всего
    3. Комментарий был удален.
  3. Верден 9 июля 2016 11:32
    Но для масштабной войны этих ресурсов явно не хватало.
    Для длительных масштабных войн ресурсов никогда не бывает в достатке. Все крупные войны начинаются лишь тогда, когда у одной из сторон возникает убеждение, что она может выиграть войну в короткие сроки. Очень часто такие предположения оказываются безосновательными и тогда начинают рассуждать о нехватке ресурсов и плохой подготовке к войне.
    1. voyaka uh 10 июля 2016 00:14
      Иногда ресурсов бывает достаточно, если страна - участник широкой коалиции.
      Например, Британское содружество.
      Канада, Австралия, Индия, ЮАР и другие обеспечивали Британию ресурсами.
      Если нет союзников, то ресурсов обычно не хватает.
  4. Горный стрелок 9 июля 2016 18:14
    Немцы не рассчитывали на Кувейтскую нефть. Они Суэцкий канал пытались перехватить. Это было стратегически важно, чтобы перехватить короткий путь в Индию из Британии. Гибралтар оставался Британским, и корабли шли по Средиземному морю. У Гитлера был "пунктик" насчёт Британии. Уже на Восточном фронте катастрофа намечалась, а он все мечтал Британию "забомбить".
  5. фа2998 9 июля 2016 21:14
    Цитата: Олежек
    Просто посмотрите на карту...Где Ливия (до которой Вермахт дотянулся) и где Ирак...

    А вот геологи и нефтяники Германии и Италии опозорились.В данный момент Алжир и Ливия(до переворота)крупнейшие поставщики нефти и газа в ту же Европу.Надо было закрепится в Африке и бурить.Зачем Ирак,Саудовская Аравия и наш Баку с Майкопом. request hi
Информация
Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня