Military Review

Military Tribunal sentenced ...

15
Military Tribunal sentenced ...



In July, 1942, the Germans occupied the city of Azov. Joseph Chernov received a pass from the Germans and 8 on August went to Taganrog on foot, where, according to him, four churches were already opened. A few days after arrival, the bishop was summoned to the burgomaster, where he was asked to receive registration as a priest. After receiving it, August 27 1942, he began to serve in the Holy Cross Church bishop's church. 28 August Vladyka Joseph consecrated Nikolsky Cathedral. “Now, with the help of a group of believers and a burgomaster, he again becomes a place of raising prayers,” the local collaboration press reported on this issue (the article “Consecration of Temples in Taganrog” was published in the newspaper Novoye Slovo. ”1942 year. 1 September, No. 73 (76).



At the consecration, a number of honored guests attended, led by the burgomaster Dieter and his deputy Akimtsev. Before the consecration of the cathedral, Bishop Joseph was called to the propaganda department, where he was offered to read a speech to his fellow citizens. But later Chernov said that he refused to read a speech written by a German officer, like his own sermon. “This document set forth the slander against the Orthodox Church and against Metropolitan Sergius,” Chernov said later during interrogation in 1945.

The interrogation report contained in the investigation file gives the following explanation of the reasons for refusal:

“Question: Did you give your consent to the head of propaganda to make a pro-fascist and slanderous speech?

Answer: I gave my consent to the head of propaganda to speak in front of the citizens of Taganrog with a pro-fascist and slanderous speech.

Question: What prevented you from fulfilling this task of the head of the department of fascist propaganda?

Answer: Nothing prevented me, I simply did not fulfill the tasks of the head of propaganda.

Question: And for not fulfilling the enemy’s assignment to you, were you not afraid of being subjected to repression by the Gestapo?

Answer: I was afraid, but, being in front of the people, I did not dare to make a vile lie to the Soviet authorities, the Soviet reality and the Russian Orthodox Church. ”

Immediately after the consecration of the temple, the Rostov commandant met with Chernov and suggested that, with the approval of the German authorities, they should leave for the city of Rostov-on-Don, ostensibly to hold services in the churches. Upon arrival, the bishop was summoned to the commandant's office, where the commandant, together with the Rostov dean Vyacheslav Serikov, invited Chernov to take part in the spiritual support of prisoners of war. It was, as Vladyka understood, about those prisoners of war who voluntarily surrendered and from which the collaborationist units were formed: “I gave a negative answer. Then the commandant declared to me that he possesses data incriminating me in the work of the Soviet Union, but did not back up his words with anything. I disproved the arguments of the commandant. During the further conversation, the commandant asked me how I could help the German army. To which I gave an evasive answer. After listening to me, the commandant demanded that I engage in fascist propaganda. Propaganda, in his opinion, is more precious than gold and stronger. weapons. In the sermon of fascist propaganda, I refused. After that, the commandant announced to me that I was forbidden to go to Rostov and Novocherkassk and manage the church according to the order of General Kleist. And under escort from Rostov sent me back to Taganrog. ”

According to the aforementioned Serikov, who was also arrested in the 1944 year, the Germans offered to Bishop Joseph "to raise Hitler to the rank of a saint," which was refused.

By order of the deputy burgomaster Akimtsov, who took an active part in the church life of the city of Taganrog, Chernov wrote three articles of an anti-Soviet character to the local collaboration newspaper Novoye Slovo.

October 17 The 1942 of the year was published an article entitled “The Cross crowns the temples again,” written for the anniversary of the occupation of Taganrog. December 16 The 1942 of the Year was published a “Christmas greeting” signed by the bishop, devoid of any political tint. Another article was prepared for the celebration of the New Year.



According to the local ethnographer M.S. Kirichek, “the occupation of Taganrog began much earlier than other districts of the Rostov region - October 17 1941 of the year and lasted almost two years - until August 30 1943 of the year. During the German occupation of the Rostov region, temples were massively opened on the ground. The first time the opening of the temple in the area occurred in Taganrog. In December, the cemetery church of all Saints was opened here on 1941, the head of the church was the first to appeal to the new authorities with the request to open this church ”(Kirichek, MS. Sacred domes of Taganrog. History temples, lost and existing. Taganrog, 2008 year. C. 122).

According to other sources, the Holy Cross Church of the Episcopal Church resumed its first service in Taganrog (“The Light of Joy in the World of Sorrow: Metropolitan of Almaty and Kazakhstan, Joseph S. S. 145). In it, Bishop Joseph began to serve.

Since Joseph Chernov was the only bishop before Archbishop Nicholas Amassysky arrived in Rostov, he approved V.A. Serikov, in the past, the abbot of the Rostov Cathedral, as the Dean of Rostov. Serikov on the orders of the Germans was later organized in Rostov diocesan administration to guide the churches of the regions of the Caucasus, Kuban and Don occupied by the fascist troops.

At the end of September, 1942, Chernov was forced to give a written explanation regarding the arriving Archbishop Nikolai Amassysky: “The Gestapo demanded an explanation from me that Amassiy, allegedly, was conducting an agitation against the German forces. I wrote about it in such a way that I didn’t hear such agitation from Armasia. ”

Around the same time, the pages of the newspaper Novoe Slovo actively criticized the religious revival in Soviet Russia with reference to the Berlin newspaper Novoe Slovo: Religious Freedom in the USSR, which, if carried out at present, is solely for political reasons. The article “The NKVD in episcopal attire” stated: “The supposed opening of churches in the Soviet Union did not seem to find a special response abroad. Now Soviet agitation, with the help of the NKVD, resorted to a new trick, which should dispel the last doubts of foreigners who have not yet fully believed. Recently, in the Soviet press, messages of people of different faiths addressed to Stalin have often come across. ”

In Taganrog, Joseph Chernov stayed from August 1942 to February 1943, when he unexpectedly received an order to leave Taganrog for Ukraine, to the city of Melitopol. But he went to Kakhovka, where he stayed from March to June 1943, and then returned to Taganrog. Upon his return, the bishop consecrated St. George's Church, speaking, as usual, with a religious sermon, and also served a requiem service to Peter I during the opening of the monument by the city garden. 19 July 1943 was relocated by the German authorities to a monument to Peter I by the sculptor Antokolsky from the seashore to his historic place in the city center on Leninskaya Street, from where the monument to Lenin was removed.



On the square near the monument, Joseph Chernov, after the memorial service, gave a speech in which he thanked the Germans for moving the monument to the old place and proclaimed the many years of the German army. “At the opening of the monument were attended by employees of the burgomaster, the police and representatives of the German command, everything happened in a solemn atmosphere, except Akimtsov, and some German, spoke, and some general was expected to arrive. After the whole ceremony, a gala dinner was held at the theater. ”

Other witnesses described the events somewhat differently: “By 12, the people were gathered for hours. The Deputy Commander rose to the podium decorated with flowers and a fascist swastika. He made a congratulatory speech addressed to the city and its inhabitants on the occasion of the restoration of historical justice, the return of the monument to the founder of Taganrog to the historic place. Other speakers followed, including the burgomaster of the city. But the word was taken by Bishop Joseph of Taganrog. With absolute silence, he began to talk about Tsar Peter I and the role he played in the establishment of the Great Russian Empire. Then the orchestra rang out the prayer "God, Tsar God bless." The theme ended with a song by Ivan Molchanov performed by the choir “It was a case near Poltava”.

In August 1943, the troops of the Southern Front commanded by General F.I. Tolbukhin prepared to take Taganrog. Bishop Joseph urgently left Taganrog to Mariupol.

30 August Taganrog was released.




The Soviet NKVD authorities arrested Bishop Joseph in June 1944, after the Germans retreated into the territory of Ukraine. He was accused of belonging to German intelligence and was asked to explain how he stayed alive, while he was listed as shot in the list left by the Gestapo: in the city of Uman in the fall of 1943, the Bishop was arrested by the Gestapo and sentenced to death by both English and Soviet spy. And again foggy answers.

Bishop was tried in 1945 year as an agent of the Gestapo and the secret "John" (a follower of the sect of admirers of John of Kronstadt), the organizer of a secret monastery in the city of Azov. In the case, 43 of the person, mainly of the “Johannites”, was held with him.

Chernov recognized only one of the numerous points of accusation (among them even the Patriarchal Church’s condemnation), namely: anti-Soviet publications in the newspaper Novoe Slovo, a speech at the transfer of the monument to Peter I from the seashore to the city center and the collection of clergy biographies for transfer to the Germans at their request.

“According to the verdict of the military tribunal of the North Caucasus Military District from 11-19 in February 1946, Joseph Chernov was sentenced to 10 years of forced labor camps. As a “particularly dangerous state criminal,” he was sent to a special camp of the Ministry of Internal Affairs near Chelyabinsk ”(source: The Clergy magazine, 1995 year).
Author:
15 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. V.ic
    V.ic 8 July 2016 07: 02
    +3
    Between a rock and a hard place ... God be his judge, not the tribunal.
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 8 July 2016 08: 01
    +2
    Thank you, Polina .. interesting stuff ..
  3. Aviator_
    Aviator_ 8 July 2016 08: 14
    +4
    Easy to get off
  4. igordok
    igordok 8 July 2016 08: 15
    0
    Thank you.
    Interested in the title photo. In the newspaper there is a photo of occupied Pskov, and articles about Radil Orel, Bryansk and Simferopol.
    I'd love to know the data on this newspaper, the release date.
  5. zoknyay82
    zoknyay82 8 July 2016 08: 18
    +1
    God of God, locksmith locksmith. They didn’t hang by the neck but gave the humane ten, as well as the Bandera, policemen and other Vlasovites, the Soviet regime was kind.
  6. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 8 July 2016 09: 47
    0
    Thank you very much for the story, Polina. People showed themselves differently.
  7. Aleksandr12
    Aleksandr12 8 July 2016 09: 59
    +4
    “According to the sentence of the military tribunal of the North Caucasus Military District on February 11-19, 1946, Joseph Chernov was sentenced to 10 years in forced labor camps. As a "particularly dangerous state criminal", he was sent to a special camp of the Ministry of Internal Affairs near Chelyabinsk "
    In my opinion, he got off easily. Until the end, I thought that he would be shot.
    1. Ivan Tartugai
      Ivan Tartugai 8 July 2016 19: 43
      0
      Quote: Aleksandr12
      In my opinion, he got off easily.


      In Chelyabinsk, and then in 1948 in the Karaganda camps he was a cook at the catering department and sometimes in hospital orderlies at the hospital. According to the recollections of the inmates, Joseph Chernov in the camps was in prestigious positions either as a cook, or as a medical orderly, captenarmus, etc., conducted extensive correspondence, and often received parcels.
  8. Glaaki
    Glaaki 8 July 2016 10: 57
    0
    Something needs to be done with the photos, otherwise Roskomnadzor is on the alert.
    1. Kotyara Fat
      Kotyara Fat 8 July 2016 21: 45
      0
      This is not the case. Probably...
  9. a housewife
    a housewife 8 July 2016 11: 38
    +2
    The church and the clergy were not used by the authorities for their own purposes. And the shepherd must be with the flock under any circumstances. And under Nero, and under Peter, and under Stalin, and under Lenin, and under Hitler. We can say - times are difficult, I may suffer, I will give up this case. This will also be desertion. Peter is also guilty, since the Nazis used his monument. So he is also "their own" for them? And since the bishop was not shot, then our authorities understood all this.
  10. Fighter
    Fighter 8 July 2016 18: 11
    +3
    "Judge not lest ye be judged....
  11. Pattern
    Pattern 19 July 2017 02: 28
    0
    Polina! Engage in research, and not copying articles and excerpts from textbooks 60-70s. The Gestapo was not in the USSR!

Военный трибунал приговорил...

Военный трибунал приговорил...


В июле 1942 года немцы заняли город Азов. Иосиф Чернов получил от немцев пропуск и 8 августа пешком ушёл в Таганрог, где, по его словам, уже были открыты четыре церкви. Через несколько дней после прибытия епископ был вызван в бургомистерство, где ему было предложено как священнослужителю получить регистрацию. Получив её, 27 августа 1942 года он приступил к службе в Крестовоздвиженской домовой архиерейской церкви. 28 августа владыка Иосиф освятил Никольский собор. «Ныне, с помощью группы верующих и бургомистрества, он вновь становится местом вознесения молитв», — говорилось по этому поводу в местной коллаборационистской прессе (статья «Освящение храмов в Таганроге» опубликована в газете «Новое слово». 1942 год. 1 сентября, №73 (76).

Военный трибунал приговорил...



При освящении присутствовало ряд почётных гостей во главе с бургомистром Дитером и его заместителем Акимцевым. Перед освящением собора епископ Иосиф был вызван в отдел пропаганды, где ему предложили почитать перед согражданами речь. Но позже Чернов говорил о том, что он отказался читать написанную немецким офицером речь, как и собственную проповедь. «В этом документе излагалась клевета на Православную церковь и на митрополита Сергия», — позже на допросе в 1945 году скажет Чернов.

В протоколе допроса, содержащемся в следственном деле, дано следующее объяснение мотивов отказа:

«Вопрос: Вы давали своё согласие начальнику пропаганды выступить с профашистской и клеветнической речью?

Ответ: Я дал своё согласие начальнику пропаганды выступить перед гражданами Таганрога с профашистской и клеветнической речью.

Вопрос: Что помешало вам выполнить это задание начальника отдела фашистской пропаганды?

Ответ: Ничего мне не помешало, я просто не выполнил задания начальника пропаганды.

Вопрос: А за невыполнение данного вам вражеского задания Вы не опасались быть подвергнутым репрессии со стороны гестапо?

Ответ: Опасался, но, оказавшись перед народом, я не решился выступить с гнусной ложью на советскую власть, советскую действительность и на Русскую Православную Церковь».

Сразу после освящения храма с Черновым встретился ростовский комендант и предложил при одобрении немецких властей выехать в город Ростов-на-Дону якобы для проведения в церквах богослужений. По приезде епископ был вызван в комендатуру, где комендант совместно с ростовским благочинным Вячеславом Сериковым предложил Чернову принять участие в духовной поддержке военнопленных. Речь шла, как понял владыка, о тех военнопленных, которые сдались добровольно и из которых формировались коллаборационистские части: «Я дал отрицательный ответ. Тогда комендант заявил мне, что он располагает данными, изобличающими меня в работе на Советский Союз, но свои слова ничем не подкреплял. Я доводы коменданта опровергал. В ходе дальнейшей беседы комендант спросил у меня, чем я могу помочь немецкой армии. На что я дал уклончивый ответ. Выслушав меня, комендант потребовал, чтобы я занялся фашистской пропагандой. Пропаганда, по его мнению, дороже золота и сильнее оружия. В проповеди фашистской пропаганды я отказался. После этого комендант объявил мне, что распоряжению генерала Клейста мне запрещено бывать в Ростове и Новочеркасске и управлять церковью. И под конвоем из Ростова отправил меня обратно в Таганрог».

По словам вышеупомянутого Серикова, также арестованного в 1944 году, епископу Иосифу немцы предлагали «возвести Гитлера в ранг святого», на что был дан отказ.

По приказу заместителя бургомистра Акимцова, принимавшего активное участие в церковной жизни города Таганрога, Чернов написал три статьи антисоветского характера в местную коллаборационистскую газету «Новое слово».

17 октября 1942 года была опубликована статья под названием «Крест снова венчает храмы», написанная к годовщине оккупации Таганрога. 16 декабря 1942 года опубликовано «Рождественское поздравление» за подписью епископа, лишённое какой-либо политической окраски. Ещё одна статья была подготовлена к празднованию Нового года.

Военный трибунал приговорил...


По утверждению местного краеведа М.С. Киричек, «оккупация Таганрога началась значительно раньше, чем других районов Ростовской области, — 17 октября 1941 года и продолжалась почти два года — до 30 августа 1943 года. В период немецкой оккупации ростовской области на местах массово открывались храмы. Первое по времени открытие храма в области произошло именно в Таганроге. В декабре 1941 года здесь была открыта кладбищенская церковь все Святых, староста храма первой обратилась к новым властям с просьбой об открытии этой церкви» (Киричек М.С. Святые купола Таганрога. История храмов, утраченных и существующих. Таганрог, 2008 год. С. 122).

По другим данным, первой в Таганроге возобновила богослужения Крестовоздвиженская домовая архиерейская церковь («Свет радости в мире печали: Митрополит Алма-Атинский и Казахстанский Иосиф. С. 145). В ней и начал служить епископ Иосиф.

Поскольку Иосиф Чернов оказался до приезда в Ростов архиепископа Николая Амассийского единственным епископом, он утвердил В.А. Серикова, в прошлом настоятеля Ростовского кафедрального собора, в качестве благочинного Ростова. Сериковым по приказу немцев впоследствии было организовано в Ростове епархиальное управление для руководства церквями оккупированных немецко-фашистскими войсками областей Кавказа, Кубани и Дона.

В конце сентября 1942 года Чернов был вынужден дать письменное объяснение в отношении прибывшего архиепископа Николая Амассийского: «Гестапо требовало от меня объяснений о том, что Амассийский, якобы, проводил агитацию, направленную против немецко-фашистских войск. Я написал об этом так, что от Амассийского я подобной агитации не слышал».

Примерно в это же время на страницах газеты «Новое слово» активно критиковалось религиозное возрождение в Советской России со ссылкой на берлинскую газету «Новое слово»: «Религиозная свобода в СССР, которая если и проводится в настоящее время, то исключительно по политическим соображениям». В статье «НКВД в епископском одеянии» заявлялось: «предполагаемое открытие церквей в Советском Союзе не нашло, по-видимому, особенного отклика за границей. Теперь советская агитация, с помощью НКВД, прибегла к новому трюку, который должен рассеять последние сомнения ещё не окончательно уверовавших иностранцев. В советской прессе за последнее время нередко попадаются обращённые к Сталину послания лиц различных вероисповеданий».

В Таганроге Иосиф Чернов пробыл с августа 1942 по февраль 1943 года, когда он неожиданно получил распоряжение выехать из Таганрога на Украину, в город Мелитополь. Но он уехал в Каховку, где и находился с марта по июнь 1943 года, а потом вернулся обратно в Таганрог. По возвращении епископ освятил Георгиевский храм, выступив, как обычно, с религиозной проповедью, а также служил панихиду Петру I во время открытия памятника у городского сада. 19 июля 1943 года немецкими властями был перенесён памятник Петру I работы скульптора Антокольского с берега моря на его историческое место — в центр города на Ленинскую улицу, откуда был убран памятник Ленину.

Военный трибунал приговорил...


На площади у памятника Иосиф Чернов после панихиды выступил с речью, в которой благодарил немцев за перенос памятника на старое место и провозгласил многолетие немецкой армии. «На открытии памятника присутствовали работники бургомистерства, полиции и представители немецкого командования, всё происходило в торжественной обстановке, выступал, кроме меня, Акимцов, и какой-то немец, ожидался приезд какого-то генерала. После всей церемонии в театре был устроен торжественный ужин».

Другие свидетели несколько иначе описывали происходящее: «К 12 часам собрали народ. На трибуну, украшенную цветами и фашистской свастикой, поднялся заместитель командующего. Он произнёс поздравительную речь в адрес города и его жителей по случаю восстановления исторической справедливости, возвращения памятника основателю Таганрога на историческое место. Далее выступили другие докладчики, включая бургомистра города. Но вот слово взял епископ Таганрогский Иосиф. При абсолютной тишине он начал говорить о царе Петре I и той роли, которую сыграл он в деле становления Великой Российской империи. Затем оркестр грянул молитву «Боже, Царя Храни». Закончилась тема песней Ивана Молчанова в исполнении хора «Было дело под Полтавой».

В августе 1943 года войска Южного фронта под командованием генерала Ф.И. Толбухина готовились взять Таганрог. Епископ Иосиф срочно выехал из Таганрога в Мариуполь.

30 августа Таганрог был освобожден.

Военный трибунал приговорил...
Военный трибунал приговорил...


Советские органы НКВД арестовали епископа Иосифа в июне 1944 года, после отступления немцев в территории Украины. Его обвинили в принадлежности к немецкой разведке и предложили объяснить, каким образом он остался жить, тогда как числился расстрелянным в списке, оставленном гестаповцами: в городе Умани осенью 1943 года епископ был арестован гестапо и приговорён к расстрелу как английский и советский шпион. И снова туманные ответы.

Судили епископа в 1945 году как агента гестапо и тайного «иоаннита» (последователя секты почитателей Иоанна Кронштадского), организатора тайного монастыря в городе Азове. По делу вместе с ним проходило 43 человека, преимущественно «иоаннитов».

Чернов признавал из многочисленных пунктов обвинения (среди них фигурировало даже осуждение им Патриаршей церкви) только три, а именно: антисоветские публикации в газете «Новое слово», выступление с речью при переносе памятника Петру I с берега моря в центр города и сбор биографий духовенства для передачи немцам по их требованию.

«Согласно приговору военного трибунала Северо-Кавказского военного округа от 11-19 февраля 1946 года Иосиф Чернов был приговорён к 10 годам исправительно-трудовых лагерей. Как «особо опасный государственный преступник», был направлен в особый лагерь МВД близ Челябинска» (источник: журнал «Духовенство», 1995 год).
Автор: Полина Ефимова


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 14
  1. V.ic 8 июля 2016 07:02
    Между молотом и наковальней... Бог ему судья, а не трибунал.
  2. parusnik 8 июля 2016 08:01
    Спасибо, Полина..интересный материал..
  3. Авиатор_ 8 июля 2016 08:14
    Легко отделался
  4. igordok 8 июля 2016 08:15
    Спасибо.
    Заинтересовала заглавная фотография. В газете фото оккупированного Пскова, а статьи радом об Орле, Брянске и Симферополе.
    Очень хотелось-бы узнать данные по этой газете, дату выпуска.
  5. зокняй82 8 июля 2016 08:18
    Богу Богово, слесарю слесарево. Не повесили за шею а дали гуманную десятку, как и бандерам, полицаям и прочим власовцам, советская власть добрая была.
  6. Reptiloid 8 июля 2016 09:47
    Большое спасибо за рассказ,Полина.По разному люди себя проявляли.
  7. Александр12 8 июля 2016 09:59
    «Согласно приговору военного трибунала Северо-Кавказского военного округа от 11-19 февраля 1946 года Иосиф Чернов был приговорён к 10 годам исправительно-трудовых лагерей. Как «особо опасный государственный преступник», был направлен в особый лагерь МВД близ Челябинска»
    По моему, он легко отделался. До конца я думал, что его расстреляют.
    1. Иван Тартугай 8 июля 2016 19:43
      Цитата: Александр12
      По моему, он легко отделался.


      В челябинском, а затем с 1948 года в Карагандинском лагерях был поваром при пищеблоке и иногда в санитарах при больнице. Согласно воспоминаниям сидельцев, Иосиф Чернов в лагерях был на престижных должностях либо поваром, либо санитаром, каптенармусом и т.п., вел обширную переписку, часто получал посылки.
  8. Glaaki 8 июля 2016 10:57
    С фоточками надо бы что-то сделать, а то Роскомнадзор не дремлет.
    1. Котяра Жирный 8 июля 2016 21:45
      Немного не тот случай. Наверное...
  9. домохозяйка 8 июля 2016 11:38
    Церковь и священнослужителей какие только власти не использовали в своих целях. А пастырь должен быть с паствой при любых обстоятельствах. И при Нероне, и при Петре, и при Сталине, и при Ленине, и при Гитлере. Можно сказать - времена тяжёлые, я могу пострадать, брошу это дело. Это будет тоже дезертирство. Пётр тоже виновен, раз его памятник фашисты использовали. Значит он для них тоже "свой"? И раз епископа не расстреляли, значит и наши власти всё это понимали.
  10. Борец 8 июля 2016 18:11
    “Не судите, да не судимы будете....

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня