Military Review

Hero of the Soviet Union, Rear Admiral Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov

5
Exactly 40 years ago, 5 July 1976, a brave seaman-baltic Sergey Osipov passed away. Rear Admiral Sregey Osipov went through three wars (the Spanish Civil War, the Soviet-Finnish and the Great Patriotic War), writing his name in history domestic fleet. During the Great Patriotic War, he fought in the Baltic, bringing to battle part of the "mosquito forces" of the Red Banner Baltic Fleet (KBF) - torpedo boats. For his exploits and successes during the war years he was introduced to the title of Hero of the Soviet Union.


The future admiral was born in Riga 18 on December 1912, by nationality - Russian. He graduated from 7 classes and school factory apprenticeship (FZU) in the city of Kharkov, Ukrainian SSR, after which he worked as a mechanic at the factory "Sickle and Hammer." He was called up for service and went to the October 30 fleet of the year 1931. From this moment on, his fate will be inextricably linked with the sea. In June 1936, Sergey Osipov graduated from the MV Frunze Naval School. After the completion of the school, he immediately began to serve in the Baltic Fleet, where he was appointed navigator of the 3 division of the brigade of torpedo boats.

The main torpedo boat of the Soviet navy of those years was the G-5, which was produced in nine series from 1933 to 1944. In total, 328 torpedo boats of this type were built during this time. The full displacement of the boat was 17,8 tons, the crew - 6 people, including one officer (boat commander). The maximum speed is 51 knot, its boat could maintain for 15 minutes, for an hour the boat could go at full speed 47 knots, the economic speed in 36 knots it could keep 7 hours. The main armament of the G-5 torpedo boats were two 533-mm torpedo tubes, machine-gun armament was represented by two 7,62-mm machine guns YES or 12,7-mm DShK and one 7,62-mm ShKAS.

Hero of the Soviet Union, Rear Admiral Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov


From April 1937 to March 1938, Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov took part in the hostilities in Spain on the side of the Republican fleet as commander of a torpedo boat, and also as a naval adviser. Total USSR sent to Spain four torpedo boats G-5, the base for which served Porman. For participation in this campaign, he was awarded the Order of the Red Banner. In general, the Soviet torpedo boats did not play a special role during the Spanish Civil War, they were often used for other purposes. Despite the weak seaworthiness and insufficient cruising range, they were engaged to accompany the convoys. Here their disadvantage was most clearly manifested - weak anti-aircraft weapons.

After returning from Spain on April 1938, Sergey Osipov commanded a detachment of a brigade of torpedo boats of the Baltic Fleet. Participation in hostilities in Spain and awarding the Order of the Red Banner did not protect the officer from the millstones of repression. He was repressed in July 1938 and dismissed from the fleet. However, at that time he was still very lucky. Sergey Aleksandrovich was rehabilitated in January 1939, and in May of the same year they were reinstated in the personnel of the Soviet Navy. From June 1939, he was the commander of the 3 squadron of the 3 division of the brigade of torpedo boats of the Baltic Fleet. In the same year he became a participant of the second war, the Soviet-Finnish war, from December 1939 he was the commander of the torpedo boat detachment of the Libava naval base.

The knowledge and skills accumulated in the pre-war years were very useful to Sergei Osipov after the start of World War II, of which he was from the first to the last day of it. All this time being a “sailor-boatman”. From June to September 1941, he was the commander of a detachment of torpedo boats of the Baltic Fleet, in September-December 1941 of the year - 2 of the 4 division, in December 1941 - November of 1942, the 2 division. From November 1942 to April 1943 is the commander of the 4 Division. From April 1943 of the year - the commander of the 1-th (from February 1944 of the year - 1-th Guards) division of torpedo boats of the Baltic Fleet.

The torpedo boat G-5 from the 4 division of the torpedo boats of the Hero of the Soviet Union, captain of the 3 rank Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov performs a combat mission. Photo: waralbum.ru


Already from 22 to 26 on June 1941, torpedo boats of the Libavsk naval base detachment commanded by Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov provided mine performances near Libau. June 27 torpedo boats Osipova first met with the German fleet. On this day, during the evacuation of the commanders of the Libava naval base, they met at sea with 4 German torpedo boats, one of which was damaged. He recorded the first enemy vessels sunk to his own account, with the attacks carried out in the Irben Strait of July 27 and August 1 of the year 1941. On July 27, he attacked an enemy caravan with three torpedo boats, sinking the transport and 2 of the destroyer and damaging the patrol ship. August 1 launched an attack by four torpedo boats on enemy destroyers, drowning one of them. For courage and heroism shown in battles with the enemy, the decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR of April 3 April 1942 to Lieutenant Commander Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov was awarded the title Hero of the Soviet Union with the award of the Order of Lenin and the Gold Star medal number 527.

The award list noted that Lieutenant-Commander Sergey Osipov demonstrated the high skill of naval combat, while displaying courage and heroism. As a result, having at his disposal a small group of torpedo boats, he managed to inflict significant losses on the enemy’s fleet in a short time. On his account were two downed aircraft (U-88 and Me-109 17 and 20 August 1941 of the year), 5 submerged destroyers, 4 transport and 2 torpedoes of the enemy. In addition, 2 of a destroyer and one enemy patrol ship were blown up on mines exposed by torpedo boats.

Torpedo boats commanded by Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov, in the face of strong opposition from the enemy in 1941-1943, sank 27 enemy ships and conducted 54 active mine settings. In 1944, the torpedo boat division under his command conducted 16 mine setups and 7 torpedo attacks on enemy communications in the Vyborg and Narva bays (he took personal part in three of these attacks), which resulted in the sinking of 14 ships and enemy ships. At the same time, Osipov was awarded the Order of Ushakov 2 degree with the number 3. It is curious that for the 1944 campaign of the year, the guard of the captain of the 3 rank Sergei Alexandrovich Osipov, who commanded the 1 guards division of the Red Banner Baltic Fleet torpedo boats, was presented to the second rank of Hero of the Soviet Union, but he was denied this campaign.

The torpedo boats of the G-5 4 of the torpedo boats of the Red Banner Baltic Fleet of Hero of the Soviet Union, captain of the 3 of the rank of Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov perform a combat mission. Photo: waralbum.ru


Since the beginning of the Soviet offensive on the southern coast of the Gulf of Finland, the Ospov Division’s torpedo boats took part in all the landing operations of 1944-1945 both on the mainland and on the islands of Moondesund archipelago. It is worth noting that even small torpedo boats of the G-5 project, instead of torpedoes located in torpedo troughs, could take on board troops in the number of 20-22 people, and with overload, up to 30-50 people. In April 1945, Sergey Osipov personally supervised the landing of troops from torpedo boats on the Frische-Nerung spit in order to eliminate the remnants of the defeated Kurland group of German troops. With the liberation of the city of Liepāja 9 in May 1945, Osipov entered this naval base on the lead torpedo boat.

After the end of World War II, Sergei Alexandrovich continued to serve in the fleet, where he commanded the torpedo boat division until December 1946 of the year, until he departed for further study. In 1949, he successfully graduated from the KE Voroshilov Naval Academy. From December of the same year he was the commander of the Pechenga naval base of the Northern Fleet. From October 1951 was the commander of the 185 brigade of torpedo boats of the Northern Fleet, from December 1953 of the year - the commander of the 41 division of torpedo boats of the Black Sea Fleet. 31 May 1954, Sergey Osipov was given the rank of Rear Admiral. From December 1955, he was at the disposal of the Commander-in-Chief of the USSR Navy, and from February 1956 he was the head of the special department of the Naval Academy.

In December, 1958, Rear Admiral Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov, was forced to leave the service for health reasons, he would be transferred to the reserve for illness. After leaving the service he lived in Leningrad, where 5 died on July 1976 of the year. He was buried here at the Bolshohokhoinsky cemetery. The name of the Hero of the Soviet Union Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov was immortalized in the memorial "Soldiers-katernikam", which is located in the city of Baltiisk, in the Kaliningrad region.



Sergey Aleksandrovich Osipov was awarded the following orders and medals for military service and distinctions: the Gold Star medal (1942 year), two orders of Lenin (1942 and 1954), four orders of the Red Banner (1938, 1944, 1945 and 1951) ), Order of the Patriotic War, I degree (1943 year), Order of Ushakov, II degree (1944 year), Order of the Red Star (1946 year), medals "For Military Merit" (1944 year) and "For Defense of Leningrad".

Also, the name of Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov was the name of a large sea tanker for the integrated supply of the Northern Fleet of the Russian Federation. Until 1997, the ship bore the name Dniester, as part of the fleet from 1973. During World War II, Sergey Osipov drove the G-5 torpedo boats into the sea with a total displacement of just 18 tons, and today a tanker with a displacement of more than 22 thousand tons and a length of 162 meters is named in his honor. The tanker “Sergey Osipov” is able to transfer cargoes in the sea using the traverse method on the move, as well as to supply fleet warships with various types of fuel and lubricants, boiler and drinking water, as well as food and dry goods. The ship, bearing the name of the famous admiral, has repeatedly provided for the operations of the Russian Navy ships in long voyages in the Arctic and Atlantic oceans, as well as in the Mediterranean Sea.

Based on materials from open sources.
Author:
5 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. aszzz888
    aszzz888 5 July 2016 07: 05
    +5
    Also, the name of Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov is the name of a large marine tanker of integrated supply of the Northern Fleet of the Russian Federation

    A very good tradition in the Navy is to perpetuate the memory of heroes in ship names.
    Russian sailors have always been famous for their fearlessness before the enemy.
    Seven feet to "Sergei Osipov"!
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 5 July 2016 07: 30
    +4
    He left his memoirs "The feat of the Baltic Katerniki" Lenizdat, 1961 .. Nowadays it is a great bibliographic rarity .. Almost never republished .. Thank you, the author ..
  3. Vadim2013
    Vadim2013 5 July 2016 19: 57
    +2
    Fearless people fought on torpedo boats. Good memory to Rear Admiral Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov.
  4. Reserve officer
    Reserve officer 5 July 2016 21: 13
    +2
    A real Baltic sailor. Decent life path.
    It's a shame that there are so few comments on this article.
  5. Reptiloid
    Reptiloid 6 July 2016 18: 12
    +1
    I think there are few comments because everyone who reads is unequivocally respecting and respecting Rear Admiral Sergey Alexandrovich Osipov. I found out many facts and names from the history of the Motherland on the pages of VO. Thank you very much for the article.

Герой Советского Союза контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов

Ровно 40 лет назад, 5 июля 1976 года, ушел из жизни отважный моряк-балтиец Сергей Александрович Осипов. Контр-адмирал Срегей Осипов прошел три войны (гражданскую войну в Испании, советско-финскую и Великую Отечественную), вписав свое имя в историю отечественного флота. В годы Великой Отечественной войны воевал на Балтике, выводя в бой часть «москитных сил» Краснознаменного Балтийского флота (КБФ) — торпедные катера. За свои подвиги и успехи в годы войны был представлен к званию Героя Советского Союза.

Будущий адмирал родился в Риге 18 декабря 1912 года, по национальности — русский. Окончил 7 классов и школу фабрично-заводского ученичества (ФЗУ) в городе Харькове Украинской ССР, после чего трудился слесарем на заводе «Серп и молот». Был призван на службу и попал на флот 30 октября 1931 года. С этого момента его судьба неразрывно будет связана с морем. В июне 1936 года Сергей Осипов окончил Военно-морское училище имени М. В. Фрунзе. После завершения училища сразу же приступил к несению службы на Балтийском флоте, куда был определен штурманом 3-го дивизиона бригады торпедных катеров.

Основным торпедным катером советского военно-морского флота тех лет был Г-5, который выпускался девятью сериями с 1933 по 1944 гг. Всего за это время было построено 328 торпедных катеров данного типа. Полное водоизмещение катера составляло 17,8 тонны, экипаж — 6 человек, включая одного офицера (командира катера). Максимальная скорость хода — 51 узел, ее катер мог поддерживать в течение 15 минут, в течение часа катер мог идти на полной скорости 47 узлов, экономическую скорость в 36 узлов он мог держать 7 часов. Основным вооружением торпедных катеров Г-5 были два 533-мм торпедных аппарата, пулеметное вооружение было представлено двумя 7,62-мм пулеметами ДА или 12,7-мм ДШК и одним 7,62-мм ШКАС.


Герой Советского Союза контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов


С апреля 1937 года по март 1938 года Сергей Александрович Осипов принимал участие в боевых действиях в Испании на стороне республиканского флота в должности командира торпедного катера, а также в качестве военно-морского советника. Всего СССР отправил в Испанию четыре торпедных катера Г-5, базой для которых служил Порман. За участие в этой кампании он был награжден орденом Красного Знамени. В целом же особой роли советские торпедные катера во время гражданской войны в Испании не сыграли, они очень часто использовались не по назначению. Несмотря на слабую мореходность и недостаточную дальность плавания, они привлекались для сопровождения конвоев. Здесь особенно ярко проявился их недостаток — слабое зенитное вооружение.

После возвращения из Испании с апреля 1938 года Сергей Осипов командовал отрядом бригады торпедных катеров Балтийского флота. Участие в боевых действиях в Испании и награждение орденом Красного Знамени не уберегли офицера от жерновов репрессий. Он был репрессирован в июле 1938 года и уволен с флота. Однако по тем временам ему еще очень сильно повезло. Сергея Александровича реабилитировали уже в январе 1939 года, а в мае того же года восстановили в кадрах советского ВМФ. С июня 1939 года он являлся командиром 3-го отряда 3-го дивизиона бригады торпедных катеров Балтийского флота. В том же году он стал участником уже второй войны — советско-финской, с декабря 1939 года являлся командиром отряда торпедных катеров Либавской военно-морской базы.

Знания и умения, накопленные в предвоенные годы, сильно пригодились Сергею Осипову после начала Великой Отечественной войны, участником которой он был с первого и до последнего ее дня. Все это время являясь «моряком-катерником». С июня по сентябрь 1941 года он являлся командиром отряда торпедных катеров Балтийского флота, в сентябре-декабре 1941 года — 2-го отряда 4-го дивизиона, в декабре 1941 — ноябре 1942 года — командир 2-го дивизиона. С ноября 1942 по апрель 1943 — командир 4-го дивизиона. С апреля 1943 года — командир 1-го (с февраля 1944 года — 1-го гвардейского) дивизиона торпедных катеров Балтийского флота.

Герой Советского Союза контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов
Торпедный катер Г-5 из состава 4-го дивизиона торпедных катеров Героя Советского Союза капитана 3-го ранга Сергея Александровича Осипова выполняет боевую задачу. Фото: waralbum.ru


Уже с 22 по 26 июня 1941 года торпедные катера отряда Либавской военно-морской базы, которыми командовал Сергей Александрович Осипов, обеспечивали минные постановки возле Либавы. 27 июня торпедные катера Осипова впервые встретились с немецким флотом. В этот день при эвакуации командного состава Либавской ВМБ они встретились в море с 4 немецкими торпедными катерами, один из которых удалось повредить. Первые потопленные суда противника он записал на свой счет, при атаках проведенных в Ирбенском проливе 27 июля и 1 августа 1941 года. 27 июля он тремя торпедными катерами атаковал караван противника, потопив транспорт и 2 миноносца и повредив сторожевой корабль. 1 августа провел атаку четырьмя торпедными катерами на миноносцы противника, утопив один из них. За мужество и героизм, которые были проявлены в боях с врагом, указом Президиума Верховного Совета СССР от 3 апреля 1942 года капитан-лейтенанту Сергею Александровичу Осипову было присвоено звание Героя Советского Союза с вручением ордена Ленина и медали «Золотая Звезда» за номером 527.

В наградном листе отмечалось, что капитан-лейтенант Сергей Осипов продемонстрировал высокое мастерство военно-морского боя, проявив при этом храбрость и героизм. В результате, обладая в своем распоряжении небольшой группой торпедных катеров, сумел за короткий срок нанести флоту противнику ощутимые потери. На его счету были два сбитых самолета (Ю-88 и Me-109 17 и 20 августа 1941 года), 5 потопленных миноносцев, 4 транспорта и 2 торпедных катера противника. Помимо этого на выставленных торпедными катерами минах подорвались 2 миноносца и один сторожевой корабль противника.

Торпедные катера, которыми командовал Сергей Александрович Осипов, в условиях сильного противодействия со стороны противника в 1941-1943 годах потопили 27 кораблей противника и провели 54 активных минных постановки. В 1944 году дивизион торпедных катеров под его командованием провел еще 16 минных постановок и 7 торпедных атак на коммуникациях противника в Выборгском и Нарвском заливах (в трех из этих атак он принимал личное участие), в результате чего было потоплено 14 кораблей и судов неприятеля. Тогда же Осипов был награжден орденом Ушакова 2-й степени за номером 3. Любопытно, что за боевые действия в кампанию 1944 года гвардии капитана 3-го ранга Сергея Александровича Осипова, командовавшего на тот момент 1-м гвардейским дивизионом торпедных катеров КБФ, представляли ко второму званию Героя Советского Союза, но в получении данной награды ему было отказано.

Герой Советского Союза контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов
Торпедные катера Г-5 4-го дивизиона торпедных катеров Краснознаменного Балтийского флота Героя Советского Союза капитана 3-го ранга Сергея Александровича Осипова выполняют боевую задачу. Фото: waralbum.ru


С началом наступления советских войск на южном берегу Финского залива торпедные катера дивизиона Осипова принимали участие во всех десантных операциях 1944-1945 годов как на материк, так и на острова Моондзундского архипелага. Стоит отметить, что даже небольшие торпедные катера проекта Г-5 вместо торпед, расположенных в торпедных желобах, могли принять на борт десант в количестве 20-22 человек, а с перегрузкой и до 30-50 человек. В апреле 1945 года Сергей Осипов лично руководил высадкой десанта с торпедных катеров на косу Фрише-Нерунг с целью ликвидации остатков разгромленной курляндской группировки немецких войск. При освобождении города Лиепая 9 мая 1945 года Осипов вошел в эту военно-морскую базу на головном торпедном катере.

После завершения Великой Отечественной войны Сергей Александрович продолжил нести службу на флоте, где он командовал дивизионом торпедных катеров до декабря 1946 года, до того момента, как убыл на прохождение дальнейшей учебы. В 1949 году успешно окончил Военно-морскую академию имени К. Е. Ворошилова. С декабря того же года являлся командиром Печенгской военно-морской базы Северного флота. С октября 1951 года был командиром 185-й бригады торпедных катеров Северного флота, с декабря 1953 года — командир 41-й дивизии торпедных катеров Черноморского флота. 31 мая 1954 года Сергею Осипову было присвоено звание контр-адмирала. С декабря 1955 года он находился в распоряжении Главнокомандующего ВМФ СССР, а с февраля 1956 года являлся начальником спецфакультета Военно-морской академии.

В декабре 1958 года контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов вынужден был покинуть службу по состоянию здоровья, он бы переведен в запас по болезни. После ухода со службы проживал в Ленинграде, где и умер 5 июля 1976 года. Был похоронен здесь же на Большеохотинском кладбище. Имя Героя Советского Союза Сергея Александровича Осипова было увековечено в мемориале «Воинам-катерникам», который расположен в городе Балтийске, в Калининградской области.

Герой Советского Союза контр-адмирал Сергей Александрович Осипов


За боевые заслуги и отличия в службе Сергей Александрович Осипов был награжден следующими орденами и медалями: медалью «Золотая Звезда» (1942 год), двумя орденами Ленина (1942 и 1954 годы), четырьмя орденами Красного Знамени (1938, 1944, 1945 и 1951 годы), орденом Отечественной войны I степени (1943 год), орденом Ушакова II степени (1944 год), орденом Красной Звезды (1946 год), медалями «За боевые заслуги» (1944 год) и «За оборону Ленинграда».

Также именем Сергея Александровича Осипова назван большой морской танкер комплексного снабжения Северного флота Российской Федерации. До 1997 года корабль носил имя «Днестр», в составе флота с 1973 года. В годы Великой Отечественной войны Сергей Осипов водил в море торпедные катера Г-5 полным водоизмещением всего 18 тонн, а сегодня в его честь назван танкер водоизмещением более 22 тысяч тонн и длиной 162 метра. Танкер «Сергей Осипов» в состоянии на ходу передавать грузы в море траверзным способом, а также снабжать боевые корабли флота разными видами ГСМ, котельной и питьевой воды, а также продовольствием и сухими грузами. Корабль, носящий имя прославленного адмирала, неоднократно обеспечивал действия кораблей ВМФ России в дальних походах в Северном Ледовитом и Атлантическом океанах, а также в Средиземном море.

По материалам из открытых источников.
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 5
  1. a.s.zzz888 5 июля 2016 07:05
    Также именем Сергея Александровича Осипова назван большой морской танкер комплексного снабжения Северного флота Российской Федерации

    Очень хорошая традиция на флоте - увековечивать память героев, в названиях кораблей.
    Русские моряки всегда славились своим бесстрашием перед врагом.
    Семь футов "Сергею Осипову"!
  2. parusnik 5 июля 2016 07:30
    Оставил воспоминания "Подвиг катерников-балтийцев" Лениздат,1961..Сейчас большая библиографическая редкость..Почти не переиздавалась..Спасибо, автору..
  3. Вадим2013 5 июля 2016 19:57
    Бесстрашные люди воевали на торпедных катерах. Светлая память контр-адмиралу Сергею Александровичу Осипову.
  4. Офицер запаса 5 июля 2016 21:13
    Настоящий моряк-балтиец. Достойный жизненный путь.
    Обидно, что к этой статье так мало комментариев.
  5. Reptiloid 6 июля 2016 18:12
    Я думаю,мало комментариев потому,что все ,кто читают--однозначно относятся с уважением и почитанием к контр-адмиралу Сергею Александрович Осипову.Много фактов и имён из истории Родины узнал на страницах ВО.Большое спасибо за статью.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня