Military Review

In the trenches of Verdun

4



This little bundle of sheets, yellowed by time, slumbers today in an old chest of drawers. Twenty sheets of paper, written in small handwriting, tell about the most bloody weeks in stories France. Report on the very first days of the Battle of Verdun, such as they were experienced by a young man 23 years old, which no one was preparing for the role of the chronicler.

His name was René Prieur. He was born 10 August 1891, the son of a history professor from the Lyceum of Charlemagne in Paris. He was one of those three and a half million young Frenchmen who responded to the order of general mobilization in August 1914 of the year. A medical student at the time of the declaration of war, he had been in the Verdun sector for 8 for months, when at the dawn of 21 February 1916, the Germans launched Operation Justice (Gericht), the beginning of what was later called the Verdunas Battle.

When the offensive began, Rene Prier was in the Foss Forest near the village of Louvemont. Located a dozen kilometers north of Verdun and almost the same distance from German batteries, this small village sheltered one of the first aid points of the 29 reserve regiment, which was located right at the front line to receive and bandage the wounded. Being at the head of a small group of orderlies, he had to keep an accurate record of what was happening in his sector. On the first night of the offensive, he begins by drawing up a list of the wounded for the day, before summing up the first hours of the battle in a few lines.

In the trenches of Verdun

Rene with a colleague and orderlies

“Today I had to do a lot of dressings, command the orderlies and choose the least sweep roads to collect the wounded, create a second first-aid station to the right of the one where I worked first. Today we got a lot of gas-lacrimator (Lacrimators (lat. Lacrima - tear), or tear substances - a group of toxic substances (S), irritating the mucous membranes of the eyes and causing uncontrollable tears. For example: bromoacetone - first used by the Germans in July 1915. The French also used gas-lubricant for the first time in August 1914 of the Year in Alsace in the form of hand grenades. Lane.) The bombardment does not stop and more and more incredible rumors spread.


In the photo, on the right: René Prier, against the background of the first aid station Foss Forest, mid February February 1916

For Rene Prier, the night from 21 to 22 February was short. A maximum of one hour of sleep, then the shelling resumed, the shelling was “more intense” than the day before, and now Louvemont was under direct enemy fire. The small village, completely destroyed in the following days and weeks, was never later rebuilt. A young doctor tells about the second day of the battle: “The dugout to the right of the entrance was destroyed by an 305-millimeter projectile, while I helped the Matoit medical attendant from the 165 regiment to stop the bleeding from a soldier wounded in the thigh, the dugout was overfilled, many dead were left to lie at the entrance, three of them are on their knees with luggage bags behind them. Many wounded were killed by this projectile next to me. ”



February 23: “The Germans are using more and more gas-lacrimator. It is impossible to specify the number of wounded. " February 24, this time: "The Germans are here." Very near. So close by that when night fell and Rene "collected the wounded lying in the snow," he came under direct fire from enemy sentries. During that one day: “I was buried four times in funnels,” the young man writes, mentioning for the first time that he thought about his own death: “Despite the fact that it was cold, dirty, and everything was covered with blood, and everything shook from the explosions, I fell asleep from tiredness, having thought about my mother, father and my little Henrietta ... I thought about possible death, about eternity, which is very close, my whole life flashed before my eyes, and I turned to God. - Lord, have mercy on me in my weakness, I beg you ... "



25 February 1916 of the year. “Night, snow falls and the ground is white-white,” writes Rene Pririer after his waking up at 7 in the morning. Abnormally quiet morning. “Nothing special,” only “waiting for a counterattack that can save us.” Alas, hope quickly dissipated, as in 10 in the morning a German patrol suddenly appeared from the forest hanging over Louvémont, who noticed a young medic. Further: “Throwing the knapsack behind my back and hiding the blanket in my bag over my shoulder, I went forward all alone, stretching my white handkerchief and my Red Cross bandage in front of me, shouting:“ We are giving up! ”. I was answered in French, taking me to the sight, about ten meters away:

- We are not barbarians, we will not harm you, how many people are with you?

- Approximately 25.

- Tell them to go out without weapons.

And I shouted: "Comrades, go out without a weapon, you will not do anything bad." My friends left, and I warned the German corporal that there were wounded there. He told me: "We will take them, they will be taken care of." So, the corporal and the four soldiers of the eighth regiment led us through the Fossky forest, completely destroyed by artillery fire. To the path where there was still a sign: Erbebua-Vavriy. Shot 75-millimetric, and the Germans fell. My friends followed me in order, jumping over tree trunks. A German corporal asked me if I wanted to eat. I took a piece of black bread from him, but I showed him that I still have supplies in my bag. In the middle of the ravine at Erbebua, we met an officer. He stopped us. He told me to stay and that later they would take me to a doctor. My friends left me and, passing by, one by one, they shook my hand, while violently beating 75-graph paper. I told them: “Goodbye and good luck! They will not enter Verdun, and we will make them! ”The German officer said:“ Glorious French, good soldiers. ”



February 25, 16 hours. Four hours Rene Prier in the hands of the enemy. After a short lull the battle resumed. Time from four to six in the evening was terrible. “75 millimeter shells mowed down everything: hands, heads, body parts flew in the air. I was spattered with blood. The ravine was filled with the dead, who piled on top of each other. And by quarter past four, when I got out of my trench and trees, I was walking dead. I did not know where I was going. I have never seen anything more like hell. I have heard all my life the metallic sounds of 75 millimeters, ominously rattling branches, the screams of the wounded, an incredible number of dead ones. ” The story resembles what happened in previous days, with the only difference that this time the slaughter, described by René Pririe, is caused by French shells. And now he provides first aid to enemy soldiers. “I tied up German soldiers,” writes a young medic, not without surprise, mentioning the quality of German bandages: “small and impractical.”


René Prier in a trench, near the village of Omon-pre-Samonyö, in 1915. Destroyed during the battle of Verdun, it was not restored after the war.

25 February. The night comes. It was then, near the huge funnel, Rene Prier stumbles upon two German officers. A conversation began. “Very polite, these officers talked to me about the war. They announced to me: Verdun will be taken to 27 (February), the Kaiser will be in Verdun 1 (March), showed me the cards (!!!), confirmed that everything is developing mathematically exactly. I replied that they would not pass, because I was sincerely convinced that the Germans could attack the first two days when they were held back, and now numerous reserves of soldiers, artillery, supplies are already there. So, already 6 days as the shelling does not stop, you see, I still have a day in my bag for 3 days. We, in spite of everything, have hot food! They smiled, saying: "Brave French!", But Verdun will soon be "Kaput!". And the conversation continued, while our guns continued to fire, but in the ravine the intensity of the shelling was already less. By seven o'clock the soldier, wounded in the thigh, took me to the first-aid station, following the white cord.

The orderlies carried the wounded into the tents, orienting themselves with the help of large maps of the Foz Forest. There were two doctors in the first-aid station: the officer who smoked and the non-commissioned officer who did the dressings, and I began to help him. I was offered coffee and canned liver pate.



Before the first-aid station, under fire, the Germans dug individual rifle trenches, laying in each tarpaulin, and the guns continued to grumble, and the shells exploded ominously, causing death. Numerous German wounded arrived at the first aid station. A cheerful light burned in the hearth, where coffee was heated in large kettles. The orderlies were very busy and worked without stopping, taking dressings, morphine and iodine in large baskets. I noticed that there was very little cotton and that preference was given to a material that looked like paper. Exhausted, I asked for permission to rest. I was offered a blanket. I wrapped my head around my bag and slept soundly until 10 hours of the morning, I slept so hard that I didn’t even move when the 75 millimeter projectile fell on the first-aid station. But when I woke up, it was empty, the German doctors evacuated their wounded. How, however, I slept, it was the first time I slept in 10 days.

On these words, written on 26 February 1916 of the year at the German first-aid station in front of the Foss Forest and to the right of Louvemont, Rene Prieur’s recording ends.



His last letter home from the front: “My dear father, this is already the 50 hour of shelling. It's horrible. We were hit by suffocating gas, gas-lacrimator, everything we could. Some of ours are crazy. All is well, but what a sea of ​​fire, iron, destruction, the dead, the wounded. This is an unheard of carnage. But boshes will not pass to Ver ... (censorship!), They fire at him, and we keep them. I'm fine, I can eat, drink and sleep a few hours for the first time in three days. So faith and courage. I embrace you with all my heart: you, mother and sister. Rene. ”

A letter from Major Date, commander of his battalion, to Father René Prieur of 21 March: “I stayed with Monsieur Pririe, medical assistant, until the evening of February 24. I left him only in 16 30, when the remnants of my battalion were to leave Fossky forest under the threat of encirclement. Monsieur Priyer with the medical staff, who were in the shelter, had to stay with numerous wounded various units. He was supposed to fall into the hands of the enemy in the evening by the 17 watch. Perhaps you now have news about him from Germany, at least if he was not left in the occupied territory to treat non-transportable wounded. In this case, it will be much more difficult to receive news about him, since I know that the Germans do not give so easily the right to correspond with our compatriots who are in the occupied territories. Monsieur, accept the assurances of my sincere respect for you. ”

Later, René Prieur was taken by the Red Cross to Switzerland and was exchanged there for a captive German doctor. He returned to the Vedena sector in 1917 and was demobilized in 1919. He could not imagine that in 1939 he would be called again under the banner, already as the captain of the medical service.


In German captivity
Author:
Photos used:
lemonde.fr
4 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Riv
    Riv 9 July 2016 09: 08
    +5
    And now in Paris, and throughout France, traditional pederast parades are held.
    Those who died near Verdun probably turn over in the graves.

    PS: Interestingly the filter works. Why is "bugger" better than "g ... me"?
  2. Tsoy
    Tsoy 9 July 2016 11: 07
    +4
    Verdun - meat grinder for two armies. How joked at the time, Verdun is a game in which artillery competes in how much infantry she will kill. The operation was to exsanguinate the French army, but in the end the losses were terrible on both sides. Everyone knows about the soldiers of the heroes, but that's about the courage and resilience of the carrier pigeons, few people know ...

    7 June 1916 y ode the last carrier pigeon from Fort Waugh arrived with a note written in blood. It was just a few words: "Long live France!". On that day, a handful of defenders of Vaud were captured - almost all French were injured, many could not hold a weapon in their hands. But the taking of the fort cost dearly to the German 5 Army, only the Germans who were killed here lost 2700 soldiers and officers.


    By the time the pigeon arrived, the headquarters thought that Fort W was no longer alive. Dove passed the message and fell dead, poisoned by the last gas attack. Posthumously he was awarded the Order of the Legion of Honor, and on the battlefield he set a memorable monument.


    There was also a darling Sher Ami. Albeit not in the Verdun operation, but in the same war. In 1918, it was transferred from the United States, along with the signal housing. He became famous during the Meuse-Argonne offensive by rescuing 194 soldiers of the lost battalion of the 77 Infantry Division, cut off by the enemy from the rest of the army.

    October 3 1918 of the year, Major Charles Whitelissy and more 500 people made a small breakthrough, but were surrounded, left without food and with limited ammunition. October 4 they, being on the other side of the front, sent a pigeon with inaccurate coordinates. The battalion fell under the fire of the Allies. Many Americans were killed and injured on the first day. Two postage pigeons were sent to the location of the American army with a message, but both of them were killed. There remained the last carrier pigeon - Sher Ami. A note was attached to the left leg of the dove:

    “We are located along the road, height 276,4. Our artillery strikes right at us. For God's sake, stop the fire. ”

    When Sher Ami soared into the sky, the Germans began to shoot at her and even hit several times, but the dove managed to break into the territory occupied by the Americans. She flew 25 miles in just 25 minutes and delivered a message despite having been injured in the chest, lost her eyes and paws. Doctors fought for Sher Ami’s life, and she survived. The Allies managed to push the Germans back and join the battalion. As a result, the 194 soldier of the 77 Infantry Division was rescued by a dove.


    Received the Military Cross for delivered messages for the Battle of Verdun, and the Gold Medal of the American Society of Carrier Pigeons. Both animals have become stuffed and exhibited for display.
  3. Atigay
    Atigay 9 July 2016 21: 16
    0
    Lord, why not learn about the war!
  4. valerei
    valerei 9 July 2016 23: 10
    +1
    Must read Remarque.

В окопах Вердена

В окопах Вердена


Эта маленькая пачка листов, пожелтевших от времени, дремлет сегодня в ящике старого комода. Двадцать листков бумаги, исписанных мелким почерком, рассказывают о наиболее кровавых неделях в истории Франции. Отчёт о самых первых днях Верденской битвы, такие, какими их пережил молодой человек 23 лет от роду, которого никто не готовил на роль хроникёра.

Его звали Рене Приёр. Он родился 10 августа 1891 года, сын профессора истории из лицея Карла Великого в Париже. Он был одним из тех трёх с половиной миллионов юных французов, откликнувшихся на приказ о всеобщей мобилизации в августе 1914 года. Студент-медик в момент объявления войны, он уже 8 месяцев находился в секторе Вердена, когда на заре 21 февраля 1916 года немцы начали операцию «Правосудие» (Gericht), начало того, что позже было названо Верденской битвой.


Когда началось наступление, Рене Приёр был в Фосском лесу рядом с деревней Лувемонт. Расположенная в десятке километров к северу от Вердена и практически на таком же расстоянии от немецких батарей, эта маленькая деревушка приютила один из пунктов первой помощи 29 резервного полка, который был расположен прямо у линии фронта, чтобы принимать и перевязывать раненных. Находясь во главе небольшой группы санитаров, он должен был вести точный учёт того, что происходило в его секторе. В первый вечер наступления, он начинает с составления списка раненных за день, перед тем как подвести в нескольких строчках итог первым часам сражения.

В окопах Вердена

Рене с коллегой и санитары

«Сегодня я должен был сделать много перевязок, командовать санитарами и выбирать наименее простреливаемые дороги, чтобы собирать раненных, создать вторую станцию первой помощи справа от той, где я работал сначала. Сегодня нам досталось много газа-лакриматора (Лакриматоры (лат. lacrima — слеза), или слезоточивые вещества — группа отравляющих веществ (ОВ), раздражающих слизистые оболочки глаз и вызывающих неудержимое слезотечение. Например: бромацетон — впервые применён немцами в июле 1915. Французы же применили газ-лакриматор впервые в августе 1914 года в Эльзасе в виде ручных гранат. прим. пер.) Бомбардировка не прекращается и распространяются всё более невероятные слухи.

В окопах Вердена

На фотографии, справа: Рене Приёр, на фоне пункта первой медицинской помощи. Фосский лес, середина февраля 1916 года

Для Рене Приёра ночь с 21 на 22 февраля была короткой. Максимум один час сна, потом обстрел возобновился, обстрел «более интенсивный», чем накануне, и теперь Лувемонт находился под прямым огнём противника. Маленькая деревушка, полностью разрушенная в последующие дни и недели, так и не была потом восстановлена. Молодой медик рассказывает о втором дне битвы: «Блиндаж справа от входа был уничтожен 305-миллиметровым снарядом, в то время как я помогал санитару Матьо из 165-го полка останавливать кровотечение у бойца, раненного в бедро, блиндаж был переполнен, много убитых осталось лежать у входа, трое из них на коленях с вещмешками за плечами. Много раненых было убито этим снарядом рядом со мной».

В окопах Вердена


23 февраля: «Немцы используют всё больше и больше газа-лакриматора. Невозможно указать количество раненых». 24 февраля, на этот раз: «Немцы здесь». Совсем рядом. Настолько рядом, что, когда наступила ночь и Рене, «собирал раненных, лежащих в снегу», он попал под прямой огонь вражеских часовых. В течение одного этого дня: «я был четыре раза засыпан землёй в воронках», — пишет молодой человек, впервые упоминая, что он задумался о своей собственной смерти: «Несмотря на то что было холодно, грязно, и всё вокруг залито кровью, и всё дрожало от взрывов, я заснул от усталости, успев подумать о матери, отце и моей маленькой Генриетте…Я думал о возможной смерти, о вечности, которая совсем рядом, вся жизнь пронеслась у меня перед глазами, и я обратился к Богу. — Господи, помилуй меня в моей слабости, я умоляю тебя…»

В окопах Вердена


25 февраля 1916 года. «Ночь, падает снег и земля белым-бела», — пишет Рене Приёр после своего пробуждения в 7 часов утра. Ненормально тихое утро. «Ничего особенного», только «ожидание контратаки, которая может нас спасти». Увы, надежда быстро рассеялась, так как в 10 утра из леса, нависшего над Лувемонтом, внезапно появился немецкий патруль, который заметил юного медика. Далее: «Закинув вещмешок за спину и спрятав одеяло в сумку через плечо, я пошёл вперёд совсем один, протягивая перед собой мой белый платок и мою повязку Красного Креста, крича: «Мы сдаёмся!». Мне ответили на французском, взяв меня на прицел, метров с десяти:

— Мы не варвары, мы не причиним вам вреда, сколько людей с вами?

— Примерно 25.

— Скажите им выходить без оружия.

И я крикнул: «Товарищи, выходите без оружия, вам не сделают ничего плохого». Мои друзья вышли, и я предупредил немецкого капрала, что там остались раненые. Он мне сказал: «Мы их заберём, о них позаботятся». Итак, капрал и четыре солдата восьмого полка повели нас через Фосский лес, полностью уничтоженный артогнём. К тропинке, где ещё был знак: Эрбебуа-Ваврий. Выстрелила 75-милллиметровка, и немцы упали. Мои друзья следовали за мной по порядку, перепрыгивая через стволы деревьев. Немецкий капрал спросил меня, не хочу ли я есть. Я взял у него кусок чёрного хлеба, но я показал ему, что у меня ещё есть припасы в моей сумке. Посередине оврага у Эрбебуа мы встретили офицера. Он нас остановил. Он сказал мне остаться и что позже меня отведут к врачу. Мои друзья покинули меня и, проходя мимо, один за другим они пожимали мне руку, в то время как яростно били 75-миллиметровки. Я сказал им: «До свидания и удачи! Они не войдут в Верден, и мы их сделаем!» Немецкий офицер произнёс: «Славные французы, хорошие солдаты».

В окопах Вердена


25 февраля, 16 часов. Четыре часа Рене Приёр в руках врага. После короткого затишья сражение возобновилось. Время с четырёх до шести вечера было ужасным. «75 миллиметровые снаряды скашивали всё: руки, головы, части тела летали в воздухе. Я был забрызган кровью. Овраг был наполнен мёртвыми, которые нагромождались один на другого. И к четверти пятого, когда я выбрался из моего окопа и деревьев, я шёл по мёртвым. Я не знал, куда я иду. Я никогда не видел ничего, больше похожего на ад. Я слышу всю мою жизнь металлические звуки 75-миллиметровок, зловеще трещащие ветви, крики раненых, невероятное количество мёртвых». Рассказ напоминает то, что случилось в предыдущие дни, с той только разницей, что на этот раз бойня, описываемая Рене Приёром, вызвана французскими снарядами. И теперь он оказывает первую помощь вражеским солдатам. «Я перевязывал немецких солдат», — пишет молодой медик, не без удивления упоминая качество немецких бинтов: «маленьких и непрактичных».

В окопах Вердена

Рене Приёр в траншее, возле деревни Омон-пре-Самоньё, в 1915 году. Разрушенная в ходе Верденской битвы, она не была восстановлена после войны

25 февраля. Приходит ночь. Именно тогда, рядом с огромной воронкой, Рене Приёр натыкается на двух немецких офицеров. Завязался разговор. «Очень вежливые, эти офицеры говорили со мной о войне. Они мне объявили: Верден будет взят к 27 (февраля), кайзер будет в Вердене 1-го (марта), показали мне карты (!!!), подтвердили, что всё развивается математически точно. Я ответил, что они не пройдут, потому что искренне убеждён, что немцы могли наступать два первых дня, когда их сдерживали, а сейчас многочисленные резервы солдат, артиллерии, припасов уже там. Итак, уже 6 дней как не прекращается артобстрел, видите, у меня ещё на 3 дня припасов в моей сумке. У нас, несмотря ни на что, есть горячая еда! Они улыбались, говоря: «Храбрые французы!», но Верден скоро будет «Капут!». И разговор продолжался, пока наши пушки продолжали стрелять, но в овраге интенсивность обстрела была уже меньше. К семи часам солдат, раненный в бедро, отвёл меня к пункту первой помощи, следуя белому шнуру.

Санитары носили раненых в палатки, ориентируясь с помощью больших карт Фосского леса. В пункте первой помощи было два медика: офицер, который курил, и унтер-офицер, который делал перевязки, и я стал помогать ему. Мне предложили кофе и консервированный печёночный паштет.

В окопах Вердена


Перед пунктом первой помощи, под огнём, немцы рыли индивидуальные стрелковые окопчики, закладывая в каждый брезент, а пушки продолжали ворчать, и снаряды зловеще взрывались, сея смерть. Многочисленные немецкие раненые прибывали на пункт первой помощи. Весёлый огонёк горел в очаге, где грелось кофе в больших котелках. Санитары были очень заняты и работали без остановки, беря перевязочный материал, морфин и йод в больших корзинах. Я заметил, что было очень мало ваты и что предпочтение отдавалось материалу, который был похож на бумагу. Измождённый, я попросил разрешения отдохнуть. Мне предложили одеяло. Я завернулся и лёг головой на мой мешок и крепко проспал до 10 часов утра, я спал так крепко, что даже не пошевелился, когда 75 миллиметровый снаряд упал на пункт первой помощи. Но когда я проснулся, он был пуст, немецкие медики эвакуировали своих раненых. Как, однако, я спал, это был первый раз, когда я выспался за 10 дней.

На этих словах, написанных 26 февраля 1916 года на немецком пункте первой помощи перед Фосским лесом и справа от Лувемонта, заканчиваются записи Рене Приёра.

В окопах Вердена


Его последнее письмо домой с фронта: «Мой дорогой отец, вот уже 50-ый час артобстрела. Это ужасно. По нам ударили удушающим газом, газом-лакриматором, всем, чем можно. Некоторые из наших сошли с ума. Всё хорошо, но какое море огня, железа, разрушения, мёртвых, раненых. Это неслыханная бойня. Но боши не пройдут к Вер…(цензура!), они его обстреливают, а мы их держим. Я в порядке, я могу поесть, выпить и поспать несколько часов впервые за три дня. Итак, вера и мужество. Я обнимаю тебя всего сердца: тебя, маму и сестру. Рене.»

Письмо майора Дата, командира его батальона, отцу Рене Приёра от 21 марта: «Я оставался с месье Приёром, помощником врача, до вечера 24 февраля. Я его покинул только в 16 30, когда остатки моего батальона должны были покинуть Фосский лес под угрозой окружения. Месье Приёр с медперсоналом, которые находились в укрытии, должны были остаться с многочисленными ранеными различных подразделений. Он должен был попасть в руки врага вечером к 17 часам. Возможно, у вас сейчас есть новости о нём из Германии, по крайней мере если его не оставили на оккупированной территории, чтобы лечить нетранспортабельных раненых. В таком случае получить новости о нём будет гораздо сложнее, так как я знаю, что немцы не предоставляют так легко право переписки нашим соотечественникам, которые находятся на оккупированных территориях. Месье, примите уверения в моём искреннем к вам почтении».

Позже Рене Приёр был вывезен Красным Крестом в Швейцарию и был там обменен на пленного немецкого врача. Он вернулся в сектор Ведена в 1917 и был демобилизован в 1919-м. Он и представить себе не мог, что в 1939 его вновь призовут под знамёна, уже как капитана медицинской службы.

В окопах Вердена

В немецком плену
Автор: Олег Егоров
Перевод: lemonde.fr
Использованы фотографии: lemonde.fr

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 4
  1. Riv 9 июля 2016 09:08
    А нынче в Париже, да и по всей Франции проводятся традиционные педераст-парады.
    Погибшие под Верденом наверное в могилах переворачиваются.

    ЗЫ: Интересно фильтр работает. Чем "педераст" лучше "г...я"?
    Riv
  2. Цой 9 июля 2016 11:07
    Верден - мясорубка для двух армий. Как шутили в то время, Верден это игра в которой артиллерия соревнуется в том, сколько пехоты она убьет. Операция должна была обескровить французскую армию, но в итоге потери были ужасными с обоих сторон. Все знают про солдат героев, но вот про храбрость и стойкость почтовых голубей мало кому известно...

    7 июня 1916 г ода последний почтовый голубь из форта Во прилетел с запиской, написанной кровью. В ней было всего несколько слов: «Да здравствует Франция!». В этот день была взята в плен горстка защитников Во — практически все французы были ранены, многие не могли держать в руках оружие. Но взятие форта дорого обошлось и германской 5-й армии, только убитыми немцы потеряли здесь 2700 солдат и офицеров.


    К моменту прибытия голубя в штабе думали, что в форте Во уже нет живых. Голубь передал послание и упал замертво, отравленный последней газовой атакой. Посмертно ему вручили Орден Почетного легиона, а на поле сражения ему установлен памятный монумент.


    Была еще голубка Шер Ами. Пусть и не в Верденской операции, но в ту же войну. В 1918 году ее перебросили из Сша, вместе с сигнальным корпусом. Прославилась в ходе Мёз-Аргоннского наступления спасением 194 солдат потерянного батальона 77-й пехотной дивизии, отрезанных противником от остальной армии.

    3 октября 1918 года, майор Чарльз Уайтлиси и более 500 человек сделали небольшой прорыв, но попали в окружение, оставшись без продовольствия и с ограниченным боезапасом. 4 октября они, будучи по другую сторону фронта, отправили почтового голубя с неточными координатами. Батальон попал под огонь союзников. Многие американцы были убиты и ранены в первый же день. В расположение американской армии было отправлено два почтовых голубя с посланием, но оба они были убиты. Оставался последний почтовый голубь — Шер Ами. К левой ноге голубки была привязана записка:

    «Мы находимся вдоль дороги, высота 276,4. Наша артиллерия наносит удары прямо по нам. Ради всего святого, прекратите огонь.»

    Когда Шер Ами взлетела в небо, немцы стали палить по ней и даже несколько раз попали, однако голубке удалось прорваться на территорию, занятую американцами. Она пролетела 25 миль всего за 25 минут и доставила послание несмотря на то, что была ранена в грудь, лишилась глаза и лапки. Врачи боролись за жизнь Шер Ами, и она выжила. Союзникам удалось оттеснить немцев и соединиться с батальоном. В итоге голубкой было спасено 194 солдата 77-й пехотной дивизии.


    Получила Военный крест за доставленные сообщения за битву при Вердене, и Золотую медаль американского общества почтовых голубей. Оба животных стали чучелами и выставляются для показа.
  3. Атыгай 9 июля 2016 21:16
    Господи, чего только не узнаешь о войне!
  4. valerei 9 июля 2016 23:10
    Надо читать Ремарка.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня