Military Review

140 years ago was born the legendary Russian athlete and aeronaut Sergei Isaevich Utochkin

8
12 July 1876 was born in Odessa, one of the first Russian aviators and pilots-athletes, a versatile and very talented athlete Sergey Isaevich Utochkin. In 1910-1913, he was perhaps the most famous and popular pilot of the Russian Empire. Although Sergei Utochkin lived a short life, she was bright enough to forever inscribe his name in the domestic historywhere he entered and as "Russian grandfather aviation».


One of the first domestic aviators loved sports and was a very versatile person and a talented athlete - swordsman, swimmer, boxer, bike, motorcycle and race driver, yachtsman, football player. His contribution to the promotion of aviation in Russia in the 1910-1914 years is truly great. At this time, Utochkin made dozens of demonstration flights in many cities of the empire. At the same time, his flights were observed by future famous pilots and aircraft designers, among whom were S.V. Ilyushin, I.I. Sikorsky, P.O. Sukhoi, S.P. Korolev and many others. His friend, the writer Alexander Kuprin, wrote about him: "Of the many people I have seen, he is the brightest in originality and spirit of the figure."

Sergey Isaevich Utochkin was born in Odessa on July 12 1876, in a merchant family. His father belonged to the 2 th merchant guild, being considered a very successful construction contractor. In 1881, at the age of five, he was left without a mother who died in childbirth, giving birth to his younger brother. And soon, after becoming ill with tuberculosis, Sergey's father also passed away. The relatives of the father took over the custody of the orphaned children of the Utochkin family. At first it was a cousin. But then the boys began to be brought up from strangers who took them to the boarding house with money left by their father.

140 years ago was born the legendary Russian athlete and aeronaut Sergei Isaevich Utochkin


As a child, Sergei Utochkin witnessed a tragedy that left an imprint on his entire life. In the family of the teacher of Richelieu gymnasium, a certain Krause, in which he was brought up, there was a real tragedy. The father of the family got drunk and hanged himself, for several days nothing was known about him until his wife found him in the attic of the house. What she saw deprived her mind, the woman took a knife and stabbed her children. Sergey woke up from terrible screams, saw around a pool of blood and the insane eyes of a woman with a knife in her hands. He managed to escape literally a miracle, but from then until the end of his life he stuttered. Even despite his sporting achievements in the future, he was forever a man of heightened sensitivity and an unstable psyche, his fate was to some extent predetermined by the terrible events of childhood.

Prior to 15, Sergei studied at St. Paul’s commercial school in Odessa, after which he left school to practice sports, which brought him all-Russian fame. In an autobiographical essay published in 1913 under the title “My Confession”, Sergei Isaevich Utochkin wrote that he had successfully engaged in 15 sports. Not possessing any outstanding natural data, Utochkin managed to achieve success in sports due to his strength of will and great diligence. So he became the champion of Odessa in fencing, tennis, speed skating, rowing, boxing, swimming and wrestling. Independently engaged in the construction of the yacht and then won her sailing regattas. He even managed to sink to the bottom of the sea in a diving suit. In addition, Sergey Utochkin became one of the first football players in the country, playing for the amateur team of the Odessa British Athletic Club. At that time, football in the Russian Empire was cultivated mainly among foreigners, however Sergey Utochkin broke this tradition, having established two football clubs in Odessa at once, in one of them he was elected captain. Utochkin was also one of the first in the country who mastered roller skates. The future aviator made parachute jumps, was engaged in jiu-jitsu, later became a famous cyclist, drove a car and a motorcycle.

Being a very versatile athlete, Utochkin achieved the greatest success as a cyclist. Odessa writer Valentin Kataev later wrote in his memoirs: "The bicycle was the element of Utochkin." At the turn of the century, at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries, Odessa was considered a real center of cycling in the south of Russia. Sergey Utochkin became a member of the Odessa Society of Amateur Cyclists in the spring of 1890, after which over the next 20 years he achieved multiple victories in competitions both domestically and abroad. So he repeatedly became the champion and record holder of Russia and won awards at international cycling competitions, which were held in Europe.



Often Sergei Utochkin, even yielding to more eminent athletes in the experience, knew how to achieve victory, thanks to his endurance and endurance, which allowed him to save strength for the spurt at the very finish. The ability to finish made Utochkina a very famous cyclist in Europe. The 1895-1905 years were a time of very high popularity of cycling in the Russian Empire, and Sergey Utochkin was recognized as an unsurpassed sprinter and was one of the favorites of the Russian public. According to Utochkin himself, it is the skills that he acquired during sports that helped him in the future independently and in a relatively short time to master the management of various aeronautical devices, first of all - by airplanes.

In this case, the famous Odessa sportsman was not enough to win only on the cycle track or the football field, Utochkin wanted to expand the limits of human capabilities. To do this, he ran a race with the Odessa steam tram, competed on roller skates against a cyclist, and on a bicycle with a race horse, and, with the same success, achieving victories. The famous Potemkin Staircase in Odessa became for Sergei a real source of sports tricks: he descended her steps on a motorcycle, bicycle and car.

At the same time, doing sports, Sergey Utochkin did not make any fortune for himself. On the contrary, he spent personal funds to purchase sports equipment and equipment, paid for trips to competitions in Russia and abroad. His expenses increased significantly after he became interested in aviation and aeronautics. At the same time, Utochkin never denied anyone any material assistance, and his generosity and responsiveness were well known to the people of Odessa.

October 2 1907 in Odessa, after a series of unsuccessful attempts, Utochkin was able to make an independent flight on a balloon he bought. This flight took place at an altitude of 1200 meters above ground. And in 1908, he and his friend went to Egypt, where he also made several flights.



In the autumn of 1908, Henri Farman, a French aviator, made his famous flight almost 30 kilometers in France in a biplane made by Farman brothers, and on July 25 1909, another Frenchman, Louis Bleriau, made a flight from France to England, breaking the La Strait -Manche by air, for which he was presented to the Order of the Legion of Honor. These and other world events that were related to aviation, as well as the demonstration flights of foreign pilots that began in 1909 in the Russian Empire, have aroused genuine interest in and enthusiasm for aeronautics in the country. Sergei Isaevich could not stay away from this.

Around the same time, a number of Russian pilots, including those representing Odessa, began to study abroad. March 31 (April 13 on the new style) 1910, Sergey Utochkin took off for the first time in the Farman-IV biplane, which belonged to the Odessa banker Xydias. Subsequently, Sergei bought him a biplane, using the aircraft in his subsequent tour of Russian cities. Sergei Utochkin became the second certified pilot in the history of Russian aeronautics (the first was Mikhail Efimov). If Mikhail Efimov mastered flying skills in France at the Farman school, then Sergei Utochkin learned to fly independently and already in the spring of 1910, he successfully passed the examinations for the title of pilot-aviator in the Odessa flying club, and later confirmed his title at the IWAC - Imperial All-Russian Aviation Club. Already in May, 1910, Sergey Utochkin began performing demonstration flights in Kiev, Kharkov, Moscow and Nizhny Novgorod. In total, in the 1910-1912 years, Sergey Utochkin performed the order of 150 flights, visiting 70 cities in the Russian Empire and beyond.

Sergei Utochkin became the first Russian aviator who raised the airplane in the Moscow sky. Professor Nikolai Yegorovich Zhukovsky, who was present during these first flights, noted that in addition to his ability and knowledge, Sergey has an innate ability for an aviator. Demonstrations of flights performed by Sergey Utochkin gathered thousands of crowds of spectators. For example, 22 on April 1910 in Kiev on demonstration flights was attended by up to 49 00 spectators. On the performance of Utochkina in Baku, which took place on October 23 1910, came about 20 000 people.



In the summer of 1910, the peak of glory and popularity of the aviator in Russia fell. For example, on July 3, in the presence of a large number of spectators, the Farman aircraft under the control of Utochkin rose into the sky. He took off from the territory of the Factory, Artistic, Industrial and Agricultural All-Russian Exhibition in Odessa, having flown over the Gulf of Odessa. This flight for Utochkin was the jubilee - the hundredth. Some media have compared it in importance with the famous flight of Bleriot over the English Channel.

In July, 1911, Sergey Utochkin took part in a grand for that time flight on the route Petersburg - Moscow. Rising to the sky from the Kolomyazhsky airfield, several aircraft immediately headed for Moscow. In this case, not all flew to the end point of the route. During the flight, one pilot was killed, three more were injured of varying severity. Sergei Utochkin himself suffered an accident in the territory of the Novgorod province, under the Sacra, - here his airplane crashed into the river bank and fell into small pieces. But for the aviator everything ended well enough, although Sergei had a fractured collarbone, dislocated knees and numerous bruises and abrasions all over his body, but the most important thing was that he literally survived in this accident.

By that time, freckled and fiery-red Sergey Utochkin had already learned and loved the whole country. He was a real public idol. Even during his life, books and articles about him began to appear in the world, and in the USSR a feature film “In the Loop of the Dead” was shot about him, in which the main role was played by Oleg Strizhenov. In those years, aerial adventures and somersaults on the verge of Utochkin’s hooliganism became the subject of discussion and the jokes of ordinary people for a long time. The aviator began to make public flights again only in 1912, having recovered from the consequences of the accident. At the same time, he visited not only major, but also small Russian cities. In particular, in the spring of 1912, he visited the village of Kamenskaya, located on the Seversky Donets, in the Don Army Region.

By that time, numerous accidents and injuries suffered by Utochkin, chronic insomnia and severe headaches, as well as nervous breakdown amid personal family drama (during his illness in the summer of 1911, his wife left him) led to an emotional fallen aviator. In 1913, he developed into a mental disorder. The abuse was also caused by the abuse of first painkillers containing morphine, and then hashish and cocaine, which the pilot met back in 1908, in Egypt, during balloon flights here. A certain role was also played by the fact that Sergey Isaevich failed to achieve the same achievements in ballooning as he managed to achieve in sports. Sergei Utochkin did not become the best Russian pilot. In addition, the Russian public, whose opinion Utochkin always valued strongly, continued to see him as an eccentric athlete, a kind of aerial acrobat, and not a hero-aviator.

[/ center [center]] Bronze monument to the pioneer of Russian aviation Sergei Utochkin, installed in Odessa at Deribasovskaya Street, 22


The last years of his life were spent in St. Petersburg, Chisinau and his native Odessa. Periods of treatment were replaced by periods of need and job searches. At that time, the reputation of the "madman" was firmly established for Utochkin. The relapses of his mental illness, which were fed by the use of narcotic drugs, gave way to a normal state, but Utochkin could no longer arrange his life. He did not have permanent earnings, earning money only by playing billiards. At the same time, Kuprin published his memoirs in The Blue Magazine.

Started in August 1914, the First World War aroused new hopes in Sergey. He was eager to get to the front, to be in aviation, believing that the accumulated knowledge and skills in aeronautics would be in demand in battles. But wherever the pilot went, everywhere he received only waivers — he was considered not quite normal for military service, and even the favorable reviews of some doctors did not convince members of military draft boards.

In the end, his perseverance provided the result. In 1915, he achieved enrollment in the automobile-aviation squad near Petrograd with the rank of ensign. Here he was an instructor, again having the opportunity to do his favorite thing - flights. During one of these flights in December 1915, the pilot caught a very bad cold and was hospitalized in St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Hospital on the Moika River. Here he died of complications caused by pneumonia, on the night of the new 1916 year. The pioneer of Russian aviation died on December 31 1915 (January 13 1916 of the new style). He passed away in his incomplete 40 years, five of which he gave to aviation. Sergei Utochkin was buried in St. Petersburg at Nikolsky cemetery of the Alexander Nevsky Monastery.

Based on materials from open sources
Author:
8 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 12 July 2016 08: 07
    +2
    Where are the residents of St. Petersburg,
    Are you running in a crowd of merry?

    What event drives you
    On the outskirts of a stunted forest?
    There are umbrellas with white foam
    Boys and power people,
    The military is ringing with broadswords,
    The orchestra plays the waltz.


    Ah, the pilot, desperate Utochkin,
    Driving glasses do not suit you.
    What a ridiculous joke
    Glide on an air stream?
    And is it really necessary for you
    To get up to the holiday dark
    Everyman was staring at you,
    Dropping your boater?

    Strollers cramped near the curb,
    Excited and preoccupied
    Crowds of merchants and workers
    And everyone is happy without memory
    See in the sky above the city
    In a space filled with cold
    To the sounds of the unstable ladies choir
    An absurd machine soars.

    He is so clumsy and helpless!
    Like a sailboat driven by the wind yet
    Looking for support in space with a screw,
    He rushes over his head.
    Isn’t that fun, anyway?
    Rejoice for the offspring, mother,
    Since it is very entertaining
    This festive circus trick.

    Where are the residents of St. Petersburg,
    Are you running in a crowd of merry?
    Fighters don't make their mark
    At the turn of the century,
    The arch of the sky is deserted and fresh yet
    Only the first frontier has been reached yet ...
    Isn’t a bomb shelter tomorrow
    Will they open in your yard?

    the feature film "In the Dead Loop", in which Oleg Strizhenov played the main role.
    The script of the film was written by Leonid Trauberg with the participation of S. Timoshenko back in 1940. The film began to be shot at the Lenfilm studio Semyon Timoshenko and Boris Babochkin. Moreover, he turned out to be B. Babochkin's directorial debut in the cinema. He was also the first performer of the role of Sergei Utochkin ... The war interrupted filming, but the footage was preserved ... We returned to the script in 1962 The premiere took place on February 4, 1963 ... The film was shot at the film studio. A. Dovzhenko ... The cast constellation of actors' names: Oleg Strizhenov, Viktor Korshunov, Stanislav Chekan, Alexander Movchan, Elza Lezhdey, Nikolai Lebedev, Georgy Babenko, Petr Vesklyarov, Nikolai Volkov Sr., Vladimir Dalsky, Taisiya Litvinenko, Yuri Medvedev Milyutenko, Lev Perfilov, Sergey Petrov, Nikolay Pishvanov, Grigory Teslya, Pavel Springfeld, Anatoly Skibenko, Nadezhda Titarenko ...


    1. moskowit
      moskowit 12 July 2016 16: 34
      +3
      Thank you for remembering this wonderful film about Sergei Utochkin. We, then ten-year-old boys, first learned about this versatile athlete. The cinema of that time carried a great educational load. Could we have learned about Utochkin if the film had not been released about him In those years, there was another film with Strizhenov, from which all my peers were delighted. A film based on Jack London's story "Mexican" about a boxer ... In general, those years were marked by the release of films on a highly spiritual, heroic theme, designed to educate young people ... And the film "The Last Inch" with the famous song ...
      "A land mine hit with a heavy explosion,
      A fountain of fire shot up ... "
  2. thinker
    thinker 12 July 2016 08: 21
    +1
    Sergei Utochkin was buried in St. Petersburg at the Nikolsky cemetery of the Alexander Nevsky Lavra.
  3. Aleksander
    Aleksander 12 July 2016 08: 56
    +1
    An amazing person and a worthy citizen who died during the defense of the Fatherland.
  4. Berkut24
    Berkut24 12 July 2016 10: 18
    0
    Oddly enough, Russia has always made a leap forward exclusively thanks to the madmen. Peter the Great was considered a madman, who dared to challenge the Swedes, Zhukovsky and Ushakov and Suvorov and hundreds of other "madmen" who did what their contemporaries believed was not possible were considered crazy.
    But the "calculating accountants" have always lost.
  5. Naum
    Naum 12 July 2016 10: 45
    +2
    "The madness of the brave is the wisdom of life! We sing glory to the madness of the brave ..."
  6. not main
    not main 12 July 2016 22: 30
    0
    All this is well described in the book by Yuri Manuilovich Halperin "Air Cossack Verdun". Almost all the first aviators of Russia, Utochkin, Efimov, Slavorossov, Kazakov and many others are described there! Read it will be very interesting!
  7. chaga
    chaga April 5 2017 06: 12
    0
    In the third photo above, you have not Utochkin, but Efimov. I think it is important to know such famous photographs. And be sure to sign in the article.

140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин

12 июля 1876 года в Одессе родился один из первых русских авиаторов и летчиков-спортсменов, многосторонний и очень талантливый спортсмен Сергей Исаевич Уточкин. В 1910-1913 годах он был, пожалуй, самым известным и популярным летчиком-спортсменом Российской империи. Хотя Сергей Уточкин прожил короткую жизнь, она была достаточно яркой, чтобы навсегда вписать его имя в отечественную историю, куда он вошел и как «дедушка русской авиации».

Один из первых отечественных авиаторов любил спорт и был очень многосторонним человеком и талантливым спортсменом — фехтовальщиком, пловцом, боксером, вело-, мото- и автогонщиком, яхтсменом, футболистом. Его заслуга в популяризации авиации в России в 1910-1914 годы по-настоящему велика. В это время Уточкин совершил десятки демонстрационных полетов во многих городах империи. При этом его полеты наблюдали будущие известные летчики и авиаконструкторы, среди которых были С. В. Ильюшин, И. И. Сикорский, П. О. Сухой, С. П. Королев и многие другие. Его друг, писатель Александр Куприн, писал о нем: «Из многих виденных мною людей он самая яркая по оригинальности и духу фигура».

Сергей Исаевич Уточкин родился в Одессе 12 июля 1876 года в купеческой семье. Отец его принадлежал ко 2-й купеческой гильдии, считаясь очень успешным строительным подрядчиком. В 1881 году в возрасте пяти лет он остался без матери, которая умерла при родах, родив ему младшего брата. А вскоре, заболев туберкулезом, из жизни ушел и отец Сергея. Опекунство над ставшими сиротами детьми Уточкиных взяли на себя родственники отца. Сначала это была двоюродная сестра. Но затем мальчики стали воспитываться у чужих людей, которые брали их на пансион на деньги, оставленные отцом.


140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин


В детстве Сергей Уточкин стал свидетелем трагедии, которая наложила отпечаток на всю его оставшуюся жизнь. В семье учителя Ришельевской гимназии, некоего Краузе, в которой он воспитывался, произошла самая настоящая трагедия. Отец семейства напился и повесился, несколько дней о нем не было ничего известно, пока его жена не нашла его на чердаке дома. Увиденное лишило ее рассудка, женщина взяла нож и зарезала своих детей. Сергей проснулся от страшных криков, увидел вокруг лужи крови и безумные глаза женщины с ножом в руках. Ему удалось спастись буквально чудом, но с тех пор и до конца своей жизни он заикался. Даже несмотря на свои спортивные достижения в будущем, он навсегда остался человеком с повышенной чувствительностью и неустойчивой психикой, судьба его в какой-то мере была предопределена ужасными событиями детства.

До 15 лет Сергей обучался в коммерческом училище Святого Павла в Одессе, после чего оставил учебу, ради занятий спортом, который и принес ему всероссийскую известность. В опубликованном в 1913 году автобиографическом очерке под названием «Моя исповедь» Сергей Исаевич Уточкин писал, что успешно занимался 15 видами спорта. Не обладая какими-то выдающимися природными данными, Уточкин сумел добиться успехов в спорте благодаря силе воли и большому трудолюбию. Так он становился чемпионом Одессы в соревнованиях по фехтованию, теннису, конькобежному спорту, гребле, боксу, плаванию и борьбе. Самостоятельно занимался постройкой яхты и затем побеждал на ней в парусных регатах. Он даже успел опуститься на дно моря в водолазном костюме. Помимо этого Сергей Уточкин стал одним из первых в стране футболистов, выступая за любительскую команду Одесского британского атлетического клуба. В то время футбол в Российской империи культивировался главным образом среди иностранцев, однако Сергей Уточкин сломал эту традицию, основав в Одессе сразу два футбольных клуба, в одном из них он был избран капитаном. Также Уточкин одним из первых в стране освоил роликовые коньки. Будущий авиатор совершал прыжки с парашютом, занимался джиу-джитсу, в дальнейшем стал известным велогонщиком, водил автомобиль и мотоцикл.

Будучи очень разносторонним спортсменом, Уточкин добился наибольших успехов, как велогонщик. Одесский писатель Валентин Катаев позднее в своих воспоминаниях писал: «Велосипед был стихией Уточкина». На рубеже веков в конце XIX и начале XX века Одесса считалась настоящим центром велосипедного спорта юга России. Членом Одесского общества велосипедистов-любителей Сергей Уточкин стал еще весной 1890 года, после чего на протяжении последующих 20 лет добивался многократных побед на соревнованиях как внутри страны, так и за границей. Так он неоднократно становился чемпионом и рекордсменом России и завоевывал награды на международных велосипедных соревнованиях, которые проводились в Европе.

140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин


Часто Сергей Уточкин, даже уступая более именитым спортсменам в опыте, умел добиваться победы, благодаря выносливости и выдержке, которые позволяли ему сохранять силы для спурта на самом финише. Умение финишировать сделало Уточкина очень известным велогонщиком и в Европе. 1895-1905 годы были временем очень большой популярности велоспорта в Российской империи, а Сергей Уточкин признавался непревзойденным спринтером и был одним из любимцев российской публики. По словам самого Уточкина, именно навыки, которые были получены им во время занятий спортом, помогли ему в будущем самостоятельно и в достаточно короткие сроки освоить управление разными воздухоплавательными аппаратами, в первую очередь — аэропланами.

При этом знаменитому одесскому спортсмену было недостаточно побеждать только на велотреке или футбольном поле, Уточкин хотел расширить пределы человеческих возможностей. Для этого он бегал наперегонки с одесским паровым трамваем, соревновался на роликовых коньках против велосипедиста, а на велосипеде со скаковой лошадью, причем, с неизменным успехом добиваясь побед. Знаменитая Потемкинская лестница в Одессе стала для Сергея настоящим источником спортивных трюков: он спускался по ее ступеням на мотоцикле, велосипеде и автомобиле.

При этом, занимаясь спортом, Сергей Уточкин не нажил себе никакого состояния. Напротив, он тратил личные средства на приобретение спортивного снаряжения и инвентаря, оплачивал поездки на соревнования в России и за границей. Расходы его значительно выросли после того, как он увлекся авиацией и воздухоплаванием. Одновременно с этим Уточкин никому и никогда не отказывал в получении материальной помощи, а его щедрость и отзывчивость были хорошо известны жителям Одессе.

2 октября 1907 года в Одессе после ряда неудачных попыток Уточкин смог совершить самостоятельный полет на купленном им воздушном шаре. Данный полет происходил на высоте 1200 метров над землей. А уже в 1908 году он вместе со своим товарищем отправился в Египет, где также совершил несколько полетов.

140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин


Осенью 1908 года Анри Фарман французский авиатор совершил свой знаменитый перелет длиной практически в 30 километров во Франции на биплане конструкции братьев Фарман, а уже 25 июля 1909 года еще один француз — Луи Блерио на моноплане собственной конструкции совершил перелет из Франции в Англию, преодолев пролив Ла-Манш по воздуху, за что был представлен к ордену Почетного легиона. Эти и другие мировые события, которые были связаны с авиацией, а также начавшиеся в 1909 году в Российской империи демонстрационные полеты иностранных пилотов, вызвали в стране неподдельный интерес и увлечение воздухоплаванием. Не мог остаться в стороне от этого и Сергей Исаевич.

Примерно в это же время целый ряд русских пилотов, в том числе представлявших Одессу, приступили к обучению за границей. 31 марта (13 апреля по новому стилю) 1910 года Сергей Уточкин впервые взлетел на биплане «Фарман-IV», который принадлежал одесскому банкиру Ксидиасу. Впоследствии Сергей выкупил у него биплан, использовав воздушное судно в своем последующем турне по российским городам. Сергей Уточкин стал вторым дипломированным летчиком в истории российского воздухоплавания (первым был Михаил Ефимов). Если Михаил Ефимов осваивал летное мастерство во Франции в школе Фармана, то Сергей Уточкин выучился летать самостоятельно и уже весной 1910 года успешно сдал экзамены на звание пилота-авиатора в Одесском аэроклубе, а в дальнейшем подтвердил свое звание в ИВАК — Императорском всероссийском авиаклубе. Уже в мае 1910 года Сергей Уточкин приступил к выполнению показательных полетов в Киеве, Харькове, Москве и Нижнем Новгороде. В общей сложности в 1910-1912 годах Сергей Уточкин выполнил порядка 150 полетов, посетив 70 городов в Российской империи и за ее пределами.

Сергей Уточкин стал первым российским авиатором, который поднял аэроплан в московское небо. Присутствующий при этих первых полетах профессор Николай Егорович Жуковский отметил, что у Сергея помимо умения и знания есть необходимая для авиатора врожденная способность. Демонстрации полетов в исполнении Сергея Уточкина собирали многотысячные толпы зрителей. К примеру, 22 апреля 1910 года в Киеве на показательных полетах присутствовало до 49 00 зрителей. На выступление Уточкина в Баку, которое состоялось 23 октября 1910 года, пришло порядка 20 000 человек.

140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин


На лето 1910 года пришелся пик славы и популярности авиатора в России. К примеру, 3 июля в присутствии большого количества зрителей в небо поднялся самолет «Фарман» под управлением Уточкина. Он совершил взлет с территории Фабрично-заводской, художественно-промышленной и сельскохозяйственной всероссийской выставки в Одессе, перелетев через Одесский залив. Данный полет для Уточкина был юбилейным — сотым. Некоторые СМИ сравнили его по важности со знаменитым перелетом Блерио через Ла-Манш.

В июле 1911 года Сергей Уточкин принял участие в грандиозном для того времени перелете по маршруту Петербург — Москва. Поднявшись в небо с Коломяжского аэродрома, несколько самолетов сразу же взяли курс в направлении Москвы. При этом до конечной точки маршрута долетели не все. Во время перелета один летчик погиб, еще трое получили ранения разной степени тяжести. Сам Сергей Уточкин потерпел аварию на территории Новгородской губернии, под Крестцами, — здесь его аэроплан врезался в берег реки и развалился на мелкие части. Но для авиатора все закончилось достаточно хорошо, хотя Сергей и получил перелом ключицы, вывих колена и многочисленные ушибы и ссадины по всему телу, но самое главное заключалось в том, что он буквально чудом остался жив в этой аварии.

К тому моменту веснушчатого и огненно-рыжего Сергея Уточкина уже узнала и полюбила вся страна. Он был настоящим кумиром публики. Еще при его жизни на свет начали появляться книги и статьи о нем, а в СССР о нем был снят художественный фильм «В мертвой петле», в котором главную роль сыграл Олег Стриженов. В те годы воздушные приключения и кульбиты на грани хулиганства Уточкина на долгое время стали предметом обсуждений и шуток обывателей. Вновь совершать публичные полеты авиатор начал только в 1912 году, восстановившись от последствий аварии. При этом он посещал не только крупные, но и малые российские города. В частности, весной 1912 года он побывал в станице Каменской, расположенной на Северском Донце в Области Войска Донского.

К тому моменту перенесенные Уточкиным многочисленные аварии и травмы, хроническая бессонница и сильные головные боли, а также нервное расстройство на фоне личной семейной драмы (во время болезни летом 1911 года от него ушла жена), привели к душевному надлому авиатора. В 1913 году он перерос в психическое расстройство. Свою лепту в болезнь внесло и злоупотребление сначала болеутоляющими средствами, содержащими морфий, а затем гашишем и кокаином, с которыми летчик познакомился еще в 1908 году в Египте, во время совершения здесь полетов на воздушном шаре. Определенную роль сыграло и то обстоятельство, что Сергею Исаевичу не удалось добиться в воздухоплавании тех же успехов, каких он сумел добиться в спорте. Сергей Уточкин не стал лучшим летчиком России. К тому же российская публика, мнением которой Уточкин всегда сильно дорожил, продолжала видеть в нем спортсмена-эксцентрика, своеобразного воздушного акробата, а не героя-авиатора.

140 лет назад родился легендарный российский спортсмен и воздухоплаватель Сергей Исаевич Уточкин[/center[center]]Бронзовый памятник пионеру российской авиации Сергею Уточкину, установленный в Одессе по адресу улица Дерибасовская, 22


Последние годы жизни авиатора прошли в Санкт-Петербурге, Кишиневе и родной для него Одессе. Периоды лечения сменялись периодами нужды и поисков работы. На тот момент времени за Уточкиным прочно закрепилась репутация «безумца». Рецидивы его душевной болезни, которые подпитывались употреблением наркотических средств, сменялись нормальным состоянием, однако устроить свою жизнь Уточкин уже не мог. Постоянных заработков он не имел, подрабатывая лишь игрой на бильярде. Тогда же в «Синем журнале», который издавал Куприн, были опубликованы его воспоминания.

Начавшаяся в августе 1914 года Первая мировая война пробудила в Сергее новые надежды. Он загорелся желанием попасть на фронт, оказаться в авиации, веря в том, что накопленные им знания и умения в воздухоплавании будут востребованы в сражениях. Но куда бы не обращался пилот, всюду он получал лишь отказы — его считали не вполне нормальным для военной службы и даже благоприятные отзывы некоторых врачей не убеждали членов военных призывных комиссий.

В конце концов, его настойчивость обеспечила результат. В 1915 году он добился зачисления в автомобильно-авиационную дружину под Петроградом в звании прапорщика. Здесь он был инструктором, снова получив возможность заняться любимым делом — полетами. Во время одного из таких полетов в декабре 1915 года летчик очень сильно простудился и был госпитализирован в больницу Святого Николая-чудотворца на Мойке. Здесь он и скончался от осложнений, вызванных воспалением легких, в ночь на новый 1916 год. Пионер российской авиации скончался 31 декабря 1915 (13 января 1916 года по новому стилю). Он ушел из жизни в свои неполные 40 лет, пять из которых отдал авиации. Сергея Уточкина похоронили в Петербурге на Никольском кладбище Александро-Невской лавры.

По материалам из открытых источников
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. parusnik 12 июля 2016 08:07
    Куда петербургские жители,
    Толпою веселой бежите вы?

    Какое вас гонит событие
    В предместье за чахлый лесок?
    Там зонтики белою пеною
    Мальчишки и люди степенные,
    Звенят палашами военные,
    Оркестр играет вальсок.


    Ах летчик отчаянный Уточкин,
    Шоферские вам не идут очки.
    Ну что за нелепые шуточки-
    Скользить по воздушной струе?
    И так ли уж вам обязательно,
    Чтоб вставшие к празднику затемно
    Глазели на вас обыватели,
    Роняя свои канотье?

    Коляскам тесно у обочины,
    Взволнованы и озабочены,
    Толпятся купцы и рабочие,
    И каждый без памяти рад
    Увидеть как в небе над городом,
    В пространстве, наполненном холодом,
    Под звуки нестройного хора дам
    Нелепый парит аппарат.

    Он так неуклюж и беспомощен!
    Как парусник ветром влеком еще,
    Опору в пространстве винтом ища,
    Несется он над головой.
    Такая забава не кстати ли?
    За отпрысков радуйтесь, матери,
    Поскольку весьма занимателен
    Сей праздничный трюк цирковой.

    Куда петербургские жители,
    Толпою веселой бежите вы?
    Не стелят свой след истребители
    У века на самой заре,
    Свод неба пустынен и свеж еще,
    Достигнут лишь первый рубеж еще...
    Не завтра ли бомбоубежище
    Отроют у вас во дворе?

    художественный фильм «В мертвой петле», в котором главную роль сыграл Олег Стриженов.
    Сценарий фильма был написан Леонидом Траубергом при участии С.Тимошенко еще в 1940 году. Фильм начали снимать на студии "Ленфильм" Семен Тимошенко и Борис Бабочкин. Причем он оказался режиссерским дебютом Б.Бабочкина в кино.Он же был и первым исполнителем роли Сергея Уточкина...Война прервала съемки, но отснятый материал сохранился..Вернулись к сценарию в 1962 г.Премьера состоялась 4 февраля 1963..Фильм был снят на киностудии им. А.Довженко..Актёрский состав созвездие актерских имён: Олег Стриженов, Виктор Коршунов, Станислав Чекан, Александр Мовчан, Эльза Леждей, Николай Лебедев, Георгий Бабенко, Петр Вескляров, Николай Волков-старший, Владимир Дальский, Таисия Литвиненко, Юрий Медведев, Дмитрий Милютенко, Лев Перфилов, Сергей Петров, Николай Пишванов, Григорий Тесля, Павел Шпрингфельд, Анатолий Скибенко, Надежда Титаренко ...


    1. moskowit 12 июля 2016 16:34
      Спасибо, что вспомнили этот прекрасный фильм о Сергее Уточкине. Мы , тогда десятилетние пацаны, впервые узнали о этом разностороннем спортсмене. Тогдашний кинематограф нёс большую познавательную нагрузку.Могли бы мы узнать о Уточкине, не выйди о нём фильм В те же годы шёл со Стриженовым ещё один фильм от которого все мои ровесники были в восторге. Фильм по рассказу Джека Лондона "Мексиканец" о боксёре... Вообще те годы отмечены выпуском фильмов на высокодуховную, героическую тему, призванную воспитывать молодёжь... А фильм "Последний дюйм" со знаменитой песней...
      "Тяжёлым взрывом ударил фугас,
      Взметнулся фонтан огня..."
  2. мыслитель 12 июля 2016 08:21
    Сергея Уточкина похоронили в Петербурге на Никольском кладбище Александро-Невской лавры.
  3. Aleksander 12 июля 2016 08:56
    Удивительный человек и достойный гражданин, умерший при защите Отечества.
  4. Berkut24 12 июля 2016 10:18
    Как ни странно, Россия всегда делала рывок вперёд исключительнор благодаря безумцам. Безумцем считали Петра Великого, который осмелился бросить вызов шведам, ненормальными считали и Жуковского и Ушакова и Суворова и еще сотни "безумцев", сделавших то, что, по мнению современников было не возможно.
    А вот "расчетливые бухгалтеры" всегда проигрывали.
  5. Наум 12 июля 2016 10:45
    "Безумство смелых - вот мудрость жизни! Безумству храбрых поём мы славу..."
  6. неглавный 12 июля 2016 22:30
    Всё это хорошо описано в книге Юрия Мануиловича Гальперина "Воздушный казак Вердена". Там описаны практически все первые авиаторы России, Уточкин, Ефимов, Славороссов, Казаков и многих других! Почитайте будет очень интересно!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня