Military Review

In the trenches of Washington

3



11 July 1864, the army of Confederate States General Jubal Early, attempted to seize the capital of the United States of America, Washington. It was the last in stories American Civil War case of the Confederate invasion of the Union. The attempt was initially hopeless, since the Washington fortification protected more than 31 thousands of soldiers and 486 guns, and Earley brought only about 10 thousands of fighters with a couple of dozen small guns.

Commander of the Army of the South, General Lee, sending Erly on a campaign against Washington, did not even hope that he would succeed in taking and holding the city. He considered this raid only as a diversion to ease the onslaught of the unionists and force them to at least partially withdraw the troops that threatened the Confederate capital, Richmond. On July 7, the Earley convoy entered the territory of the state of Maryland, knocking down the federals barrier at Monocasi. Then the Southerners circled Washington in a wide arc and at noon 11 July came out to him from the northwest, believing that in this, the rear direction, the city fortifications would be weaker. However, there was also a chain of forts, although more rare than in the south, east, and southwest.

Looking around on the ground, Earley decided to break through the defensive perimeter at the site of Fort Stevens. But the general did not dare to attack immediately, because there was a suffocating heat, and his soldiers were very tired of the long march. Assault fort postponed until the evening. It was a mistake, as the northerners managed to transfer reinforcements to the threatened area. In addition, Southerner soldiers found several barrels of whiskey in the basement of the estate of a certain Montgomery Blair, occupied by them. Strong alcohol in the heat and without snacks poured no worse than grapeshot, as a result, in a couple of hours a significant part of Erly’s army lost its combat capability.

From the assault had to be abandoned. Instead, the Confederates entered the sniper and artillery duel with the garrison of the fort. But in this duel, they found themselves in a deliberately disadvantaged position, since heavy serf guns inflicted more serious losses on them than their light field guns on the feds. In addition, the fort's 24-pounds fired on. At about 5 hours, the Confederates undertook reconnaissance by force to capture the advanced pickets of the fort, but this attack was easily repulsed.

The exchange of fire continued throughout the night, and the next morning President Lincoln himself arrived at the fort with his retinue. He gave a sensible speech to the soldiers, speaking in the spirit that America is great, but there is nowhere to retreat, Washington is behind! Then the president, although he was discouraged, climbed onto the parapet to look down upon the southerners through a telescope. Retinue, not wanting to pass for cowards, climbed behind him. Of course, this group immediately attracted the attention of enemy snipers. A bullet whistled a meter from Lincoln, seriously wounding his personal physician, but the president did not flinch and did not show fear, and bravely left for the White House. In 1920, the Americans solemnly installed a memorial plaque on the site of this historic event.

12 July Earley did not dare to storm, and the guns of the northerners continued to mow his army. In the afternoon, the feds launched a successful raid by two infantry brigades, clearing the territory adjacent to the fort from enemy snipers. In the evening, the Confederate general, realizing that Washington nut was too tough for him, ordered the retreat. The two-day standoff at Fort Stephens cost the Northerners in 372 dead and wounded, the majority of which they lost during the raid.

The losses of the southerners are not precisely calculated and are approximately estimated at 500 killed and missing. Strategically, the Confederates did not achieve anything, since the unionists, contrary to the expectations of General Lee, did not recall a single platoon from the front to defend Washington. On the screen saver - a plaque installed on the spot where Lincoln decided to demonstrate his heroism.



One of the batteries of Fort Stevens.



Another barbett battery of the fort with guns on the field carriages.



24-pound serf guns of the northerners on the defense of Washington.



Gunners at Fort Stephens.

In the trenches of Washington


Washington defense scheme during the civil war. Blue dots mark the forts, and the red arrow marks General Erley’s raid.
Author:
Originator:
http://vikond65.livejournal.com/505587.html
3 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, daily additional materials that do not get on the site: https://t.me/topwar_ru

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. parusnik
    parusnik 16 July 2016 08: 35
    +1
    Sorry, did not take the southerners of Washington .. Photo interesting, thanks ..
  2. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 16 July 2016 12: 09
    0
    Yesterday I watched a film of the Sahara about the lost battleship of the times of their civilian, it turns out that all the same, southerners are quite popular in the United States, which followed from the dialogue of the characters.
  3. PKK
    PKK 16 July 2016 19: 39
    0
    Judging by the films, that Civil War did not end, it smolders in souls and often climbs to the surface. This is the eternal War.

В окопах Вашингтона

В окопах Вашингтона


11 июля 1864 года армия генерала Конфедеративных Штатов Америки Джубала Эрли предприняла попытку захватить столицу Соединенных Штатов Америки город Вашингтон. Это был последний в истории американской гражданской войны случай вторжения конфедератов на территорию Союза. Попытка изначально была безнадежной, поскольку Вашингтонский укрепрайон защищало более 31 тысячи солдат и 486 орудий, а Эрли привел с собой всего около 10 тысяч бойцов с парой десятков небольших пушек.

Главком армии Юга генерал Ли, отправляя Эрли в поход на Вашингтон, даже не надеялся, что тому удастся взять и удержать город. Он рассматривал этот рейд лишь как отвлекающий маневр, чтобы ослабить натиск юнионистов и заставить их, хотя бы, частично отвести войска, угрожавшие столице конфедератов - Ричмонду. 7 июля колонна Эрли вступила на территорию штата Мериленд, сбив заслон федералов у Монокаси. Затем южане по широкой дуге обогнули Вашингтон и в полдень 11 июля вышли к нему с северо-запада, полагая, что на этом, тыловом направлении городские укрепления окажутся более слабыми. Однако там тоже стояла цепочка фортов, хотя и более редкая, чем на юге, востоке и юго-западе.


Осмотревшись на местности, Эрли решил прорывать оборонительный периметр на участке форта Стивенс. Но атаковать сходу генерал не решился, поскольку стояла удушающая жара, а его солдаты сильно устали от долгого марша. Штурм форта отложили до вечера. Это была ошибка, поскольку северяне успели перебросить подкрепления на угрожаемый участок. Кроме того, солдаты-южане обнаружили в повале занятого ими поместья некоего Монтгомери Блэра несколько бочек виски. Крепкий алкоголь на жаре и без закуски валил с ног не хуже картечи, в результате через пару часов значительная часть армии Эрли утратила боеспособность.

От штурма пришлось отказаться. Вместо этого конфедераты вступили с гарнизоном форта в снайперскую и артиллерийскую дуэль. Но в этой дуэли они оказались в заведомо невыгодном положении, поскольку тяжелые крепостные орудия наносили им более серьезные потери, чем их легкие полевые пушки - федералам. К тому же, 24-фунтовки форта стреляли дальше. Примерно в 5 часов конфедераты предприняли разведку боем, чтобы захватить передовые пикеты форта, но эта атака была легко отбита.

Перестрелка продолжалась всю ночь, а на следующее утро в форт прибыл со свитой сам президент Линкольн. Он произнес перед солдатами прочувственную речь, высказавшись в том духе, что велика Америка, а отступать некуда, позади Вашингтон! Потом президент, хотя его и отговаривали, взобрался на парапет, чтобы свысока посмотреть на южан в подзорную трубу. Свита, не желая прослыть трусами, полезла за ним. Разумеется, эта группа сразу привлекла внимание вражеских снайперов. В метре от Линкольна просвистела пуля, тяжело ранив его личного врача, однако президент не дрогнул и не проявил испуга, а храбро уехал в Белый дом. В 1920 году на месте этого исторического события американцы торжественно установили мемориальную доску.

12 июля Эрли так и не осмелился на штурм, а пушки северян продолжали выкашивать его армию. Во второй половине дня федералы предприняли успешную вылазку силами двух пехотных бригад, зачистив от вражеских снайперов прилегавшую к форту территорию. Вечером генерал конфедератов, поняв, что вашингтонский орех ему не по зубам, скомандовал отход. Двухдневное противостояние у форта Стивенс обошлось северянам в 372 убитых и раненых, больинство из которых они потеряли во время вылазки.

Потери южан точно не подсчитаны и приблизительно оцениваются в 500 убитых и пропавших без вести. В стратегическом плане конфедераты ничего не добились, так как юнионисты, вопреки ожиданиям генерала Ли, не отозвали с фронта для защиты Вашингтона ни одного взвода. На заставке - мемориальная доска, установленная на том месте, где Линкольн решил продемонстрировать свой героизм.

В окопах Вашингтона


Одна из батарей форта Стивенс.

В окопах Вашингтона


Еще одна барбетная батарея форта с пушками на полевых лафетах.

В окопах Вашингтона


24-фунтовое крепостное орудие северян на защите Вашингтона.

В окопах Вашингтона


Офицеры-артиллеристы форта Стивенс.

В окопах Вашингтона


Схема обороны Вашингтона во время гражданской войны. Синими точками помечены форты, красной стрелкой - набег генерала Эрли.
Автор: Вячеслав Кондратьев
Первоисточник: http://vikond65.livejournal.com/505587.html


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 3
  1. parusnik 16 июля 2016 08:35
    Жаль,не взяли южане Вашингтон..Фото интересные ,спасибо..
  2. cth;fyn 16 июля 2016 12:09
    Вчера смотрел фильм Сахара про потерянный броненосец времен их гражданской, оказывается все таки южане довольно популярны в США, что следовало из диалогов персонажей.
  3. РПК 16 июля 2016 19:39
    Судя по фильмам,та Гражданская Война не закончилась,она тлеет в душах и часто вылазит на поверхность.Это вечная Война.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня