Military Review

Krak des Chevaliers: one of the best fortresses of the Middle Ages

21
Crac des Chevaliers is one of the strongholds of the Hospitallers, which has survived to the present day. Not everyone knows this fortress by name, but almost everyone has ever seen an image of this fortress. For example, it was here that the Russian television series “Bayazet” was filmed. Today it is the most famous fortress, located outside of Europe. It is located in Syria east of Lebanon Tripoli on the top of a cliff with a height of 650 meters, not far from the road that leads from Antioch to Beirut and the Mediterranean Sea. The fortress occupies a strategic position on this road.


The closest major city to the fortress is Syrian Homs, which is located 65 kilometers away to the east of the castle. In 2006, this fortress, along with the citadel of Saladin (located in 30 kilometers east of Lattakia), was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. However, this could not save the fortress. She, as in the Middle Ages, again became the scene of fighting in the XXI century during the civil war in Syria, the fortress was repulsed by government forces in March of 2014. During the fighting, the old fortress was damaged.

History This fortress originates from the end of the XI century. The first mentions of the fortress are in the Muslim chronicles, in which it is called the “Fortress of the Kurds” (Hisn al-Akrad). Since 1031, on the orders of the Amir of Aleppo, the Kurdish garrison has been located here. During the First Crusade in 1099, the crusaders managed to capture the fortress, which was done by Raymond of Saint-Gilles. However, quickly enough, the Crusaders simply left the captured object, continuing their march on Jerusalem. At that time, everyone was so embraced by the idea of ​​mastering the Holy City that the small Kurdish castle simply remained “ownerless”.



As a result, the fortress had to be re-taken, finally it was returned only in 1110, when Krak des Chevaliers was recaptured from the Kurds a second time. At that time, the contents of the castle required a significant investment of funds and forces, so until 1142, almost no one was engaged. Only after the castle was handed over to the Hospitaller Order in 1142 did the fortress begin to develop. It was the Knights of the Order of the Hospitallers who created that masterpiece of fortification, which has been preserved to our days and to the well-known events in Syria attracted the attention of thousands of tourists from all over the world.

Thanks to this acquisition, the Order, which was also called the John of John, was able to expand its influence right up to Lake Homs in the east. Johannites rebuilt the castle, turning it into the largest and most impregnable fortress of the Holy Land. It is worth noting that the Hospitallers invested huge sums in those times for the reconstruction and construction of the fortress. Thus, the new owners managed to build a new external wall with a thickness from 3 to 30 meters, adding watchtowers to the 7 fortress. Restructuring and modernization led to the fact that the Krak des Chevaliers fortress became the largest stronghold of Christianity in the entire Middle East. Already by 1200, this fortress could easily accommodate a garrison of thousands of people in 2 and a huge amount of provisions. Thanks to this, the defenders of the castle were able to withstand sieges for years. The whole history of this fortress proves its inaccessibility. For all the time, the fortress was taken only once in 1271, and then only thanks to deception.

It was thanks to the Hospitallers that the rather modest castle of the Kurds eventually grew to a truly fortified complex, surrounded by a thick multi-meter wall of solid masonry. One of the towers built in the fortress was held personally by the Grand Master of the Order of the Knights of Malta. The fortress included a developed network of courtyards, numerous storehouses for supplies, hidden inside the cliffs, including a huge 120-meter hall in which stolen riches were kept, as well as a reservoir with water reserves. The Hospitallers did everything so that the castle was able to withstand any, even the longest siege, creating one of the most impregnable fortresses of the Middle Ages.



Muslim troops many times came under the walls of the fortress in order to expel aliens from their native lands, having made many attempts to take the castle by attack and at the same time losing thousands of soldiers. All these attempts were unsuccessful. The fortress could not be successfully stormed and could not be destroyed. Thanks to the strength of the walls, the Hospitallers in 1188 were able to repel the attack on the castle of Saladin himself, a Muslim warrior who liberated Jerusalem and was considered invincible. However, even the legendary Saladin failed to do anything with the Krak des Chevaliers, retreating from the walls of the fortress with nothing.

The Hospitallers kept the fortress until the general situation decisively contributed to the expulsion of Christians from the Holy Land. A strong ruler, like Sultan Beibars, in the middle of the 13th century, managed to unite Egypt and Syria. He literally flooded his district with his troops, cut supply lines, and Muslim settlements stopped paying tribute to the Krak des Chevaliers fortress. This was the beginning of the end. However, the Maltese knights were going to fight in the fortress to the last man, refusing to lay down weapon. At the same time, Mamluk and Ibn Shaddad came to the aid of Beibars. In 1271, the fortress, surrounded on all sides by hordes of enemies, took its last battle.

Numerous siege engines and undermining did their job - the troops besieging the fortress, even at the cost of huge losses, managed to break through the outer walls of the fortress. However, the garrison fought bravely: the knights retreated inside the fortress, into the towers and flatly refused to surrender. The capture of the courtyard of the fortress promised many victims, so Beybars ordered to stop the battle. He decided to use cunning: a fake letter was sent to the surviving knights, defenders of the fortress on behalf of the Master of Maltese from Tripoli, the letter contained permission to surrender the fortress. Only after this letter were the remnants of the knight garrison able to leave their refuge and surrendered to the victors. At the same time, Beibars showed magnanimity, without executing the knights who had surrendered. They were all released. Having gone back to France, they were exposed to numerous dangers along the way, but some of them still managed to return to Europe unharmed. After that, the Muslims made the castle Krak des Chevaliers with their fortress, managed to restore the towers destroyed during the siege, and added new ones. Currently, the castle is a mixture of Christian and Muslim built from different time periods. Thus, during the reign of Mamluk, the southern wall was strengthened, several new buildings were added, including an aqueduct and a Turkish bath.



Architecture of the Krak des Chevaliers fortress

The location of the castle itself was largely decisive for its defensive architecture. The castle is located on an elongated hilltop. Repeating the shape of the top, the castle in the plan has the form of a trapezoid with the top, which is directed to the north, and the base, which is oriented to the south. The length of its sides is about 200 meters, the base width is about 150 meters. Thus, the total area of ​​the space inside the walls of the castle does not exceed 2,5 ha. Nature itself reliably defended the castle against the besieging enemy. From the east, west and north, the steep slopes of the hill, which make the fortress almost impregnable. Only from the south side, where the ridge projection communicates with the adjacent neighboring hill, could the enemy break camp, set up his siege vehicles and launch an attack on the fortress. The defenders of the Krak des Chevaliers tried to reduce the danger by digging a ridge with several lines of ditches and erecting a triangular scraper. The line of walls on the south side had a maximum width; it was here that the tallest and most powerful towers were placed.

Like the numerous fortifications of that time period, the Krak des Chevaliers was built gradually over several centuries. Initially, the castle was a rather weak fortification, possessing a single tower. In the course of the subsequent construction work, the castle acquired first one and then two belts of walls with towers, which ledges towered above each other. Such fortifications belong to the so-called concentric type, since their defense is consistently built on several levels. The road leading to the castle passed under the walls of the outer defense belt, while access to the inside of the fortress fortifications was carried out along a narrow corridor at the foot of the second-level walls. Even breaking through the outer wall, the enemy had to overcome many more obstacles in order to penetrate inside the citadel.

Inside the castle, the besiegers would meet various traps. All the corridors inside were shot in several directions, and the aisles could be blocked by bars falling from above. The path to the gate was built in such a way that it was possible to move along it only by turning to the wall with the right side not protected by a shield. The dead zone, located at the foot of the fortifications, was shot from the box-like protrusions of machiclaums hung on the wall. Mashikuly - mounted loopholes, which are located at the top of the fortress towers and walls. Basically, they are intended for vertical shelling of the assault forces of the enemy, as well as throwing stones at them.



Architectural features:

1. Line of defense. The fortress fortification system consisted of two concentric circles of fairly thick walls. The outer walls were defended from the territory of the lower courtyard, and the defenders of the internal fortifications of the fortress fought off the attackers from the towers and from the territory of the upper courtyard. The castle was surrounded by a moat, and drinking water supplies, in case of a long siege, were kept in special tanks located in the lower courtyard. When, in 1271, the troops of the Egyptian Sultan Beibars were able to break through the outer ring of fortifications and penetrate the lower courtyard, they failed to advance further. As a result, the fortress, as noted above, was taken as cunning.

2. Support towers. The massive walls of the fortress were fortified with supporting towers, which served as a reliable shelter for the sentinel soldiers.

3. Outer wall The beveled thickening located at the base of the wall protected it from possible digging or detonation.



4. Loopholes. The narrow slits of the loopholes of the castle were practically invulnerable to the shells, they usually expanded inward, forming a niche in the wall. From there the archers of the garrison could watch the enemy and, aiming, shoot.

5. Internal communication. The Crusaders could use pigeon-mail, which they borrowed from the Arabs, to communicate between various fortifications located at a distance from each other.
6. Aqueduct. After the next reconstruction, the water began to flow into the castle through an aqueduct. But in case of a long siege inside the fortress, water was accumulated, which was stored in dungeons in closed tanks.



7. Square tower During the siege in 1271, this tower was seriously damaged, so it had to be rebuilt, the works were completed in 14 years. At the same time round towers were considered more reliable in terms of defensive actions.

8. Vaulted galleries. A vaulted gallery stretched along the walls of the refectory - it was possible to hide from the rays of the scorching sun. In the courtyard were the most comfortable and beautiful rooms of the castle - the chambers of the knights. The courtyard was a refuge for the inhabitants of the castle in the event of an attack or siege, guarding the outer wall of the fortress.

9. Outbuildings. In the dungeons of the upper courtyard there were roomy storerooms. A windmill could be installed at one of the towers - the accumulated reserves of flour made it possible to withstand very long sieges.

10. Upper tier. The defense of the upper tier of the fortifications of the fortress rested on high towers and a courtyard, in which there were dormitories (bedrooms), a refectory, a chapel, the chambers of knights, and also warehouses.

11. Additional insurance. The walls of the upper tier of the fortress were reinforced with a powerful thickening in the form of a slope. The width of this thickening was up to 24,3 meters, which was almost equal to the height of the walls themselves. Such a massive structure was added in the 13th century. In addition to her defensive function, she served as a huge buttress, having survived more than one earthquake.



12. Tricks of defense. From the eastern gate tower of the castle to the donjon led ramps, which replaced the stair flights. A tight, winding passage interfered with firing from the battering ram. Even abrupt changes of light and shadow could be confusing.

By the 21st century, the castle managed to preserve the main part of its architectural grandeur, which managed to conquer the hearts of many travelers of past centuries. The external buildings of this medieval fortress suffered because of numerous sieges and battles, but the interior was preserved almost in its original form. On the territory of the castle Krak des Chevaliers today you can see the church, kitchen, storage rooms, residential and weapon rooms. At the same time, the fortress is located on a hill, from where a great view of the nearby surroundings opens. All this before the outbreak of hostilities in Syria attracted thousands of tourists from all over the world.

Information sources:
http://masterok.livejournal.com/1478534.html
http://www.allcastles.ru/syria/krak-des-chevaliers.html
http://warspot.ru/3848-krak-de-shevalie-chudo-srednevekovoy-fortifikatsii
http://phototravelguide.ru/dvorcy-zamki-kreposti/krak-de-shevale
Author:
21 comment
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Rurikovich
    Rurikovich 15 July 2016 06: 47
    +2
    Familiar from frames from the series "Bayazet" smile Plus
  2. mm.andə
    mm.andə 15 July 2016 06: 57
    0
    They say that it was built by Masons
    1. Kenneth
      Kenneth 15 July 2016 10: 22
      +5
      Masons built everything. Because masons.
  3. kalibr
    kalibr 15 July 2016 07: 01
    +2
    Good stuff, but ... you should always write signatures, where what. So that people do not guess otherwise, the cognitive value is rapidly falling. And as a sample, look at this: Crusader Fortress https://topwar.ru/94619-kreposti-krestonoscev.html And you don’t need to look at other people's sites - everything is close at hand.
  4. Razvedka_Boem
    Razvedka_Boem 15 July 2016 07: 44
    +4
    And I remember this fortress from the textbook History of the Middle Ages, from the times of the USSR ..) There was her photo.
  5. igor67
    igor67 15 July 2016 11: 39
    +2
    This is Monfort Castle, near the Lebanese border, there is Yakhiyam Castle right next to it, in general there are a lot of castles, of course less than Krak de Chevalier castle, a good cycle about castles, we also have the remains of a fortress in the city, we started excavating 10 years ago and they stopped, and it’s a pity, at the excavation site unique Byzantine coins were found, silver, with the image of the Crucifixion of Jesus
  6. igor67
    igor67 15 July 2016 11: 43
    +5
    Nemrod, not far from the Syrian border,
  7. cth; fyn
    cth; fyn 15 July 2016 12: 37
    +1
    I hope he didn’t suffer much from Allahbabahs, that is, they have a desire to blow everything up.
    1. bazalt16
      bazalt16 20 July 2016 18: 43
      0
      No, and I didn’t suffer from Christian peacekeepers-democrats who like to bomb everything in a row. Do they even know how to fight? Or just make and drink wine?
  8. Riv
    Riv 15 July 2016 14: 20
    -13%
    A pile of ashlar on a hill. What is beautiful about her?
    1. cth; fyn
      cth; fyn 15 July 2016 14: 29
      +7
      Watching how to look, Rodin’s thinker is also just a piece of cast bronze.
      1. Zulu_S
        Zulu_S 15 July 2016 16: 57
        +2
        He took a piece of marble and the compartment is all unnecessary.
    2. igor67
      igor67 15 July 2016 15: 16
      +1
      Quote: Riv
      A pile of ashlar on a hill. What is beautiful about her?

      It’s very beautiful and informative, when I was at Montfort, the picture is from the top, at the foot of the fortress hewn stones are somewhere in two, that's how you can put them on top of each other on the side of the mountain
      1. Riv
        Riv 15 July 2016 16: 03
        -1
        In my opinion, there is more beauty in the German bunker of the 43rd year and then in this castle. Here is the beauty. Suzdal Kremlin, who do not know.
        1. igor67
          igor67 15 July 2016 16: 30
          +3
          Quote: Riv
          In my opinion, there is more beauty in the German bunker of the 43rd year and then in this castle. Here is the beauty. Suzdal Kremlin, who do not know.

          Yes, indeed, the Suzdal Kremlin and other beautiful ones, so write an article or a series of articles about the Russian Kremlin, the story there is no less saturated, You can also do about German pillboxes, although there were articles before
          1. Riv
            Riv 15 July 2016 23: 03
            -2
            As it has already been said here, I am not used to working for free. My hobby is different. But it just so happened that with the artistic taste I have everything in order and admire the pile of gray cobblestones just because someone said: "This is magnificent!" - I do not intend. Nichrome there is no majestic.
            "Frozen music" ... Yeah, the music of concrete sewer pipes.
    3. Zulu_S
      Zulu_S 15 July 2016 17: 06
      +2
      The combination of engineering, fortification, fleur of time ...
      The Kremlin is the same, only a few centuries later.
      Frozen music, a hymn to the courage of the defenders.
      Of course, this is wonderful!
  9. parusnik
    parusnik 15 July 2016 15: 13
    0
    Thank you very much .. Very interesting ..
  10. The comment was deleted.
  11. podgornovea
    podgornovea 15 July 2016 17: 16
    +4
    Quote: Riv
    A pile of ashlar on a hill. What is beautiful about her?


    Oh well! For some, and "Armata" - "a pile of iron which is beautiful in it"!


    1. Riv
      Riv 16 July 2016 07: 52
      0
      So what is so beautiful about her? No, really: what kind of beauty is there in her that was not in the "Tiger", or even in the MC-1? :)
  12. Gunther
    Gunther 15 July 2016 20: 45
    0
    The article is wonderful, plus the author, and Sergey Yuferov does not need to learn from the example of https://topwar.ru/94619-kreposti-krestonoscev.html, because unlike Vyacheslav Sh., indicates where the material comes from)))
  13. stdemetrio
    stdemetrio 16 July 2016 19: 52
    0
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXaVD5dITRI

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья

Крак де Шевалье — одна из крепостей госпитальеров, которая сохранилась до наших дней. Не все знают эту крепость по названию, но практически все когда-либо видели изображение данной крепости. К примеру, именно здесь снимался российский телесериал «Баязет». Сегодня это самая известная крепость, расположенная за пределами Европы. Она находится в Сирии к востоку от ливанского Триполи на вершине утеса высотой 650 метров, недалеко от дороги, которая ведет из Антиохии к Бейруту и Средиземному морю. Крепость занимает стратегическую позицию на этой дороге.

Ближайший крупный к крепости город — сирийский Хомс, который расположен на удалении 65 километров к востоку от замка. В 2006 году данная крепость вместе с цитаделью Саладина (находится в 30 километрах восточнее Латакии) была внесена в список Всемирного культурного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Однако это не смогло уберечь крепость. Она, как и в средние века, вновь стала ареной боев уже в XXI веке во время гражданской войны в Сирии, крепость была отбита правительственными войсками в марте 2014 года. В ходе боев старинная крепость получила повреждения.

История данной крепости берет свое начало еще с конца XI века. Первые упоминания о крепости находятся в мусульманских хрониках, в которых она называется «Крепость Курдов» (Hisn al-Akrad). С 1031 года по приказу эмира Алеппо здесь находился курдский гарнизон. Во времена Первого крестового похода в 1099 году крестоносцам удалось захватить крепость, это сделал Раймон Сен-Жильский. Однако достаточно быстро крестоносцы просто оставили захваченный объект, продолжив свой марш на Иерусалим. На тот момент все были настолько охвачены идеей овладения Священным городом, что небольшой курдский замок просто остался «бесхозным».


Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


В результате крепость пришлось брать повторно, окончательно она была возвращена только в 1110 году, когда Крак де Шевалье был отвоеван у курдов вторично. На тот момент времени содержание замка требовало значительных вложений средств и сил, поэтому до 1142 года им практически никто не занимался. Лишь после того, как в 1142 году замок был передан Ордену Госпитальеров, крепость начала развиваться. Именно рыцари Ордена Госпитальеров создали тот шедевр фортификации, который сохранился до наших дней и до известных событий в Сирии привлекал к себе внимание тысяч туристов со всего мира.

Благодаря этому приобретению орден, который еще называли иоаннитским, сумел расширить свое влияние вплоть до озера Хомс на востоке. Иоанниты перестроили замок, превратив его в самую крупную и неприступную крепость Святой Земли. Стоит отметить, что госпитальеры вложили в реконструкцию и строительство крепости огромные по тем временам суммы. Так, новые хозяева сумели построить новую внешнюю стену толщиной от 3 до 30 метров, добавив к крепости 7 сторожевых башен. Перестройка и модернизации привели к тому, что крепость Крак де Шевалье превратилась в крупнейший оплот христианства на всем Ближнем Востоке. Уже к 1200 году данная крепость могла спокойно вместить гарнизон в 2 тысяч человек и огромное количество провизии. Благодаря этому защитники замка были в состоянии годами выдерживать осады. Вся история этой крепости доказывает ее неприступность. За все время крепость была взята всего лишь раз в 1271 году и то лишь благодаря обману.

Именно благодаря госпитальерам достаточно скромный замок курдов со временем разросся до настоящего укрепленного комплекса, окруженного толстой многометровой стеной сплошной каменной кладки. Одну из построенных в крепости башен занимал лично Великий Магистр ордена Рыцарей Мальты. Крепость включала в себя развитую сеть внутренних дворов, многочисленные хранилища припасов, скрытые внутри скалы, в том числе огромный 120-метровый зал, в котором хранились награбленные богатства, а также резервуар с запасом воды. Госпитальеры сделали все, чтобы замок был в состоянии выдержать любую, даже самую длительную осаду, создав одну из самых неприступных крепостей средневековья.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


Войска мусульман много раз приходили под стены крепости, для того чтобы изгнать чужеземцев с родных земель, совершив много попыток взять замок приступом и потеряв при этом тысячи воинов. Все эти попытки были безрезультатными. Крепость нельзя было успешно штурмовать и нельзя было разрушить. Благодаря крепости стен госпитальеры в 1188 году смогли отбить атаку на замок самого Саладина, мусульманского воителя, который освободил Иерусалим и считался непобедимым. Однако даже легендарный Саладин не сумел ничего сделать с Крак де Шевалье, отступив от стен крепости ни с чем.

Госпитальеры удерживали крепость до тех пор, пока общая обстановка не стала решительным образом способствовать изгнанию христиан из Святой земли. Сильный правитель, каким был султан Бейбарс, в середине XIII века сумел объединить Египет и Сирию. Он буквально наводнил своими войсками округу, перерезал пути снабжение, и мусульманские поселения перестали платить дань крепости Крак де Шевалье. Это было началом конца. Однако мальтийские рыцари собирались биться в крепости до последнего человека, отказываясь сложить оружие. В то же время на помощь Бейбарсу пришли Мамлюк и Ибн Шаддад. В 1271 году крепость, окруженная со всех сторон полчищами врагов, приняла свой последний бой.

Многочисленные осадные машины и подкопы сделали свое дело — осаждавшие крепость войска пусть и ценой огромных потерь сумели пробиться за пределы внешних стен крепости. Однако гарнизон сражался отважно: рыцари отступили внутрь крепости, в башни и наотрез отказывались сдаваться. Взятие внутреннего двора крепости сулило многочисленные жертвы, поэтому Бейбарс приказал остановить бой. Он решил пойти на хитрость: оставшимся в живых рыцарям, защитникам крепости было послано подложное письмо от имени Магистра мальтийцев из Триполи, в письме содержалось разрешение сдать крепость. Лишь после этого письма остатки рыцарского гарнизона смогли покинуть свое убежище и сдались на милость победителей. При этом Бейбарс проявил великодушие, не казнив сдавшихся рыцарей. Все они были отпущены. Отправившись назад во Францию, в пути они подвергались многочисленным опасностям, однако некоторым из них все-таки удалось вернуться в Европу невредимыми. После этого мусульмане сделали замок Крак де Шевалье своей крепостью, сумели восстановить разрушенные при осаде башни, достроили новые. В настоящее время замок представляет собой смесь из христианских и мусульманских построен разных временных периодов. Так во время правления Мамлюков южная стена была укреплена, было добавлено несколько новых строений, в том числе акведук и турецкая баня.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


Архитектура крепости Крак де Шевалье

Само местоположение замка во многом стало определяющим для его оборонительной архитектуры. Замок расположен на вытянутой вершине холма. Повторяя форму вершины, замок в плане имеет вид трапеции с вершиной, которая направлена на север, и основанием, которое ориентировано в южную сторону. Длина его боковых сторон составляет порядка 200 метров, ширина основания — примерно 150 метров. Таким образом, общая площадь пространства внутри стен замка не превышает 2,5 га. Сама природа достаточно надежно защитила замок от осаждающего противника. С востока, запада и севера крутые склоны холма, которые делают крепость практически неприступной. Только с южной стороны, где выступ гряды сообщается с примыкающей соседней возвышенностью, противник мог разбить лагерь, расположить свои осадные машины и провести атаку крепости. Защитники Крак де Шевалье постарались уменьшить опасность, перекопав гряду несколькими линиями рвов и возведя контрэскарп треугольной формы. Линия стен с южной стороны обладала максимальной шириной, именно здесь были размещены самые высокие и мощные башни.

Подобно многочисленным укреплениям того временного периода, Крак де Шевалье строился постепенно, в течение нескольких столетий. Изначально замок представлял собой достаточно слабое укрепление, обладавшее единственной башней. В ходе последующих строительных работ замок приобрел сначала один, а затем и два пояса стен с башнями, которые уступами возвышались друг над другом. Подобные укрепления относят к так называемому концентрическому типу, так как их оборона последовательно строится на нескольких уровнях. Дорога, ведущая в замок, проходила под стенами внешнего пояса обороны, при этом доступ к внутренней части укреплений крепости осуществлялся по узкому коридору у подножия стен второго уровня. Даже проломив внешнюю стену, противник должен был преодолеть еще множество препятствий, чтобы проникнуть внутрь цитадели.

Внутри замка осаждающих встретили бы различные ловушки. Все коридоры внутри простреливались в нескольких направлениях, а проходы могли блокироваться падающими сверху решетками. Путь к воротам был построен так, что передвигаться по нему можно было только, повернувшись к стене правым, не защищенным щитом боком. Мертвая зона, расположенная у подножия укреплений простреливалась из навешенных на стену коробчатых выступов машикулей. Машикули — навесные бойницы, которые расположены в верхней части крепостных башен и стен. В основном они предназначены для вертикального обстрела штурмующих сил противника, а также забрасывания их камнями.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


Архитектурные особенности:

1. Линии обороны. Система укреплений крепости состояла из двух концентрических кругов достаточно толстых стен. Оборона внешних стен осуществлялась с территории нижнего двора, а защитники внутренних укреплений крепости отбивались от нападавших из башен и с территории верхнего двора. Замок был окружен рвом с водой, а запасы питьевой воды, предназначенные на случай долгой осады хранились в специальных емкостях, расположенных в нижнем дворе. Когда в 1271 году войска египетского султана Бейбарса смогли прорвать внешнее кольцо укреплений и проникнуть в нижний двор, они не сумели продвинуться дальше. В результате крепость, как отмечалось выше, была взята хитростью.

2. Опорные башни. Массивные стены крепости были укреплены опорными башнями, которые служили надежным укрытием для дозорных солдат.

3. Внешняя стена. Скошенное утолщение, расположенное у основания стены защищало ее от возможного подкопа или подрыва.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


4. Бойницы. Узкие щели бойниц замка были практически неуязвимы для снарядов, обычно они расширялись внутрь, образуя в стене нишу. Оттуда лучники гарнизона могли наблюдать за противником и, прицелившись, стрелять.

5. Внутренняя коммуникация. Для связи между различными объектами укреплений, находящимися на удалении друг от друга, крестоносцы могли использовать голубиную почту, которую они позаимствовали у арабов.
6. Акведук. После очередной перестройки вода стала поступать внутрь замка по акведуку. Но на случай длительной осады внутри крепости были накоплены запасы воды, которые хранились в подземельях в закрытых емкостях.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


7. Квадратная башня. Во время осады в 1271 году эта башня серьезно пострадала, поэтому ее пришлось отстраивать заново, работы были завершены через 14 лет. При этом круглые башни считались более надежными в плане оборонительных действий.

8. Сводчатые галереи. Вдоль стен трапезной протянулась сводчатая галерея — в ней можно было укрыться от лучей палящего солнца. Во внутреннем дворе находились самые удобные и красивые помещения замка — покои рыцарей. Внутренний двор был убежищем для жителей замка в случае нападения или осады, охранивших внешнюю стену крепости.

9. Хозяйственные постройки. В подземельях верхнего двора имелись вместительные по размерам кладовые. На одной из башен могла быть установлена ветряная мельница — накопленные запасы муки позволяли выдерживать очень долгие осады.

10. Верхний ярус. Оборона верхнего яруса укреплений крепости опиралась на высокие башни и внутренний двор, в котором находились дормитории (спальни), трапезная, капелла, покои рыцарей, а также склады.

11. Дополнительная страховка. Стены верхнего яруса крепости были укреплены мощным утолщением в форме ската. Ширина данного утолщения составляла до 24,3 метра, что почти равнялось высоте самих стен. Такая массивная конструкция была пристроена уже в XIII веке. Она помимо своего оборонительного назначения выполняла роль огромного контрфорса, пережив не одно землетрясение.

Крак де Шевалье: одна из лучших крепостей средневековья


12. Хитрости обороны. От восточной надвратной башни замка к донжону вели пандусы, которые заменяли собой лестничные пролеты. Тесный петляющий проход мешал стрельбе из стенобитных орудий. Даже резкие смены света и тени могли сбить с толку.

К XXI веку замок сумел сохранить основную часть своего архитектурного величия, которое успело покорить сердца многих путешественников прошлых веков. Внешние постройки этой средневековой крепости пострадали из-за многочисленных осад и битв, однако внутренние помещения сохранились почти в первозданном виде. На территории замка Крак де Шевалье сегодня можно увидеть церковь, кухню, складские помещения, жилые и оружейные комнаты. При этом крепость расположена на холме, откуда открывается отличный вид на близлежащие окрестности. Все это до начала военных действий на территории Сирии привлекало сюда тысячи туристов из всех уголков мира.

Источники информации:
http://masterok.livejournal.com/1478534.html
http://www.allcastles.ru/syria/krak-des-chevaliers.html
http://warspot.ru/3848-krak-de-shevalie-chudo-srednevekovoy-fortifikatsii
http://phototravelguide.ru/dvorcy-zamki-kreposti/krak-de-shevale
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 21
  1. рюрикович 15 июля 2016 06:47
    Знакома по кадрам из сериала "Баязет" smile Плюс
  2. mm.иə 15 июля 2016 06:57
    Говорят что его построили масоны
    1. Kenneth 15 июля 2016 10:22
      Масоны вообще все построили. Потому что каменщики.
  3. kalibr 15 июля 2016 07:01
    Хороший материал, но... надо всегда писать подписи, где что. Чтобы люди не гадали иначе познавательная ценность стремительно падает. А в качестве образца посмотреть вот это: Крепости крестоносцев https://topwar.ru/94619-kreposti-krestonoscev.html И заглядывать на чужие сайты не надо - все рядом, под рукой.
  4. Razvedka_Boem 15 июля 2016 07:44
    А я помню эту крепость по учебнику История средних веков, еще времен СССР..) Там было ее фото.
  5. igor67 15 июля 2016 11:39
    Это замок Монфорт, рядом с Ливанской границей, тут же рядом находится замок Яхиям, вообще здесь очень много замков, конечно меньше чем замок Крак де Шевалье, хороший цикл о замках, у нас в городе так же есть остатки крепости, начали раскопки лет 10 назад и прекратили, а жаль,на месте раскопок были обнаружены уникальные монеты Византийские , серебрянные, с изображением Распятия Иисуса
  6. igor67 15 июля 2016 11:43
    Немрод , недалеко от Сирийской границы,
  7. cth;fyn 15 июля 2016 12:37
    Надеюсь он не сильно от аллахбабахов пострадал, а то есть у них тяга взрывать все подряд.
    1. bazalt16 20 июля 2016 18:43
      Да нет,и от христианских миротворцев -демократов ,любящих бомбить все подряд тоже не пострадал.Румыны воевать хоть умеют?или только вино делать и пить?
  8. Riv 15 июля 2016 14:20
    Груда тесанного камня на холме. Чего в ней красивого?
    Riv
    1. cth;fyn 15 июля 2016 14:29
      Смотря как смотреть, мыслитель Родена тоже лишь кусок литой бронзы.
      1. Zulu_S 15 июля 2016 16:57
        Взял кусок мрамора и отсек всё лишнее.
    2. igor67 15 июля 2016 15:16
      Цитата: Riv
      Груда тесанного камня на холме. Чего в ней красивого?

      Очень даже красиво и позновательно, вот я когда был на Монфорт, снимок с верху, у подножья крепости тесаные камни гдето два на два, вот как можно их друг на друга на склоне горы ставить
      1. Riv 15 июля 2016 16:03
        По-моему в немецком доте образца 43-го года и то красоты больше, чем в этом замке. Вот красота. Суздальский кремль, кто не в курсе.
        Riv
        1. igor67 15 июля 2016 16:30
          Цитата: Riv
          По-моему в немецком доте образца 43-го года и то красоты больше, чем в этом замке. Вот красота. Суздальский кремль, кто не в курсе.

          Да действительно Суздальский Кремль и другие красивые, так напишите статью или цикл статей об Российских Кремлях , там история не менее насыщена, Так же можете о немецких дотах , хотя были раньше статьи
          1. Riv 15 июля 2016 23:03
            Я, как тут уже было сказано, не привык работать за бесплатно. Хобби у меня другое. Но так уж вышло, что с художественным вкусом у меня все в порялке и восхищаться грудой серых булыжников только потому, что кто-то сказал: "Это величественно!" - я не намерен. Нихрена там величественного нет.
            "Застывшая музыка"... Ага, музыка бетонных канализационных труб.
            Riv
    3. Zulu_S 15 июля 2016 17:06
      Сочетание инженерной мысли, фортификационного искусства, флер времени...
      То же самое и Кремль, только на несколько веков позже.
      Застывшая музыка, гимн мужеству защитников.
      Конечно, это прекрасно!
  9. parusnik 15 июля 2016 15:13
    Спасибо, большое..Очень интересно..
  10. Комментарий был удален.
  11. podgornovea 15 июля 2016 17:16
    Цитата: Riv
    Груда тесанного камня на холме. Чего в ней красивого?


    Ну, ну! Для кого-то и "Армата" - "груда железа чего в ней красивого"!


    1. Riv 16 июля 2016 07:52
      Ну и что же в ней красивого? Нет, правда: какая в ней такая красота, которой не было в "Тигре", или даже в МС-1? :)
      Riv
  12. Гюнтер 15 июля 2016 20:45
    Статья замечательная, плюс автору, и Юфереву Сергею не надо учиться на примере https://topwar.ru/94619-kreposti-krestonoscev.html, т.к. в отличии от Вячеслава Ш., указывает, откуда берёт материал)))
  13. stdemetrio 16 июля 2016 19:52
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZXaVD5dITRI

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня