Military Review

If you want to write to Osprey ... (part of 2)

6
In the past, nine hundred years ago, my material on HE, the story of how to write for Osprey, was completed on the story of how difficult it is, in general, to select information for sketches for their publications and to make sketches themselves. How, for example, did D. Nicole get out of this position? Well, it was easier for him: he is the son of a famous illustrator in England. He knows how to draw, not like me, who always painted better than many of my peers in school, but who did not reach his level. And so he had several ready-made graphic drawings of horses and warriors. Pose, arms and legs position. And that's it! And here he always dressed them in the right clothes, looking at my sketches and photos. Then I began to do so. I got myself a contour "man" - only contours, and nothing more. He printed it out on a copier and ... drew details on it - a helmet, chainmail, boots.


The only thing that, as I already wrote about it, the difficulty is that you cannot draw “just chain mail”, armor or, say, the same shoulder strap. There should be a photo with a link to the source. Moreover, the source may be a museum, but again the photo of reconstructed armor must again be accompanied by references, on the basis of which this reconstruction was made!

Thus, if you have 8 drawings in the book of Osprey Publishing House, this means that since each must be from 2 to 5 figures, you will need to prepare the real one for each ... dossier. Yes, and the figure itself under the designations AV.C or 1,2,3 draw in the form of a sketch. And now let's look at the "pictures", because they are also very instructive ...



The best thing is if you, as the author of the text, have an artist at hand who knows everything himself and is an expert in the field you need. Here, for example, in front of you is a picture of the Penza artist Alexander Zaikin. "Night battle of the battleship" Iowa ". Working with him is a pleasure. He named the necessary ship and angle and ... everything! Everything will be OK! The only question is the price! Paying yourself is stupid, isn't it? So you, like a "pimp", should bring the artist and the publisher, and let them solve their financial issues. It is important for you to know one thing - on how many “pictures” they conspired to write their signatures under them and place them accordingly.


The construction of Novgorod ushkuy (The artwork of A.Sheps). This is the quality that Osprey also takes.

If you want to write to Osprey ... (part of 2)

The reconstruction of the Tatars armored suite of the 13th century (The State Historical Museum of Tatarstan). The signature was made for the publishing house Osprey. Photo of a Tatar warrior from the State Historical Museum of Tatarstan in Kazan.


And now look at the picture on the cover of this book. The warrior on the right is an exact replica of the warrior from the above photo.


Armor Shoulder. Almost every detail for illustration needs such a close-up photo. Or a well-made pattern in color. But then again with reference - where is it from ?!


It is easiest to work when the museum is at your side. For example, the famous mask from the Zolotaryov settlement. Where it was placed on the clothes is unknown. But ... guessing about it, making suggestions (pointing out - “I think so” - “I think so. In my opinion ...”) - can be any amount. The specialist has the full right to do so. So they consider and, in my opinion, it is quite fair.

Now, as I generally went to Osprey. It's easy now. Opened the Internet - there is the address. Took and wrote. And in the 90s, you had to have their book in order to find the address in it and send them a letter. Two weeks there, then two weeks from there - the process of communication was very difficult. So M. Gorelik introduced me to them, who had a book about ancient warriors from the lands that belonged to the USSR published by the Montvert publishing house. The man acted very cleverly. First, he published her future text in the journal Military Knowledge. The series was printed at the end of 80 and consisted of one page with its drawing and a long column with a story and captions for each figure. And then he translated it all and offered it to Montvert, and after 91, they gladly typed it.


A good artist was M. Gorelik, although some of his figures were a bit ... well, not that. Nevertheless, today they flaunt themselves in many museums, for example, in our Penza regional studies, and are good, above all, because they are very informative. Well, for example, all these warriors, which are depicted here, are drawn from bas-reliefs on stone walls!


And these Viking warriors and the “Dnieper horsemen” have all the equipment drawn from archaeological finds. That is, their (author's) in them only poses, and everything else is taken from the relevant directories and reports.

So M. Gorelik gave me their address and ... invited them to write. And what could I write to them so that it would be interesting for the English, and so that I myself knew well? And then I realized that it could be ... Russian wooden fortresses, including my Penza. He took the “Building book”, where it was told that she represented herself in 1653 year, the book of the second secretary of the CPSU OK G. Myasnikov and Professor of the Penza Pedagogical Institute V. Lebedev, a book about Russian wooden architecture, and wrote!


The typical Kazan mosque of 16th century (V. Shpakovsky photograph). In the books of the publishing house "Osprey" you will have to prepare also 20-30 photos. They used to be black and white. Now desirable color. But archival photos, with an indication of the archive, are welcome. Or you can go to museums and photograph everything yourself.

And now the main advice - HOW TO WRITE "THERE." Usually, our "advisers" write what to do, but ... do not write how. In general, because of this “how,” I can say that I have been suffering all my life. About what he wrote, by the way, in the material about life surrounded by fools. But I repeat a bit - there were a lot of “fools” around me. Including relatives. For example, while still working as a village teacher in the village, I could have passed the candidate minimum examinations, but my own mother, Ph.D., associate professor, constantly insisted that “you’ll work at the university ... everything will go there!” Yes , went, but first you had to get there! And if I had passed the minimum exams in advance, they took me there without difficulty, and it took me five years to get a job at a university! Again, since childhood I was intimidated by the word “plagiarism”, although in reality such a thing practically does not exist, because any text, it turns out, can be rewritten so that the author himself does not recognize, with the newness of 100% in the Antiplagiat system, ! Moreover, when translating from foreign to foreign, as a rule, the text changes so much that its original authorship can be forgotten! And no one suggested this to me, and maybe he did not know - these were our ignorant people, forgive, Lord!


This is a typical design in the style of "dress man." At the heart of my silhouette man, whom I "wore" in armor and accordingly armed. I have bad postures. I do not know how to draw folds on clothes and hands. But on the other hand, the helmet, the patterns, and the plate armor are all depicted according to Byzantine artistic sources.

So now I first of all say “as it should,” but by no means about that “what”. It should be written this way: you take the Osprey 2-3 books on a related topic, read them carefully and ... write out phrases and sentences that you can insert into your book without any special changes. For example, in the English text it says "light cavalry of the Magyar hussars ... was dressed in chain mail and helmets of the eastern type." Your text: “Russian local cavalry (cavalry, consisting of small landowners) was dressed in chain mail, wore Eastern-style helmets, (more wealthy warriors), and those who were poorer wore quilted caftans (tyagilya) and caps (“ paper hats "- a special type of Russian military headdress of the Russian state to Peter the Great ...). That is, you take their sentences, turns of speech and phraseology as a basis, but at the same time paint all the Russian-language terms, such as “bake”, “fur coat”, “pull”, “washstand”, “tub”, “tyn” and so on. Further. It turns out that you create a kind of "Lego set", and then from its separate cubes you collect your own text. At the same time, something can even be translated through Google, but it should be remembered that he doesn’t like the terms, and translates well only the simplest and shortest sentences. Therefore, write in the waltz bed - 1, 2, 3; 1,2,3 is one short sentence, then the second is a longer one and, finally, the longest and most complex, borrowed from the English text, maybe even one to one.


And this is how I drew myself in ... 9-10 classes. The fantel was based on the films “The Sons of the Great Bear” and “The Vigilant Falcon” (and all the rest) and painted Indians in all forms. There are a lot of ethnographic inaccuracies in this picture, but ... I drew it myself!


And he could finally insert this drawing as an illustration into his book “The World Children's Encyclopedia. KNIGHTS "(published by EKSMO, 2002)

The second rule, which all the time must be repeated to myself when you write - "there are no two words on one page." Of course, this is an ideal installation, which is unattainable in practice. But ... remember her constantly. Then the readability of the text is automatically increased by an order. English is harder. It is more informative than Russian, and the repetition of words there does not particularly bother anyone. And yet, nothing prevents you from writing well in English! As you can see - everything is very simple. But you need to work hard, that's all.


This picture of the North Indian in the snow never went anywhere. There was such a filmstrip “The Legend of Kish”. It was from there that I redrawn the figure, and I copied the patterns on the clothes from somewhere else. But in the end ... after all, even he was useful as an illustration. After all, it is also possible to draw sketches for publishers to someone who is not very well able to hurt it!

I wrote the book, provided it with photographs and sketches of illustrations and sent it to Montvert. They liked it, it went to the fact that they would publish it, and suddenly ... the publishing house went bankrupt. Market, and what to do? But they took care to pass it on to Osprey - that’s even, like they suggested publishing it there. But the “Ospreievtsy” book did not fit. It turned out to be non-serial, and they wrote to me that they needed a book from the series “Enemies of Rome”. Before that, the 4 books of this series have already been published: “Enemies of Rome: 1”, “Enemies of Rome: 2” ... And they wanted a book about Roman troops in the Crimea and the Bosporus: what enemies did they have there ?! But I didn’t understand this topic well and what was to be done? Do not give up the same. The “deep dive” method came to the rescue, as will be discussed next time ...

Продолжение следует ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
If you want to write to the publishing house "Osprey" ...
6 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Same lech
    Same lech 8 September 2018 06: 18
    +6
    Before that, 4 books of this series had already been published: “Enemies of Rome: 1”, “Enemies of Rome: 2” ... And they wanted a book about the Roman troops in Crimea and the Bosporus Kingdom: what enemies did they have there ?! But I was poorly versed in this topic and what was to be done? Do not refuse the same. The method of "deep immersion" came to the rescue, which will be discussed next time ...

    I rolled up a bunch of such books in a computer and began to read ... patience burst and time too ... life is not enough to cover all the works of authors on historical topics ... the volume of various literature on a historical theme is very large.
    The author can only wish good luck in his interesting field. hi
    1. kalibr
      8 September 2018 13: 11
      +2
      Thanks! That is why next time it will be about "deep diving" ...
  2. 3x3zsave
    3x3zsave 8 September 2018 08: 49
    +3
    Thank you so much, Vyacheslav Olegovich! Informative, practical, with a healthy dose of cynicism ... In general, a guide to action. "Osprey" is great, but out of all the people on the site, I will probably name five people who speak English to your extent. All the rest - "read with a dictionary". For "we do not know cases, we do not know how to declension" (I, meanwhile, counted four languages ​​in which I read with a dictionary, pride, however laughing ) And by this, I really hope for the continuation of the topic in terms of relations between the author and domestic publishers.
    1. kalibr
      8 September 2018 12: 53
      +2
      I will, I promise. This is also interesting!
  3. Black joe
    Black joe 8 September 2018 20: 59
    +3
    Interesting and informative.
  4. Alexey RA
    Alexey RA 10 September 2018 17: 03
    +1
    The best thing is if you, as the author of the text, have an artist at hand who knows everything and is an expert in the field you need. For example, here is a picture of the Penza artist Alexander Zaikin. "The night battle of the battleship" Iowa. " It is a pleasure to work with him. He named the ship and the angle and ... everything! Everything will be OK! The only question is the price!

    Ahem ... despite the professionalism of the authors, even the masters sometimes get annoying mistakes.
    For example, on the cover of the magazine "Gangut" No. 17 with an article about the SRT pr. 69, a chimera was depicted, assembled from the first version of pr. 69 and project 69I. The ship depicted simultaneously carried:
    - German two-gun towers with characteristic bevels,
    - nasal elevated MZA 46-K in the diametrical plane.
    The problem is that this seventh MZA existed only in the first versions of Project 69. And then it was replaced by the anti-aircraft artillery KDP - even before German towers were tried on Project 69. smile

Если вы хотите написать в издательство «Оспрей»… (часть 2)

В прошлом, девятисотом по счету моем материале на ВО, рассказ о том, как писать для «Оспрей», был закончен на рассказе о том, как нелегко, в общем-то, подбирать для их изданий информацию для эскизов и делать сами эскизы. Как, например, выходил из этого положения Д. Николь? Ну, ему было легче: он сын известного в Англии художника-иллюстратора. Рисовать умеет, не то что я, всегда рисовавший лучше многих моих сверстников по школе, но недотягивавший до его уровня. И вот он имел несколько готовых графических рисунков лошадей и воинов. Поза, положение рук и ног. И все! И вот их-то он всякий раз обряжал в нужные одежды, глядя на мои эскизы и фотографии. Потом и я стал так делать. Завел себе контурного «мужика» — только контуры, и ничего больше. Распечатывал его на ксероксе и… рисовал на нем детали – шлем, кольчугу, сапоги.

Единственное, что, как я уже об этом писал, затруднение в том, что ты не можешь нарисовать «просто кольчугу», доспехи или, скажем, тот же наплечник. Должно быть фото с ссылкой на источник. Причем источником может быть музей, а вот фото реконструированных доспехов опять-таки нужно сопровождать ссылками, на основе чего произведена данная реконструкция!


Таким образом, если у вас в книге издательства «Оспрей» будет 8 рисунков, то это означает, что, поскольку на каждом должно быть от 2 до 5 фигур, вам необходимо будет на каждую подготовить самое настоящее… досье. Да и саму фигуру под обозначениями А.В.С или 1,2,3 отрисовать в виде эскиза. А теперь давайте посмотрим на «картинки», поскольку они тоже очень поучительны…



Самое лучшее, если у вас, как у автора текста, под руками есть художник, который сам все знает и специалист в нужной вам области. Вот, например, перед вами картина пензенского художника Александра Заикина. «Ночной бой линкора «Айова». Работать с ним одно удовольствие. Назвал нужный корабль и ракурс и… все! Все будет Ок! Вопрос лишь в цене! Платить самому – глупо, не так ли? Значит ты, словно «сводня», должен свести художника и издательство и пусть они сами решают свои финансовые вопросы. Тебе важно знать одно – на каком количестве «картинок» они сговорились, чтобы написать под них свои подписи и соответствующим образом их разместить.


The construction of Novgorod ushkuy (The artwork of A.Sheps). Вот такого качества «Оспрей» работы тоже принимает.

Если вы хотите написать в издательство «Оспрей»… (часть 2)

The reconstruction of Tatars armoured suite of 13th century (The State Historical Museum of Tatarstan). Подпись сделана для издательства «Оспрей». Фотография татарского воина из Государственного исторического музея Татарстана в Казани.


А теперь посмотрите на рисунок на обложке этой книги. Воин справа – точная копия воина с вышеприведенного фото.


Наплечник доспеха. Практически на каждую деталь для иллюстрации нужно вот такое фото крупным планом. Или хорошо выполненный рисунок в цвете. Но опять же со ссылкой – откуда это?!


Легче всего работать, когда музей у тебя под боком. Вот, например, знаменитая маска с Золотаревского городища. Где она помещалась на одежде точно неизвестно. Но… гадать об этом, высказывать предположения (указав – «я так думаю» – «I think so. In my opinion…») – можно сколько угодно. Специалист имеет на это полное право. Так они считают и, по-моему, это вполне справедливо.

Теперь как я вообще вышел на «Оспрей». Сейчас это легко. Открыл Интернет – там адрес. Взял и написал. А в 90-ые надо было иметь их книгу, чтобы в ней найти адрес и отправить им письмо. Две недели туда, потом две недели оттуда – процесс общения был очень труден. Так вот с ними меня познакомил М. Горелик, у которого перед этим в издательстве «Монтверт» вышла книга о древних воинах с земель, входивших в СССР. Человек поступил очень умно. Сначала он опубликовал ее будущий текст в журнале «Военные знания». Серия печаталась в конце 80-ых и состояла из одной страницы с его рисунком и длинной колонки с рассказом и подписями к каждой фигуре. А потом он все это перевел и предложил «Монтверту», и после 91-ого они это с радостью напечатали.



Хороший художник был М. Горелик, хотя некоторые фигуры у него и были немного… ну, не того. Тем не менее они сегодня красуются во многих музеях, например, в нашем Пензенском краеведческом, и хороши прежде всего тем, что очень информативны. Ну, вот, например, все эти воины, что здесь изображены, срисованы с барельефов на каменных стенах!


А у этих воинов-викингов и «днепровских всадников» вся экипировка отрисована по археологическим находкам. То есть свое (авторское) в них только позы, а все остальное взяты из соответствующих справочников и отчетов.

И вот М.Горелик дал мне их адрес и… предложил им написать. А что я такого мог им написать, чтобы было интересно англичанам, и чтобы я сам хорошо знал? И тут я сообразил, что это могут быть… русские деревянные крепости, включая и мою Пензу. Взял «Строельную книгу», где рассказывалось о том, что она из себя представляла в 1653 году, книги второго секретаря ОК КПСС Г. Мясникова и профессора Пензенского педагогического института В.Лебедева, книгу о русском деревянном зодчестве, и написал!


The typical Kazan mosque of 16th century (V. Shpakovsky photograph). В книги издательства «Оспрей» вам придется подготовить также 20-30 фотографий. Раньше годились черно-белые. Сейчас желательны цветные. Но архивные фотографии, с указанием на архив, приветствуются. Или можешь ходить по музеям и фотографировать все сам.

А теперь главный совет – КАК ПИСАТЬ «ТУДА». Обычно наши «советчики» пишут, что надо делать, но… не пишут, как. Я вообще из-за этого «как», можно сказать страдаю всю жизнь. О чем и написал, кстати, в материале про жизнь в окружении дураков. Но немного повторюсь – «дураков» вокруг меня было множество. Включая и родственников. Например, еще работая в деревне сельским учителем, я мог бы сдать экзамены кандидатского минимума, но мне моя родная мать, к.и.н., доцент, постоянно твердила, что «вот будешь работать в вузе… там все само пойдет!» Да, пошло, но сначала туда надо было попасть! И если бы у меня заранее были сданы экзамены минимума, меня и взяли туда без труда, а так у меня на то, чтобы попасть на работу в вуз, ушло целых пять лет! Опять же с детства меня запугали словом «плагиат», хотя реально такого понятия практически не существует, потому, что любой текст, оказывается, можно переписать так, что его сам автор и не узнает, с новизной 100% по системе Антиплагиат – вот даже как! Более того, при переводе с иностранного или на иностранный, как правило, текст настолько изменяется, что об его первоначальном авторстве можно забыть! И никто этого мне не подсказал, а может быть и не знал – вот невежды-то были наши люди, прости Господи!


Вот это типичный рисунок в стиле «одень мужика». В основе мой силуэтный мужик, которого я «одел» в доспехи и соответственно вооружил. С другими позами у меня плохо. Я не умею рисовать складки на одежде и руки. Но зато и шлем, и узоры, и пластинчатый доспех – все это изображено по византийским художественным источникам.

Так что теперь я прежде всего говорю «как надо», а отнюдь не о том – «что». Писать же следует так: вы берете 2-3 книги «Оспрей» по близкой теме, внимательно их читаете и… выписываете фразы и предложения, которые вы можете без особых изменений вставить в свою книгу. Например, в английском тексте написано «легкая конница мадьярских гусар… была одета в кольчуги и шлемы восточного образца». Ваш текст: «русская поместная конница (конница, состоявшая из мелких землевладельцев) была одета в кольчуги, носила шлемы восточного образца, (более состоятельные воины), а те, кто был беднее, носили стеганые кафтаны (тягиляи) и шапки («шапки бумажные» — особый вид русского военного головного убора Русского государства до Петра Первого…). То есть, вы берете их предложения, обороты речи и фразеологию за основу, но при этом расписываете все русскоязычные термины, такие как «печь», «шуба», «тягиляй», «рукомойник», «кадка», «тын» и так далее. Получается, что вы создаете своего рода «набор лего», и затем из его отдельных кубиков собираете свой собственный текст. При этом, что-то можно даже и через Гугл перевести, но следует помнить, что он как раз терминов-то и не любит, и хорошо переводит лишь самые простые и короткие предложения. Поэтому пишите в русле вальса – 1, 2, 3; 1,2,3 – одно короткое предложение, затем второе – более длинное и, наконец, самое длинное и сложное, заимствованное из английского текста, может быть даже один в один.


А вот так я рисовал сам в… 9-10 классах. Фанател тогда по фильмам «Сыновья Большой Медведицы» и «Зоркий сокол» (ну и всем остальным) и рисовал индейцев во всех видах. Много в этом рисунке этнографических неточностей, но зато… рисовал сам!


И смог в итоге вставить этот рисунок в качестве иллюстрации в свою книгу «Всемирная детская энциклопедия. РЫЦАРИ» (изд-во ЭКСМО, 2002 г.)

Второе правило, которое все время надо повторять про себя, когда пишешь – «нет двум словам на одной странице». Конечно, это идеальная установка, которая на практике недостижима. Но… помнить о ней надо постоянно. Тогда читабельность текста автоматически повышается на порядок. С английским это сложнее. Он информативнее русского, и повторяемость слов там особо никого не напрягает. И тем не менее, ничто не мешает хорошо писать и на английском! Как видите – все очень просто. Но нужно потрудиться, только и всего.


Этот рисунок с изображением северного индейца в снегу так никуда и не пошел. Был такой диафильм «Сказание о Кише». Вот оттуда я фигуру и перерисовал, а уж узоры на одежде срисовал откуда-то еще. Но в итоге… все-таки даже он пригодился в качестве иллюстрации. Ведь так тоже можно рисовать эскизы для издательств тому, кто сам не больно хорошо это умеет!

Книгу я написал, снабдил ее фотографиями и эскизами иллюстраций и послал в «Монтверт». Им понравилось, дело шло к тому, что они ее напечатают, и вдруг… издательство разорилось. Рынок, а что делать?! Но они позаботились передать ее в «Оспрей» — вот даже, как и предложили издать ее там. Но «оспреевцам» книга не подошла. Оказалась несерийной, и они мне написали, что им нужна книга из серии «Враги Рима». До этого уже вышли 4 книги этой серии: «Враги Рима: 1», «Враги Рима: 2»… И им хотелось книгу о римских войсках в Крыму и Боспорском царстве: какие враги были у них там?! А я плохо разбирался в этой теме и что было делать? Не отказываться же. На помощь пришел метод «глубинного погружения», о чем рассказано будет в следующий раз…

Продолжение следует...
Автор:
В. Шпаковский
Статьи из этой серии:
Если вы хотите написать в издательство «Оспрей»…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

6 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти