The Forgotten South Ossetian War of 1919-1920

100 year anniversary of the 1918-20 genocide. The second half of the 1918 year was extremely alarming for South Ossetia. The situation could not be characterized either as a war or as a world. In the villages there were women, old people and children, and part of the youth, seizing weapon, went to the mountains. By this time, the Georgians had a terrible dream - Ossetians increasingly gravitated towards Bolshevik ideas, which pushed them in the direction of a strong ally. And in Georgia itself, the population did not at all accept the Menshevik dictatorship, no matter how it dressed up in democratic clothes. Therefore, the new government was desperately seeking protection. At the very beginning, the “new Georgia” almost swore allegiance to Kaiser Germany, because in the 1918 year, at the invitation of Noah Jordan, German troops took control of strategically important points on the territory of Georgia. After the collapse of the Germans, the orientation was instantly changed, and they already swore allegiance to the countries of the Entente.

The Forgotten South Ossetian War of 1919-1920

Ossetian Bolsheviks



Menshevik Georgia in revelry of political terror


At that time, more than curious in the modern context of speech came into fashion. According to the memoirs of Philip Isaevich Makharadze set forth in his book “The Dictatorship of the Menshevik Party in Georgia,” Noah Zhordania declared:
“The Great Russian Revolution, the February Revolution over a wide area of ​​Russia became stronger and gained flesh and blood only here in Georgia ... and the revolutionary storm that swept over Russia only forged democracy in Georgia.”


One of the leaders of the Georgian Mensheviks and member of the Constitutional Assembly of Georgia Seid Devdariani went even further, declaring:
"Soviet Russia is a country of horrors, a country of terror, economic collapse, etc., while Georgia is the only country in the world where the dictatorship of the proletariat reigns, and the proletariat carries out its dictatorship without blood and without those extreme cruelties."


The author does not even wonder where Devdariani got the proletariat from several tobacco factories in agrarian Georgia, but it is simply impossible to keep silent about the “dictatorship without blood”. Even if it is cynical to put South Ossetians out of the brackets, only in Georgia about a thousand Bolsheviks were sent to prison, not counting those who were shot without any intentions. All the Bolshevik publications in February of the 1918 were closed. In addition, the country was shocked by peasant uprisings and the number of dissatisfied with the new government was growing, so the "Special Detachment" was created, which was engaged in the suppression of all dissent.


Noah Jordania


According to the memoirs of Leo Trotsky (one of the most knowledgeable people of his time, despite the author’s attitude to him), the Georgian Menshevik government was not shy in the methods of “political” struggle:
“Part of this detachment, under the direct supervision of Tukhareli, was engaged in the bombing of the homes of those individuals on whom someone reported. Similar violence was committed in Gudauta County. The head of the Georgian detachment, Lieutenant Kupunia, a former bailiff of the city of Poti, beat a whole gathering in the village of Atsy, forcing everyone to lie under machine-gun fire, and then walked on their backs, striking with a saber flat; then he ordered the gathering to gather in a heap, on horseback into the entire quarry crashed into the crowd, inflicting beatings with a whip. "


However, representatives of the Entente, which, in part, partly financed the new Georgian regime, looked at it all through their fingers, though carefully lubricating their blindness with humanistic rhetoric. Members of the National Council of Ossetians submitted to the countries of the "enlightened" West "Memorandum of the People of South Ossetia", which featured the demand for reunification of the North and South Ossetia. The document was compiled in Russian and French (the language of international diplomacy at that time). But even the "international community" did not open its eyes to this.

The rampant persecution of dissidents, especially Ossetians, reached the point of absurdity. So, one of the former students of the Tskhinvali gymnasium, who participated in communist meetings and worked in a metalwork and blacksmith workshop, temporarily kept a drilling machine. In order to discourage children, he called the machine "machine gun." The younger brother boasted to a peer that they have a machine gun. Soon, the peer father, the Menshevik Kasradze, found out about this. In the evening, the “national guard” came into the house of the former schoolboy, requisitioned the “machine gun” and, together with the owner and household members, delivered it to the headquarters. According to the memoirs of Viktor Gassiev, even though the whole of Tskhinval made fun of the “guards”, they still sent the “machine gun keeper” to prison.


Tskhinval of the beginning of the 20 century


Fighting in South Ossetia 1919-1920's



South Ossetia at that time was formally controlled by Tiflis, but in fact it continued to "vilely" speak Ossetian and Russian languages, and choose the local population for local posts. In the 1919 year, Georgia was covered by a wave of uprisings against the government and the Menshevik elite. Ossetians also join the uprising. In October of the same year, Tiflis introduced troops into South Ossetia. Soon, small groups of rebellious Ossetians were driven out of Tskhinval and the surrounding villages. The uprising was crushed on the territory of Georgia. With no support, the headquarters of the uprising in December 19 laid down their arms. But the situation remained so tense that Georgian troops did not dare to go further than the mountain village of Uanel (north of South Ossetia).

Finally, taking advantage of the control of part of South Ossetia, the Bolshevik-Ossetians proclaimed Soviet power in the republic simultaneously with the formation of armed detachments. At the same time, a detachment of 1000 fighters recruited from South Ossetian refugees came from Vladikavkaz towards the village of Ruk. In early June, consolidated Ossetian units went towards Dzau. Already on the 6 of June of the 1920 of the year, Ossetian forces under the command of Arsen Dzutstsev defeated the Georgian detachment near the above-mentioned village. The prisoners were sent to North Ossetia. It is surprising that later than all the prisoners ... they were released, at the direction of the chairman of the regional executive committee Kvirkvelia.


Ossetian rebel squad


On the morning of the next day, fighting broke out on the outskirts of Tskhinval, which in the evening ended in a victory for the forces of Soviet Ossetia. Having learned about the new uprising and loss of Tskhinval, Tiflis, despite the rout of the Georgian troops in Abkhazia by General Denikin, who was stopped only by the "allies" from the Entente, removed all possible forces and sent them to suppress Ossetians.

On 12 of June at 4 in the morning, Georgian troops approached Tskhinvali, reinforced by artillery, which the Ossetian rebels did not have. The assault on the city began with shelling, which lasted for two hours. Only at the village of Tirdznis there was a battery of 6 guns. After the artillery bombardment, Georgian infantry moved in three chains at the Ossetian position.

By noon, the Ossetian forces did not exceed 500 fighters. The situation was aggravated by the fact that the villages captured by the Georgians instantly began to glow, and the rebels could hear the cries of civilians - women, children, old people. Many rushed to save their families, exposing the front. The village of Pris was the first to flare up, in the area of ​​which the Georgians managed to break through the defenses. The Ossetian-Bolshevik command decided to move to the village of Kekhvi (after the war of the 2008 year, it no longer exists, because it was inhabited by Georgians who left a couple of days before the August 8), north of Tskhinval. The headquarters of the Ossetian forces is located even further north - in Dzau. In unfortunate Tskhinval and suburban villages, whose population did not have time to escape, a rampant violence began. Chermen Begizov, the commander of the rebels of the village of Ruk, recalled:
“An unprecedented vandalism began: the Ossetian civilians of Tskhinval were exterminated, villages were swept away by artillery fire, old men, women, and children were mercilessly slaughtered. Frightened by these atrocities, the population completely removed from their homes and fled to the North. "



The famous Jewish quarter of Tskhinval


The lack of people was aggravated by the lack of ammunition. Vladimir Alexandrovich Gazzayev, a medical doctor by training, a future writer and translator, and in the 1920 year, the combat commander of Ossetian Bolshevik rebels wrote:
“I remember standing with Mate Sanakoev at the entrance to the headquarters. Petra Kabulov comes up to us, shows one clip and says: “How will I fight with five rounds of ammunition?” Mate answered him: “If you kill five Mensheviks, that's enough for you.”


It soon became clear that the main task of the Ossetian detachments was to cover the general retreat of the civilian population. Despite the rapidly thinning ranks of the defenders, detachments of 5-15 people continued to separate from the main forces to protect the evacuation of a settlement. Most of the villages already occupied by Georgian troops flared up instantly, like matches, without any tactical or strategic need.

Midt Khasiev, the commander of one of the detachments, later recalled how he personally encountered the predatory habits of the invaders:
“On June 12, I took a position from the village of Mugris to the village of Dvani and stayed there until the peasants had time to move to the forest. Then, after them, we ourselves went there. On June 24, a peasant Sandro Parastaev came running into our forest and informed us that an equestrian guard had arrived in their village. I took Sandro Kochiev, Kirill Dzhattiev, Iliko Parastaev and Aslan Sanakoev with me, went out onto the road and saw 5 horse guards heading into the forest through the village. Torbis. We followed them. The guards took the things from the peasants and drove them on five carts, took all the cattle and 15 young girls. I went out to meet the guardsmen and ordered them to lay down their arms. They immediately turned back. We shot two of them. ”


But all this was only the beginning of the ordeals of the South Ossetian people. The true rampage of genocide and mass robbery was just ahead. Soon, everyone who was able to leave will begin to die of hunger and cold on the Caucasian highlands, and those who remained on their own land will be forced to hide in the forests, because not only rebels, Bolsheviks and sympathizers will be subjected to repression, but and all Ossetians are ethnically based.

To be continued ...
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

Забытая южноосетинская война 1919-1920 годов

100-летняя годовщина геноцида 1918-20-го годов. Вторая половина 1918-го года прошла для Южной Осетии крайне тревожно. Ситуацию нельзя было характеризовать ни как войну, ни как мир. В селениях остались женщины, старики и дети, а часть молодёжи, прихватив оружие, отправилось в горы. К этому времени сбывался страшный сон грузин – осетины всё более тяготели к большевистским идеям, которые толкали их в направлении сильного союзника. Да и в самой Грузии население отнюдь не поголовно приняло меньшевистскую диктатуру, как бы она ни рядилась в демократические одежды. Поэтому новое правительство отчаянно искало протекции. В самом начале «новая Грузия» едва ли не присягнула на верность кайзеровской Германии, т. к. в 1918-й году по приглашению Ноя Жордания германские войска взяли под свой контроль стратегически важные пункты на территории Грузии. После краха немцев ориентация была мигом изменена, и в верности клялись уже странам Антанты.

Забытая южноосетинская война 1919-1920 годов

Осетинские большевики



Меньшевистская Грузия в разгуле политического террора


В то время в моду вошли более чем любопытные в современном разрезе речи. Согласно воспоминаниям Филиппа Иесеевича Махарадзе, изложенным в его книге «Диктатура меньшевистской партии в Грузии», Ной Жордания заявлял:
«Великая российская революция, революция февральская на широком пространстве России окрепла и обрела плоть и кровь только здесь, в Грузии… и революционная буря, пронёсшаяся над Россией, только в Грузии выковала господство демократии».


Ещё дальше пошёл один из лидеров грузинских меньшевиков и член Конституционной ассамблеи Грузии Сеид Девдариани, заявивший:
«Советская Россия — страна ужасов, страна террора, экономического развала и т. д., в то время как Грузия является единственной страной в мире, где царит диктатура пролетариата, причём пролетариат осуществляет свою диктатуру без крови и без тех чрезвычайных жестокостей».


Автор даже не интересуется, откуда Девдариани взял в аграрной Грузии с несколькими табачными фабриками пролетариат, но по поводу «диктатуры без крови» промолчать просто невозможно. Если даже цинично вывести южных осетин за скобки, то только в Грузии в тюрьму отправили около тысячи большевиков, не считая тех, кого без затей расстреляли. Все большевистские издания ещё в феврале 1918-го были закрыты. Кроме того, страну сотрясали крестьянские восстания и росло число недовольных новым правительством, поэтому был создан «Особый отряд», занимавшийся подавлением всякого инакомыслия.


Ной Жордания


Согласно воспоминаниям Льва Троцкого (одного из самых осведомлённых людей своего времени, несмотря на отношение к нему автора), в методах «политической» борьбы грузинское правительство меньшевиков не стеснялось:
«Часть этого отряда, под непосредственным наблюдением Тухарели, была занята разрушением бомбами домов тех лиц, на которых кто-либо доносил. Аналогичные же насилия были произведены в Гудаутском уезде. Начальник грузинского отряда, поручик Купуния, бывший пристав города Поти, избил целый сход в селении Ацы, заставив всех лечь под пулеметный огонь, и прошелся затем по их спинам, нанося удары шашкой плашмя; затем приказал сходу собраться в кучу, верхом во весь карьер врезался в толпу, нанося побои кнутом».


Однако представители Антанты, которые ко всему прочему отчасти финансировали новый грузинский режим, на всё это смотрели сквозь пальцы, правда, тщательно смазывая свою слепоту гуманистической риторикой. Члены Национального совета осетин подали странам «просвещённого» Запада «Меморандум народа Южной Осетии», где фигурировало требование воссоединения Севера и Юга Осетии. Документ был составлен на русском и французском (язык международной дипломатии в то время) языках. Но и на это глаза «международная общественность» не открыла.

Разгул преследований инакомыслящих, особенно осетин, доходил до абсурда. Так, у одного из бывших учеников цхинвальской гимназии, участвовавшего в коммунистических собраниях и работавшего в слесарно-кузнечной мастерской, временно хранился сверлильный станок. Дабы отвадить детей, он именовал станок «пулемётом». Младший брат похвастался сверстнику, что у них есть пулемёт. Скоро отец сверстника, меньшевик Касрадзе, узнал об этом. Вечером в дом бывшего гимназиста нагрянула «народная гвардия», реквизировала «пулемёт» и вместе с владельцем и домочадцами доставила его в штаб. По воспоминаниям Виктора Гассиева, хоть над «гвардейцами» и потешался весь Цхинвал, но «хранителя пулемёта» всё же отправили в тюрьму.


Цхинвал начала 20-го века


Боевые действия в Южной Осетии 1919-1920-х годов



Южная Осетия в это время формально управлялась Тифлисом, но по факту продолжала «подло» говорить на осетинском и русском языках, выбирать на местные посты местное же население. В 1919-м году Грузию накрывает волна восстаний против власти и меньшевистской верхушки. К восстанию присоединяются и осетины. В октябре того же года Тифлис вводит в Южную Осетию войска. Вскоре малочисленные отряды восставших осетин были выбиты из Цхинвала и прилегающих селений. Восстание подавили и на территории Грузии. Не имея поддержки, штаб восстания в декабре 19-го сложил оружие. Но ситуация оставалась настолько напряжённой, что далее горного селения Уанел (север Южной Осетии) грузинские отряды идти не отваживались.

Наконец, пользуясь контролем части Южной Осетии, большевики-осетины провозгласили в республике советскую власть одновременно с формированием вооружённых отрядов. Из Владикавказа в это же время в сторону селения Рук выступил отряд в 1000 бойцов, набранных из южноосетинских беженцев. В первых числах июня сводные осетинские подразделения вышли в сторону Дзау. Уже 6 июня 1920-го года осетинские силы под командованием Арсена Дзуццева разгромили грузинский отряд близ вышеозначенного селения. Пленных отправили в Северную Осетию. Удивительно, что позже всех пленных… отпустили, по указанию председателя облисполкома Квирквелия.


Осетинский отряд повстанцев


Утром следующего дня завязались бои на окраинах Цхинвала, которые к вечеру завершились победой сил Советской Осетии. Узнав о новом восстании и потере Цхинвала, Тифлис, несмотря на разгром грузинских войск в Абхазии генералом Деникиным, которого остановили только «союзники» из Антанты, снял с позиций все возможные силы и отправил их на подавление осетин.

12 июня в 4 часа утра к Цхинвалу подошли грузинские войска, усиленные артиллерией, которой у осетинских повстанцев не было. Штурм города начали с артиллерийского обстрела, длившегося целых два часа. Только у села Тирдзнис расположилась батарея из 6 орудий. После артподготовки на позиции осетин двинулась грузинская пехота тремя цепями.

Уже к полудню силы осетин не превышали 500 бойцов. Положение усугублял тот факт, что захваченные грузинами селения мгновенно начинали пылать, а до повстанцев доносились крики мирных жителей – женщин, детей, стариков. Многие бросились спасать свои семьи, оголяя фронт. Первым заполыхало селение Прис, в районе которого грузинам удалось прорвать оборону. Командование осетин-большевиков принял решение отойти к селению Кехви (после войны 2008-го года более фактически не существует, т.к. было населено грузинами, выехавшими за пару дней до 8-го августа), севернее Цхинвала. Штаб осетинских сил расположился ещё севернее – в Дзау. В несчастном Цхинвале и пригородных сёлах, население которых не успело бежать, начался разгул насилия. Чермен Бегизов, командир повстанцев села Рук, вспоминал:
«Начался неслыханный вандализм: осетинское мирное население Цхинвала было истреблено, села сметались огнем артиллерии, беспощадно вырезались старики, женщины, дети. Напуганное этими зверствами население поголовно снялось с родных мест и бежало на Север».



Знаменитый еврейский квартал Цхинвала


Недостаток людей отягощался недостатком боеприпасов. Владимир Александрович Газзаев, медик по образованию, будущий писатель и переводчик, а в 1920-м году боевой командир осетинских повстанцев-большевиков, писал:
«Помню, стою с Мате Санакоевым у входа в штаб. К нам подходит Петре Кабулов, показывает одну обойму и говорит: «Как я буду воевать с пятью патронами?» Мате ему ответил: «Если убьешь пять меньшевиков – с тебя хватит».


Вскоре стало ясно, что основной задачей осетинских отрядов стало прикрытие повального отступления мирного населения. Несмотря на стремительно редеющие ряды защитников, от основных сил продолжали отделяться отряды по 5-15 человек для защиты эвакуации того или иного поселения. Большинство сёл, уже занятых грузинскими войсками, мгновенно вспыхивали, словно спички, без какой-либо тактической или стратегической необходимости.

Командир одного из отрядов Мидта Хасиев позже вспоминал о том, как лично столкнулся с грабительскими повадками оккупантов:
«12 июня я занял позицию от села Мугрис до села Двани и держался там, пока крестьяне не успели перебраться в лес. Потом за ними мы и сами ушли туда. 24 июня к нам в лес прибежал крестьянин Сандро Парастаев и сообщил, что к ним в село прибыла конная гвардия. Я взял с собой Сандро Кочиева, Кирилла Джаттиева, Илико Парастаева и Аслана Санакоева, вышел на дорогу и увидел 5 конных гвардейцев, направлявшихся в лес через с. Цорбис. Мы последовали за ними. Гвардейцы отобрали у крестьян вещи и везли их на пяти арбах, забрали весь скот и 15 молодых девушек. Я вышел навстречу к гвардейцам и приказал им сложить оружие. Они сразу же повернули назад. Двоих мы застрелили».


Но всё это было только началом тяжёлых испытаний южноосетинского народа. Истинный разгул геноцида и массового грабежа был только впереди. Вскоре все, кто смог уйти, начнут умирать от голода и холода на кавказском высокогорье, а те, кто остался на своей собственной земле, будут вынуждены скрываться в лесах, т. к. репрессиям будут подвергнуты не только повстанцы, большевики и им сочувствующие, но и все осетины по этническому признаку.

Продолжение следует…
Ctrl Enter

Заметили ошЫбку Выделите текст и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

13 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти