Military Review

Cahul. How Rumyantsev destroyed the army of the Ottoman Empire

16

D. Chodovetsky. "Battle of Kagul"


250 years ago, the Russian commander Rumyantsev defeated the six times superior Turkish army on the Cahul River. Russia returned the left bank of the Danube.

Russian offensive


Victory on Larga ("Battle of Larga") brought the Russian army under the command of Peter Rumyantsev closer to solving the main task of the 1770 campaign - the destruction of enemy manpower and gaining control over the Danube estuary, the territory along the Prut and Dniester, Moldavia and Wallachia. The relatively small Russian army (about 30 thousand people: over 23 thousand infantry, about 3,5 thousand cavalry and about 3 thousand Cossacks; about 250 guns) were opposed by two enemy armies. The Ottoman army under the command of Grand Vizier Iwazzade Khalil Pasha: about 150 thousand people (100 thousand cavalry and 50 thousand infantry), over 200 cannons. It was located at Isakchi's. All the famous generals of the Ottoman Empire were with the army. And the second army - the troops of the Crimean Khan Kaplan-Girey: 80-100 thousand horsemen. After the defeat at Larga, the Crimean Khan retreated to the Danube. There the army was divided. The Tatar cavalry withdrew towards Ishmael and Kiliya, where their camp and families were. The Turkish corps on the left bank of the Cahul River went to join the Grand Vizier. The pogrom on Larga greatly disturbed the Ottoman command. However, the Turks were confident in their superiority, they knew that Rumyantsev had few people. Also, the Tatars announced that the enemy was experiencing supply problems. Therefore, the grand vizier decided to cross the Danube and attack the Russians.

On July 14, 1770, Ottoman troops crossed the Danube. Some military leaders suggested setting up camp and meeting the "infidels" at the Danube. The Grand Vizier decided to advance. He was confident in the superiority of his army. In addition, the Crimean Khan promised to support the offensive, intercept enemy communications and strike from the rear. The Crimean cavalry was located on the left side of Lake Yalpug (Yalpukh), intending to cross the river. Salchu (flows into the Yalpug river) to attack the Russian carts. On July 16, Khalil Pasha's army joined up with the corps in Cahul.

Rumyantsev at that time was solving two main tasks: to avoid a battle with two enemy armies at once and to cover communications. In order to prevent the Turks and Tatars from uniting, Rumyantsev's army crossed Cahul on July 17 and camped near the village of Grecheni. To protect the army stores (supplies) and the safe movement of the convoys that followed from Falchi with a 10-day supply of provisions, the Russian commander sent a detachment of General Glebov (4 grenadier battalions, part of the cavalry). Rumyantsev also ordered Potemkin and Gudovich's detachments to move to the Yalpug River, covering the main forces from this direction. Troop transports going to the r. Salche, instructed to go to the Cahul River. As a result, the main forces of the Russian army, which could participate in the battle with the troops of the vizier, were reduced to 17 thousand infantry and several thousand regular and irregular cavalry.

Rumyantsev wanted to attack the enemy immediately, but was waiting for the arrival of the convoy in order to increase the army's reserves. Therefore, he ordered to speed up the movement of transports, sent regimental carts to meet and increased the number of drivers and armed them. The Russian army was in danger. Provisions left for 2-4 days. A powerful enemy army stood in front, on the flanks were the large lakes Kagul and Yalpug. In case of failure, the Russian troops found themselves in a critical situation: rivers and lakes hindered free movement, much superior to the enemy's forces (the combined Turkish-Tatar forces had 10 times more soldiers) could attack from the front and rear. It was impossible to escape from the enemy's numerous cavalry. It was also impossible to hold a long defense in a fortified camp and wait for reinforcements in the absence of food. Rumyantsev could retreat to Falcha, secure supplies and choose a strong position. However, he chose an offensive strategy. As Petr Aleksandrovich noted, "do not endure the presence of the enemy without attacking him."

Battle


On July 20, 1770, the Turkish army headed for the village of Grecheni. The Ottomans stopped 2 versts from the Troyan Wall (fortification of the times of Ancient Rome). The Ottoman fortified camp was located east of the village of Vulcanesti, at heights on the left bank of the river. Cahul. From the west, the Turkish camp was covered by a river, from the east - a large hollow, from the front - the remains of the Troyanov shaft. The Turks also prepared field fortifications - retrenchment, installed batteries. The Turkish troops were crowded together. The Ottomans noticed that the Russians were standing still and decided that the enemy was afraid of the battle. On July 21, Khalil Pasha decided to attack: to imitate the main blow in the center, to throw the main forces on the left wing in order to overturn the Russians in Cahul. At the same time, Kaplan-Girey was supposed to force Salch and strike at the rear of the enemy.

The Russian commander decided to strike at the Turks before the appearance of the Tatar cavalry in the rear. On the night of July 21 (August 1), 1770, Russian troops reached Troyanov Val. At dawn, three Russian divisions crossed the rampart and formed a line of five separate squares. The cavalry was positioned in the intervals between the square and behind them, in the center was artillery. Each square had its own mission and direction of attack. The main blow to the left wing of Khalil Pasha was delivered by the Baur corps (jaeger and 7 grenadier battalions, two hussar and carabiner regiments, over 1 Cossacks) and Plemyannikov's 2nd division (grenadier and 4 musketeer regiments). The main artillery forces were concentrated here - about 100 guns. The 1st division Olytsa (2 grenadier and 6 musketeer regiments) was advancing from the front. Rumyantsev himself was with Olytsa's square and had as a reserve the cavalry of Saltykov and Dolgorukov (cuirassiers and carabinieri - about 3,5 thousand sabers), Melissino's artillery. That is, two-thirds of the forces of the Russian army were concentrated here. Bruce's 3rd division (2 grenadier battalions, 4 musketeer regiments) attacked the enemy's right wing; Repnin's corps (3 grenadier battalions, 3 musketeer regiments, 1,5 thousand Cossacks) covered the right flank and had to go to the rear of the enemy.

Having discovered the offensive of the "infidels", the Turks opened artillery fire, then their numerous cavalry (mostly light) attacked the center and the left flank of the enemy. Russian squares stopped and opened rifle and artillery fire. Melissino's artillery fire was especially effective. After the failure in the center, the Ottomans increased the pressure on the right flank, attacking the columns of General Bruce and Prince Repnin. Taking advantage of the area (hollow), they surrounded the Russian squares from all sides. Part of the Turkish cavalry crossed the Troyanov shaft and went into the rear of the Olytsa division. The Turks sat down along and opened rifle fire on the troops of General Olitsa.

Meanwhile, the Russian commander dispatched reserves to occupy the ravine and cut off the leading Turkish forces from the fortifications and camp. The Turks, fearing the encirclement, fled to the retrenchment. In doing so, they came under canister fire. The rest of the Ottoman cavalry, attacking on the left and right flanks, also rolled back. On the Russian right flank, Baur's troops not only repulsed the enemy's onslaught, but counterattacked, took a 25-gun battery by storm, and then a retrenchment with 93 guns.

After repelling the enemy attack along the entire front, at 8 o'clock the Russian army launched an offensive on the main fortifications of the Turkish camp. The troops of Baur, Plemyannikov and Saltykov, with the support of artillery, defeated the enemy's left flank. At this time, squares of Olytsa, Bruce and Repnin made a round of the right flank. When attacking an enemy camp 10-thous. The Janissary corps fiercely attacked Plemyannikov's square and crushed his ranks. There was a threat to Olitsa's punishment and the failure of the entire operation. Rumyantsev was able to rectify the situation with the help of the reserve. Baur and Bruce's square entered the battle. Then all squares went on the offensive. Repnin's troops reached a height south of the Turkish camp and opened fire. The Turks could not withstand the attack at the same time, panicked and fled. The army of the Crimean Khan did not dare to join the battle and retreated to Ackerman.

Cahul. How Rumyantsev destroyed the army of the Ottoman Empire

Results


During the battle, Russian losses amounted to over 900 people. The losses of the Turkish army - according to various estimates, from 12 to 20 thousand people killed, drowned, wounded and captured. During the stampede and crossing the Danube, many people died. 56 banners and almost all of the enemy's artillery were captured.

In the Battle of Cahul, the Russian army showed a high level of military skill and fighting spirit. This made it possible to crush the significantly superior forces of the Turks with smaller forces. Rumyantsev concentrated his forces (including artillery) in the main direction, used a dismembered battle formation in the form of divisional squares, which interacted well with each other, artillery and cavalry.

The fatigue of the soldiers, who had been on their feet since the night, did not allow immediately organizing the pursuit of the enemy. After resting, the pursuit of the Turks continued. The Baur corps was sent in pursuit. On July 23 (August 3), Russian troops overtook the enemy at the crossing of the Danube at Kartal. The Ottomans still had a complete superiority in forces, but they were demoralized, disorder reigned in their ranks, they could not organize a defense and a quick crossing. Baur correctly assessed the situation and led the troops into the attack. The Ottomans were defeated again. The Russians captured the entire convoy, the remaining artillery (30 guns) and about 1 prisoners.

The Turkish army was unable to quickly recover from the crushing defeat. Now the Ottomans limited themselves to defense in fortresses. Rumyantsev used victory in a decisive battle to gain a foothold on the Danube. A detachment from Igelstrom was sent to persecute the Crimean Tatars. Repnin's corps, reinforced by Potemkin's detachment, headed towards Izmail. On July 26 (August 6), they took Ishmael and moved on, occupying enemy fortresses on the Lower Danube. In August, Repin took the important fortress of Kiliya, which covered the mouth of the Danube. In September Igelstrom took Ackerman, in November a detachment of General Glebov captured Brailov, and Gudovich entered Bucharest. As a result, the victorious Russian army settled down to winter in Moldavia and Wallachia.


In memory of the battle, a medal "For the victory at Cahul" was minted. More than 18 thousand soldiers and non-commissioned officers were awarded her
Author:
Photos used:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/
16 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Ross xnumx
    Ross xnumx 21 July 2020 04: 55 New
    13
    To the author - (+) good
    What people were all the same! You can say about them in the words of Lermontov:
    Yes, there were people in our time, Not like the current tribe: Heroes are not you!

    This is the real glory of Russia!
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 21 July 2020 06: 24 New
      +8
      Yes, Zadunaisky, hi shook it, shook it.
      During the battle, Russian losses amounted to over 900 people.
      , for 8,5 hours of battle. 100 people / h What did the Turks do? request 1000 Turks killed 1 Russian per hour, shooting, chopping, trampling. Ay, horsemen.
      1. Varyag_0711
        Varyag_0711 21 July 2020 07: 48 New
        16
        Mavrikiy Today,
        , for 8,5 hours of battle. 100 people / h What did the Turks do? request 1000 Turks killed 1 Russian per hour, shooting, chopping, trampling. Ay, horsemen.
        What's that? Suvorov had "losses" ... The battle, or rather the massacre at Rymnik, 18 thousand Austrians + 7 thousand Russians against 100 thousand Turks. The losses of the Turks are about 15-20 thousand killed by the allies, about 500 killed !!!
        Two months earlier, near Focsani, the same song, but the forces of the Turks are more modest and the losses are less.
        Taking Ishmael is generally a song. Not only did the attacker of the strongest Turkish fortress Suvorov have less strength than the defending fortress Mehmed Pasha, but also the losses are simply amazing. During the assault on the Russians about 1900 killed and 2700 wounded, the loss of the Turks was 26 thousand killed and 9 thousand prisoners, only ONE Turk managed to leave the fortress. He reported the defeat.
        The same can be said about Ushakov, his losses in each battle did not exceed not that hundreds, but several dozen people, while the Turks were beaten on their heads.

        In general, I really am amazed at the losses of Suvorov and Ushakov, it is true that we fought not in numbers, but in skill. What the Turks were doing at the same time is not entirely clear? It seems that they fired into the air, although in fact they fired exactly on ours.
        1. svp67
          svp67 21 July 2020 10: 00 New
          +7
          Quote: Varyag_0711
          In general, I really am amazed at the losses of Suvorov and Ushakov, it is true that we fought not in numbers, but in skill.

          Yes, they knew how to create local superiority, especially in the power of fire, and actually endured the enemy opposing them, and then completed the defeat
          1. Varyag_0711
            Varyag_0711 21 July 2020 10: 37 New
            11
            I agree, Suvorov at Rymnik saw the weakness of the Turks in the fragmentation of forces into three camps, which he did not fail to take advantage of.
            Ushakov did the same at sea, creating a reserve of frigates, using it against the flagships, to strengthen the fire in a specific place.
            By the way, both of them went against the established canons of warfare, which shocked the enemy, leading him to complete frustration.
        2. Ren
          Ren 21 July 2020 11: 52 New
          +1
          Quote: Varyag_0711
          During the assault on the Russians about 1900 killed and 2700 wounded, the loss of the Turks was 26 thousand killed and 9 thousand prisoners, only ONE Turk managed to leave the fortress. He reported the defeat.
          The same can be said about Ushakov, his losses in each battle did not exceed not that hundreds, but several dozen people, while the Turks were beaten on their heads.

          In general, I really am amazed at the losses of Suvorov and Ushakov, it is true that we fought not in numbers, but in skill. What the Turks were doing at the same time is not entirely clear?

          Why should you feel sorry for them, bastard, write more! © A.V. Suvorov wink
      2. Andobor
        Andobor 21 July 2020 19: 01 New
        +3
        Quote: Mavrikiy
        During the battle, Russian losses amounted to over 900 people.

        353 people were killed, the rest of the losses were wounded, several missing were carried.
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 21 July 2020 06: 00 New
    +1
    Part of the Turkish cavalry crossed the Troyanov shaft and went into the rear of the Olytsa division. Turks sat down along and opened rifle fire on the troops of General Olitsa.
    Settled along the rear? repeat How is it in Russian? recourse
    Quote: ROSS 42
    To the author - (+) good
    Where is (+) sclerosis? request
    1. Ross xnumx
      Ross xnumx 21 July 2020 06: 33 New
      +1
      Quote: Mavrikiy
      Where is (+) sclerosis?

      I myself do not understand ... Recently, the computer is buggy not childishly. It skips letters, then writes some incomprehensible words, then does not react to pressing ... Not otherwise, the enemies of the people are angry? wassat
      1. Mavrikiy
        Mavrikiy 21 July 2020 07: 54 New
        +1
        Quote: ROSS 42
        writes some incomprehensible words, then does not respond to pressing ... Not otherwise, the enemies of the people are angry?

        It's time to deal them an irreparable blow. See a doctor, clean it. And you can start with the mouse and keyboard (clean or replace).
  3. Operator
    Operator 21 July 2020 18: 18 New
    -5
    Author: Val Troyanov from the Slavic word "three" according to the number of shafts (another name is Zmievy Shafts in the sense of having many bends in the plan), built by the Carpathian Slavs in the first millennium BC. many hundreds of years before the Roman emperor Trajan (the border of the Roman Empire ran along the southern bank of the Danube).

    The Serpent Ramparts were intended to protect the Slavs from the Scythians and Sarmatians, who came from the northern bank of the Danube.
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 21 July 2020 19: 22 New
      -1
      Quote: Operator
      The Serpent Ramparts were intended to protect the Slavs from the Scythians and Sarmatians, who came from the northern bank of the Danube.

      request Not special, but ..... The school taught that the Scythians and Sormats lived in the northern Black Sea region. Where is that Danube? fool Shafts protection from the east. They taught, though 55 years ago, repeat now the story from the Dill, which all prevented from living, or other options for sources? request crying
      1. Operator
        Operator 21 July 2020 21: 02 New
        -5
        You most likely taught geography at school: the riverbed of the Danube, after going around the Carpathians, where is it - not in the northern Black Sea region?
        1. Mavrikiy
          Mavrikiy 21 July 2020 21: 30 New
          -1
          Quote: Operator
          You most likely taught geography at school: the riverbed of the Danube, after going around the Carpathians, where is it - not in the northern Black Sea region?
          And after going around Azov we will get to the Caucasus. Is the Caucasus also the northern Black Sea region? request WIKI:
          The Northern Black Sea Region is the name of the northern lands of the Black Sea Region. The concept of "a wide strip of steppes and forest-steppes" of the northern coast of the Black and Azov Seas is often found in historical literature.
  4. Andobor
    Andobor 21 July 2020 19: 21 New
    +3
    I had to go there in the early 2000s, the monument to the Battle of Kagul, built in 1849, was in excellent condition - Moscow has recently renovated,
    - Interestingly, who was not there, Germans, Romanians, nobody touched.
    1. arnaut sergey
      arnaut sergey 22 July 2020 16: 52 New
      +4
      The Gagauz people live here and we remember this and therefore no one was allowed to destroy it. This is the sivmol of friendship between the Gagauz and Russians

Военное обозрение

Кагул. Как Румянцев уничтожил армию Османской империи

16

Д. Ходовецкий. «Сражение при Кагуле»


250 лет назад русский полководец Румянцев разбил вшестеро превосходящую турецкую армию на реке Кагул. Россия вернула левый берег Дуная.

Русское наступление


Победа на Ларге («Сражение при Ларге») приблизила русскую армию под командованием Петра Румянцева к решению главной задачи кампании 1770 года — уничтожению живой силы врага и получению контроля над устьем Дуная, территорией по Пруту и Днестру, Молдавией и Валахией. Сравнительно небольшой русской армии (около 30 тыс. человек: свыше 23 тыс. пехоты, около 3,5 тыс. кавалерии и около 3 тыс. казаков; около 250 орудий) противостояли две вражеские армии. Османская армия под командованием великого визиря Иваззаде Халил-паши: около 150 тыс. человек (100 тыс. конницы и 50 тыс. пехоты), свыше 200 пушек. Она располагалась у Исакчи. При армии были все знаменитые полководцы Османской империи. И вторая армия — войска крымского хана Каплан-Гирея: 80-100 тыс. всадников. После поражения на Ларге крымский хан отступил к Дунаю. Там армия разделилась. Татарская конница ушла в сторону Измаила и Килии, где был их лагерь и семьи. Турецкий корпус по левому берегу реки Кагул пошел на соединение с великим визирем. Погром на Ларге сильно обеспокоил османское командование. Однако турки были уверены в своём превосходстве, они знали, что у Румянцева людей мало. Также татары известили, что противник испытывает проблемы со снабжением. Поэтому великий визирь решил форсировать Дунай и атаковать русских.

14 июля 1770 года османские войска переправились через Дунай. Некоторые военачальники предлагали разбить лагерь и встретить «неверных» у Дуная. Великий визирь решил наступать. Он был уверен в превосходстве своей армии. Кроме того, крымский хан обещал поддержать наступление, перехватить коммуникации противника и ударить с тыла. Крымская конница расположилась по левую сторону озера Ялпуг (Ялпух), собираясь перейти р. Сальчу (впадает в р. Ялпуг), чтобы напасть на русские обозы. 16 июля армия Халил-паши соединилась с корпусом в Кагуле.

Румянцев в это время решал две основные задачи: избежать боя сразу с двумя армиями противника и прикрыть коммуникации. Чтобы не дать соединиться туркам и татарам армия Румянцева 17 июля форсировала Кагул и встала лагерем у селения Гречени. Для защиты армейских магазинов (запасов) и безопасного движения обозов, которые следовали от Фальчи с 10-дневным запасом провианта, русский командующий направил отряд генерала Глебова (4 гренадерских батальона, часть конницы). Также Румянцев приказал отрядам Потёмкина и Гудовича выдвинуться к реке Ялпуг, прикрывая основные силы с этого направления. Войсковым транспортам, идущим к р. Сальче, дали указание перейти к реке Кагул. В результате основные силы русской армии, которые могли участвовать в сражении с войсками визиря, сократились до 17 тыс. пехоты и нескольких тысяч регулярной и иррегулярной конницы.

Румянцев хотел немедленно атаковать врага, но ждал прибытия обоза, чтобы увеличить запасы армии. Поэтому приказал ускорить движение транспортов, выслал навстречу полковые повозки и увеличил число погонщиков и вооружил их. Русской армии угрожала опасность. Провианта осталось на 2—4 дня. Впереди стояла мощная вражеская армия, на флангах были большие озёра Кагул и Ялпуг. В случае неудачи русские войска оказывалась в критической ситуации: свободному движению мешали реки и озёра, намного превосходящие силы врага (объединенные турецко-татарские силы имели в 10 раз больше солдат) могли атаковать с фронта и тыла. Уйти от многочисленной конницы врага было нельзя. Держать длительную оборону в укрепленном лагере и ждать подкреплений при отсутствии продовольствия также было нельзя. Румянцев мог отступить к Фальче, обеспечить себе снабжение и выбрать крепкую позицию. Однако он выбрал наступательную стратегию. Как отмечал Пётр Александрович, «не сносить присутствия неприятеля, не атаковав его».

Сражение


20 июля 1770 года турецкая армия направилась к селению Гречени. Османы остановились в 2 верстах от Троянова вала (укрепление времен Древнего Рима). Османский укрепленный лагерь располагался восточнее селения Вулканешти на высотах на левом берегу р. Кагул. С запада турецкий лагерь прикрывала река, с востока – большая лощина, с фронта – остатки Троянова вала. Также турки подготовили полевые укрепления – ретраншемент, поставили батареи. Турецкие войска были расположены скученно. Османы заметили, что русские стоят на месте и решили, что противник боится боя. 21 июля Халил-паша решил атаковать: имитировать главный удар в центре, бросить основные силы на левое крыло, чтобы опрокинуть русских в Кагул. В это же время Каплан-Гирей должен был форсировать Сальчу и ударить в тыл противника.

Русский командующий решил ударить по туркам до появления в тылу татарской конницы. В ночь на 21 июля (1 августа) 1770 года русские войска вышли к Троянову валу. На рассвете три русские дивизии перешли вал и построились в линию из пяти отдельных каре. Конница расположилась в промежутках между каре и позади них, в центре была артиллерия. Каждое каре имело свою задачу и направление наступления. Главный удар по левому крылу Халила-паши наносили корпус Баура (егерский и 7 гренадерских батальонов, два гусарских и карабинерный полки, свыше 1 тыс. казаков) и 2-я дивизия Племянникова (гренадерский и 4 мушкетерских полка). Здесь были сконцентрированы главные силы артиллерии – около 100 орудий. С фронта наступала 1-я дивизия Олица (2 гренадерских и 6 мушкетерских полков). Сам Румянцев был при каре Олица и имел в качестве резерва кавалерию Салтыкова и Долгорукова (кирасиры и карабинеры – около 3,5 тыс. сабель), артиллерию Мелиссино. То есть здесь было сконцентрировано две трети сил русской армии. 3-я дивизия Брюса (2 гренадерских батальона, 4 мушкетерских полка) наносила удар по правому крылу неприятеля; корпус Репнина (3 гренадерских батальона, 3 мушкетерских полка, 1,5 тыс. казаков) осуществлял охват правого фланга и должен был выйти в тыл к врагу.

Обнаружив наступление «неверных», турки открыли артиллерийский огонь, затем их многочисленная конница (в основном лёгкая) атаковала центр и левый фланг противника. Русские каре остановились и открыли ружейно-артиллерийский огонь. Особенно эффективен был огонь артиллерии Мелиссино. После неудачи в центре османы усилили давление на правом фланге, атакуя колонны генерала Брюса и князя Репнина. Пользуясь местностью (лощина), они окружили русские каре со всех сторон. Часть турецкой конницы пересекла Троянов вал и вышла в тыл дивизии Олица. Турки засели вдоль и открыли ружейный огонь по войскам генерала Олица.

Тем временем русский командующий направил резервы, чтобы занять лощину и отрезать передовые турецкие силы от укреплений и лагеря. Турки, опасаясь окружения, бежали к ретраншементу. При этом они попали под картечный огонь. Остальная османская конница, атаковавшая на левом и правом флангах, также откатилась назад. На русском правом фланге войска Баура не только отразили натиск врага, но контратаковали, взял штурмом 25-пушечную батарею, затем и ретраншемент с 93 орудиями.

Отразив вражескую атаку по всему фронту, в 8-м часу русская армия начала наступление на главные укрепления турецкого лагеря. Войска Баура, Племянникова и Салтыкова при поддержке артиллерии нанесли поражение левому флангу противника. В это время каре Олица, Брюса и Репнина совершали обход правого фланга. При атаке вражеского лагеря 10-тыс. корпус янычар яростно атаковал каре Племянникова и смял его ряды. Возникла угроза для каре Олица и срыва всей операции. Румянцев смог выправить положение с помощью резерва. В бой вступили каре Баура и Брюса. Затем в наступление пошли все каре. Войска Репнина вышли на высоту южнее турецкого лагеря и открыли огонь. Турки не выдержали одновременно атаки, запаниковали и побежали. Войско крымского хана так и не решилось вступить в бой и отступило к Аккерману.

Кагул. Как Румянцев уничтожил армию Османской империи

Итоги


В ходе сражения русские потери составили свыше 900 человек. Потери турецкой армии – по разным оценкам, от 12 до 20 тыс. человек убитыми, утонувшими, ранеными и пленными. При паническом бегстве и переправе через Дунай погибло множество людей. Было захвачено 56 знамен и почти вся артиллерия противника.

В Кагульском сражении русская армия показала высокий уровень военного мастерства и боевого духа. Это позволило разгромить меньшими силами значительно превосходящие силы турок. Румянцев сконцентрировал силы (включая артиллерию) на главном направлении, применил расчлененный боевой порядок в виде дивизионных каре, которые хорошо взаимодействовали с друг другом, артиллерией и кавалерией.

Усталость солдат, которые были на ногах с ночи, не позволила сразу организовать преследование противника. После отдыха преследование турок было продолжено. В погоню был направлен корпус Баура. 23 июля (3 августа) русские войска застигли противника на переправе через Дунай у Картала. Османы по-прежнему имели полное превосходство в силах, но были деморализованы, в их рядах царил беспорядок, они не смогли организовать оборону и быструю переправу. Баур правильно оценил обстановку и повёл войска в атаку. Османы снова были разгромлены. Русские захватили весь обоз, оставшуюся артиллерию (30 пушек) и около 1 тыс. пленных.

Турецкая армия не смогла быстро оправиться от сокрушительного поражения. Теперь османы ограничились обороной в крепостях. Румянцев использовал победу в решительном сражении, чтобы закрепиться на Дунае. Для преследования крымских татар был направлен отряд Игельстрома. Корпус Репнина, усиленный отрядом Потёмкина, направился к Измаилу. 26 июля (6 августа) взяли Измаил и двинулись дальше, занимая крепости врага на Нижнем Дунае. В августе Репин взял важную крепость Килию, которая прикрывала устье Дуная. В сентябре Игельстром взял Аккерман, в ноябре отряд генерала Глебова захватил Браилов, а Гудович вошёл в Бухарест. В итоге победоносная русская армия расположилась зимовать в Молдавии и Валахии.


В память о сражении была отчеканена медаль «За победу при Кагуле». Ей были награждены более 18 тысяч солдат и унтер-офицеров
Автор:
Использованы фотографии:
https://ru.wikipedia.org/
16 комментариев
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.

Уже зарегистрированы? Войти

  1. ROSS 42
    ROSS 42 21 июля 2020 04:55 Новый
    +13
    Автору - (+) good
    Какие всё-таки были люди! Про них можно сказать словами Лермонтова:
    Да, были люди в наше время, Не то, что нынешнее племя: Богатыри — не вы!

    Это и есть настоящая слава России!
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 21 июля 2020 06:24 Новый
      +8
      Да уж, Задунайский, hi тряхнул, так тряхнул.
      В ходе сражения русские потери составили свыше 900 человек.
      ,за 8,5 часов боя. 100 чел./ч. Что делали турки? request 1000 турок убивала 1 русского в час, стреляя, рубя, топча. Ай, джигиты.
      1. Варяг_0711
        Варяг_0711 21 июля 2020 07:48 Новый
        +16
        Mavrikiy Сегодня,
        ,за 8,5 часов боя. 100 чел./ч. Что делали турки? request 1000 турок убивала 1 русского в час, стреляя, рубя, топча. Ай, джигиты.
        Это еще что, вот у Суворова были "потери"... Сражение, а точнее побоище при Рымнике 18 тыс. австрийцев + 7 тыс. русских против 100 тыс. турок. Потери у турок около 15-20 тыс. убитыми у союзников всего убитых около 500!!!
        За два месяца до этого под Фокшанами та же песня, но силы турок по-скромнее и потери по-меньше.
        Взятие Измаила вообще песня. Мало того, что у атакующего сильнейшую турецкую крепость Суворова сил было меньше, чем у обороняющего крепость Мехмед-паши, так еще и потери просто изумительные. При штурме у русских около 1900 убитых и 2700 раненых, потери турок 26 тыс. убитыми и 9 тыс. пленными, из крепости удалось уйти только ОДНОМУ турку. Он и сообщил о разгроме.
        То же самое можно сказать об Ушакове, у него потери в каждом сражении не превышали не то чтобы сотни, а несколько десятков человек, при этом турки были биты на голову.

        Меня вообще и правда поражают потери Суворова и Ушакова, вот уж правда воевали не числом, а умением. Что при этом делали турки, не совсем понятно? Такое ощущение, что они палили в воздух, хотя на самом деле палили то они в аккурат по нашим.
        1. svp67
          svp67 21 июля 2020 10:00 Новый
          +7
          Цитата: Варяг_0711
          Меня вообще и правда поражают потери Суворова и Ушакова, вот уж правда воевали не числом, а умением.

          Да, они умели создавать локальное превосходство, особенно в силе огня и фактически выносили противостоящего против них противника, а затем завершали разгром
          1. Варяг_0711
            Варяг_0711 21 июля 2020 10:37 Новый
            +11
            Согласен, Суворов при Рымнике увидел слабость турок в дроблении сил на три лагеря, чем и не преминул воспользоваться.
            Ушаков тоже самое делал на море, создав резерв из фрегатов, используя его против флагманов, для усиления огня в конкретном месте.
            Кстати, и тот и другой шли вразрез с устоявшимися канонами ведения боя, чем шокировали противника, приводя его в полное расстройство.
        2. Ren
          Ren 21 июля 2020 11:52 Новый
          +1
          Цитата: Варяг_0711
          При штурме у русских около 1900 убитых и 2700 раненых, потери турок 26 тыс. убитыми и 9 тыс. пленными, из крепости удалось уйти только ОДНОМУ турку. Он и сообщил о разгроме.
          То же самое можно сказать об Ушакове, у него потери в каждом сражении не превышали не то чтобы сотни, а несколько десятков человек, при этом турки были биты на голову.

          Меня вообще и правда поражают потери Суворова и Ушакова, вот уж правда воевали не числом, а умением. Что при этом делали турки, не совсем понятно?

          Чего их, басурман, жалеть, пиши больше!© А.В. Суворов wink
      2. Andobor
        Andobor 21 июля 2020 19:01 Новый
        +3
        Цитата: Mavrikiy
        В ходе сражения русские потери составили свыше 900 человек.

        Погибло 353 человека, остальные потери раненые, несколько пропавших вез вести.
  2. Mavrikiy
    Mavrikiy 21 июля 2020 06:00 Новый
    +1
    Часть турецкой конницы пересекла Троянов вал и вышла в тыл дивизии Олица. Турки засели вдоль и открыли ружейный огонь по войскам генерала Олица.
    Засели вдоль тыла? feel Как это по-русски? recourse
    Цитата: ROSS 42
    Автору - (+) good
    Где (+), склероз? request
    1. ROSS 42
      ROSS 42 21 июля 2020 06:33 Новый
      +1
      Цитата: Mavrikiy
      Где (+), склероз?

      Сам не понимаю...Последнее время комп глючит не по-детски. То буквы пропускает, то пишет какие-то непонятные слова, то не реагирует на нажатие...Не иначе, враги народа злобствуют? wassat
      1. Mavrikiy
        Mavrikiy 21 июля 2020 07:54 Новый
        +1
        Цитата: ROSS 42
        пишет какие-то непонятные слова, то не реагирует на нажатие...Не иначе, враги народа злобствуют?

        Пора нанести им непоправимый удар. Обратитесь к доктору, почистите его. А начать можно с мышки и клавы (почистить или заменить).
  3. Оператор
    Оператор 21 июля 2020 18:18 Новый
    -5
    Автор: вал ТрОянов от славянского слова "три" по числу валов (другое название - Змиевы валы в смысле имеющие множество изгибов в плане), построен прикарпатскими славянами в первом тысячелетии до н.э. за много сотен лет до римского императора ТрАяна (граница Римской империи проходила по южному берегу Дуная).

    Змиевы валы предназначались для защиты славян от скифов и сарматов, набегающих со стороны северного берега Дуная.
    1. Mavrikiy
      Mavrikiy 21 июля 2020 19:22 Новый
      -1
      Цитата: Оператор
      Змиевы валы предназначались для защиты славян от скифов и сарматов, набегающих со стороны северного берега Дуная.

      request Не спец, но ..... В школе учили, что скифы и сорматы жили в северном Причерноморье. Где тот Дунай? fool Валы защита от востока. Учили, правда 55 лет назад, feel теперь история от Укропов, которым все жить мешали или другие варианты источников? request crying
      1. Оператор
        Оператор 21 июля 2020 21:02 Новый
        -5
        Вы в школе географию скорее всего учили: русло Дуная после огибания им Карпат где находится - случаем не в северном Причерноморье?
        1. Mavrikiy
          Mavrikiy 21 июля 2020 21:30 Новый
          -1
          Цитата: Оператор
          Вы в школе географию скорее всего учили: русло Дуная после огибания им Карпат где находится - случаем не в северном Причерноморье?
          А после огибания Азова попадем на Кавказ. Кавказ тоже северное Причерноморье? request ВИКИ:
          Се́верное Причерномо́рье — название северных земель Причерноморья. Понятие «широкой полосы степей и лесостепей» северного побережья Чёрного и Азовского морей часто встречается в исторической литературе.
  4. Andobor
    Andobor 21 июля 2020 19:21 Новый
    +3
    Приходилось там бывать в начале 2000-х, памятник Кагульской битвы построенный в 1849 году был в отличном состоянии, - Москва недавно отремонтировала,
    - Интересно, - кто там только не был, - немцы, румыны, - никто не тронул.
    1. арнаут сергей
      арнаут сергей 22 июля 2020 16:52 Новый
      +4
      Здесь живут гагаузы и мы помним об этом и поэтому ни кому не дали его уничтожит . Это сивмол дружбы между гагаузами и русскими