Military Review

British Ajax: a strange beast with many flaws

24

Photo: MOD


Zeitgeist


Recently, the British Armed Forces have been in a state of permanent reform. This is especially evident in the example of the ground forces. In March, the UK Department of Defense published a unified defense and security review, Defense Command Paper, which spoke about a new vision of the situation. The staffing of the ground forces will be reduced from 82 thousand to 72 thousand. Of the 225 main tanks Challenger 2 77 cars will be written off, and the remaining 148 will be upgraded to a version Challenger 3... It is noteworthy that the British canceled the modernization of the frankly not the most successful Warrior BMP: in the future, it will be written off altogether, replacing it with the German-Dutch combat vehicle Boxer.


Photo: Rheinmetall

In this regard, it is noteworthy история one of the most high-profile British defense programs - the Ajax combat vehicle. We are talking about a whole family of new combat vehicles, but the analogy with the Russian "Armata", "Kurgan-25" and wheeled "Boomerang" is not suitable here. The British have their own traditional vision of the situation, and I must say it is more than specific.

Ajax should not replace the Warrior infantry fighting vehicles in the troops (which might initially have been thought of), but what is called the Combat Vehicle Reconnaissance (CVR). The family, in particular, includes: the FV107 Scimitar combat reconnaissance vehicle, the FV106 Samson armored recovery vehicle and the FV103 Spartan armored personnel carrier. The CVR family dates back to the 60s and is now very outdated in many respects.


Photo: POA (Phot) Hamish Burke / MOD

What is offered under the new program? Ajax is nothing more than a version of the ASCOD infantry fighting vehicle, which is in service with the ground forces of Austria and Spain.

This choice was a consequence of the deep integration of the British military-industrial complex into global commercial structures and the partial loss of "national" independence. “It is not surprising that the ASCOD-2 project of another international arms giant, General Dynamics, was chosen as the platform for the promising Ajax family for the British army. BMP Ulan for Austria and Pissaro for Spain were created on the ASCOD platform. Apart from these countries, the platform is not in demand anywhere. However, the British Ministry of Defense chose this design, but modified to suit its requirements, " приводит publication Gazeta.ru words of the editor-in-chief of the magazine "Arsenal of the Fatherland" Viktor Murakhovsky

The normal combat weight of the universal Ajax platform is 34 tons. The British program includes six samples of armored vehicles:

- Combat reconnaissance vehicle Ajax;
- Ares armored personnel carrier;
- Athena command and staff vehicle;
- Engineering reconnaissance vehicle Argus;
- Apollo repair machine;
- Atlas evacuation vehicle.


In 2014, the British ordered 589 Ajax combat vehicles from the American General Dynamics. The amount of the agreement is 3,5 billion pounds: I must say, very much for a country like Great Britain. The basis of this entire fleet is a relatively "modest" military reconnaissance vehicle by modern standards. More than 200 units are planned to be delivered.

The crew of the car includes three people, in addition to this, it is possible to place one more. The main armament of the turret is a 40mm cannon. In addition, the tower has a coaxial 7,62-mm L94A1 machine gun from Heckler & Koch, smoke grenade launchers and a remote-controlled weapon station, armed with a 7,62-mm machine gun. The machine has "advanced" sensors.

The Ares armored personnel carrier weighing 33 tons looks no less ambiguous: from its armament it carries one 12,7 mm machine gun in a remotely controlled installation. Inside can accommodate four paratroopers: for comparison, inside the Russian "Kurganets-25" can accommodate eight troops.


Photo: Andrew Linnett / MOD

Revealed problems


As is often the case with any ambitious program, difficulties have plagued Ajax since its inception. We had to forget about the previously announced delivery dates in 2017: the first representatives of the family - Ares armored personnel carriers - entered the troops only in 2019. Now a total of fourteen vehicles of this variant have been delivered.

However, even these samples cause serious criticism, which made people start talking about the prospects of the program. Despite the extensive experience in operating ASCOD, in the case of Ajax-based machines, there were critical shortcomings, such as high levels of noise and vibration, which do not allow us to speak of the possibility of effective use in combat. Soldiers can stay in Ajax for up to 90 minutes. The soldiers use noise-canceling headphones.

The British even had to set speed limits of 32 kilometers per hour: in other words, Ajax can only accelerate to half the maximum possible speed. It is also interesting that, as experience has shown, the car is not capable of safely driving through obstacles higher than 20 centimeters, and strong vibration does not allow firing on the move. In this regard, it is appropriate to recall that the British Warrior BMP does not have the stabilization of the 30-mm L21A1 Rarden cannon ...

British experts say the Ajax difficulties are largely due to the additional armor protection, which has dramatically increased the mass of combat vehicles. On the other hand, almost all new models of armored vehicles go through this "growth phase": even more so if we take into account the current trend to increase the protection of armored personnel carriers and infantry fighting vehicles.


To be fair, there are also positive assessments of the program. True, they come from the manufacturer. “Recent tests have confirmed many of the performance requirements for the Ajax family of armored combat vehicles have been met, including full speed range and overcoming obstacles in reverse,” General Dynamics said in a statement.

Yet the program has gone too far to abandon it. And the described problems, apart from conceptual ones, are not something out of the ordinary. A striking example is the story of how the Americans wanted (and continue to want) to find a replacement for the M2 Bradley BMP, and the story of the creation of the M2 itself is more than indicative, as the feature film "Pentagon Wars" tells in a somewhat grotesque form.

It is important to say about one more aspect. For the UK, which cherishes the dream of "reviving its former greatness", this program (for all its high cost) is not a key one. Much more important is the state fleet and the Royal Air Force: some of the land forces can be sacrificed for them. Moreover, the choice is small. The development program for the British sixth-generation fighter Tempest alone is estimated to cost $ 60 billion. And this is only part of the defense spending in future years.
Author:
24 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Grandfather
    Grandfather 10 June 2021 03: 59
    +5
    the concept has changed, before the military-industrial complex of all countries worked for defense-attack, now for a pocket.
    1. Lech from Android.
      Lech from Android. 10 June 2021 06: 35
      -1
      Business and profit has penetrated this area. Especially in the international arena.
      The Americans are crushing competitors mercilessly, nothing personal.
      And the Europeans are good too ... especially the French who intercept our contracts from the Indians with the help of bribes and fraud.
  2. Vladimir_2U
    Vladimir_2U 10 June 2021 04: 05
    0
    armored personnel carrier Ares weighing 33 tons: from armament it carries one machine gun of 12,7 mm caliber in a remotely controlled installation. Inside can accommodate four paratroopers
    An armored carriage of some sort.
    1. Sergey Sfiedu
      Sergey Sfiedu 10 June 2021 05: 45
      +6
      It is intended to replace the same small-seat reconnaissance armored personnel carrier "Spartan", but unlike it, it is well protected.
      1. Vladimir_2U
        Vladimir_2U 10 June 2021 05: 49
        -1
        Quote: Sergey Sfyedu
        It is intended to replace the same small-seat reconnaissance armored personnel carrier "Spartan", but unlike it, it is well protected.


        And here is no:

        - Combat Intelligence Ajax machine;
        Armored personnel carrier Ares;

        So an armored carriage.
        1. Sergey Sfiedu
          Sergey Sfiedu 10 June 2021 19: 41
          +1
          Well? If the name does not contain the word "reconnaissance", this cancels the fact that it is actually a tracked BRDM? As linear armored personnel carriers, they once used the Trojan, then replaced by the Warrior infantry fighting vehicle, and the Ares is precisely the replacement for the Spartan, which has never been a linear armored personnel carrier. And if you like it - then yes, "armored carriage". The British believe that the troops need such, there is no need to use large infantry fighting vehicles where it is possible to do with small armored personnel carriers and armored personnel carriers.
          1. Vladimir_2U
            Vladimir_2U 11 June 2021 03: 31
            -1
            Quote: Sergey Sfyedu
            If the name does not contain the word "reconnaissance", this cancels the fact that it is actually a tracked BRDM?
            That is, already existing
            Combat reconnaissance Ajax machine; not enough? BRM with powerful weapons and optics, do they need a machine-gun armored personnel carrier with the appropriate aiming weaknesses?
            Quote: Sergey Sfyedu
            The British believe that the troops need such, there is no need to use large infantry fighting vehicles where it is possible to do with small armored personnel carriers and armored personnel carriers.
            Are you really that, do you think 34 ton cars are small? PC
            1. Sergey Sfiedu
              Sergey Sfiedu 11 June 2021 18: 49
              0
              Combat reconnaissance vehicle Ajax; not enough? BRM with powerful weapons and optics, do they need a machine-gun armored personnel carrier with the appropriate aiming weaknesses?

              The British believe that they need a small APC. Can you guess what for he is needed somewhere, except in reconnaissance and security?
              Are you really that, do you think 34 ton cars are small? PC

              Do you think the 4-seater APC is big? It weighs 34 tons, because an overdofig is hung on it.
    2. Jager
      Jager 10 June 2021 12: 09
      0
      Three tankmen and a dog soldier soldier
    3. Artem76
      Artem76 10 June 2021 12: 21
      +1
      And do not say ... and the fuel consumption of this armored car, I wonder ... "in the core per kilometer." Definitely build! Naglosaki, we are "happy" for you .....
    4. Reiter
      Reiter 11 June 2021 18: 55
      0
      Why is this a minus? In case of defeat of this armored carriage, only 4 paratroopers + crew can die, in case of defeat with the help of the same ATGM or tank shell of the Kurgan, twice as many paratroopers will die. Ideally, it would be necessary to give each soldier an armored carriage.
  3. Catfish
    Catfish 10 June 2021 05: 02
    +5
    ... and the story of the creation of the M2 itself is more than indicative, as the feature film "Pentagon Wars" tells in a somewhat grotesque form.

    An excellent film, if someone has not seen it, I strongly advise you to watch it, I guarantee a great mood after watching.
    1. Grandfather
      Grandfather 10 June 2021 05: 29
      -1
      our T-15s, and the "boomerang", also did not figure out where to "shove" ...
      1. Grandfather
        Grandfather 10 June 2021 08: 13
        +4
        Quote: Dead Day
        our T-15s, and the "boomerang", also did not figure out where to "shove" ...

        interesting ... minus shove, and arguments, by virtue of my innocence, no.
        1. Catfish
          Catfish 10 June 2021 20: 37
          0
          Therefore, they shove the cons, from sexual impotence. laughing
    2. Kuroneko
      Kuroneko 10 June 2021 14: 22
      0
      Quote: Sea Cat
      I guarantee a great mood after watching.

      Yeah. Great mood AFTER watching. Colonel Burton was pushed aside with a "wolf ticket", and all these forgeries did not affect the career of lobbyist General Partridge at all. = _ =
      PS For those who have not yet seen - the most famous excerpt from the film:
  4. Gunther
    Gunther 10 June 2021 09: 33
    -1
    Quote: Author
    Inside can accommodate four paratroopers: for comparison, inside the Russian "Kurganets-25" can accommodate eight troops.

    This suggests that 4 Yukei paratroopers occupy twice as many Russian paratroopers - GMO hot dogs and beer make themselves felt, or that Ares batters will be twice as large as our Kurgan-2 armored personnel carriers

    it is unclear how the ASCOD "platform" (ASCOD SV) differs from the SCOUT SV "platform".
    although here again confusion with naglicisms is possible - the basic "platform", an elevated platform along the track near the railway. stations, action program, etc.
    and the author needs to be more careful - £ 3,5 billion.
  5. Dimax-nemo
    Dimax-nemo 11 June 2021 08: 54
    0
    The British did not want stabilized weapons for a very long time on principle. They believed that shooting on the move was all nonsense, and accurate fire was possible only from short stops. Considering that even on the T-72, some stopped the stabilizer (so as not to kill someone from the crew) ...
  6. Senior seaman
    Senior seaman 11 June 2021 22: 22
    0
    Of 225 main Challenger tanks 2 77 cars will be written off, and the rest 148 upgraded to the Challenger 3 version.

    Something is wrong with the numbers ...
    1. Pan_hrabio
      Pan_hrabio 12 June 2021 20: 07
      +1
      Everything is correct. The number 2 is confusing, but this is part of the Challenger 2 tank name.
      1. Senior seaman
        Senior seaman 12 June 2021 22: 29
        +1
        Understood thanks.
  7. k_ply
    k_ply 12 June 2021 12: 24
    +1
    The author writes that the Ajax armored vehicle is a replacement for the Simiter armored vehicle and is not intended to replace the Warrior armored vehicle, then for some reason compares the Ares armored personnel carrier (replacing the Spartan armored personnel carrier) with the Kurganets-25 infantry fighting vehicle (DUBM removed from the body). The line of unified vehicles is designed to equip 4 armored cavalry (reconnaissance) regiments, equivalent to battalions, including the so-called. striker brigades, i.e. the car is an analogue of our BRM-3K "Lynx" (based on the BMP-3). By the way, the notorious LAV-25 of the Marine Corps is also an armored vehicle, not an infantry fighting vehicle or an armored personnel carrier, with a landing capacity of 6 people. They regularly transport reconnaissance groups of 4 people, i.e. not motorized infantry squads, tk. the rifle battalions of the MP themselves and their station companies perform the role of motorized infantry when using tracked amphibians AAVP-7A1. The same with BRM M3 "Bradley" with a crew of 5 people, including two scouts (there is even a motorcycle in the DO), also belong to the so-called subdivisions. military power reconnaissance (reconnaissance in force), and not secretive, practicing the tactics of small foot reconnaissance groups of 4-6 people, splitting into pairs and triplets (like snipers).
    And "Pentagon Wars" is a film made by amateurs for amateurs. The bottom line is that for a long time they were determined with the concept and requirements for the new BMP, more precisely, with the requirements of the time (they chased our floating BMP-1 / -2, also with ATGMs, loopholes and small capacity). At the exit, respectively, there is a good BMP for the 80s of the last century. A high silhouette - yes, the main disadvantage inherent in all American light and medium tanks is slightly compensated by a large negative vertical aiming angle of the gun (high turret).
    1. Usher
      Usher 13 June 2021 16: 37
      0
      Quote: k_ply
      The author writes that the Ajax armored vehicle is a replacement for the Simiter armored vehicle and is not intended to replace the Warrior armored vehicle, then for some reason compares the Ares armored personnel carrier (replacing the Spartan armored personnel carrier) with the Kurganets-25 infantry fighting vehicle (DUBM removed from the body). The line of unified vehicles is designed to equip 4 armored cavalry (reconnaissance) regiments, equivalent to battalions, including the so-called. striker brigades, i.e. the car is an analogue of our BRM-3K "Lynx" (based on the BMP-3). By the way, the notorious LAV-25 of the Marine Corps is also an armored vehicle, not an infantry fighting vehicle or an armored personnel carrier, with a landing capacity of 6 people. They regularly transport reconnaissance groups of 4 people, i.e. not motorized infantry squads, tk. the rifle battalions of the MP themselves and their station companies perform the role of motorized infantry when using tracked amphibians AAVP-7A1. The same with BRM M3 "Bradley" with a crew of 5 people, including two scouts (there is even a motorcycle in the DO), also belong to the so-called subdivisions. military power reconnaissance (reconnaissance in force), and not secretive, practicing the tactics of small foot reconnaissance groups of 4-6 people, splitting into pairs and triplets (like snipers).
      And "Pentagon Wars" is a film made by amateurs for amateurs. The bottom line is that for a long time they were determined with the concept and requirements for the new BMP, more precisely, with the requirements of the time (they chased our floating BMP-1 / -2, also with ATGMs, loopholes and small capacity). At the exit, respectively, there is a good BMP for the 80s of the last century. A high silhouette - yes, the main disadvantage inherent in all American light and medium tanks is slightly compensated by a large negative vertical aiming angle of the gun (high turret).

      the size will always be, but the negative angle is a situational plus, so the dimensions are more important, more precisely, large dimensions are always a minus.
      1. k_ply
        k_ply 14 June 2021 10: 37
        0
        The high silhouette - yes, the main drawback ... is slightly compensated ...

        Not enough? Or do we love to chat gracefully?

Военное обозрение

Британский Ajax: странный «зверь» со множеством недостатков

24

Фото: MOD


Дух времени


В последнее время Вооруженные силы Великобритании находятся в состоянии перманентных реформ. Это особенно сильно заметно на примере сухопутных сил. В марте Минобороны Великобритании опубликовало единый обзор в области обороны и безопасности Defence Command Paper, где говорилось про новое виденье ситуации. Штатную численность сухопутных войск сократят с 82 тысяч человек до 72 тысяч. Из 225 основных танков Challenger 2 77 машин спишут, а остальные 148 модернизируют в версию Challenger 3. Примечательно, что британцы отменили модернизацию откровенно не самой удачной БМП Warrior: в перспективе ее вообще спишут, заменив на германо-нидерландскую боевую машину Boxer.


Фото: Rheinmetall

В этой связи примечательна история одной из самых громких британских оборонных программ — боевой машины Ajax. Речь идет о целом семействе новых боевых машин, но аналогия с российской «Арматой», «Курганцем-25» и колесным «Бумерангом» здесь не годится. У британцев свое традиционное виденье ситуации, и нужно сказать оно более чем специфичное.

Ajax должен заменить в войсках не БМП Warrior (о чем изначально можно было подумать), а то, что называется Combat Vehicle Reconnaissance (CVR). В семейство, в частности входят: боевая разведывательная машина FV107 Scimitar, бронированная ремонтно-эвакуационная машина FV106 Samson и бронетранспортер FV103 Spartan. Семейство CVR берет свое начала еще в 60-х и на данный момент сильно устарело по многим показателям.


Photo: POA(Phot) Hamish Burke/MOD

Что же предлагается в рамках новой программы? Ajax есть не что иное, как версия боевой машины пехоты ASCOD, стоящей на вооружении сухопутных войск Австрии и Испании.

Такой выбор стал следствием глубокой интеграции британского ВПК в общемировые коммерческие структуры и частичную потерю «национальной» независимости. «Неудивительно, что в качестве платформы перспективного семейства Ajax для британской армии был выбран проект ASCOD-2 другого международного оружейного гиганта — концерна General Dynamics. На платформе ASCOD созданы БМП «Улан» для Австрии и «Писсаро» для Испании. Кроме этих стран, платформа нигде не востребована. Однако британское Минобороны выбрало именно эту, но доработанную под его требования конструкцию», — приводит издание Газета.ru слова главного редактора журнала «Арсенал Отечества» Виктора Мураховского

Нормальная боевая масса универсальной платформы Ajax — 34 тонны. Британская программа включает шесть образцов бронетехники:

— Боевая разведывательная машина Ajax;
— Бронетранспортер Ares;
— Командно-штабная машина Athena;
— Инженерная разведывательная машина Argus;
— Ремонтная машина Apollo;
— Эвакуационная машина Atlas.


В 2014 британцы заказали у американской General Dynamics 589 боевых машин семейства Ajax. Сумма соглашения — 3,5 млрд фунтов стерлингов: нужно сказать, очень немало для такой страны как Великобритания. Основа всего этого парка — относительно «скромная» по современным меркам боевая разведывательная машина. Их планируют поставить более 200 единиц.

В состав экипажа машины входит три человека, помимо этого возможно разместить еще одного. Основное вооружение башни — 40-миллиметровая пушка. Кроме нее башня имеет спаренный 7,62-миллиметровый пулемет L94A1 компании Heckler & Koch, пусковые установки дымовых гранат и боевой модуль с дистанционным управлением, вооруженный 7,62- миллиметровым пулеметом. Машина имеет «продвинутые» сенсоры.

Не менее неоднозначно выглядит бронетранспортер Ares массой 33 тонны: из вооружения он несет один пулемет калибра 12,7 миллиметров в дистанционно управляемой установке. Внутри могут разместиться четыре десантника: для сравнения, внутри российского «Курганца-25» можно разместить восемь человек десанта.


Photo: Andrew Linnett/MOD

Вскрывшиеся проблемы


Как это часто бывает с любой амбициозной программой, трудности преследовали Ajax с самого рождения. Про озвученные ранее сроки поставок в 2017-м давно пришлось забыть: первые представители семейства — бронетранспортеры Ares — в войска поступили только в 2019-м. Сейчас совокупно поставили четырнадцать машин этого варианта.

Однако даже эти образцы вызывают серьезные нарекания, которые заставили заговорить о перспективах программы. Несмотря на большой опыт эксплуатации ASCOD в случае с машинами на базе Ajax имели место критические недостатки, такие как высокий уровень шума и вибрации, которые не позволяют говорить о возможности эффективного применения в бою. Бойцам можно находиться в Ajax до 90 минут. Солдаты используют подавляющие шум наушники.

Британцам даже пришлось установить ограничения по скорости в 32 километра в час: проще говоря, Ajax может разгоняться лишь до половины максимально возможной скорости. Интересно и то, что, как показал опыт, машина не способна безопасно проезжать через препятствия выше 20 сантиметров, а сильная вибрация не позволяет вести огонь с ходу. В этой связи уместно напомнить, что британская БМП Warrior не имеет стабилизации 30-миллиметровой пушки L21A1 Rarden…

Британские специалисты говорят, что трудности Ajax в значительной мере вызваны дополнительной броневой защитой, что резко увеличило массу боевых машин. С другой стороны, почти все новые образцы бронетехники проходят через эту «фазу роста»: тем более, если учитывать современный тренд на повышение защиты бронетранспортеров и БМП.


Справедливости ради, есть и позитивные оценки программы. Правда, исходят они от производителя. «Недавние испытания подтвердили выполнение многих из тактико-технических требований для семейства боевых бронированных машин Ajax, включая движение во всем диапазоне скоростей и преодоление препятствий обратным задним ходом», — говорится в заявлении General Dynamics.

И все же программа зашла слишком далеко, чтобы от нее отказываться. А описанные проблемы, не считая концептуальных, не являются чем-то из ряда вон выходящим. Яркий пример — история с тем, как американцы хотели (и продолжают хотеть) найти замену БМП M2 Bradley, да и история создания самой M2 более чем показательна, о чем в несколько гротескной форме рассказывает художественный фильм «Войны Пентагона».

Важно сказать про еще один аспект. Для Великобритании, лелеющей мечты о «возрождении былого величия» эта программа (при всей своей дороговизне) не является ключевой. Куда важнее состояние флота и Королевских военно-воздушных сил: ради них можно частично пожертвовать сухопутными силами. Тем более, выбор невелик. Одна только программа разработки британского истребителя шестого поколения Tempest по оценкам обойдется в 60 миллиардов долларов. И это только часть оборонных расходов будущих лет.
Автор:
24 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Дедкастарый
    Дедкастарый 10 июня 2021 03:59
    +5
    концепция изменилась,раньше ВПК всех стран работали на оборону-нападение,сейчас на карман.
    1. Леха с Андроида.
      Леха с Андроида. 10 июня 2021 06:35
      -1
      Бизнес и выгода проникла в эту сферу. Особенно в международную сферу.
      Американцы давят конкурентов нещадно, ничего личного.
      Да и европейцы тоже хороши... особенно французы перехватывающие наши контракты у индусов с помощью взяток и подтасовок.
  2. Владимир_2У
    Владимир_2У 10 июня 2021 04:05
    0
    бронетранспортер Ares массой 33 тонны: из вооружения он несет один пулемет калибра 12,7 миллиметров в дистанционно управляемой установке. Внутри могут разместиться четыре десантника
    Бронеколяска какая то.
    1. Сергей Сфыеду
      Сергей Сфыеду 10 июня 2021 05:45
      +6
      Он предназначен для замены такого же маломестного разведывательного БТР "Спартан", но в отличии от него - неплохо защищен.
      1. Владимир_2У
        Владимир_2У 10 июня 2021 05:49
        -1
        Цитата: Сергей Сфыеду
        Он предназначен для замены такого же маломестного разведывательного БТР "Спартан", но в отличии от него - неплохо защищен.


        А вот и нет:

        — Боевая разведывательная машина Ajax;
        Бронетранспортер Ares;

        Так что бронеколяска.
        1. Сергей Сфыеду
          Сергей Сфыеду 10 июня 2021 19:41
          +1
          Ну и? Если в названии нет слова "разведывательный", это отменяет тот факт, что фактически это гусеничный БРДМ? В качестве линейных БТР они когда то использовали "Троуджен", затем смененный на БМП "Уорриор", а "Арес" это именно замена "Спартану", который ни разу не линейный БТР. И если Вам так нравится - то да, "бронеколяска". Англичане считают, что такая войскам нужна, незачем использовать большие БМП там, где можно обойтись малыми БРМ и БТР.
          1. Владимир_2У
            Владимир_2У 11 июня 2021 03:31
            -1
            Цитата: Сергей Сфыеду
            Если в названии нет слова "разведывательный", это отменяет тот факт, что фактически это гусеничный БРДМ?
            То есть уже имеющейся
            Боевая разведывательная машина Ajax; недостаточно? БРМ с мощным вооружением и оптикой, им в помощь нужен пулемётный БТР с соответствующими прицельными немощами?
            Цитата: Сергей Сфыеду
            Англичане считают, что такая войскам нужна, незачем использовать большие БМП там, где можно обойтись малыми БРМ и БТР.
            Вы реально такой, считаете 34 тонные машины малыми? ПЦ
            1. Сергей Сфыеду
              Сергей Сфыеду 11 июня 2021 18:49
              0
              Боевая разведывательная машина Ajax; недостаточно? БРМ с мощным вооружением и оптикой, им в помощь нужен пулемётный БТР с соответствующими прицельными немощами?

              Британцы считают, что малый БТР им нужен. Можете предположить нафига он нужен где-то, кроме как в разведве и охранении?
              Вы реально такой, считаете 34 тонные машины малыми? ПЦ

              А Вы считаете 4х местный БТР большим? Он 34 тонны весит, потому что на него брони навешано овердофига.
    2. Jager
      Jager 10 июня 2021 12:09
      0
      Три танкиста и собака soldier soldier
    3. Артем76
      Артем76 10 июня 2021 12:21
      +1
      И ни говорите... а расход топлива у этой брониколяски какой, интересно ... "вЯдро на километр". Однозначно строить! Наглосаки, мы за вас "рады".....
    4. Reiter
      Reiter 11 июня 2021 18:55
      0
      А почему это минус? В случае поражения оной бронеколяски могут погибнуть только 4 десантника + экипаж, в случае поражения с помощью той же ПТУР или танковым снарядом Кургана погибнет в два раза больше десантников. В идеале было бы нужно выдать каждому бойцу по бронеколяске.
  3. Морской Кот
    Морской Кот 10 июня 2021 05:02
    +5
    ... да и история создания самой M2 более чем показательна, о чем в несколько гротескной форме рассказывает художественный фильм «Войны Пентагона».

    Великолепный фильм, если кто-то не видел, очень советую посмотреть, гарантирую отличное настроение после просмотра.
    1. Дедкастарый
      Дедкастарый 10 июня 2021 05:29
      -1
      наши Т-15,и "бумеранг",тоже не придумали куда "впихнуть"...
      1. Дедкастарый
        Дедкастарый 10 июня 2021 08:13
        +4
        Цитата: Дедкастарый
        наши Т-15,и "бумеранг",тоже не придумали куда "впихнуть"...

        интересно...минуса пихают,а аргументов,в силу моей правоты-нет.
        1. Морской Кот
          Морской Кот 10 июня 2021 20:37
          0
          Потому и пихают минусы, от полового бессилия. laughing
    2. Kuroneko
      Kuroneko 10 июня 2021 14:22
      0
      Цитата: Морской Кот
      гарантирую отличное настроение после просмотра.

      Ага.Отличное настроение именно ПОСЛЕ просмотра. Полковника Бёртона задвинули с "волчьим билетом", а на карьере лоббиста генерала Партриджа все эти подлоги вообще никак не сказались. =_=
      P.S. Для тех, кто ещё не видел - самый знаменитый отрывок из фильма:
  4. Гюнтер
    Гюнтер 10 июня 2021 09:33
    -1
    Цитата: Автор
    Внутри могут разместиться четыре десантника: для сравнения, внутри российского «Курганца-25» можно разместить восемь человек десанта.

    это говорит о том, что 4 юкейских десантника занимают место в 2 раза больше российских десантников - ГМО хотдоги и пиво дают о себе знать, или о том, что бэтров Арес будет в два раза больше наших БТР«Курган-25»

    непонятно, чем "платформа" ASCOD(ASCOD SV) отличается от "платформы" SCOUT SV.
    хотя тут возможно опять путаница с наглицизмами - базовая "платформа", возвышенная площадка вдоль пути у ж.-д. станции, программа действий и т.п.
    и автору надо внимательнее - 3,5 млрд фунтов стерлингов.
  5. Dimax-Nemo
    Dimax-Nemo 11 июня 2021 08:54
    0
    Стабилизированное вооружение англичане очень долго не хотели из принципа. Считали, что стрельба на ходу - это всё ерунда, и меткий огонь возможен только с коротких остановок. Учитывая, что даже на Т-72 некоторые стопорили стабилизатор (дабы не убил кого-нибудь из экипажа).....
  6. Старший матрос
    Старший матрос 11 июня 2021 22:22
    0
    Из 225 основных танков Challenger 2 77 машин спишут, а остальные 148 модернизируют в версию Challenger 3.

    Что-то не так с цифрами...
    1. Pan_Hrabio
      Pan_Hrabio 12 июня 2021 20:07
      +1
      Все правильно. Путает цифра 2, но это часть названия танка Challenger 2.
      1. Старший матрос
        Старший матрос 12 июня 2021 22:29
        +1
        Понял, спасибо.
  7. k_ply
    k_ply 12 июня 2021 12:24
    +1
    Автор пишет, что БРМ "Аякс" - замена БРМ "Симитэр" и не призвана заменить БМП "Уорриор", затем зачем-то сравнивает БТР "Арес" (замена БТР "Спартан") по десантовместимости с БМП "Курганец-25" (ДУБМ вынесен за корпус). Линейка унифицированных машин предназначена для оснащения 4-х бронекавалерийских (разведывательных) полков, эквивалентным батальонам, в т.н. страйкер-бригадах, т.е. машина - аналог нашей БРМ-3К "Рысь" (на базе БМП-3). Кстати, небезызвестные LAV-25 морской пехоты - это тоже БРМ, а не БМП или БТР, при десантовместимости в 6 чел. штатно перевозят разведгруппы из 4 чел., т.е. не мотопехотные отделения, т.к. сами стрелковые батальоны МП и их ст.роты выполняют роль мотопехоты при использовании гусеничных амфибий AAVP-7A1. То же с БРМ М3 "Брэдли" с экипажем 5 чел., включая двух разведчиков (в ДО есть даже мотоцикл), тоже относятся к подразделениям т.н. войсковой силовой разведки (разведка боем), а не скрытной, исповедующей тактику малых пеших разведгрупп 4-6 чел, дробящихся на пары и тройки (как у снайперов).
    А "Войны Пентагона" - фильмец сделанный дилетантами для дилетантов. Суть лишь в том, что долго определялись с концепцией и требованиями к новой БМП, точнее, с требованиями времени (погнались за нашими плавающими БМП-1/-2, также с ПТУРами, бойницами и малой вместимостью). На выходе соответственно - неплохая БМП для 80-х годов прошлого века. Высокий силуэт - да, гл.недостаток, свойственный всем амер-ским легким и средним танкам, чуть компенсируется бОльшим отрицательным углом вертикальной наводки пушки (высокая башня).
    1. Usher
      Usher 13 июня 2021 16:37
      0
      Цитата: k_ply
      Автор пишет, что БРМ "Аякс" - замена БРМ "Симитэр" и не призвана заменить БМП "Уорриор", затем зачем-то сравнивает БТР "Арес" (замена БТР "Спартан") по десантовместимости с БМП "Курганец-25" (ДУБМ вынесен за корпус). Линейка унифицированных машин предназначена для оснащения 4-х бронекавалерийских (разведывательных) полков, эквивалентным батальонам, в т.н. страйкер-бригадах, т.е. машина - аналог нашей БРМ-3К "Рысь" (на базе БМП-3). Кстати, небезызвестные LAV-25 морской пехоты - это тоже БРМ, а не БМП или БТР, при десантовместимости в 6 чел. штатно перевозят разведгруппы из 4 чел., т.е. не мотопехотные отделения, т.к. сами стрелковые батальоны МП и их ст.роты выполняют роль мотопехоты при использовании гусеничных амфибий AAVP-7A1. То же с БРМ М3 "Брэдли" с экипажем 5 чел., включая двух разведчиков (в ДО есть даже мотоцикл), тоже относятся к подразделениям т.н. войсковой силовой разведки (разведка боем), а не скрытной, исповедующей тактику малых пеших разведгрупп 4-6 чел, дробящихся на пары и тройки (как у снайперов).
      А "Войны Пентагона" - фильмец сделанный дилетантами для дилетантов. Суть лишь в том, что долго определялись с концепцией и требованиями к новой БМП, точнее, с требованиями времени (погнались за нашими плавающими БМП-1/-2, также с ПТУРами, бойницами и малой вместимостью). На выходе соответственно - неплохая БМП для 80-х годов прошлого века. Высокий силуэт - да, гл.недостаток, свойственный всем амер-ским легким и средним танкам, чуть компенсируется бОльшим отрицательным углом вертикальной наводки пушки (высокая башня).

      размер всегда будет, а вот отрицательный угол ситуативный плюс, так что габариты важнее, точнее большие габариты это всегда минус.
      1. k_ply
        k_ply Вчера, 10:37
        0
        Высокий силуэт - да, гл.недостаток... чуть компенсируется...

        Недостаточно? Или любим изящно трепаться?