Military Review

Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland

3
In March, 1994, simultaneously with the Order of Merit for the Fatherland in the Russian Federation, an unusual award was approved - the medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland. This term was introduced into the award system of Russia specifically for this award. Currently, they represent a common set of one award. When the Order for Services to the Fatherland was established, a system was envisaged, according to which the sequence of awards was foreseen - first two degrees medals, and then four orders. The author of the sketch of the medal is A. V. Baklanov, People's Artist of Russia, the main artist of the St. Petersburg Mint.


The medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland was established by presidential decree of March 2 of 1994. The medal has two degrees, which are awarded successively - first the medal of the Order for Services to the Fatherland, II degree, then the medal of the Order for Services to the Fatherland, I degree. The presence of the medal of the Order of the I degree gives the right for new services to the country to be awarded the Order for Services to the Fatherland of the IV degree. The medal of the order can be awarded to both civilians and military personnel.

According to the statute, the medal of the Order for Services to the Fatherland is awarded to citizens: 1) for the implementation of specific and useful for Russia affairs in industry and agriculture, transport and construction, in education and science, in culture and health, as well as in other areas of work; 2) for a great contribution to the defense of the Fatherland, for the progress achieved in maintaining high combat readiness of formations, subunits and units, for excellent indicators of combat training, as well as other merit during military service. Also, the medal of the Order is awarded to citizens for ensuring state security and strengthening law and order.

Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland

This award is worn on the left side of the chest and is located after the orders (if any). In this case, the medal of the II degree in the presence of the awarded medal of the I degree is not worn. (With the exception of medals with images of swords.) It is worth noting that, as in the case of the order, the soldier is awarded the medal “For services to the Fatherland” with the image of swords for distinguishing in military operations. The length of each sword is 28 mm, the width is 3 mm. Two swords intersecting each other are attached to the ring between the reward itself and the shoe. When wearing a ribbon on a medal plate, if a citizen has medals of I and II degree, only a tape of a medal of I degree is worn.

The medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland is made of pure silver. The medal has the shape of a circle, its diameter is 32 mm. On both sides of the award there is a bulging side. On the front side of the award is the image of the badge of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland. On the reverse side of the medal is the award motto: “Benefit, Honor and Glory”, the words are arranged in a circle, all the letters are capitalized. Also on the reverse side in the center of the medal is the year of its establishment 1994, and in the lower part there is an image of laurel branches (relief) and the serial number of the award. The difference between the Order of Merit for the Fatherland I grade is that it is gilded. With the help of the ring and the ear, the medal is attached to a standard pentagonal block, which is covered with a dark red silk ribbon, having a width of - 24 mm. On the medal tape of the I degree in the middle, a strip of yellow color 1 mm thick is applied, on the ribbon of the II degree award a stripe of gray color of the same thickness.

Currently, the medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland has been awarded to more than a thousand people. In the open access there is information about 199 awarded with the medal of the Order of the I degree and about 954 awarded with the medal of the Order of the II degree. At the same time, the actual number of awards can significantly exceed these figures. However, in modern Russia it is quite difficult to track who and for what awards were presented.


Among the first to be awarded the Order of Merit for the Fatherland medal was a group of domestic athletes and coaches who showed excellent results during their performance at the 1994 Winter Olympics in Lillehammer. Among the awards that are in the public domain, a significant number of Russian athletes. For example, the Russian biathlete Olga Zaitseva was twice awarded the medal of the Order for Services to the Fatherland, II degree. Apparently, this is the only case so far in the Russian award system. She also has a medal of the I degree, which was awarded to her 24 February 2014 of the year for high sporting achievements, a great contribution to the development of physical culture and sports during the Olympic Games in Sochi. Also, for the success in the Olympics were awarded officials and heads of sports organizations. One of the last awards with the medal of the Order For Services to the Fatherland, I degree is the awarding of the head of the Russian Biathlon Union, MD Prokhorov.

Based on open source materials.
Author:
Articles from this series:
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Gold Star Medal
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order "For Services to the Fatherland"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order of Courage
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order "For Military Merit"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Order of Zhukov
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Honor"
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of the Order of Merit for the Fatherland
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Suvorov
Combat awards of the Russian Federation. Medal of Nesterov
3 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Terrible ensign
    Terrible ensign 31 March 2014 09: 13
    +7
    The right medal.
    One of the first II degree awarded with swords medal in the first Chechen campaign is Igor Kazakov, deputy company commander of the Sverdlovsk riot police, currently retired police major. Good man.
  2. vietnam7
    vietnam7 31 March 2014 14: 06
    +5
    There is publicly available information on 199 awarded with a medal of the Order of the 954st degree and about 99 awarded with a medal of the Order of the XNUMXnd degree. And where can I see? I was handed this in the XNUMXth, only the box was more modest cardboard with a seal.
    1. GRANATE-19
      GRANATE-19 April 1 2014 20: 18
      +2
      Quote: vietnam7
      There is publicly available information on 199 awarded with a medal of the Order of the 954st degree and about 99 awarded with a medal of the Order of the XNUMXnd degree. And where can I see? I was handed this in the XNUMXth, only the box was more modest cardboard with a seal.

      On it (a box of cardboard, by the way as in the USSR), they also signed the name, with a pen! Yes damn 1999 - 2000gg. - THERE WAS TIME! SALUTES TO HEROES !!!!!
    2. The comment was deleted.

Военное обозрение

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством»

3
В марте 1994 года одновременно с орденом «За заслуги перед Отечеством» в Российской Федерации была утверждена необычная награда — медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством». Данный термин был введен в наградную систему России специально для данной награды. В настоящее время они представляют собой общий комплект одной награды. При учреждении ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» предполагалась система, по которой предусматривалась очередность награждений — сначала медали двух степеней, а уже затем ордена четырех степеней. Автором эскиза медали является А. В. Бакланов, народный художник России, главный художник Санкт-Петербургского монетного двора.


Медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» была учреждена на основании президентского указа от 2 марта 1994 года. Медаль имеет две степени, награждение которыми производится последовательно — сначала медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» II степени, затем медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» I степени. Наличие медали ордена I степени дает право при новых заслугах перед страной на награждение орденом «За заслуги перед Отечеством» IV степени. Медалью ордена могут награждаться как гражданские лица, так и военнослужащие.

Согласно статуту, медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» награждаются граждане: 1) за осуществление конкретных и полезных для России дел в промышленности и сельском хозяйстве, на транспорте и в строительстве, в образовании и науке, в культуре и здравоохранении, а также в других областях трудовой деятельности; 2) за большой вклад в дело защиты Отечества, за достигнутые успехи в поддержании высокой боевой готовности соединений, подразделений и частей, за отличные показатели боевой подготовки, а также другие заслуги во время прохождения военной службы. Также медалью ордена награждаются граждане за обеспечение государственной безопасности и укрепление законности и правопорядка.

Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством»

Данная награда носится с левой стороны груди и располагается после орденов (при их наличии). При этом медаль II степени при наличии у награжденного медали I степени не носится. (За исключением медалей с изображениями мечей.) Стоит отметить, что, как и в случае с орденом, военнослужащим за отличие в боевых действиях вручается медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» с изображением мечей. Длина каждого меча — 28 мм, ширина — 3 мм. Два перекрещивающихся между собой меча крепятся к кольцу между самой наградой и колодкой. При ношении ленты на медальной планке при наличии у гражданина медалей I и II степени носится только лента медали I степени.

Медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» изготавливается из чистого серебра. Медаль имеет форму круга, его диаметр составляет 32 мм. С обеих сторон награды имеется выпуклый бортик. На лицевой стороне награды располагается изображение знака ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством». На оборотной стороне медали расположен девиз награды: «Польза, честь и слава», слова расположены по окружности, все буквы заглавные. Также на оборотной стороне в центре медали расположен год ее учреждения 1994, а в нижней части изображение лавровых ветвей (рельефное) и порядковый номер награды. Отличие медали ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» I степени в том, что она позолочена. При помощи кольца и ушка медаль крепится к стандартной пятиугольной колодке, которая обтянута темно-красной шелковой лентой, имеющей ширину — 24 мм. На ленте медали I степени посередине наносится полоска желтого цвета толщиной 1 мм, на ленту награды II степени полоска серого цвета той же толщины.

В настоящее время медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» награждено более тысячи человек. В открытом доступе имеется информация о 199 награжденных медалью ордена I степени и о 954 награжденных медалью ордена II степени. При этом реальное количество награждений может значительно превосходить данные цифры. Однако в современной России отследить, кому и за что были вручены награды, довольно сложно.


Среди первых награжденных медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» была группа отечественных спортсменов и тренеров, которая показала отличные результаты во время выступления на зимних Олимпийских играх 1994 года в Лиллехаммере. Среди награждений, которые есть в открытом доступе, значительное количество российских спортсменов. К примеру, российская биатлонистка Ольга Зайцева была дважды награждена медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» II степени. По всей видимости, это единственный пока подобный случай в российской наградной системе. Также у нее есть медаль ордена I степени, которая была вручена ей 24 февраля 2014 года за высокие спортивные достижения, большой вклад в развитие физической культуры и спорта во время Олимпийских игр в Сочи. Также за успехи в проведении Олимпиады были награждены чиновники и главы спортивных организаций. Одним из последних награждений медалью ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» I степени является награждение главы Союза биатлонистов России М. Д. Прохорова.

По материалам открытых источников.
Автор:
Статьи из этой серии:
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль «Золотая Звезда»
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Орден «За заслуги перед Отечеством»
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Орден Мужества
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Орден «За военные заслуги»
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Орден Жукова
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль «За отвагу»
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством»
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Суворова
Боевые награды Российской Федерации. Медаль Нестерова
3 комментария
Информация
Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо авторизоваться.
  1. Страшный прапёрщик
    Страшный прапёрщик 31 марта 2014 09:13
    +7
    Правильная медаль.
    Одним из первых награжденных медалью II степени с мечами в первую чеченскую кампанию является Игорь Казаков, зам.командира роты Свердловского ОМОНа, в настоящее время майор милиции в отставке. Хороший человек.
  2. vietnam7
    vietnam7 31 марта 2014 14:06
    +5
    В открытом доступе имеется информация о 199 награжденных медалью ордена I степени и о 954 награжденных медалью ордена II степени. А где можно посмотреть? Мне такую в 99-м вручили, только коробочка была поскромнее картонная с печатью.
    1. ГРАНАТ-19
      ГРАНАТ-19 1 апреля 2014 20:18
      +2
      Цитата: vietnam7
      В открытом доступе имеется информация о 199 награжденных медалью ордена I степени и о 954 награжденных медалью ордена II степени. А где можно посмотреть? Мне такую в 99-м вручили, только коробочка была поскромнее картонная с печатью.

      На ней(коробочке из картона кстати как в СССР) ещё фамилию подписывали, ручкой! Да блин 1999 - 2000гг. - ВОТ БЫЛИ ВРЕМЕНА! САЛЮТ - ГЕРОЯМ!!!!!
    2. Комментарий был удален.