Military Review

Strong assault on Buda

9
Strong assault on Buda

After the fall of Pest (January 18, 1945), a week-long calm fell in the western part of the Hungarian capital. On January 18, German troops launched a third counter-offensive, Operation Conrad III, trying to unlock the Budapest group. Parts of the 4th SS Panzer Corps struck from the area between Lake Balaton and Szekesfehervar, and the German on January 19 Tanks after the defeat of several Soviet units, they went to the Danube in the Dunapentele region, thereby temporarily breaking the trans-Danube communication. The situation was dangerous and caused temporary chaos. The Soviet 133rd Rifle and 18th Panzer Corps even fell into temporary encirclement. However, the Germans were sorely lacking infantry, so the corps almost immediately left the encirclement.

Tolbukhin had to organize flank counterattacks from the north and south to defeat the German armored wedge. Thus, 104 th rifle and 23 th tank corps were deployed from the Buda area, and troops of the 30 rifle corps attacked from the south. The Germans suffered heavy losses in armored vehicles and rolled away again. Operation Conrad III ended in failure for the Germans. The last attempt to unblock Budapest from the outside failed. The German command began to prepare a new operation - "Spring awakening" (The failure of the last major offensive of the Wehrmacht). But she could not save Budapest any more, since he fell before it began.

The German-Hungarian garrison of Buda used this calm to reinforce the defenses. The methods of the Soviet assault groups remained unchanged: the enemy’s defenses were cut through and destroyed by separate, isolated enemy garrisons. The assault groups consisted of a platoon of machine gunners, the engineer department, 3-4 backpack flame throwers. They were supported by the 1-2 of the tank and the calculations of the guns that fired direct fire. In the old part of the city there was a significant number of stone and metal fences around the buildings, which represented an additional barrier. They were difficult to overcome, as they were shot through from neighboring buildings. Fences had to be shot using artillery, or sappers undermined them. The explosion was carried out at night under the cover of darkness or during the day under the cover of a smoke screen and the fire of neighboring units.

The command of the encircled German-Hungarian grouping, in anticipation of the success of the tank units who were undertaking the release of Budapest from outside, which were from Buda in 35 kilometers, were preparing to take a counter strike. It was especially necessary to recapture the airfield in order to restore the air bridge, which was necessary to supply the troops and remove many of the wounded. The only supply option remained gliders that landed on the Bloody Meadow. The operation was called "Gambling". The basis of the shock group consisted of part of the 9 of the SS Mountain Corps and the 13 Panzer Division, which still had about 25 tanks and 30 armored personnel carriers. The engineers were to demine the aisles, after which the offensive itself was to begin. The Germans hoped to take advantage of the temporary weakening of the Soviet Budapest Group of Forces.

Strong assault on Buda

Broken and burnt German airborne gliders on the Bloody Meadow (in the background houses on Attila Street, Budapest

21 January 1945 g. Battalions "Europe" and "Bath" went on the attack. German-Hungarian troops achieved local successes, recaptured the Varošmayor quarter, but suffered heavy losses. On January 22, Soviet troops began to remove roadblocks in the northern and middle parts of the Buda bridgehead, that is, the threat of German tanks breaking through to the Hungarian capital was eliminated. At the same time, a number of units were transferred from Pest, and the battle began to boil again on the whole front. By this time, the Danube River was covered with strong ice and the Hungarian units, primarily recruited from ethnic Romanians and Gypsies, began to cross the river and surrender. Soviet troops carried out a series of attacks on the ice of the river, but they did not lead to success. On January 23, the former 7-storey house of the dictator Horthy, which housed an ammunition depot, blew up. About 300 people died under its rubble. The house was considered a good bomb shelter, and a large number of people were hiding in its basements.

The forces of the German-Hungarian group were melting before our eyes, and there was nothing to fill them with. January 24 The Germans and Hungarians beat off a strong night attack. To stabilize the situation, the 13 Tank Division battle group and all of the free units of the 8 SS Cavalry Division were thrown into battle. On the night of January 25, Soviet troops attacked again. They broke through the position of the shock battalion "Bath" in Varoshmayor, capturing the western part of the quarter. In order to block the breakthrough, the enemy command had to throw the assault battalion and the 6 th battalion of the Hungarian 3 regiment into battle.

The difficult situation was in the southern section. Here our troops captured the building of a factory for sewing military uniforms, near the railway embankment in Ladmani. Part of the German units was blocked on the upper floors of the factory building. The Germans came to organize a counterattack with the support of assault guns. Rescuing their own, many Germans died. Assault guns helped the Germans to escape from the upper floors, but the factory still remained in Soviet hands.

By January 26, Soviet troops occupied more and more of Buda’s space, the German-Hungarian defense collapsed before our eyes. The operational situation of the defenders was getting worse every hour. The disaster was approaching. In the evening, Pfeffer-Wildenbruch convened a military council. To Budapest reached newsso that the attempt of the external deblockade of the Hungarian capital failed. Some commanders offered to go for a breakthrough themselves in order to save at least some of the troops. At the headquarters of Army Group South, they considered this venture to be meaningless, and therefore they have actually written off the Budapest grouping. The commander of the army group "Balck" (6-I army, 1-I and 3-I Hungarian armies) G. Balck believed that Budapest will be lost, and his defenders will not be able to escape from the environment. The Budapest grouping lasted longer than expected at the General Staff. Hitler believed that the garrison of Budapest must continue to resist in order to gain time.

Meanwhile, Soviet troops took up defensive positions on Mount Orban and discovered underground tunnels that led to the north-western borders of the small summit of the Swabian Mountains. Soviet soldiers snuck in on them and took the mountain. As a result, a huge breach in the line of defense of the enemy. The Germans and the Hungarians were retreating in all directions. Desperate counterattacks of the enemy, who tried to restore the front, were repulsed. On January 29, units of the 10 Infantry Division and the Billnitser group and some other units again counterattacked Varoshmayor and the small Schwab Mountain. However, the support of the assault guns could not help. The enemy units suffered huge losses as their quality plummeted. The bloodless units were replenished at the expense of the rear men, supply officers, police officers, students, etc., who had no experience of military operations.


The wounded Hungarian light tank 38M "Toldi I" from the 2 th Hungarian Tank Division defeated in Budapest. Hungarian medium tank 41М "Turan II" on a railway platform

So that the Soviet troops did not dismember Buda’s garrison and did not surround the German units fighting at Matthias, on the night from 29 to 30 in January, parts of 9 of the SS Mountain Corps were taken to new positions directly north and north-west of the castle mountain. This was the last line of defense. There was nowhere else to retreat. Early in the morning, German and Hungarian troops also abandoned their positions in the southern part of Margarita Island. Pfeffer-Wildenbruch, in order to maintain command and control of troops in conditions of their fragmentation, ordered the commander of the 13 Panzer Division, General Gerhard Schmidhuber, to command the southern sector of the Buda bridgehead. Understanding that successful defense is no longer possible, Schmidhuber began to prepare a breakthrough independently.

On January 30, Soviet troops were able to take Sella Kalman Square, the German defense in the Varoshmayor area finally collapsed. Soviet tanks entered Sennaya Square and, after a fierce battle, destroyed the positions of the artillery division of the Hungarian 12th Reserve Division. There is very little left to Castle Hill. Enemy positions in the area of ​​Castle Hill were subjected to strong aviation and artillery strikes. Buda Castle turned into ruins. The remains of the Hungarian 10th Infantry Division remained on Pink Hill, where they surrendered (about 900 soldiers). On the same day, our troops reached the Bloody Meadow, seized the buildings of primary and secondary schools (Attilla Street). However, on the northern outskirts of the Bloody Meadow, German and Hungarian units continued to offer stubborn resistance. And the gliders continued to land, although they were shelled.




The remains of a German airframe crashing into a building number 35 or 37 (according to different sources) on Attila Street when trying to sit on the Bloody Meadow in Budapest 4 February 1945 of the year. On gliders they tried to deliver food and ammunition to German troops surrounded in the city.

31 January 1945, the fighting in the north began to subside, here the front line stabilized almost until the end of the siege of the Hungarian capital. The houses of typical buildings, which were located in Buda and at the Margarita Bridge, were turned by German soldiers into small bastions. All approaches were swept from machine guns and guns, including anti-aircraft. The anti-aircraft units were forced to repel the onslaught of Soviet infantry.

In early February, the direction of the main attack of our troops shifted to the south-western part of the city. The Germans and Hungarians still tried to counterattack, but their attacks were choking in blood. The combat readiness of the subunits fell sharply, there was a shortage of ammunition, the food ration was greatly reduced, and the wounded lacked food. Out of drugs and dressings. The wounded were simply piled up, there was nothing to treat them. The civilian population was starving. In some areas, the defense collapsed almost completely, the only obstacle left were small pockets of resistance.

On February 3, the papal nuncio Angelo Rotta, on behalf of the civilian population of the capital, who suffered greatly in the midst of a fierce urban battle, suggested that Pfeffer-Wildenbruhu stop resistance. The commander of the garrison notified the higher command of the critical situation. However, he was ordered to hold the city to the last bullet. Hungarian commanders gathered for a meeting and showed up for the surrender, but without the Germans they could not make such a decision.

4 February, our troops broke through the enemy defenses on Nemetfold Street, occupied the southern station, some houses along the streets of Kekgoy and Nagyenyed. On the morning of February 5, German gliders made a final landing attempt on the Bloody Meadow. Almost all the gliders were shot down or collapsed onto buildings. Air supply dropped to near zero. In the evening, our troops broke through the enemy defenses between the cemetery and Nemetföld Street, and reached Eagle Mountain. The SS cavalry regiment left the territory of the cemetery, Eagle Mountain was actually surrounded. Our troops conducted a “cleansing” of the territory of the Farkaschreter Cemetery, the Small Schwab Mountain and the area of ​​the southern railway station, where they destroyed individual, isolated enemy groups. Soviet troops reached the Ring of Christina.

Pfeffer-Wildenbruch again offered the command to destroy the breakthrough of the remnants of the troops. According to him, all the fortifications that allowed to keep the defense will be lost in the next day. As a result, the garrison of Budapest could now be useful only at a breakthrough, it was no longer possible to defend. However, this time, Hitler did not give permission for a breakthrough. The Fuhrer did not see any strategic benefit in this breakthrough, in his opinion, it would be better if the Budapest garrison held off enemy forces for several days. The Budapest garrison has already been written off, donated to them in order to gain time.


Soviet gunners firing X-NUMX-mm howitzer ML-152 in Budapest, on Kalwaria Square

In the following days, fierce fighting continued. On February 6, our troops fought off a strong counterattack of the SS 8 Cavalry Division against Eagle Mountain. On the same day, the remnants of the Berend combat group ceased the defense of Eagle Mountain, as ammunition and provisions ended. The remnants of the German units that defended this mountain, tried to break through to the Buda Castle, but were mostly destroyed. Eagle Hill was occupied by Soviet artillery and opened heavy fire at enemy positions.

February 7 fierce battles were fought west of the southern train station, on Gömböszha Gyula Street, where houses changed hands more than once and fought almost every floor. On the same day the “cleansing” of the territory of the Farkaschreter cemetery was completed. At night, the Germans counterattacked, trying to recapture the southern station, and achieved local success.

Only 8 February, Hitler gave permission to organize a breakthrough. Remains of German troops began to flock to the Buda Castle. February 9 Soviet artillery 1945 delivered a powerful blow to German positions on the small summit of Gellert Mountain. Then, in the course of a fierce attack, the positions of the German gunners were captured. February 11 in some places the fierce battles still continued, but the Hungarians began to surrender en masse. Capitulated the command post of the 10 Infantry Division. The hotel surrendered to Colonel Jozsef Kozmash, the commander of the Hungarian anti-aircraft artillery. Hungarian commanders who surrendered to captivity phoned the still resisting groups of the Hungarian troops and allowed to capitulate on behalf of the Hungarian command. But part of the Hungarian forces was in the German units and was subordinate to the German commanders, they could not surrender.

It was harder with the Germans. The remaining German-Hungarian troops settled in the castle. In some places, the Soviet troops crushed the resistance of certain small groups that fought fanatically. Pfeffer-Wildenbruch decided at night to go for a breakthrough. Under his leadership, there were still about 44 thousand people, but more than a quarter were wounded. 12 "Panther", 10-15 tanks of other types, 15 assault guns, near 50-60 guns remained at the disposal. But part of it could not be used, since their absence would have issued plans for a breakthrough.


Hungarian officers surrender

To be continued ...
Author:
Articles from this series:
Part 1. Storm and Budapest capture
Part 2. Breakthrough "Attila Line". The beginning of the Pest assault
Part 3. Fall Pest. The beginning of the storming of Buda
Part 4. Strong assault on Buda
9 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. Gans1234
    Gans1234 11 March 2015 05: 52
    +3
    Another ATP for the story and new details of that massacre
    1. washi
      washi 11 March 2015 14: 23
      +1
      Quote: Gans1234
      Another ATP for the story and new details of that massacre

      This is not a slaughterhouse. This is war.
      I’m wondering how the Hungarian fighters were pumped up, in addition to suppressing their rebellion in the 19th century.
      Hungary is a country of Huns (some Kazakhs and Cossacks associate themselves with the Huns)
      Ie Hungarians are runaway (not full) ours?
      1. egor670
        egor670 11 March 2015 16: 26
        +1
        if the ancestors of the Hungarians once lived on the territory of modern Russia, this does not mean that they are ours. The Hungarians fascists in atrocities were not inferior to the Germans, and other Natsiks. Near Voronezh, they became especially famous, where their royal army found its doom.
  2. D-Master
    D-Master 11 March 2015 06: 39
    +6
    Thank you so much for the article. Unfortunately, now one can often come across the opinion that at the end of the war the Germans were no longer able to fight and simply gave up their positions. Such "knowledgeable" should carefully read your article. About battles of maximum intensity for every inch of land. fierce battles went west of the south station, on Gömbös Gyula Street, where the houses changed hands more than once and fought for almost every floor.Skeptics - the city on the Volga does not resemble?
  3. miv110
    miv110 11 March 2015 10: 14
    +7
    With each new article, the perception of the intensity of the deadly battle is stronger and stronger. Dry business lines of the description of events are followed by vivid scenes of night battles, a deadly rebound of bullets and fragments from gravestones and slabs is heard, the fury of a desperate hand-to-hand combat is felt ... The last combat-ready group of 44 thousand people and 2 dozen tanks - what is this force considerable. How difficult the victory was. This must not be forgotten. And in the 56th, we had to take Budapest again.
  4. Dudu
    Dudu 11 March 2015 12: 51
    +5
    Hungarians were the most reliable allies of the Nazis. Their cruelties in the occupied territories are still hushed up. They hated the Russians fiercely.
    The capture of Hungary became one of the bloodiest battles in foreign territory. Somehow they remained in the shadow of events in the direction of the main attack on Berlin. The number of dead Soviet soldiers is simply monstrous 300 thousand people! And then in 1956, even ours were slaughtered by whole garrisons right up to the babies.
  5. bairat
    bairat 11 March 2015 13: 08
    +1
    Enemy units suffered huge losses, as their quality plummeted. The bloodless units were replenished at the expense of rear officers, supplies, police, students, etc., who did not have combat experience.

    By the way, the problem of human resources haunted not only our enemy.
    1. max702
      max702 11 March 2015 14: 32
      +2
      Quote: bairat
      By the way, the problem of human resources haunted not only our adversary

      Well, don’t you know that Hitler and fascist Germany were crushed by the incalculable hordes of the Buryat Mongols? Therefore, the Soviet army could not have such problems .. Here is a link to a very good analysis of the human and material and technical resources of the fascist bloc and the USSR with allies http://samlib.ru/n/nikolaj_b_d/krieg.shtml highly recommend hi
  6. Sergey-8848
    Sergey-8848 11 March 2015 21: 41
    +1
    A good video from the Wargaming company about the battle at Balaton was noticed on AI. This is more likely to continue this good series of articles about the battle for Hungary. Thanks to the author!

Решительный штурм Буды

Решительный штурм Буды

После падения Пешта (18 января 1945 г.) в западной части венгерской столицы наступило недельное затишье. 18 января германские войска начали третье контрнаступление — операцию «Конрад III», пытаясь деблокировать будапештскую группировку. Части 4-го танкового корпуса СС нанесли удар из района между озером Балатон и Секешфехерваром, и 19 января немецкие танки после разгрома нескольких советских подразделений вышли к Дунаю в районе Дунапентеле, тем самым временно разорвав трансдунайскую коммуникацию. Ситуация была опасной и вызвала временный хаос. Советские 133-й стрелковый и 18-й танковый корпуса даже попали во временное окружение. Однако у немцев катастрофически не хватало пехоты, поэтому корпуса почти сразу вышли из окружения.

Толбухину пришлось организовывать фланговые контрудары с севера и юга, чтобы разгромить немецкий бронетанковый клин. Так, из района Буды перебросили 104-й стрелковый и 23-й танковый корпуса, с юга атаковали войска 30-го стрелкового корпуса. Немцы понесли большие потери в бронетехнике и снова откатились. Операция «Конрад III» закончилась для немцев неудачей. Последняя попытка деблокировать Будапешт извне провалилась. Германское командование стало готовить новую операцию — «Весеннее пробуждение» (Провал последней крупной наступательной операции вермахта). Но Будапешт она спасти уже не могла, так как он пал раньше её начала.


Немецко-венгерский гарнизон Буды использовал это затишье, чтобы укрепить оборону. Методы советских штурмовых групп остались неизменными: оборону противника рассекали и уничтожали отдельные, изолированные гарнизоны противника. Штурмовые группы состояли из взвода автоматчиков, саперного отделения, 3-4 ранцевых огнеметов. Их поддерживали 1-2 танка и расчёты орудий, которые вели огонь прямой наводкой. В старой части города было значительное число каменных и металлических оград вокруг зданий, которые представляли дополнительную преграду. Их было трудно преодолеть, так как их простреливали из соседних зданий. Ограды приходилось расстреливать с помощью артиллерии, или их подрывали саперы. Подрыв производился ночью под прикрытием темноты или днем под прикрытием дымовой завесы и огня соседних подразделений.

Командование окруженной немецко-венгерской группировки, в ожидании успеха танковых частей предпринимавших деблокирование Будапешта снаружи, которые были от Буды в 35 километрах, готовились предпринять встречный удар. Особенно необходимо было отбить аэродром, чтобы восстановить воздушный мост, необходимый для снабжения войск и вывоза многочисленных раненых. Единственной возможностью снабжения оставались планеры, которые приземлялись на Кровавом лугу. Операция получила название «Азартная игра». Основу ударной группы составили части 9-го горнострелкового корпуса СС и 13-й танковой дивизии, которые ещё имели около 25 танков и 30 бронетранспортеров. Саперы должны были разминировать проходы, после этого должна была начаться собственно наступательная операция. Немцы надеялись воспользоваться временным ослаблением советской Будапештской группы войск.

Решительный штурм Буды

Разбитые и сгоревшие немецкие десантные планеры на Кровавом лугу (на заднем фоне дома по улице Аттилы (Attila) Будапешта

21 января 1945 г. батальоны «Европа» и «Ваннай» пошли в атаку. Немецко-венгерские войска добились локальных успехов, отбили квартал Варошмайор, но понесли большие потери. 22 января советские войска стали устранять дорожные заграждения в северной и средней части Будайского плацдарма, то есть угроза прорыва немецких танков к венгерской столице была устранена. Одновременно из Пешта перебросили ряд частей, и на всем фронте снова закипела битва. К этому моменту река Дунай была покрыта крепким льдом и венгерские подразделения, в первую очередь набранные из этнических румын и цыган стали переходить реку и сдаваться. Советские войска осуществили ряд атак по льду реки, но они не привели к успеху. 23 января взлетел на воздух бывший 7-этажный дом диктатора Хорти, в котором располагался склад боеприпасов. Под его обломками погибло около 300 человек. Дом считался хорошим бомбоубежищем, и в его подвалах пряталось большое количество людей.

Силы немецко-венгерской группировки таяли на глазах, и восполнить их было нечем. 24 января немцы и венгры отбили сильную ночную атаку. Для стабилизации ситуации в бой бросили боевую группу 13-й танковой дивизии и все свободные подразделения 8-й кавалерийской дивизии СС. В ночь на 25 января советские войска снова атаковали. Они прорвали позиции ударного батальона «Ваннай» в Варошмайоре, захватив западную часть квартала. Чтобы блокировать прорыв вражескому командованию пришлось бросить в бой штурмовой батальон и 6-й батальон 3-го венгерского полка.

Сложная ситуация была и на южном участке. Здесь наши войска захватили здание фабрики по пошиву военной униформы, около железнодорожной насыпи в Ладьмани. Часть немецких подразделений была блокирована на верхних этажах здания фабрики. Немцам пришло организовать контратаку при поддержке штурмовых орудий. Вызволяя своих, многие немцы погибли. Штурмовые орудия помогли вырваться с верхних этажей немцам, но фабрика все равно осталась в советских руках.

К 26 января советские войска занимали всё больше и больше пространства Буды, немецко-венгерская оборона рушилась на глазах. Оперативная обстановка оборонявшихся с каждым часом ухудшалась. Катастрофа приближалась. Вечером Пфеффер-Вильденбрух собрал военный совет. До Будапешта дошла новость, чтобы попытка внешней деблокады венгерской столицы провалилась. Часть командиров предложила самим идти на прорыв, чтобы спасти хоть часть войск. В штабе группы армий «Юг» эту затею считали бессмысленной, а потому уже фактически списали со счетов будапештскую группировку. Командующий группой армий «Бальк» (6-я армия, 1-я и 3-я венгерские армии) Г. Бальк считал, что Будапешт будет утрачен, а его защитникам не удастся вырваться из окружения. Будапештская группировка и так продержалась дольше, чем рассчитывали в Генеральном штабе. Гитлер же считал, что гарнизон Будапешта должен продолжать сопротивление, чтобы выиграть время.

Тем временем советские войска взяли оборонительные позиции на горе Орбан и обнаружили подземные ходы, которые вели к северо-западным границам малой вершины Швабской горы. Советские солдаты пробрались по ним и взяли гору. В результате в линии обороны противника образовалась огромная брешь. Немцы и венгры отступали по всем направлениям. Отчаянные контратаки противника, который пытался восстановить фронт, были отбиты. 29 января части 10-й пехотной дивизии и группы «Билльницер» и некоторые другие подразделения снова контратаковали Варошмайор и малую Швабскую гору. Однако поддержка штурмовых орудий не смогла помочь. Подразделения противника несли огромные потери, так как их качество резко упало. Обескровленные части пополнялись за счёт тыловиков, снабженцев, полицейских, учащихся и т. д., которые не имели опыта боевых действий.

Решительный штурм Буды

Подбитый венгерский легкий танк 38М «Толди I» из состава разгромленной в Будапеште 2-й венгерской танковой дивизии. На железнодорожной платформе венгерский средний танк 41М "Туран II"

Чтобы советские войска не расчленили гарнизон Буды и не окружили сражавшиеся у горы Матьяш немецкие подразделения, в ночь с 29 на 30 января части 9-го горнострелкового корпуса СС отвели на новые позиции непосредственно к северу и северо-западу от замковой горы. Это был последний рубеж обороны. Отступать больше было некуда. Рано утром немецкие и венгерские войска также оставили свои позиции в южной части острова Маргариты. Пфеффер-Вильденбрух, чтобы сохранить управление войсками в условиях их раздробления, поручил командиру 13-й танковой дивизии генералу Герхарду Шмидхуберу командованием южным участком Будайского плацдарма. Шмидхубер понимая, что успешная оборона больше невозможна, стал самостоятельно готовить прорыв.

30 января советские войска смогли взять площадь Селля Кальмана, немецкая оборона в районе Варошмайор окончательно рухнула. Советские танки вышли на Сенную площадь и после ожесточенной схватки уничтожили позиции артиллерийского дивизиона венгерской 12-й резервной дивизии. До Замковой горы осталось совсем немного. Вражеские позиции в районе Замковой горы подвергались сильным авиационным и артиллерийским ударам. Будайская крепость превращалась в развалины. Остатки венгерской 10-й пехотной дивизии остались на Розовом холме, где сдались в плен (около 900 солдат). В этот же день наши войска вышли к Кровавому лугу, захватили здания начальной и средней школы (улица Атиллы). Однако на северной окраине Кровавого луга немецкие и венгерские части продолжали оказывать упорное сопротивление. И планеры продолжали посадки, хотя и подвергались обстрелу.

Решительный штурм Буды

Решительный штурм Буды

Решительный штурм Буды

Остатки немецкого планера врезавшийся в здание №35 или 37 (по разным источникам) на улице Аттилы при попытке сесть на Кровавом лугу в Будапеште 4 февраля 1945 года. На планерах пытались доставить продовольствие и боеприпасы окруженным в городе немецким войскам.

31 января 1945 года бои на севере стали стихать, здесь линия фронта стабилизировалась почти до конца осады венгерской столицы. Дома типовой застройки, которые располагались в Буде и у моста Маргариты, были превращены немецкими солдатами в маленькие бастионы. Все подступы простреливались из пулеметов и орудий, включая зенитные. Зенитные подразделения были вынуждены отбивать натиск советской пехоты.

В начале февраля направление главного удара наших войск сместилось в юго-западную часть города. Немцы и венгры ещё пытались контратаковать, но их атаки захлебывались в крови. Боеспособность подразделений сильно упала, боеприпасов не хватало, сильно уменьшился продовольственный паек, раненым не хватало пищи. Кончились медикаменты и перевязочные средства. Раненых уже просто складывали, лечить их было нечем. Гражданское население голодало. На некоторых участках оборона рухнула почти полностью, единственным препятствием остались небольшие очаги сопротивления.

3 февраля папский нунций Анжело Ротта от лица гражданского населения столицы, которое очень сильно страдало в условиях ожесточенного городского боя, предложил Пфефферу-Вильденбруху прекратить сопротивление. Командующий гарнизона уведомил вышестоящее командование о критическом положении дел. Однако ему приказали удерживать город до последнего патрона. Венгерские командиры собрались на совещание и выказались за капитуляцию, но без немцев они не могли принять такое решение.

4 февраля наши войска прорвали оборону противника на улице Неметфёльд, заняли южный вокзал, некоторые дома по улицам Кекгой и Надьеньед. Утром 5 февраля немецкие планеры сделали последнюю попытку приземления на Кровавом лугу. Почти все планеры были сбиты или рухнули на здания. Снабжение по воздуху упало почти до нуля. Вечером наши войска прорвали оборону противника между кладбищем и улицей Неметфёльд, вышли к Орлиной горе. Кавалерийский полк СС оставил территорию кладбища, Орлиная гора была фактически окружена. Наши войска вели «зачистку» территории Фаркашретерского кладбища, малой Швабской горы и района южного вокзала, где они уничтожали отдельные, разрозненные группы противника. Советские войска вышли к Кольцу Кристины.

Пфеффер-Вильденбрух снова предложил командованию разрушить прорыв остатков войск. По его словам, все укрепления, которые позволяли держать оборону, будут потеряны в ближайшие сутки. В результате гарнизон Будапешта мог теперь пригодиться только при прорыве, обороняться было уже нельзя. Однако и на сей раз Гитлер не дал разрешения на прорыв. Стратегической пользы в этом прорыве фюрер не видел, по его мнению, лучше будет, если будапештской гарнизон ещё несколько дней сковывает силы врага. Будапештский гарнизон уже списали, пожертвовали им, чтобы выиграть время.

Решительный штурм Буды

Советские артиллеристы ведут огонь из 152-мм гаубицы МЛ-20 в Будапеште, на площади Кальвария

В последующие дни ожесточенные бои продолжались. 6 февраля наши войска отбили сильную контратаку 8-й кавалерийской дивизии СС на Орлиную гору. В этот же день остатки боевой группы «Беренд» прекратили оборону Орлиной горы, так как боеприпасы и провиант заканчивались. Остатки немецких подразделений, которые обороняли эту гору, попытались прорваться к Будайскому замку, но были большей частью уничтожены. Орлиную гору заняла советская артиллерия и открыла шквальный огонь по вражеским позициям.

7 февраля жестокие бои шли к западу от южного вокзала, на улице Гёмбёша Дьюлы, где дома не раз переходили из рук в руки и дрались чуть ли не за каждый этаж. В этот же день была завершена «зачистка» территории Фаркашретерского кладбища. Ночью немцы контратаковали, пытаясь отбить южный вокзал, и добились локального успеха.

Только 8 февраля Гитлер дал разрешение на организацию прорыва. Остатки немецких войск стали стекаться к Будайскому замку. 9 февраля 1945 года советская артиллерия нанесла мощный удар по немецким позициям на малой вершине горы Геллерт. Затем в ходе ожесточенной атаки позиции немецких артиллеристов были захвачены. 11 февраля местами ожесточенные бои ещё продолжались, но венгры стали массово сдаваться. Капитулировал командный пункт 10-й пехотной дивизии. В гостинице сдался полковник Йожеф Козмаш, командир венгерской зенитной артиллерии. Сдавшиеся в плен венгерские командиры обзвонили ещё сопротивляющиеся группы венгерских войск и от имени венгерского командования разрешили капитулировать. Но часть венгерских сил была в немецких подразделениях и подчинялась немецким командирам, они не смогли сдаться.

С немцами было сложнее. Оставшиеся немецко-венгерские войска засели в замке. Кое-где советские войска давили сопротивление отдельных небольших групп, которые фанатично дрались. Пфеффер-Вильденбрух решил ночью идти на прорыв. Под его началом ещё оставалось около 44 тыс. человек, но более четверти были ранеными. В распоряжении окруженных осталось 12 «Пантер», 10-15 танков других типов, 15 штурмовых орудий, около 50-60 орудий. Но часть из нельзя было использовать, так как их отсутствие выдало бы планы прорыва.

Решительный штурм Буды

Венгерские офицеры сдаются в плен

Продолжение следует…

Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 9
  1. Gans1234 11 марта 2015 05:52
    Очередное спс за рассказ и новые детали той бойни
    1. вася 11 марта 2015 14:23
      Цитата: Gans1234
      Очередное спс за рассказ и новые детали той бойни

      Это не бойня. Это война.
      Мне интересно - чем накачивали венгерских бойцов, кроме подавления их восстания в 19 веке.
      Венгрия- страна гуннов (с гуннами себя ассоциируют и некоторые казахи и казаки)
      Т.е.венгры это сбежавшие (не полноценные) наши?
      1. egor670 11 марта 2015 16:26
        если предки венгров и жили когда то на территории современной России, то это не говорит о том что они наши. Венгры фашисты по зверствам не уступали немцам, и прочим нацикам. Под Воронежем они особенно прославились, где нашла свою погибель их королевская армия
  2. D-Master 11 марта 2015 06:39
    Огромное спасибо за статью. К сожалению сейчас можно часто встретить мнение, что в конце войны немцы уже были не способны воевать и просто сдавали позиции. Таким "осведомленным" следует внимательно прочитать Вашу статью. О сражениях максимального накала за каждую пядь земли. жестокие бои шли к западу от южного вокзала, на улице Гёмбёша Дьюлы, где дома не раз переходили из рук в руки и дрались чуть ли не за каждый этаж.Скептики - город на Волге не напоминает?
  3. miv110 11 марта 2015 10:14
    С каждой новой статьёй восприятие накала смертельной битвы всё сильнее и сильнее. За сухими деловыми строчками описания событий встают яркие сцены ночных боёв,слышен смертельный рикошет пуль и осколков от могильных камней и плит, ощущается ярость отчаянной рукопашной схватки... Последняя боеспособная группа в 44 тысячи человек и 2-а десятка танков - какая же это сила немалая. Как же нелегко далась победа. Нельзя это забывать. А в 56-м пришлось нашим брать Будапешт повторно.
  4. Dudu 11 марта 2015 12:51
    Венгры были самыми надёжными союзниками фашистов. Их жестокости на оккупированных территориях до сих пор замалчиваются. Они люто ненавидели русских.
    Захват Венгрии стал одним из самых кровавых сражений на иностранной территории. Как то они остались в тени событий на направлении главного удара на Берлин. Количество погибших советских солдат просто чудовищно 300 тыс человек! А потом в 1956 году ещё наших вырезали целыми гарнизонами вплоть до младенцев.
    Dudu
  5. bairat 11 марта 2015 13:08
    Подразделения противника несли огромные потери, так как их качество резко упало. Обескровленные части пополнялись за счёт тыловиков, снабженцев, полицейских, учащихся и т. д., которые не имели опыта боевых действий.

    Кстати проблема людских ресурсов преследовала не только нашего противника.
    1. макс702 11 марта 2015 14:32
      Цитата: bairat
      Кстати проблема людских ресурсов преследовала не только нашего противника

      Ну вы разве не в курсе что гитлера и фашисткую германию задавили неисчеслимые орды бурято монголов? Следовательно таких проблем у Советской армии быть не могло.. Вот ссылка на очень хороший анализ по людским и материальнотехническим ресурсам фашисткого блока и СССР с союзниками http://samlib.ru/n/nikolaj_b_d/krieg.shtml очень рекомендую hi
  6. Сергей-8848 11 марта 2015 21:41
    Хорошее видео от компании Wargaming про сражение на Балатоне заметил на АИ. Это уже скорее к продолжению этой хорошей серии статей о битве за Венгрию. Спасибо автору!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня