Military Review

Cut before crushing: Preto-Breton Tank

10
Always welcomes the desire to help their country in a minute of testing. It cannot be otherwise: every citizen must do what he can. You can shoot, shoot, strike - strike, sing well - sing the songs to the soldiers. Recall the feature film “Hussar Ballad” ... They just announced that “Bonaparte troops forced the Neman”, the ball was interrupted, the ladies were leaving, but then they decided… to nip the hospital for the infirmary, that is, the next day! Of course, there are nuances. For example, the senator can, using his connections and the power to push through his own, and not very high-quality, “invention,” and the soldiers will have to pay for his “originality”. The proposal may be ahead of its time, as was the case with the dynamo-active armor of an Odessa resident, Paliichuk, who offered it as early as the end of the 20 of the last century, but was not understood by patent specialists. And sometimes decisions are too obvious, do not exceed a certain level of novelty, which just raises them above other modern "inventions".


And just one such development was the machine (although it is sometimes called a tank!) Developed in France in November 1914! It was developed by two people in whose honor it was named: engineer Preto and Jules Louis Breton, a member of the French National Assembly. Apparently even then one of them came up with the idea that not today, tomorrow, the French troops on the battlefield will encounter (or have already encountered!) Powerful wire fences that they cannot easily overcome.

Barbed wire barriers had to be confronted first of all by the British during the Boer War. But there was also a French Colonel Wilbois-Mare, who reported to France about all the vicissitudes of this war and gave appropriate recommendations. To listen to him, as is often the case, no one listened, but ... the bell rang.

Cut before crushing: Preto-Breton TankAnd Jules-Louis Breton (1872-1940) decided that if there were such barriers on the battlefield, French soldiers would just have to cut them, not with scissors, but with the help of a special vehicle. The first version of the car was a small circular saw set in motion by an engine of six horsepower and mounted on a four-wheeled cart, which had to be pushed back manually. The device was tested in January 1915, and found that there was little practicality in it. Immediately the question arose of putting this “device” on the tracks, but since it was not possible to get a single tracked chassis at that time, we decided to start off with a wheeled tractor.

At the end of February, the 1915 was replaced with a circular saw with two small vertical saws with thirteen teeth, but a large horizontal circular saw was left in order to cut off the fence posts just above ground level. The teeth themselves were fixed and served only to grip the wire, and they were cut by their special chain set up according to the principle of modern power saws. In July, the design was changed again, the horizontal saw was removed, and shields were installed to protect the wheels. And eight small bronze cannons were loaded into the car itself in order to increase its mass. Here, by the way, it is impossible not to think about A. Porokhovshchikov's “Rover”. He was too light and could not throw down the pillars or tear the wire with his weight. In this case, as you see, even a tractor that cut the wire needed a large mass!

After a satisfactory 22 test of July 1915, Minister of War Alexander Millerand ordered ten Preto-Breton armored and armed with a machine gun at the Meson-Lafite test site on the Mezon-Lafite range, which should have been manufactured by August 7.

However, the agricultural tractor chosen by the inventors, as it turned out, had many drawbacks, primarily due to the fact that it had to approach the enemy lines ... in reverse. Why back, why not front? And this is why: the tractor's large-diameter driving wheels were at the back, and when it moved in reverse, its patency increased. It would seem that there’s a hint: we put two pairs of big wheels, we connect them with caterpillars and we have a real tank! Here are just a tower to put on it. Breton and Preto then decided to use the American tractor "Jeffrey Quad", used in the French artillery. But they were not given these tractors. Then the designers put their cutter on the Renault armored car of the 1915 model of the year. But as you understand, this armored car could only drive on roads and ... what was the point, on roads from him was a sense? However, they still got one Kvad tractor and carried it out. The cutter worked fine, but the tractor itself was stuck crossing the trench. We decided that his chassis is too short. It was necessary to have a tracked chassis of greater length then, and in agreement with the firm Schneider, they were given for the experiments the same Holt tractor, which had a longer undercarriage. Experiments with this tractor began in May 1915, at the Schneider plant. The tracked chassis of the new tractor showed itself from the best side, so 16 June showed a new version of the car to the President of the Republic, and then 22 July 1915 of the year demonstrated to Minister of War Alexander Millerane, who decided to build 7 armored and armed Preto-Breton tanks on August 1915. The vehicles were supposed to have a vertical cutter, an armored body in front, and a tower with a Gunchis machine gun on top. The test was transferred to 10 December 7 of the year, since at that time Schneider was already working on its own CA1915 tank. There was an idea to use the French wheeled tractor "Latil", but it was abandoned as if it was not appropriate time.


BA "Renault" with the device Preto-Breton.

Meanwhile, Colonel Etienne (“father of French tanks”) 12 December 1915 of the year suggested building tanks on the basis of the Holt tractor’s extended chassis and all ten vehicles dedicated to putting Preto-Breton’s idea into the metal for the first CA1 tanks. They were not equipped with cutters, because during the tests it turned out that the tanks were crushing the wire with mass, and in this case it was not necessary to cut it! As a result, none - and this should be emphasized - the Preto-Breton machine on the basis of the Holt tractor was built as a combat one, but what was being built was an experienced, “raw” version ...

But then the fun began. Due to the fact that for some time he rotated in the "tank circles", he went to the landfills and solved "important technical problems" Breton convinced himself that he ... became the leading French expert in the field of armored vehicles. Moreover, based on the time, so to speak characteristics, of the device proposed by him, he began to consider himself (as, incidentally, A. Porokhovshchikov) the true inventor of the first French tank. Well, when Etienne managed to “push” his tank to the detriment of his car, he felt very hurt and got along with another loser, Colonel Emile Francois Rimallo, as a result of which Saint-Chamon was the most unsuccessful tank of the First World War. . True, the Union Inter-Parliamentary Commission, which dealt with this issue in the 1917 year, found that Breton has more reason to consider himself the inventor of the tank than even the British!

This decision inspired Breton, and in the 20-30s he loudly defended his position and demanded himself, if not money (for what, actually?), Then at least recognition of himself as the creator of the world's first tank. However, even then, experts considered all his claims unfounded.


"Fortress" - machine Gabe and Aubrio. Photos from the book "Dawn of Glory."
So, examples of excessive ambitions were met not only by us, but, as you see, in France too. However, in reality, a Preto-Breton car cannot be considered a tank. How can you take for a tank and an electric tractor with a tower designed by Aubrio and Gabe - and it was even built and traveled, and ... even the wedge “Saba” built by the same French. It is impossible to simultaneously control a tank and shoot from what is installed on it weapons, besides, the tracked bypass was so low that this machine could not overcome almost any obstacles. This has been proven by trials.


Wedge "Saba"


Drawings by A. Sheps
Author:
10 comments
Ad

Subscribe to our Telegram channel, regularly additional information about the special operation in Ukraine, a large amount of information, videos, something that does not fall on the site: https://t.me/topwar_official

Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must sign in.
  1. gla172
    gla172 12 March 2015 06: 43
    +6
    Funny unit))) smile
    1. pensioner
      pensioner 12 March 2015 11: 48
      +3
      Quote: gla172
      Funny unit)))

      And besides everything backwards tries to get close ...
      1. Petrovich
        Petrovich 12 March 2015 15: 18
        +3
        Europe, however ...
        1. kodxnumx
          kodxnumx 13 March 2015 09: 52
          +1
          Soon Banderlog campaign on such tanks will fight wink
          1. izGOI
            izGOI 13 March 2015 23: 20
            +1
            In 41st, in Odessa, there were tanks of the "NI" system - for fear. Sheathed the tractor with iron sheets, and into battle. it worked well against the Romanians. The junta should "prompt"
  2. parusnik
    parusnik 12 March 2015 07: 36
    +6
    Thank you to the author for an interesting series of articles .. We look forward to continuing ..
  3. qwert
    qwert 12 March 2015 08: 29
    +3
    Plus article and look forward to more articles about the armor-absurd
  4. faiver
    faiver 12 March 2015 15: 48
    +3
    time was such a very awkward aggregates
  5. Tamanskiy
    Tamanskiy 12 March 2015 19: 21
    +1
    Yes, the dawn of armored thought ... And how many soldiers died due to the arrival of such "raw" samples in the troops, we can only guess ...
  6. taksist
    taksist 12 March 2015 21: 05
    +1
    Ever and, on our modern tanks, descendants will look with a smile and condescendingly?
    1. Assistant
      Assistant 12 March 2015 22: 10
      +1
      Ever and, on our modern tanks, descendants will look with a smile and condescendingly?


      Hardly. The concept of the use of tanks has been worked out, and the technical solutions used in them allow them to fulfill their functions. That way since the time of the Blitzkriegs on the CER and throughout Europe.
      It’s like artillery: looking at old cannons, we understand that one modern cannon costs hundreds or thousands of old ones, but for its time it was a formidable weapon, often deciding the outcome of a battle.
  7. Linda
    Linda 13 March 2015 21: 48
    +1
    Dawn of tank building, trial and error ...
    By the way, Saint-Chamond is more of an SPG than a tank.
    Thanks to the author for the article!

Резать прежде, чем давить: «Танк» Прето-Бретона

Всегда вызывает одобрения стремление помочь своей стране в минуту испытаний. По-иному и быть не может: всякий гражданин должен делать то, что может. Можешь стрелять, стреляй, ковать – куй, хорошо поешь – пой песни солдатам. Вспомните художественный фильм «Гусарская баллада»… Только что объявили о том, что «бонапартовы войска форсировали Неман», бал прерван, дамы разъезжаются, но тут же решают… для лазарета корпию щипать, причем уже завтра, то есть на другой день! Разумеется, тут есть нюансы. Например, сенатор может, пользуясь своими связями и властью протолкнуть свое, причем не очень качественное, «изобретение», а расплачиваться за его «оригинальность» потом придется солдатам. Предложение может опередить свое время, как это было с динамореактивной броней одессита Палийчука, предлагавшего ее еще в конце 20-ых годов прошлого века, но не понятый специалистами-патентоведами. А иногда решения бывают слишком очевидны, не превышают некий уровень новизны, который как раз и поднимает их над другими современными им «изобретениями».

И вот одной такой разработкой как раз и стала машина (хотя ее и называют иногда танком!) разработанная во Франции уже в ноябре 1914 года! Разработали ее два человека, в честь которых она и была названа: инженера Прето и Жюля Луи Бретона, члена французской Национальной Ассамблеи. Видимо уже тогда кому-то из них в голову пришла мысль о том, что не сегодня-завтра французские войска на поле боя столкнуться (или уже столкнулись!) с мощными проволочными заграждениями, которые не смогут легко преодолеть.

С заграждениями из колючей проволоки пришлось столкнуться прежде всех англичанам в годы англо-бурской войны. Но там был и французский полковник Вильбуа-Маре, который сообщал во Францию обо всех перипетиях этой войны и давал соответствующие рекомендации. Слушать его, как это очень часто бывает, никто не слушал, но… звонок прозвенел.


Резать прежде, чем давить: «Танк» Прето-БретонаИ вот Жюль-Луи Бретон (1872-1940) решил, что если на поле боя французским солдатам встретятся такие вот заграждения, то их нужно будет просто резать, причем не ножницами, а при помощи специального транспортного средства. Первая версия машины представляла собой небольшую циркулярную пилу, приводимую в движение двигателем в шесть лошадиных сил и закрепленную на четырехколесной тележке, которую нужно было толкать сзади вручную. Устройство испытали в январе 1915 года и нашли, что практичности в ней мало. Сразу же встал вопрос о том, чтобы поставить это «устройство» на гусеницы, но поскольку ни одного гусеничного шасси в это время получить не удалось, решили для начала попытать счастье с колесным трактором.

В конце февраля 1915 года циркулярную пилу заменили на две небольшие вертикальные пилы с тринадцатью зубами, но большая горизонтальная циркулярная пила была оставлена для того, чтобы срезать столбы заграждений чуть выше уровня земли. Сами зубья были неподвижными и служили только лишь для захвата проволоки, а резала их особая цепь устроенная по принципу современной мотопилы. В июле конструкцию опять изменили, горизонтальную пилу убрали, поставили щиты для защиты колес. А в саму машину загрузили восемь небольших бронзовых пушек, чтобы увеличить ее массу. Тут, кстати, нельзя не вспомнить о «Вездеходе» А. Пороховщикова. Он был слишком легким и не мог своей массой ни столбы валить, ни проволоку рвать. В данном случае, как вы видите, большая масса потребовалась даже трактору, который резал проволоку!

После удовлетворительного испытания 22 июля 1915 года, на полигоне Мезон-Лафит военный министр Александр Мильеран заказал десять бронированных и вооруженных пулеметом «танков» Прето-Бретона, которые должны были быть изготовлены к 7 августа.

Однако выбранный изобретателями сельскохозяйственный трактор, как, оказалось, имел много недостатков, связанных, прежде всего с тем, что к вражеским линиям он должен был подходить… задним ходом. Почему задним, почему не передним? А вот почему: ведущие колеса большого диаметра у этого трактора были сзади, и когда он двигался задним ходом, проходимость его возрастала. Казалось бы – вот она и подсказка: ставим две пары больших колес, соединяем их гусеницами и перед нами настоящий танк! Вот только башню бы на него поставить. Бретон и Прето тогда же решили использовать американский трактор «Джеффри Квад», использовавшийся во французской артиллерии. Но тракторов этих им не дали. Тогда свой резак конструкторы поставили на бронеавтомобиль «Рено» образца 1915 года. Но как вы сами понимаете, броневик этот мог ездить только по дорогам и… какой там, на дорогах от него был толк? Впрочем, один трактор «Квад» они все-таки достали и испытания его провели. Резак работал нормально, а вот сам трактор застрял, пересекая траншею. Решили, что его шасси слишком коротко. Нужно было гусеничное шасси большей длины тогда и по договоренности с фирмой «Шнейдер» им передали для опытов все тот же трактор «Холт», имевших более длинную ходовую часть. Эксперименты с этим трактором начались в мае 1915 года на заводе «Шнейдер». Гусеничное шасси нового трактора показало себя с лучшей стороны, поэтому 16 июня новый вариант машину показали президенту республики, а затем 22 июля 1915 года вновь продемонстрировали военному министру Александру Мильерану, который решил на 7 августа 1915 года построить 10 бронированных и вооруженных танков Прето-Бретон. Машины должны были иметь спереди вертикальный резак, бронированный корпус, а сверху башню с пулеметом «Гочкис». Испытание перенесли на 7 декабря 1915 года, поскольку в это время «Шнейдер» уже работал над своим собственным танком СА1. Существовала идея использовать французский колесный трактор «Латил», но от нее отказались, как не соответствующей времени.

Резать прежде, чем давить: «Танк» Прето-Бретона

БА «Рено» с аппаратом Прето-Бретона.
Между тем полковник Этьен («отец французских танков») 12 декабря 1915 года предложил строить танки на базе удлиненного шасси трактора «Холт» и все десять машин, выделенных на то, чтобы воплотить в металл задумку Прето-Бретона пошли на первые танки СА1. Их не стали оборудовать резаками, поскольку в процессе испытаний выяснилось, что танки давят проволоку массой, и резать ее в этом случае совсем не нужно! В итоге ни одна – и это следует подчеркнуть особо, – машина Прето-Бретона на базе трактора «Холт» построена как боевая так и не была, То что строилось, представляло собой опытные, «сырые» варианты…

А вот дальше началось самое забавное. Из-за того, что он какое-то время вращался в «танковых кругах», ездил на полигоны и решал «важные технические задачи» Бретон убедил себя в том, что он… стал ведущим французским экспертом в области бронетанковой техники. Более того, основываясь на временных, так сказать характеристиках, предложенного им устройства, он стал считать себя (как, кстати, и А. Пороховщиков) истинным изобретателем первого французского танка. Ну, а когда Этьен сумел «протолкнуть» свой танк в ущерб его машине, он почувствовал себя сильно задетым и сошелся с другим неудачником, полковником Эмилем Франсуа Римальо, в результате чего и появился танк «Сен-Шамон» – самый неудачный танк Первой мировой войны. Правда, союзная межпарламентская комиссия, разбиравшаяся с этим вопросом в 1917 году, нашла, что у Бретона больше оснований считать себя изобретателем танка, чем даже у англичан!

Бретона это решение вдохновило, и он в 20-30-ые годы громогласно защищал свою позицию и требовал себе, если уж не денег (за что, собственно?), то хотя бы признания себя создателем первого в мире танка. Однако уже тогда специалисты посчитали все его претензии необоснованными.

Резать прежде, чем давить: «Танк» Прето-Бретона

«Крепость» – машина Габэ и Обрио. Фото из книги «Рассвет славы».
Так что примеры избыточных амбиций встречались далеко не только у нас, а как вы видите, и в той же Франции. Однако реально танком считать машину Прето–Бретона нельзя. Как нельзя считать за танк и электрический трактор с башней конструкции Обрио и Габэ – причем он был даже построен и ездил, и… даже построенную все теми же французами танкетку «Саба». Нельзя одновременно и управлять танком и стрелять из установленного на нем оружия, к тому же гусеничный обвод был таким низким, что эта машина не могла преодолевать практически никаких препятствий. Это было доказано испытаниями.

Резать прежде, чем давить: «Танк» Прето-Бретона

Танкетка «Саба»

Рисунки А.Шепса
Автор: Вячеслав Шпаковский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 10
  1. gla172 12 марта 2015 06:43
    Весёлый агрегат))) smile
    1. пенсионер 12 марта 2015 11:48
      Цитата: gla172
      Весёлый агрегат)))

      И к тому же всё задом норовит подобраться...
      1. Петровiч 12 марта 2015 15:18
        Европа, однако...
        1. kod3001 13 марта 2015 09:52
          Скоро Бандерлоги походу вот на таких танках воевать будут wink
          1. izGOI 13 марта 2015 23:20
            В 41-м, в Одессе были танки системы "НИ"-на испуг. Обшивали трактор железными листами, и в бой. против румын неплохо срабатывало. Надо-бы хунте "подсказать"
  2. parusnik 12 марта 2015 07:36
    Спасибо, автору за интересный цикл статей..Ждём продолжения..
  3. qwert 12 марта 2015 08:29
    Статье плюс и ждем еще статей о броне-несуразице
  4. faiver 12 марта 2015 15:48
    время было такое, весьма несуразные агрегаты
  5. Tamanskiy 12 марта 2015 19:21
    Да уж, рассвет бронетанковой мысли... А сколько солдат погибло из-за поступления в войска подобных "сырых" образцов, мы можем только догадываться...
  6. taksist 12 марта 2015 21:05
    Когда - нибудь и, на наши современные танки, потомки будут смотреть с улыбкой и снисходительно?
    1. Assistant 12 марта 2015 22:10
      Когда - нибудь и, на наши современные танки, потомки будут смотреть с улыбкой и снисходительно?


      Вряд ли. Отработана концепция применения танков, и технические решения, в них применяемые, позволяют им выполнять заложенные в них функции. Этак со времён блицкригов на КВЖД и по всей Европе.
      Это как артиллерия: смотря на старинные пушки мы понимаем, что одна современная пушка стоит сотен или тысяч старых, но для своего времени это было грозное оружие, зачастую решавшее исход боя.
  7. Линда 13 марта 2015 21:48
    Заря танкостроения, время проб и ошибок...
    Кстати, "Сен-Шамон" скорее САУ, чем танк.
    Автору спасибо за статью!

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня