Military Review

From French "diamonds" to French "Christie"

13
It is hardly an exaggeration to say that stories tank building was just a few significant names that determined both its history and its face. And it can also be argued that the history of creation tank it is also a "comedy of mistakes." As a result, it was not the one who was smarter than the opponent who won, but only ... less stupid than him!


And a graphic example of this is the history of French tank building. And the "trailer on the tracks" - the tank "Schneider" SA.A. 1, and the real carriage "Saint-Chamonix" - in fact, were anything but tanks. But the first real tank was also created by the French and wiped the nose of the British - this is the famous Renault FT-17. This tank had a lot of flaws, didn’t criticize it, except that only the laziest, but he fought and, by the way, could fight even now. Everything is exactly the same as with our T-34 tank - that's what an interesting fate for masterpieces. People want even more perfection, but is it at all achievable, I would like to know?

But back to the French ... Having created their own "cars" on the chassis of the Holt tractor, they became convinced that this was a dead end and turned to the experience of their British colleagues. The French Saint-Chamond once again offered its French “rhomboid”. He received the name "Saint-Chamond - 25-ton" and he was very similar in design to the British tanks Mk. But ... the French decided to put a cannon between the tracks, and machine-gun sponsons to place in pairs in a checkerboard pattern, so as to increase the density of fire. Probably, their project would be interesting in its own way, if it were embodied in metal, but was it worth doing it for the sake of ... what? To put one 75-mm 1897-mm cannon on it, firing directly along the course between the tracks?

From French "diamonds" to French "Christie"
The projection "Saint-Chamon 25 tons" (top view)


The fact is that the tank did not shine with its other characteristics. So, its weight, contrary to its name, was approaching (according to the project!) Tons of 36! He had the same drive as the actual “Saint-Chamon” - that is, the 120-strong engine rotated the generator, which fed two electric motors, one for each track. The thickness of the frontal and armor sides was to be 16 mm, the bottom and the roof - 5,4 mm. Target angles - 23 ° in both directions for the gun, and 180 ° for each pair of machine guns. Ammunition - 100 shells and 16000 cartridges. Speed ​​- 4,5 km / h, that is, in this regard, the tank did not exceed the British cars.


The projection of the tank "Saint-Chamon 25 tons" (side view)


An interesting feature of the tank was the tower for the driver with cross-shaped viewing slots. It was located in it, being above the gun. Interestingly, the British decided to do almost the same tank, only simpler, also with one gun in the front, but only with two machine guns on the sides - the Mk.VI. This tank reached the stage of a wooden layout, but also did not see the light. Nor was the French “rhomboid” built.


Layout Mk VI


It remained the pinnacle of the French tank design small FT-17, and neither its competitor, the Peugeot reckless tank with a short 75-mm cannon, nor an ACS with the same position of the 75-mm cannon in the nose, based on the same FT, the light never saw.


Peugeot FT-18



Renault FT-17 75-mm SAU


But for the tank 2, the French made an excellent three-seater turret with an 75-mm special tank gun and a stroboscope for observation! Oh, this strobe at the time was just a miracle of technology, as simple as technically perfect. Two cylinders with narrow vertical slits one in the other and a cylinder of bulletproof glass - that's all, not counting their drive. When metal cylinders rotated at high speed in opposite directions, their walls seemed to disappear, “dissolve” and the person inside could see everything almost as well as if he had watched, his head out of the hatch!


T-34 - the legend of tank design


Now they would guess to unify the tower from this heavy tank with the undercarriage of the middle one, and the French would have a heavy tank and an average tank with the same turrets, and the rear tower from 2C could go to the reconnaissance tank. But ... the French military and engineers for some reason could not think of such an obvious and simple solution. Instead of a triple tower, they made it double, and this was their fatal mistake. The towers for two people turned out very close. They could put a gun in 47-mm - good for 30-s, but absolutely nothing that meant anything during the war years! Our T-34 also had a twin tower at first. But ... he had a 76,2-mm gun in it! And there was a reserve for increasing the mass, which allowed the third person to plant in it and increase the caliber of the gun. But the French, this track was closed.


But the very first tank of Christie 1919, in general, no one would have bought!



The first "English Christie tank" A13 MkIII retained the original chassis, but was purely tracked vehicle.


True, they were smart enough to also buy a Christie tank (which the British and we did before them) and make it almost the best “foreign Christie” of those years. That's just on the battlefield, these machines did not have time! The British began with the fact that it was slightly modified and launched into serial production under the brand name A13, and in a purely tracked version. Subsequently, on the basis of his chassis were created such tanks as "Covenanter", "Kruseyder", "Cromwell", "Center" and "Comet" - that is, it was all, absolutely all the so-called "cruising" tanks of the British army during the Second World War war! In the USSR, the wheel-tracked propulsion was initially retained, but with an increase in the weight of the machines they refused in favor of the purely tracked one.


English "Cromwell". It can be seen that this is “the same T-34”, only its design is clearly flawed.


In this regard, the French were more “original”, or they had more pride and stupid vanity, because they also acquired Christie’s tank, they were clearly in no hurry to adopt it. As a result, the “French Christie”, unlike the Soviet and English, were late for the war, although the design of the Muline’s engineers turned out to be very original. It was assumed that this new tank should become a prototype for the “cavalry tank”, which will have to replace the medium tanks S-35 and S-40. It would seem that they were good cars, but they did not suit the engineers and the military, primarily because they had low speed, and the reservation, although very solid for such cars, was considered not rational enough! Therefore, the French decided to break forever with the old methods of designing tanks, and to develop such a tank that would combine all imaginable advantages and even unimaginable advantages, that is, the real “car of tomorrow”!

For the first time in the history of French tank building, the running gear of the tank should consist of four rollers with a diameter of 82 cm on each side - a kind of know-how, which later became characteristic of many post-war tanks launched in France. At the same time, the undercarriage device was thought out in such a way that it allowed the car to continue moving with the loss of one of the tracks and, accordingly, like in Christie’s tanks, it could move without them at all.

The armor parts of the hull and turret in the best traditions of French tank building were molded and positioned so rationally that the crew and the mechanisms behind them literally “flowed around”. The thickness of the frontal armor reached the 60 mm (i.e. was greater than that of the T-34), the airborne 30-50 mm, and the stern armor's 40 mm.


French Christie AMX-40: appearance and cut


The fuel tanks were located above the chassis, and since the new tank, which received the AMX-40 brand, had to be equipped with a diesel engine with an HP 160 power, then the fuel for it was “heavy” and therefore not as fire hazardous as traditional gasoline. The engine size was also significantly less than that of the S-35 tank engine (190 hp) and S-40 (220 hp), which made its weight (about 20 t) almost the same as with these cars, but with an incomparably stronger booking! An interesting solution was the easily raised upper armor plate over the engine compartment, made on the principle of a car hood. It could easily be raised, put up a special backup and work with convenience.


АМХ-40 - general section (graphics)


In the turret of the new tank were placed two crew members - the commander and loader, and for the first time in the history of the tank design it acquired an egg shape and was very similar to the towers of later Soviet vehicles - such as the T-54 and T-55. Having designed it, the French designers proved that when they need to, they know how to abandon stereotypes and really make something completely new.


AMX-40 - section of the engine compartment.


Access to the tank was through a round hatch with a diameter of 60 cm at the rear of the tower. Another hatch was on her “top” and could also serve for entry and exit, although this was disturbed by the panoramic periscope located in his center. Thus, the tower had no protruding elements, with the exception of two armored caps of the rangefinder, since even the upper periscope in the hatch was made to retract inside. In general, it was a good design, only the presence of only one surveillance device presented a certain danger. To lose him in battle for the tank commander meant to sharply narrow his field of vision, since now he could only watch the battlefield through a gun sight, even if combined with a range finder.


AMX-40 - Chassis.


The armament of the tank (and this was, perhaps, its main drawback) consisted of the same X-NUMX-mm SA-47 cannon, which was also mounted on the S-35 and S-35 tanks. Auxiliary served two machine gun "Chatellerault" caliber 40-mm. One of them was traditionally paired with a gun, but the second one - well, I had to think of such a thing! - the second was placed in a special compartment inside the building immediately behind the tower. If necessary, it could be removed, installed on a special bracket and fired at aircraft. Something like the Germans subsequently installed on the stern of their self-propelled guns "Yagdtigr", only on it the machine gun for anti-aircraft firing into the hull in the stowed position was not removed. Although the barrel of the machine gun protruded outside, he himself was protected from the effects of enemy fire and was also always at hand, because the tower hatch was located next to it. Ammunition for the gun consisted of 7,5 projectiles, that is, was doubled compared with the previous tanks!

The driver of the tank took place along the axis, and the panel with control devices was behind the steering wheel. That is, the layout was as close as possible to the automotive. On both sides of its place were shelves for storing ammunition, which facilitated access from the crew compartment.


AMX-40 - top view


It should be noted that the AMX-40 was also slightly shorter and less high than the S-35, although their total weight and dimensions were almost the same. This suggests a high weight culture of the new model. As a potential successor to the old cars, he could have become even better if he had a 75-mm cannon on it, comparable in performance to the T-34, or, say, the American Sherman. After all, they led their ancestry from the French gun of the 1897 model of the year, which is why American tanks in France easily fired it with projectiles even in the 1944 year. But, nevertheless, this was not done even in the drawings. The new tank remained on paper, and then came the “hot May” of 1940, and France was not up to developing new tanks, but remained to use what is!

Color drawings by A. Sheps
Author:
13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. Moore
    Moore 17 March 2015 06: 59
    +5
    ... But, nevertheless, this was not done even in the drawings. The new tank remained on paper ...

    It’s good that it was not done and remained on paper. And then, together with the Czechoslovak people, this fruit of French thought would have appeared in the battles of the 41st ...
  2. Sakmagon
    Sakmagon 17 March 2015 06: 59
    +9
    The author clearly had a good mood - heaped everything together - and interesting (and accurate!) Data, and a frank banter ...
    English "Cromwell". It can be seen that this is "the same T-34", only his design is clearly spoiled ...

    Yep, one to one, that's just the design let us down ...
    1. Bayonet
      Bayonet 17 March 2015 10: 39
      +2
      Quote: Sacmagon
      Yep, one to one, that's just the design let us down ..

      It was created in 1941-1942 by the company BRCWc and was mass-produced from autumn 1943 to 1945.
      Vague doubts torment me ...
    2. voyaka uh
      voyaka uh 17 March 2015 21: 08
      0
      Cromwell and T-34 are related by the same American suspension Christie.
      And the design ... The Tiger also does not have a design "from Dior". When the armor is thick
      inclined plates are not so relevant. Cromwell has armor from 75 to 100 mm
      (3 to 4 inches).
  3. qwert
    qwert 17 March 2015 07: 14
    +8
    Quote: Sacmagon
    The author clearly had a good mood - heaped everything together - and interesting (and accurate!) Data, and a frank banter ...

    Therefore, the article turned out to be easy and quick to read. Though controversial. But under the spring mood - that’s it.
  4. parusnik
    parusnik 17 March 2015 07: 41
    +6
    Thanks, smiled ... easy to write ... We wish you continued ..
  5. Volga Cossack
    Volga Cossack 17 March 2015 08: 17
    +2
    good article and with humor!
  6. inkass_98
    inkass_98 17 March 2015 08: 23
    +2
    Yeah ... Gallop (cavalry-cruising laughing ) in Europe. But it turned out not bad, only emotions in the technical review are a bit much, solid exclamation marks with the complete absence of their need.
  7. tasha
    tasha 17 March 2015 13: 20
    +2
    Shake, but do not mix. Very poor quality, incomplete, and even with a claim to supposedly humor ..

    "So the small FT-17 remained the pinnacle of French tank design, and neither its competitor - the reckless Peugeot tank with a short 75-mm cannon, nor an ACS with the same arrangement of a 75-mm cannon in the nose, based on the same FT , never saw the light. "

    Judging by the available photos, the Peugeot tank and self-propelled guns based on FT-17 were still built in metal.
    1. yehat
      yehat 17 March 2015 15: 11
      +1
      by half of the French tanks I have one synonym - funny.
      among English - almost everyone, another association - it would be better for people to do their own thing, and not climb to where they do not understand.
  8. Sem Faraday
    Sem Faraday 17 March 2015 16: 59
    0
    It would be interesting if the author mentioned the English "Vickers" 6-ton and its descendants.
  9. Aleksandr72
    Aleksandr72 17 March 2015 18: 01
    +3
    ... "Horses, people mixed up in a heap ..."
    Although, if it is only banter, then the author is a huge plus !!! He obviously managed to smile. And if this is an attempt at thoughtful analysis, then it did not work out - there is neither analysis nor thoughtfulness.
    I have the honor.
  10. moskowit
    moskowit 17 March 2015 19: 49
    0
    "Thundering fire, sparkling with the brilliance of steel,
    cars will go on a furious campaign ... "
    All descendants of "Christie", both domestic and English, have a swift, flying silhouette. Nice cars. good
  11. Guard
    Guard 17 March 2015 20: 16
    0
    I really, really liked the article.

От французских «ромбов» до французского «Кристи»

Вряд ли будет преувеличением сказать, что в истории танкостроения было всего лишь несколько значимых имен, определивших и его историю, и его лицо. И можно также доказательно утверждать, что история создания танка это также и «комедия ошибок». В итоге побеждал не тот, кто был умнее противника, а всего лишь… менее глупым, чем он!

И наглядный тому пример – история французского танкостроения. И «вагончик на гусеницах» – танк «Шнейдер» СА.1, и настоящий вагон «Сен-Шамон» – по сути, были чем угодно, но только не танками. Но зато первый настоящий танк тоже создали французы и утерли нос англичанам – это знаменитый «Рено» ФТ-17. Танк этот имел массу недостатков, не критиковал его разве что только самый ленивый, но он воевал и, кстати, мог бы воевать даже сейчас. Все точно так же, как и с нашим танком Т-34 – вот ведь какая интересная судьба у машин-шедевров. Людям хочется еще большего совершенства, но достижимо ли оно вообще, вот что хотелось бы знать?

Но вернемся к французам… Создав свои «вагоны» на шасси трактора «Холт», они убедились, что это тупик и обратились… к опыту своих британских коллег. Свой французский «ромбоид» опять же предложила фирма «Сен-Шамон». Он получил название «Сен-Шамон – 25-тонный» и был он по конструкции очень похож на английские танки Мк. Но… французы решили поставить пушку между гусениц, а пулеметные спонсоны разместить попарно в шахматном порядке, чтобы увеличь, таким образом, плотность огня. Наверное, их проект был бы по-своему интересен, будь он воплощен в металл, но стоило ли его делать ради… чего? Чтобы поставить на него одну 75-мм пушку образца 1897 г., стреляющую прямо по курсу между гусениц?


От французских «ромбов» до французского «Кристи»


Проекция «Сен-Шамон 25 тонн» (вид сверху)

Дело в том, что другими своими характеристиками танк не блистал. Так, вес его вопреки названию, приближался (по проекту!) к 36 тоннам! Он имел такой же привод, как собственно «Сен-Шамон» – то есть 120-сильный двигатель вращал генератор, тот питал током два электромотора по одному на каждую гусеницу. Толщина лобовой и брони бортов должна была составлять 16 мм, днища и крыши – 5,4 мм. Углы наведения – 23° в обе стороны для пушки, и 180° для каждой пары пулеметов. Боекомплект – 100 снарядов и 16000 патронов. Скорость – 4,5 км/ч, то есть в этом плане танк не превосходил английские машины.


Проекция танка «Сен-Шамон 25 тонн» (вид сбоку)

Забавной особенностью танка стала башня для водителя с крестообразными смотровыми щелями. В ней он размещался, находясь над пушкой. Интересно, что практически такой же танк решили было делать и англичане, только попроще, тоже с одной пушкой вперед, но лишь с двумя пулеметами по бортам – Мк.VI. Этот танк дошел до стадии деревянного макета, но тоже света так и не увидел. Не был построен и французский «ромбоид».


Макет Мк VI

Так и остался вершиной французского танкового дизайна маленький ФТ-17, причем, ни его конкурент – безбашенный танк «Пежо» с короткой 75-мм пушкой, ни САУ с таким же расположением 75-мм пушки в носу, на основе все того же ФТ, света так и не увидели.


Пежо ФТ-18


Рено ФТ-17 75-мм САУ

Зато для танка 2С, французы сделали отличную трехместную башню с 75-мм специальным танковым орудием и стробоскопом для наблюдения! О, этот стробоскоп в то время был просто чудом техники, настолько же простым, насколько и технически совершенным. Два цилиндра с узкими вертикальными щелями один в другом и цилиндр из пуленепробиваемого стекла – вот и все, не считая их привода. Когда металлические цилиндры вращались с большой скоростью в противоположные стороны, их стены как бы исчезали «растворялись» и человек, находящийся внутри мог видеть все вокруг почти также хорошо, как и если бы он вел наблюдение, высунув голову из люка!


Т-34 – легенда танкового дизайна

Теперь им бы догадаться унифицировать башню от этого тяжелого танка с ходовой частью среднего, и были бы у французов тяжелый танк и средний танк с одинаковыми башнями, а задняя башня от 2С могла бы пойти на танк-разведчик. Но… додуматься до такого очевидного и простого решения французские военные и инженеры почему-то так и не смогли. Вместо трехместной башни, они сделали ее двухместной, и это стало их роковой ошибкой. Башни на двух человек получились очень тесными. В них можно было поставить пушку в 47-мм – хорошую для 30-х годов, но ровным счетом ничего не значившую в годы войны! Наш Т-34 тоже вначале имел двухместную башню. Но… у него в ней стояла пушка калибром 76,2-мм! И был резерв на увеличение массы, что позволило и третьего человека в нее посадить, и калибр орудия увеличить. А вот французам такая дорожка было закрыта.


А вот самый первый танк Кристи 1919 г. вообще бы никто не купил!


Первый «английский танк Кристи» A13 МкIII сохранил ходовую часть оригинала, но был чисто гусеничной машиной.

Им, правда, хватило ума также купить танк Кристи (что до них сделали англичане и мы) и превратить его едва ли не в лучший «иностранный кристи» тех лет. Вот только на поле боя эти машины так и не успели! Англичане начали с того, что немного его доработали и запустили в серийное производство под маркой A13, причем в чисто гусеничном варианте. Впоследствии на базе его шасси были созданы такие танки, как «Ковенантер», «Крусейдер», «Кромвелл», «Сентер» и «Комета» – то есть это были все, абсолютно все так называемые «крейсерские» танки армии Великобритании периода Второй мировой войны! В СССР колесно-гусеничный движитель вначале сохранили, но с увеличением веса машин отказались в пользу чисто гусеничного.


Английский «Кромвелл». Видно, что это «тот же Т-34», вот только дизайн у него явно испорчен.

В этом плане французы оказались более «самобытными», или у них было больше самолюбия и глупого тщеславия, потому, что танк у Кристи они тоже приобрели, принимать его на вооружение явно не спешили. В результате «французские Кристи» в отличие от советских и английских на войну опоздали, хотя конструкция инженеров фирмы «Мулине» и получилась весьма оригинальной. Предполагалось, что этот новый танк должен стать прототипом для «кавалерийского танка», которому предстоит заменить средние танки S-35 и S-40. Казалось бы, это были хорошие машины, но они не устраивали инженеров и военных, прежде всего потому, что у них была мала скорость, а бронирование – хотя и очень солидное для таких машин, считалось недостаточно рациональным! Поэтому со старыми приемами конструирования танков французы решили порвать навсегда, а разработать такой танк, который сочетал бы в себе все мыслимые по тому времени и даже немыслимые достоинства, то есть самую настоящую «машину завтрашнего дня»!

Ходовая часть нового танка впервые в истории французского танкостроения должна была состоять из четырех катков диаметром 82 см с каждой стороны – своего рода know-how, ставшее впоследствии характерным для многих послевоенных танков, выпущенных во Франции. При этом устройство ходовой части было продумано так, что оно позволяло машине продолжать движение при потере одной из гусениц и, соответственно, как и у танков Кристи, она могла двигаться и совсем без них.

Броневые детали корпуса и башни в лучших традициях французского танкостроения были литыми и располагались настолько рационально, что буквально «обтекали» экипаж и расположенные за ними механизмы. Толщина лобовой брони доходила до 60 мм (т.е. была больше, чем у Т-34), бортовой 30-50 мм, а у бронедеталей кормы – 40 мм.


Французский «Кристи» АМХ-40: внешний вид и разрез

Топливные баки располагались над ходовой частью, причем, так как новый танк, получивший марку АМХ-40, должен был оснащаться дизельным двигателем мощностью 160 л.с., то и топливо для него было «тяжелым», а потому и не таким пожароопасным, как традиционный бензин. Объем двигателя был также существенно меньше, чем у двигателя танка S-35(190 л.с.) и S-40(220 л.с.), в силу чего его вес (около 20 т) был практически таким же, как и у этих машин, но при несравнимо более сильном бронировании! Интересным решением стала легко поднимавшаяся верхняя броневая плита над двигательным отсеком, сделанная по принципу автомобильного капота. Ее можно было легко поднять, поставить специальную подпорку и работать с удобством.


АМХ-40 – общий разрез (графика)

В башне нового танка размещались два члена экипажа – командир и заряжающий, причем она впервые в истории танкового дизайна приобрела яйцеобразную форму и была очень похожа на башни более поздних советских машин – таких как Т-54 и Т-55. Спроектировав ее, французские конструкторы доказали, что когда надо они умеют отказаться от стереотипов и сделать и впрямь нечто совершенно новое.


АМХ-40 – разрез моторного отсека.

Доступ в танк осуществлялся через круглый люк диаметром 60 см в задней части башни. Еще один люк находился у нее на «макушке» и также мог служить для входа и выхода, хотя этому и мешал располагавшийся у него в центре панорамный перископ. Таким образом, башня не имела выступающих элементов, за исключением двух броневых колпаков дальномера, поскольку даже верхний перископ в люке был сделан втягивающимся внутрь. В целом это был неплохой дизайн, вот только наличие всего лишь одного прибора наблюдения представляло собой определенную опасность. Лишиться его в бою для командира танка означало резко сузить свое поле зрения, так как теперь он мог наблюдать за полем боя только через орудийный прицел, пусть даже и совмещенный с дальномером.


АМХ-40 – ходовая часть.

Вооружение танка (и это был, пожалуй, был самый главный его недостаток) состояло из той же 47-мм пушки SA-35, что стояла и на танках S-35 и S-40. Вспомогательным служили два пулемета «Шательро» калибра 7,5-мм. Один из них традиционно был спарен с пушкой, а вот второй – ну надо же было такое придумать! – второй разместили в специальном отсеке внутри корпуса сразу позади башни. При необходимости его можно было извлечь, установить на специальный кронштейн и вести огонь по самолетам. Нечто подобное немцы впоследствии установили на корме своей САУ «Ягдтигр», только на нем пулемет для зенитной стрельбы в корпус в походном положении не убирался. Хотя ствол пулемета при этом высовывался наружу, сам он был защищен от воздействия огня противника и к тому же находился всегда под руками, потому, что рядом с ним располагался башенный люк. Боекомплект к орудию состоял из 156 снарядов, то есть, был увеличен по сравнению с предыдущими танками в два раза!

Водитель танка занимал место по оси, а панель с приборами управления находилась позади рулевого колеса. То есть компоновка была максимально приближена к автомобильной. По обеим сторонам от его места располагались стеллажи для хранения боеприпасов, что облегчало доступ со стороны боевого отделения.


АМХ-40 – вид сверху

Следует отметить, что АМХ-40 был еще и немного короче и менее высок, чем S-35, хотя их общий вес и габариты были почти одинаковыми. Это говорит о высокой культуре веса новой модели. В качестве потенциального преемника старых машин он мог бы стать ещё лучше, если бы на нем стояла 75-мм пушка, сравнимая по своим характеристикам с орудием танка Т-34, или, допустим, американского «Шермана». Ведь свою родословную они вели от французского орудия образца 1897 года, из-за чего американские танки во Франции без проблем стреляли ее снарядами даже в 1944 году. Но, тем не менее, этого не было сделано даже в чертежах. Новый танк так и остался на бумаге, а дальше наступил «жаркий май» 1940 года и Франции стало не до того, чтобы разрабатывать новые танки, а оставалось пользоваться тем, что есть!

Цветные рисунки А.Шепса
Автор: Вячеслав Шпаковский


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13

Информация

Уважаемый читатель, чтобы оставлять комментарии к публикации, необходимо зарегистрироваться.
Уже зарегистрированы? Войти
  1. Мур 17 марта 2015 06:59
    ...Но, тем не менее, этого не было сделано даже в чертежах. Новый танк так и остался на бумаге...

    Хорошо, что не было сделано и осталось на бумаге. А то вместе с чехословацкими ещё бы и этот вот плод французской мысли в боях 41-го появился...
  2. Сакмагон 17 марта 2015 06:59
    У автора явно было хорошее настроение - свалил все в кучу - и интересные (и точные!) данные, и откровенный стёб...
    Английский «Кромвелл». Видно, что это «тот же Т-34», вот только дизайн у него явно испорчен...

    Ёпть, один в один, вот только дизайн подкачал...
    1. Штык 17 марта 2015 10:39
      Цитата: Сакмагон
      Ёпть, один в один, вот только дизайн подкачал..

      Был создан в 1941—1942 годах фирмой BRCWc и производился серийно с осени 1943 по 1945 год.
      Меня терзают смутные сомнения…
    2. voyaka uh 17 марта 2015 21:08
      Кромвель и Т-34 роднит одинаковая американская подвеска Кристи.
      А дизайн... У Тигра тоже дизайн нет "от Диора". Когда броня толстая,
      наклонные плиты не так актуальны. У Кромвеля броня от 75 до 100 мм
      (от 3 до 4 дюймов ).
  3. qwert 17 марта 2015 07:14
    Цитата: Сакмагон
    У автора явно было хорошее настроение - свалил все в кучу - и интересные (и точные!) данные, и откровенный стёб...

    Поэтому и статья получилась легкая и быстрочитаемая. Хоть и спорная. Но под весеннее настроение - самое то.
  4. parusnik 17 марта 2015 07:41
    Спасибо, по улыбался...легко написано...Продолжения желаем..
  5. казак волгский 17 марта 2015 08:17
    хорошая статья и с юморком!
  6. inkass_98 17 марта 2015 08:23
    Да уж... Галопом (кавалерийско-крейсерским laughing ) по Европам. Но получилось неплохо, только эмоций в техническом обзоре многовато, сплошные восклицательные знаки при полном отсутствии их необходимости.
  7. тасха 17 марта 2015 13:20
    Взболтать, но не смешивать. Очень некачественно, неполно, да ещё и с претензией на якобы юмор..

    "Так и остался вершиной французского танкового дизайна маленький ФТ-17, причем, ни его конкурент – безбашенный танк «Пежо» с короткой 75-мм пушкой, ни САУ с таким же расположением 75-мм пушки в носу, на основе все того же ФТ, света так и не увидели."

    Судя по имеющимся фотографиям, танк Пежо и САУ на основе ФТ-17 всё-таки были построены в металле.
    1. yehat 17 марта 2015 15:11
      к половине французских танков у меня один синоним - забавные.
      у английских - почти у всех, другая ассоциация - лучше бы люди своим делом занимались, а не лезли туда, где не понимают.
  8. Сем Фарадей 17 марта 2015 16:59
    Было бы интересно, если бы автор упомянул английский "Виккерс" 6-ти тонный и его потомков.
  9. Александр72 17 марта 2015 18:01
    . "Смешались в кучу кони, люди..."
    Хотя, если это только стёб, то автору - громадный плюсище!!! У него явно получилось улыбнуть. А если это попытка вдумчивого анализа, то не получилось - нет ни анализа, ни вдумчивости.
    Честь имею.
  10. moskowit 17 марта 2015 19:49
    "Гремя огнём, сверкая блеском стали,
    пойдут машины в яростный поход..."
    Все потомки "Кристи", и отечественные, и аглицкие имеют стремительный, летящий силуэт. Красивые машины. good
  11. Карауыл 17 марта 2015 20:16
    Очень и очень понравилась статья.
Картина дня