Long-suffering P-60

Long-suffering P-60



Having told about the P-40 fighter, I think it is worth mentioning the plane, which was supposed to replace the Kittyhock. The heir to the family of the "forties" was to become P-60. History this machine can not be called simple and happy. The plane went through an intricate series of change of engines, equipment, design itself - a development path that can hardly be called direct. The main reason for the failure of the project was a change in army requirements. aviation The United States, as well as the company's attempts to use on its plane all the new ideas in the field of aviation.

Realizing the main shortcomings of the P-40 and its rapid aging, as well as refusing the development of the previous, clearly unsuccessful project XP-46, Curtiss proposed a new project. The new aircraft, bearing the brand name "model 88", was a XP-46 redesigned to the newly developed 12-cylinder liquid-cooled engine Continental XIV-1430-3, take-off power 1 600 hp The “88 Model” was to receive the fuselage and tail from the P-40D and a new wing with the NACA laminar profile. Armament was to consist of eight 12,7-mm wing machine guns. The maximum speed of the aircraft was estimated at 688 km / h.



October 1 1940, the US Army Air Force issued an order for two aircraft "model 88" under the designation XP-53. However, at a meeting after six weeks, the army demanded that Curtiss-Wright use the British-developed Merlin engine on fighters. Curtiss offered to convert one of the copies of XP-53 (41-19508) under the engine "Merlin". This aircraft received the internal designation "model 90". The United States Army Air Force approved the project and assigned it the name XP-60. The plane was supposed to get a Rolls-Royce V-1650-1 "Merlin" hp 1300 engine, produced under the license of Packard. The same engine was planned to be installed on XP-40Р. The second copy of the XP-53 planned to finish with the engine Continental.

While the XP-53 and the XP-60 were on assembly, the army decided to cancel the order for the XP-53 because of the expected delay with the Continental XIV-1430 engine. XP-53 didn’t fly into the air. Engine Continental did not get into mass production, and all projects designed for this engine were discontinued.

In November, the 1941 g glider XP-53 was transferred to static tests as part of the work on the P-60, and the bullet-proof glass, retrofit tanks and weapons from this aircraft were used on the XP-60. During the production of the experienced XP-60, it was decided to replace the landing gear, which were removed according to the model of the Р-40 (with a turn around the axis) with new ones, similarly standing on the experienced XP-46.

The XP-60 with the Merlin-28 engine first flew the 18 September 1941. His flight data was disappointing. The maximum speed at the height of 6710 m was only 620 km / h. The height of 4575 m was typed in 7,3 min. The main reason for the lack of speed was that the surface of the wing did not have enough quality performance, which was especially needed for the laminar profile. Another reason was that the Merlin engine did not deliver the declared power.



The XP-60 crashed twice due to a non-release chassis. During the tests, it became clear that it was necessary to increase the keel area and make some changes to the aircraft. After the necessary improvements, the aircraft received the designation “model 90А”.

In August, the Packard “Merlin” V-1942-60 1650 HP engine was installed on the 3 of the year on the XP-1350. with a two-speed supercharger. On the plane put a four-bladed propeller. The army changed the designation of the machine to XP-60D, and in the company it was called "model 90В". At the time of these modifications, the army designation with the letters "B" and "C" received new models of the aircraft, and the XP-60D was broken 6 May 1943 of the year.



By the end of 1941, it became clear that the supply of licensed Merlin engines would barely cover the needs of already produced aircraft, and it was clear that the production program for the P-60 would probably have difficulty with this. As a result, they decided to install the Allison V-60 motor on the P-1710 - fairly reliable and affordable. October 21 1941 was contracted to supply the X-NUMX fighter P-1950. Allison V-60-1710 with 75 horsepower, HP, should have been used as a power plant for them. at height 1425 m.

However, 17 November 1941 of the year due to the insufficient power of the Allison engine, it was decided to wait for the appearance of a new, more powerful engine model, or to launch another fighter instead of the R-60А.

After Pearl Harbor, serious doubts arose as to whether it was necessary to interrupt the mass production of the P-40 fighter at such a critical moment, in anticipation of the launch of a completely new aircraft. 20 December 1941 r decided to stop all work on Р-60А, and 2 on January 1942, the order for 1950 Р-60А was replaced with the supply of a larger number of Р-40К and L fighters, as well as the P-47С "Thunderbolts" should have been built under license at Curtiss.

However, the P-60 program did not end there. The army decided to order three more experimental machines: one XP-60A, one XP-60В and one XP-60С. On the XP-60, they planned to install an Allison V-1710-75 engine and a General Electric B-14 turbocharger. The XP-60B with the same engine was supposed to get a Wright turbocharger 511-504-2. XP-60С was built under the experimental 16-cylinder engine Chrysler XIV-2220. Usually, a change of engine led to a change in the name of the aircraft, but in this case, the army decided to limit the change of letters to the modification designation.

The first of the new batch of experienced P-60 was the XP-60. Installing the Allison engine meant using the XP-60A wing from the XP-60 and the new fuselage. XP-60A received another brand designation "model 95A". The bow and fuselage contours of this vehicle have been modified, the armament has been reduced to six 12,7-mm wing machine guns. The plane got a four-bladed propeller.



XP-60A began to make jogs on the airfield at the end of October 1942. During the tests, a small engine fire broke out due to poor cooling of the exhaust pipe leading to the turbocharger. As a result, the turbocharger and exhaust pipe were removed from the aircraft and replaced with a conventional exhaust manifold. His first flight of the XP-60A made 11 November 1942 g. The take-off weight of the aircraft was - 4366 kg. The maximum speed was expected (but in reality it was never attained in tests) in 672 km / h at an altitude of 8845 m and 520 km / h on the ground. The ceiling was estimated at 10700 m. The real speed and rate of climb of the aircraft turned out to be much less than the calculated ones. As a result, the XP-60A was disassembled for parts for the assembly of the following XP-60С and XP-60Е.

Poor flight data XP-60A led to a decrease in interest in the entire program of the fighter P-60. Above it, the threat of complete termination. However, Curtiss offered the army the XP-60 version for the Pratt & Whitney P-2800 air-cooled engine with coaxial three-bladed propellers as a radical means of saving the project.

The significant increase in flight performance expected on this aircraft spurred the army’s interest in the car and, in November 1942, the company received an order for X-NUMX fighters Р-500А-60-СU for engines Р-1. The first 2800 aircraft of this series were to be delivered as an installation batch under the designation YР-26А.

The XP-60C should have received a glider similar to the XP-60 and XP-60В, but under the Chrysler XIV-2220 engine, the take-off power of the 2300 hp. Since the work on the engine was going through great difficulties, in September 1942 G the order for the aircraft was re-arranged, taking into account the use of the Pratt & Whitney engine R-2800-53 2000 hp. Armament has been reduced to four 12,7-mm machine guns. The first flight of the XP-60C made 27 January 1943 year. Except for the heavy load on the steering wheels, the flight data of the new car was quite satisfactory.



The XP-60B variant was similar to the XP-60A and differed only in replacing the General-Electric turbocharger with the Wright turbocharger. But in this version the plane was never completed. 2 December 1942 r Army decided to install on it the Pratt & Whitney R-2800 engine, instead of the originally planned V-1710. Unlike the XP-60C, which had three-blade coaxial screws, the aircraft received one four-blade propeller. The name of the car has changed to XP-60. Since the new screw weighed less than the coaxial screws on the XP-60C, the engine had to be moved to 25 cm to keep the alignment forward. Because of the engine failure during the test days, the first flight of the XP-60 took place only 26, my 1943goda.

At the end of April 1943, the United States Army Air Forces decided to conduct a series of comparative tests of various fighters at Patterson Field, in order to determine the direction of the continuation of work and select the best fighter. The army offered Curtiss-Wright to set up the XP-60E for these tests for four days. Since the XP-60E was not even flown over, Curtiss-Wright introduced the XP-60C instead.

During tests at Patterson-Field, the XP-60С engine could not deliver full power. In addition, the experienced wing coating peeled off at the leading edge, which significantly reduced the advantages of the laminar profile. As a result, the plane lost visibly in speed, making a bad impression on the army, since Ripablik P-470 and North American P-51В gave way to the army. As a result, there could be no question of any order for mass production for the P-60. In June 1943, the army reduced the order for the Р-60А-1-С11 from 500 to two cars.

After the return of the XP-60 to the company, the tests of the aircraft were continued, but the forced landing led to an accident and the cessation of flights. By this time, the continuation of work on the P-60 has lost all meaning, since the P-47 and P-51 fully complied with the requirements of the army. However, the army agreed to test the XP-60, which did not have time to fly to Patterson Field in May of 1943.



In January, the 1944 of the XP-60E ("950 model") was overtaken by Elgin Field for official trials. Army pilots found that the XP-60E is not particularly superior to the fighters already produced in horizontal speed, but has a better rate of climb. The plane was too sensitive to the controls. Stability on the course and during climb was low.

By May, 1944-th Curtiss-Wright finally realized the futility of continuing work on the P-60 and invited the army to curtail the project. However, the US Air Force insisted on the execution of contracts and, at least, put one of the two YP-60A - all that was left of the order for P-60-1-СU. This aircraft received the designation YP-60E - the same designation modification, that of XP-60E.

Thus, the only one of YP-60A took to the air already under the designation UR-60Е. Actually it was the second copy of the YP-60A. The first flight took place on July 15 1944. From the previous P-60, the aircraft was distinguished by a drop-shaped cockpit lantern and a new keel, which made it look like the Thunderbolt P-47D-25.

A total of two YP-60E flights were made at Curtiss Wright, after which the aircraft was transferred to Wright Field. By that time, the army no longer saw any need for P-60, and no tests were carried out. After the war, YP-60E was put up for sale and purchased by James Landing. In 1947, the aircraft was exhibited at the National Air Racing under the number 80, but crashed during the qualifying flight.





Sources:
Ivanov S. Curtiss P-40 // War in the air. No.53. C.46-48.
Firsov A. US Fighters // Aviation Collection. No.14. C. 62-64.
Kotelnikov V., Leiko O. Fighter Р-40 // Digest "Wings". No.2. C. 30-31.
Donald D. US military aircraft of World War II. M: AST, Astrel, 2002. C. 72-73.
Ctrl Enter

Noticed a mistake Highlight text and press. Ctrl + Enter

13 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. qwert 14 October 2015 07: 42 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The 4 machine gun, even the heavy ones for the 44 year, is already not enough. The Americans did the right thing to kill him.
  2. cth; fyn 14 October 2015 08: 24 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Urya! The series will continue! Revered.
    1. cth; fyn 14 October 2015 11: 55 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Chet is not Urya, Chet is all sad (((.
  3. evil partisan 14 October 2015 08: 51 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Eh ... Our designers, but their engines ...
    1. Cap.Morgan 14 October 2015 09: 16 New
      • 4
      • 0
      +4
      So we had their engines. Only the previous generation.
      From an article about Klimov:
      "In 1924 he was sent to Germany to purchase and receive a BMW-4 engine (in the licensed production of M-17).

      From 1928 to 1930 he is on a business trip in France, where he is also engaged in the purchase of the Gnome-Ron Jupiter-7 engine (in the licensed production of M-22).
      From 1931 to 1935, Vladimir Yakovlevich headed the department of gasoline engines of the newly created IAM (later VIAM) and led the department of engine design at MAI. In 1935, as the chief designer of the factory number 26 in Rybinsk, sent to France to negotiate the acquisition of a license to manufacture a 12-cylinder, V-shaped engine of Spanish-Suiz 12 Ybrs, which in the USSR received the designation M-100. The development of this engine - VK-103, VK-105PF and VK-107A engines were installed on all Yakovlev fighters and on the Petlyakov Pe-2 bomber during the war years. At the end of the war, Klimov developed the VK-108 engine, but he never entered serial production. "
      Seriously, we did not pay due attention to the development of engines. That was a big mistake. It was the engines that made Mustang Mustang, and Spitfire Spitfire. The Americans, having good engines, could pay less attention to aerodynamics. Many planes look rather clumsy.
  4. evil partisan 14 October 2015 09: 17 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    Quote: Cap.Morgan
    so we had their own engines.

    Yes in the know.
    Quote: Cap.Morgan
    Only the previous generation.

    This is it ...
  5. Technologist 14 October 2015 10: 34 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    They are not beautiful.
    1. jjj
      jjj 14 October 2015 11: 01 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      The fuselage on the midship is almost the size of a person. Yes, the Americans have their own way in building fighter jets
  6. _KM_ 14 October 2015 10: 53 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Quote: Cap.Morgan
    Seriously, we did not pay due attention to the development of engines.


    Unfortunately yes. Motor industry has always been an unloved child of our industry and government. And before the war, and after, and now.
  7. qwert 14 October 2015 11: 12 New
    • 3
    • 0
    +3
    Quote: Cap.Morgan
    It was the engines that made Mustang a Mustang, and Spitfire a Spitfire.


    Well, yes, the English Merlin made a Mustang from a Mustang. A German cannon and English abuse from the tank Abrams Abrams.
    1. cth; fyn 14 October 2015 11: 59 New
      • 2
      • 0
      +2
      They know how to adapt, the devils.
  8. _KM_ 14 October 2015 11: 57 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The motor is the heart of the car. It is impossible to create an airplane without it. wink
  9. mvg
    mvg 14 October 2015 12: 32 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    Yak - 2 tons with something .. Amerikosy from 4 onwards ... Therefore, it is noticeably larger. The Japanese didn’t have an engine at all .. Look at Zero .. At best, in the last modifications - 1200, at Thunderbolt - 2300. But they flew and fought. In general, if, yes, as it were .. We would face the war with the Aero Cobras, Spits IX, and even the first to attack .. :-) The Germans would stop us in the Balkans .. But this is an alternative story
    1. evil partisan 14 October 2015 17: 42 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: mvg
      Yak - 2

      Actually, it was a light bomber + scout ...
  10. uncle 14 October 2015 13: 39 New
    • 2
    • 0
    +2
    The P-60 is one of many curtiss aircraft. There are also good North American p-51 Mustangs. Bell's P-63 kingcobra came under Lend-Lease in the USSR.
  11. qwert 14 October 2015 15: 59 New
    • 4
    • 0
    +4
    Quote: mvg
    We will fight the war with Aero Cobra, Spits IX, and even attack first .. :-)

    I read an interesting article comparing the MiG-3 with Spitfire. In general, at high altitudes the MiG-3 was not inferior to Spitfire, and at low altitudes the Spitfire was not better than the MiG. In short, both were not suitable for the Soviet front. hi
    1. kara61 1 May 2016 14: 50 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      If the MiG-3 also had normal engines, and machine guns always fired.
  12. Denimax 14 October 2015 21: 35 New
    • 1
    • 0
    +1
    Quote: wicked partisan
    Eh ... Our designers, but their engines ...

    At least duralumin in the right amount. Identity would be welcome.
    1. goose 19 October 2015 15: 23 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      Quote: Denimax
      At least duralumin in the right amount. Identity would be welcome.

      If DneproGES had not been given away with aluminum production, a land lease would not have been needed.
    2. kara61 1 May 2016 14: 51 New
      • 0
      • 0
      0
      We always had problems with engines.
  13. The comment was deleted.
  14. uncle 14 October 2015 22: 50 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    The Finns fought very well on the Brewster F-2a Biffalo fighter. The company previously produced wagons and was not a professional aircraft designer.
  15. rohl 21 October 2015 01: 37 New
    • 0
    • 0
    0
    And ours at that time made quantity, not quality. Machine guns 7.62 instead of 12.7. Sadness is sadness.

Многострадальный Р-60

Многострадальный Р-60


Рассказав про истребитель Р-40, думаю, стоит упомянуть и самолет, который должен был заменить «Киттихоки». Наследником семейства «сороковых» должен был стать Р-60. Историю этой машин нельзя назвать простой и счастливой. Самолет прошел через запутанную серию смены двигателей, оборудования, самой конструкции — путь развития, который трудно назвать прямым. Главной причиной неудачи проекта была смена требований армейской авиации США, а также попытки самой компании использовать на своем самолете все новоиспеченные идеи в области авиации.

Осознавая основные недостатки Р-40 и его быстрое старение, а также отказавшись от развития предыдущего, явно неудачного проекта ХР-46, Кертисс предложила новый проект. Новый самолет, носящий фирменное обозначение "модель 88", представлял собой ХР-46 переделанный под еще только разрабатываемый, 12-цилиндровый мотор жидкостного охлаждения Континентэл XIV-1430-3, взлетной мощностью 1 600 л.с. "Модель 88" должна была получить фюзеляж и хвостовое оперение от Р-40D и новое крыло с ламинарным профилем NAСА. Вооружение должно было состоять из восьми 12,7-мм крыльевых пулеметов. Максимальная скорость самолета оценивалась в 688 км/ч.


Многострадальный Р-60


1 октября 1940 года армейские ВВС США выдали заказ на два самолета "модели 88" под обозначением ХР-53. Однако на встрече через шесть недель армия потребовала от компании Кертисс-Райт использовать на истребителях двигатель "Мерлин" британской разработки. Кертисс предложила переоборудовать один из экземпляров ХР-53 (41-19508) под двигатель "Мерлин". Этот самолет получил внутреннее обозначение "модель 90". Армейские ВВС США одобрили проект и присвоили ему наименование ХР-60. Самолет должен был получить двигатель Роллс-Ройс V-1650-1 "Мерлин" мощностью 1300 л.с., выпускаемый по лицензии Паккардом. Такой же двигатель планировалось установить на ХР-40Р. Второй экземпляр ХР-53 планировали закончить с двигателем Континентэл.

Пока ХР-53 и ХР-60 находились на сборке, армия решила аннулировать заказ на ХР-53 из-за ожидавшейся задержки с двигателем Континентэл XIV-1430. ХР-53 так в воздух и не поднялся. Двигатель Континентэл так и не попал в серийное производство, и все проекты, рассчитанные под этот мотор, были прекращены.

В ноябре 1941 г планер ХР-53 был передан на статические испытания в рамках работ по Р-60, а пулестойкое стекло, протектированные баки и вооружение с этого самолета были использованы на ХР-60. Во время производства опытного ХР-60 было решено заменить стойки шасси, убираемые по образцу Р-40 (с поворотом вокруг оси) на новые, подобно стоявшим на опытном ХР-46.

ХР-60 с двигателем "Мерлин-28" впервые поднялся в воздух 18 сентября 1941 года. Его летные данные оказались разочаровывающими. Максимальная скорость на высоте 6710 м составила только 620 км/ч. Высота 4575 м набиралось за 7,3 мин. Главной причиной недобора скорости было то, что поверхность крыла не имела достаточно качественного исполнения, которое особенно требовалось для ламинарного профиля. Другой причиной было то, что двигатель "Мерлин" не выдал заявленной мощности.

Многострадальный Р-60


Дважды ХР-60 терпел аварию из-за не выпуска шасси. Во время испытаний выяснилась необходимость увеличить площадь киля и внести в самолет некоторые изменения. После необходимых доработок самолет получил обозначение "модель 90А".

В августе 1942 года на ХР-60 установили мотор Паккард "Мерлин" V-1650-3 мощностью 1350 л.с. с двухскоростным нагнетателем. На самолет поставили четырехлопастной винт. Армия сменила обозначение машины на ХР-60D, а на фирме он назывался "модель 90В". Ко времени этих доработок армейское обозначение с литерами "В" и "С" получили новые модели самолета, а ХР-60D был разбит 6 мая 1943 года.

Многострадальный Р-60


К концу 1941 года стало ясно, что поставки лицензионных двигателей "Мерлин" едва покроют потребности для уже выпускающихся самолетов, и было видно, что программа производства Р-60 из-за этого наверняка столкнется с трудностями. Вследствие этого решили установить на Р-60 мотор Аллисон V-1710 — достаточно надежный и доступный. 21 октября 1941 года был заключен контракт на поставку 1950 истребителей Р-60А. В качестве силовой установки для них должен был использоваться Аллисон V-1710-75 мощностью 1425 л.с. на высоте 7625 м.

Однако 17 ноября 1941 года из-за недостаточной мощности двигателя Аллисона было решено подождать появления новой, более мощной модели мотора, либо запустить в серию вместо Р-60А другой истребитель.

После Перл-Харбора возникли серьезные сомнения в том, нужно ли в такой критический момент прерывать серийное производство истребителя Р-40, в ожидании разворачивания выпуска совершенно нового самолета. 20 декабря 1941 г все работы по Р-60А было решено прекратить, а 2 января 1942 года заказ на 1950 Р-60А был заменен на поставку большего числа истребителей Р-40К и L, а также на партию Р-47С "Тандерболтов", которые должны были строиться по лицензии на Кертиссе.

Однако программа Р-60 на этом не закончилась. Армия решила заказать еще три опытных машины: один ХР-60А, по одному ХР-60В и ХР-60С. На ХР-60А планировали установить двигатель Аллисон V-1710-75 и турбокомпрессор Дженерал электрик В-14. ХР-60В при том же двигателе должен был получить турбокомпрессор Райт 511-504-2. ХР-60С строился под экспериментальный 16-цилиндровый двигатель Крайслер ХIV-2220. Обычно смена двигателя вела к изменению названия самолета, но в данном случае, армия решила ограничиться сменой литеры обозначения модификации.

Первым из новой партии опытных Р-60 стал ХР-60А. Установка двигателя Аллисон подразумевала использования для ХР-60А крыла от ХР-60 и нового фюзеляжа. ХР-60А получил другое фирменное обозначение "модель 95А". Обводы носовой части и фюзеляжа этой машины были изменены, вооружение было сокращено до шести 12,7-мм крыльевых пулеметов. Самолет получил четырехлопастной винт.

Многострадальный Р-60


ХР-60А начал совершать пробежки по аэродрому в конце октября 1942 г. В ходе испытаний возник небольшой пожар двигателя из-за некачественного охлаждения выхлопной трубы, ведущей к турбокомпрессору. В результате турбокомпрессор и патрубок выхлопной трубы были сняты с самолета и заменены на обычный выхлопной коллектор. Свой первый полет ХР-60А совершил 11 ноября 1942 г. Взлетный вес самолета составил — 4366 кг. Максимальная скорость ожидалась (но реально на испытаниях никогда не достигалась) в 672 км/ч на высоте 8845 м и 520 км/ч у земли. Потолок оценивался в 10700 м. Реальные скорость и скороподъемность самолета оказались много меньше расчетных. В результате ХР-60А разобрали на запчасти для сборки последовавших за ним ХР-60С и ХР-60Е.

Плохие летные данные ХР-60А привели к снижению интереса ко всей программе истребителя Р-60. Над ней возникла угроза полного прекращения. Однако Кертисс в качестве радикального средства спасения проекта предложила армии вариант ХР-60С под мотор воздушного охлаждения Пратт&Уитни Р-2800 с соосными трёхлопастными винтами.

Значительный рост ожидаемых на этом самолете летных характеристик, подстегнул интерес армии к машине и, в ноябре 1942 года фирмой был получен заказ на 500 истребителей Р-60А-1-СU под двигатели Р-2800. Первые 26 самолетов этой серии должны были быть поставлены в качестве установочной партии под обозначением YР-60А.

ХР-60С должен был получить планер, подобный ХР-60А и ХР-60В, но под двигатель Крайслер ХIV-2220 взлетной мощностью 2300 л.с. Так как работа по двигателю шла с большими трудностями, в сентябре 1942 г заказ на самолет был переоформлен, с учетом использования двигателя Пратт&Уитни R-2800-53 мощностью 2000 л.с. Вооружение было сокращено до четырех 12,7-мм пулеметов. Первый свой полет ХР-60С совершил 27 января 1943 года. Если не считать большой нагрузки на рули управления, летные данные новой машины были вполне удовлетворительны.

Многострадальный Р-60


Вариант ХР-60В был похож на ХР-60А и отличался только заменой турбокомпрессора Дженерал-электрик на турбокомпрессор Райт. Но в этом варианте самолет так и не достроили. 2 декабря 1942 г армия решила установить на него двигатель Пратт&Уитни R-2800, вместо первоначально запланированного V-1710. В отличие от ХР-60С, имевшего трехлопастные соосные винты, самолет получил один четырехлопастной винт. Название машины сменилось на ХР-60Е. Так как новый винт весил меньше, чем соосные винты на ХР-60С, двигатель пришлось для сохранения центровки передвинуть на 25 см вперед. Из-за отказа мотора во время пробных рулежек первый полет ХР-60Е состоялся только 26 моя 1943года.

В конце апреля 1943 года армейские ВВС США решили провести серию сравнительных испытаний различных истребителей на Пэттерсон-филд, с целью определения направления продолжения работ и выбора лучшего истребителя. Армия предложила Кертисс-Райт выставить ХР-60Е на эти испытания в течение четырех дней. Так как ХР-60Е не был даже облетан, то Кертисс-Райт представила вместо него ХР-60С.

В ходе испытаний на Пэттерсон-филд мотор ХР-60С не смог выдать полной мощности. Кроме того, опытное покрытие крыла облупилось на передней кромке, что значительно снизило достоинства ламинарного профиля. В результате самолет заметно потерял в скорости, произведя на армию плохое впечатление, так как заметно уступил Рипаблик Р-470 и Норт-Америкэн Р-51В. В итоге, ни о каком заказе на серийное производство для Р-60 не могло быть и речи. В июне 1943 года армия сократила заказ на Р-60А-1-С11 с 500 до двух машин.

После возвращения ХР-60С фирме, испытания самолета были продолжены, но вынужденная посадка привела к аварии и прекращению полетов. К этому времени продолжение работ по Р-60 потеряло всякий смысл, так как Р-47 и Р-51 полностью соответствовали требованиям армии. Тем не менее, армия согласилась провести испытания ХР-60Е, не успевшего к полетам на Пэттерсон-филд в мае 1943 года.

Многострадальный Р-60


В январе 1944 года ХР-60Е ("модель 950") был перегнан на Эльгин-филд для официальных испытаний. Пилоты армейской авиации нашли, что ХР-60Е не особенно превосходит уже выпускавшиеся истребители в горизонтальной скорости, но имеет лучшую скороподъемность. Самолет слишком чутко реагировал на рули управления. Устойчивость на курсе и при наборе высоты была низкой.

К маю 1944-го Кертисс-Райт окончательно осознала бесперспективность продолжения работ по Р-60 и предложила армии свернуть проект. Однако армейские ВВС США настояли на выполнении заключенных контрактов и, по крайней мере, поставить один из двух YР-60А — все, что осталось от заказа на Р-60А-1-СU. Этот самолет получил обозначение YР-60Е — то же обозначение модификации, что у ХР-60Е.

Таким образом, единственный из YР-60А поднялся в воздух уже под обозначением УР-60Е. Реально это был второй экземпляр YР-60А. Первый полет состоялся 15 июля 1944 года. От предыдущих Р-60, самолет отличался каплевидным фонарем кабины и новым килем, из-за чего он стал похож на Р-47D-25 "Тандерболт".

Всего на Кертисс-Райт осуществили два полета YР-60Е, после чего самолет был переведен на Райт-филд. К тому времени армия уже не видела в Р-60 никакой необходимости, и испытания не проводились. После войны, YР-60Е был выставлен на торги и его приобрел Джеймс Десанта. В 1947 г самолет был выставлен на Национальных воздушных гонках под номером 80, но разбился во время квалификационного полета.

Многострадальный Р-60


Многострадальный Р-60


Источники:
Иванов С. Curtiss P-40 // Война в воздухе. №53. С.46-48.
Фирсов А. Истребители США // Авиационный сборник. №14. C. 62-64.
Котельников В., Лейко О. Истребитель Р-40 // Дайджест "Крылья". №2. С. 30-31.
Дональд Д. Американские военные самолёты Второй мировой войны. М: АСТ, Астрель, 2002. С. 72-73.
Автор: Инженер-технарь


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 13
  1. qwert 14 октября 2015 07:42
    4 пулемета, даже крупнокалиберных для 44 года уже маловато. Американцы правильно сделали, что его зарубили.
  2. cth;fyn 14 октября 2015 08:24
    Уря! Серия продолжатся! Почитаемс.
    1. cth;fyn 14 октября 2015 11:55
      Чет не Уря, чет все печально(((.
  3. злой партизан 14 октября 2015 08:51
    Эх...Нашим конструкторам, да ихние бы двигатели...
    1. Cap.Morgan 14 октября 2015 09:16
      Так у нас и были ихние двигатели. Только предыдущего поколения.
      Из статьи про Климова:
      "В 1924-м его направляют в Германию для закупки и приёмки двигателя BMW-4 (в лицензионном производстве М-17).

      С 1928 по 1930 гг. он находится в служебной командировке во Франции, где также занимается закупкой двигателя Юпитер-7 фирмы Гном-Рон (в лицензионном производстве М-22).
      С 1931 по 1935 годы Владимир Яковлевич возглавляет отдел бензиновых двигателей вновь созданного ИАМ (позже ВИАМ) и руководит кафедрой проектирования двигателей МАИ. В 1935 году, в качестве Главного конструктора завода №26 в Рыбинске, направляется во Францию для переговоров о приобретении лицензии на производство 12-цилиндрового, V-образного двигателя Испано-Суиза 12 Ybrs, который в СССР получил обозначение М-100. Развитие этого двигателя – двигатели ВК-103, ВК-105ПФ и ВК-107А в годы войны устанавливались на всех истребителях Яковлева и на бомбардировщике Петлякова Пе-2. В конце войны Климовым был разработан двигатель ВК-108, но он так и не поступил в серийное производство"
      Если серьёзно , то мы не уделяли должного внимания разработке двигателей. Это было большой ошибкой. Именно двигатели сделали Мустанг Мустангом, а Спитфайр Спитфайром.Американцы имея хорошие двигатели могли меньше внимания уделять аэродинамике. Многие самолёты выглядят довольно топорно.
  4. злой партизан 14 октября 2015 09:17
    Цитата: Cap.Morgan
    ак у нас и были ихние двигатели.

    Да в курсе.
    Цитата: Cap.Morgan
    Только предыдущего поколения.

    Вот то-то и оно...
  5. Технолог 14 октября 2015 10:34
    Не красивые они какие-то.
    1. jjj 14 октября 2015 11:01
      Фюзеляж на миделе почти в рост человека. Да, у американцев свой путь в строительстве истребителей
      jjj
  6. _КМ_ 14 октября 2015 10:53
    Цитата: Cap.Morgan
    Если серьёзно , то мы не уделяли должного внимания разработке двигателей.


    К сожалению да. Моторостроение всегда было нелюбимым ребенком нашей промышленности и правительства. И до войны, и после, и сейчас.
  7. qwert 14 октября 2015 11:12
    Цитата: Cap.Morgan
    Именно двигатели сделали Мустанг Мустангом, а Спитфайр Спитфайром.


    Ну да, английский Мерлин сделал из Мустанга Мустанг. А немецкая пушка и английская браня из танка Абрамса Абрамс.
    1. cth;fyn 14 октября 2015 11:59
      Умеют приспособиться, черти.
  8. _КМ_ 14 октября 2015 11:57
    Мотор - это сердце машины. Без него создать самолет невозможно. wink
  9. mvg 14 октября 2015 12:32
    Як - 2 с чем то тонны.. Америкосы от 4 и далее... Поэтому и заметно крупнее. У японцев вообще не было двигателя.. Посмотрите Зеро.. В лучшем случае в посл модификациях - 1200, у Тандерболта - 2300. Но летали же и бились. В общем если бы, да как бы.. Встреть мы войну с Аэрокобрами, Спитами IX, да еще и напади первыми.. :-) Остановили бы нас немцы на Балканах.. Но это уже альтернативная история
    mvg
    1. злой партизан 14 октября 2015 17:42
      Цитата: mvg
      Як - 2

      Вообще-то это был лёгкий бомбер+разведчик...
  10. дядя 14 октября 2015 13:39
    P-60 это самолёт фирмы curtiss одна из многих. Есть и хорошие p-51 мустанг фирмы Норт Американ. P-63 кингкобра фирмы Белл поступали по ленд-лизу в СССР.
  11. qwert 14 октября 2015 15:59
    Цитата: mvg
    Встреть мы войну с Аэрокобрами, Спитами IX, да еще и напади первыми.. :-)

    Читал интересную статью, где сравнивали МиГ-3 со Спитфайром. В целом на больших высотах МиГ-3 не уступал Спитфайру, а на малых Спитфайр не был лучше МиГа. Короче оба для советского фронта не подходили. hi
    1. kara61 1 мая 2016 14:50
      Если бы у МиГ-3 еще и движки нормальные были,и пулеметы всегда стреляли.
  12. Денимакс 14 октября 2015 21:35
    Цитата: злой партизан
    Эх...Нашим конструкторам, да ихние бы двигатели...

    Хотя-бы дюральки в нужном количестве. Тож были-бы рады.
    1. goose 19 октября 2015 15:23
      Цитата: Денимакс
      Хотя-бы дюральки в нужном количестве. Тож были-бы рады.

      Если бы не отдали ДнепроГЭС с алюминиевым производством, ленд-лиз был бы не нужен.
    2. kara61 1 мая 2016 14:51
      С движками у нас всегда проблемы были.
  13. Комментарий был удален.
  14. дядя 14 октября 2015 22:50
    Фины очень хорошо воевали на истребителе F-2a Биффало фирмы Brewster. Фирма до этого производила вагоны и не была профессиональным авиаконструкторов.
  15. rohl 21 октября 2015 01:37
    А наши в это время делали количество, а не качество. Пулемёты 7.62 вместо 12.7. Грусть печаль.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня