Military Review

Handley Page 0 / 100: World War I's Tightest “Fighter”

7
Who are familiar with history aviation, he may be surprised at the title of this article. And he will be right. The Handley Page 0/100 is a fairly successful English aircraft during the First World War, but it was not a fighter, but a heavy bomber. However, the idea of ​​remaking the aircraft precisely into a fighter with a serious buildup of its machine-gun armament did exist and even was put into practice. And although the British decided not to use the aircraft in an unusual quality for a good life, but the use itself was episodic, still the Handley Page 0/100 can be called the heaviest fighter of the First World War.


As you know, at the dawn of the 20th century, most of the military, including the aviators themselves, saw in airplanes only a means of conducting reconnaissance. This, however, did not prevent enthusiasts from different countries, including in the UK, from generating new ideas in the field of military use of aircraft on the battlefield. Here, the voice of the commander of the first wing of the Royal Navy, Commander S. R. Samson, who two months after the outbreak of World War I ordered to hang bombs on two biplanes, hoping to crush the German zeppelins, was especially noticeable. During the attack, Lieutenant Mariks got two 9-kg bombs in one of the hangars, which kept the airships. And soon a devastating attack on the German airship base, located on Lake Constance, was dealt by the 4 of the Avro 504 aircraft.

Thus, the bomber functions of airplanes loomed quite clearly. As early as December 1914, the Admiralty issued a technical assignment for Handley Page to build a twin-engine patrol bomber. The company quickly created the Handley Page Type 0 aircraft, which was soon converted to 0 / 100 (the 100 number in the name meant the wingspan of the aircraft in feet). The prototype of this machine was the largest airplane built not only by Handley Page, but throughout the UK as a whole. In total, Handley Page released 46 / 0 bombers, which were renamed X. NUMX 100 in 1924.



The aircraft was a biplane with folding wings of different span and a constant chord, with straight rear and leading edges. The wings of the aircraft were attached to the fuselage truss structure with transverse struts, which ended with the tail of the biplane. The cross section of the fuselage was square. The biplane chassis with a tail crutch possessed two wheels on each of the main racks. Two Rolls-Royce Eagle II engines were installed on the aircraft, developing 266 horsepower. each. They were installed in the gondolas between the wings in the immediate vicinity of the fuselage. Usually the crew of the aircraft consisted of four people: two pilots, a bow shooter-scorer and a rear shooter.

Designers of the Handley Page company paid great attention to the protection of the crew and aircraft power plants. So, the fully enclosed, glazed cockpit initially had an armored floor and a rear wall. Engine nacelles were also armored. For the beginning of XX century, this approach was innovative. However, during the tests conducted by the new aircraft, these measures of the designers were considered redundant. Therefore, the armor from the cockpit was removed, and the cabin itself was decided to open, sacrificing the comfort and safety of the crew, in order to improve visibility and reduce the weight of the aircraft. At the same time in the nose was located machine gun turret.

After the first flight of the aircraft, which took place on December 18 1915, it turned out that the flight characteristics of 0 / 100 did not meet the requirements. During the finalization of the aircraft, new radiators for water-cooling engines appeared on it, the booking was reduced, and the enclosed cockpit was dismantled. When the flight tests of the aircraft were resumed in the 1916 year, a significant improvement in the flight performance of the vehicle was noted, and in early May 1916, he was able to rise more than 2135 meters with the Handley 20 employees on board. In this case, testing and fine-tuning the aircraft lasted more than one and a half years. Their results were considered very successful. Especially the military was impressed by the combat load of the bomber - he could take on board up to eight 250-pounders (113 kg) bombs.



It is worth noting that one of the problems that hampered the process of building British heavy bombers in the 1915-1916 years was also the engines. At that time there was an acute shortage of aircraft engines with enough power. So the aircraft №3117 was involved for testing in Farnborough, where it installed engines of at least 4-s of various types, including the installation option 4-s French engines Hispano-Suiza, located in tandem installations. Finally, in September, 1917 launched new Eagle VIII hp 360 engines on the plane. The aircraft with these engines became the prototype of the bomber, which received the 0 / 400 index. This aircraft also increased the capacity of the fuel tanks and the mass of the combat load. All subsequent production aircraft were made according to this standard.

The creation of the first squadron on the Handley Page aircraft began in August 1916. The first aircraft in November 1916 of the year was able to get the third wing of the RNAS (Royal Naval Air Base), which was stationed in the north of France. This squadron spent the first officially registered bombardment on the night of 16 on 17 in March of 1917. The blow was struck at the French railway junction, which was in the hands of the Germans. In addition, heavy bombers were used to patrol the English Channel and the coast of Flanders, even their attacks on German ships were recorded. But over time, they began to attract more serious operations. Since the end of March 1917, British heavy bombers began to carry out group raids on German military factories, submarine bases and railway stations. A few planes even went to Greece and Palestine. On account of one of these aircraft was the bombing of the capital of Turkey - Constantinople.

The idea of ​​the non-standard use of heavy bombers arose for the first time after German pilots began bombing raids on England. The country's air defense command was so desperate that it was ready to seize on any straw, if only to find an opportunity to more effectively fight the German Goth bombers. As a result of 16 June 1917, the headquarters of RNAS in France received an official request from Vice-Admiral Reginald Bacon, commander of the Dover patrol, to use Handley Page bomber aircraft equipped with radio stations as a kind of AWACS aircraft. According to the military plan, the planes were always, when the weather seemed favorable for German air raids on the UK, to patrol along the Belgian coast of the North Sea occupied by German troops in order to locate German bombers in a timely manner.



The very next day, Reginald Bacon’s proposal was officially rejected with reference to the complete unsuitability of heavy bombers for solving such problems for any lengthy period of time. And there were no arguments for this. Instead, there was another solution to the existing problem: to significantly increase the number of fighter aircraft in the RNAS in France, which should significantly reduce or completely prevent further raids of German pilots on the islands.

On this official correspondence, everything could stall if it were not for the initiative that came from below. A number of pilots who were based at Couderkerk (next to Dunkirk) believed that not only fighter aircraft should have taken part in the interception of German bombers who returned after the bombing of England. At the end of September 1917, they embodied their idea “in metal”. Their heavy bomber Handley Page 0 / 100 with serial number 3134 was modified to receive enhanced small arms. At that time, conventional bombers of this type made flights with a maximum of three machine guns (one was mounted on the turret in the nose of the aircraft, the second on the pivot on top of the fuselage just behind the wing box, and the third in the lower hatch installation). On a converted plane, the number of Lewis machine guns installed was brought to 5 units, four gunners operated on them. Unfortunately, due to the fact that the work was carried out in the order of private initiative of the pilots, no details about the layout of the weapons have been preserved.

On the night of September 30 1917, the German pilots carried out the sixth nightly raid on the cities of southern England. Because of the losses incurred during the previous sorties, the 3-I bomber squadron was able to send only 7 "Ready" to the sky, of which only the 4 bomber reached England. In addition to the Gotha medium-sized twin-engine bomber, three giant four-engined Zeppelin-Staaken bomber R.VI took part in the raid. It is worth noting that from June 1917 of the year to the summer of next year, these giants, together with the “Goths,” regularly raided London, Folkestone, Dover and other cities in the south-east of England. During these air raids of England, only one heavy Zeppelin-Staaken bomber R.VI was shot down. In February, 1918, the bomber dropped on London 1000-kilogram bomb, the heaviest aviation munitions, which was used during the First World War.



When the information about the raid of German bombers reached Dunkirk, several fighters were picked up to intercept the returning aircraft, as well as a Handley 0 / 100 equipped with five machine guns. The plane was piloted by Junior Officer Victor R. Gibbs, whose company consisted of four gunners: Chief Mechanic Langston, Private First Class Conley and two Private Second Class Kill and Spencer. During its four-hour patrol at an altitude of about 10 thousands of feet in 10 miles from Ostend, the crew was able to detect three German aircraft, attacking two of them.

The first of the detected bombers went quite low and immediately after the start of the attack on it “dived” into the fog, disappearing from the sight of the English crew. The British entered the battle with the second bomber "Gota" somewhere between Niuvport and Ostend. According to the report presented after the flight, the arrows opened fire on the German plane from two left-side and tail machine guns from a distance of approximately 50-100 yards, having managed to shoot the 3 disk at the enemy (according to other 5 information) before descending spiral, out of sight.

The English crew was absolutely sure that they managed to shoot down this plane, but it’s far from a fact that it really happened. During this raid, the Germans really lost one bomber, but there is every reason to believe that he was the victim of anti-aircraft artillery. The personnel of the searchlight station installed on the Dover breakwater on 21: 40 saw the burning plane fall into the sea approximately two miles from the coast. The object of the attack, "Handley-Page" consider another bomber "Gotha", which crashed near the Dutch Sas-Van-Ghent, not having reached the border just a few kilometers.



When the fuel began to come to an end, Gibbs decided to go to the city of Tura (today Torhout), where he also bombed the German airfield, dropping eight 65-pound bombs - less than half of the typical load, however, the flight time was doubled. Regardless of the accuracy of the application filed after the flight, it was the only case in World War I, when one heavy bomber fought with another in aerial combat and won. However, despite the generally successful experience of patrolling, he did not receive any continuation. The initiative was stabbed to the root. In response to the winning report, the high command demanded an ultimatum to finish off with amateur activities, reminding the officers that they were flying bomber aircraft. At that moment, there were fewer 20 machines of this type on the front, so the British command considered it to be a waste of a scarce resource to distract them from making bomber raids.

Flight Specifications Handley Page 0 / 100:
Overall dimensions: length - 19,15 m, height - 6,7 m, wingspan - 30,5 m, wing area - 153,1 m 2.
Empty weight - 3722 kg.
Maximum take-off weight - 6359 kg.
Powerplant 2 PD Rolls Royce Eagle II horsepower 2x266 HP
The maximum flight speed is 140 km / h.
Practical ceiling - 2134 m.
Flight duration - up to 8 hours.
Armament: small - three 7,7-mm machine gun "Lewis", bomb load - about 900 kg.
Crew - 4-5 people.

Information sources:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bww1/hp100.html
http://warspot.ru/417-samyy-tyazhelyy-istrebitel-pervoy-mirovoy
http://feldgrau.info/engines/2022-handley-page-0400
http://flyingmachines.ru/Site2/Crafts/Craft25534.htm
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. qwert
    qwert 13 November 2015 06: 53 New
    +2
    Interesting plane. And at the same time only two engines on 266l.s.
  2. Nikolaevich I
    Nikolaevich I 13 November 2015 08: 27 New
    +2
    Well .... the idea of ​​"turning" a bomber into a fighter did not die in the First World War. I have come across such "alterations" more than once. If memory serves, then there was one case in the years of the Second World War on the "alteration" of a difficult bomber into a fighter.Well, and how not to mention the Soviet Pe-2 / Pe-3.
    1. spec.78
      spec.78 13 November 2015 09: 23 New
      +1
      You can read more about this alteration. So far, I have only heard about productive attacks by Soviet bombers and attack aircraft on German bombers.
  3. Bayonet
    Bayonet 13 November 2015 14: 47 New
    +6
    The "Zeppelin-Staaken" mentioned in the article was indeed a giant!
  4. NOMADE
    NOMADE 13 November 2015 15: 37 New
    0
    Hm, a very interesting article. But more detailed battle documents were not preserved? To the author, definitely bold +
    Thank you!
  5. jjj
    jjj 13 November 2015 21: 08 New
    0
    The four-blade semi-saber-shaped screw is noteworthy. The filigree balancing was with the British. Thanks to the author for finding topics
  6. Ruby
    Ruby 13 November 2015 23: 06 New
    +1
    Quote: Nikolaevich I
    Well .... the idea of ​​"turning" a bomber into a fighter did not die in the First World War. I have come across such "alterations" more than once. If memory serves, then there was one case in the years of the Second World War on the "alteration" of a difficult bomber into a fighter.Well, and how not to mention the Soviet Pe-2 / Pe-3.

    Quote: Nikolaevich I
    Well .... the idea of ​​"turning" a bomber into a fighter did not die in the First World War. I have come across such "alterations" more than once. If memory serves, then there was one case in the years of the Second World War on the "alteration" of a difficult bomber into a fighter.Well, and how not to mention the Soviet Pe-2 / Pe-3.

    Well, in the case of Pe2 / Pe3, it’s just the opposite. The aircraft was originally developed as a long-range fighter, then it was converted into a dive bomber, and only then, before the war itself, did Pe3 (removed air brakes, put other engines, strengthened offensive weapons). But the series was small in my opinion less than a hundred cars. Just fighter genes Pe2 gave his shortcomings as a bomber, namely a small bomb load and the inability to use bombs weighing more than 500 kg. The same Yu87 could take a 1,5 t bomb.
    The British during the battle of Britain used artificially converted bombers as night fighters. The target modifications for both the British and Germans have already gone further. For example, the Yu88 in the version of a night fighter was very actively used throughout the war, and the Me110 was the same. The British Mosquito used for these purposes. The main reason is that it was impossible to install a radar of those times on a single-seat fighter, and a separate person was required to work with it, and the bomber just allowed it.
    Used as fighters and clean bombers. for example, it was not rare for Pe2 to send convoys to cover in the SF, but this was due to the absence of distant fighters.

Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны

Кто знаком с историей авиации, тот может удивиться заголовку данной статьи. И будет прав. Handley Page 0/100 — это достаточно удачный английский самолет периода Первой мировой войны, но был он не истребителем, а тяжелым бомбардировщиком. Однако идея по переделке самолета именно в истребитель с серьезным наращиванием его пулеметного вооружения действительно существовала и даже была воплощена в жизнь. И хотя использовать самолет в необычном для него качестве англичане решили не от хорошей жизни, а само использование носило эпизодический характер, все-таки Handley Page 0/100 можно назвать самым тяжелым истребителем Первой мировой.

Как известно, на заре XX века большинство военных, в том числе и сами авиаторы, видели в аэропланах только средство ведения разведки. Это, однако, не мешало энтузиастам из разных стран, в том числе и в Великобритании, генерировать новые идеи в области боевого использования авиации на полях сражений. Здесь особенно был заметен голос командира первого авиакрыла Королевских ВМС коммандера С. Р. Сэмсона, который уже через два месяца после начала Первой мировой войны приказал подвесить на два биплана бомбы, надеясь разгромить базу немецких «цеппелинов». В ходе атаки лейтенант Мэрикс попал двумя 9-кг бомбами в один из ангаров, в которых держали дирижабли. А вскоре разрушительный удар по базе немецких дирижаблей, расположенной на озере Констанс, нанесли 4 самолета Avro 504.

Таким образом, бомбардировочные функции аэропланов вырисовывались достаточно явно. Уже в декабре 1914 года Адмиралтейство выдало компании Handley Page техническое задание на постройку двухмоторного патрульного бомбардировщика. Компания достаточно быстро создала самолет Handley Page Type 0, который вскоре был преобразован в 0/100 (число 100 в названии обозначало размах крыла самолета в футах). Опытный экземпляр данной машины стал самым большим аэропланом, построенным не только компанией Handley Page, но и во всей Великобритании в целом. Всего компания Handley Page выпустила 46 бомбардировщиков 0/100, которые в 1924 году были переименованы в Н.Р.11.


Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны


Самолет представлял собой биплан со складывающимися крыльями разного размаха и постоянной хордой, с прямыми задними и передними кромками. Крылья самолета крепились на фюзеляж ферменной конструкции с поперечными распорками, который заканчивался хвостовым оперением схемы биплан. Поперечное сечение фюзеляжа было квадратным. Шасси биплана с хвостовым костылем обладало двумя колесами на каждой из основных стоек. На самолете были установлены два двигателя Rolls-Royce Eagle II, развивавших мощность по 266 л.с. каждый. Они были установлены в гондолах между крыльями в непосредственной близости от фюзеляжа. Обычно экипаж самолета состоял из четырех человек: двух пилотов, носового стрелка-бомбардира и заднего стрелка.

Конструкторы компании Handley Page большое внимание уделили защите экипажа и силовых установок самолета. Так, полностью закрытая, остекленная кабина пилотов изначально имела броневой пол и заднюю стенку. Мотогондолы двигателей также были бронированы. Для начала XX века такой подход был новаторским. Однако в ходе проводимых испытаний нового самолета данные меры конструкторов сочли излишними. Поэтому броню из кабины летчиков убрали, а саму кабину решили выполнить открытой, пожертвовав комфортом и безопасностью экипажа, ради улучшения обзора и уменьшения веса самолета. При этом в носовой оконечности была расположена пулеметная турель.

После первого полета самолета, который состоялся 18 декабря 1915 года, выяснилось, что летные характеристики 0/100 не отвечают предъявленным требованиям. В ходе доработки самолета на нем появились новые радиаторы для двигателей водяного охлаждения, было уменьшено бронирование и демонтирована закрытая кабина экипажа. Когда летные испытания самолета возобновились в 1916 году, было отмечено серьезное улучшение летных характеристик машины, и в начале мая 1916 года он сумел подняться на высоту более 2135 метров с 20 служащими компании Handley Page на борту. При этом испытания и доводка самолета продолжались более полутора лет. Их результаты были признаны очень успешными. Особенно военных впечатляла боевая нагрузка бомбардировщика — он мог взять на борт до восьми 250-фунтовых (113 кг) бомб.

Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны


Стоит отметить, что одной из проблем, которая сдерживала процесс постройки британских тяжелых бомбардировщиков в 1915-1916 годах, были еще и двигатели. На тот момент времени наблюдался острый дефицит авиационных двигателей достаточно мощности. Так самолет №3117 был задействован для проведения испытаний в Фарнборо, где на него устанавливались двигатели не менее 4-х различных типов, включая вариант установки 4-х французских моторов Hispano-Suiza, расположенных в тандемных установках. Наконец, в сентябре 1917 года на самолет начали ставить новые моторы Eagle VIII мощностью 360 л.с. Самолет с этими двигателями стал прототипом бомбардировщика, получившего индекс 0/400. На этом самолете также была увеличена емкость топливных баков и масса боевой нагрузки. Все последующие серийные самолеты изготавливались уже по этому стандарту.

К созданию первой эскадрильи на самолетах Handley Page, приступили в августе 1916 года. Первыми новые самолеты в ноябре 1916 года смогло получить третье крыло RNAS (Королевской морской авиабазы), которое было расквартировано на севере Франции. Первую официально зарегистрированную бомбардировку данная эскадрилья провела в ночь с 16 на 17 марта 1917 года. Удар был нанесен по французскому железнодорожному узлу, который находился в руках немцев. Помимо этого тяжелые бомбардировщики использовались для патрулирования вод Ла-Манша и берегов Фландрии, были зафиксированы даже их атаки на немецкие корабли. Но со временем их начали привлекать к более серьезным операциям. Начиная с конца марта 1917 года, английские тяжелые бомбардировщики начали совершать групповые налеты на немецкие военные заводы, базы подводных лодок и ж/д станции. А несколько самолетов даже отправились в Грецию и Палестину. На счету одного из этих самолетов была бомбардировка столицы Турции — Константинополя.

Идея нестандартного применения тяжелых бомбардировщиков возникла впервые после того, как немецкие пилоты начали совершать бомбардировочные налеты на Англию. Командование ПВО страны находилось в таком отчаянии, что готово было ухватиться за любую соломинку, лишь бы найти возможность более эффективно бороться с немецкими бомбардировщиками «Гота». В результате 16 июня 1917 года штаб RNAS во Франции получил официальный запрос от командующего Дуврским патрулем вице-адмирала Реджинальда Бейкона на использование тяжелых бомбардировщиков «Хэндли-Пейдж», оснащенных радиостанциями, в качестве своеобразного самолета ДРЛО. По замыслу военных самолеты должны были всегда, когда погода представлялась благоприятной для совершения налета немецких самолетов на Великобританию, совершать патрулирование вдоль оккупированного немецкими войсками бельгийского побережья Северного моря для того, чтобы своевременно обнаруживать немецкие бомбардировщики.

Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны


Уже на следующий день данное предложение Реджинальда Бейкона было официально отклонено со ссылкой на полную непригодность тяжелых бомбардировщиков для решения таких задач в течении сколь-нибудь продолжительного периода времени. Причем никаких аргументов этому не приводилось. Взамен было высказано другое решение имеющейся проблемы: существенно нарастить количество самолетов-истребителей в составе RNAS во Франции, что должно было значительно сократить или вовсе предотвратить дальнейшие рейды германских пилотов на острова.

На этой официальной переписке все могло и заглохнуть, если бы не инициатива, которая исходила снизу. Ряд пилотов, которые базировались в Кудекерке (рядом с Дюнкерком), полагали, что в перехвате немецких бомбардировщиков, которые возвращались после бомбардировки Англии, должны были принимать участие не только самолеты-истребители. В конце сентября 1917 года они воплотили свой замысел «в металле». Имеющийся у них тяжелый бомбардировщик Handley Page 0/100 с серийным номером 3134 был доработан, получив усиленное стрелковое вооружение. На тот момент обычные бомбардировщики данного типа совершали полеты максимум с тремя пулеметами (один был установлен на турели в носовой части самолета, второй на шкворне сверху фюзеляжа сразу за коробкой крыльев, а третий в нижней люковой установке). На переделанном самолете количество установленных пулеметов «Льюис» довели до 5 штук, оперировали ими четыре стрелка. К сожалению, по той причине, что работы проводились в порядке частной инициативы летчиков, никаких подробностей о схеме расположения вооружения не сохранилось.

В ночь на 30 сентября 1917 года немецкие пилоты осуществили шестой за месяц ночной рейд на города южной Англии. Из-за понесенных в ходе предыдущих вылетов потерь 3-я бомбардировочная эскадра смогла отправить в небо только 7 «Готов», из которых берегов Англии достигли только 4 бомбардировщика. Помимо средних двухмоторных бомбардировщиков «Гота» в налете участвовали три гигантских четырехмоторных бомбардировщика «Цеппелин-Штаакен» R.VI. Стоит отметить, что с июня 1917 года и до лета следующего года эти гиганты совместно с «Готами» регулярно совершали налеты на Лондон, Фолкстон, Дувр и иные города на юго-востоке Англии. За время этих налетов ПВО Англии удалось сбить всего один тяжелый бомбардировщик «Цеппелин-Штаакен» R.VI. В феврале 1918 года такой бомбардировщик сбросил на Лондон 1000-килограммовую бомбу, самый тяжелый авиационный боеприпас, который использовался в годы Первой мировой войны.

Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны


Когда информация о рейде немецких бомбардировщиков дошла до Дюнкерка, на перехват возвращающихся самолетов было поднято несколько истребителей, а также Handley Page 0/100, оснащенный пятью пулеметами. Пилотировал самолет младший офицер Виктор Р. Гиббс, компанию которому составили четыре стрелка: старший механик Лэнгстон, рядовой первого класса Конли и два рядовых второго класса Килл и Спенсер. За время своего четырехчасового патрулирования на высоте около 10 тысяч футов в 10 милях от Остенде экипаж сумел обнаружить три немецких самолета, атаковав два их них.

Первый из обнаруженных бомбардировщиков шел довольно низко и сразу после начала атаки на него «нырнул» в туман, скрывшись из вида английского экипажа. В бой со вторым бомбардировщиком «Гота» англичане вступили где-то между Ниувпортом и Остенде. Согласно представленному после полета рапорту, стрелки открыли по немецкому самолету огонь из двух левых бортовых и хвостового пулеметов с дистанции примерно 50-100 ярдов, успев расстрелять по противнику 3 диска (по другой информации 5), прежде чем «немец» ушел в очень крутую нисходящую спираль, скрывшись из вида.

Английский экипаж был абсолютно уверен в том, что им удалось сбить данный самолет, однако далеко не факт, что это действительно произошло. Во время данного налета немцы действительно потеряли один бомбардировщик, однако есть все основания считать, что он стал жертвой зенитной артиллерии. Персонал прожекторного поста, установленного на дуврском волноломе в 21:40 видел падение горящего самолета в море приблизительно в двух милях от берега. Объектом атаки «Хэндли-Пейджа» считают еще один бомбардировщик «Гота», который разбился недалеко от голландского Сас-Ван-Гента, не дотянув до границы всего несколько километров.

Handley Page 0/100: самый тяжёлый «истребитель» Первой мировой войны


Когда запас горючего начал подходить к концу, Гиббс принял решение идти на город Туру (сегодня Торхаут), где еще и отбомбился по немецкому аэродрому, сбросив восемь 65-фунтовых бомб — меньше половины типовой загрузки, однако и полетное время было увеличено в два раза. Вне зависимости от достоверности поданной после полета заявки, это был единственный случай за Первую мировую, когда один тяжелый бомбардировщик сражался с другим в воздушном бою и победил. Однако, несмотря на удачный в целом опыт патрулирования, он не получил никакого продолжения. Инициатива была зарезана на корню. В ответ на победный рапорт высшее командование потребовало в ультимативной форме закончить с самодеятельностью, напомнив офицерам, что они летают на бомбардировщиках. В тот момент на фронте находилось меньше 20 машин данного типа, так что отвлекать их от совершения бомбардировочных рейдов английское командование считало неоправданной тратой дефицитного ресурса.

Летно-технические характеристики Handley Page 0/100:
Габаритные размеры: длина — 19,15 м, высота — 6,7 м, размах крыльев — 30,5 м, площадь крыла — 153,1 м2.
Масса пустого самолета — 3722 кг.
Максимальная взлетная масса — 6359 кг.
Силовая установка 2 ПД Rolls Royce Eagle II мощностью 2х266 л.с.
Максимальная скорость полета — 140 км/ч.
Практический потолок — 2134 м.
Продолжительность полета — до 8 часов.
Вооружение: стрелковое — три 7,7-мм пулемета «Льюиса», бомбовая нагрузка — около 900 кг.
Экипаж — 4-5 человек.

Источники информации:
http://www.airwar.ru/enc/bww1/hp100.html
http://warspot.ru/417-samyy-tyazhelyy-istrebitel-pervoy-mirovoy
http://feldgrau.info/engines/2022-handley-page-0400
http://flyingmachines.ru/Site2/Crafts/Craft25534.htm
Автор: Юферев Сергей


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Загрузка...
Комментарии 7
  1. qwert 13 ноября 2015 06:53
    Интересный самолет. И при этом всего два движка по 266л.с.
  2. Nikolaevich I 13 ноября 2015 08:27
    Ну что ж....идея "превращать" бомбардировщик в истребитель не умерла в первую мировую.Упоминания о таких "переделках" встречал я не раз.Если не изменяет память,то был один случай в годы второй мировой по "переделки" именно тяжелого бомбардировщика в истребитель.Ну и как не упомянуть советский Пе-2/Пе-3 .
    1. spec.78 13 ноября 2015 09:23
      Можно про эту переделку подробнее. я пока только про результативные атаки советских бомбардировщиков и штурмовиков на немецкие бомбардировщики слышал.
  3. Штык 13 ноября 2015 14:47
    Упоминавшийся в статье "Цеппелин-Штаакен", был действительно гигантом!
  4. N.O.M.A.D.E. 13 ноября 2015 15:37
    Хм, очень интересная статья. А более подробных документов боёв не сохранилось? Автору, однозначно жирный +
    Спасибо!
  5. jjj 13 ноября 2015 21:08
    Обращает на себя внимание четырехлопастной полусаблевидный винт. Филигранная балансировка была у англичан. Спасибо автору за поиск тем
    jjj
  6. Yakut 13 ноября 2015 23:06
    Цитата: Nikolaevich I
    Ну что ж....идея "превращать" бомбардировщик в истребитель не умерла в первую мировую.Упоминания о таких "переделках" встречал я не раз.Если не изменяет память,то был один случай в годы второй мировой по "переделки" именно тяжелого бомбардировщика в истребитель.Ну и как не упомянуть советский Пе-2/Пе-3 .

    Цитата: Nikolaevich I
    Ну что ж....идея "превращать" бомбардировщик в истребитель не умерла в первую мировую.Упоминания о таких "переделках" встречал я не раз.Если не изменяет память,то был один случай в годы второй мировой по "переделки" именно тяжелого бомбардировщика в истребитель.Ну и как не упомянуть советский Пе-2/Пе-3 .

    Ну в случае с Пе2/Пе3 тут как раз все наоборот. Самолет изначально как дальний истребитель разрабатывался, потом был переделан в пикирующий бомбардировщик и только потом уже перед самой войной сделали Пе3 (убрали воздушные тормоза, поставили другие двигатели, усилили наступательное вооружение). Но серия была небольшая по моему меньше сотни машин. Как раз истребительные гены Пе2 дали его недостатки как бомбардировщика, а именно небольшую бомбовую нагрузку и невозможность использования бомб весом более 500 кг. Тот же Ю87 мог и 1,5 т. бомбу брать.
    Англичане в период битвы за Британию применяли в качестве ночных истребителей кустарно переделанные бомбардировщики. Дальше уже пошли целевые модификации и у англичан и у немцев. Ю88 в варианте ночного истребителя к примеру очень активно всю войну применялся, да и Ме110 то же. Англичане Москито для этих целей использовали. Основная причина в том, что на одноместный истребитель радар тех времен невозможно было установить, да и для работы с ним отдельный человек требовался, а бомбардировщик это как раз позволял.
    Применялись в качестве истребителей и чистые бомбардировщики. допустим у нас на СФ не редко Пе2 посылали конвои прикрывать, но это за неимением дальних истребителей.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня