Military Review

M-156 "Martin". American aircraft for the Soviet Union

7
M-156 "Martin". American aircraft for the Soviet Union



В stories domestic aviation many pages are related to the development and operation of foreign aircraft. One vivid example of this is the story of the acquisition by the Soviet Union of the American transatlantic flying boat M-156 Glenn Martin.

It was reliably established that in the mid-thirties of the USSR, in accordance with the doctrinal guidelines for the development of the theory and practice of a deep offensive operation in the context of a worsening military-political situation in the world and the emergence of two centers of possible unleashing a new world war (in the West - Germany and in the East - Japan ) headed for the intensive improvement of its military aviation, including naval. This required long-range naval bombers and reconnaissance aircraft capable of taking off both from land and from the sea.

In addition to creating and developing its own aviation base and technology, the Soviet government sought to adopt advanced foreign, including American, experience. Moscow’s choice of the United States as a business partner was not accidental. Pre-revolutionary Russia and America were tied up by fairly old military-technical ties, including in naval aviation. The initiator in these matters was the Russian Maritime Department. So, by his orders in 1911-1916. for the imperial fleet 148 copies of American Curtis aircraft were purchased (although, in fairness, it is worth noting that only about fifty of them were assembled and put into operation).

With the establishment of Soviet-American diplomatic relations in November 1933, contacts were resumed with US aviation companies through the Commissariat of Defense and Aviation Industry of the Soviet Union. At the same time, they focused on those firms in which Russian emigrants worked. Already in the 1935, the USSR passed the tests of the American two-seater Scout 2E Northrop. In 1936-1938 in the United States were purchased, mainly for licensed construction, in unit copies of the aircraft РВY-1-3 "Shkval", "Valti" V-IA in the passenger version), "Consolidated" HRVY-I, "Valti "V-IA (float, in passenger version), and also" Valti "V-II (BS-1, Vulti) - 5 units; "S-43" - 2 units; "Douglas" DF (DF-2-195) - 2%; "Douglas" DS-3 and C-47. Of these, the introduction of the Valti V-II as a scout, attack aircraft and light bomber, was engaged in the design bureau S.A. Kocherigina, "Consolidated" HRVY-1 as a twin-engine long-distance maritime intelligence officer - KB G.M. Beriev, "Douglas" DS-3 as a transport plane - Design Bureau 3 M.V. Myasishchev.

The supply of licensed aircraft from the United States was carried out by the Soviet Union on the basis of contracts for technical assistance with US firms. Such contracts were concluded: from Curtis-Wright (for 5 years, from 1933-th to 1938 year), with Valty (for 1 year, 1937-1938), with Consolidated (for 1 year, 1937-1938, from Douglas (at 2 of the year, from 1937-1939), from Seversky Aircraft Corporation (at 2 of the year, from 1937 to 1939). By decision of the Soviet government dated June 1936, Amtorg Joint-Stock Company 12 September 1936 of the year in Washington concluded a similar agreement with the firm Glenn L. Martin Company. The contract was designed for 3 of the year (until 12 of September of 1939 of the year) and provided for the company to create an experimental version of a four-engine flying boat for passenger and transport on the Ocean-Clipper transoceanic lines, and its subsequent delivery to our country.



The new seaplane, which received the designation M-156 "Glenn Martin", was created on the basis of the flying boat "Glenn Martin-130", better known on the long-distance transoceanic air routes as the "China Clipper". The difference between the M-156 model and its predecessor was the greater flight weight (by 4570 kg), in increased geometrical dimensions, more powerful powerplant, new tail assembly and a number of other innovations.

The M-156 Glenn Martin had a compact, fairly free cockpit for a crew of two pilots, a navigator, a flight engineer and a radio operator. For passengers on the plane, there were 3 ten-seat cabins and one cabin for 16 seats, which, if necessary, could be converted into 26 berths. In addition, for passenger service, the boat had a buffet, two restrooms and, in the cabin, a spare washbasin (in the table), which a 4 person could use at the same time. The seaplane was equipped with life jackets and inflatable boats for all passengers, there were also bedding and kitchen equipment. In the tail section there were baggage cabs, and in the forward compartment there was a post office. In addition, 2 cots were installed behind the luggage cabins for crew members to rest. The power plant consisted of a Paradise-Cyclone 4-x engines, having an 1000 horsepower take-off power.



Developing a new flying boat, the Americans believed that the Glenn-Martin M-156 the Soviet Union will use for experimental Arctic flights. However, on April 22 1937, the Special Service Station of the USSR, adopted Resolution No. 78, according to which this seaplane was to be produced in the Soviet Union in the version of the marine heavy bomber MTB-3. Serial production was planned to begin at aircraft factories in Taganrog and in Komsomolsk-on-Amur. After receiving in the autumn 1936 of the drawings from the American company, in parallel with the manufacture of a seaplane in Baltimore, in the USSR in the design bureau P.D. Samsonov began work on the development of a special bomb deck for the M-156, for the suspension of aerial bombs, which was located in the redan of a flying boat. The well bomb-hole had rather large sizes, its length was equal to 5 m, and the width of 1,2 m. Part of the redan at the keel formed large hinges. It was an original and unusual decision. Somewhat later, a similar task had to be solved by the British on their flying boat, the Short Sunderland. The British also placed bombs in the fuselage, while for dumping them together with holders along rail guides they pushed under the plane of the wing through side hatches.



In the summer of 1937, in KB, a model of a flying boat with bombs and devices for loading and suspension of large-caliber bombs, as well as the deployment of defensive weapons and target equipment, was made. In the military version it was planned to install screened turrets, which were located in the bow and stern extremities and behind the wing of a seaplane. In addition to these three firing points, the aircraft carried machine guns in the side windows of the aircraft. In those years, the installation of this type were called ream. In addition, the Soviet designers were working on the possibility of equipping the M-156 with a single-fin plumage, like TB-4.

It is worth noting the fact that the construction of the aircraft in the United States was also under strict control of the 7 department of the State Security Department of the NKVD, which regularly sent reports on the state of affairs at the company addressed to the People's Commissar of Internal Affairs N.I. Yezhov and People's Commissar of Defense K.E. Voroshilov.

7 November 1937 of the year in Baltimore, the first flight of the Glenn Martin M-156. From 22 in November of the same year to 13 in January of 1938, the aircraft underwent factory tests with an attack around 50 h. To receive the 19-20 boat in January 1938, the Soviet commission was sent consisting of: Chairman of Amtorg Zagainov, engineers Borisenko, Kozlov and pilot Yershov . This was done 3 flight duration 5 hour. 9 min.



Having accepted the aircraft, in the acceptance report and report the commission indicated the following prospects for its use in the military version:

A. The use of this aircraft as a heavy bomber is impossible without serious modernization. Modernization under this option will require major design changes. Placement of the ejected load inside the boat, with a radical modification of the central part of the boat, will be required. Installing small arms will also require rework. As a result, the weight of an empty machine increases and speed decreases. Probably, the speed in this case will be lower than the minimum that is required for a modern bomber.

B. Changing the layout of the aircraft or increasing the strength will require a lot of time and will actually give a new type of aircraft.

Further, Soviet experts noted: "Considering it expedient to train personnel to build this type of aircraft, the commission considers it possible to use this aircraft for the following purposes:

a) passenger and transport links on the sea lines of the civil air fleet;

b) when the aircraft is armed with protective equipment and re-equipment of the navigator's cabin - use for landing operations both airborne and landing, at the enemy’s coastline;

c) as a staff aircraft - to control the naval forces in combat;

d) as a training aircraft for all services of the Air Force.

During the test flights, the Glenn Martin M-156 showed good flight data, reaching a maximum speed of 274 km / h and a range of 5000 km. In February, 1938, a boat disassembled on a steamer, was taken to Leningrad, where it was assembled and transferred to Moscow on the Khimki reservoir. Here the aircraft was handed over to the naval aviation command of the Navy Commissariat. The crew of test pilot Captain Shevnik on the "Glenn Martin" made 13 flights. March 3 1938. Deputy Narkom of the Navy P.I. In his report to the USSR People's Commissar of the Defense Industry, Kaganovich, Smirnov clearly concluded that the M-156 was of an outdated type and was unsuitable for armament of naval aviation, giving preference to the MTB-2 national hydroplane.



Another circumstance playing against the adoption of the national naval aviation by the M-156 was the fact that the seas of the Soviet Union are freezing. Throughout the year, hydroaviation could work only in the Black Sea, and even then not everywhere, in other fleets - from five to seven months. The remaining time flying boats will be laid up, or they must be equipped with a ski landing gear, like the Soviet ICBM-2. It was also clear that the huge American aircraft would require significant investments in the development of coastal base infrastructure. It was necessary to equip mechanized slips, since such a large machine cannot be rolled out manually. It was also necessary to build large hangars to store the aircraft in the winter and repair in the summer. The full-fledged operation of the M-156 was impossible even without filling stations - a four-engined seaplane would have to be filled with buckets all day. This vehicle could be transferred from one sea to another, it was possible only under its own power or on a ship, since M-156 did not understand the nodes that ensure its transportation by rail. Fleet leadership began to oppose the transfer of M-156 into production. The fleet was also supported by the leadership of the aircraft plant No. XXUMX, which was by no means willing to develop an American seaplane, which was huge and extremely difficult for the Soviet level of production. Back in early November 30, it raised the question of the feasibility of launching it into mass production.



And what happened to the first plane? In the summer of 1938, the naval aviation command decided to transfer the new seaplane to the Black Sea Fleet, and on August 4 the crew arrived in Moscow to distill it in Sevastopol. By this moment, it became clear that the low-speed giant seaplane should be replaced by a land bomber and a torpedo bomber, with large speeds and a half. At the request of transport aviators, the fleet transferred the Glenn Martin M-156 to Aeroflot.

21 September 1938 the aircraft was received from the UMA NK Navy by the Aeroflot Commission and handed over to state tests at the Scientific Research Institute of the Civil Air Fleet. In the 1938 year, due to unfavorable weather and the impossibility of flying with full flight weight, only part of the state tests were carried out. For wintering, the boat climbed to the concrete descent of the plant number 156 Khimki reservoir. 25 May 1939, the Glenn Martin seaplane M-156 under the name PS-30 with the factory number 714 and the identification mark L-2940 was enlisted in the register of civil aircraft of the USSR.

20 June 1939, the boat was again launched to continue testing. She made another 54 flight. After that, by order of the Chief of the Main Directorate of the Civil Air Fleet, the flying boat was transferred to the Far Eastern Directorate of the Civil Air Fleet with a permanent location in Khabarovsk. Since the summer of 1940, the Glenn Martin M-156 has begun to master one of the longest air routes of union importance with the carriage of passengers along the Far Eastern routes. According to the routes, this seaplane flew during the Great Patriotic War, making a 1 flight once a week, in summer and winter.

The main problems in the operation of "Martin" delivered the engines. Their production in the United States has already stopped, so new engines for the M-156 could not be purchased there. For this reason, in 1942, the plane flew just 82 hours. In February, the Wright engines began to replace the Wright engines with domestic ASH-1943IR, similar in characteristics and dimensions.



By the beginning of the summer navigation 1943, a seaplane with a power plant consisting of Soviet and American engines, was again prepared to fly. PS-30 continued to operate on flights Khabarovsk-Petropavlovsk. In October, the seaplane made a special flight. He delivered to Khabarovsk the crews of the Allied bombers who made forced landings on Kamchatka. Then the pilots were brought under Tashkent, where a prefabricated camp was organized. Subsequently, the Allies, observing secrecy (according to the Soviet-Japanese treaty, the American pilots were considered interned), were transferred to Iranian bases. The PS-30 flight intensity was affected by the lack of aviation gasoline in Kamchatka, but even so, the 1943 raid year reached 115 flight hours.

Until August 1944, the seaplane flew another 76 hours, after which it was finally laid up for joking due to the presence of numerous faults. In February, 1946 was ordered by parts of the order of the Chief of the Main Directorate of the Civil Air Fleet PS-30. Thus ended the fate of the "flying American" in the Soviet Union.



Sources:
Kotelnikov V. From "Martin-156" to PS-30 // Avimaster. 2002. No.7. C.26-32.
Maslov M. Flying boat "Martin-156" // Wings. 2010. No.2. C. 37-38.
Pocharev A. Transatlantic flying // Sea collection. 2000. No.3. C.46-48.
Petrov G. Seaplanes and WIG Russia 1910-1999. M .: Rusavia. 2000. C. 206-207.
Author:
7 comments
Information
Dear reader, to leave comments on the publication, you must to register.

I have an account? Sign in

  1. parusnik
    parusnik 9 December 2015 08: 07 New
    +4
    Thus ended the fate of the "flying American" in the Soviet Union... Somehow, fate didn’t really happen ... Thank you, I wonder ..
  2. qwert
    qwert 9 December 2015 08: 15 New
    +3
    I didn’t know that the Americans were developing an aircraft commissioned by our country. And indeed I did not know about this car.
    Quote: parusnik
    Somehow, fate didn’t work out either ..

    Unfortunately, MTB-2 didn’t work out too well.
    1. Amurets
      Amurets 9 December 2015 11: 59 New
      +2
      Quote: qwert
      I didn’t know that the Americans were developing an aircraft commissioned by our country. And indeed I did not know about this car.

      Quote: qwert
      Unfortunately, MTB-2 didn’t work out too well.

      The fate of Chetverikov's MDR aircraft was also not entirely successful. In principle, the Catalina, a PBY flying boat of various modifications, carried the war on its wings.
  3. bionik
    bionik 9 December 2015 12: 17 New
    +1
    Mooring to the shore of the American twin-engine flying boat Martin "Mariner" (Martin Mariner mk162) modification PBM-3 at the air base at the Banana River in Florida (USA).
  4. bionik
    bionik 9 December 2015 12: 21 New
    +3
    The remaining time, the flying boats will be fun, or they need to be equipped with a ski chassis, like the Soviet ICBM-2. (C)Soviet naval close reconnaissance MBR-2 with the inscription "To the battle for the motherland!" at the winter airfield.
  5. rubin6286
    rubin6286 9 December 2015 16: 54 New
    +4
    The article is interesting, informative. Thanks to the author. A good plane was needed. In our civil aviation then there was nothing similar in terms of performance characteristics or comfort.
  6. Dekabrev
    Dekabrev 9 December 2015 22: 36 New
    0
    By the way, the royal cobra based on aircobra, it seems, was also developed by the Americans specifically for the USSR.
    In this, even TsAGI helped the Americans. And in some American museum, a king cobra with red stars is standing. In America, blacks flew on cobras (in the literal sense of the word) and these planes were used as attack aircraft.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


В истории отечественной авиации немало страниц связано с освоением и эксплуатацией самолетов иностранного производства. Одним из ярких тому примеров может служить история с приобретением Советским Союзом американской трансатлантической летающей лодки M-156 "Гленн Мартин".

Достоверно установлено, что в середине тридцатых годов СССР в соответствии с доктринальными установками на развитие теории и практики глубокой наступательной операции в условиях обострения военно-политической обстановки в мире и возникновения двух очагов возможного развязывания новой мировой войны (на Западе — Германия и на Востоке — Япония) взял курс на интенсивное совершенствование своей военной авиации, в том числе морской. Для этого требовались дальние морские бомбардировщики и разведчики, способные взлетать как с суши, так и с моря.


Помимо создания и развития собственной авиационной базы и технологий, советское правительство стремилось перенимать передовой зарубежный, в том числе американский, опыт. Выбор Москвой США как делового партнера был не случаен. Дореволюционную Россию с Америкой связывали достаточно старые военно-технические связи, в том числе и в морской авиации. Инициатором в этих вопросах выступало российское морское ведомство. Так, по его заказам в 1911-1916 гг. для Императорского флота было закуплено 148 экземпляров американских самолетов "Кертис" (хотя, справедливости ради, стоит заметить, что только около пятидесяти из них были собраны и попали в эксплуатацию).

С установлением в ноябре 1933 года советско-американских дипломатических отношений, были возобновлены контакты с авиационными фирмами США по линии Наркоматов обороны и авиационной промышленности Советского Союза. Ориентировались при этом в первую очередь на те фирмы, в которых работали русские эмигранты. Уже в 1935 году в СССР прошли испытания американского двухместного самолета разведчика 2Е "Нортроп". В 1936-1938 годах в Соединённых Штатах были закуплены, в основном для лицензионной постройки, в штучных экземплярах самолеты РВY-1-3 "Шквал", "Валти" V-IА в пассажирском варианте), "Консолидейтед" ХРВY-I, "Валти" V-IА (поплавковый, в пассажирском варианте), а также "Валти" V-II (БШ-1, Вульти) — 5 ед.; "S-43" — 2 ед.; "Дуглас" ДФ (ДФ-2-195) — 2 ед.; "Дуглас" ДС-3 и Си-47. Из них внедрением "Валти" V-II как разведчика, штурмовика и легкого бомбардировщика, занималось КБ С.А. Кочеригина, "Консолидейтед" ХРВY-1 как двухмоторного дальнего морского разведчика — КБ Г.М. Бериева, "Дуглас" ДС-3 как транспортного самолета — КБ 3 М.В. Мясищева.

Поставки лицензионных самолетов из Соединенных Штатов Советский Союз осуществлял на основе договоров на техническую помощь с американскими фирмами. Такие договоры были заключены: с "Кертис-Райт" (на 5 лет, с 1933-го по 1938 год), с "Валти" (на 1 год, 1937-1938 гг.), с "Консолидейтед" (на 1 год , 1937-1938 гг.), с "Дуглас" (на 2 года, с 1937-1939 гг.), с "Северский Аэркрафт Корпорейшн" (на 2 года, с 1937 по 1939гг.). По решению советского правительства от июня 1936 г. акционерное общество "Амторг" 12 сентября 1936 года в Вашингтоне заключило подобный договор и с фирмой "Гленн Л. Мартин Компани". Контракт был рассчитан на 3 года (до 12 сентября 1939 года) и предусматривал создание фирмой опытного варианта четырехмоторной летающей лодки для пассажирских и транспортных перевозок на трансокеанских линиях "Океан-Клиппер", и последующую ее поставку в нашу страну.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Новый гидросамолет, получивший обозначение M-156 "Гленн Мартин", создавался на основе летающей лодке "Гленн Мартин-130", более известной на дальних трансокеанических авиамаршрутах как "Чайна Клиппер". Отличие модели M-156 от предшественницы состояло в большем полетном весе (на 4570 кг), в увеличенных геометрических размерах, более мощной силовой установке, новой конструкции оперения и ряде других новшеств.

M-156 "Гленн Мартин" имел компактную, достаточно свободную кабину для экипажа, состоявшего из двух летчиков, штурмана, бортмеханика и радиста. Для пассажиров в самолете имелись 3 десятиместных кабины и один салон на 16 посадочных мест, которые, при необходимости, могли быть переоборудованы в 26 спальных мест. Кроме того, для пассажирского обслуживания лодка располагала буфетом, двумя уборными и в салоне — запасным умывальником (в столе), которым одновременно могли пользоваться 4 человека. Гидросамолет был укомплектован спасательными жилетами и надувными лодками на всех пассажиров, также имелись постельные принадлежности и кухонное оборудование. В хвостовом отсеке были расположены багажные кабины, а в носовом — кабина для почты. Кроме того, за багажными кабинами были установлены 2 койки для отдыха членов экипажа. Силовая установка состояла из 4-х моторов "Рай-Циклон", имеющих взлетную мощность по 1000 л.с.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Разрабатывая новую летающую лодку, американцы считали, что "Гленн-Мартин" M-156 Советский Союз будет использовать для экспериментальных арктических полетов. Однако 22 апреля 1937 года СТО СССР принял постановление №78, согласно которому этот гидросамолет должен был производиться в Советском Союзе в варианте морского тяжелого бомбардировщика МТБ-3. Серийное производство планировалось начать на авиазаводах в Таганроге и в Комсомольске-на-Амуре. После получения осенью 1936 года чертежей от американской фирмы, параллельно с изготовлением гидросамолета в Балтиморе, в СССР в КБ П.Д. Самсонова начались работы по разработке для M-156 специального бомболюка, для подвески авиационных бомб, который располагался в редане летающей лодки. Бомболюк-колодец имел достаточно большие размеры, его длина была равна 5 м, а ширина 1,2 м. Часть редана у киля формировали большие створки люка. Это было оригинальное и необычное решение. Несколько позже, аналогичную задачу пришлось решать англичанам на своей летающей лодке Шорт "Сандерленд". Британцы также расположили бомбы в фюзеляже, при этом для сброса их вместе с держателями по рельсовым направляющим выдвигали под плоскости крыла через бортовые люки.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Летом 1937 г. в КБ был изготовлен макет летающей лодки с бомболюком и приспособлениями для загрузки и подвески бомб большого калибра, а также с размещением оборонительного вооружения и целевого оборудования. В военном варианте планировалась установка экранированных турелей, которые располагались в носовой и кормовой оконечностях и за крылом гидросамолета. Кроме этих трех огневых точек, самолет нес пулеметы в бортовых окнах самолета. В те годы установки такого типа назывались амбразурными. Кроме того, советские конструкторы прорабатывали возможность оснащения М-156 однокилевым оперением, по типу ТБ-4.

Стоит отметить тот факт, что постройка самолета в США также шла под жестким контролем 7-го отдела ГУ ГБ НКВД, регулярно посылавшего докладные записки о состоянии дел на фирме в адрес Наркома внутренних дел Н.И. Ежова и Наркома обороны К.Е. Ворошилова.

7 ноября 1937 года в Балтиморе состоялся первый полет "Гленн Мартина" M-156. С 22 ноября того же года по 13 января 1938 года самолет прошел заводские испытания с налетом около 50 ч. Для приемки лодки 19-20 января 1938 года была направлена советская комиссия в составе: председателя "Амторга" Загайнова, инженеров Бориенко, Козлова и летчика Ершова. При этом было произведено 3 полета, продолжительностью 5 час. 9 мин.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Приняв самолет, в акте приемки и отчете комиссия указала на следующие перспективы его применения в военном варианте:

А. Использование данного самолета как тяжелого бомбардировщика без серьезной модернизации невозможно. Модернизация под такой вариант потребует крупных конструктивных изменений. Потребуется размещение выбрасываемой нагрузки внутри лодки, с коренной переделкой центральной части лодки. Установка стрелкового вооружения также потребует переделок. Вследствие этого увеличивается вес пустой машины и сократится скорость. Вероятно, скорость в этом случае будет ниже того минимума, который требуется для современного бомбардировщика.

Б. Изменение схемы самолета или увеличение прочности потребует больших затрат по времени и фактически даст новый тип самолета.

Далее советские специалисты отмечали: "Считая целесообразным подготовку кадров на постройке такого типа самолета, комиссия считает возможным использовать этот самолет в следующих назначениях:

а) пассажирское и транспортное сообщение на морских линиях гражданского воздушного флота;

б) при вооружении самолета средствами защиты и переоборудовании кабины штурмана — использование для десантных операций как воздушных, так и с посадкой, у береговой черты противника;

в) как штабной самолет — для управления морскими силами в бою;

г) как тренировочный самолет для всех служб ВВС.

В ходе испытательных полетов "Гленн Мартин" M-156 показал хорошие летно-технические данные, достигнув максимальной скорости в 274 км/ч, и дальности в 5000 км. В феврале 1938 г. лодка в разобранном виде на пароходе была доставлена в Ленинград, где ее собрали и перегнали в Москву на Химкинское водохранилище. Здесь самолет был передан управлению морской авиации Наркомата Военно-морского флота. Экипаж летчика-испытателя капитана Шевника на "Гленн Мартине" совершил 13 полетов. 3 марта 1938 г. заместитель Наркома ВМФ П.И. Смирнов в своем докладе Наркому оборонной промышленности СССР Кагановичу однозначно сделал вывод, что M-156 является машиной устаревшего типа и для вооружения морской авиации непригоден, отдавая предпочтение испытывавшемуся отечественному гидросамолету МТБ-2.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Еще одним обстоятельством, играющим против принятия М-156 на вооружение отечественной морской авиации, был тот факт, что моря Советского Союза замерзают. В течение всего года гидроавиации можно было работать только в акватории Черного моря, да и то не везде, на прочих флотах — от пяти до семи месяцев. Оставшееся время летающие лодки будут стоять на приколе, либо их необходимо оборудовать лыжным шасси, как советские МБР-2. Также было ясно, что огромный американский самолет потребует значительных вложений в развитие инфраструктуры береговых баз. Следовало оборудовать механизированные слипы, так как столь крупную машину невозможно выкатить вручную. Также необходимо было возводить и большие ангары, чтобы хранить самолет зимой и ремонтировать летом. Невозможна была полноценная эксплуатация М-156 и без заправочных станций — ведрами четырехмоторный гидросамолет заправлять пришлось бы целый день. Осуществить переброску этой машины с одного моря на другое, можно было только своим ходом или на судне, так как М-156 не разбирался на узлы, обеспечивающие его транспортировку по железной дороге. Руководство флота начало выступать против передачи М-156 в производство. Поддерживало флот и руководство авиазавода №30, которое отнюдь не имело желания осваивать в громадный и чрезвычайно сложный для советского уровня производства, американский гидросамолет. Еще в начале ноября 1937 года оно подняло вопрос о целесообразности запуска его в серийное производство.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


А что же произошло с первым самолетом? Летом 1938 г. командование морской авиацией приняло решение перебросить новый гидросамолет на Черноморский флот, и 4 августа в Москву прибыл экипаж для его перегонки в Севастополь. К этому моменту уже стало ясно, что тихоходный гидросамолет-гигант, должен сменить сухопутный бомбардировщик и торпедоносец, с большими в полтора раза скоростями. По просьбе авиаторов-транспортников, флот передал "Гленн Мартин" M-156 в Аэрофлот.

21 сентября 1938 г. самолет был принят от УМА НК ВМФ комиссией Аэрофлота и передан на госиспытания в НИИ Гражданского Воздушного флота. В 1938 году, ввиду неблагоприятной погоды и невозможности полетов с полным полетным весом, была проведена только часть госиспытаний. Для зимовки лодка поднималась на бетонный спуск завода № 156 Химкинского водохранилища. 25 мая 1939 года гидросамолет "Гленн Мартин" M-156 под наименованием ПС-30 с заводским № 714 и опознавательным знаком Л-2940 был зачислен в реестр гражданских воздушных судов СССР.

20 июня 1939 года лодка вновь была спущена на воду для продолжения испытаний. Она произвела еще 54 полета. После этого, приказом начальника ГУ ГВФ, летающую лодку передали в состав Дальневосточного управления ГВФ с местом постоянного базирования в г. Хабаровске. С лета 1940 года "Гленн Мартин" M-156 начал осваивать одну из самых длинных воздушных магистралей союзного значения с перевозкой пассажиров по дальневосточным маршрутам. По данным маршрутам этот гидросамолет летал и в годы Великой Отечественной войны, совершая 1 рейс раз в неделю, в летнее и зимнее время.

Основные проблемы в эксплуатации «Мартина» доставляли двигатели. Их выпуск в Соединённых Штатах уже прекратили, поэтому новые моторы для М-156 нельзя было закупить и там. По этой причине, в 1942 году самолет налетал всего 82 часа. В феврале 1943 года двигатели "Райт" стали заменять на похожие по характеристикам и габаритам отечественные АШ-62ИР.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


К началу летней навигации 1943 года гидросамолет с силовой установкой, состоящей из советских и американских двигателей, вновь был подготовлен к полетам. ПС-30 продолжил эксплуатироваться на рейсах Хабаровск-Петропавловск. В октябре гидросамолет совершил спецрейс. Он доставил в Хабаровск экипажи союзных бомбардировщиков, которые совершили вынужденные посадки на Камчатке. Затем летчиков доставили под Ташкент, где был организован сборный лагерь. В дальнейшем союзников, соблюдая секретность (согласно советско-японскому договору, американские летчики считались интернированными), перебросили на иранские базы. На интенсивности полетов ПС-30 сказалась нехватка авиабензина на Камчатке, но даже при этом налет за 1943 год достиг 115 летных часов.

До августа 1944 года гидросамолет налетал еще 76 часов, после чего он окончательно был поставлен на прикол из-за наличия многочисленных неисправностей. В феврале 1946 г. приказом начальника ГУ ГВФ ПС-30 был списан на запчасти. Так завершилась судьба "летающего американца" в Советском Союзе.

М-156 «Мартин». Американский самолёт для Советского Союза


Источники:
Котельников В. От " Мартина-156" до ПС-30 // Авиамастер. 2002. №7. С.26-32.
Маслов М. Летающая лодка «Мартин-156» // Крылья. 2010. №2. С. 37-38.
Почтарев А. Трансатлантическая летающая // Морской сборник. 2000. №3. С.46-48.
Петров Г. Гидросамолеты и экранопланы России 1910-1999. М.: Русавиа. 2000. С. 206-207.
Автор: Инженер-технарь


Мнение редакции "Военного обозрения" может не совпадать с точкой зрения авторов публикаций

CtrlEnter
Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, выделите текст с ошибкой и нажмите Ctrl+Enter
Читайте также
Комментарии 7
  1. parusnik 9 декабря 2015 08:07
    Так завершилась судьба "летающего американца" в Советском Союзе...Как-то особо и не сложилась судьба-то...Спасибо, интересно..
  2. qwert 9 декабря 2015 08:15
    Не знал, что американцы разрабатывали самолет по заказу нашей страны. Да и вообще об этой машине не знал.
    Цитата: parusnik
    Как-то особо и не сложилась судьба-то..

    У МТБ-2 тоже , к сожалению, особо не сложилась
    1. амурец 9 декабря 2015 11:59
      Цитата: qwert
      Не знал, что американцы разрабатывали самолет по заказу нашей страны. Да и вообще об этой машине не знал.

      Цитата: qwert
      У МТБ-2 тоже , к сожалению, особо не сложилась

      Также не совсем удачно сложилась и судьба самолётов МДР Четверикова.В принципе войну на своих крыльях вынесла "Каталина",летающая лодка PBY разных модификаций.
  3. bionik 9 декабря 2015 12:17
    Швартовка к берегу американской двухмоторной летающей лодки Мартин «Маринер» (Martin Mariner mk162) модификации PBM-3 на авиабазе на Банана ривер во Флориде (США).
  4. bionik 9 декабря 2015 12:21
    Оставшееся время летающие лодки будут стоять на приколе, либо их необходимо оборудовать лыжным шасси, как советские МБР-2.(с)Советский морской ближний разведчик МБР-2 с надписью «В бой за Родину!» на зимнем аэродроме.
  5. rubin6286 9 декабря 2015 16:54
    Статья интересная,познавательная.Спасибо автору.Хороший был самолет, нужный. У нас в гражданской авиации тогда ничего подобного ни по ТТХ, ни по комфорту не было.
  6. Dekabrev 9 декабря 2015 22:36
    Кстати королевскую кобру на базе эиркобры, вроде бы, тоже американцы специально для СССР разрабатывали.
    В этом американцам даже ЦАГИ помогал. А в каком-то американском музее кинг кобра с красными звездами стоит. В америке на кобрах летали негры (в прямом смысле этого слова) и использовались эти самолеты как штурмовики.

Информация

Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гость, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.
Картина дня